STRATEGY STUDIO / PUBLIC DATA EXPLORER

EASTERN IOWA LIGHT AND POWER COOPERATIVE: Form 990, tax year 2025

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
EASTERN IOWA LIGHT AND POWER COOPERATIVE (EIN 42-0228180)
Tax period
2025-01-01 to 2025-12-31
Filed
2026-06-23
IRS object ID
202631749349301513
Schema version
2025v4.1
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2026-06-23T09:54:18-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2025-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN410746749PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1CLIFTONLARSONALLEN LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line12689 COMMERCE DRIVE NW SUITE 201AddressLine1Txt
CityROCHESTERCityNm
State AbbreviationMNStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP55901ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2025-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN420228180EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1EASTERN IOWA LIGHT & POWER COOPERATIVEBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlEASTBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone8559383616PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 3003AddressLine1Txt
CityWILTONCityNm
State AbbreviationIAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP527783003ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonKIRK TREDEPersonNm
Person TitleCEOPersonTitleTxt
Phone8559383616PhoneNum
Signature2026-06-02SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonKATHERINE LUTZKE CPAPreparerPersonNm
PTINP01760889PTIN
Phone5072802300PhoneNum
Preparation2026-06-02PreparationDt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2025TaxYr
Build TS2025-03-06 01:10:19ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerKIRK TREDEPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 3003AddressLine1Txt
CityWILTONCityNm
State AbbreviationIAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP527783003ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$77,497,324GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501cYes (X)Organization501cInd
Website AddressWWW.EASTERNIOWA.COMWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1935FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateIALegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionPROVISION OF ELECTRICITY TO MEMBERS ON THE COOPERATIVE BASISActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body15VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent15VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee94TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers0TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$0PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$0CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$64,430,905PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$73,331,663CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$183,637PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$152,364CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$3,916,364PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$3,841,868CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$68,530,906PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$77,325,895CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$0PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$0CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$3,376,917PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$5,259,292CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$868,943PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$931,338CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$62,680,048PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$67,695,263CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$66,925,908PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$73,885,893CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$1,604,998PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$3,440,002CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$211,574,058TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$223,249,649TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$112,210,740TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$117,794,214TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$99,363,318NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$105,455,435NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionEASTERN IOWA REC IS COMMITTED TO PROVIDING SAFE, RELIABLE AND AFFORDABLE OFFERINGS TO OUR MEMBERS TO ENHANCE THEIR QUALITY OF LIFE.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
DescPROVISION OF ELECTRICITY TO COOPERATIVE MEMBER-CONSUMERS. DURING 2025, A TOTAL OF 24,179 ACCOUNTS CONSUMED 642,475,000 KWH OF ELECTRICITY. THE COOPERATIVE OWNS, MAINTAINS, AND OPERATES 4,689 MILES OF RURAL DISTRIBUTION LINES. THE COOPERATIVE PROVIDES SERVICE TO 18,971 INDIVIDUAL MEMBERS.Desc
Described In Section501c30DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B Required0ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi Endowments0DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstYes (1)ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl Stmt0IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent0BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (1)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntYes (1)RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Transaction With Control EntYes (1)TransactionWithControlEntInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document72IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee94EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit0UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Members And Shr Gross Income$73,331,662MembersAndShrGrossIncomeAmt
Other Sources Gross Income$3,875,268OtherSourcesGrossIncomeAmt
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt0SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc0SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members15GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member15IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org DocumentsYes (1)ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (1)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (1)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (1)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of Committees0MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn Body0Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process Other0CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint VentureYes (1)InvestmentInJointVentureInd
Written Policy Or ProcedureYes (1)WrittenPolicyOrProcedureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1DAVID ZORICHBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone8559383616PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11705 WEST THIRD STAddressLine1Txt
CityWILTONCityNm
State AbbreviationIAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP52778ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part VIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIIInd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (22 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtAverage Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
KENNETH PURDY
PRESIDENT6.000.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$13,821$0$0
KURT OLSON
VICE PRESIDENT6.000.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$14,032$0$0
MIKE BIXLER
SECRETARY4.500.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$14,582$0$0
HENRY BENTLEY
TREASURER12.000.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$16,232$0$0
BRAD WEISS
ASST. SECRETARY8.000.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$17,282$0$0
GARY KESTER
DIRECTOR12.000.00Yes (X)$7,632$0$0
TOM HOTZ
DIRECTOR3.000.00Yes (X)$15,632$0$0
ALLAN DUFFE
DIRECTOR7.000.00Yes (X)$12,032$0$0
MICHAEL SHUGER
DIRECTOR12.000.00Yes (X)$11,232$0$0
ROBERT SCHNEIDER JR
DIRECTOR3.000.00Yes (X)$14,832$0$0
GARY BRUNS
DIRECTOR15.000.00Yes (X)$15,232$0$0
DENISE TIMMERMAN
DIRECTOR10.000.00Yes (X)$16,432$0$0
AUBREY LEE CARTWRIGHT JR
DIRECTOR10.000.00Yes (X)$16,432$0$0
JOEL CARSTENSEN
DIRECTOR8.000.00Yes (X)$14,032$0$0
KATHY WUNDERLICH
DIRECTOR7.000.00Yes (X)$18,032$0$0
KIRK TREDE
CEO60.000.00Yes (X)$323,610$0$186,771
DAVID ZORICH
DIVISION MANAGER OF ACCOUN45.000.00Yes (X)$155,871$0$47,617
MARK ELDER
DIVISION MANAGER OF OPERAT45.000.00$153,725$0$63,268Yes (X)
TIM IOSSI
MANAGER OF OPERATION TECHN50.000.00$146,324$0$93,384Yes (X)
DON ROTH
DIVISION MANAGER OF MEMBER50.000.00$172,465$0$61,426Yes (X)
KEVIN BOHNSACK
SUBSTATION FOREMAN43.300.00$137,286$0$74,285Yes (X)
BRIAN SCHOER
SENIOR PROJECT CONSULTANT45.000.00$161,935$0$51,847Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$1,468,685TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$578,598TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K50IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
ASPLUNDH TREE EXPERT CO INC
PO BOX 827464PHILADELPHIAPA19182TREE TRIM SERVICE$1,342,614
J&R UNDERGROUND LLC
PO BOX 843194DALLASTX75284CONSTRUCTION SERVICES$531,681
NISC
PO BOX 1147MANDANND58554INFORMATION SERVICES$484,771
SOLOMON CO
PO BOX 669533DALLASTX75266TRANSFORMER SERVICES$424,750
ADVANCED UNDERGROUND
11453 31ST STREET DRIVE WESTMILANIL61264CONSTRUCTION SERVICES$393,037
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K10CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescSALE OF POWERDesc
Business221000BusinessCd
Total Revenue Column$73,331,663TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$73,331,663RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$73,331,663TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$107,543TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$107,543ExclusionAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$10,421RealAmt

Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$0RealAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$10,421RealAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$10,421TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$10,421ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$216,250OtherAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$171,429OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$44,821OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$44,821TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$44,821ExclusionAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
CAPITAL CREDITS221000$3,828,553$3,828,553
INCOME FROM SUBSIDIARY221000$1,894$1,894
OTHER NON-OPERATING900099$1,000$1,000
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$3,831,447OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$77,325,895TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$77,163,110RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$162,785ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part IXYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIXInd

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$5,259,292TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$931,338TotalAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,097,172TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$7,459,471TotalAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmt
COST OF POWER$43,090,892
DISTRIBUTION EXPENSE -$4,676,002
ADMINISTRATIVE AND GENE$4,671,090
DISTRIBUTION EXPENSE -$2,975,039

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$725,597TotalAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$73,885,893TotalAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,142,128BOYAmt
EOY$4,474,178EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$497,881BOYAmt
EOY$2,005,492EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$6,268,640BOYAmt
EOY$8,172,665EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,769,779BOYAmt
EOY$5,195,521EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,536,966BOYAmt
EOY$3,673,362EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,862,613BOYAmt
EOY$1,770,622EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$243,040,630LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$83,915,183LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$153,044,087BOYAmt
EOY$159,125,447EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$34,927,988BOYAmt
EOY$35,720,793EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,523,976BOYAmt
EOY$3,111,569EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$211,574,058BOYAmt
EOY$223,249,649EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$6,201,971BOYAmt
EOY$6,514,322EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,921,180BOYAmt
EOY$1,837,889EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$103,011,694BOYAmt
EOY$107,848,405EOYAmt

Unsecured Notes Loans Payable UnsecuredNotesLoansPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$845,000BOYAmt
EOY$845,000EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$230,895BOYAmt
EOY$748,598EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$112,210,740BOYAmt
EOY$117,794,214EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Org Does Not Follow FASB117Yes (X)OrgDoesNotFollowFASB117Ind

Cap Stk Tr Prin Current Funds CapStkTrPrinCurrentFundsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$187,890BOYAmt
EOY$189,710EOYAmt

Pd In Cap Srpls Land Bldg Eqp Fund PdInCapSrplsLandBldgEqpFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$99,175,428BOYAmt
EOY$105,265,725EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$99,363,318BOYAmt
EOY$105,455,435EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$211,574,058BOYAmt
EOY$223,249,649EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$3,440,002ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$2,652,115OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Consolidated Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)ConsolidatedBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$2,643,520OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$2,643,520BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$17,115,015OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$3,129,561DepreciationAmt
Book Value$13,985,454BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$213,933,897OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$80,785,622DepreciationAmt
Book Value$133,148,275BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$9,348,198OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$9,348,198BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$159,125,447TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Invst Program Related Org InvstProgramRelatedOrgGrp (9 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmtMethod ValuationMethodValuationCd
CENTRAL IOWA POWER COOPERATIVE CAPITAL CREDITS$31,055,576C
NATIONAL RURAL UTILITIES COOPERATIVE FINANCE CORPORATION$1,724,673C
RURAL ELECTRIC SUPPLY COOPERATIVE CAPITAL CREDITS$957,519C
COBANK CAPITAL CREDITS$984,561C
NATIONAL INFORMATION SYSTEM COOPERATIVE CAPITAL CREDITS$118,894C
EQUIY OF NEW RESOURCES (AFFILIATE)$193,970C
EQUITY OF NEW VENTURES (SUBSIDIARY)$295,091C
FORMER HEADQUARTERS PROPERTY HELD FOR SALE$260,859F
OTHER$129,650C
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Program Rltd$35,720,793TotalBookValueProgramRltdAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescCUSTOMER DEPOSITSDesc
Amt$748,598Amt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$748,598TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$77,325,895TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Revenue Not Reported$0RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$77,325,895RevenueSubtotalAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$0RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$77,325,895TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$68,626,601TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$68,626,601ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Other Expenses Not Included$5,259,292OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$5,259,292ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$73,885,893TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (4 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART X, LINE 2:THE COOPERATIVE IS EXEMPT FROM INCOME TAXES UNDER SECTION 501(C)(12) OF THE INTERNAL REVENUE CODE, THUS THERE IS NO PROVISION FOR INCOME TAXES AT DECEMBER 31, 2025 AND 2024. THE COOPERATIVE EVALUATED ITS TAX POSITIONS AND DETERMINED THAT IT HAS NO UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS AS OF DECEMBER 31, 2025 AND 2024.
PART XII, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS ALLOCATED 5,259,292.
PARTS XI AND XII:ALTHOUGH NOT REQUIRED TO BE COMPLETED, EASTERN IOWA LIGHT AND POWER COOPERATIVE ELECTS TO COMPLETE THESE PARTS AS IT BELIEVES THAT THE INFORMATION CONTAINED IN THESE SCHEDULES WOULD BE HELPFUL AND INFORMATIVE TO THE USER OF THE FORM 990.
PART XII, LINE 4B, OTHER:2025 CAPITAL CREDITS ALLOCATED AND EXPENSED ON FORM 990 - SEE DISCLOSURE ON SCHEDULE O FOR PART IX, PAGE 10, QUESTION 4: $5,259,292

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Substantiation RequiredYes (1)SubstantiationRequiredInd
Independent ConsultantYes (X)IndependentConsultantInd
Form990 Of Other OrganizationsYes (X)Form990OfOtherOrganizationsInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (7 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
KIRK TREDE
CEO$299,625$0$65$0$23,920$0$162,810$0$23,961$0$510,381$0$0$0
TIM IOSSI
MANAGER OF OPERATION TECHN$142,359$0$150$0$3,815$0$77,499$0$15,885$0$239,708$0$0$0
DON ROTH
DIVISION MANAGER OF MEMBER$171,532$0$90$0$843$0$59,394$0$2,032$0$233,891$0$0$0
MARK ELDER
DIVISION MANAGER OF OPERAT$152,859$0$350$0$516$0$46,677$0$16,591$0$216,993$0$0$0
BRIAN SCHOER
SENIOR PROJECT CONSULTANT$158,414$0$75$0$3,446$0$34,715$0$17,132$0$213,782$0$0$0
KEVIN BOHNSACK
SUBSTATION FOREMAN$135,647$0$166$0$1,473$0$68,381$0$5,904$0$211,571$0$0$0
DAVID ZORICH
DIVISION MANAGER OF ACCOUN$154,975$0$274$0$622$0$33,239$0$14,378$0$203,488$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART II, LINES 1 THROUGH 6, COLUMN C - RETIREMENT & DEFERRED COMPENSATION:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationTHE COOPERATIVE HAS INTERPRETED THE INSTRUCTIONS FOR COLUMN C TO INCLUDE BOTH THE CONTRIBUTIONS PAID TO THE DEFINED BENEFIT RETIREMENT PLAN AND THE INCREASE IN THE ACTUARIAL VALUE OF PLAN ASSETS ATTRIBUTABLE TO THE LISTED COOPERATIVE OFFICER OR HIGHLY COMPENSATED EMPLOYEE. THE COOPERATIVE IS A PARTICIPANT IN THE NATIONAL RURAL ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE ASSOCIATION (NRECA) RETIREMENT SECURITY PLAN (RS PLAN) WHICH IS A DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN QUALIFIED UNDER SECTION 401 AND TAX-EXEMPT UNDER SECTION 501(A) OF THE INTERNAL REVENUE CODE. IT IS A MULTI-EMPLOYER PLAN UNDER THE ACCOUNTING STANDARDS. ALL FULL-TIME EMPLOYEES OF THE COOPERATIVE ARE COVERED BY THE PLAN AFTER A 12 MONTH WAITING PERIOD. THE COOPERATIVE MAKES CONTRIBUTIONS TO THE PLAN BASED ON A PERCENTAGE OF THE PRIOR YEAR REGULAR TIME EARNINGS OF EACH EMPLOYEE. FOR 2025, THE COOPERATIVE MADE CONTRIBUTIONS TO THE PLAN ON BEHALF OF THE LISTED EMPLOYEES. IN ADDITION, COLUMN C INCLUDES THE ANNUAL INCREASE IN THE ACTUARIAL VALUE OF THE PLAN ASSETS ATTRIBUTABLE TO THESE EMPLOYEES. THE AMOUNTS FOR THE LISTED EMPLOYEES ARE AS FOLLOWS: EMPLOYEE: KIRK W TREDE EMPLOYER PLAN CONTRIBUTIONS: $64,362 INCREASE IN ACTUARIAL VALUE OF PLAN ASSETS: $162,810 TIM IOSSI EMPLOYER PLAN CONTRIBUTIONS: $31,574 INCREASE IN ACTUARIAL VALUE OF PLAN ASSETS: $77,499 BRIAN SCHOER EMPLOYER PLAN CONTRIBUTIONS: $34,715 INCREASE IN ACTUARIAL VALUE OF PLAN ASSETS: $34,445 KEVIN BOHNSACK EMPLOYER PLAN CONTRIBUTIONS: $23,746 INCREASE IN ACTUARIAL VALUE OF PLAN ASSETS: $68,381 MARK ELDER EMPLOYER PLAN CONTRIBUTIONS: $33,258 INCREASE IN ACTUARIAL VALUE OF PLAN ASSETS: $46,677 DONALD ROTH EMPLOYER PLAN CONTRIBUTIONS: $34,646 INCREASE IN ACTUARIAL VALUE OF PLAN ASSETS: $59,394 DAVID ZORICH EMPLOYER PLAN CONTRIBUTIONS: $33,239 INCREASE IN ACTUARIAL VALUE OF PLAN ASSETS: $18,599ExplanationTxt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (13 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 4DURING 2025, THE COOPERATIVE ADOPTED AMENDED AND RESTATED BYLAWS TO MODERNIZE GOVERNANCE AND ALIGN WITH CURRENT PRACTICES. KEY UPDATES INCLUDED CLARIFYING MEMBER RIGHTS AND OBLIGATIONS (INCLUDING PROPERTY ACCESS AND SAFETY COMPLIANCE), EXPANDING AND UPDATING MEMBERSHIP PROVISIONS, AND ADDING PROCEDURES FOR TERMINATION AND REINSTATEMENT. THE BYLAWS ALSO INTRODUCED REMOTE PARTICIPATION FOR MEMBERS AND DIRECTORS, UPDATED BOARD GOVERNANCE (INCLUDING A POLICY COMMITTEE AND REVISED COMPENSATION STRUCTURE), EXPANDED GENERAL MANAGER AUTHORITY, AND PERMITTED ELECTRONIC NOTICES. ADDITIONAL CHANGES REFINED MEETING PROCEDURES, UPDATED REGULATORY LANGUAGE, AND IMPROVED OVERALL CLARITY AND FLEXIBILITY OF GOVERNANCE PROVISIONS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 6ALL ELECTRIC CUSTOMERS OF THE COOPERATIVE ARE VOTING MEMBERS. EACH MEMBER IS ENTITLED TO ONE VOTE.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7ATHE COOPERATIVE IS DIVIDED INTO FIVE DISTRICTS OF REASONABLY EQUAL SIZE. EACH MEMBER IN THE DISTRICT HAS ONE VOTE PER DIRECTOR TO BE ELECTED. EACH DISTRICT ELECTS THREE MEMBERS TO THE 15-MEMBER BOARD OF DIRECTORS. IN NORMAL CIRCUMSTANCES THE TERMS IN EACH DISTRICT ARE FOR THREE YEARS AND ARE STAGGERED SO THAT EACH DISTRICT ELECTS ONLY ONE DIRECTOR EACH YEAR. AT CERTAIN TIMES, BECAUSE OF THE RESIGNATION OR DEATH OF A DIRECTOR, A DISTRICT MAY HAVE MULTIPLE ELECTIONS FOR BOARD MEMBERS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7BTHE COOPERATIVE MAY NOT SELL, MORTGAGE, LEASE OR OTHERWISE DISPOSE OF OR ENCUMBER ALL OR A SUBSTANTIAL PORTION OF ITS PROPERTY UNLESS IT IS AUTHORIZED BY THE MAJORITY OF ALL ITS MEMBERS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 8BTHERE ARE NO COMMITTEES WITH AUTHORITY TO ACT ON BEHALF OF THE GOVERNING BODY.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11BA COPY OF THE FORM 990 IS PROVIDED TO THE CEO FOR REVIEW PRIOR TO FILING WITH THE IRS. THE FIRST BOARD OF DIRECTOR MEETING AFTER THE 990 IS FILED, THE FORM 990 WILL BE REVIEWED BY THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS. THIS IS DONE BY SHOWING THE FORM 990 IN ITS' ENTIRETY TO THE BOARD AND REVIEWING THE FINANCIAL DATE AND DISCLOSURES THAT MANAGEMENT DEEMS TO BE SIGNIFICANT. AT THAT TIME THE BOARD MAY RATIFY THE FORM 990 AS FILED OR REQUEST CHANGES. IF CHANGES ARE DEEMED NECESSARY, AN AMENDED FORM 990 WILL BE FILED WITH THE IRS IN A TIMELY MANNER.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12CEACH BOARD MEMBER AND COOPERATIVE EMPLOYEE IS REQUIRED TO ANNUALLY DISCLOSE ACTIVITIES AND RELATIONSHIPS THAT COULD BE CONSIDERED AS A CONFLICT OF INTEREST AS DEFINED BY THE COOPERATIVE'S CODE OF CONDUCT/ETHICS POLICY. ALL POTENTIAL CONFLICTS ARE REVIEWED. A MANAGEMENT EMPLOYEE AND THE CEO REVIEWS THE EMPLOYEE DISCLOSURES; THE CEO REVIEWS THE BOARD DISCLOSURES AND THE BOARD PRESIDENT REVIEWS THE CEO'S DISCLOSURE. A RECAP OF POTENTIAL CONFLICTS IS THEN REVIEWED BY THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS TO DETERMINE IF AN ACTUAL CONFLICT EXITS. IF SO, THE BOARD DECIDES HOW THE COOPERATIVE WILL DEAL WITH THESE CONFLICTS. THIS MAY INCLUDE REQUESTING COOPERATIVE EMPLOYEES TO AVOID TRANSACTIONS WITH CERTAIN EMPLOYEES, COMPANIES OR ORGANIZATIONS, REQUESTING THAT CERTAIN INDIVIDUALS ABSTAIN IN THE DECISION MAKING ON CERTAIN TRANSACTIONS, OR RATIFYING CERTAIN TRANSACTIONS OR DECISIONS. ALL ACTIONS ARE DOCUMENTED.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15ATHE BOARD OF DIRECTORS ESTABLISHES THE COMPENSATION LEVEL FOR THE CEO. THIS IS BASED ON DATA PROVIDED BY A NATIONAL TRADE ORGANIZATION AND THE STATE EMPLOYMENT BUREAU. A COMPENSATION CONSULTANT HAS PERIODICALLY BEEN USED. DECISIONS ON COMPENSATION ARE COMMUNICATED IN A TIMELY MANNER TO APPROPRIATE HUMAN RESOURCES AND PAYROLL PERSONNEL BY THE BOARD PRESIDENT. THIS PROCESS IS DOCUMENTED. THE PROCESS DESCRIBED HERE WAS LAST COMPLETED IN 2025.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19EASTERN IOWA LIGHT AND POWER COOPERATIVE WILL MAKE SELECTED GOVERNING DOCUMENTS, CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY, AND FINANCIAL STATEMENTS AVAILABLE TO THE PUBLIC OR TO ITS' MEMBERS UPON REQUEST. THE COOPERATIVE PROVIDES FINANCIAL STATEMENTS IN ITS ANNUAL REPORT, WHICH IS GIVEN TO ALL MEMBERS ATTENDING DISTRICT MEETINGS. FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE ALSO PERIODICALLY INCLUDED IN THE MEMBER NEWSLETTER WHICH IS MAILED TO ALL MEMBERS.
PART VI, PAGE 6, QUESTION 16, INVESTMENT IN TAXABLE ENTITY:THE COOPERATIVE HAS INVESTED IN NEW RESOURCES, INC. WHICH IS CO-OWNED WITH OTHER RURAL ELECTRIC COOPERATIVES. EASTERN APPOINTS TWO BOARD MEMBERS TO THE BOARD OF NEW RESOURCES, INC. WHICH CONDUCTS BUSINESS ACTIVITIES THAT ALL OWNING COOPERATIVES WISH TO PURSUE. THE EFFECT OF OWNERSHIP OF THE TAXABLE ENTITY ON THE TAX STATUS OF THE COOPERATIVE IS PERIODICALLY REVIEWED.
PART VII, PAGE 7, COMPENSATION OF OFFICERS AND DIRECTORS:USERS OF THIS FORM 990 SHOULD REVIEW THE DISCLOSURE RELATED TO RETIREMENT AND OTHER DEFERRED COMPENSATION IN THE ATTACHED SCHEDULE J - PAGE 3.
PART IX, PAGE 10, QUESTION 4, BENEFITS PAID TO OR FOR MEMBERS:THE IRS INSTRUCTIONS STATE THAT PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS PAID BY SECTION 50I(C)(12) ORGANIZATIONS TO THEIR MEMBERS SHOULD BE REPORTED ON LINE 4. THE COOPERATIVE HAS INTERPRETED PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS PAID TO MEAN PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS ALLOCATED OR TO BE ALLOCATED FOR THE CURRENT YEAR. SINCE THIS ALLOCATION IS NOT AN EXPENSE UNDER GENERALLY ACCEPTED ACCOUNTING PRINCIPLES (GAAP), THIS ALSO RESULTS IN A RECONCILING ITEM TO NET ASSETS IN PART XI, ON PAGE 12 OF THE FORM 990.
FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9:CAPITAL CREDITS RETIRED -2,544,035. CHANGE IN MEMBERSHIP AND OTHER EQUITIES -63,142. PATRONAGE ALLOCATION 5,259,292.

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp

Disregarded Entity Name DisregardedEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1NEW VENTURES INCBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 3003AddressLine1Txt
CityWILTONCityNm
State AbbreviationIAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP52778ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN421328834EIN
Primary ActivitiesECONOMIC DEVELOPMENTPrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateIALegalDomicileStateCd
Exempt Code Section501(C)(4)ExemptCodeSectionTxt
Public Charity StatusN/APublicCharityStatusTxt
Direct Controlling NAN/ADirectControllingNACd
Controlled Organization0ControlledOrganizationInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts Rylts0ReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth OrgYes (1)GiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth Org0GiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other Org0LoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth Org0LoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Div Related Organization0DivRelatedOrganizationInd
Asset Sale To Other Org0AssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other Org0AssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset Exchange0AssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth Org0RentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth Org0RentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth Org0PerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other Org0PerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of FacilitiesYes (1)SharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees SharingYes (1)PaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other Org0ReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other OrgYes (1)ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other Org0TransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other Org0TransferFromOtherOrgInd

Transactions Related Org TransactionsRelatedOrgGrp

Other Organization Name OtherOrganizationName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1NO TRANSACTIONS GREATER THAN 50000BusinessNameLine1Txt