STERLING COLLEGE: Form 990, tax year 2022
View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗
- Organization
- STERLING COLLEGE (EIN 48-0543728)
- Tax period
- 2022-07-01 to 2023-06-30
- Filed
- 2024-03-13
- IRS object ID
- 202410739349300246
- Schema version
- 2022v5.0
- Source
- Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica
Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.
- Return header
- Form 990
- Schedule A
- Schedule B
- Schedule D
- Schedule E
- Schedule I
- Schedule J
- Schedule K
- Schedule O
- Schedule R
Return header ReturnHeader
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return | 2024-03-13T13:27:20-04:00 | ReturnTs |
| Tax Period End | 2023-06-30 | TaxPeriodEndDt |
Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Firm EIN | 481041128 | PreparerFirmEIN |
Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | SWINDOLL JANZEN HAWK & LOYD LLC | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 220 W DOUGLAS AVE SUITE 300 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | WICHITA | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | KS | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 67202 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return Type | 990 | ReturnTypeCd |
| Tax Period Begin | 2022-07-01 | TaxPeriodBeginDt |
Filer Filer
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EIN | 480543728 | EIN |
Business Name BusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | STERLING COLLEGE | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Control | STER | BusinessNameControlTxt |
| Phone | 6202784294 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 125 W COOPER ST | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | STERLING | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | KS | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 67579 | ZIPCd |
Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person | SCOTT RICH | PersonNm |
| Person Title | COLLEGE PRESIDENT | PersonTitleTxt |
| Phone | 6202784294 | PhoneNum |
| Signature | 2024-02-21 | SignatureDt |
| Discuss With Paid Preparer | Yes (true) | DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd |
Signing Officer SigningOfficerGrp
Person Full Name PersonFullName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person First | SCOTT | PersonFirstNm |
| Person Last | RICH | PersonLastNm |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| SSN | 999009999 | SSN |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| IRS Responsible Prty Info Curr | Yes (true) | IRSResponsiblePrtyInfoCurrInd |
Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Person | ADAM L GRILLIOT CPAPFS | PreparerPersonNm |
| PTIN | P00930960 | PTIN |
| Phone | 3162655600 | PhoneNum |
| Preparation | 2024-02-21 | PreparationDt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Tax | 2022 | TaxYr |
| Build TS | 2023-04-26 12:10:37Z | BuildTS |
Form 990 IRS990
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Principal Officer | SCOTT RICH | PrincipalOfficerNm |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 125 W COOPER | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | STERLING | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | KS | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 67579 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Gross Receipts | $27,409,952 | GrossReceiptsAmt |
| Group Return For Affiliates | false | GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd |
| Organization501c3 | Yes (X) | Organization501c3Ind |
| Website Address | WWW.STERLING.EDU | WebsiteAddressTxt |
| Type Of Organization Corp | Yes (X) | TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd |
| Formation | 1887 | FormationYr |
| Legal Domicile State | KS | LegalDomicileStateCd |
| Activity Or Mission | BACCALAUREATE DEGREE GRANTING INSTITUTION OF HIGHER EDUCATION. | ActivityOrMissionDesc |
| Voting Members Governing Body | 19 | VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt |
| Voting Members Independent | 19 | VotingMembersIndependentCnt |
| Total Employee | 402 | TotalEmployeeCnt |
| Total Volunteers | 23 | TotalVolunteersCnt |
| Total Gross UBI | $0 | TotalGrossUBIAmt |
| PY Contributions Grants | $2,679,556 | PYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| CY Contributions Grants | $5,055,549 | CYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| PY Program Service Revenue | $18,237,851 | PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| CY Program Service Revenue | $18,101,921 | CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| PY Investment Income | $351,678 | PYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| CY Investment Income | $86,976 | CYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| PY Other Revenue | -$59,046 | PYOtherRevenueAmt |
| CY Other Revenue | -$16,689 | CYOtherRevenueAmt |
| PY Total Revenue | $21,210,039 | PYTotalRevenueAmt |
| CY Total Revenue | $23,227,757 | CYTotalRevenueAmt |
| PY Grants And Similar Paid | $8,318,749 | PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| CY Grants And Similar Paid | $8,617,552 | CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| CY Benefits Paid To Members | $0 | CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $7,275,904 | PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $7,464,145 | CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Fundraising Expense | $345,487 | CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt |
| PY Other Expenses | $7,887,189 | PYOtherExpensesAmt |
| CY Other Expenses | $7,765,234 | CYOtherExpensesAmt |
| PY Total Expenses | $23,481,842 | PYTotalExpensesAmt |
| CY Total Expenses | $23,846,931 | CYTotalExpensesAmt |
| PY Revenues Less Expenses | -$2,271,803 | PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| CY Revenues Less Expenses | -$619,174 | CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| Total Assets BOY | $45,489,397 | TotalAssetsBOYAmt |
| Total Assets EOY | $45,213,409 | TotalAssetsEOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities BOY | $12,136,741 | TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities EOY | $11,875,010 | TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY | $33,352,656 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY | $33,338,399 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt |
| Info In Schedule O Part III | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd |
| Mission | BACCALAUREATE DEGREE GRANTING INSTITUTION OF HIGHER EDUCATION. | MissionDesc |
| Significant New Program Srvc | false | SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd |
| Significant Change | false | SignificantChangeInd |
| Expense | $12,383,695 | ExpenseAmt |
| Grant | $8,617,552 | GrantAmt |
| Revenue | $14,106,290 | RevenueAmt |
| Desc | INSTRUCTION INSTRUCTIONAL PROGRAMS, SERVICING APPROXIMATELY 650 FULL-TIME STUDENTS. | Desc |
Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Expense | $3,796,457 | ExpenseAmt |
| Revenue | $293,756 | RevenueAmt |
| Desc | STUDENT SERVICES FINANCIAL AID ADVISING, ADMISSIONS, ATHLETICS AND ALL OTHER MISCELLANEOUS STUDENT SERVICES. | Desc |
Prog Srvc Accom Acty3 ProgSrvcAccomActy3Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Expense | $3,572,577 | ExpenseAmt |
| Revenue | $3,701,875 | RevenueAmt |
| Desc | AUXILIARY ENTERPRISES VALUE-ADDED SERVICES THAT FOSTER PERSONAL, PROFESSIONAL, AND ACADEMIC GROWTH FOR STUDENTS, STAFF, AND FACULTY. INCLUDES DINING SERVICES, STUDENT HOUSING AND THE COLLEGE BOOKSTORE. | Desc |
Prog Srvc Accom Acty Other ProgSrvcAccomActyOtherGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Expense | $1,255,991 | ExpenseAmt |
| Desc | ACADEMIC SUPPORT HELP STUDENTS SUCCEED ACADEMICALLY BY OFFERING TUTORING, DISABILITY SERVICES, AND ASSISTANCE WITH TIME MANAGEMENT AND STUDY SKILLS. | Desc |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Other Prog Srvc Expense | $1,255,991 | TotalOtherProgSrvcExpenseAmt |
| Total Program Service Expenses | $21,008,720 | TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt |
| Described In Section501c3 | Yes (true) | DescribedInSection501c3Ind |
| Schedule B Required | Yes (true) | ScheduleBRequiredInd |
| Political Campaign Acty | false | PoliticalCampaignActyInd |
| Lobbying Activities | false | LobbyingActivitiesInd |
| Subject To Proxy Tax | false | SubjectToProxyTaxInd |
| Donor Advised Fund | false | DonorAdvisedFundInd |
| Conservation Easements | Yes (true) | ConservationEasementsInd |
| Collections Of Art | Yes (true) | CollectionsOfArtInd |
| Credit Counseling | false | CreditCounselingInd |
| Donor Rstr Or Quasi Endowments | Yes (true) | DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd |
| Report Land Building Equipment | Yes (true) | ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd |
| Report Investments Other Sec | Yes (true) | ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd |
| Report Program Related Invst | false | ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd |
| Report Other Assets | Yes (true) | ReportOtherAssetsInd |
| Report Other Liabilities | Yes (true) | ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd |
| Include FIN48 Footnote | Yes (true) | IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd |
| Independent Audit Fincl Stmt | Yes (true) | IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd |
| Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt | Yes (true) | ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd |
| School Operating | Yes (true) | SchoolOperatingInd |
| Foreign Office | false | ForeignOfficeInd |
| Foreign Activities | false | ForeignActivitiesInd |
| More Than5000 K To Org | false | MoreThan5000KToOrgInd |
| More Than5000 K To Individuals | false | MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd |
| Professional Fundraising | false | ProfessionalFundraisingInd |
| Fundraising Activities | false | FundraisingActivitiesInd |
| Gaming Activities | false | GamingActivitiesInd |
| Operate Hospital | false | OperateHospitalInd |
| Grants To Organizations | false | GrantsToOrganizationsInd |
| Grants To Individuals | Yes (true) | GrantsToIndividualsInd |
| Schedule J Required | Yes (true) | ScheduleJRequiredInd |
| Tax Exempt Bonds | Yes (true) | TaxExemptBondsInd |
| Invest Tax Exempt Bonds | false | InvestTaxExemptBondsInd |
| Escrow Account | false | EscrowAccountInd |
| On Behalf Of Issuer | false | OnBehalfOfIssuerInd |
| Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans | false | EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd |
| PY Excess Benefit Trans | false | PYExcessBenefitTransInd |
| Loan Outstanding | false | LoanOutstandingInd |
| Grant To Related Person | false | GrantToRelatedPersonInd |
| Business Rln With Org Mem | false | BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd |
| Business Rln With Fam Mem | false | BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd |
| Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent | false | BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd |
| Deductible Non Cash Contri | false | DeductibleNonCashContriInd |
| Deductible Art Contribution | false | DeductibleArtContributionInd |
| Terminate Operations | false | TerminateOperationsInd |
| Partial Liquidation | false | PartialLiquidationInd |
| Disregarded Entity | false | DisregardedEntityInd |
| Related Entity | Yes (true) | RelatedEntityInd |
| Related Organization Ctrl Ent | Yes (true) | RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd |
| Transaction With Control Ent | Yes (true) | TransactionWithControlEntInd |
| Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org | false | TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd |
| Activities Conducted Prtshp | false | ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd |
| Schedule O Required | Yes (true) | ScheduleORequiredInd |
| IRP Document | 34 | IRPDocumentCnt |
| IRP Document W2 G | 0 | IRPDocumentW2GCnt |
| Employee | 402 | EmployeeCnt |
| Employment Tax Returns Filed | Yes (true) | EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd |
| Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit | false | UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd |
| Foreign Financial Account | false | ForeignFinancialAccountInd |
| Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans | false | ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd |
| Taxable Party Notification | false | TaxablePartyNotificationInd |
| Nondeductible Contributions | false | NondeductibleContributionsInd |
| Indoor Tanning Services | false | IndoorTanningServicesInd |
| Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt | false | SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd |
| Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc | false | SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd |
| Info In Schedule O Part VI | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd |
| Governing Body Voting Members | 19 | GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt |
| Independent Voting Member | 19 | IndependentVotingMemberCnt |
| Family Or Business Rln | false | FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd |
| Delegation Of Mgmt Duties | false | DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd |
| Change To Org Documents | false | ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd |
| Material Diversion Or Misuse | false | MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd |
| Members Or Stockholders | false | MembersOrStockholdersInd |
| Election Of Board Members | Yes (true) | ElectionOfBoardMembersInd |
| Decisions Subject To Approva | Yes (true) | DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd |
| Minutes Of Governing Body | Yes (true) | MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd |
| Minutes Of Committees | Yes (true) | MinutesOfCommitteesInd |
| Officer Mailing Address | false | OfficerMailingAddressInd |
| Local Chapters | false | LocalChaptersInd |
| Form990 Provided To Gvrn Body | Yes (true) | Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd |
| Conflict Of Interest Policy | Yes (true) | ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd |
| Annual Disclosure Covered Prsn | Yes (true) | AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd |
| Regular Monitoring Enfrc | Yes (true) | RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd |
| Whistleblower Policy | Yes (true) | WhistleblowerPolicyInd |
| Document Retention Policy | Yes (true) | DocumentRetentionPolicyInd |
| Compensation Process CEO | Yes (true) | CompensationProcessCEOInd |
| Compensation Process Other | Yes (true) | CompensationProcessOtherInd |
| Investment In Joint Venture | false | InvestmentInJointVentureInd |
| Upon Request | Yes (X) | UponRequestInd |
Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person | MICHELLE HALL | PersonNm |
| Phone | 6202784294 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 125 W COOPER ROAD | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | STERLING | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | KS | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 67579 | ZIPCd |
Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (22 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Average Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRt | OfficerOfficerInd | Reportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmt | Reportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmt | Other CompensationOtherCompensationAmt | Highest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd | Individual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorInd |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SCOTT RICH | |||||||
| COLLEGE PRES | 50.00 | Yes (X) | $185,670 | $0 | $24,636 | ||
| KENNETH BROWN | |||||||
| VP ACADEMIC | 45.00 | $106,890 | $0 | $5,510 | Yes (X) | ||
| MICHELLE HALL | |||||||
| CFO | 45.00 | Yes (X) | $65,843 | $0 | $6,589 | ||
| RANDALL HENRY | |||||||
| BOARD CHAIR | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | |
| GLENNYS DOANE | |||||||
| BOARD VICE C | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | |
| MATT JAEGER | |||||||
| BOARD SECRET | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | |
| LARRY DASHIELL | |||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 1.00 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | ||
| DR H DANIEL FAHRENHOLTZ | |||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 1.00 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | ||
| DR RAY FARAG | |||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 1.00 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | ||
| PAM HEAD | |||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 1.00 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | ||
| MARY KNECHT | |||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 1.00 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | ||
| RANDY MAGEE | |||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 1.00 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | ||
| HEATHER MCCREERY | |||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 1.00 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | ||
| RACHEL MILLER | |||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 1.00 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | ||
| DWIGHT NICHOLS | |||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 1.00 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | ||
| DARYL NUSS | |||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 1.00 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | ||
| K TIMOTHY O'BRIEN | |||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 1.00 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | ||
| REV BEN RAY | |||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 1.00 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | ||
| DONALD R REED | |||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 1.00 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | ||
| CAROL SIBLEY | |||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 1.00 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | ||
| PARKER SMITH | |||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 1.00 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | ||
| JASON WEST | |||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 1.00 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | ||
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Reportable Comp From Org | $358,403 | TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt |
| Total Other Compensation | $36,735 | TotalOtherCompensationAmt |
| Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 2 | IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
| Former Ofcr Employees Listed | false | FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd |
| Total Comp Greater Than150 K | Yes (true) | TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd |
| Compensation From Other Srcs | false | CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd |
Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (4 entries)
| Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1Txt | CityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNm | State AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCd | ZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCd | ServicesServicesDesc | CompensationCompensationAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| COMPASS GROUP | |||||
| PO BOX 91337 | CHICAGO | IL | 60693 | FOOD SERVICE | $1,564,123 |
| IMAGINE IT | |||||
| 2051 KILLEBREW DRIVE 510 | BLOOMINGTON | MN | 55425 | IT SERVICES | $336,804 |
| JENZABAR | |||||
| PO BOX 845588 | BOSTON | MA | 022845588 | SOFTWARE SRVCS | $184,575 |
| GILMORE | |||||
| 115 S BROADWAY AVE SUITE B | STERLING | KS | 67579 | IT SERVICES | $121,106 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 4 | CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
| Government Grants | $2,416,289 | GovernmentGrantsAmt |
| All Other Contributions | $2,639,260 | AllOtherContributionsAmt |
| Noncash Contributions | $1,161 | NoncashContributionsAmt |
| Total Contributions | $5,055,549 | TotalContributionsAmt |
Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (3 entries)
| DescDesc | BusinessBusinessCd | Total Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmt | Related Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
|---|---|---|---|
| TUITION AND FEES | 611710 | $14,106,290 | $14,106,290 |
| AUXILIARY ENTERPRISES | 611710 | $3,701,875 | $3,701,875 |
| MISC. EDUCATION INCOME | 611710 | $293,756 | $293,756 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Program Service Revenue | $18,101,921 | TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $199,680 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $199,680 | ExclusionAmt |
Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | $3,958,116 | SecuritiesAmt |
| Other | $2,841 | OtherAmt |
Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | $4,070,472 | SecuritiesAmt |
| Other | $3,189 | OtherAmt |
Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | -$112,356 | SecuritiesAmt |
| Other | -$348 | OtherAmt |
Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | -$112,704 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | -$348 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
| Exclusion | -$112,356 | ExclusionAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Gross Sales Of Inventory | $91,845 | GrossSalesOfInventoryAmt |
| Cost Of Goods Sold | $108,534 | CostOfGoodsSoldAmt |
Net Income Or Loss NetIncomeOrLossGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | -$16,689 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | -$16,689 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $23,227,757 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $18,084,884 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
| Exclusion | $87,324 | ExclusionAmt |
Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $8,617,552 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $8,617,552 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $282,738 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $219,646 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $63,092 | FundraisingAmt |
Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $5,994,877 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $4,958,137 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $866,179 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $170,561 | FundraisingAmt |
Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $80,693 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $61,547 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $16,015 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $3,131 | FundraisingAmt |
Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $674,748 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $530,732 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $124,467 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $19,549 | FundraisingAmt |
Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $431,089 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $339,583 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $75,173 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $16,333 | FundraisingAmt |
Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $138,159 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $138,159 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $47,732 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $47,732 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Advertising AdvertisingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $78,818 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $29,921 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $48,536 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $361 | FundraisingAmt |
Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $448,746 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $377,256 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $60,209 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $11,281 | FundraisingAmt |
Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $311,549 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $264,264 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $17,514 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $29,771 | FundraisingAmt |
Occupancy OccupancyGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,107,029 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $962,911 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $143,040 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $1,078 | FundraisingAmt |
Travel TravelGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $384,594 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $324,166 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $54,438 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $5,990 | FundraisingAmt |
Interest InterestGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $448,556 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $401,997 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $46,559 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Payments To Affiliates PaymentsToAffiliatesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $285,245 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $285,245 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $959,934 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $860,293 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $99,641 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Insurance InsuranceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $437,312 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $172,891 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $264,421 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (2 entries)
| DescDesc | TotalTotalAmt | Program ServicesProgramServicesAmt | Management And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmt | FundraisingFundraisingAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OTHER FEES FOR SERVICES | $2,218,667 | $2,134,210 | $67,394 | $17,063 |
| ACADEMIC SUPPORT & AUXILI | $898,893 | $688,015 | $203,601 | $7,277 |
Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $23,846,931 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $21,008,720 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $2,492,724 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $345,487 | FundraisingAmt |
Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $162,445 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $171,048 | EOYAmt |
Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $10,525,935 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $10,218,937 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $290,089 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $362,361 | EOYAmt |
Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $368,577 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $359,457 | EOYAmt |
Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $114,821 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $142,564 | EOYAmt |
Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $1,542 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $3,440 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss | $33,795,103 | LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt |
| Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec | $18,485,896 | LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt |
Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $15,936,134 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $15,309,207 | EOYAmt |
Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $5,707,074 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $3,901,827 | EOYAmt |
Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $11,626,874 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $12,266,012 | EOYAmt |
Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $755,906 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $2,478,556 | EOYAmt |
Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $45,489,397 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $45,213,409 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $1,974,882 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $1,658,043 | EOYAmt |
Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $347,090 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $224,240 | EOYAmt |
Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $3,896,541 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $3,606,887 | EOYAmt |
Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $5,918,228 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $6,385,840 | EOYAmt |
Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $12,136,741 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $11,875,010 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Organization Follows FASB117 | Yes (X) | OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind |
No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $6,491,885 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $7,303,968 | EOYAmt |
Donor Restriction Net Assets DonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $26,860,771 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $26,034,431 | EOYAmt |
Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $33,352,656 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $33,338,399 | EOYAmt |
Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $45,489,397 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $45,213,409 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Info In Schedule O Part XI | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd |
| Reconcilation Revenue Expnss | -$619,174 | ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt |
| Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst | $351,489 | NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt |
| Other Changes In Net Assets | $253,428 | OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt |
| Method Of Accounting Accrual | Yes (X) | MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd |
| Accountant Compile Or Review | false | AccountantCompileOrReviewInd |
| FS Audited | Yes (true) | FSAuditedInd |
FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Separate Basis Fincl Stmt | Yes (X) | SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Audit Committee | Yes (true) | AuditCommitteeInd |
| Federal Grant Audit Required | Yes (true) | FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd |
| Federal Grant Audit Performed | Yes (true) | FederalGrantAuditPerformedInd |
Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| School | Yes (X) | SchoolInd |
Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB
Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Contributor | RESTRICTED | ContributorNum |
Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | RESTRICTED | BusinessNameLine1 |
Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | RESTRICTED | AddressLine1 |
| Address Line2 | RESTRICTED | AddressLine2 |
| City | RESTRICTED | City |
| State | RESTRICTED | State |
| ZIP Code | RESTRICTED | ZIPCode |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Contributions | RESTRICTED | TotalContributionsAmt |
Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Historic Structure | Yes (X) | HistoricStructureInd |
| Total Easements | 1 | TotalEasementsCnt |
| Total Acreage | 3.00 | TotalAcreageCnt |
| Historic Structure Easements | 1 | HistoricStructureEasementsCnt |
| States Easements Held | 1 | StatesEasementsHeldCnt |
| Written Policy Monitoring | false | WrittenPolicyMonitoringInd |
| Collection Used Pub Exhibition | Yes (X) | CollectionUsedPubExhibitionInd |
| Coll Used Scholarly Rsrch | Yes (X) | CollUsedScholarlyRsrchInd |
| Collection Used Preservation | Yes (X) | CollectionUsedPreservationInd |
| Coll Used Loan Or Exch Prog | Yes (X) | CollUsedLoanOrExchProgInd |
| Solicited Assets Sale | false | SolicitedAssetsSaleInd |
CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Beginning Year Balance | $13,468,512 | BeginningYearBalanceAmt |
| Contributions | $78,257 | ContributionsAmt |
| Investment Earnings Or Losses | $609,363 | InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt |
| Other Expenditures | $1,941,590 | OtherExpendituresAmt |
| End Year Balance | $12,214,542 | EndYearBalanceAmt |
CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Beginning Year Balance | $15,320,526 | BeginningYearBalanceAmt |
| Contributions | $26,285 | ContributionsAmt |
| Investment Earnings Or Losses | -$1,454,273 | InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt |
| Other Expenditures | $424,026 | OtherExpendituresAmt |
| End Year Balance | $13,468,512 | EndYearBalanceAmt |
CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Beginning Year Balance | $13,477,584 | BeginningYearBalanceAmt |
| Contributions | $339,000 | ContributionsAmt |
| Investment Earnings Or Losses | $1,779,996 | InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt |
| Other Expenditures | $276,054 | OtherExpendituresAmt |
| End Year Balance | $15,320,526 | EndYearBalanceAmt |
CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Beginning Year Balance | $17,293,994 | BeginningYearBalanceAmt |
| Contributions | $265,028 | ContributionsAmt |
| Investment Earnings Or Losses | -$292,210 | InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt |
| Grants Or Scholarships | -$218,783 | GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt |
| Other Expenditures | $3,570,445 | OtherExpendituresAmt |
| End Year Balance | $13,477,584 | EndYearBalanceAmt |
CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Beginning Year Balance | $17,724,414 | BeginningYearBalanceAmt |
| Contributions | $1,313,391 | ContributionsAmt |
| Investment Earnings Or Losses | $667,760 | InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt |
| Grants Or Scholarships | -$338,247 | GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt |
| Other Expenditures | $2,073,324 | OtherExpendituresAmt |
| End Year Balance | $17,293,994 | EndYearBalanceAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Board Designated Balance EOY | 0.02340 | BoardDesignatedBalanceEOYPct |
| Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY | 0.80560 | PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct |
| Term Endowment Balance EOY | 0.17100 | TermEndowmentBalanceEOYPct |
| Endowments Held Unrelated Org | Yes (true) | EndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd |
| Endowments Held Related Org | false | EndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd |
Land LandGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $609,868 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Book Value | $609,868 | BookValueAmt |
Buildings BuildingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $25,002,188 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $12,352,235 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $12,649,953 | BookValueAmt |
Equipment EquipmentGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $8,183,047 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $6,133,661 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $2,049,386 | BookValueAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Book Value Land Buildings | $15,309,207 | TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt |
Other Securities OtherSecuritiesGrp (9 entries)
| DescDesc | Book ValueBookValueAmt | Method ValuationMethodValuationCd |
|---|---|---|
| POOLED INVESTMENT FUND | $5,511,465 | F |
| CHARITABLE REMAINDER TRUSTS | $4,574,277 | F |
| BENEFICIAL INTEREST IN PERPETUAL TRU | $845,498 | F |
| LT CERTIFICATES OF DEPOSIT | $829,150 | F |
| US GOV & AGENCY SECURITIES | $249,577 | F |
| CASH VALUE OF LIFE INSURANCE | $105,149 | F |
| OTHER | $85,002 | F |
| REAL ESTATE | $65,800 | F |
| MONEY MARKET FUNDS | $94 | F |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Book Value Securities | $12,266,012 | TotalBookValueSecuritiesAmt |
Other Assets Org OtherAssetsOrgGrp (4 entries)
| DescDesc | Book ValueBookValueAmt |
|---|---|
| ERC TAX CREDIT RECEIVABLE | $1,437,490 |
| RESTRICTED CASH FOR BOND RESERVE | $453,379 |
| RIGHT-OF-USE ASSETS | $336,164 |
| LOANS RECEIVABLE FROM STUDENTS | $251,523 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Book Value Other Assets | $2,478,556 | TotalBookValueOtherAssetsAmt |
Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (8 entries)
| DescDesc | AmtAmt |
|---|---|
| OPERATING LOC | $4,061,628 |
| DEFERRED VENDOR REBATES | $899,428 |
| CHECKS ISSUED IN XS OF BANK BALANCE | $830,930 |
| FINANCING LEASE LIABILITIES | $257,734 |
| US GOVT LOAN FUNDS REFUNDABLE | $202,447 |
| ANNUITY AGREEMENTS PAYABLE | $94,075 |
| STUDENT DEPOSITS | $22,017 |
| NOTES PAYABLE | $17,581 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Liability | $6,385,840 | TotalLiabilityAmt |
| Footnote Text | Yes (X) | FootnoteTextInd |
| Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $13,414,904 | TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Net Unrealized Gains Invst | $351,489 | NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported | $351,489 | RevenueNotReportedAmt |
| Revenue Subtotal | $13,063,415 | RevenueSubtotalAmt |
| Investment Expenses Not Incld | $47,732 | InvestmentExpensesNotIncldAmt |
| Other Revenues Not Included | $10,116,610 | OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt | $10,164,342 | RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Revenue Per Form990 | $23,227,757 | TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt |
| Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $15,198,336 | TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Other Expenses Included | $16,689 | OtherExpensesIncludedAmt |
| Expenses Not Reported | $16,689 | ExpensesNotReportedAmt |
| Expenses Subtotal | $15,181,647 | ExpensesSubtotalAmt |
| Investment Expenses Not Incld2 | $47,732 | InvestmentExpensesNotIncld2Amt |
| Other Expenses Not Included | $8,617,552 | OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt |
| Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt | $8,665,284 | ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Expenses Per Form990 | $23,846,931 | TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (6 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| SCHEDULE D, PAGE 2, PART III, LINE 4 | THE COLLEGE'S COLLECTIONS ARE MADE UP OF ARTIFACTS OF HISTORICAL SIGNIFICANCE, SCIENTIFIC SPECIMENS, AND ART OBJECTS THAT ARE HELD FOR EDUCATIONAL, SCIENTIFIC, AND CURATORIAL PURPOSES. |
| SCHEDULE D, PAGE 2, PART V, LINE 4 | THE COLLEGE'S ENDOWMENT CONSISTS OF MANY DONOR RESTRICTED AND BOARD DESIGNATED FUNDS FOR SCHOLARSHIP AND OPERATING PURPOSES. |
| SCHEDULE D, PAGE 3, PART X | THE COLLEGE ONLY RECOGNIZES THE IMPACT OF TAX POSITION IF THE POSITION WILL MORE LIKELY THAN NOT BE SUSTAINED DURING AN INCOME TAX EXAMINATION. THE COLLEGE DID NOT HAVE ANY MATERIAL UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS AS OF JUNE 30, 2023 AND 2022. THE COLLEGE IS SUBJECT TO ROUTINE AUDITS BY TAXING JURISDICTIONS; HOWEVER, THERE ARE CURRENTLY NO EXAMINATIONS FOR OPEN TAX PERIODS IN PROGRESS. THE COLLEGE BELIEVES IT IS NO LONGER SUBJECT TO INCOME TAX EXAMINATION FOR YEARS PRIOR TO 2020. |
| SCHEDULE D, PAGE 4, PART XI, LINE 4B | CONTRIBUTIONS TO ENDOWMENT 78,257 BOOKSTORE -16,689 EMPLOYEE RETENTION TAX CREDIT 1,437,490 SCHOLARSHIPS 8,617,552 |
| SCHEDULE D, PAGE 4, PART XII, LINE 2D | BOOKSTORE 16,689 |
| SCHEDULE D, PAGE 4, PART XII, LINE 4B | SCHOLARSHIPS & GRANTS 8,617,552 |
Schedule E IRS990ScheduleE
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Nondiscriminatory Policy Stmt | Yes (true) | NondiscriminatoryPolicyStmtInd |
| Policy Stmt In Brochures Etc | Yes (true) | PolicyStmtInBrochuresEtcInd |
| Plcy Pblczd Via Broadcast Media | Yes (true) | PlcyPblczdViaBroadcastMediaInd |
| Maintain Racial Comp Recs | Yes (true) | MaintainRacialCompRecsInd |
| Maintain Scholarships Recs | Yes (true) | MaintainScholarshipsRecsInd |
| Maintain Cpy Of Brochures Etc | Yes (true) | MaintainCpyOfBrochuresEtcInd |
| Maintain Cpy Of All Sol | Yes (true) | MaintainCpyOfAllSolInd |
| Discriminate Race Stdnts Rghts | false | DiscriminateRaceStdntsRghtsInd |
| Discriminate Race Admiss Plcy | false | DiscriminateRaceAdmissPlcyInd |
| Discriminate Race Emplm Fculty | false | DiscriminateRaceEmplmFcultyInd |
| Discriminate Race Schs | false | DiscriminateRaceSchsInd |
| Discriminate Race Educ Plcy | false | DiscriminateRaceEducPlcyInd |
| Discriminate Race Use Of Fclts | false | DiscriminateRaceUseOfFcltsInd |
| Discriminate Race Athlt Prog | false | DiscriminateRaceAthltProgInd |
| Discriminate Race Other Acty | false | DiscriminateRaceOtherActyInd |
| Government Financial Aid Rcvd | Yes (true) | GovernmentFinancialAidRcvdInd |
| Government Financial Aid Rvkd | false | GovernmentFinancialAidRvkdInd |
| Compliance With Rev Proc7550 | Yes (true) | ComplianceWithRevProc7550Ind |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| SCHEDULE E, LINE 3 | OUR NON-DISCRIMINATION POLICY IS DISCLOSED ON OUR WEBSITE AND ON ALL APPLICATIONS FOR ADMISSION. |
| SCHEDULE E, LINE 6 | STERLING COLLEGE RECEIVES TITLE IV FUNDS FROM THE DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION ONLY FOR STUDENT ASSISTANCE. |
Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Grant Records Maintained | Yes (true) | GrantRecordsMaintainedInd |
Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Grant Type | STUDENT SCHOLARSHIPS | GrantTypeTxt |
| Recipient | 492 | RecipientCnt |
| Cash Grant | $8,617,552 | CashGrantAmt |
| Valuation Method Used | BOOK | ValuationMethodUsedDesc |
| Non Cash Assistance | TUITION REDUCT | NonCashAssistanceDesc |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form And Line Reference | SCHEDULE I, PAGE 4, PART IV | FormAndLineReferenceDesc |
| Explanation | ALL SCHOLARSHIPS & GRANTS ARE AWARDED TO STUDENTS ATTENDING STERLING COLLEGE. THESE SCHOLARSHIPS & GRANTS ARE NON-CASH AWARDS, REQUIRING THE AWARDS TO BE USED AS A DIRECT REDUCTION IN TUITION COST. | ExplanationTxt |
Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Housing Allowance Or Residence | Yes (X) | HousingAllowanceOrResidenceInd |
| Written Policy Ref T And E Expnss | Yes (true) | WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd |
| Substantiation Required | Yes (true) | SubstantiationRequiredInd |
| Compensation Committee | Yes (X) | CompensationCommitteeInd |
| Independent Consultant | Yes (X) | IndependentConsultantInd |
| Form990 Of Other Organizations | Yes (X) | Form990OfOtherOrganizationsInd |
| Written Employment Contract | Yes (X) | WrittenEmploymentContractInd |
| Compensation Survey | Yes (X) | CompensationSurveyInd |
| Board Or Committee Approval | Yes (X) | BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd |
| Severance Payment | false | SeverancePaymentInd |
| Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan | false | SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd |
| Equity Based Comp Arrngm | false | EquityBasedCompArrngmInd |
| Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org | false | CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd |
| Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs | false | CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd |
| Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org | false | CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd |
| Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs | false | CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd |
| Any Non Fixed Payments | false | AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd |
| Initial Contract Exception | false | InitialContractExceptionInd |
Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person | SCOTT RICH | PersonNm |
| Title | COLLEGE PRESIDENT | TitleTxt |
| Base Compensation Filing Org | $152,550 | BaseCompensationFilingOrgAmt |
| Other Compensation Filing Org | $33,120 | OtherCompensationFilingOrgAmt |
| Deferred Compensation Flng Org | $3,051 | DeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmt |
| Nontaxable Benefits Filing Org | $21,585 | NontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmt |
| Total Compensation Filing Org | $210,306 | TotalCompensationFilingOrgAmt |
Schedule K IRS990ScheduleK
Tax Exempt Bonds Issues TaxExemptBondsIssuesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Bond Reference | A | BondReferenceCd |
Issuer Name IssuerName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | CITY OF STERLING KS | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Bond Issuer EIN | 486016934 | BondIssuerEIN |
| CUSIP | 859368AY8 | CUSIPNum |
| Bond Issued | 2017-12-19 | BondIssuedDt |
| Issue Price | $5,075,000 | IssuePriceAmt |
| Purpose | EDUCATIONAL FACILITIES REFUNDING REVENUE BONDS | PurposeDesc |
| Defeased | false | DefeasedInd |
| On Behalf Of Issuer | false | OnBehalfOfIssuerInd |
| Pool Financing | false | PoolFinancingInd |
Tax Exempt Bonds Proceeds TaxExemptBondsProceedsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Bond Reference | A | BondReferenceCd |
| Retired | $1,375,000 | RetiredAmt |
| Total Proceeds | $5,075,000 | TotalProceedsAmt |
| In Reserve Fund | $204,872 | InReserveFundAmt |
| Issuance Costs From Proceeds | $53,687 | IssuanceCostsFromProceedsAmt |
| Refunding Tax Exempt Bonds | Yes (true) | RefundingTaxExemptBondsInd |
| Refunding Taxable Bonds | false | RefundingTaxableBondsInd |
| Final Allocation Made | Yes (true) | FinalAllocationMadeInd |
| Adequate Books And Rec Maint | Yes (true) | AdequateBooksAndRecMaintInd |
Tax Exempt Bonds Private Bus Use TaxExemptBondsPrivateBusUseGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Bond Reference | A | BondReferenceCd |
| Owning Bond Financed Property | false | OwningBondFinancedPropertyInd |
| Any Lease Arrangements | false | AnyLeaseArrangementsInd |
| Mgmt Contract Bond Fincd Prop | false | MgmtContractBondFincdPropInd |
| Any Research Agreements | false | AnyResearchAgreementsInd |
| Bond Iss Meet Prvt Sec Pymt Test | false | BondIssMeetPrvtSecPymtTestInd |
| Change In Use Bond Financed Prop | false | ChangeInUseBondFinancedPropInd |
| Procs Nonqualified Bond Remdtd | false | ProcsNonqualifiedBondRemdtdInd |
Tax Exempt Bonds Arbitrage TaxExemptBondsArbitrageGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Bond Reference | A | BondReferenceCd |
| Form8038 T Filed | false | Form8038TFiledInd |
| Rebate Not Due Yet | false | RebateNotDueYetInd |
| Exception To Rebate | false | ExceptionToRebateInd |
| No Rebate Due | false | NoRebateDueInd |
| Variable Rate Issue | false | VariableRateIssueInd |
| Hedge Identified In Bks And Rec | false | HedgeIdentifiedInBksAndRecInd |
| Gross Proceeds Invested In GIC | false | GrossProceedsInvestedInGICInd |
| Gross Proceeds Invested | false | GrossProceedsInvestedInd |
| Written Proc To Monitor Reqs | false | WrittenProcToMonitorReqsInd |
Procedures Corrective Action ProceduresCorrectiveActionGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Bond Reference | A | BondReferenceCd |
| Procedures Corrective Action | false | ProceduresCorrectiveActionInd |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form And Line Reference | PURPOSE OF ISSUE DESCRIPTION | FormAndLineReferenceDesc |
| Explanation | CITY OF STERLING, KS EDUCATIONAL FACILITIES REFUNDING REVENUE BONDS | ExplanationTxt |
Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (9 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| FORM 990, PAGE 2, PART III, LINE 4D | ACADEMIC SUPPORT HELP STUDENTS SUCCEED ACADEMICALLY BY OFFERING TUTORING, DISABILITY SERVICES, AND ASSISTANCE WITH TIME MANAGEMENT AND STUDY SKILLS. |
| FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 7A | BOARD OF TRUSTEES VOTE IN NEW TRUSTEES TO REPLACE EXITING ONES. |
| FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 7B | BOARD COMMITTEE DECISIONS ARE VOTED ON BY ENTIRE BOARD FOR APPROVAL. |
| FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 11B | A COPY OF THE FORM 990 WAS REVIEWED BY THE CONTROLLER AND/OR THE DIRECTOR OF FINANCIAL AND ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES, AS WELL AS THE PRESIDENT AND THE FINANCE COMMITTEE BEFORE BEING FILED. |
| FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 12C | CONFLICTS OF INTEREST ARE REVIEWED PERIODICALLY FOR VIOLATIONS OF POLICIES. |
| FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 15A | TOP MANAGEMENT COMPENSATION IS DETERMINED THROUGH THE USE OF COMPARATIVE DATA FROM SIMILAR SIZE ENTITIES AND INDEPENDENT DATA OBTAINED BY THE BOARD AND MANAGEMENT. |
| FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 15B | OFFICER AND KEY EMPLOYEE COMPENSATION IS DETERMINED THROUGH USE OF COMPARATIVE DATA FROM SIMILAR SIZE ENTITIES AND INDEPENDENT DATA OBTAINED BY THE BOARD AND MANAGEMENT. |
| FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 19 | THE GOVERNING DOCUMENTS, THE CONFLIT OF INTEREST POLICY AND THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE MADE AVAILABLE TO THE PUBLIC UPON REQUEST. |
| FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9 | CHANGE IN VALUE OF SPLIT INTEREST AGR 253,428 |
Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR
Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp
Disregarded Entity Name DisregardedEntityName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | KS INDEPENDENT COLLEGE ASSOCIATION | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 210 S MAIN | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | MCPHERSON | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | KS | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 67460 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EIN | 486127349 | EIN |
| Primary Activities | EDUCATIONA | PrimaryActivitiesTxt |
| Legal Domicile State | KS | LegalDomicileStateCd |
Direct Controlling Entity Name DirectControllingEntityName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | NA | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Controlled Organization | false | ControlledOrganizationInd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts Rylts | false | ReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd |
| Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth Org | false | GiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd |
| Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth Org | false | GiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd |
| Loans Or Guarantees To Other Org | false | LoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd |
| Loans Or Guarantees From Oth Org | false | LoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd |
| Div Related Organization | false | DivRelatedOrganizationInd |
| Asset Sale To Other Org | false | AssetSaleToOtherOrgInd |
| Asset Purchase From Other Org | false | AssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd |
| Asset Exchange | false | AssetExchangeInd |
| Rental Of Facilities To Oth Org | false | RentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd |
| Rental Of Fclts From Oth Org | false | RentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd |
| Perform Of Services For Oth Org | Yes (true) | PerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd |
| Perform Of Services By Other Org | false | PerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd |
| Sharing Of Facilities | false | SharingOfFacilitiesInd |
| Paid Employees Sharing | false | PaidEmployeesSharingInd |
| Reimbursement Paid To Other Org | false | ReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd |
| Reimbursement Paid By Other Org | false | ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd |
| Transfer To Other Org | false | TransferToOtherOrgInd |
| Transfer From Other Org | false | TransferFromOtherOrgInd |
Transactions Related Org TransactionsRelatedOrgGrp
Other Organization Name OtherOrganizationName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | KANSAS INDEPENDENT COLLEGE ASSN | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Transaction Type | L | TransactionTypeTxt |
| Involved | $285,245 | InvolvedAmt |
| Method Of Amount Determination | COST | MethodOfAmountDeterminationTxt |