MARYLAND HOSPITAL ASSOCIATION INCORPORATED: Form 990, tax year 2022
View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗
- Organization
- MARYLAND HOSPITAL ASSOCIATION INCORPORATED (EIN 52-0647639)
- Tax period
- 2022-07-01 to 2023-06-30
- Filed
- 2024-04-24
- IRS object ID
- 202401159349301210
- Schema version
- 2022v5.0
- Source
- Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica
Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.
Return header ReturnHeader
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return | 2024-04-24T09:03:56-05:00 | ReturnTs |
| Tax Period End | 2023-06-30 | TaxPeriodEndDt |
Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Firm EIN | 462982708 | PreparerFirmEIN |
Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | FITZPATRICK LEARY & SZARKOLLC | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 1447 YORK ROAD STE 703 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | LUTHERVILLE | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | MD | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 21093 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return Type | 990 | ReturnTypeCd |
| Tax Period Begin | 2022-07-01 | TaxPeriodBeginDt |
Filer Filer
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EIN | 520647639 | EIN |
Business Name BusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | MARYLAND HOSPITAL ASSOCIATION INC | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Control | MARY | BusinessNameControlTxt |
| Phone | 4103796200 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 6820 DEERPATH ROAD | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | ELKRIDGE | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | MD | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 21075 | ZIPCd |
Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person | MEGHAN MCCLELLAND | PersonNm |
| Person Title | CHIEF OPERATING OFFICER | PersonTitleTxt |
| Phone | 4103796200 | PhoneNum |
| Signature | 2024-04-09 | SignatureDt |
| Discuss With Paid Preparer | Yes (1) | DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd |
Signing Officer SigningOfficerGrp
Person Full Name PersonFullName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person First | MEGHAN | PersonFirstNm |
| Person Last | MCCLELLAND | PersonLastNm |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| SSN | 999009999 | SSN |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| IRS Responsible Prty Info Curr | 0 | IRSResponsiblePrtyInfoCurrInd |
Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Person | VINCENT G GREY CPA | PreparerPersonNm |
| PTIN | P01729840 | PTIN |
| Phone | 4103071400 | PhoneNum |
| Preparation | 2024-04-09 | PreparationDt |
Additional Filer Information AdditionalFilerInformation
Trusted Customer TrustedCustomerGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Trusted Customer | 2 | TrustedCustomerCd |
| Authentication Assurance Level | AAL1 | AuthenticationAssuranceLevelCd |
| Identity Assurance Level | IAL1 | IdentityAssuranceLevelCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Tax | 2022 | TaxYr |
| Build TS | 2023-04-26 12:10:37Z | BuildTS |
Form 990 IRS990
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Principal Officer | MEGHAN MCCLELLAND | PrincipalOfficerNm |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 6820 DEERPATH ROAD | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | ELKRIDGE | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | MD | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 21075 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Gross Receipts | $24,068,011 | GrossReceiptsAmt |
| Group Return For Affiliates | 0 | GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd |
| Organization501c | Yes (X) | Organization501cInd |
| Website Address | HTTP://WWW.MHAONLINE.ORG | WebsiteAddressTxt |
| Type Of Organization Corp | Yes (X) | TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd |
| Formation | 1954 | FormationYr |
| Legal Domicile State | MD | LegalDomicileStateCd |
| Activity Or Mission | THE ASSOCIATION EXISTS TO HELP MARYLAND HOSPITALS AND HEALTH SYSTEMS SERVE THEIR COMMUNITIES BY PROVIDING THEM LEADERSHIP, ADVOCACY, EDUCATION, AND INNOVATIVE PROGRAMS AND SERVICES. | ActivityOrMissionDesc |
| Voting Members Governing Body | 19 | VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt |
| Voting Members Independent | 19 | VotingMembersIndependentCnt |
| Total Employee | 55 | TotalEmployeeCnt |
| Total Volunteers | 0 | TotalVolunteersCnt |
| Total Gross UBI | $0 | TotalGrossUBIAmt |
| Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm | $0 | NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt |
| PY Contributions Grants | $3,257,178 | PYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| CY Contributions Grants | $7,368,295 | CYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| PY Program Service Revenue | $8,835,954 | PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| CY Program Service Revenue | $9,041,118 | CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| PY Investment Income | $1,941,206 | PYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| CY Investment Income | $1,270,356 | CYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| PY Other Revenue | $52,015 | PYOtherRevenueAmt |
| CY Other Revenue | $43,227 | CYOtherRevenueAmt |
| PY Total Revenue | $14,086,353 | PYTotalRevenueAmt |
| CY Total Revenue | $17,722,996 | CYTotalRevenueAmt |
| PY Grants And Similar Paid | $18,944 | PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| CY Grants And Similar Paid | $21,003 | CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| PY Benefits Paid To Members | $0 | PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| CY Benefits Paid To Members | $0 | CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $6,138,569 | PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $6,780,459 | CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Fundraising Expense | $0 | CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt |
| PY Other Expenses | $5,256,673 | PYOtherExpensesAmt |
| CY Other Expenses | $8,720,539 | CYOtherExpensesAmt |
| PY Total Expenses | $11,414,186 | PYTotalExpensesAmt |
| CY Total Expenses | $15,522,001 | CYTotalExpensesAmt |
| PY Revenues Less Expenses | $2,672,167 | PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| CY Revenues Less Expenses | $2,200,995 | CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| Total Assets BOY | $37,007,310 | TotalAssetsBOYAmt |
| Total Assets EOY | $37,318,285 | TotalAssetsEOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities BOY | $5,465,268 | TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities EOY | $2,503,387 | TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY | $31,542,042 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY | $34,814,898 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt |
| Mission | THE ASSOCIATION EXISTS TO HELP MARYLAND HOSPITALS AND HEALTH SYSTEMS SERVE THEIR COMMUNITIES BY PROVIDING THEM LEADERSHIP, ADVOCACY, EDUCATION, AND INNOVATIVE PROGRAMS AND SERVICES. | MissionDesc |
| Significant New Program Srvc | 0 | SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd |
| Significant Change | 0 | SignificantChangeInd |
| Desc | STRATEGY ANALYTICS SUPPORT AND DEVELOP POLICY FOR THE ASSOCIATION THROUGH QUALITATIVE AND QUANTITATIVE ANALYSIS. | Desc |
Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Desc | HEALTHCARE PAYMENT IS INVOLVED WITH ALL MATTERS OF HEALTHCARE FINANCIAL POLICY. | Desc |
Prog Srvc Accom Acty3 ProgSrvcAccomActy3Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Desc | GOVERNMENT AFFAIRS EVALUATES, PRIORITIZES AND RECOMMENDS CHANGES TO MARYLAND'S HEALTHCARE LEGISLATIVE STRUCTURE TO ENABLE MARYLAND'S HOSPITALS TO BETTER SERVE COMMUNITIES' NEEDS. | Desc |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Described In Section501c3 | 0 | DescribedInSection501c3Ind |
| Schedule B Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleBRequiredInd |
| Political Campaign Acty | 0 | PoliticalCampaignActyInd |
| Subject To Proxy Tax | Yes (1) | SubjectToProxyTaxInd |
| Donor Advised Fund | 0 | DonorAdvisedFundInd |
| Conservation Easements | 0 | ConservationEasementsInd |
| Collections Of Art | 0 | CollectionsOfArtInd |
| Credit Counseling | 0 | CreditCounselingInd |
| Donor Rstr Or Quasi Endowments | 0 | DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd |
| Report Land Building Equipment | Yes (1) | ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd |
| Report Investments Other Sec | Yes (1) | ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd |
| Report Program Related Invst | 0 | ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd |
| Report Other Assets | 0 | ReportOtherAssetsInd |
| Report Other Liabilities | Yes (1) | ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd |
| Include FIN48 Footnote | Yes (1) | IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd |
| Independent Audit Fincl Stmt | 0 | IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd |
| Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt | Yes (1) | ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd |
| School Operating | 0 | SchoolOperatingInd |
| Foreign Office | 0 | ForeignOfficeInd |
| Foreign Activities | 0 | ForeignActivitiesInd |
| More Than5000 K To Org | 0 | MoreThan5000KToOrgInd |
| More Than5000 K To Individuals | 0 | MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd |
| Professional Fundraising | 0 | ProfessionalFundraisingInd |
| Fundraising Activities | 0 | FundraisingActivitiesInd |
| Gaming Activities | 0 | GamingActivitiesInd |
| Operate Hospital | 0 | OperateHospitalInd |
| Grants To Organizations | Yes (1) | GrantsToOrganizationsInd |
| Grants To Individuals | 0 | GrantsToIndividualsInd |
| Schedule J Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleJRequiredInd |
| Tax Exempt Bonds | 0 | TaxExemptBondsInd |
| Loan Outstanding | 0 | LoanOutstandingInd |
| Grant To Related Person | 0 | GrantToRelatedPersonInd |
| Business Rln With Org Mem | 0 | BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd |
| Business Rln With Fam Mem | 0 | BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd |
| Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent | 0 | BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd |
| Deductible Non Cash Contri | 0 | DeductibleNonCashContriInd |
| Deductible Art Contribution | 0 | DeductibleArtContributionInd |
| Terminate Operations | 0 | TerminateOperationsInd |
| Partial Liquidation | 0 | PartialLiquidationInd |
| Disregarded Entity | 0 | DisregardedEntityInd |
| Related Entity | Yes (1) | RelatedEntityInd |
| Related Organization Ctrl Ent | Yes (1) | RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd |
| Transaction With Control Ent | Yes (1) | TransactionWithControlEntInd |
| Activities Conducted Prtshp | 0 | ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd |
| Schedule O Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleORequiredInd |
| IRP Document | 37 | IRPDocumentCnt |
| IRP Document W2 G | 0 | IRPDocumentW2GCnt |
| Backup Wthld Compliance | Yes (1) | BackupWthldComplianceInd |
| Employee | 55 | EmployeeCnt |
| Employment Tax Returns Filed | Yes (1) | EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd |
| Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit | Yes (1) | UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd |
| Form990 T Filed | Yes (1) | Form990TFiledInd |
| Foreign Financial Account | 0 | ForeignFinancialAccountInd |
| Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans | 0 | ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd |
| Taxable Party Notification | 0 | TaxablePartyNotificationInd |
| Nondeductible Contributions | 0 | NondeductibleContributionsInd |
| Indoor Tanning Services | 0 | IndoorTanningServicesInd |
| Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt | 0 | SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd |
| Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc | 0 | SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd |
| Info In Schedule O Part VI | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd |
| Governing Body Voting Members | 19 | GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt |
| Independent Voting Member | 19 | IndependentVotingMemberCnt |
| Family Or Business Rln | 0 | FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd |
| Delegation Of Mgmt Duties | 0 | DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd |
| Change To Org Documents | 0 | ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd |
| Material Diversion Or Misuse | 0 | MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd |
| Members Or Stockholders | Yes (1) | MembersOrStockholdersInd |
| Election Of Board Members | Yes (1) | ElectionOfBoardMembersInd |
| Decisions Subject To Approva | Yes (1) | DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd |
| Minutes Of Governing Body | Yes (1) | MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd |
| Minutes Of Committees | Yes (1) | MinutesOfCommitteesInd |
| Officer Mailing Address | 0 | OfficerMailingAddressInd |
| Local Chapters | 0 | LocalChaptersInd |
| Form990 Provided To Gvrn Body | Yes (1) | Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd |
| Conflict Of Interest Policy | Yes (1) | ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd |
| Annual Disclosure Covered Prsn | Yes (1) | AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd |
| Regular Monitoring Enfrc | Yes (1) | RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd |
| Whistleblower Policy | Yes (1) | WhistleblowerPolicyInd |
| Document Retention Policy | Yes (1) | DocumentRetentionPolicyInd |
| Compensation Process CEO | Yes (1) | CompensationProcessCEOInd |
| Compensation Process Other | Yes (1) | CompensationProcessOtherInd |
| Investment In Joint Venture | 0 | InvestmentInJointVentureInd |
| States Where Copy Of Return Is Fld | MD | StatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd |
| Upon Request | Yes (X) | UponRequestInd |
Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person | MEGHAN MCCLELLAND CHIEF OPERATING | PersonNm |
| Phone | 4103796200 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 6820 DEERPATH ROAD | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | ELKRIDGE | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | MD | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 21075 | ZIPCd |
Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (29 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Average Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRt | Individual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorInd | OfficerOfficerInd | Reportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmt | Reportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmt | Other CompensationOtherCompensationAmt | Key EmployeeKeyEmployeeInd | Highest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| HARRY S JOHNSON | ||||||||
| CHAIR | 5.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| NORVELL COOTS MD | ||||||||
| VICE CHAIR | 5.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| HARSH TRIVEDI MD | ||||||||
| VICE CHAIR | 5.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| ERIC WAGNER | ||||||||
| TREASURER | 5.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| BRIAN COBB | ||||||||
| SECRETARY | 5.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| HENRY MOSLEY | ||||||||
| DIRECTOR | 5.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| MITCHELL SCHWARTZ MD | ||||||||
| DIRECTOR | 5.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| STEVEN LEONARD PHD | ||||||||
| DIRECTOR | 5.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| LESLIE SIMMONS | ||||||||
| DIRECTOR | 5.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| BRADLEY CHAMBERS | ||||||||
| DIRECTOR | 5.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| KENNETH KOZEL | ||||||||
| DIRECTOR | 5.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| ROLF HAARSTAD | ||||||||
| DIRECTOR | 5.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| VICTORIA BAYLESS | ||||||||
| DIRECTOR | 5.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| THOMAS KLEINHANZL | ||||||||
| DIRECTOR | 5.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| SAVAS KARAS | ||||||||
| DIRECTOR | 5.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| MARIE HARTMAN | ||||||||
| DIRECTOR | 5.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| KEVIN SOWERS | ||||||||
| DIRECTOR | 5.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| MOHAN SUNTHA MD | ||||||||
| DIRECTOR | 5.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| CANDANCE DODSON-REED | ||||||||
| DIRECTOR | 5.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| ROBERT ATLAS | ||||||||
| PRESIDENT & CEO THROUGH | 40.00 | Yes (X) | $838,797 | $0 | $39,124 | |||
| MEGHAN MCCLELLAND | ||||||||
| CHIEF OPERATING OFFICER | 40.00 | $367,230 | $0 | $14,895 | Yes (X) | |||
| BRETT MCCONE | ||||||||
| SENIOR VICE PRESIDENT | 40.00 | $350,426 | $0 | $14,952 | Yes (X) | |||
| NICOLE STALLINGS | ||||||||
| SENIOR VICE PRESIDENT THROUGH | 40.00 | $369,480 | $0 | $16,717 | Yes (X) | |||
| TRACI LAVALLE | ||||||||
| SENIOR VICE PRESIDENT | 40.00 | $269,007 | $0 | $10,488 | Yes (X) | |||
| KATIE ECKERT | ||||||||
| VICE PRESIDENT THROUGH | 40.00 | $286,643 | $0 | $28,485 | Yes (X) | |||
| AMY GOODWIN | ||||||||
| VICE PRESIDENT | 40.00 | $266,521 | $0 | $11,640 | Yes (X) | |||
| SARA GREAVES | ||||||||
| VICE PRESIDENT | 40.00 | $167,409 | $0 | $23,551 | Yes (X) | |||
| ERIN DORIEN | ||||||||
| DIRECTOR | 40.00 | $171,991 | $0 | $6,836 | Yes (X) | |||
| BRIAN FRAZEE | ||||||||
| VICE PRESIDENT | 40.00 | $170,395 | $0 | $34,490 | Yes (X) | |||
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Reportable Comp From Org | $3,257,899 | TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt |
| Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org | $0 | TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt |
| Total Other Compensation | $201,178 | TotalOtherCompensationAmt |
| Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 10 | IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
| Former Ofcr Employees Listed | 0 | FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd |
| Total Comp Greater Than150 K | Yes (1) | TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd |
| Compensation From Other Srcs | 0 | CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd |
Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)
| Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1Txt | CityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNm | State AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCd | ZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCd | ServicesServicesDesc | CompensationCompensationAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| KPMG LLP | |||||
| DEPARTMENT 0522 PO BOX 120522 | DALLAS | TX | 753120522 | HEALTHCARE CONSULTING | $527,743 |
| MISSION MEDIA | |||||
| 3000 FALLS ROAD SUITE 400 | BALTIMORE | MD | 21202 | CONSULTING SERVICES | $177,389 |
| YOUR GPS DOC | |||||
| 1123 STATE ROUTE 3N 145 | GAMBRILLS | MD | 21054 | CONSULTING SERVICES | $111,950 |
| KO PUBLIC AFFAIRS LLC | |||||
| 111 S CALVERT STREET SUITE 2 | BALTIMORE | MD | 21202 | CONSULTING SERVICES | $110,000 |
| CORNERSTONE GOVERNMENT AFFAIRS | |||||
| 800 MAINE AVENUE SW | WASHINGTON | DC | 20024 | CONSULTING SERVICES | $105,015 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 5 | CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
| Related Organizations | $1,207,967 | RelatedOrganizationsAmt |
| Government Grants | $6,160,328 | GovernmentGrantsAmt |
| Total Contributions | $7,368,295 | TotalContributionsAmt |
Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (2 entries)
| DescDesc | BusinessBusinessCd | Total Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmt | Related Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
|---|---|---|---|
| DUES | 900099 | $8,821,450 | $8,821,450 |
| CONSULTING INCOME | 900099 | $219,668 | $219,668 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Program Service Revenue | $9,041,118 | TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $1,129,364 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $1,129,364 | ExclusionAmt |
Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | $6,486,007 | SecuritiesAmt |
Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | $6,345,015 | SecuritiesAmt |
Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | $140,992 | SecuritiesAmt |
Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $140,992 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $140,992 | ExclusionAmt |
Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Desc | MHA LLC PARTNERSHIP INCOME | Desc |
| Business | 531120 | BusinessCd |
| Total Revenue Column | $43,227 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $43,227 | ExclusionAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Revenue Total | $43,227 | OtherRevenueTotalAmt |
Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $17,722,996 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $9,041,118 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
| Unrelated Business Revenue | $0 | UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt |
| Exclusion | $1,313,583 | ExclusionAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Info In Schedule O Part IX | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartIXInd |
Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $21,003 | TotalAmt |
Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $2,244,763 | TotalAmt |
Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $3,765,334 | TotalAmt |
Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $770,362 | TotalAmt |
Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $156,278 | TotalAmt |
Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $39,825 | TotalAmt |
Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,737,746 | TotalAmt |
Advertising AdvertisingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $194,292 | TotalAmt |
Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $80,932 | TotalAmt |
Occupancy OccupancyGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $321,094 | TotalAmt |
Travel TravelGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $79,949 | TotalAmt |
Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $319,345 | TotalAmt |
Interest InterestGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,574 | TotalAmt |
Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $82,386 | TotalAmt |
Insurance InsuranceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $38,420 | TotalAmt |
Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)
| DescDesc | TotalTotalAmt |
|---|---|
| HOSPITAL PREPAREDNESS G | $4,710,162 |
| COVID COALITION | $529,214 |
| MAINTENANCE, SOFTWARE A | $168,530 |
| DUES & SUBSCRIPTIONS | $105,591 |
All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $155,201 | TotalAmt |
Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $15,522,001 | TotalAmt |
Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $9,109,121 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $6,915,860 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $63,949 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $59,237 | EOYAmt |
Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $10,952 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $391,285 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $293,101 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss | $1,502,201 | LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt |
| Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec | $1,364,138 | LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt |
Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $1,103,371 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $138,063 | EOYAmt |
Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $23,078,594 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $25,261,206 | EOYAmt |
Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $3,164,762 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $4,450,364 | EOYAmt |
Intangible Assets IntangibleAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $66,434 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $39,872 | EOYAmt |
Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $18,842 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $160,582 | EOYAmt |
Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $37,007,310 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $37,318,285 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $1,685,160 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $2,307,254 | EOYAmt |
Grants Payable GrantsPayableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $3,686,760 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $31,765 | EOYAmt |
Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $93,348 | BOYAmt |
Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $164,368 | EOYAmt |
Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $5,465,268 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $2,503,387 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Organization Follows FASB117 | Yes (X) | OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind |
No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $31,535,262 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $34,808,118 | EOYAmt |
Donor Restriction Net Assets DonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $6,780 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $6,780 | EOYAmt |
Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $31,542,042 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $34,814,898 | EOYAmt |
Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $37,007,310 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $37,318,285 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Info In Schedule O Part XI | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd |
| Reconcilation Revenue Expnss | $2,200,995 | ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt |
| Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst | $1,104,921 | NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt |
| Other Changes In Net Assets | -$33,060 | OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt |
| Method Of Accounting Accrual | Yes (X) | MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd |
| Accountant Compile Or Review | 0 | AccountantCompileOrReviewInd |
| FS Audited | Yes (1) | FSAuditedInd |
FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Consolidated Basis Fincl Stmt | Yes (X) | ConsolidatedBasisFinclStmtInd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Audit Committee | Yes (1) | AuditCommitteeInd |
| Federal Grant Audit Required | Yes (1) | FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd |
| Federal Grant Audit Performed | Yes (1) | FederalGrantAuditPerformedInd |
Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB
Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Contributor | RESTRICTED | ContributorNum |
Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | RESTRICTED | BusinessNameLine1 |
Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | RESTRICTED | AddressLine1 |
| Address Line2 | RESTRICTED | AddressLine2 |
| City | RESTRICTED | City |
| State | RESTRICTED | State |
| ZIP Code | RESTRICTED | ZIPCode |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Contributions | RESTRICTED | TotalContributionsAmt |
Schedule C IRS990ScheduleC
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Substantially All Dues Nonded | Yes (1) | SubstantiallyAllDuesNondedInd |
| Only In House Lobbying | 0 | OnlyInHouseLobbyingInd |
| Agree Carryover Prior Year | 0 | AgreeCarryoverPriorYearInd |
Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD
Equipment EquipmentGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $1,502,201 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $1,364,138 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $138,063 | BookValueAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Book Value Land Buildings | $138,063 | TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt |
Other Securities OtherSecuritiesGrp (2 entries)
| DescDesc | Book ValueBookValueAmt | Method ValuationMethodValuationCd |
|---|---|---|
| INVESTMENT IN LIMITED LIABILITY COMPANY | $2,167,803 | C |
| INVESTMENT IN HEDGE FUNDS | $2,282,561 | F |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Book Value Securities | $4,450,364 | TotalBookValueSecuritiesAmt |
Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Desc | OPERATING LEASE LIABILITIES | Desc |
| Amt | $164,368 | Amt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Liability | $164,368 | TotalLiabilityAmt |
| Footnote Text | Yes (X) | FootnoteTextInd |
| Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $18,794,857 | TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Net Unrealized Gains Invst | $1,104,921 | NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported | $1,104,921 | RevenueNotReportedAmt |
| Revenue Subtotal | $17,689,936 | RevenueSubtotalAmt |
| Other Revenues Not Included | $33,060 | OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt | $33,060 | RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Revenue Per Form990 | $17,722,996 | TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt |
| Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $15,522,001 | TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Expenses Not Reported | $0 | ExpensesNotReportedAmt |
| Expenses Subtotal | $15,522,001 | ExpensesSubtotalAmt |
| Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt | $0 | ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Expenses Per Form990 | $15,522,001 | TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| PART X, LINE 2: | THE ORGANIZATION ACCOUNTS FOR INCOME TAX PROVISIONS IN ACCORDANCE WITH FINANCIAL ACCOUNTING STANDARDS BOARD ACCOUNTING STANDARDS CONCEPT TOPIC 740-10, ACCOUNTING FOR UNCERTAINTY IN INCOME TAXES, WHICH CREATES A SINGLE MODEL TO ADDRESS UNCERTAINTY IN TAX POSITIONS AND CLARIFIES THE ACCOUNTING FOR INCOME TAXES BY PRESCRIBING THE MINIMUM RECOGNITION THRESHOLD A TAX POSITION IS REQUIRED TO MEET BEFORE BEING RECOGNIZED IN THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS. THE ORGANIZATION BELIEVES THAT ITS INCOME TAX FILING POSITIONS AND DEDUCTIONS WILL BE SUSTAINED UPON EXAMINATION AND, ACCORDINGLY, HAS NOT RECORDED ANY RESERVES, OR RELATED ACCRUALS FOR INTEREST AND PENALTIES, AT JUNE 30, 2023 AND 2022 FOR UNCERTAIN INCOME TAX POSITIONS. THE ORGANIZATION CONTINUALLY EVALUATES EXPIRING STATUTES OF LIMITATIONS, AUDITS, PROPOSED SETTLEMENTS, CHANGES IN TAX LAW, AND NEW AUTHORITATIVE RULINGS. THE ORGANIZATION HAS ADOPTED A POLICY UNDER WHICH, IF REQUIRED TO BE RECOGNIZED IN THE FUTURE, IT WILL CLASSIFY INTEREST RELATED TO THE UNDERPAYMENT OF INCOME TAXES AS A COMPONENT OF INTEREST EXPENSE, AND IT WILL CLASSIFY ANY RELATED PENALTIES IN GENERAL AND ADMINISTRATIVE EXPENSES IN THE CONSOLIDATED STATEMENTS OF ACTIVITIES. THE ORGANIZATION IS SUBJECT TO U.S. FEDERAL, STATE AND LOCAL INCOME TAX EXAMINATIONS BY TAX AUTHORITIES FOR THE CURRENT YEAR AND THE THREE PRECEDING YEARS. |
| PART XI, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS: | BOOK/TAX DIFFERENCE - MARYLAND HOSPITAL ASSOCIATION LLC 33,060. |
Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Grant Records Maintained | Yes (1) | GrantRecordsMaintainedInd |
Recipient Table RecipientTable
Recipient Business Name RecipientBusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | MARYLAND HEALTHCARE EDUCATION & RESEARCH FOUNDATION INC | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 6820 DEERPATH ROAD | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | ELKRIDGE | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | MD | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 21075 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Recipient EIN | 520901664 | RecipientEIN |
| Cash Grant | $21,003 | CashGrantAmt |
| Non Cash Assistance | $0 | NonCashAssistanceAmt |
| Purpose Of Grant | THE GRANT WAS PROVIDED TO COVER THE COSTS OF EXECUTIVE VARIABLE PAY COMPENSATION. | PurposeOfGrantTxt |
Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Compensation Committee | Yes (X) | CompensationCommitteeInd |
| Independent Consultant | Yes (X) | IndependentConsultantInd |
| Written Employment Contract | Yes (X) | WrittenEmploymentContractInd |
| Compensation Survey | Yes (X) | CompensationSurveyInd |
| Board Or Committee Approval | Yes (X) | BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd |
| Severance Payment | 0 | SeverancePaymentInd |
| Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan | 0 | SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd |
| Equity Based Comp Arrngm | 0 | EquityBasedCompArrngmInd |
Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (10 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Base Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Compensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmt | Bonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmount | Bonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmt | Other Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Other Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmt | Deferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmt | Deferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmt | Nontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmt | Nontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmt | Total Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Total Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmt | Comp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmt | Comp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ROBERT ATLAS | ||||||||||||||
| PRESIDENT & CEO THROUGH | $660,004 | $0 | $148,465 | $0 | $30,328 | $0 | $9,150 | $0 | $29,974 | $0 | $877,921 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| NICOLE STALLINGS | ||||||||||||||
| SENIOR VICE PRESIDENT THROUGH | $327,032 | $0 | $41,896 | $0 | $552 | $0 | $9,150 | $0 | $7,567 | $0 | $386,197 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| MEGHAN MCCLELLAND | ||||||||||||||
| CHIEF OPERATING OFFICER | $325,213 | $0 | $41,477 | $0 | $540 | $0 | $9,150 | $0 | $5,745 | $0 | $382,125 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| BRETT MCCONE | ||||||||||||||
| SENIOR VICE PRESIDENT | $322,822 | $0 | $26,794 | $0 | $810 | $0 | $9,150 | $0 | $5,802 | $0 | $365,378 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| KATIE ECKERT | ||||||||||||||
| VICE PRESIDENT THROUGH | $244,541 | $0 | $41,623 | $0 | $479 | $0 | $8,694 | $0 | $19,791 | $0 | $315,128 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| TRACI LAVALLE | ||||||||||||||
| SENIOR VICE PRESIDENT | $245,913 | $0 | $20,787 | $0 | $2,307 | $0 | $7,921 | $0 | $2,567 | $0 | $279,495 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| AMY GOODWIN | ||||||||||||||
| VICE PRESIDENT | $237,786 | $0 | $21,145 | $0 | $7,590 | $0 | $7,545 | $0 | $4,095 | $0 | $278,161 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| BRIAN FRAZEE | ||||||||||||||
| VICE PRESIDENT | $155,055 | $0 | $15,056 | $0 | $284 | $0 | $5,477 | $0 | $29,013 | $0 | $204,885 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| SARA GREAVES | ||||||||||||||
| VICE PRESIDENT | $157,782 | $0 | $9,333 | $0 | $294 | $0 | $5,106 | $0 | $18,445 | $0 | $190,960 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| ERIN DORIEN | ||||||||||||||
| DIRECTOR | $163,654 | $0 | $8,000 | $0 | $337 | $0 | $5,054 | $0 | $1,782 | $0 | $178,827 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (9 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 6 | CLASSES OF MEMBERS - HOSPITAL CHIEF, EXECUTIVE OFFICERS OR TRUSTEES |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7A | BOARD OF TRUSTEES (MEMBERSHIP) ELECTS OFFICERS AND MEMBERS OF EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE ANNUALLY |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7B | GOALS, BUDGET, ELECTION OF EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE AND OFFICERS |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11B | THE FORM 990 IS REVIEWED BY STAFF, MHA OPERATIONS COMMITTEE AND MHA EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12C | THE SENIOR VICE PRESIDENT OF OPERATIONS REVIEWS THE POLICY AND SIGNED STATEMENTS |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15 | THE COMPENSATION COMMITTEE MEETS ANNUALLY, REVIEWS MARKET COMPARABLE DATA, CONSULTS WITH AN INDEPENDENT COMPENSATION CONSULTANT, AND MAKES RECOMMENDATIONS TO THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE WHO HAS FINAL AUTHORITY. ADDITIONALLY, DURING THE YEAR ENDED JUNE 30, 2021, YAFFE AND COMPANY CONDUCTED A COMPENSATION ANALYSIS OF KEY EXECUTIVES WHICH INCLUDED A REVIEW OF COMPARABLE MARKET DATA FOR SIMILAR POSITIONS. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19 | BY LAWS - POSTED ON THE WEBSITE CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY - AVAILABLE UPON REQUEST (LINK FROM WEBSITE) |
| FORM 990, PART IX, LINE 11G | CONSULTING 1,415,216. RECRUITMENT/PRE-EMPLOYMENT 179,947. TEMPORARY STAFFING 142,583. |
| FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9: | MHA, LLC BOOK/TAX DIFFERENCE -33,060. |
Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR
Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp (2 entries)
| Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1Txt | CityUSAddress/CityNm | State AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCd | ZIPUSAddress/ZIPCd | EINEIN | Primary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxt | Legal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCd | Exempt Code SectionExemptCodeSectionTxt | Public Charity StatusPublicCharityStatusTxt | Direct Controlling NADirectControllingNACd | Controlled OrganizationControlledOrganizationInd |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| MARYLAND HOSPITAL EDUCATION AND RESEARCH FOUNDATION INC | ||||||||||
| 6820 DEERPATH ROAD | ELKRIDGE | MD | 210756234 | 520901664 | TO PROVIDE SEMINARS & PUBLICATIONS FOR MEMBER HOSPITAL PERSONNEL | MD | SECTION 501 (C) 3 | 509(A)(2) | N/A | 0 |
| LOGICQUAL RESEARCH INSTITUTE INC | ||||||||||
| 6820 DEERPATH ROAD | ELKRIDGE | MD | 210756234 | 352200200 | PROMOTE GENERAL PUBLIC'S HEALTH AND SOCIAL WELFARE THROUGH STUDY & RESEARCH | MD | SECTION 501 (C) 3 | 170(B)(1)(A)VI | N/A | Yes (1) |
Id Related Org Txbl Partnership IdRelatedOrgTxblPartnershipGrp
Related Organization Name RelatedOrganizationName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | MARYLAND HOSPITAL ASSOCIATION LLC | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 6820 DEERPATH | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | ELKRIDGE | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | MD | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 21075 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EIN | 522104190 | EIN |
| Primary Activities | RENTAL REAL ESTATE | PrimaryActivitiesTxt |
| Legal Domicile State | MD | LegalDomicileStateCd |
Direct Controlling Entity Name DirectControllingEntityName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | MARYLAND HOSPITAL ASSOCIATION INC | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Predominant Income Type | RELATED | PredominantIncomeTypeTxt |
| Share Of Total Income | $43,227 | ShareOfTotalIncomeAmt |
| Share Of EOY Assets | $2,200,657 | ShareOfEOYAssetsAmt |
| Disproportionate Allocations | 0 | DisproportionateAllocationsInd |
| General Or Managing Partner | 0 | GeneralOrManagingPartnerInd |
| Ownership | 0.74500 | OwnershipPct |
Id Related Org Txbl Corp Tr IdRelatedOrgTxblCorpTrGrp
Related Organization Name RelatedOrganizationName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | MARYLAND PRIME INC | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 6820 DEERPATH | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | ELKRIDGE | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | MD | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 21075 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EIN | 521392596 | EIN |
| Primary Activities | CONTRACT SERVICES | PrimaryActivitiesTxt |
| Legal Domicile State | MD | LegalDomicileStateCd |
Direct Controlling Entity Name DirectControllingEntityName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | MARYLAND HOSPITAL ASSOCIATION INC | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Entity Type | C | EntityTypeTxt |
| Share Of Total Income | $1,158,043 | ShareOfTotalIncomeAmt |
| Share Of EOY Assets | $1,452,991 | ShareOfEOYAssetsAmt |
| Ownership | 1.00000 | OwnershipPct |
| Controlled Organization | Yes (1) | ControlledOrganizationInd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts Rylts | 0 | ReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd |
| Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth Org | Yes (1) | GiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd |
| Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth Org | Yes (1) | GiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd |
| Loans Or Guarantees To Other Org | 0 | LoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd |
| Loans Or Guarantees From Oth Org | 0 | LoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd |
| Div Related Organization | 0 | DivRelatedOrganizationInd |
| Asset Sale To Other Org | 0 | AssetSaleToOtherOrgInd |
| Asset Purchase From Other Org | 0 | AssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd |
| Asset Exchange | 0 | AssetExchangeInd |
| Rental Of Facilities To Oth Org | 0 | RentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd |
| Rental Of Fclts From Oth Org | Yes (1) | RentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd |
| Perform Of Services For Oth Org | 0 | PerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd |
| Perform Of Services By Other Org | 0 | PerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd |
| Sharing Of Facilities | 0 | SharingOfFacilitiesInd |
| Paid Employees Sharing | Yes (1) | PaidEmployeesSharingInd |
| Reimbursement Paid To Other Org | 0 | ReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd |
| Reimbursement Paid By Other Org | Yes (1) | ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd |
| Transfer To Other Org | 0 | TransferToOtherOrgInd |
| Transfer From Other Org | 0 | TransferFromOtherOrgInd |
Transactions Related Org TransactionsRelatedOrgGrp (5 entries)
| Transaction TypeTransactionTypeTxt | InvolvedInvolvedAmt | Method Of Amount DeterminationMethodOfAmountDeterminationTxt |
|---|---|---|
| MARYLAND HOSPITAL EDUCATION AND RESEARCH FOUNDATION | ||
| B | $21,003 | FAIR MARKET VALUE |
| MARYLAND PRIME INC AND SUBSIDIARY | ||
| C | $1,207,967 | FAIR MARKET VALUE |
| MARYLAND HOSPITAL ASSOCIATION LLC | ||
| K | $321,094 | FAIR MARKET VALUE |
| MHEI AND MARYLAND PRIME AND SUBSIDIARY | ||
| Q | $17,557 | FAIR MARKET VALUE |
| MHEI AND MARYLAND PRIME AND SUBSIDIARY | ||
| O | $133,185 | FAIR MARKET VALUE |