STRATEGY STUDIO / PUBLIC DATA EXPLORER

HAMPDEN-SYDNEY COLLEGE: Form 990, tax year 2022

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
HAMPDEN-SYDNEY COLLEGE (EIN 54-0505906)
Tax period
2022-07-01 to 2023-06-30
Filed
2024-04-23
IRS object ID
202441149349302259
Schema version
2022v5.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2024-04-23T11:30:41-07:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2023-06-30TaxPeriodEndDt
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2022-07-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN540505906EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1HAMPDEN-SYDNEY COLLEGEBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlHAMPBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone4342236216PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1College RoadAddressLine1Txt
CityHampden SydneyCityNm
State AbbreviationVAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP23943ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonPaul CopelandPersonNm
Person TitleVP for Business Affairs & FinancePersonTitleTxt
Phone4342236216PhoneNum
Signature2024-04-23SignatureDt

Signing Officer SigningOfficerGrp

Person Full Name PersonFullName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Person FirstPaulPersonFirstNm
Person LastCopelandPersonLastNm
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SSN999009999SSN
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
IRS Responsible Prty Info CurrYes (1)IRSResponsiblePrtyInfoCurrInd

Additional Filer Information AdditionalFilerInformation

Trusted Customer TrustedCustomerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Trusted Customer1TrustedCustomerCd
OOB Security Verification11OOBSecurityVerificationCd
Last Submission Rqr OOB1LastSubmissionRqrOOBCd
Authentication Assurance LevelAAL2AuthenticationAssuranceLevelCd
Profile Password ChangeYes (X)ProfilePasswordChangeInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2022TaxYr
Build TS2023-04-26 12:10:37ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerJohn Lawrence StimpertPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1College RoadAddressLine1Txt
CityHampden SydneyCityNm
State AbbreviationVAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP23943ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$222,060,187GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website Addresshttp://www.hsc.eduWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1783FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateVALegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionSince 1775, the mission of Hampden-Sydney College has been to form good men and good citizens in an atmosphere of sound learning.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body31VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent31VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee796TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers937TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$38,154TotalGrossUBIAmt
PY Contributions Grants$21,138,997PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$83,034,483CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$53,859,248PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$55,166,487CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$4,847,230PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$1,447,118CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$860,798PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$1,539,378CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$80,706,273PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$141,187,466CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$28,275,458PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$30,513,598CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$27,744,123PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$29,753,710CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$2,803,579CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$24,799,425PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$27,832,740CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$80,819,006PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$88,100,048CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses-$112,733PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$53,087,418CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$448,932,160TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$491,831,635TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$105,396,771TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$90,832,322TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$343,535,389NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$400,999,313NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionSince 1775, the mission of Hampden-Sydney College has been to form good men and good citizens in an atmosphere of sound learning.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
Expense$74,293,070ExpenseAmt
Grant$30,513,598GrantAmt
Revenue$56,649,952RevenueAmt
DescHampden-Sydney College is a lively community seeking to form good men and good citizens in an atmosphere of sound learning. The mission of the College is to instill in its students a commitment to sound scholarship through studies in the natural sciences, the humanities, and the social sciences; to cultivate qualities of character and moral discernment rooted in the Judeo-Christian tradition; to develop clear thinking and expression; to promote an understanding of the world and our place in it; to impart a comprehension of social institutions as a basis for intelligent citizenship and responsible leadership in a democracy; to prepare those with special interests and capacities for graduate and professional study; and to equip graduates for a rewarding and productive life. Hampden-Sydney is a liberal arts college for men now enrolling approximately 1,000 students. In operation since 1775, the College is one of the oldest institutions of higher learning in the US.Desc
Total Other Prog Srvc Expense$0TotalOtherProgSrvcExpenseAmt
Total Other Prog Srvc Grant$0TotalOtherProgSrvcGrantAmt
Total Other Prog Srvc Revenue$0TotalOtherProgSrvcRevenueAmt
Total Program Service Expenses$74,293,070TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (1)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (1)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying ActivitiesYes (1)LobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi EndowmentsYes (1)DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecYes (1)ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingYes (1)SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To IndividualsYes (1)MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsYes (1)GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsYes (1)TaxExemptBondsInd
Invest Tax Exempt Bonds0InvestTaxExemptBondsInd
Escrow Account0EscrowAccountInd
On Behalf Of Issuer0OnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans0EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit Trans0PYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan OutstandingYes (1)LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemYes (1)BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent0BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContriYes (1)DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityYes (1)DisregardedEntityInd
Related Entity0RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org0TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document1143IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee796EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (1)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (1)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo ContributionsYes (1)QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contri DisclYes (1)QuidProQuoContriDisclInd
Form8282 Property Disposed Of0Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt0SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc0SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members31GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member31IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or Stockholders0MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board Members0ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To Approva0DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldVAStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonPaul Kenneth CopelandPersonNm
Phone4342236216PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1College RoadAddressLine1Txt
CityHampden SydneyCityNm
State AbbreviationVAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP23943ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (42 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtAverage Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRtOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtKey EmployeeKeyEmployeeIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeIndIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorInd
John Larry Stimpert
President500Yes (X)$362,428$0$108,174
Heather L Krajewski
Vice President for College Advancement500$292,723$0$64,197Yes (X)
Jeffery Norris
Vice President for Enrollment500$193,242$0$91,050Yes (X)
Paul K Copeland Jr
Vice President for Business Affairs500$190,399$0$32,505Yes (X)
Walter C McDermott III
Dean of Faculty/Professor500$181,475$0$30,470Yes (X)
Chad Eisele
Director of Athletics500$124,380$0$73,347Yes (X)
Justin P Isaacs
Professor of Economics & Business500$123,893$0$51,443Yes (X)
J Hugh Haskins
Asst. VP for Development500$150,749$0$23,341Yes (X)
Richard Pantele
Dean of Students500$129,517$0$36,162Yes (X)
Kenneth N Townsend
Townsend Professor of Econ & Business500$135,303$0$27,292Yes (X)
Gregory Dempster
Elliott Professor of Econ & Business500$137,426$0$13,690Yes (X)
Eric E Apperson
Trustee3$0$0$0Yes (X)
David A Arias
Trustee3$0$0$0Yes (X)
J Trevor Boyce
Trustee3$0$0$0Yes (X)
Orran L Brown Sr
Trustee3$0$0$0Yes (X)
Robert K Citrone
Trustee3$0$0$0Yes (X)
John E Corey
Trustee3$0$0$0Yes (X)
Thomas C G Coyle
Trustee3$0$0$0Yes (X)
Richard F Cralle III
Trustee3$0$0$0Yes (X)
George S Dewey IV
Trustee3$0$0$0Yes (X)
Leanna C Everett
Trustee3$0$0$0Yes (X)
H Todd Flemming
Trustee3$0$0$0Yes (X)
Salvatore Giannetti III
Trustee3$0$0$0Yes (X)
M Peebles Harrison
Trustee3Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
Eugene W Hickok
Trustee3$0$0$0Yes (X)
Maurice A Jones
Trustee3$0$0$0Yes (X)
Michael P Kehoe
Trustee3$0$0$0Yes (X)
John W Kirk III
Trustee3$0$0$0Yes (X)
Keith W Lewis
Trustee3$0$0$0Yes (X)
John E Mansfield
Trustee3$0$0$0Yes (X)
Ann Louise Martin
Trustee3$0$0$0Yes (X)
Thomas L Melton
Trustee3$0$0$0Yes (X)
Bartow Morgan Jr
Trustee3Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
Erik K Morgan
Trustee3$0$0$0Yes (X)
John Neuner IV
Trustee3$0$0$0Yes (X)
Jon A Pace
Trustee3$0$0$0Yes (X)
Rodney C Pitts
Trustee3$0$0$0Yes (X)
Rodney P Ruffin
Trustee3Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
Ivan A Schlager
Trustee3$0$0$0Yes (X)
John C Sifford
Trustee3Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
Linda Whitley-Taylor
Trustee3$0$0$0Yes (X)
Mark T Wright
Trustee3$0$0$0Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$2,021,535TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$551,671TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K29IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmtAddress Line2ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine2Txt
W M Jordan Company Inc
11010 Jefferson AvenueNewport NewsVA23601Construction$7,398,504
Jamerson Lewis Contruction Inc
P O Box 395AppomattoxVA24522Construction$2,893,565
Trane US Inc
P O Box 406469AtlantaGA303846469HVAC Contracting$2,644,395
Thompson Hospitality Services
1741 Business Center DriveRestonVA20190Food Service$2,429,230Suite 200
Meriwether Godsey Inc
4944 Old Boonsboro RoadLynchburgVA24503Food Service$2,191,420
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K28CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Federated Campaigns$0FederatedCampaignsAmt
Membership Dues$0MembershipDuesAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt
Related Organizations$0RelatedOrganizationsAmt
Government Grants$5,061,902GovernmentGrantsAmt
All Other Contributions$77,972,581AllOtherContributionsAmt
Noncash Contributions$975,047NoncashContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$83,034,483TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmtUnrelated Business RevenueUnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmtExclusionExclusionAmt
Gross Tuition and Fees611310$42,540,574$42,540,574$0$0
Auxiliary Enterprises611710$12,625,913$12,625,913$0$0
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$55,166,487TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$1,206,052TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$0RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$1,206,052ExclusionAmt

Incm From Invest Bond Proceeds IncmFromInvestBondProceedsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$0RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt

Royalties Revenue RoyaltiesRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$0RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$0RealAmt
Personal$0PersonalAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$81,110,289SecuritiesAmt
Other$3,498OtherAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$80,851,464SecuritiesAmt
Other$21,257OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$258,825SecuritiesAmt
Other-$17,759OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$241,066TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income-$17,759RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$258,825ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Contri Rpt Fundraising Event$0ContriRptFundraisingEventAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescOther ActivitiesDesc
Business900099BusinessCd
Total Revenue Column$1,539,378TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$1,501,224RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$38,154UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt

Miscellaneous Revenue MiscellaneousRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$1,539,378OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$141,187,466TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$56,649,952RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$38,154UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$1,464,877ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$30,334,382TotalAmt
Program Services$30,334,382ProgramServicesAmt

Foreign Grants ForeignGrantsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$179,216TotalAmt
Program Services$179,216ProgramServicesAmt

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,337,470TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,337,470ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Comp Disqual Persons CompDisqualPersonsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$21,480,515TotalAmt
Program Services$17,002,907ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$2,842,360ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$1,635,248FundraisingAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,654,169TotalAmt
Program Services$1,163,475ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$364,016ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$126,678FundraisingAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,698,823TotalAmt
Program Services$2,601,601ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$813,963ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$283,259FundraisingAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,582,733TotalAmt
Program Services$1,113,230ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$348,296ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$121,207FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Management FeesForServicesManagementGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$90,022TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$90,022ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$102,131TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$102,131ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Lobbying FeesForServicesLobbyingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Prof Fundraising FeesForServicesProfFundraising

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,714,973TotalAmt
Program Services$2,135,805ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,444,096ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$135,072FundraisingAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,032,600TotalAmt
Program Services$885,840ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$80,265ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$66,495FundraisingAmt

Royalties RoyaltiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,892,545TotalAmt
Program Services$1,110,058ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,782,487ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,425,736TotalAmt
Program Services$1,161,119ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$94,479ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$170,138FundraisingAmt

Pymt Travel Entrtnmnt Pub Ofcl PymtTravelEntrtnmntPubOfclGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,886,782TotalAmt
Program Services$1,886,782ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Payments To Affiliates PaymentsToAffiliatesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$5,193,844TotalAmt
Program Services$5,193,844ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$928,564TotalAmt
Program Services$212,935ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$715,629ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (3 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmtFundraisingFundraisingAmt
General$4,586,822$3,923,226$417,608$245,988
Consultants$195,234$101,047$79,425$14,762
Contract Services$5,783,487$5,287,603$491,152$4,732

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$88,100,048TotalAmt
Program Services$74,293,070ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$11,003,399ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$2,803,579FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,013,898BOYAmt
EOY$4,575,791EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$11,205,632BOYAmt
EOY$27,282,129EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$634,087BOYAmt
EOY$1,012,328EOYAmt

Receivables From Officers Etc ReceivablesFromOfficersEtcGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$477,177BOYAmt
EOY$477,177EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,730,198BOYAmt
EOY$3,183,929EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$869,806BOYAmt
EOY$898,928EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$459,109BOYAmt
EOY$1,082,105EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$278,970,197LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$93,367,785LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$156,546,598BOYAmt
EOY$185,602,412EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$21,813,769BOYAmt
EOY$5,185,785EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$251,181,886BOYAmt
EOY$262,531,051EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$448,932,160BOYAmt
EOY$491,831,635EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$11,965,199BOYAmt
EOY$15,757,204EOYAmt

Grants Payable GrantsPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$30,649,178BOYAmt
EOY$380,554EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$941,886BOYAmt
EOY$258,677EOYAmt

Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$57,298,214BOYAmt
EOY$57,004,647EOYAmt

Unsecured Notes Loans Payable UnsecuredNotesLoansPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,542,294BOYAmt
EOY$5,861,269EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$11,569,971EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$105,396,771BOYAmt
EOY$90,832,322EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows FASB117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind

No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$78,686,049BOYAmt
EOY$116,216,253EOYAmt

Donor Restriction Net Assets DonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$264,849,340BOYAmt
EOY$284,783,060EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$343,535,389BOYAmt
EOY$400,999,313EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$448,932,160BOYAmt
EOY$491,831,635EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$53,087,418ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$4,376,506NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Donated Services And Use Fclts$0DonatedServicesAndUseFcltsAmt
Investment Expense$0InvestmentExpenseAmt
Prior Period Adjustments$0PriorPeriodAdjustmentsAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$0OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Consolidated Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)ConsolidatedBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredYes (1)FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd
Federal Grant Audit PerformedYes (1)FederalGrantAuditPerformedInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SchoolYes (X)SchoolInd

Gifts Grants Contri Rcvd170 GiftsGrantsContriRcvd170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$11,299,522CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$21,176,252CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$23,777,441CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$16,960,458CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$77,972,581CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$151,186,254TotalAmt

Tax Rev Levied Orgnztnl Bnft170 TaxRevLeviedOrgnztnlBnft170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$0CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$0CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$0CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$0CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$0CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$0TotalAmt

Govt Furn Srvc Fclts Vl170 GovtFurnSrvcFcltsVl170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$0CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$0CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$0CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$0CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$0CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$0TotalAmt

Total Calendar Year170 TotalCalendarYear170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$11,299,522CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$21,176,252CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$23,777,441CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$16,960,458CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$77,972,581CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$151,186,254TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Substantial Contributors Tot$61,951,196SubstantialContributorsTotAmt
Public Support Total170$89,235,058PublicSupportTotal170Amt

Gross Investment Income170 GrossInvestmentIncome170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$252,456CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$587,491CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$126,623CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$227,599CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$1,206,052CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$2,400,221TotalAmt

Unrelated Business Net Incm170 UnrelatedBusinessNetIncm170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$37,029CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$37,571CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$33,974CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$38,876CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$38,154CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$185,604TotalAmt

Other Income170 OtherIncome170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$754,652CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$828,120CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$630,864CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$821,922CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$1,501,224CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$4,536,782TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Support$158,308,861TotalSupportAmt
Gross Receipts Rltd Activities$204,969,621GrossReceiptsRltdActivitiesAmt
Public Support CY1700.56368PublicSupportCY170Pct
Public Support PY1700.66238PublicSupportPY170Pct
Thirty Thr Pct Suprt Tests PY170Yes (X)ThirtyThrPctSuprtTestsPY170Ind

Form990 Schedule A Part VI Form990ScheduleAPartVIGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSchedule A, Part II, Line 10FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationOther income includes various miscellaneous income from the different departments on campus.ExplanationTxt

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule C IRS990ScheduleC

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Volunteers0VolunteersInd
Paid Staff Or Management0PaidStaffOrManagementInd
Media Advertisements0MediaAdvertisementsInd
Mailings Members0MailingsMembersInd
Publications Or Broadcast0PublicationsOrBroadcastInd
Grants Other Organizations0GrantsOtherOrganizationsInd
Direct Contact Legislators0DirectContactLegislatorsInd
Rallies Demonstrations0RalliesDemonstrationsInd
Other ActivitiesYes (1)OtherActivitiesInd
Other Activities$1,709OtherActivitiesAmt
Total Lobbying Expenditures$1,709TotalLobbyingExpendituresAmt
Not Described Section501c30NotDescribedSection501c3Ind

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSchedule C, Part II-B, Line 1FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationHampden-Sydney College is a member of the CICV (Council of Independent Colleges in Virginia). One way that the CICV serves its members is by monitoring legislation and advocating public policy that could affect Virginia private colleges. The CICV uses its voice to advocate on behalf of its members at various govenment levels, such as the Virginia General Assembly and Congress. CICV has calculated that the percentage of membership dues (17,993) that was used for lobbying during FY22/23 membership was 9.5%.ExplanationTxt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$242,130,846BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$7,606,650ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$5,032,566InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$0GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$12,570,958OtherExpendituresAmt
Administrative Expenses$0AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$242,199,104EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$258,043,480BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$10,004,657ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses-$15,133,478InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$0GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$10,783,813OtherExpendituresAmt
Administrative Expenses$0AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$242,130,846EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$193,641,014BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$10,301,109ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$64,980,837InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$0GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$10,879,480OtherExpendituresAmt
Administrative Expenses$0AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$258,043,480EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$183,150,362BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$15,911,026ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$7,549,229InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$0GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$12,969,603OtherExpendituresAmt
Administrative Expenses$0AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$193,641,014EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$173,908,401BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$6,417,594ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$8,615,825InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$0GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$5,791,458OtherExpendituresAmt
Administrative Expenses$0AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$183,150,362EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Board Designated Balance EOY0.04BoardDesignatedBalanceEOYPct
Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY0.55PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Term Endowment Balance EOY0.41TermEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Endowments Held Unrelated OrgYes (1)EndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related Org0EndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$0InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$2,508,675OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$2,508,675BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$0InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$244,354,253OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$65,795,094DepreciationAmt
Book Value$178,559,159BookValueAmt

Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$0InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$12,799,612OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$10,759,065DepreciationAmt
Book Value$2,040,547BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$0InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$19,307,657OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$16,813,626DepreciationAmt
Book Value$2,494,031BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$0InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$0OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$0DepreciationAmt
Book Value$0BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$185,602,412TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Securities OtherSecuritiesGrp (6 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmtMethod ValuationMethodValuationCd
Other$1,701,406F
Real Estate$4,520,000F
Alternative Investments$222,913,656F
Certificates of Deposit$50,000F
Beneficial Interest in Trust$7,467,874F
Government Obligations$25,878,115F
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Securities$262,531,051TotalBookValueSecuritiesAmt
Federal Income Tax Liability$0FederalIncomeTaxLiabilityAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescForward Sale CommitmentDesc
Amt$11,569,971Amt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$11,569,971TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$115,050,374TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$4,376,506NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Donated Services And Use Fclts$0DonatedServicesAndUseFcltsAmt
Recoveries Prior Year Grants$0RecoveriesPriorYearGrantsAmt
Other Revenue-$30,513,598OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported-$26,137,092RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$141,187,466RevenueSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld$0InvestmentExpensesNotIncldAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$0OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$0RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$141,187,466TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$57,586,450TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Donated Services Use Fclts$0DonatedServicesUseFcltsAmt
Prior Year Adjustments$0PriorYearAdjustmentsAmt
Losses Reported$0LossesReportedAmt
Other Expenses Included$0OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$57,586,450ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld2$0InvestmentExpensesNotIncld2Amt
Other Expenses Not Included$30,513,598OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$30,513,598ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$88,100,048TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (4 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Schedule D, Part V, Line 4Hampden-Sydney's endowment funds are used to provide financial aid to students with a demonstrated financial need, as well as, academic achievement. The funds also support chairs, professorships, and other programs that support the college as a whole. The College also benefits from financial support that the funds contribute to the annual operating budget.
Schedule D, Part X, Line 2Management evaluated the College's tax positions and has concluded that the College has taken no uncertain tax positions that require adjustment to the consolidated financial statements to comply with the provisions of this guidance.
Schedule D, Part XI, Line 2dScholarship allowance is included in revenue on the financial statements.
Schedule D, Part XII, Line 4bScholarship allowance is included in revenue on the financial statements.

Schedule E IRS990ScheduleE

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Nondiscriminatory Policy StmtYes (1)NondiscriminatoryPolicyStmtInd
Policy Stmt In Brochures EtcYes (1)PolicyStmtInBrochuresEtcInd
Plcy Pblczd Via Broadcast MediaYes (1)PlcyPblczdViaBroadcastMediaInd
Maintain Racial Comp RecsYes (1)MaintainRacialCompRecsInd
Maintain Scholarships RecsYes (1)MaintainScholarshipsRecsInd
Maintain Cpy Of Brochures EtcYes (1)MaintainCpyOfBrochuresEtcInd
Maintain Cpy Of All SolYes (1)MaintainCpyOfAllSolInd
Discriminate Race Stdnts Rghts0DiscriminateRaceStdntsRghtsInd
Discriminate Race Admiss Plcy0DiscriminateRaceAdmissPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Emplm Fculty0DiscriminateRaceEmplmFcultyInd
Discriminate Race Schs0DiscriminateRaceSchsInd
Discriminate Race Educ Plcy0DiscriminateRaceEducPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Use Of Fclts0DiscriminateRaceUseOfFcltsInd
Discriminate Race Athlt Prog0DiscriminateRaceAthltProgInd
Discriminate Race Other Acty0DiscriminateRaceOtherActyInd
Government Financial Aid RcvdYes (1)GovernmentFinancialAidRcvdInd
Government Financial Aid Rvkd0GovernmentFinancialAidRvkdInd
Compliance With Rev Proc7550Yes (1)ComplianceWithRevProc7550Ind

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Schedule E, Part I, Line 3Hampden-Sydney College publicizes its racially nondiscriminatory policy through newspaper media. The College website also includes a statement that Hampden-Sydney does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, sex, religion, age, national origin, handicap, sexual orientation, or veteran status in the operation of its education programs and with respect to employment.
Schedule E, Part I, Line 6Students at Hampden-Sydney College received federal financial aid totaling $5,799,794 for the 2022-2023 year. This included Pell Grants, subsidized and unsubsidized SSL, parent loans, and others. Students at Hampden-Sydney College received state financial aid totaling $2,503,479 for the 2022-2023 year. Most of this was from TAGP.

Schedule F IRS990ScheduleF

Foreign Individuals Grants ForeignIndividualsGrantsGrp (2 entries)

Type Of AssistanceTypeOfAssistanceTxtRegionRegionTxtRecipientRecipientCntCash GrantCashGrantAmtManner Of Cash DisbursementMannerOfCashDisbursementTxtNon Cash AssistanceNonCashAssistanceAmt
Financial AidEurope (including Iceland and Greenland)5$113,894Student Account$0
Financial AidEast Asia and the Pacific2$65,322Student Account$0
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Transfer To Foreign CorpYes (1)TransferToForeignCorpInd
Interest In Foreign Trust0InterestInForeignTrustInd
Foreign Corp Ownership0ForeignCorpOwnershipInd
Passive Foreign Investmest Co0PassiveForeignInvestmestCoInd
Foreign Partnership0ForeignPartnershipInd
Boycott Countries0BoycottCountriesInd

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (1)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant TypeGrants and ScholarshipsGrantTypeTxt
Recipient840RecipientCnt
Cash Grant$30,513,598CashGrantAmt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSchedule I, Part I, Line 2FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationStudents who wish to be considered for financial aid complete an application - the PROFILE frm the college scholarship service to apply for college grants and scholarships. Financial aid awards are reviewed at the end of each semester and may be withdrawn if a receipient's citizenship or academic work does not meet the standards of the college. College-sponsored grants and scholarships are limited to 8 semesters and require full-time enrollment. Financial aid recipients must maintain minimum satisfactory academic progress. Hampden-Sydney College offers several scholarships and awards without regard to financial need, which recognize outstanding academic and extracurricular achievement. All applicants for admission are automatically considered for academic scholarships.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Housing Allowance Or ResidenceYes (X)HousingAllowanceOrResidenceInd
Personal ServicesYes (X)PersonalServicesInd
Written Policy Ref T And E ExpnssYes (1)WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd
Substantiation RequiredYes (1)SubstantiationRequiredInd
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Form990 Of Other OrganizationsYes (X)Form990OfOtherOrganizationsInd
Written Employment ContractYes (X)WrittenEmploymentContractInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org0CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs0CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org0CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs0CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed Payments0AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract Exception0InitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (11 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
John Larry Stimpert
President$362,428$0$0$0$0$0$60,322$0$47,852$0$470,602$0$0$0
Heather L Krajewski
Vice President for College Advancement$292,723$0$0$0$0$0$26,831$0$37,366$0$356,920$0$0$0
Jeffery Norris
Vice President for Enrollment$193,242$0$0$0$0$0$18,540$0$72,510$0$284,292$0$0$0
Paul K Copeland Jr
Vice President for Business Affairs$190,399$0$0$0$0$0$17,477$0$15,028$0$222,904$0$0$0
Walter C McDermott III
Dean of Faculty/Professor$181,475$0$0$0$0$0$17,606$0$12,864$0$211,945$0$0$0
J Hugh Haskins
Asst. VP for Development$150,749$0$0$0$0$0$15,053$0$8,288$0$174,090$0$0$0
Gregory Dempster
Elliott Professor of Econ & Business$137,426$0$0$0$0$0$12,826$0$864$0$151,116$0$0$0
Kenneth N Townsend
Townsend Professor of Econ & Business$135,303$0$0$0$0$0$13,547$0$13,745$0$162,595$0$0$0
Richard Pantele
Dean of Students$129,517$0$0$0$0$0$7,118$0$29,044$0$165,679$0$0$0
Chad Eisele
Director of Athletics$124,380$0$0$0$0$0$12,971$0$60,376$0$197,727$0$0$0
Justin P Isaacs
Professor of Economics & Business$123,893$0$0$0$0$0$10,569$0$40,874$0$175,336$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSchedule J, Part I, Line 1aFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationThe President, VP for College Advancement, VP for Enrollment and Dean of Students are required to live on campus in a home owned by the college as a condition of employment. The value of the lodgining is not reported as taxable compensation. Housekeeping is also provided for the president's home.ExplanationTxt

Schedule K IRS990ScheduleK

Tax Exempt Bonds Issues TaxExemptBondsIssuesGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdBond Issuer EINBondIssuerEINBond IssuedBondIssuedDtIssue PriceIssuePriceAmtPurposePurposeDescDefeasedDefeasedIndOn Behalf Of IssuerOnBehalfOfIssuerIndPool FinancingPoolFinancingInd
IDA Educational Facilities Rev Bonds 2018
A5412457812018-12-19$15,000,000Construction and renovating buildings000
IDA of Prince Edward County 2022 Bonds
B5412457812022-06-02$42,936,605Renovating Buildings000

Tax Exempt Bonds Proceeds TaxExemptBondsProceedsGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdRetiredRetiredAmtBond DefeasedBondDefeasedAmtTotal ProceedsTotalProceedsAmtIn Reserve FundInReserveFundAmtCapitalized InterestCapitalizedInterestAmtRefunding EscrowRefundingEscrowAmtIssuance Costs From ProceedsIssuanceCostsFromProceedsAmtCredit EnhancementCreditEnhancementAmtWorking Capital ExpendituresWorkingCapitalExpendituresAmtCapital ExpendituresCapitalExpendituresAmtOther Spent ProceedsOtherSpentProceedsAmtUnspentUnspentAmtSubstantial CompletionSubstantialCompletionYrRefunding Tax Exempt BondsRefundingTaxExemptBondsIndRefunding Taxable BondsRefundingTaxableBondsIndFinal Allocation MadeFinalAllocationMadeIndAdequate Books And Rec MaintAdequateBooksAndRecMaintInd
A$0$0$15,897,709$0$0$0$170,900$0$0$0$15,726,809$0202000Yes (1)Yes (1)
B$0$0$42,936,605$0$4,470,366$7,750,579$791,685$0$0$0$29,923,975$02025Yes (1)0Yes (1)Yes (1)

Tax Exempt Bonds Private Bus Use TaxExemptBondsPrivateBusUseGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdOwning Bond Financed PropertyOwningBondFinancedPropertyIndAny Lease ArrangementsAnyLeaseArrangementsIndMgmt Contract Bond Fincd PropMgmtContractBondFincdPropIndAny Research AgreementsAnyResearchAgreementsIndBond Iss Meet Prvt Sec Pymt TestBondIssMeetPrvtSecPymtTestIndChange In Use Bond Financed PropChangeInUseBondFinancedPropIndProcs Nonqualified Bond RemdtdProcsNonqualifiedBondRemdtdIndPrivate Bus Use By OthersPrivateBusUseByOthersPctPrivate Bus Concerning UBIPrivateBusConcerningUBIPctTotal Private Business UseTotalPrivateBusinessUsePct
A0000000
B0000000000

Tax Exempt Bonds Arbitrage TaxExemptBondsArbitrageGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdForm8038 T FiledForm8038TFiledIndRebate Not Due YetRebateNotDueYetIndException To RebateExceptionToRebateIndNo Rebate DueNoRebateDueIndVariable Rate IssueVariableRateIssueIndHedge Identified In Bks And RecHedgeIdentifiedInBksAndRecIndGross Proceeds Invested In GICGrossProceedsInvestedInGICIndGross Proceeds InvestedGrossProceedsInvestedIndWritten Proc To Monitor ReqsWrittenProcToMonitorReqsInd
A000Yes (1)00000
B000Yes (1)00000

Procedures Corrective Action ProceduresCorrectiveActionGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdProcedures Corrective ActionProceduresCorrectiveActionInd
A0
B0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (4 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Schedule K, Part I, Column f-12/19/2018 15,000,000 IDA Educational Facilities Rev Bonds 2018Constructing and renovating buildings.
Schedule K, Part I, Column f-06/02/2022 42,936,605 IDA of Prince Edward County 2022 BondsRenovating buildings.
Schedule K, Part IV, Line 2c-12/19/2018 15,000,000 IDA Educational Facilities Rev Bonds 2018Rebate computation ws performed December 19, 2019.
Schedule K, Part IV, Line 2c-06/02/2022 42,936,605 IDA of Prince Edward County 2022 BondsRebate computation was performed June 2, 2022.

Schedule L IRS990ScheduleL

Loans Btwn Org Interested Prsn LoansBtwnOrgInterestedPrsnGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonChristopher B HowardPersonNm
Relationship With OrgFormer PresidentRelationshipWithOrgTxt
Loan PurposeSplit Dollar InsuranceLoanPurposeTxt
Loan From OrganizationYes (X)LoanFromOrganizationInd
Original Principal$333,010OriginalPrincipalAmt
Balance Due$477,177BalanceDueAmt
Default0DefaultInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (1)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Written AgreementYes (1)WrittenAgreementInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Balance Due$477,177TotalBalanceDueAmt

Bus Tr Involve Interested Prsn BusTrInvolveInterestedPrsnGrp

Name Of Interested NameOfInterested

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonPatricia TownsendPersonNm
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Relationship DescriptionSpouse of Kenneth TownsendRelationshipDescriptionTxt
Transaction$25,774TransactionAmt
TransactionCompensation of HSC employeeTransactionDesc
Sharing Of Revenues0SharingOfRevenuesInd

Schedule M IRS990ScheduleM

Securities Publicly Traded SecuritiesPubliclyTradedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
Contribution83ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$975,047NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
Method Of Determining RevenuesFMVMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form8283 Received0Form8283ReceivedCnt
Any Property That Must Be Held0AnyPropertyThatMustBeHeldInd
Review Process Unusual NC GiftsYes (1)ReviewProcessUnusualNCGiftsInd
Third Parties Used0ThirdPartiesUsedInd

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (4 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, Line 11bForm 990 is reviewed first by the Controller, then by the VP for Business Affairs and Finance and then by the Board of Trustees through a secure website before it is filed with the IRS.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, Line 12cEach member of the board of trustees is expected to report promptly to the president of the college or to the chariman of the board of trustees the existence of any relationship or interest, as it arises, which actually or potentially involves or may appear to involve a conflict of interest. In addition, each trustee will be asked to sign a statement annually reflecting his or her continuing awareness and understanding of this policy. At the same time, the individual will report either the absence of potential conflicts or the possible areas of concern.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, Line 15Outside compensation consultants were hired to provide an opinion on the reasonableness of the total compensation paid to the president of Hampden-Sydney College. The study included a review of the entire compensation arrangement including cash and non-cash components, as well as, taxable and non-taxable benefits. The study also included a survey of peer colleges and published survey information for tax-exempt and for-profit sectors. In addition to the compensation study, the compensation for key employees is also reviewed by the board annually.
Form 990, Part VI, Section C, Line 19Hampden-Sydney College makes available, upon request, the three most recent Forms 990 and 990-T amd other documents required to be open to public inspection.

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Disregarded Entities IdDisregardedEntitiesGrp

Disregarded Entity Name DisregardedEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1HSC Poplar Hill LLCBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1P O Box 127AddressLine1Txt
CityHampden SydneyCityNm
State AbbreviationVAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP23943ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN540505906EIN
Primary ActivitiesReal EstatePrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateVALegalDomicileStateCd
Total Income$0TotalIncomeAmt
End Of Year Assets$4,520,000EndOfYearAssetsAmt

Direct Controlling Entity Name DirectControllingEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Hampden Sydney CollegeBusinessNameLine1Txt