NATIONAL UNIVERSITY FOUNDATION: Form 990, tax year 2022
View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗
- Organization
- NATIONAL UNIVERSITY FOUNDATION (EIN 20-1269904)
- Tax period
- 2022-07-01 to 2023-06-30
- Filed
- 2024-05-15
- IRS object ID
- 202401369349315355
- Schema version
- 2022v5.0
- Source
- Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica
Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.
- Return header
- Form 990
- Schedule A
- Schedule B
- Schedule D
- Schedule I
- Schedule J
- Schedule N
- Schedule O
- Schedule R
Return header ReturnHeader
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return | 2024-05-15T16:08:38-05:00 | ReturnTs |
| Tax Period End | 2023-06-30 | TaxPeriodEndDt |
Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Firm EIN | 910189318 | PreparerFirmEIN |
Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | MOSS ADAMS LLP | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 4747 EXECUTIVE DR SUITE 1300 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | SAN DIEGO | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | CA | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 92121 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return Type | 990 | ReturnTypeCd |
| Tax Period Begin | 2022-07-01 | TaxPeriodBeginDt |
Filer Filer
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EIN | 201269904 | EIN |
Business Name BusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | SYSTEM MANAGEMENT GROUP | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Business Name Line2 | N/C 8/23 NATIONAL UNIVERSITY FOUNDATION | BusinessNameLine2Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Control | SYST | BusinessNameControlTxt |
| Phone | 8586428100 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 9388 LIGHTWAVE AVENUE | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | SAN DIEGO | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | CA | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 92123 | ZIPCd |
Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person | KAREN WHITNEY | PersonNm |
| Person Title | EVP/STUDENT SUCCESS SERV/CFO | PersonTitleTxt |
| Phone | 8586428100 | PhoneNum |
| Signature | 2024-05-15 | SignatureDt |
| Discuss With Paid Preparer | Yes (1) | DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd |
Signing Officer SigningOfficerGrp
Person Full Name PersonFullName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person First | KAREN | PersonFirstNm |
| Person Last | WHITNEY | PersonLastNm |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| SSN | 999009999 | SSN |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| IRS Responsible Prty Info Curr | Yes (1) | IRSResponsiblePrtyInfoCurrInd |
Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Person | PATRICIA J MAYER | PreparerPersonNm |
| PTIN | P00188643 | PTIN |
| Phone | 8586271400 | PhoneNum |
Additional Filer Information AdditionalFilerInformation
Trusted Customer TrustedCustomerGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Trusted Customer | 2 | TrustedCustomerCd |
| Authentication Assurance Level | AAL1 | AuthenticationAssuranceLevelCd |
| Identity Assurance Level | IAL1 | IdentityAssuranceLevelCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Tax | 2022 | TaxYr |
| Build TS | 2023-04-26 12:10:37Z | BuildTS |
Form 990 IRS990
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Principal Officer | DAVE C LAWRENCE | PrincipalOfficerNm |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 9388 LIGHTWAVE AVENUE | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | SAN DIEGO | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | CA | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 92123 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Gross Receipts | $103,787,723 | GrossReceiptsAmt |
| Group Return For Affiliates | 0 | GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd |
| Organization501c3 | Yes (X) | Organization501c3Ind |
| Website Address | WWW.NUSYSTEM.ORG | WebsiteAddressTxt |
| Type Of Organization Corp | Yes (X) | TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd |
| Formation | 2005 | FormationYr |
| Legal Domicile State | CA | LegalDomicileStateCd |
| Activity Or Mission | PROVIDE ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES TO THE ORGANIZATION'S AFFILIATED INSTITUTIONS: THE NATIONAL UNIVERSITY SYSTEM ("NUS"). IN AUGUST 2023 SYSTEM MANAGEMENT GROUP CHANGED ITS NAME TO NATIONAL UNIVERSITY FOUNDATION (NUF) WITH FUNDRAISING ACTIVITY COMMENCING IN 2024. MISSION OF NUF IS CREATING AND NURTURING A CULTURE OF GIVING AND PHILANTHROPY THAT EXTENDS TO OUR STAFF, FACULTY, STUDENTS, GRADUATES, AND COMMUNITY PARTNERS. A CULTURE OF SHARED VALUES AND COLLECTIVE IMPACT, WHERE EVERY COMMUNITY MEMBER AND EVERY CONTRIBUTION STRENGTHENS OUR EDUCATIONAL MISSION AND BUILDS A LEGACY OF COMPASSION AND INNOVATION. | ActivityOrMissionDesc |
| Contract Termination | Yes (X) | ContractTerminationInd |
| Voting Members Governing Body | 17 | VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt |
| Voting Members Independent | 16 | VotingMembersIndependentCnt |
| Total Employee | 1456 | TotalEmployeeCnt |
| Total Volunteers | 20 | TotalVolunteersCnt |
| Total Gross UBI | $0 | TotalGrossUBIAmt |
| Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm | $0 | NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt |
| PY Contributions Grants | $28,547,216 | PYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| CY Contributions Grants | $21,012,495 | CYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| PY Program Service Revenue | $95,089,050 | PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| CY Program Service Revenue | $81,420,051 | CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| PY Investment Income | $3,221,344 | PYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| CY Investment Income | $1,355,177 | CYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| PY Other Revenue | $100,000 | PYOtherRevenueAmt |
| CY Other Revenue | $0 | CYOtherRevenueAmt |
| PY Total Revenue | $126,957,610 | PYTotalRevenueAmt |
| CY Total Revenue | $103,787,723 | CYTotalRevenueAmt |
| PY Grants And Similar Paid | $891,217 | PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| CY Grants And Similar Paid | $325,000 | CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| PY Benefits Paid To Members | $0 | PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| CY Benefits Paid To Members | $0 | CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $59,300,443 | PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $69,754,744 | CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Fundraising Expense | $0 | CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt |
| PY Other Expenses | $81,425,132 | PYOtherExpensesAmt |
| CY Other Expenses | $45,149,388 | CYOtherExpensesAmt |
| PY Total Expenses | $141,616,792 | PYTotalExpensesAmt |
| CY Total Expenses | $115,229,132 | CYTotalExpensesAmt |
| PY Revenues Less Expenses | -$14,659,182 | PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| CY Revenues Less Expenses | -$11,441,409 | CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| Total Assets BOY | $124,033,654 | TotalAssetsBOYAmt |
| Total Assets EOY | $0 | TotalAssetsEOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities BOY | $190,236,161 | TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities EOY | $0 | TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY | -$66,202,507 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY | $0 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt |
| Info In Schedule O Part III | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd |
| Mission | PROVIDE ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES TO THE ORGANIZATION'S AFFILIATED INSTITUTIONS: THE NATIONAL UNIVERSITY SYSTEM ("NUS"). IN AUGUST 2023 SYSTEM MANAGEMENT GROUP CHANGED ITS NAME TO NATIONAL UNIVERSITY FOUNDATION (NUF) WITH FUNDRAISING ACTIVITY COMMENCING IN 2024. MISSION OF NUF IS CREATING AND NURTURING A CULTURE OF GIVING AND PHILANTHROPY THAT EXTENDS TO OUR STAFF, FACULTY, STUDENTS, GRADUATES, AND COMMUNITY PARTNERS. A CULTURE OF SHARED VALUES AND COLLECTIVE IMPACT, WHERE EVERY COMMUNITY MEMBER AND EVERY CONTRIBUTION STRENGTHENS OUR EDUCATIONAL MISSION AND BUILDS A LEGACY OF COMPASSION AND INNOVATION. | MissionDesc |
| Significant New Program Srvc | 0 | SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd |
| Significant Change | Yes (1) | SignificantChangeInd |
| Expense | $114,587,426 | ExpenseAmt |
| Grant | $325,000 | GrantAmt |
| Revenue | $81,420,051 | RevenueAmt |
| Desc | PROVIDE SUPPORT AND SERVICES TO THE ORGANIZATIONS IN THE NATIONAL UNIVERSITY SYSTEM ("NUS"). | Desc |
Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Desc | IN AUGUST 2023 SYSTEM MANAGEMENT GROUP CHANGED ITS NAME TO NATIONAL UNIVERSITY FOUNDATION (NUF) WITH ACTIVITY COMMENCING IN 2024 TO CONDUCT CHARITABLE FUNDRAISING OR OTHER ACTIVITIES ASSOCIATED FOR THE SUPPORT OF ORGANIZATIONS IN THE NUS SYSTEM, AND TO MANAGE PHILANTHROPIC ASSETS. | Desc |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Program Service Expenses | $114,587,426 | TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt |
| Described In Section501c3 | Yes (1) | DescribedInSection501c3Ind |
| Schedule B Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleBRequiredInd |
| Political Campaign Acty | 0 | PoliticalCampaignActyInd |
| Lobbying Activities | 0 | LobbyingActivitiesInd |
| Subject To Proxy Tax | 0 | SubjectToProxyTaxInd |
| Donor Advised Fund | 0 | DonorAdvisedFundInd |
| Conservation Easements | 0 | ConservationEasementsInd |
| Collections Of Art | 0 | CollectionsOfArtInd |
| Credit Counseling | 0 | CreditCounselingInd |
| Donor Rstr Or Quasi Endowments | 0 | DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd |
| Report Land Building Equipment | 0 | ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd |
| Report Investments Other Sec | 0 | ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd |
| Report Program Related Invst | 0 | ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd |
| Report Other Assets | 0 | ReportOtherAssetsInd |
| Report Other Liabilities | 0 | ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd |
| Include FIN48 Footnote | Yes (1) | IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd |
| Independent Audit Fincl Stmt | Yes (1) | IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd |
| Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt | 0 | ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd |
| School Operating | 0 | SchoolOperatingInd |
| Foreign Office | 0 | ForeignOfficeInd |
| Foreign Activities | 0 | ForeignActivitiesInd |
| More Than5000 K To Org | 0 | MoreThan5000KToOrgInd |
| More Than5000 K To Individuals | 0 | MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd |
| Professional Fundraising | 0 | ProfessionalFundraisingInd |
| Fundraising Activities | 0 | FundraisingActivitiesInd |
| Gaming Activities | 0 | GamingActivitiesInd |
| Operate Hospital | 0 | OperateHospitalInd |
| Grants To Organizations | Yes (1) | GrantsToOrganizationsInd |
| Grants To Individuals | 0 | GrantsToIndividualsInd |
| Schedule J Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleJRequiredInd |
| Tax Exempt Bonds | 0 | TaxExemptBondsInd |
| Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans | 0 | EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd |
| PY Excess Benefit Trans | 0 | PYExcessBenefitTransInd |
| Loan Outstanding | 0 | LoanOutstandingInd |
| Grant To Related Person | 0 | GrantToRelatedPersonInd |
| Business Rln With Org Mem | 0 | BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd |
| Business Rln With Fam Mem | 0 | BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd |
| Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent | 0 | BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd |
| Deductible Non Cash Contri | 0 | DeductibleNonCashContriInd |
| Deductible Art Contribution | 0 | DeductibleArtContributionInd |
| Terminate Operations | 0 | TerminateOperationsInd |
| Partial Liquidation | Yes (1) | PartialLiquidationInd |
| Disregarded Entity | 0 | DisregardedEntityInd |
| Related Entity | Yes (1) | RelatedEntityInd |
| Related Organization Ctrl Ent | Yes (1) | RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd |
| Transaction With Control Ent | Yes (1) | TransactionWithControlEntInd |
| Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org | 0 | TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd |
| Activities Conducted Prtshp | 0 | ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd |
| Schedule O Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleORequiredInd |
| IRP Document | 170 | IRPDocumentCnt |
| IRP Document W2 G | 0 | IRPDocumentW2GCnt |
| Backup Wthld Compliance | Yes (1) | BackupWthldComplianceInd |
| Employee | 1456 | EmployeeCnt |
| Employment Tax Returns Filed | Yes (1) | EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd |
| Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit | 0 | UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd |
| Foreign Financial Account | 0 | ForeignFinancialAccountInd |
| Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans | 0 | ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd |
| Taxable Party Notification | 0 | TaxablePartyNotificationInd |
| Nondeductible Contributions | 0 | NondeductibleContributionsInd |
| Quid Pro Quo Contributions | 0 | QuidProQuoContributionsInd |
| Form8282 Property Disposed Of | 0 | Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd |
| Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct | 0 | RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd |
| Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct | 0 | PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd |
| Indoor Tanning Services | 0 | IndoorTanningServicesInd |
| Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt | Yes (1) | SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd |
| Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc | 0 | SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd |
| Info In Schedule O Part VI | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd |
| Governing Body Voting Members | 17 | GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt |
| Independent Voting Member | 16 | IndependentVotingMemberCnt |
| Family Or Business Rln | 0 | FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd |
| Delegation Of Mgmt Duties | 0 | DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd |
| Change To Org Documents | 0 | ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd |
| Material Diversion Or Misuse | 0 | MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd |
| Members Or Stockholders | 0 | MembersOrStockholdersInd |
| Election Of Board Members | 0 | ElectionOfBoardMembersInd |
| Decisions Subject To Approva | 0 | DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd |
| Minutes Of Governing Body | Yes (1) | MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd |
| Minutes Of Committees | Yes (1) | MinutesOfCommitteesInd |
| Officer Mailing Address | 0 | OfficerMailingAddressInd |
| Local Chapters | 0 | LocalChaptersInd |
| Form990 Provided To Gvrn Body | Yes (1) | Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd |
| Conflict Of Interest Policy | Yes (1) | ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd |
| Annual Disclosure Covered Prsn | Yes (1) | AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd |
| Regular Monitoring Enfrc | Yes (1) | RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd |
| Whistleblower Policy | Yes (1) | WhistleblowerPolicyInd |
| Document Retention Policy | Yes (1) | DocumentRetentionPolicyInd |
| Compensation Process CEO | Yes (1) | CompensationProcessCEOInd |
| Compensation Process Other | Yes (1) | CompensationProcessOtherInd |
| Investment In Joint Venture | 0 | InvestmentInJointVentureInd |
| States Where Copy Of Return Is Fld | CA | StatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd |
| Upon Request | Yes (X) | UponRequestInd |
Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail
Business Name BusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | MICHELLE BELLO SR VP ADMIN FINANCE | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Phone | 8586428636 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 9388 LIGHTWAVE AVENUE | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | SAN DIEGO | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | CA | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 92123 | ZIPCd |
Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (36 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Average Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRt | Individual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorInd | OfficerOfficerInd | Reportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmt | Reportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmt | Other CompensationOtherCompensationAmt | Key EmployeeKeyEmployeeInd | Highest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd | Former Ofcr Director TrusteeFormerOfcrDirectorTrusteeInd |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| DR RUTHANN HEINRICH | |||||||||
| CHAIR | 3.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| DR E LEE RICE | |||||||||
| VICE CHAIR | 3.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| RICHARD CHISHOLM | |||||||||
| TREASURER | 3.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| THOMAS TOPUZES | |||||||||
| SECRETARY | 3.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| CARLOS RODRIGUEZ | |||||||||
| TRUSTEE | 3.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||||
| DAN PITTARD | |||||||||
| TRUSTEE | 3.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||||
| DR ERLINDA MARTINEZ | |||||||||
| TRUSTEE | 3.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||||
| HAROLD GREENBERG | |||||||||
| TRUSTEE | 3.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||||
| HIEP QUACH | |||||||||
| TRUSTEE | 3.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||||
| JEANNE CONNELLY | |||||||||
| TRUSTEE | 3.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||||
| JOANNE PASTULA | |||||||||
| TRUSTEE | 3.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||||
| KIM FOLSOM | |||||||||
| TRUSTEE | 3.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||||
| LEE WILLS-IRVINE | |||||||||
| TRUSTEE | 3.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||||
| MICHAEL R MCGILL | |||||||||
| TRUSTEE | 3.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||||
| STACY ALLISON | |||||||||
| TRUSTEE | 3.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||||
| TOM CLEVINGER | |||||||||
| TRUSTEE | 3.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||||
| ANA GOMEZ CHAPMAN | |||||||||
| TRUSTEE (THRU 7/2023) | 3.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||||
| TAHJAR ROAMARTINEZ | |||||||||
| TRUSTEE (THRU 7/2023) | 3.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||||
| DR MARK MILLIRON | |||||||||
| EX OFFICIO | 3.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||||
| DR MICHAEL CUNNINGHAM | |||||||||
| CHANCELLOR (THRU 3/2023) | 45.00 | Yes (X) | $1,037,305 | $0 | $34,923 | ||||
| DAVE C LAWRENCE | |||||||||
| EVP, ADMIN, FINANCE | 45.00 | Yes (X) | $428,302 | $0 | $41,032 | ||||
| MICHELLE BELLO | |||||||||
| SVP, ADMIN, FINANCE | 45.00 | Yes (X) | $327,397 | $0 | $43,475 | ||||
| KAREN WHITNEY | |||||||||
| EVP, STRAT & SUST | 45.00 | $402,830 | $0 | $48,780 | Yes (X) | ||||
| JOHN GOIN | |||||||||
| EVP & COO | 45.00 | $436,766 | $0 | $35,080 | Yes (X) | ||||
| TOM STEWART | |||||||||
| EVP, SJEDI | 45.00 | $374,508 | $0 | $47,031 | Yes (X) | ||||
| SANDI BEST | |||||||||
| SVP, HR | 45.00 | $335,175 | $0 | $66,666 | Yes (X) | ||||
| PATRICK PENDLETON | |||||||||
| CIO | 45.00 | $323,409 | $0 | $51,032 | Yes (X) | ||||
| CHRIS RUSSO | |||||||||
| CHIEF OF STAFF | 45.00 | $302,883 | $0 | $49,043 | Yes (X) | ||||
| SCOTT PAGE | |||||||||
| SVP, SEP | 45.00 | $299,329 | $0 | $46,808 | Yes (X) | ||||
| CHRIS GRAHAM | |||||||||
| WVP, WES | 45.00 | $303,629 | $0 | $42,671 | Yes (X) | ||||
| NANCY ROHLAND | |||||||||
| EVP, COMM & COM ENG | 45.00 | $350,670 | $0 | $35,209 | Yes (X) | ||||
| JOHN PATTERSON | |||||||||
| VP, STRAT PARTNERSHIP | 45.00 | $257,843 | $0 | $77,945 | Yes (X) | ||||
| KEN BOUTELLE | |||||||||
| SVP, ENROLL | 45.00 | $259,265 | $0 | $76,102 | Yes (X) | ||||
| IAN COOPER | |||||||||
| SVP, STU OPS | 45.00 | $259,055 | $0 | $44,834 | Yes (X) | ||||
| DONNA-MARIE ARIAS | |||||||||
| SVP CHG MGT | 45.00 | $277,213 | $0 | $4,120 | Yes (X) | ||||
| MICHELLE WEISS | |||||||||
| INNOVATION - FORMER | 45.00 | $180,525 | $0 | $19,935 | Yes (X) | ||||
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Reportable Comp From Org | $6,156,104 | TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt |
| Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org | $0 | TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt |
| Total Other Compensation | $764,686 | TotalOtherCompensationAmt |
| Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 136 | IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
| Former Ofcr Employees Listed | Yes (1) | FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd |
| Total Comp Greater Than150 K | Yes (1) | TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd |
| Compensation From Other Srcs | 0 | CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd |
Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)
| Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1Txt | CityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNm | State AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCd | ZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCd | ServicesServicesDesc | CompensationCompensationAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| GOOGLE LLC | |||||
| PO BOX 883654 | LOS ANGELES | CA | 900883654 | ADVERTISING | $6,037,954 |
| MCKINSEY & COMPANY INC | |||||
| PO BOX 7247-7255 | PHILADELPHIA | PA | 191707255 | CONSULTING | $3,437,499 |
| EDDY ACQUISITIONS LLC | |||||
| PO BOX 780276 | PHILADELPHIA | PA | 191780276 | CONSULTING | $2,441,945 |
| CDW GOVERNMENT INC | |||||
| 75 REMITTANCE DR STE 1515 | CHICAGO | IL | 606751515 | TECHNOLOGY SERVICES | $2,148,169 |
| COGNIZANT TECHNOLOGY SOLUTIONS | |||||
| 300 FRANK W BURR BLVD | TEANECK | NJ | 07666 | TECHNOLOGY SERVICES | $2,061,983 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 100 | CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
| Related Organizations | $21,012,495 | RelatedOrganizationsAmt |
| Total Contributions | $21,012,495 | TotalContributionsAmt |
Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (2 entries)
| DescDesc | BusinessBusinessCd | Total Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmt | Related Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
|---|---|---|---|
| PAYMENT FOR SUPPORT | 900099 | $81,414,812 | $81,414,812 |
| OTHER PROGRAM REVENUE | 900099 | $5,239 | $5,239 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Program Service Revenue | $81,420,051 | TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $375,939 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $375,939 | ExclusionAmt |
Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | $979,238 | SecuritiesAmt |
Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | $0 | SecuritiesAmt |
Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | $979,238 | SecuritiesAmt |
Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $979,238 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $979,238 | ExclusionAmt |
Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $103,787,723 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $81,420,051 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
| Unrelated Business Revenue | $0 | UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt |
| Exclusion | $1,355,177 | ExclusionAmt |
Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $325,000 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $325,000 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $3,146,435 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $3,146,435 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $50,380,159 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $50,380,159 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,688,055 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $1,688,055 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $10,563,268 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $10,563,268 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $3,976,827 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $3,976,827 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $524,843 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $524,843 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $95,023 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $95,023 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $21,840 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $21,840 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $7,887,332 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $7,887,332 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Advertising AdvertisingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,529,013 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $1,529,013 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $2,308,459 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $2,308,459 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $6,301,400 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $6,301,400 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Occupancy OccupancyGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $3,504,509 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $3,504,509 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Travel TravelGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,085,300 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $1,085,300 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $286,368 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $286,368 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Interest InterestGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $4,773,311 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $4,773,311 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $7,440,562 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $7,440,562 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Insurance InsuranceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,529,858 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $1,529,858 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)
| DescDesc | TotalTotalAmt | Program ServicesProgramServicesAmt |
|---|---|---|
| SANFORD PROGRAM EXPENSE | $6,756,179 | $6,756,179 |
| RECRUITMENT - EMPLOYEE | $432,818 | $432,818 |
| UNIVERSITY FUNCTIONS | $349,478 | $349,478 |
| DUES AND MEMBERSHIPS | $137,281 | $137,281 |
All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $185,814 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $185,814 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $115,229,132 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $114,587,426 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $641,706 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $0 | FundraisingAmt |
Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $9,760,615 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $6,041,895 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss | $0 | LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt |
| Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec | $0 | LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt |
Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $1,588,127 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $44,182,895 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Intangible Assets IntangibleAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $57,667,065 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $4,793,057 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $124,033,654 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $11,378,050 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $65,211,166 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $103,774,232 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $9,872,713 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $190,236,161 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Organization Follows FASB117 | Yes (X) | OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind |
No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | -$66,202,507 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | -$66,202,507 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $124,033,654 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Info In Schedule O Part XI | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd |
| Reconcilation Revenue Expnss | -$11,441,409 | ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt |
| Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst | -$99,299 | NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt |
| Other Changes In Net Assets | $77,743,215 | OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt |
| Method Of Accounting Accrual | Yes (X) | MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd |
| Accountant Compile Or Review | 0 | AccountantCompileOrReviewInd |
| FS Audited | Yes (1) | FSAuditedInd |
FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Separate Basis Fincl Stmt | Yes (X) | SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Audit Committee | Yes (1) | AuditCommitteeInd |
| Federal Grant Audit Required | 0 | FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd |
Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Supporting Organization509a3 | Yes (X) | SupportingOrganization509a3Ind |
| Supporting Org Type2 | Yes (X) | SupportingOrgType2Ind |
| IRS Written Determination | Yes (X) | IRSWrittenDeterminationInd |
| Supported Organizations | 5 | SupportedOrganizationsCnt |
Supported Org Information SupportedOrgInformationGrp (5 entries)
| EINEIN | Organization TypeOrganizationTypeCd | Governing Document ListedGoverningDocumentListedInd | SupportSupportAmt | Other SupportOtherSupportAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| JOHN F KENNEDY UNIVERSITY | ||||
| 941610694 | 2 | 0 | $0 | $0 |
| NATIONAL UNIVERSITY VIRTUAL HIGH SCHOOL | ||||
| 562438569 | 10 | 0 | $0 | $0 |
| NORTHCENTRAL UNIVERSITY | ||||
| 900171867 | 10 | 0 | $0 | $0 |
| CITY UNIVERSITY OF SEATTLE | ||||
| 237421224 | 2 | 0 | $0 | $0 |
| NATIONAL UNIVERSITY | ||||
| 237172306 | 2 | 0 | $0 | $0 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Supported Organizations Total | 5 | SupportedOrganizationsTotalCnt |
| Support Sum | $0 | SupportSumAmt |
| Other Support Sum | $0 | OtherSupportSumAmt |
Form990 Sch A Supporting Org Form990SchASupportingOrgGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Listed By Name Governing Doc | Yes (1) | ListedByNameGoverningDocInd |
| Suprt Org No IRS Determination | 0 | SuprtOrgNoIRSDeterminationInd |
| Supported Org Section C456 | 0 | SupportedOrgSectionC456Ind |
| Supported Org Not Organized US | 0 | SupportedOrgNotOrganizedUSInd |
| Organization Change Suprt Org | 0 | OrganizationChangeSuprtOrgInd |
| Support Non Supported Org | 0 | SupportNonSupportedOrgInd |
| Payment Substantial Contribtr | 0 | PaymentSubstantialContribtrInd |
| Loan Disqualified Person | 0 | LoanDisqualifiedPersonInd |
| Controlled Disqualified Prsn | 0 | ControlledDisqualifiedPrsnInd |
| Disqualified Prsn Controll Int | 0 | DisqualifiedPrsnControllIntInd |
| Disqualified Prsn Ownr Int | 0 | DisqualifiedPrsnOwnrIntInd |
| Excess Business Holdings Rules | 0 | ExcessBusinessHoldingsRulesInd |
| Contribution Controller | 0 | ContributionControllerInd |
| Contribution Family | 0 | ContributionFamilyInd |
| Contribution35 Controlled | 0 | Contribution35ControlledInd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Majority Dir Trst Supported Org | Yes (1) | MajorityDirTrstSupportedOrgInd |
Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB
Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Contributor | RESTRICTED | ContributorNum |
Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | RESTRICTED | BusinessNameLine1 |
Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | RESTRICTED | AddressLine1 |
| Address Line2 | RESTRICTED | AddressLine2 |
| City | RESTRICTED | City |
| State | RESTRICTED | State |
| ZIP Code | RESTRICTED | ZIPCode |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Contributions | RESTRICTED | TotalContributionsAmt |
Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Book Value Land Buildings | $0 | TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt |
| Footnote Text | Yes (X) | FootnoteTextInd |
| Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $103,661,000 | TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Net Unrealized Gains Invst | -$99,299 | NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported | -$99,299 | RevenueNotReportedAmt |
| Revenue Subtotal | $103,760,299 | RevenueSubtotalAmt |
| Investment Expenses Not Incld | $21,840 | InvestmentExpensesNotIncldAmt |
| Other Revenues Not Included | $5,584 | OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt | $27,424 | RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Revenue Per Form990 | $103,787,723 | TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt |
| Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $158,218,000 | TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Other Expenses Included | $43,016,596 | OtherExpensesIncludedAmt |
| Expenses Not Reported | $43,016,596 | ExpensesNotReportedAmt |
| Expenses Subtotal | $115,201,404 | ExpensesSubtotalAmt |
| Investment Expenses Not Incld2 | $21,840 | InvestmentExpensesNotIncld2Amt |
| Other Expenses Not Included | $5,888 | OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt |
| Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt | $27,728 | ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Expenses Per Form990 | $115,229,132 | TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (4 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| PART X, LINE 2: | SMG IS A NON-PROFIT ORGANIZATION UNDER SECTION 501(C)(3) OF THE INTERNAL REVENUE CODE (IRC) AND RELATED STATE PROVISIONS, AND AS SUCH, IS NOT SUBJECT TO FEDERAL AND STATE INCOME TAXES. ACCORDINGLY, NO PROVISION FOR INCOME TAXES HAS BEEN REFLECTED IN THE ACCOMPANYING FINANCIAL STATEMENTS. INCOME TAX BENEFITS AND/OR LIABILITIES ARE RECOGNIZED FOR INCOME TAX POSITIONS TAKEN OR EXPECTED TO BE TAKEN IN A TAX RETURN, ONLY WHEN DETERMINED THAT THE INCOME TAX POSITION WILL MORE LIKELY THAN NOT BE SUSTAINED UPON EXAMINATION BY TAXING AUTHORITIES. SMG HAS ANALYZED THE TAX POSITIONS TAKEN IN ITS FILINGS WITH THE INTERNAL REVENUE SERVICE (IRS) AND VARIOUS STATE JURISDICTIONS. SMG BELIEVES THAT ITS INCOME TAX FILING POSITIONS WILL BE SUSTAINED UPON EXAMINATION AND DOES NOT ANTICIPATE ANY ADJUSTMENTS THAT WOULD RESULT IN A MATERIAL ADVERSE EFFECT ON SMG'S FINANCIAL CONDITION, CHANGES IN NET ASSETS, OR CASH FLOWS. ACCORDINGLY, NO RESERVES OR RELATED ACCRUALS FOR INTEREST AND PENALTIES FOR UNCERTAIN INCOME TAX POSITIONS HAVE BEEN RECORDED AT FEBRUARY 28, 2023. |
| PART XI, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS: | AFFILIATE INCOME - NETTED WITH EXPENSES 5,239. FINANCIAL STATEMENT ROUNDING 345. |
| PART XII, LINE 2D - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS: | IMPAIRMENT LOSS 43,016,596. |
| PART XII, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS: | AFFILIATE INCOME - NETTED WITH EXPENSES 5,239. FINANCIAL STATEMENT ROUNDING 649. |
Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Grant Records Maintained | Yes (1) | GrantRecordsMaintainedInd |
Recipient Table RecipientTable (2 entries)
| Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1Txt | CityUSAddress/CityNm | State AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCd | ZIPUSAddress/ZIPCd | Recipient EINRecipientEIN | IRC SectionIRCSectionDesc | Cash GrantCashGrantAmt | Non Cash AssistanceNonCashAssistanceAmt | Purpose Of GrantPurposeOfGrantTxt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| LONG ISLAND UNIVERSITY | ||||||||
| 700 NORTHERN BLVD | BROOKVILLE | NY | 11648 | 111633516 | 501(C)(3) | $250,000 | $0 | GENERAL SUPPORT |
| ALLIANCE FOR EXCELLENT EDUCATION | ||||||||
| 1425 K STREET NW 700 | WASHINGTON | DC | 20005 | 113487339 | 501(C)(3) | $75,000 | $0 | GENERAL SUPPORT |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total501c3 Org | 2 | Total501c3OrgCnt |
| Total Other Org | 0 | TotalOtherOrgCnt |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form And Line Reference | PART I, LINE 2: | FormAndLineReferenceDesc |
| Explanation | SYSTEM MANAGEMENT GROUP IDENTIFIES ELIGIBLE GRANTEES RELATED TO EDUCATIONAL AND COMMUNITY PURPOSES. GRANTEES ARE MONITORED AS APPROPRIATE THROUGH PERIODIC REPORTS AND SITE INSPECTIONS. GRANTEES SELECTED FURTHER THE MISSION OF THE ORGANIZATIONS IN THE NUS. | ExplanationTxt |
Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| First Class Or Charter Travel | Yes (X) | FirstClassOrCharterTravelInd |
| Written Policy Ref T And E Expnss | Yes (1) | WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd |
| Substantiation Required | Yes (1) | SubstantiationRequiredInd |
| Compensation Committee | Yes (X) | CompensationCommitteeInd |
| Form990 Of Other Organizations | Yes (X) | Form990OfOtherOrganizationsInd |
| Compensation Survey | Yes (X) | CompensationSurveyInd |
| Board Or Committee Approval | Yes (X) | BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd |
| Severance Payment | 0 | SeverancePaymentInd |
| Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan | 0 | SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd |
| Equity Based Comp Arrngm | 0 | EquityBasedCompArrngmInd |
| Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org | 0 | CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd |
| Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs | 0 | CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd |
| Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org | 0 | CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd |
| Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs | 0 | CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd |
| Any Non Fixed Payments | Yes (1) | AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd |
| Initial Contract Exception | 0 | InitialContractExceptionInd |
Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (17 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Base Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Compensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmt | Bonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmount | Bonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmt | Other Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Other Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmt | Deferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmt | Deferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmt | Nontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmt | Nontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmt | Total Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Total Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmt | Comp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmt | Comp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| DR MICHAEL CUNNINGHAM | ||||||||||||||
| CHANCELLOR (THRU 3/2023) | $1,007,305 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $30,000 | $0 | $19,600 | $0 | $15,323 | $0 | $1,072,228 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| JOHN GOIN | ||||||||||||||
| EVP & COO | $436,766 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $12,200 | $0 | $22,880 | $0 | $471,846 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| DAVE C LAWRENCE | ||||||||||||||
| EVP, ADMIN, FINANCE | $392,942 | $0 | $35,360 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $19,367 | $0 | $21,665 | $0 | $469,334 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| KAREN WHITNEY | ||||||||||||||
| EVP, STRAT & SUST | $365,390 | $0 | $37,440 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $19,824 | $0 | $28,956 | $0 | $451,610 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| TOM STEWART | ||||||||||||||
| EVP, SJEDI | $339,897 | $0 | $34,611 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $18,332 | $0 | $28,699 | $0 | $421,539 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| SANDI BEST | ||||||||||||||
| SVP, HR | $303,715 | $0 | $31,460 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $21,120 | $0 | $45,546 | $0 | $401,841 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| NANCY ROHLAND | ||||||||||||||
| EVP, COMM & COM ENG | $322,963 | $0 | $27,707 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $13,544 | $0 | $21,665 | $0 | $385,879 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| PATRICK PENDLETON | ||||||||||||||
| CIO | $292,013 | $0 | $31,396 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $20,769 | $0 | $30,263 | $0 | $374,441 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| MICHELLE BELLO | ||||||||||||||
| SVP, ADMIN, FINANCE | $297,071 | $0 | $30,326 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $21,022 | $0 | $22,453 | $0 | $370,872 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| CHRIS RUSSO | ||||||||||||||
| CHIEF OF STAFF | $271,383 | $0 | $31,500 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $20,216 | $0 | $28,827 | $0 | $351,926 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| CHRIS GRAHAM | ||||||||||||||
| WVP, WES | $278,644 | $0 | $24,985 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $20,458 | $0 | $22,213 | $0 | $346,300 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| SCOTT PAGE | ||||||||||||||
| SVP, SEP | $270,729 | $0 | $28,600 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $17,852 | $0 | $28,956 | $0 | $346,137 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| JOHN PATTERSON | ||||||||||||||
| VP, STRAT PARTNERSHIP | $235,843 | $0 | $22,000 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $17,164 | $0 | $60,781 | $0 | $335,788 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| KEN BOUTELLE | ||||||||||||||
| SVP, ENROLL | $259,265 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $16,356 | $0 | $59,746 | $0 | $335,367 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| IAN COOPER | ||||||||||||||
| SVP, STU OPS | $236,412 | $0 | $22,643 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $16,356 | $0 | $28,478 | $0 | $303,889 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| DONNA-MARIE ARIAS | ||||||||||||||
| SVP CHG MGT | $249,213 | $0 | $28,000 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $3,243 | $0 | $877 | $0 | $281,333 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| MICHELLE WEISS | ||||||||||||||
| INNOVATION - FORMER | $180,525 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $2,041 | $0 | $17,894 | $0 | $200,460 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| PART I, LINE 1A | FIRST CLASS TRAVEL IS MADE AVAILABLE TO BOARD MEMBERS IF THE FLIGHT IS OVER 3 HOURS. THIS IS NOT INCLUDED AS TAXABLE INCOME TO SUCH BOARD MEMBERS IF UTILIZED. |
| PART I, LINE 7 | OFFICERS AND KEY EMPLOYEES ARE ELIGIBLE FOR BONUSES. BONUSES ARE AWARDED WITHIN A SPECIFIED RANGE IN THE DISCRETION OF THE EXECUTIVE COMPENSATION COMMITTEE OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES AND ARE BASED ON ACHIEVING GOALS. |
Schedule N IRS990ScheduleN
Disposition Of Assets Detail DispositionOfAssetsDetail (9 entries)
| Assets Distri Or Expnss PaidAssetsDistriOrExpnssPaidDesc | DistributionDistributionDt | Fair Market Value Of AssetFairMarketValueOfAssetAmt | Method Of FMV DeterminationMethodOfFMVDeterminationTxt | EINEIN | Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1Txt | CityUSAddress/CityNm | State AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCd | ZIPUSAddress/ZIPCd | IRC SectionIRCSectionTxt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| NATIONAL UNIVERSITY | |||||||||
| CASH AND CASH EQUIVALENTS | 2023-03-01 | $6,723,927 | BOOK VALUE | 237172306 | 9388 LIGHTWAVE AVENUE | SAN DIEGO | CA | 92123 | 501(C)(3) |
| NATIONAL UNIVERSITY | |||||||||
| PREPAID EXPENSES | 2023-03-01 | $6,108,070 | BOOK VALUE | 237172306 | 9388 LIGHTWAVE AVENUE | SAN DIEGO | CA | 92123 | 501(C)(3) |
| NATIONAL UNIVERSITY | |||||||||
| BENEFICIAL INTEREST IN ASSETS | 2023-03-01 | $45,285,490 | BOOK VALUE | 237172306 | 9388 LIGHTWAVE AVENUE | SAN DIEGO | CA | 92123 | 501(C)(3) |
| NATIONAL UNIVERSITY | |||||||||
| INTANGIBLE ASSETS, NET | 2023-03-01 | $7,416,667 | BOOK VALUE | 237172306 | 9388 LIGHTWAVE AVENUE | SAN DIEGO | CA | 92123 | 501(C)(3) |
| NATIONAL UNIVERSITY | |||||||||
| OPERATING LEASE RIGHT OF USE, NET LIABILITY | 2023-03-01 | -$978,280 | BOOK VALUE | 237172306 | 9388 LIGHTWAVE AVENUE | SAN DIEGO | CA | 92123 | 501(C)(3) |
| NATIONAL UNIVERSITY | |||||||||
| BUILDING IMPROVEMENTS AND EQUIPMENT, NET | 2023-03-01 | $1,440,641 | BOOK VALUE | 237172306 | 9388 LIGHTWAVE AVENUE | SAN DIEGO | CA | 92123 | 501(C)(3) |
| NATIONAL UNIVERSITY | |||||||||
| DUE TO AFFILIATES, NET | 2023-03-01 | -$1,682,577 | BOOK VALUE | 237172306 | 9388 LIGHTWAVE AVENUE | SAN DIEGO | CA | 92123 | 501(C)(3) |
| NATIONAL UNIVERSITY | |||||||||
| BONDS PAYABLE, NET | 2023-03-01 | -$168,669,663 | BOOK VALUE | 237172306 | 9388 LIGHTWAVE AVENUE | SAN DIEGO | CA | 92123 | 501(C)(3) |
| NATIONAL UNIVERSITY | |||||||||
| ACCOUNTS PAYABLE AND ACCRUED LIABILITIES | 2023-03-01 | -$16,404,275 | BOOK VALUE | 237172306 | 9388 LIGHTWAVE AVENUE | SAN DIEGO | CA | 92123 | 501(C)(3) |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Director Of Successor2 | Yes (1) | DirectorOfSuccessor2Ind |
| Employee Of Successor2 | Yes (1) | EmployeeOfSuccessor2Ind |
| Owner Of Successor2 | 0 | OwnerOfSuccessor2Ind |
| Receive Compensation2 | 0 | ReceiveCompensation2Ind |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| PART II, LINE 2E: | PERSON(S) INVOLVED: BOARD OF TRUSTEES AND OFFICERS |
| PART II, LINE 2E: | EXPLANATION OF INVOLVEMENT: TRUSTEES REPORTED IN PART VII OF THE FORM 990 WERE TRUSTEES OF NATIONAL UNIVERSITY PRIOR TO THE TRANSFER OF NET ASSETS AND WILL CONTINUE TO BE THE TRUSTEES OF NATIONAL UNIVERSITY POST TRANSFER OF NET ASSETS. OFFICERS OF SYSTEM MANAGEMENT GROUP HAVE BEEN EMPLOYEES OF NATIONAL UNIVERSITY AND THE TRANSFER OF NET ASSETS TO NATIONAL UNIVERSITY WILL NOT CHANGE THE EMPLOYMENT ARRANGEMENT EXISTING WITH NATIONAL UNIVERSITY. SYSTEM MANAGEMENT GROUP HAS NOT BEEN DISSOLVED. IN AUGUST 2023 SYSTEM MANAGEMENT GROUP CHANGED ITS NAME TO NATIONAL UNIVERSITY FOUNDATION (NUF) WITH ACTIVITY COMMENCING IN 2024 TO CONDUCT CHARITABLE FUNDRAISING OR OTHER ACTIVITIES ASSOCIATED FOR THE SUPPORT OF ORGANIZATIONS IN THE NUS SYSTEM, AND TO MANAGE PHILANTHROPIC ASSETS. |
Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (6 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| FORM 990, PART III, LINE 3 | ON FEBRUARY 28, 2023 SYSTEMS MANAGEMENT GROUP (SMG) DISCONTINUED PROVIDING MANAGEMENT SUPPORT TO NUS AND TRANSFERED ITS NET ASSETS TO NATIONAL UNIVERSITY (SEE SCH N). IN AUGUST 2023, SMG CHANGED ITS NAME TO NATIONAL UNIVERSITY FOUNDATION (NUF). NUF IS IN THE PROCESS OF OBTAINING APPROVAL AS A 509(A)(3), TYPE I SUPPORTING ORGANIZATION, IN WHICH IT WILL PROVIDE FINANCIAL SUPPORT TO NUS THROUGH OBTAINING GRANTS AND DONATIONS COMMENCING IN 2024. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11B | THE DRAFT FORM 990 WAS DISTRIBUTED TO SENIOR MANAGEMENT AND THE AUDIT COMMITTEE. THE FINAL VERSION OF FORM 990 WAS DISTRIBUTED FOR REVIEW BEFORE FILING TO THE TRUSTEES BY EMAIL. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12C | THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES HAS ANUALLY REVIEWED AND APPROVED (BY A MAJORITY OF DISINTERESTED TRUSTEES) THE BUSINESS TRANSACTIONS WITH TRUSTEES OR THEIR AFFILIATED PROFESSIONAL SERVICE FIRMS. SUCH REVIEWS INCLUDE CONSIDERATION OF DATA ON COMPARABLE SERVICE PROVIDERS COLLECTED BY UNIVERSITY COUNSEL. THE INTERESTED TRUSTEES WERE EXCUSED FROM BOARD SESSIONS DURING WHICH THOSE BUSINESS TRANSACTIONS WERE DISCUSSED AND DID NOT PARTICIPATE IN VOTING ON SUCH TRANSACTIONS. QUESTIONNAIRES ARE DISTRIBUTED EVERY JANUARY. COMPLIANCE WITH THE CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY IS MONITORED BY UNIVERSITY COUNSEL AND WAS REVIEWED BY THE BOARD DURING THE YEAR ENDED JUNE 30, 2023. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15 | COMPENSATION OF THE PRESIDENT OF THE UNIVERSITY IS REVIEWED BY THE BOARD AT THE TIME OF HIRING AND AS NECESSARY THEREAFTER. COMPENSATION OF OTHER OFFICERS AND KEY EMPLOYEES IS REVIEWED BY THE HUMAN CAPITAL AND COMPENSATION COMMITEE. COMPENSATION IS DETERMINED WITH REGARD TO COMPENSATION PAID TO SENIOR EXECUTIVES OF COMPARABLE NON-PROFIT AND PROPRIETARY INSTITUTIONS IN EDUCATION AND OTHER FIELDS. THE PROCESS IS DOCUMENTED AND WAS LAST COMPLETED IN JUNE 2023. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19 | THE ORGANIZATION'S GOVERNING DOCUMENTS, CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY, AND FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE AVAILABLE UPON REQUEST. |
| FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9: | TRANSFER OF NET ASSETS TO NATIONAL UNIVERSITY 120,760,000. IMPAIRMENT LOSS -43,016,596. FINANCIAL STATEMENT ROUNDING -189. |
Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR
Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp (8 entries)
| Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1Txt | CityUSAddress/CityNm | State AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCd | ZIPUSAddress/ZIPCd | EINEIN | Primary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxt | Legal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCd | Exempt Code SectionExemptCodeSectionTxt | Public Charity StatusPublicCharityStatusTxt | Direct Controlling NADirectControllingNACd | Controlled OrganizationControlledOrganizationInd |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| NATIONAL UNIVERSITY | ||||||||||
| 9388 LIGHTWAVE AVENUE | SAN DIEGO | CA | 92123 | 237172306 | EDUCATIONAL INSTITUTION | CA | 501(C)(3) | LINE 2 | N/A | Yes (1) |
| NATIONAL UNIVERSITY VIRTUAL HIGH SCHOOL | ||||||||||
| 9388 LIGHTWAVE AVENUE | SAN DIEGO | CA | 92123 | 562438569 | EDUCATIONAL INSTITUTION | CA | 501(C)(3) | LINE 10 | N/A | Yes (1) |
| NORTHCENTRAL UNIVERSITY | ||||||||||
| 9388 LIGHTWAVE AVENUE | SAN DIEGO | CA | 92123 | 900171867 | EDUCATIONAL INSTITUTION | CA | 501(C)(3) | LINE 10 | N/A | Yes (1) |
| JOHN F KENNEDY UNIVERSITY | ||||||||||
| 9388 LIGHTWAVE AVENUE | SAN DIEGO | CA | 92123 | 941610694 | EDUCATIONAL INSTITUTION | CA | 501(C)(3) | LINE 2 | N/A | Yes (1) |
| NATIONAL UNIVERSITY ACADEMY | ||||||||||
| 9388 LIGHTWAVE AVENUE | SAN DIEGO | CA | 92123 | 352358696 | EDUCATIONAL INSTITUTION | CA | 501(C)(3) | LINE 2 | N/A | Yes (1) |
| SPECTRUM PACIFIC LEARNING INC | ||||||||||
| 9388 LIGHTWAVE AVENUE | SAN DIEGO | CA | 92123 | 453996682 | INACTIVE | CA | 501(C)(3) | LINE 10 | N/A | Yes (1) |
| NATIONAL UNIVERSITY INTERNATIONAL INC | ||||||||||
| 9388 LIGHTWAVE AVENUE | SAN DIEGO | CA | 92123 | 453997908 | INACTIVE | CA | 501(C)(3) | LINE 2 | N/A | Yes (1) |
| CITY UNIVERSITY OF SEATTLE | ||||||||||
| 521 WALL STREET | SEATTLE | WA | 98121 | 237421224 | EDUCATIONAL INSTITUTION | WA | 501(C)(3) | LINE 2 | N/A | Yes (1) |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts Rylts | 0 | ReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd |
| Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth Org | Yes (1) | GiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd |
| Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth Org | Yes (1) | GiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd |
| Loans Or Guarantees To Other Org | Yes (1) | LoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd |
| Loans Or Guarantees From Oth Org | Yes (1) | LoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd |
| Div Related Organization | 0 | DivRelatedOrganizationInd |
| Asset Sale To Other Org | 0 | AssetSaleToOtherOrgInd |
| Asset Purchase From Other Org | 0 | AssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd |
| Asset Exchange | Yes (1) | AssetExchangeInd |
| Rental Of Facilities To Oth Org | 0 | RentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd |
| Rental Of Fclts From Oth Org | 0 | RentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd |
| Perform Of Services For Oth Org | Yes (1) | PerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd |
| Perform Of Services By Other Org | 0 | PerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd |
| Sharing Of Facilities | Yes (1) | SharingOfFacilitiesInd |
| Paid Employees Sharing | Yes (1) | PaidEmployeesSharingInd |
| Reimbursement Paid To Other Org | Yes (1) | ReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd |
| Reimbursement Paid By Other Org | Yes (1) | ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd |
| Transfer To Other Org | Yes (1) | TransferToOtherOrgInd |
| Transfer From Other Org | Yes (1) | TransferFromOtherOrgInd |
Transactions Related Org TransactionsRelatedOrgGrp (9 entries)
| Transaction TypeTransactionTypeTxt | InvolvedInvolvedAmt | Method Of Amount DeterminationMethodOfAmountDeterminationTxt |
|---|---|---|
| CITY UNIVERSITY OF SEATTLE | ||
| L | $1,369,984 | BOOK VALUE |
| CITY UNIVERSITY OF SEATTLE | ||
| D | $1,439,000 | BOOK VALUE |
| NATIONAL UNIVERSITY | ||
| E | $3,108,000 | BOOK VALUE |
| NATIONAL UNIVERSITY | ||
| P | $34,966,000 | BOOK VALUE |
| NATIONAL UNIVERSITY | ||
| C | $21,012,495 | CASH |
| NATIONAL UNIVERSITY | ||
| L | $60,586,000 | BOOK VALUE |
| NATIONAL UNIVERSITY | ||
| R | $1,200,000 | BOOK VALUE |
| NORTHCENTRAL UNIVERSITY | ||
| L | $19,459,000 | BOOK VALUE |
| NORTHCENTRAL UNIVERSITY | ||
| D | $1,143,998 | BOOK VALUE |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form And Line Reference | SCHEDULE R, RELATED ORGANIZATIONS: | FormAndLineReferenceDesc |
| Explanation | NATIONAL UNIVERSITY SYSTEM THE NUS IS AN ALLIANCE OF EDUCATIONAL INSTITUTIONS, SERVING DIVERSE LEARNERS FROM HIGH SCHOOL TO DOCTORAL PROGRAMS. THE NUS INCLUDES 6 INDEPENDENT NON-PROFIT ORGANIZATIONS EXEMPT UNDER IRC SECTION 501(C)(3): NATIONAL UNIVERSITY, NATIONAL UNIVERSITY VIRTUAL HIGH SCHOOL (WHICH CEASED OPERATIONS IN JUNE 2022), NORTHCENTRAL UNIVERSITY (WHICH MERGED INTO NATIONAL UNIVERSITY 10.31.22), JOHN F. KENNEDY UNIVERSITY (WHICH CEASED OPERATIONS IN DECEMBER 2020), CITY UNIVERSITY OF SEATTLE, AND SYSTEM MANAGEMENT GROUP (SMG). SMG IS A SUPPORTING ORGANIZATION EXEMPT UNDER IRC SECTION 509(A)(3) WHICH PROVIDES SUPPORT AND SERVICES TO ITS TAX-EXEMPT AFFILIATES IN THE NUS THROUGH FEBRUARY 28, 2023 WHEN OPERATIONS WERE DISCONTINUED. SMG CHANGED ITS NAME TO NATIONAL UNIVERSITY FOUNDATION IN AUGUST 2023 AND WILL COMMENCE FUNDRAISING ACTIVITIES IN 2024. SPECTRUM PACIFIC LEARNING COMPANY LLC AND NATIONAL UNIVERSITY INTERNATIONAL LLC ARE WHOLLY-OWNED BY NATIONAL UNIVERSITY, AND ARE TREATED AS DISREGARDED ENTITIES FOR TAX PURPOSES. THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF EACH NUS AFFILIATE GOVERNS EACH AFFILIATE INDEPENDENTLY. THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES HAS NO AUTHORITY TO REMOVE, REPLACE OR APPOINT A MAJORITY OF THE GOVERNING BODY OF THOSE OTHER AFFILIATES. THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF EACH AFFILIATE, ACTING IN ITS INDEPENDENT CAPACITY, PERIODICALLY APPOINTS ITS OWN NEW TRUSTEES. THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES HAS A MAJORITY OVERLAPPING COMPOSITION BETWEEN EACH AFFILIATE OF THE NUS. | ExplanationTxt |