CORIELL INSTITUTE FOR MEDICAL RESEARCH INC: Form 990, tax year 2022
View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗
- Organization
- CORIELL INSTITUTE FOR MEDICAL RESEARCH INC (EIN 21-0672684)
- Tax period
- 2022-07-01 to 2023-06-30
- Filed
- 2024-05-15
- IRS object ID
- 202411369349307836
- Schema version
- 2022v5.0
- Source
- Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica
Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.
Return header ReturnHeader
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return | 2024-05-15T12:15:45-05:00 | ReturnTs |
| Tax Period End | 2023-06-30 | TaxPeriodEndDt |
Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Firm EIN | 390859910 | PreparerFirmEIN |
Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | BAKER TILLY US LLP | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 1570 FRUITVILLE PIKE SUITE 400 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | LANCASTER | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | PA | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 17601 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return Type | 990 | ReturnTypeCd |
| Tax Period Begin | 2022-07-01 | TaxPeriodBeginDt |
Filer Filer
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EIN | 210672684 | EIN |
Business Name BusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | CORIELL INSTITUTE FOR MEDICAL | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Business Name Line2 | RESEARCH INC | BusinessNameLine2Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Control | CORI | BusinessNameControlTxt |
| Phone | 8567574828 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 403 HADDON AVENUE | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | CAMDEN | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | NJ | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 08103 | ZIPCd |
Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person | DENISE L BUSCHER | PersonNm |
| Person Title | CFO | PersonTitleTxt |
| Phone | 8567574828 | PhoneNum |
| Signature | 2024-05-14 | SignatureDt |
| Discuss With Paid Preparer | Yes (1) | DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd |
Signing Officer SigningOfficerGrp
Person Full Name PersonFullName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person First | DENISE | PersonFirstNm |
| Person Last | BUSCHER | PersonLastNm |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| SSN | 999009999 | SSN |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| IRS Responsible Prty Info Curr | 0 | IRSResponsiblePrtyInfoCurrInd |
| Form8822 B Attached | Yes (X) | Form8822BAttachedInd |
Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Person | KERRI N BOGDA CPA | PreparerPersonNm |
| PTIN | P00760402 | PTIN |
| Phone | 7177404863 | PhoneNum |
| Preparation | 2024-05-08 | PreparationDt |
Additional Filer Information AdditionalFilerInformation
Trusted Customer TrustedCustomerGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Trusted Customer | 2 | TrustedCustomerCd |
| Authentication Assurance Level | AAL1 | AuthenticationAssuranceLevelCd |
| Identity Assurance Level | IAL1 | IdentityAssuranceLevelCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Tax | 2022 | TaxYr |
| Build TS | 2023-04-26 12:10:37Z | BuildTS |
Form 990 IRS990
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Principal Officer | DR JEAN-PIERRE ISSA | PrincipalOfficerNm |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 403 HADDON AVENUE | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | CAMDEN | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | NJ | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 08103 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Gross Receipts | $23,930,016 | GrossReceiptsAmt |
| Group Return For Affiliates | 0 | GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd |
| Organization501c3 | Yes (X) | Organization501c3Ind |
| Website Address | WWW.CORIELL.ORG | WebsiteAddressTxt |
| Type Of Organization Corp | Yes (X) | TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd |
| Formation | 1953 | FormationYr |
| Legal Domicile State | NJ | LegalDomicileStateCd |
| Activity Or Mission | GENERATE WORLD CLASS BIOMATERIALS AND CONDUCT GROUNDBREAKING RESEARCH. | ActivityOrMissionDesc |
| Voting Members Governing Body | 17 | VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt |
| Voting Members Independent | 16 | VotingMembersIndependentCnt |
| Total Employee | 126 | TotalEmployeeCnt |
| Total Volunteers | 16 | TotalVolunteersCnt |
| Total Gross UBI | $0 | TotalGrossUBIAmt |
| Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm | $0 | NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt |
| PY Contributions Grants | $3,217,491 | PYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| CY Contributions Grants | $2,510,168 | CYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| PY Program Service Revenue | $19,900,725 | PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| CY Program Service Revenue | $20,786,182 | CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| PY Investment Income | $84,691 | PYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| CY Investment Income | $104,954 | CYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| PY Other Revenue | $77,704 | PYOtherRevenueAmt |
| CY Other Revenue | $11,087 | CYOtherRevenueAmt |
| PY Total Revenue | $23,280,611 | PYTotalRevenueAmt |
| CY Total Revenue | $23,412,391 | CYTotalRevenueAmt |
| PY Grants And Similar Paid | $0 | PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| CY Grants And Similar Paid | $0 | CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| PY Benefits Paid To Members | $0 | PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| CY Benefits Paid To Members | $0 | CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $9,568,552 | PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $11,030,292 | CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Fundraising Expense | $89,683 | CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt |
| PY Other Expenses | $10,744,099 | PYOtherExpensesAmt |
| CY Other Expenses | $11,266,445 | CYOtherExpensesAmt |
| PY Total Expenses | $20,312,651 | PYTotalExpensesAmt |
| CY Total Expenses | $22,296,737 | CYTotalExpensesAmt |
| PY Revenues Less Expenses | $2,967,960 | PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| CY Revenues Less Expenses | $1,115,654 | CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| Total Assets BOY | $27,584,123 | TotalAssetsBOYAmt |
| Total Assets EOY | $29,676,741 | TotalAssetsEOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities BOY | $5,957,255 | TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities EOY | $6,863,084 | TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY | $21,626,868 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY | $22,813,657 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt |
| Mission | CORIELL'S MISSION IS TO ACCELERATE SCIENTIFIC DISCOVERY BY GENERATING, BANKING, STORING AND DISTRIBUTING WORLD-CLASS BIOMATERIALS, AND CONDUCTING GROUNDBREAKING RESEARCH IN GENETICS AND EPIGENETICS. | MissionDesc |
| Significant New Program Srvc | 0 | SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd |
| Significant Change | 0 | SignificantChangeInd |
| Expense | $16,810,424 | ExpenseAmt |
| Grant | $0 | GrantAmt |
| Revenue | $20,786,182 | RevenueAmt |
| Desc | THE CORIELL INSTITUTE FOR MEDICAL RESEARCH IS A GLOBALLY RECOGNIZED LEADER IN BIOBANKING AND BIOMEDICAL RESEARCH. CORIELL IS HOME TO ONE OF THE WORLD'S MOST IMPORTANT BIOBANKS WHICH DISTRIBUTES BIOLOGICAL SAMPLES AND OFFERS RESEARCH AND BIOBANKING SERVICES TO SCIENTISTS AROUND THE WORLD. CORIELL IS THE TRUSTED STEWARD OF WORLD-RENOWNED COLLECTIONS FOR THE NATIONAL INSTITUTES OF HEALTH, DISEASE FOUNDATIONS AND COMMERCIAL CLIENTS. IN ADDITION, AS A LEADER IN GENOMIC AND EPIGENOMIC RESEARCH, CORIELL IS UNCOVERING WAYS OR GENETIC MAKEUP AFFECTS OUR HEALTH, ESPECIALLY IN REGARD TO CANCER AND AGING. | Desc |
| Total Program Service Expenses | $16,810,424 | TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt |
| Described In Section501c3 | Yes (1) | DescribedInSection501c3Ind |
| Schedule B Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleBRequiredInd |
| Political Campaign Acty | 0 | PoliticalCampaignActyInd |
| Lobbying Activities | Yes (1) | LobbyingActivitiesInd |
| Subject To Proxy Tax | 0 | SubjectToProxyTaxInd |
| Donor Advised Fund | 0 | DonorAdvisedFundInd |
| Conservation Easements | 0 | ConservationEasementsInd |
| Collections Of Art | 0 | CollectionsOfArtInd |
| Credit Counseling | 0 | CreditCounselingInd |
| Donor Rstr Or Quasi Endowments | Yes (1) | DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd |
| Report Land Building Equipment | Yes (1) | ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd |
| Report Investments Other Sec | 0 | ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd |
| Report Program Related Invst | 0 | ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd |
| Report Other Assets | Yes (1) | ReportOtherAssetsInd |
| Report Other Liabilities | Yes (1) | ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd |
| Include FIN48 Footnote | Yes (1) | IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd |
| Independent Audit Fincl Stmt | Yes (1) | IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd |
| Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt | 0 | ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd |
| School Operating | 0 | SchoolOperatingInd |
| Foreign Office | 0 | ForeignOfficeInd |
| Foreign Activities | 0 | ForeignActivitiesInd |
| More Than5000 K To Org | 0 | MoreThan5000KToOrgInd |
| More Than5000 K To Individuals | 0 | MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd |
| Professional Fundraising | 0 | ProfessionalFundraisingInd |
| Fundraising Activities | 0 | FundraisingActivitiesInd |
| Gaming Activities | 0 | GamingActivitiesInd |
| Operate Hospital | 0 | OperateHospitalInd |
| Grants To Organizations | 0 | GrantsToOrganizationsInd |
| Grants To Individuals | 0 | GrantsToIndividualsInd |
| Schedule J Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleJRequiredInd |
| Tax Exempt Bonds | 0 | TaxExemptBondsInd |
| Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans | 0 | EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd |
| PY Excess Benefit Trans | 0 | PYExcessBenefitTransInd |
| Loan Outstanding | 0 | LoanOutstandingInd |
| Grant To Related Person | 0 | GrantToRelatedPersonInd |
| Business Rln With Org Mem | 0 | BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd |
| Business Rln With Fam Mem | 0 | BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd |
| Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent | 0 | BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd |
| Deductible Non Cash Contri | 0 | DeductibleNonCashContriInd |
| Deductible Art Contribution | 0 | DeductibleArtContributionInd |
| Terminate Operations | 0 | TerminateOperationsInd |
| Partial Liquidation | 0 | PartialLiquidationInd |
| Disregarded Entity | 0 | DisregardedEntityInd |
| Related Entity | Yes (1) | RelatedEntityInd |
| Related Organization Ctrl Ent | 0 | RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd |
| Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org | 0 | TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd |
| Activities Conducted Prtshp | 0 | ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd |
| Schedule O Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleORequiredInd |
| IRP Document | 38 | IRPDocumentCnt |
| IRP Document W2 G | 0 | IRPDocumentW2GCnt |
| Employee | 126 | EmployeeCnt |
| Employment Tax Returns Filed | Yes (1) | EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd |
| Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit | 0 | UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd |
| Foreign Financial Account | 0 | ForeignFinancialAccountInd |
| Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans | 0 | ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd |
| Taxable Party Notification | 0 | TaxablePartyNotificationInd |
| Nondeductible Contributions | 0 | NondeductibleContributionsInd |
| Quid Pro Quo Contributions | 0 | QuidProQuoContributionsInd |
| Form8282 Property Disposed Of | 0 | Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd |
| Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct | 0 | RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd |
| Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct | 0 | PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd |
| Indoor Tanning Services | 0 | IndoorTanningServicesInd |
| Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt | 0 | SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd |
| Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc | 0 | SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd |
| Info In Schedule O Part VI | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd |
| Governing Body Voting Members | 17 | GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt |
| Independent Voting Member | 16 | IndependentVotingMemberCnt |
| Family Or Business Rln | 0 | FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd |
| Delegation Of Mgmt Duties | 0 | DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd |
| Change To Org Documents | 0 | ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd |
| Material Diversion Or Misuse | 0 | MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd |
| Members Or Stockholders | 0 | MembersOrStockholdersInd |
| Election Of Board Members | 0 | ElectionOfBoardMembersInd |
| Decisions Subject To Approva | 0 | DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd |
| Minutes Of Governing Body | Yes (1) | MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd |
| Minutes Of Committees | Yes (1) | MinutesOfCommitteesInd |
| Officer Mailing Address | 0 | OfficerMailingAddressInd |
| Local Chapters | 0 | LocalChaptersInd |
| Form990 Provided To Gvrn Body | Yes (1) | Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd |
| Conflict Of Interest Policy | Yes (1) | ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd |
| Annual Disclosure Covered Prsn | Yes (1) | AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd |
| Regular Monitoring Enfrc | Yes (1) | RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd |
| Whistleblower Policy | Yes (1) | WhistleblowerPolicyInd |
| Document Retention Policy | Yes (1) | DocumentRetentionPolicyInd |
| Compensation Process CEO | Yes (1) | CompensationProcessCEOInd |
| Compensation Process Other | Yes (1) | CompensationProcessOtherInd |
| Investment In Joint Venture | Yes (1) | InvestmentInJointVentureInd |
| Written Policy Or Procedure | Yes (1) | WrittenPolicyOrProcedureInd |
| States Where Copy Of Return Is Fld | NJ | StatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd |
| States Where Copy Of Return Is Fld | PA | StatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd |
| States Where Copy Of Return Is Fld | NY | StatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd |
| States Where Copy Of Return Is Fld | CA | StatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd |
| Upon Request | Yes (X) | UponRequestInd |
Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person | HEATHER WHITE CONTROLLER | PersonNm |
| Phone | 8567579738 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 403 HADDON AVENUE | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | CAMDEN | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | NJ | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 08103 | ZIPCd |
Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (27 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Average Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRt | Individual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorInd | OfficerOfficerInd | Reportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmt | Reportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmt | Other CompensationOtherCompensationAmt | Key EmployeeKeyEmployeeInd | Highest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| DR JEAN-PIERRE ISSA | ||||||||
| PRESIDENT/CEO | 40.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $663,507 | $0 | $38,363 | ||
| ROBERT KIEP III | ||||||||
| CHAIR | 1.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| MARC MASER ESQ | ||||||||
| VICE CHAIR | 1.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| ARNAUD BASTIEN MD | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| PETER DRISCOLL ESQ | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| CHRISTOPHER GIBSON | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| FRANK GIORDANO | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| GENEROSA GRANA | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| MATTHEW HEWITT | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| GEORGE NORCROSS | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| JOHN PICCONE | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| ANNETTE REBOLI | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| KENNETH SOMBERG | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| ROLAND SCHWARTING | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| ANTONIO TILLIS | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| EDWARD VINER MD | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| MIRUNA SASU | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| DANA REDD | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE (UNTIL 12/22) | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| CONSTANTINE DEAN STOIOS | ||||||||
| CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER/TREASURER | 40.00 | Yes (X) | $267,037 | $0 | $35,087 | |||
| NAHID TURAN | ||||||||
| CHIEF BIOBANKING OFFICER | 40.00 | Yes (X) | $192,635 | $0 | $32,028 | |||
| JAROLAV JELINEK | ||||||||
| CHIEF SCIENTIFIC OFFICER | 40.00 | $189,939 | $0 | $22,126 | Yes (X) | |||
| LEO JOSE | ||||||||
| CHIEF INFORMATION OFFICER | 40.00 | $204,614 | $0 | $16,035 | Yes (X) | |||
| COURTNEY DIRKS | ||||||||
| SR DIRECTOR, PUBLIC RELATIONS | 40.00 | $170,577 | $0 | $32,953 | Yes (X) | |||
| DENISE BUSCHER | ||||||||
| CONTROLLER | 40.00 | $147,961 | $0 | $12,779 | Yes (X) | |||
| ARTHUR TELEFEIAN | ||||||||
| DIR., SALES | 40.00 | $136,397 | $0 | $28,247 | Yes (X) | |||
| RYAN CUNNINGHAM | ||||||||
| ASSOCIATE DIRECTOR | 40.00 | $134,498 | $0 | $24,641 | Yes (X) | |||
| RUTHSABEL O'LEXY | ||||||||
| DIR., RESEARCH OFFICE | 40.00 | $134,055 | $0 | $10,635 | Yes (X) | |||
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Reportable Comp From Org | $2,241,220 | TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt |
| Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org | $0 | TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt |
| Total Other Compensation | $252,894 | TotalOtherCompensationAmt |
| Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 23 | IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
| Former Ofcr Employees Listed | 0 | FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd |
| Total Comp Greater Than150 K | Yes (1) | TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd |
| Compensation From Other Srcs | 0 | CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd |
Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)
| Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1Txt | CityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNm | State AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCd | ZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCd | ServicesServicesDesc | CompensationCompensationAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| VAN ANDEL INSTITUTE | |||||
| 333 BOSTWICK AVENUE NE | GRAND RAPIDS | MI | 49503 | NCI P50 SUBAWARD - RESEARCH/LAB WORK | $427,500 |
| JOHNS HOPKINS UNIVERSITY | |||||
| 3400 N CHARLES STREET | BALTIMORE | MD | 21218 | NCI P50 SUBAWARD - RESEARCH/LAB WORK | $285,567 |
| UNIVERSITY OF FLORIDA | |||||
| 307 GRINTER HALL PO BOX 115500 | GAINESVILLE | FL | 32611 | NIH R01 SUBAWARD - RESEARCH/LAB WORK | $245,604 |
| UNIVERSITY OF MD BALTIMORE | |||||
| 620 W LEXINGTON STREET | BALTIMORE | MD | 21201 | NCI P50 SUBAWARD - RESEARCH/LAB WORK | $244,016 |
| HACKENSACK MERIDIAN HEALTH | |||||
| 343 THORNALL STREET | EDISON | NJ | 08854 | NCI P50 SUBAWARD - RESEARCH/LAB WORK | $146,939 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 11 | CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
| Federated Campaigns | $547 | FederatedCampaignsAmt |
| Government Grants | $2,000,000 | GovernmentGrantsAmt |
| All Other Contributions | $509,621 | AllOtherContributionsAmt |
| Total Contributions | $2,510,168 | TotalContributionsAmt |
Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (3 entries)
| DescDesc | BusinessBusinessCd | Total Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmt | Related Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
|---|---|---|---|
| GOVT FEES & CONTRACTS | 621500 | $17,605,087 | $17,605,087 |
| NON-GOVERNMENT REPOSITORY SERVICE | 621500 | $3,109,818 | $3,109,818 |
| INVESTIGATOR DIRECTED SCIENCE | 621500 | $71,277 | $71,277 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Program Service Revenue | $20,786,182 | TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $92,716 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $92,716 | ExclusionAmt |
Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | $529,863 | SecuritiesAmt |
Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | $517,625 | SecuritiesAmt |
Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | $12,238 | SecuritiesAmt |
Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $12,238 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $12,238 | ExclusionAmt |
Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Desc | MISCELLANEOUS INCOME | Desc |
| Business | 900099 | BusinessCd |
| Total Revenue Column | $11,087 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $11,087 | ExclusionAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Revenue Total | $11,087 | OtherRevenueTotalAmt |
Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $23,412,391 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $20,786,182 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
| Unrelated Business Revenue | $0 | UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt |
| Exclusion | $116,041 | ExclusionAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Info In Schedule O Part IX | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartIXInd |
Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,659,995 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $1,659,995 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $6,707,074 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $5,869,679 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $837,395 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $474,136 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $398,829 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $75,307 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,590,538 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $1,500,831 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $89,707 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $598,549 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $441,470 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $157,079 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $120,068 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $120,068 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $151,164 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $151,164 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Fees For Services Lobbying FeesForServicesLobbyingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $67,400 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $67,400 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $2,931,779 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $2,306,109 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $535,987 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $89,683 | FundraisingAmt |
Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $639,338 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $615,201 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $24,137 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Occupancy OccupancyGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $4,027,489 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $2,806,898 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $1,220,591 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $220,521 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $59,776 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $160,745 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,249,695 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $953,632 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $296,063 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (2 entries)
| DescDesc | TotalTotalAmt | Program ServicesProgramServicesAmt | Management And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmt |
|---|---|---|---|
| LAB SUPPLIES | $1,858,698 | $1,857,706 | $992 |
| GENOTYPING SUPPLIES | $293 | $293 |
Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $22,296,737 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $16,810,424 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $5,396,630 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $89,683 | FundraisingAmt |
Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $1,200 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $1,200 | EOYAmt |
Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $1,280,831 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $202,792 | EOYAmt |
Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $4,003,360 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $3,045,757 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $762,814 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $1,785,356 | EOYAmt |
Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $98,066 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $120,095 | EOYAmt |
Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $330,690 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $314,083 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss | $37,403,184 | LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt |
| Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec | $27,804,497 | LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt |
Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $6,207,343 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $9,598,687 | EOYAmt |
Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $3,387,809 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $3,197,156 | EOYAmt |
Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $300,000 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $300,000 | EOYAmt |
Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $11,212,010 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $11,111,615 | EOYAmt |
Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $27,584,123 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $29,676,741 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $1,168,678 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $2,138,788 | EOYAmt |
Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $102,518 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $38,237 | EOYAmt |
Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $4,675,500 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $4,675,500 | EOYAmt |
Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $10,559 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $10,559 | EOYAmt |
Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $5,957,255 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $6,863,084 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Organization Follows FASB117 | Yes (X) | OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind |
No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $12,768,886 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $14,191,772 | EOYAmt |
Donor Restriction Net Assets DonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $8,857,982 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $8,621,885 | EOYAmt |
Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $21,626,868 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $22,813,657 | EOYAmt |
Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $27,584,123 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $29,676,741 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Info In Schedule O Part XI | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd |
| Reconcilation Revenue Expnss | $1,115,654 | ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt |
| Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst | $204,393 | NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt |
| Other Changes In Net Assets | -$133,258 | OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt |
| Method Of Accounting Accrual | Yes (X) | MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd |
| Accountant Compile Or Review | 0 | AccountantCompileOrReviewInd |
| FS Audited | Yes (1) | FSAuditedInd |
FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Separate Basis Fincl Stmt | Yes (X) | SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Audit Committee | Yes (1) | AuditCommitteeInd |
| Federal Grant Audit Required | 0 | FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd |
Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Public Organization170 | Yes (X) | PublicOrganization170Ind |
Gifts Grants Contri Rcvd170 GiftsGrantsContriRcvd170Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Current Tax Year Minus4 Years | $1,275,612 | CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus3 Years | $1,005,217 | CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus2 Years | $1,087,567 | CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus1 Year | $3,217,491 | CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt |
| Current Tax Year | $2,510,168 | CurrentTaxYearAmt |
| Total | $9,096,055 | TotalAmt |
Total Calendar Year170 TotalCalendarYear170Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Current Tax Year Minus4 Years | $1,275,612 | CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus3 Years | $1,005,217 | CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus2 Years | $1,087,567 | CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus1 Year | $3,217,491 | CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt |
| Current Tax Year | $2,510,168 | CurrentTaxYearAmt |
| Total | $9,096,055 | TotalAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Substantial Contributors Tot | $272,800 | SubstantialContributorsTotAmt |
| Public Support Total170 | $8,823,255 | PublicSupportTotal170Amt |
Gross Investment Income170 GrossInvestmentIncome170Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Current Tax Year Minus4 Years | $84,624 | CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus3 Years | $67,021 | CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus2 Years | $62,800 | CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus1 Year | $83,936 | CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt |
| Current Tax Year | $92,716 | CurrentTaxYearAmt |
| Total | $391,097 | TotalAmt |
Other Income170 OtherIncome170Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Current Tax Year Minus4 Years | $20,102 | CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus3 Years | $918 | CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus2 Years | $532,774 | CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus1 Year | $77,704 | CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt |
| Current Tax Year | $11,087 | CurrentTaxYearAmt |
| Total | $642,585 | TotalAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Support | $10,129,737 | TotalSupportAmt |
| Gross Receipts Rltd Activities | $86,023,258 | GrossReceiptsRltdActivitiesAmt |
| Public Support CY170 | 0.87100 | PublicSupportCY170Pct |
| Public Support PY170 | 0.79510 | PublicSupportPY170Pct |
| Thirty Thr Pct Suprt Tests CY170 | Yes (X) | ThirtyThrPctSuprtTestsCY170Ind |
Form990 Schedule A Part VI Form990ScheduleAPartVIGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form And Line Reference | SCHEDULE A, PART II, LINE 10, EXPLANATION OF OTHER INCOME: | FormAndLineReferenceDesc |
| Explanation | MISCELLANEOUS INCOME - 2019 AMOUNT: $ 918. 2020 AMOUNT: $ 532,774. 2021 AMOUNT: $ 77,704. 2022 AMOUNT: $ 11,087. LIFE INSURANCE PROCEEDS - 2018 AMOUNT: $ 20,102. | ExplanationTxt |
Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB
Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Contributor | RESTRICTED | ContributorNum |
Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | RESTRICTED | BusinessNameLine1 |
Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | RESTRICTED | AddressLine1 |
| Address Line2 | RESTRICTED | AddressLine2 |
| City | RESTRICTED | City |
| State | RESTRICTED | State |
| ZIP Code | RESTRICTED | ZIPCode |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Contributions | RESTRICTED | TotalContributionsAmt |
Schedule C IRS990ScheduleC
Total Direct Lobbying TotalDirectLobbyingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Filing Organizations Total | $67,400 | FilingOrganizationsTotalAmt |
Total Lobbying Expend TotalLobbyingExpendGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Filing Organizations Total | $67,400 | FilingOrganizationsTotalAmt |
Other Exempt Purpose Expend OtherExemptPurposeExpendGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Filing Organizations Total | $22,229,337 | FilingOrganizationsTotalAmt |
Total Exempt Purpose Expend TotalExemptPurposeExpendGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Filing Organizations Total | $22,296,737 | FilingOrganizationsTotalAmt |
Lobbying Nontaxable Amount LobbyingNontaxableAmountGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Filing Organizations Total | $1,000,000 | FilingOrganizationsTotalAmt |
Grassroots Nontaxable GrassrootsNontaxableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Filing Organizations Total | $250,000 | FilingOrganizationsTotalAmt |
Tot Lbbyng Grassroot Mns Non Tx TotLbbyngGrassrootMnsNonTxGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Filing Organizations Total | $0 | FilingOrganizationsTotalAmt |
Tot Lbby Expend Mns Lbbyng Non Tx TotLbbyExpendMnsLbbyngNonTxGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Filing Organizations Total | $0 | FilingOrganizationsTotalAmt |
Avg Lobbying Nontaxable Amount AvgLobbyingNontaxableAmountGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Current Year Minus3 | $1,000,000 | CurrentYearMinus3Amt |
| Current Year Minus2 | $1,000,000 | CurrentYearMinus2Amt |
| Current Year Minus1 | $1,000,000 | CurrentYearMinus1Amt |
| Current Year | $1,000,000 | CurrentYearAmt |
| Total | $4,000,000 | TotalAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Lobbying Ceiling | $6,000,000 | LobbyingCeilingAmt |
Avg Total Lobbying Expend AvgTotalLobbyingExpendGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Current Year Minus3 | $63,384 | CurrentYearMinus3Amt |
| Current Year Minus2 | $66,438 | CurrentYearMinus2Amt |
| Current Year Minus1 | $67,900 | CurrentYearMinus1Amt |
| Current Year | $67,400 | CurrentYearAmt |
| Total | $265,122 | TotalAmt |
Avg Grassroots Nontaxable AvgGrassrootsNontaxableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Current Year Minus3 | $250,000 | CurrentYearMinus3Amt |
| Current Year Minus2 | $250,000 | CurrentYearMinus2Amt |
| Current Year Minus1 | $250,000 | CurrentYearMinus1Amt |
| Current Year | $250,000 | CurrentYearAmt |
| Total | $1,000,000 | TotalAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Grassroots Ceiling | $1,500,000 | GrassrootsCeilingAmt |
Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD
CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Beginning Year Balance | $3,387,810 | BeginningYearBalanceAmt |
| Investment Earnings Or Losses | $309,347 | InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt |
| Other Expenditures | $500,000 | OtherExpendituresAmt |
| End Year Balance | $3,197,157 | EndYearBalanceAmt |
CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Beginning Year Balance | $3,188,112 | BeginningYearBalanceAmt |
| Contributions | $350,000 | ContributionsAmt |
| Investment Earnings Or Losses | -$150,302 | InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt |
| End Year Balance | $3,387,810 | EndYearBalanceAmt |
CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Beginning Year Balance | $1,837,972 | BeginningYearBalanceAmt |
| Contributions | $855,673 | ContributionsAmt |
| Investment Earnings Or Losses | $494,467 | InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt |
| End Year Balance | $3,188,112 | EndYearBalanceAmt |
CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Beginning Year Balance | $2,002,448 | BeginningYearBalanceAmt |
| Contributions | $3,148 | ContributionsAmt |
| Investment Earnings Or Losses | -$167,624 | InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt |
| End Year Balance | $1,837,972 | EndYearBalanceAmt |
CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Beginning Year Balance | $3,291,341 | BeginningYearBalanceAmt |
| Investment Earnings Or Losses | $61,107 | InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt |
| Other Expenditures | $1,350,000 | OtherExpendituresAmt |
| End Year Balance | $2,002,448 | EndYearBalanceAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Board Designated Balance EOY | 0.30000 | BoardDesignatedBalanceEOYPct |
| Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY | 0.26000 | PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct |
| Term Endowment Balance EOY | 0.44000 | TermEndowmentBalanceEOYPct |
| Endowments Held Unrelated Org | 0 | EndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd |
| Endowments Held Related Org | 0 | EndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd |
Land LandGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $245,000 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Book Value | $245,000 | BookValueAmt |
Buildings BuildingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $18,918,711 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $13,061,878 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $5,856,833 | BookValueAmt |
Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $1,725,594 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $1,634,213 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $91,381 | BookValueAmt |
Equipment EquipmentGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $16,513,879 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $13,108,406 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $3,405,473 | BookValueAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Book Value Land Buildings | $9,598,687 | TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt |
Other Assets Org OtherAssetsOrgGrp (6 entries)
| DescDesc | Book ValueBookValueAmt |
|---|---|
| NEW JERSEY CORD BLOOD BANK | $4,675,500 |
| USE OF RESEARCH FACILITY | $5,877,977 |
| SPLIT-INTEREST AGREEMENTS | $490,170 |
| OTHER MISCELLANEOUS ASSETS | $4,185 |
| OVER RECOVERY INDIRECT COSTS | $30,920 |
| PREPAID CAPITAL CONTRIBUTIONS | $32,863 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Book Value Other Assets | $11,111,615 | TotalBookValueOtherAssetsAmt |
Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (2 entries)
| DescDesc | AmtAmt |
|---|---|
| ADVANCES ON HAND | $10,127 |
| HOLDING ACCOUNTS | $432 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Liability | $10,559 | TotalLiabilityAmt |
| Footnote Text | Yes (X) | FootnoteTextInd |
| Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $24,135,801 | TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Net Unrealized Gains Invst | $204,393 | NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt |
| Donated Services And Use Fclts | $652,275 | DonatedServicesAndUseFcltsAmt |
| Other Revenue | -$133,258 | OtherRevenueAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported | $723,410 | RevenueNotReportedAmt |
| Revenue Subtotal | $23,412,391 | RevenueSubtotalAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt | $0 | RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Revenue Per Form990 | $23,412,391 | TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt |
| Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $22,949,012 | TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Donated Services Use Fclts | $652,275 | DonatedServicesUseFcltsAmt |
| Expenses Not Reported | $652,275 | ExpensesNotReportedAmt |
| Expenses Subtotal | $22,296,737 | ExpensesSubtotalAmt |
| Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt | $0 | ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Expenses Per Form990 | $22,296,737 | TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| PART V, LINE 4: | THE INSTITUTE'S ENDOWMENT FUNDS ARE USED TO SUPPORT THE SHORT AND LONG TERM GOALS OF THE INSTITUTE. THE INSTITUTE DREW $500,000 OF FUNDS FROM THE ENDOWMENT DURING THE YEAR ENDING JUNE 30, 2023. |
| PART X, LINE 2: | THE INSTITUTE ACCOUNTS FOR UNCERTAINTY IN INCOME TAXES USING A RECOGNITION THRESHOLD OF MORE LIKELY THAN NOT TO BE SUSTAINED UPON EXAMINATION BY THE APPROPRIATE TAXING AUTHORITY. MEASUREMENT OF THE TAX UNCERTAINTY OCCURS IF THE RECOGNITION THRESHOLD HAS BEEN MET. MANAGEMENT DETERMINED THAT THERE WERE NO TAX UNCERTAINTIES THAT MET THE RECOGNITION THRESHOLD IN 2023 AND 2022. |
Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Idemnification Gross Up Pmts | Yes (X) | IdemnificationGrossUpPmtsInd |
| Discretionary Spending Acct | Yes (X) | DiscretionarySpendingAcctInd |
| Written Policy Ref T And E Expnss | Yes (1) | WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd |
| Substantiation Required | Yes (1) | SubstantiationRequiredInd |
| Compensation Committee | Yes (X) | CompensationCommitteeInd |
| Form990 Of Other Organizations | Yes (X) | Form990OfOtherOrganizationsInd |
| Compensation Survey | Yes (X) | CompensationSurveyInd |
| Board Or Committee Approval | Yes (X) | BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd |
| Severance Payment | 0 | SeverancePaymentInd |
| Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan | 0 | SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd |
| Equity Based Comp Arrngm | 0 | EquityBasedCompArrngmInd |
| Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org | 0 | CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd |
| Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs | 0 | CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd |
| Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org | 0 | CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd |
| Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs | 0 | CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd |
| Any Non Fixed Payments | Yes (1) | AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd |
| Initial Contract Exception | 0 | InitialContractExceptionInd |
Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (9 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Base Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Compensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmt | Bonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmount | Bonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmt | Other Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Other Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmt | Deferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmt | Deferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmt | Nontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmt | Nontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmt | Total Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Total Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmt | Comp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmt | Comp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| DR JEAN-PIERRE ISSA | ||||||||||||||
| PRESIDENT/CEO | $526,443 | $0 | $135,000 | $0 | $2,064 | $0 | $21,350 | $0 | $17,013 | $0 | $701,870 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| CONSTANTINE DEAN STOIOS | ||||||||||||||
| CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER/TREASURER | $258,933 | $0 | $7,000 | $0 | $1,104 | $0 | $18,926 | $0 | $16,161 | $0 | $302,124 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| NAHID TURAN | ||||||||||||||
| CHIEF BIOBANKING OFFICER | $184,483 | $0 | $7,551 | $0 | $601 | $0 | $13,430 | $0 | $18,598 | $0 | $224,663 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| LEO JOSE | ||||||||||||||
| CHIEF INFORMATION OFFICER | $201,986 | $0 | $1,000 | $0 | $1,628 | $0 | $14,236 | $0 | $1,799 | $0 | $220,649 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| JAROLAV JELINEK | ||||||||||||||
| CHIEF SCIENTIFIC OFFICER | $182,591 | $0 | $4,000 | $0 | $3,348 | $0 | $13,064 | $0 | $9,062 | $0 | $212,065 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| COURTNEY DIRKS | ||||||||||||||
| SR DIRECTOR, PUBLIC RELATIONS | $157,177 | $0 | $13,056 | $0 | $344 | $0 | $11,811 | $0 | $21,142 | $0 | $203,530 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| ARTHUR TELEFEIAN | ||||||||||||||
| DIR., SALES | $134,607 | $0 | $583 | $0 | $1,207 | $0 | $9,947 | $0 | $18,300 | $0 | $164,644 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| DENISE BUSCHER | ||||||||||||||
| CONTROLLER | $145,019 | $0 | $2,235 | $0 | $707 | $0 | $10,085 | $0 | $2,694 | $0 | $160,740 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| RYAN CUNNINGHAM | ||||||||||||||
| ASSOCIATE DIRECTOR | $133,228 | $0 | $1,055 | $0 | $215 | $0 | $9,607 | $0 | $15,034 | $0 | $159,139 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| PART I, LINE 1A | RYAN CUNNINGHAM, RUTHSABEL O'LEXY AND COURTNEY DIRKS RECEIVED TAX GROSS-UP PAYMENTS RELATED TO SERVICE AWARDS AND BONUSES RECEIVED. ALL AMOUNTS ARE INCLUDED AS TAXABLE COMPENSATION. JAROSLAV JELINEK AND NAHID TURAN HAVE DISCRETIONARY SPENDING ACCOUNTS TO BE UTILIZED FOR BUSINESS PURPOSES ONLY AND FOLLOWING ALL NORMAL PURCHASING/TRAVEL POLICIES OF THE ORGANIZATION. THESE ACCOUNTS CANNOT BE USED FOR PERSONAL EXPENSES. |
| PART I, LINE 7 | THE COMPENSATION COMMITTEE DETERMINES BONUSES FOR OFFICERS AND KEY EMPLOYEES BASED UPON VARIOUS PERFORMANCE CRITERIA. PERFORMANCE CRITERIA ARE BASED ON VARIOUS OBJECTIVES, SOME OF WHICH ARE BASED ON BUSINESS/ FINANCIAL GOALS. OVERALL, THE PRIMARY OBJECTIVES ARE OPERATIONAL IN NATURE WITH CONSIDERATION GIVEN TO FINANCIAL OUTCOMES. |
Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (7 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 1A | THERE ARE 9 BOARD MEMBERS ON THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE. WITH THE EXCEPTION OF THE PRESIDENT AND CEO, THE OTHER BOARD MEMBERS OF THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE ARE NON-EMPLOYED VOLUNTARY BOARD MEMBERS. THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MAY ACT ON BEHALF OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES WHEN THE BOARD IS NOT IN SESSION. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11B | THE CFO PERFORMS AN INITIAL REVIEW OF THE FORM 990. AFTER INTERNAL REVIEW, THE CFO WILL PROVIDE THE DRAFT FORM 990 TO THE AUDIT COMMITTEE. FOLLOWING THE REVIEW BY THE AUDIT COMMITTEE THE FORM IS DISTRIBUTED TO ALL CORIELL TRUSTEES BEFORE FILING WITH THE IRS. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12C | THE CEO ANNUALLY DISTRIBUTES THE CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY AND DISCLOSURE STATEMENT TO EACH MEMBER OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES. EACH TRUSTEE MUST COMPLETE AND RETURN THE ANNUAL DISCLOSURE STATEMENT TO THE CEO ON A TIMELY BASIS. HE OR SHE MUST TIMELY INFORM THE CEO AND/OR THE COMMITTEE OF ANY POTENTIAL OR ACTUAL CONFLICT OF INTEREST OR OF ANY SITUATION WHICH MIGHT LEAD TO THE APPEARANCE OF A CONFLICT OF INTEREST. IN ADDITION, THE CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER (CFO) ANNUALLY DISTRIBUTES A COPY OF THE EMPLOYEE CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY AND DISCLOSURE STATEMENT TO EACH OFFICER, EXECUTIVE, AND APPROPRIATE EMPLOYEE. THESE EMPLOYEES ARE REQUIRED TO SUBMIT THE COMPLETED DISCLOSURE STATEMENT TO THE CFO AND DISCLOSE ANY POTENTIAL OR ACTUAL CONFLICT OF INTEREST. REPORTED CONFLICTS OF INTEREST ARE SHARED WITH THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE. ANY BOARD MEMBER WHO HAS A CONFLICT OF INTEREST IS EXCLUDED FROM VOTING ON ANY ISSUE INVOLVING THE CONFLICT OF INTEREST. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15 | USING COMPARABILITY DATA SOURCED FROM AN INDEPENDENT ORGANIZATION, A BOARD OF TRUSTEES' COMPENSATION COMMITTEE REVIEWS THE PERFORMANCE AND ESTABLISHES THE ANNUAL COMPENSATION FOR THE CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER. COMPENSATION DECISIONS ARE DETERMINED BY TAKING INTO CONSIDERATION THE FAIR MARKET RANGE FOR THE INDUSTRY. ALL COMMITTEE DISCUSSIONS ARE DOCUMENTED IN BOARD MINUTES. THE PRESIDENT DETERMINES THE COMPENSATION ANNUALLY FOR ALL OTHER EMPLOYEES, INCLUDING OFFICERS AND KEY EMPLOYEES, BASED ON PERFORMANCE APPRAISALS AND REVIEWS. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19 | THE ORGANIZATION MAKES ITS GOVERNING DOCUMENTS, CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY, AND FINANCIAL STATEMENTS AVAILABLE TO THE PUBLIC UPON REQUEST. |
| FORM 990, PART IX, LINE 11G | PROFESSIONAL SERVICES: PROGRAM SERVICE EXPENSES 2,244,242. MANAGEMENT AND GENERAL EXPENSES 324,090. FUNDRAISING EXPENSES 89,683. TOTAL EXPENSES 2,658,015. ADMINISTRATIVE COSTS: PROGRAM SERVICE EXPENSES 61,867. MANAGEMENT AND GENERAL EXPENSES 211,897. FUNDRAISING EXPENSES 0. TOTAL EXPENSES 273,764. |
| FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9: | CHANGE IN VALUE OF SPLIT-INTEREST AGREEMENTS 21,330. CHANGE IN VALUE OF FUTURE BUILDING OCCUPANCY -154,588. |
Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR
Id Related Org Txbl Corp Tr IdRelatedOrgTxblCorpTrGrp
Related Organization Name RelatedOrganizationName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | CORIELL LIFE SCIENCES | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 403 HADDON AVENUE | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | CAMDEN | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | NJ | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 08103 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EIN | 461794812 | EIN |
| Primary Activities | GENETIC DATA STORAGE AND INTERPRETATION | PrimaryActivitiesTxt |
| Legal Domicile State | DE | LegalDomicileStateCd |
| Direct Controlling NA | N/A | DirectControllingNACd |
| Entity Type | C | EntityTypeTxt |
| Share Of Total Income | -$999,671 | ShareOfTotalIncomeAmt |
| Share Of EOY Assets | $517,255 | ShareOfEOYAssetsAmt |
| Ownership | 0.39880 | OwnershipPct |
| Controlled Organization | 0 | ControlledOrganizationInd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts Rylts | 0 | ReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd |
| Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth Org | 0 | GiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd |
| Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth Org | 0 | GiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd |
| Loans Or Guarantees To Other Org | 0 | LoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd |
| Loans Or Guarantees From Oth Org | 0 | LoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd |
| Div Related Organization | 0 | DivRelatedOrganizationInd |
| Asset Sale To Other Org | 0 | AssetSaleToOtherOrgInd |
| Asset Purchase From Other Org | 0 | AssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd |
| Asset Exchange | 0 | AssetExchangeInd |
| Rental Of Facilities To Oth Org | 0 | RentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd |
| Rental Of Fclts From Oth Org | Yes (1) | RentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd |
| Perform Of Services For Oth Org | 0 | PerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd |
| Perform Of Services By Other Org | Yes (1) | PerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd |
| Sharing Of Facilities | Yes (1) | SharingOfFacilitiesInd |
| Paid Employees Sharing | Yes (1) | PaidEmployeesSharingInd |
| Reimbursement Paid To Other Org | 0 | ReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd |
| Reimbursement Paid By Other Org | Yes (1) | ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd |
| Transfer To Other Org | 0 | TransferToOtherOrgInd |
| Transfer From Other Org | 0 | TransferFromOtherOrgInd |