STRATEGY STUDIO / NONPROFIT PEOPLE SEARCH

ABBOTT LABORATORIES EMPLOYER CREDIT UNION: Form 990, tax year 2023

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
ABBOTT LABORATORIES EMPLOYER CREDIT UNION (EIN 36-3679911)
Tax period
2023-01-01 to 2023-12-31
Filed
2024-05-13
IRS object ID
202421349349303312
Schema version
2023v5.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2024-05-13T09:58:33-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2023-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN410746749PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1CLIFTONLARSONALLEN LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line120 EAST THOMAS ROAD SUITE 2300AddressLine1Txt
CityPHOENIXCityNm
State AbbreviationAZStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP85012ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2023-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN363679911EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1ABBOTT LABORATORIES EMPLOYEESBusinessNameLine1Txt
Business Name Line2CREDIT UNION (ALEC)BusinessNameLine2Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlABBOBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone8472499431PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1325 TRI-STATE PARKWAYAddressLine1Txt
CityGURNEECityNm
State AbbreviationILStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP60031ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonJOSEPH TROSCLAIRPersonNm
Person TitlePRESIDENTPersonTitleTxt
Phone8472499431PhoneNum
Signature2024-05-10SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Signing Officer SigningOfficerGrp

Person Full Name PersonFullName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Person FirstJOSEPHPersonFirstNm
Person LastTROSCLAIRPersonLastNm
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SSNXXX-XX-XXXXSSN
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
IRS Responsible Prty Info CurrYes (1)IRSResponsiblePrtyInfoCurrInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonMELISSA HANGSLEBENPreparerPersonNm
PTINP02087031PTIN
Phone6022662248PhoneNum
Preparation2024-05-10PreparationDt

Additional Filer Information AdditionalFilerInformation

Trusted Customer TrustedCustomerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Trusted Customer2TrustedCustomerCd
Authentication Assurance LevelAAL1AuthenticationAssuranceLevelCd
Identity Assurance LevelIAL1IdentityAssuranceLevelCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2023TaxYr
Build TS2023-04-26 12:10:37ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerJOSEPH TROSCLAIRPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1325 TRI-STATE PARKWAYAddressLine1Txt
CityGURNEECityNm
State AbbreviationILStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP60031ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$41,938,236GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501cYes (X)Organization501cInd
Website AddressWWW.ALECU.ORGWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1990FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateILLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionTO MAKE A DIFFERENCE IN THE LIVES AND FINANCIAL WELL-BEING OF OUR MEMBERS AND EMPLOYEES.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body9VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent8VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee130TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers8TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$86,122TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$46,902NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$0PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$0CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$23,216,472PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$28,620,903CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$7,428,700PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$12,685,959CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$575,768PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$631,374CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$31,220,940PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$41,938,236CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$32,491PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$7,556CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$4,266,848PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$11,714,683CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$10,146,245PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$10,314,795CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$8,890,802PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$9,623,294CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$23,336,386PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$31,660,328CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$7,884,554PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$10,277,908CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$1,013,412,754TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$1,000,837,841TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$916,728,629TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$889,094,133TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$96,684,125NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$111,743,708NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionTO MAKE A DIFFERENCE IN THE LIVES AND FINANCIAL WELL-BEING OF OUR MEMBERS AND EMPLOYEES. OUR COMMITMENT IS (1) TO GAIN OUR MEMBERS TRUST BY PROVIDING EXCEPTIONAL MEMBER SERVICE (2) TO OFFER A WIDE ARRAY OF FINANCIAL PRODUCTS, SERVICES AND DELIVERY CHANNELS (3) TO EDUCATE OUR MEMBERS IN ALIGNMENT WITH THEIR FINANCIAL GOALS (4) TO RECOGNIZE THE PERFORMANCE, ACHIEVEMENT AND PERSONAL DEVELOPMENT OF OUR EMPLOYEES (5) TO PROTECT OUR MEMBERS' DATA AND PRIVACY (6) TO CONDUCT BUSINESS WITH THE HIGHEST STANDARDS OF ETHICS, INTEGRITY AND HONESTY.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
DescTO PROVIDE COMPETITIVE LOANS, MARKET DEPOSIT RATES, AND EFFICIENT CHECKING SERVICES TO OUR MEMBERSHIP.Desc
Described In Section501c30DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B Required0ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign ActyYes (1)PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi Endowments0DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsYes (1)GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Loan OutstandingYes (1)LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent0BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related Entity0RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document16873IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee130EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (1)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (1)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt0SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc0SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members9GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member8IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (1)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (1)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (1)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersYes (1)LocalChaptersInd
Policies Reference ChaptersYes (1)PoliciesReferenceChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn Body0Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring Enfrc0RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1JANET OSBORNBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone8472499431PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1325 TRI-STATE PARKWAYAddressLine1Txt
CityGURNEECityNm
State AbbreviationILStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP60031ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (21 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtKey EmployeeKeyEmployeeIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
JOSEPH TROSCLAIR
PRESIDENT40.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$604,244$0$47,788
JON BERNDT
SENIOR VICE PRESIDENT, CFO40.00Yes (X)$286,335$0$54,571
KENNETH KEIFER
SENIOR VICE PRESIDENT, LENDING40.00$234,286$0$57,877Yes (X)
BRADY VAN HEIRSEELE
SENIOR VICE PRESIDENT, IT/RISK40.00$228,517$0$45,547Yes (X)
JENNIFER PESTIKAS
SENIOR VICE PRESIDENT, BUSINESS DEV40.00$225,867$0$43,586Yes (X)
JENNIFER DZBINSKI
VICE PRESIDENT, SERVICE & SALES40.00$173,166$0$47,052Yes (X)
JASON ROBLESKI
DIRECTOR OF MARKETING40.00$133,239$0$37,706Yes (X)
DANIELLE HERBRECHTSMEIER
DIRECTOR OF ADMINISTRATION40.00$148,403$0$19,121Yes (X)
JEFFREY DEMPSKI
SENIOR UNDERWRITING MANAGER40.00$125,482$0$35,698Yes (X)
JANET OSBORN
DIRECTOR OF ACCOUNTING40.00$139,954$0$18,751Yes (X)
SACHET KAMIN
DIRECTOR OF RISK40.00$136,092$0$18,059Yes (X)
JAMES WENNER
CHAIR2.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
JOHN MCCOY
CHAIRMAN (THRU 9/28/23)2.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
BETH MIKSA
VICE CHAIR2.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
ROBERT REISER
TREASURER2.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
TOLANI ODUTAYO
SECRETARY2.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
STEVE SCROGHAM
SECRETARY (THRU 7/31/23)2.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
MARK STOFFEL
DIRECTOR2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
DOAN NGUYEN
DIRECTOR2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JACQUELINE DIOGUARDI
DIRECTOR2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
CHRISTINE AMANN
DIRECTOR2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$2,435,585TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$425,756TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K16IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
FISERV
PO BOX 934057ATLANTAGA31193BANKING SERVICES$2,192,409
CARDTRONICS
PO BOX 4346 DEPT 364HOUSTONTX77210ATM SERVICES$313,195
NCR CORPORATION
14181 COLLECTIONS CENTER DRCHICAGOIL60693ATM SERVICES$194,548
CDW DIRECT LLC
PO BOX 75723CHICAGOIL60675IT SERVICES$162,189
MAQUIS SOFTWARE SOLUTIONS INC
DEPT 730069 PO BOX 660919DALLASTX75266MARKETING$117,367
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K10CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmtUnrelated Business RevenueUnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
LOAN INTEREST522100$23,748,320$23,748,320
FEES AND CHARGES522100$4,872,583$4,786,461$86,122
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$28,620,903TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$12,591,132TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$12,591,132ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$94,827OtherAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$0OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$94,827OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$94,827TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$94,827ExclusionAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescOTHER INCOMEDesc
Business522100BusinessCd
Total Revenue Column$631,374TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$631,374ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$631,374OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$41,938,236TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$28,534,781RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$86,122UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$13,317,333ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$7,556TotalAmt

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$11,714,683TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,048,836TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$6,200,312TotalAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$157,556TotalAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,350,346TotalAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$557,745TotalAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$44,287TotalAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$122,789TotalAmt

Fees For Services Lobbying FeesForServicesLobbyingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$5,700TotalAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$642,114TotalAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$468,251TotalAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$966,763TotalAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$924,166TotalAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$420,908TotalAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$46,032TotalAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$653,981TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$824,475TotalAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$133,151TotalAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmt
UBI TAXES$10,030
BANKING FEES$2,358,270
LOAN SERVICING$1,195,953
PROVISION FOR LOAN LOSS$565,135

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$241,289TotalAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$31,660,328TotalAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,121,273BOYAmt
EOY$3,183,476EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$53,322,232BOYAmt
EOY$68,049,992EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$6,067,481BOYAmt
EOY$11,849,647EOYAmt

Receivables From Officers Etc ReceivablesFromOfficersEtcGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,938,777BOYAmt
EOY$1,935,506EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$535,290,880BOYAmt
EOY$560,934,370EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$700,582BOYAmt
EOY$839,269EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$16,415,633LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$4,297,522LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$12,711,802BOYAmt
EOY$12,118,111EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$371,948,364BOYAmt
EOY$314,842,625EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,551,900BOYAmt
EOY$2,604,000EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$23,759,463BOYAmt
EOY$24,480,845EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,013,412,754BOYAmt
EOY$1,000,837,841EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$7,447,609BOYAmt
EOY$6,644,019EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$20,000,000BOYAmt
EOY$20,000,000EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$889,281,020BOYAmt
EOY$862,450,114EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$916,728,629BOYAmt
EOY$889,094,133EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Org Does Not Follow FASB117Yes (X)OrgDoesNotFollowFASB117Ind

Cap Stk Tr Prin Current Funds CapStkTrPrinCurrentFundsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Pd In Cap Srpls Land Bldg Eqp Fund PdInCapSrplsLandBldgEqpFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$96,684,125BOYAmt
EOY$111,743,708EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$96,684,125BOYAmt
EOY$111,743,708EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,013,412,754BOYAmt
EOY$1,000,837,841EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$10,277,908ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$5,240,543NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets-$458,868OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule C IRS990ScheduleC

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Political Expenditures$5,700PoliticalExpendituresAmt
Volunteer Hours0VolunteerHoursCnt
Expended527 Activities$0Expended527ActivitiesAmt
Internal Funds Contributed$5,700InternalFundsContributedAmt
Total Exempt Function Expend$5,700TotalExemptFunctionExpendAmt
Form1120 POL FiledYes (1)Form1120POLFiledInd

Section527 Political Org Section527PoliticalOrgGrp

Organization Business Name OrganizationBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1CREDIT UNION POLITICAL ACTION COUNCILBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11807 W DIEHL ROADAddressLine1Txt
CityNAPERVILLECityNm
State AbbreviationILStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP60563ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN363092340EIN
Paid Internal Funds$5,700PaidInternalFundsAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$1,809,709OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$1,809,709BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$7,699,066OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$1,610,743DepreciationAmt
Book Value$6,088,323BookValueAmt

Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$214,084OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$154,487DepreciationAmt
Book Value$59,597BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$6,530,204OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$2,532,292DepreciationAmt
Book Value$3,997,912BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$162,570OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$162,570BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$12,118,111TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (2 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
MEMBERS' SHARE AND SAVINGS ACCOUNT$861,789,049
DEFERRED COMPENSATION LIABILITY$661,065
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$862,450,114TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$42,217,526TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Revenue$279,290OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported$279,290RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$41,938,236RevenueSubtotalAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$0RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$41,938,236TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$31,660,328TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$31,660,328ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$0ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$31,660,328TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART X, LINE 2:THE CREDIT UNION IS EXEMPT, BY STATUTE, FROM FEDERAL AND STATE INCOME TAXES. THE CREDIT UNION HAS FILED TAX RETURNS IN THE PAST FOR ACTIVITIES IT HAS DEEMED TAXABLE. TAXING AUTHORITIES HAVE THE ABILITY TO ASSESS TAXES, PENALTIES, AND INTEREST FOR ANY YEARS FOR WHICH NO TAX RETURN WAS FILED. IN THE OPINION OF MANAGEMENT, ANY LIABILITY RESULTING FROM TAXING AUTHORITIES IMPOSING INCOME TAXES ON THE NET TAXABLE INCOME FROM ACTIVITIES CONSIDERED TO BE UNRELATED TO THE CREDIT UNION'S NONTAXABLE STATUS IS NOT EXPECTED TO HAVE A MATERIAL EFFECT ON THE CREDIT UNION'S FINANCIAL POSITION OR RESULTS OF OPERATIONS. THE CREDIT UNION EVALUATED ITS TAX POSITIONS AND DETERMINED NO UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS EXIST AS OF DECEMBER 31, 2023 AND 2022. THE CREDIT UNION'S 2019 THROUGH 2022 TAX YEARS ARE OPEN FOR EXAMINATION BY FEDERAL AND STATE TAXING AUTHORITIES.
PART XI, LINE 2D - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:CHANGE IN VALUE OF LIFE INSURANCE POLICIES 279,290.

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (1)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Recipient Table RecipientTable

Recipient Business Name RecipientBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1CREDIT UNION NATIONAL ASSOCIATIONBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 78546AddressLine1Txt
CityMILWAUKEECityNm
State AbbreviationWIStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP53278ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Recipient EIN237065623RecipientEIN
IRC Section501(C)(6)IRCSectionDesc
Cash Grant$7,556CashGrantAmt
Non Cash Assistance$0NonCashAssistanceAmt
Purpose Of GrantGENERAL SUPPORTPurposeOfGrantTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total501c3 Org0Total501c3OrgCnt
Total Other Org1TotalOtherOrgCnt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART I, LINE 2:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationNO FORMAL MONITORING PROCEDURES.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Independent ConsultantYes (X)IndependentConsultantInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanYes (1)SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (11 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
JOSEPH TROSCLAIR
PRESIDENT$451,643$0$151,212$0$1,389$0$39,000$0$8,788$0$652,032$0$0$0
JON BERNDT
SENIOR VICE PRESIDENT, CFO$239,646$0$43,858$0$2,831$0$30,740$0$23,831$0$340,906$0$0$0
KENNETH KEIFER
SENIOR VICE PRESIDENT, LENDING$196,275$0$35,480$0$2,531$0$34,088$0$23,789$0$292,163$0$0$0
BRADY VAN HEIRSEELE
SENIOR VICE PRESIDENT, IT/RISK$190,550$0$37,533$0$434$0$16,187$0$29,360$0$274,064$0$0$0
JENNIFER PESTIKAS
SENIOR VICE PRESIDENT, BUSINESS DEV$189,883$0$35,425$0$559$0$12,170$0$31,416$0$269,453$0$0$0
JENNIFER DZBINSKI
VICE PRESIDENT, SERVICE & SALES$144,973$0$27,473$0$720$0$18,312$0$28,740$0$220,218$0$0$0
JASON ROBLESKI
DIRECTOR OF MARKETING$113,617$0$19,310$0$312$0$6,646$0$31,060$0$170,945$0$0$0
DANIELLE HERBRECHTSMEIER
DIRECTOR OF ADMINISTRATION$129,841$0$18,250$0$312$0$7,404$0$11,717$0$167,524$0$0$0
JEFFREY DEMPSKI
SENIOR UNDERWRITING MANAGER$110,527$0$14,878$0$77$0$4,956$0$30,742$0$161,180$0$0$0
JANET OSBORN
DIRECTOR OF ACCOUNTING$123,702$0$15,243$0$1,009$0$6,916$0$11,835$0$158,705$0$0$0
SACHET KAMIN
DIRECTOR OF RISK$118,362$0$17,554$0$176$0$6,796$0$11,263$0$154,151$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART I, LINE 4BFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationSPLIT DOLLAR LIFE INSURANCE: THE CREDIT UNION HAS GRANTED NONRECOURSE LOANS FOR LIFE INSURANCE PREMIUM PAYMENTS TO SELECT MEMBERS OF SENIOR MANAGEMENT. THESE LOANS ARE COLLATERALIZED BY THE ASSIGNMENT OF THE CASH SURRENDER VALUE OF EACH RESPECTIVE LIFE INSURANCE POLICY. THE POLICIES ARE OWNED BY THE EXECUTIVES AND THE OWNERS HAVE SOLE CONTROL OVER THE LISTED BENEFICIARIES. AT THE TIME OF RETIREMENT, THE LOAN BECOMES DUE AND PAYABLE AND CAN BE PAID WITH THE CASH VALUE OF THE LIFE INSURANCE POLICY, OR WITH OTHER PERSONAL FUNDS AT THE OWNER'S DISCRETION. THE LOANS ARE CONSIDERED NONRECOURSE AND AS SUCH, THE CREDIT UNION HAS RECORDED THE BALANCE AS THE LOWER OF THE OUTSTANDING LOAN BALANCE PLUS ACCRUED INTEREST, OR THE CASH SURRENDER VALUE OF THE LIFE INSURANCE POLICIES.ExplanationTxt

Schedule L IRS990ScheduleL

Loans Btwn Org Interested Prsn LoansBtwnOrgInterestedPrsnGrp (4 entries)

Relationship With OrgRelationshipWithOrgTxtLoan PurposeLoanPurposeTxtLoan From OrganizationLoanFromOrganizationIndOriginal PrincipalOriginalPrincipalAmtBalance DueBalanceDueAmtDefaultDefaultIndBoard Or Committee ApprovalBoardOrCommitteeApprovalIndWritten AgreementWrittenAgreementInd
JOSEPH M TROSCLAIR
PRESIDENTSPLIT DOLLAR LIFE INSURANCEYes (X)$1,535,728$1,358,8710Yes (1)Yes (1)
BRADY VAN HEIRSEELE
SENIOR VICE PRESIDENT, IT/RISKSPLIT DOLLAR LIFE INSURANCEYes (X)$122,801$117,1160Yes (1)Yes (1)
KENNETH KIEFER
SENIOR VICE PRESIDENT, LENDINGSPLIT DOLLAR LIFE INSURANCEYes (X)$194,435$174,1020Yes (1)Yes (1)
JOSEPH TROSCLAIR
PRESIDENTSPLIT DOLLAR LIFE INSURANCEYes (X)$303,591$285,4170Yes (1)Yes (1)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Balance Due$1,935,506TotalBalanceDueAmt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSCHEDULE L, PART IIFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationSPLIT DOLLAR LIFE INSURANCE: THE CREDIT UNION HAS GRANTED NONRECOURSE LOANS FOR LIFE INSURANCE PREMIUM PAYMENTS TO SELECT MEMBERS OF SENIOR MANAGEMENT. THESE LOANS ARE COLLATERALIZED BY THE ASSIGNMENT OF THE CASH SURRENDER VALUE OF EACH RESPECTIVE LIFE INSURANCE POLICY. THE POLICIES ARE OWNED BY THE EXECUTIVES AND THE OWNERS HAVE SOLE CONTROL OVER THE LISTED BENEFICIARIES. AT THE TIME OF RETIREMENT, THE LOAN BECOMES DUE AND PAYABLE AND CAN BE PAID WITH THE CASH VALUE OF THE LIFE INSURANCE POLICY, OR WITH OTHER PERSONAL FUNDS AT THE OWNER'S DISCRETION. THE LOANS ARE CONSIDERED NONRECOURSE AND AS SUCH, THE CREDIT UNION HAS RECORDED THE BALANCE AS THE LOWER OF THE OUTSTANDING LOAN BALANCE PLUS ACCRUED INTEREST, OR THE CASH SURRENDER VALUE OF THE LIFE INSURANCE POLICIES.ExplanationTxt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (9 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 1ATHE BOARD OF DIRECTORS MAY, BY MAJORITY APPROVAL OF THE BOARD, APPOINT AN EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF 5 DIRECTORS WHO MAY BE AUTHORIZED TO ACT FOR THE BOARD IN ALL RESPECTS SUBJECT TO SUCH CONDITIONS AND LIMITATIONS AS ARE PRESCRIBED BY THE BOARD. A MAJORITY OF THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE SHALL CONSTITUTE A QUORUM. THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE SHALL REPORT TO THE BOARD ON ANY MEETINGS HELD AND ANY ACTIONS TAKEN BETWEEN BOARD MEETINGS. THE MEMBERS OF THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE CONSIST OF THE BOARD CHAIRPERSON, VICE CHAIRPERSON, SECRETARY, TREASURER AND THE CEO.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 6THE CREDIT UNION HAS MEMBERS. THE CREDIT UNION'S PRIMARY FIELDS OF MEMBERSHIP FOR LENDING AND SAVINGS ACTIVITIES ARE EMPLOYEES, RETIREES, AND THE FAMILY MEMBERS OF ABBOTT LABORATORIES; ABBVIE, INC.; AND THE CREDIT UNION'S EMPLOYEES, RETIREES, AND THEIR FAMILY MEMBERS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7ATHE GOVERNING BODY OF THE ORGANIZATION IS ELECTED BY ITS MEMBERS
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7BELECTION OF DIRECTORS AND PROPOSALS FOR MERGERS/VOLUNTARY DISSOLUTION IS VOTED ON BY MEMBERS. HOWEVER, MEMBERS MAY VOTE BY PROXY. CHANGES TO THE CORPORATE CHARTER AND BYLAWS REQUIRE APPROVAL OF MEMBERS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11BTHE FORM 990 IS PREPARED BY THE ORGANIZATION'S PUBLIC ACCOUNTING FIRM BASED ON INFORMATION PROVIDED BY MANAGEMENT. ONCE A DRAFT IS AVAILABLE, IT IS REVIEWED BY THE CFO BEFORE FILING WITH THE IRS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12THE ORGANIZATIONS CODE OF ETHICS POLICY INCLUDES ITS POSITION ON CONFLICT OF INTEREST. THE CODE OF ETHICS POLICY IS REQUIRED TO BE SIGNED ANNUALLY BY ALL EMPLOYEES.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15THE COMPENSATION OF THE CEO IS APPROVED BY THE COMPENSATION COMMITTEE OF THE BOARD. THEY OBTAINED SURVEY'S WHICH THEN THE DATA IS COMPARED AT THE POSITION LEVEL, INCLUDING FACTORS SUCH AS THE NUMBER OF SERVICES, NUMBER OF MEMBERS AND NUMBER OF LOANS. COMPENSATION IS BASED ON ANALYSIS OF THIS DATA. THIS INFORMATION IS KEPT IN THE PAYROLL FILE AND THE CEO'S PERSONNEL FILE. REGARDING THE COMPENSATION FOR OTHER OFFICERS AND KEY EMPLOYEES, THE CEO RECOMMENDS CHANGES IN COMPENSATION TO THE COMPENSATION COMMITTEE OF THE BOARD, USING INDIVIDUAL COMPENSATION REPORTS PROVIDED BY ALEC'S INDEPENDENT COMPENSATION CONSULTANT. ONCE APPROVED BY THE COMPENSATION COMMITTEE, THE CEO NOTIFIES HR FOR PAYROLL PURPOSES. THE PROCESS DESCRIBED HERE WAS LAST COMPLETED IN 2023.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19THE CREDIT UNION MAKES IT GOVERNING DOCUMENTS, CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY, AND FINANCIAL STATEMENTS AVAILABE TO THE PUBLIC UPON REQUEST.
FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9:CHANGE IN VALUE OF LIFE INSURANCE POLICIES 279,290. CUMULATIVE CHANGE IN ACCOUNTING PRINCIPLE - ASC 326 -738,158.