STRATEGY STUDIO / PUBLIC DATA EXPLORER

BENEDICT COLLEGE: Form 990, tax year 2020

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
BENEDICT COLLEGE (EIN 57-0314365)
Tax period
2020-07-01 to 2021-06-30
Filed
2022-09-14
IRS object ID
202232579349301548
Schema version
2020v4.2
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2022-09-14T14:46:21-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2021-06-30TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN363990892PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Capin Crouse LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11255 Lakes Parkway Suite 105AddressLine1Txt
CityLawrencevilleCityNm
State AbbreviationGAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP30043ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2020-07-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN570314365EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Benedict CollegeBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlBENEBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone8037054730PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11600 Harden StreetAddressLine1Txt
CityColumbiaCityNm
State AbbreviationSCStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP29204ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonRoslyn Clark ArtisPersonNm
Person TitlePresident & CEOPersonTitleTxt
Phone8037054730PhoneNum
Signature2022-09-14SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Signing Officer SigningOfficerGrp

Person Full Name PersonFullName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Person FirstRoslynPersonFirstNm
Person LastClark ArtisPersonLastNm
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SSN999009999SSN

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonDaren DaigaPreparerPersonNm
PTINP01074795PTIN
Phone5055022746PhoneNum

Additional Filer Information AdditionalFilerInformation

Trusted Customer TrustedCustomerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Trusted Customer2TrustedCustomerCd
Authentication Assurance LevelAAL1AuthenticationAssuranceLevelCd
Identity Assurance LevelIAL1IdentityAssuranceLevelCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2020TaxYr
Build TS2023-04-26 12:10:37ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerRoslyn Clark ArtisPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11600 Harden StreetAddressLine1Txt
CityColumbiaCityNm
State AbbreviationSCStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP29204ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$105,075,389GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website Addresswww.benedict.eduWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1894FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateSCLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionA full opportunity college with high quality programs of teaching, research, and public service.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body22VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent22VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee436TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers26TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$6,387TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$16,769,245PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$23,257,789CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$42,817,097PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$35,213,804CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$419,415PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$196,293CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$1,004,454PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$45,295,537CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$61,010,211PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$103,963,423CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$12,510,948PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$13,100,877CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$20,857,296PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$17,981,688CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$663,679CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$26,984,184PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$23,377,367CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$60,352,428PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$54,459,932CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$657,783PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$49,503,491CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$122,453,279TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$125,168,900TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$88,142,431TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$38,374,278TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$34,310,848NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$86,794,622NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionBenedict College will be a power for good in society. The College is a full opportunity college with high quality programs of teaching, research, and public service. These programs provide the students and community with knowledge, skills, understandings, and values required to empower them to create a better world. The College seeks geographic, international, and racial diversity in the student body while continuing to facilitate empowerment, enhancement, and full participation of African Americans in a global society.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
Expense$19,256,993ExpenseAmt
Grant$13,100,877GrantAmt
Revenue$29,724,396RevenueAmt
DescInstruction - Approximately 2,000 students. The College awarded approximately 165 degrees during the 2020-2021 school year.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$9,334,448ExpenseAmt
DescStudent Services - Enrollment Services, College Registrar, Health and Counseling, Sports and Recreation.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty3 ProgSrvcAccomActy3Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$4,761,820ExpenseAmt
Revenue$6,316,586RevenueAmt
DescAuxiliary Enterprises - The Colleges' dormitories, dining hall, and campus store are the major auxiliary enterprises serving the college community. Ten residence halls provide quarters for approximately 1,600 students.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty Other ProgSrvcAccomActyOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$4,003,618ExpenseAmt
DescResearch, Public Service, Academic Support - The College Library (approximately 130,000 volumes held), Student Financial Aid, Various Other Programs.Desc
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Other Prog Srvc Expense$4,003,618TotalOtherProgSrvcExpenseAmt
Total Program Service Expenses$37,356,879TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (1)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (1)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying Activities0LobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi EndowmentsYes (1)DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 Footnote0IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingYes (1)SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsYes (1)GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsYes (1)TaxExemptBondsInd
Invest Tax Exempt Bonds0InvestTaxExemptBondsInd
Escrow Account0EscrowAccountInd
On Behalf Of Issuer0OnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans0EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit Trans0PYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent0BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related Entity0RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org0TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document2431IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee436EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (1)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (1)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contributions0QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed Of0Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt0SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc0SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members22GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member22IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or Stockholders0MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board Members0ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To Approva0DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered Prsn0AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldSCStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonRoslyn Clark ArtisPersonNm
Phone8037054730PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11600 Harden StreetAddressLine1Txt
CityColumbiaCityNm
State AbbreviationSCStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP29204ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (30 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
Charlie W Johnson
Chairman5.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
G Tyrone Bonds
Vice Chairman5.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Dr Elise King Hamler
Secretary1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mrs Doris W Johnson
Assistant Secretary1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Anthony T Burroughs
Director1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Attorney Valoria Cheek
Director1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Dr Paul W Drummond
Director1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
William L Thomas
Director1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Emory L Waters
Director1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
William B Whitney
Director1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Attorney James P Hudson
Director1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Rich Panner
Director1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Reverend Dr Solomon Jackson
Director1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Honorable Stephen K Benjamin
Director1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Dr Tyrone A Burroughs
Director1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Dr Mary Gaffney
Director1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Hilda D Gadsden
Director1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Dr Gail Morrison
Director1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Dr Haywood L Strickland
Director1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Jesse J Tyson
Director1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Dr Dorothy Buckhanan Wilson
Director1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mrs Cedelle E Gates
Director1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Patricia J Ackason
Director (part year)1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Dr Roslyn Clark Artis
President & CEO40.00Yes (X)$327,250$0$47,700
Christopher Thompson
VP for Business & Finance40.00Yes (X)$113,869$0$7,420
Dr Ceeon Smith
Chief of Staff40.00$136,216$0$5,447Yes (X)
Leandra Burgess
VP Institutional Advanceme40.00$129,042$0$4,112Yes (X)
Godwin Mbamalu
Sponsored Programs40.00$114,202$0$5,889Yes (X)
Dr Janeen Witty
VP Academic Affairs40.00$113,440$0$20,054Yes (X)
Chennis Berry
Athletics40.00$110,611$0$2,056Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$1,044,630TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$92,678TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K9IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
Perkins Management Services
301 McCullough DrCharlotteNC28262Food Service$1,212,818
Premier Roofing
PO Box 1551EasleySC29641Roofing Contractor$589,731
EBSCO Information Service
PO Box 204661DallasTX75320Information Technology$581,891
Jenzabar
PO Box 845588BostonMA022845588Information Technology$479,939
Howard Industries
PO Box 11407BirminghamAL35246Information Technology$475,683
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K8CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Government Grants$13,944,015GovernmentGrantsAmt
All Other Contributions$9,313,774AllOtherContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$23,257,789TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Tuition and Fees611710$29,724,396$29,724,396
Auxiliary Enterprises611710$5,489,408$5,489,408
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$35,213,804TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$232,108TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$232,108ExclusionAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$84,440RealAmt

Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$0RealAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$84,440RealAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$84,440TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$84,440ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$1,076,151SecuritiesAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$1,111,966SecuritiesAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities-$35,815SecuritiesAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$35,815TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion-$35,815ExclusionAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtExclusionExclusionAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmtUnrelated Business RevenueUnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Gain ext. debt900099$44,377,532$44,377,532
Print Shop323111$55,424$49,037$6,387

Miscellaneous Revenue MiscellaneousRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$778,141TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$778,141RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$45,211,097OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$103,963,423TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$36,040,982RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$6,387UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$44,658,265ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$13,100,877TotalAmt
Program Services$13,100,877ProgramServicesAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$498,367TotalAmt
Program Services$323,939ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$164,461ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$9,967FundraisingAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$13,656,427TotalAmt
Program Services$8,892,608ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$4,476,146ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$287,673FundraisingAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$424,106TotalAmt
Program Services$31,652ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$383,858ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$8,596FundraisingAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,164,383TotalAmt
Program Services$329,287ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,816,330ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$18,766FundraisingAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,238,405TotalAmt
Program Services$806,362ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$408,100ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$23,943FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$22,865TotalAmt
Management And General$22,865ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$142,256TotalAmt
Management And General$142,256ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$76,736TotalAmt
Management And General$76,736ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,054,342TotalAmt
Program Services$1,124,747ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$2,723,401ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$206,194FundraisingAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$168,877TotalAmt
Program Services$16,165ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$103,251ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$49,461FundraisingAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$511,427TotalAmt
Program Services$309,564ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$198,840ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$3,023FundraisingAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$964,272TotalAmt
Program Services$308,302ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$613,466ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$42,504FundraisingAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,387,946TotalAmt
Program Services$193,018ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$2,194,928ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$324,305TotalAmt
Program Services$170,151ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$154,154ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,949,275TotalAmt
Program Services$1,590,616ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$358,659ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$6,202,237TotalAmt
Program Services$5,271,220ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$931,017ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$749,364TotalAmt
Management And General$749,364ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmtFundraisingFundraisingAmt
Institutional support$3,748,733$3,748,733
Equipment/repairs$1,707,670$1,063,453$644,217
Food service$262,962$70,459$192,503
Equipment rental$104,100$5,726$84,822$13,552

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$54,459,932TotalAmt
Program Services$37,356,879ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$16,439,374ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$663,679FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$7,563,997BOYAmt
EOY$11,342,562EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$11,497,136BOYAmt
EOY$4,171,476EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,518,483BOYAmt
EOY$5,733,770EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,716,982BOYAmt
EOY$778,967EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$690,071BOYAmt
EOY$720,995EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$178,029,630LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$104,615,844LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$75,915,065BOYAmt
EOY$73,413,786EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$17,131,819BOYAmt
EOY$23,196,022EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,440,936BOYAmt
EOY$3,732,525EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$45,907BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$932,883BOYAmt
EOY$2,078,797EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$122,453,279BOYAmt
EOY$125,168,900EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,330,488BOYAmt
EOY$3,606,493EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$10,236,776BOYAmt
EOY$6,427,830EOYAmt

Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$19,640,000BOYAmt
EOY$19,640,000EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$52,054,640BOYAmt
EOY$7,057,829EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$880,527BOYAmt
EOY$1,642,126EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$88,142,431BOYAmt
EOY$38,374,278EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows FASB117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind

No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$19,198,005BOYAmt
EOY$64,662,836EOYAmt

Donor Restriction Net Assets DonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$15,112,843BOYAmt
EOY$22,131,786EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$34,310,848BOYAmt
EOY$86,794,622EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$122,453,279BOYAmt
EOY$125,168,900EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$49,503,491ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$1,887,259NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Prior Period Adjustments$838,636PriorPeriodAdjustmentsAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$254,388OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredYes (1)FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd
Federal Grant Audit PerformedYes (1)FederalGrantAuditPerformedInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SchoolYes (X)SchoolInd

Gifts Grants Contri Rcvd170 GiftsGrantsContriRcvd170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$9,884,413CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$10,207,204CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$16,510,982CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$16,769,245CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$23,257,789CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$76,629,633TotalAmt

Total Calendar Year170 TotalCalendarYear170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$9,884,413CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$10,207,204CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$16,510,982CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$16,769,245CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$23,257,789CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$76,629,633TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Substantial Contributors Tot$5,703,606SubstantialContributorsTotAmt
Public Support Total170$70,926,027PublicSupportTotal170Amt

Gross Investment Income170 GrossInvestmentIncome170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$584,039CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$1,091,029CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$638,131CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$646,476CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$316,548CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$3,276,223TotalAmt

Other Income170 OtherIncome170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$969,619CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$297,508CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$946,899CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$877,754CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$45,204,710CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$48,296,490TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Support$128,202,346TotalSupportAmt
Gross Receipts Rltd Activities$232,412,032GrossReceiptsRltdActivitiesAmt
Public Support CY1700.55320PublicSupportCY170Pct
Public Support PY1700.80260PublicSupportPY170Pct
Thirty Thr Pct Suprt Tests CY170Yes (X)ThirtyThrPctSuprtTestsCY170Ind

Form990 Schedule A Part VI Form990ScheduleAPartVIGrp (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Schedule A, Part II, Line 10, Explanation of Other Income:Fundraising Event Fees - 2016 Amount: $ 142,169. 2017 Amount: $ 297,508. 2018 Amount: $ 1,456. 2020 Amount: $ 0. Misc income - 2016 Amount: $ 827,450. 2018 Amount: $ 743,182. 2019 Amount: $ 765,300. 2020 Amount: $ 778,141. Print shop - 2018 Amount: $ 202,261. 2019 Amount: $ 112,454. 2020 Amount: $ 49,037. Extinguishment of debt - 2020 Amount: $ 44,377,532.
Schedule A, Part II:The organization is a school as described under 170(b)(1)(A)(ii) and is not required to complete a public support schedule. Schedule A, Part II is completed to verify the School can qualify under public charity status section 170(b)(1)(A)(vi) and, therefore, qualifies to use the first listed special rule for Schedule B reporting.

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$13,665,797BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$1,273,553ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$1,905,168InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
End Year Balance$16,844,518EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$13,370,789BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$469,351ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses-$174,343InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
End Year Balance$13,665,797EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$12,799,783BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$652,989ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$491,915InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$573,898OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$13,370,789EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$12,391,130BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$553,292ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$478,620InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$623,259OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$12,799,783EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$12,014,058BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$355,666ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$605,446InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$584,039OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$12,391,131EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Board Designated Balance EOY0.02970BoardDesignatedBalanceEOYPct
Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY0.97030PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Endowments Held Unrelated OrgYes (1)EndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related Org0EndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$10,970,756OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$10,970,756BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$137,771,691OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$80,321,259DepreciationAmt
Book Value$57,450,432BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$25,387,529OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$21,630,863DepreciationAmt
Book Value$3,756,666BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$3,899,654OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$2,663,722DepreciationAmt
Book Value$1,235,932BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$73,413,786TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (2 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
Asset retirement obligation$726,302
Financing lease$915,824
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$1,642,126TotalLiabilityAmt
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$94,618,229TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$1,887,259NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Other Revenue$254,388OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported$2,141,647RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$92,476,582RevenueSubtotalAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$11,486,841OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$11,486,841RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$103,963,423TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$42,973,091TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$42,973,091ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Other Expenses Not Included$11,486,841OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$11,486,841ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$54,459,932TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (5 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Part V, Line 4:The College's endowment consists of 220 individual funds established for a variety of purposes including both donor-restricted endowment funds and funds designated by the Board of Trustees to function as endowments.
Part XI, Line 2d - Other Adjustments:Change in Value of Perpetual Trusts Held By Others 254,388.
Part XI, Line 4b - Other Adjustments:Scholarships & Other Student Aid 11,486,841.
Part XII, Line 2d - Other Adjustments:Fundraising Events Expenses
Part XII, Line 4b - Other Adjustments:Scholarships & Other Student Aid 11,486,841.

Schedule E IRS990ScheduleE

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Nondiscriminatory Policy StmtYes (1)NondiscriminatoryPolicyStmtInd
Policy Stmt In Brochures EtcYes (1)PolicyStmtInBrochuresEtcInd
Plcy Pblczd Via Broadcast MediaYes (1)PlcyPblczdViaBroadcastMediaInd
Maintain Racial Comp RecsYes (1)MaintainRacialCompRecsInd
Maintain Scholarships RecsYes (1)MaintainScholarshipsRecsInd
Maintain Cpy Of Brochures EtcYes (1)MaintainCpyOfBrochuresEtcInd
Maintain Cpy Of All SolYes (1)MaintainCpyOfAllSolInd
Discriminate Race Stdnts Rghts0DiscriminateRaceStdntsRghtsInd
Discriminate Race Admiss Plcy0DiscriminateRaceAdmissPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Emplm Fculty0DiscriminateRaceEmplmFcultyInd
Discriminate Race Schs0DiscriminateRaceSchsInd
Discriminate Race Educ Plcy0DiscriminateRaceEducPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Use Of Fclts0DiscriminateRaceUseOfFcltsInd
Discriminate Race Athlt Prog0DiscriminateRaceAthltProgInd
Discriminate Race Other Acty0DiscriminateRaceOtherActyInd
Government Financial Aid RcvdYes (1)GovernmentFinancialAidRcvdInd
Government Financial Aid Rvkd0GovernmentFinancialAidRvkdInd
Compliance With Rev Proc7550Yes (1)ComplianceWithRevProc7550Ind

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Schedule E, Part I, Line 3Benedict College has committed to equal opportunity, affirmative action, and non-discrimination on the basis of race, creed, religion, age, sex, national origin, handicap and other legally protected status, in all educational programs, activities and conditions of employment. The organization's nondiscriminatory policy is published on the homepage of its website.
Schedule E, Part I, Line 6Benedict College receives student financial aid grants from the US Department of Education and the State of South Carolina in addition to federal and state grant monies received for special programs and research projects. The College also received funding under HEERF and the Paycheck Protection Program as part of the CARES Act.

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (1)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp (2 entries)

Grant TypeGrantTypeTxtRecipientRecipientCntCash GrantCashGrantAmt
Scholarships & Financial Aid1351$11,486,841
HEERF grants2018$1,614,036

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePart I, Line 2:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationThe College's procedures for monitoring the use of grant funds required verification of 1) enrollment status, 2) number of hours enrolled, 3) number of earned credit hours, 4) GPA, and 5) housing status. In addition, a review of student academic performance and grades of incomplete, if applicable, is conducted each semester to determine overall standing in relation to College's established Satisfactory Academic Policy (SAP). No cash changes hands and funds are directly tied to student accounts.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Housing Allowance Or ResidenceYes (X)HousingAllowanceOrResidenceInd
Written Policy Ref T And E ExpnssYes (1)WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd
Substantiation RequiredYes (1)SubstantiationRequiredInd
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Written Employment ContractYes (X)WrittenEmploymentContractInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org0CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs0CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org0CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs0CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed Payments0AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract Exception0InitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonDr Roslyn Clark ArtisPersonNm
TitlePresident & CEOTitleTxt
Base Compensation Filing Org$327,250BaseCompensationFilingOrgAmt
Compensation Based On Rltd Orgs$0CompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmt
Bonus Filing Organization$0BonusFilingOrganizationAmount
Bonus Related Organizations$0BonusRelatedOrganizationsAmt
Other Compensation Filing Org$0OtherCompensationFilingOrgAmt
Other Compensation Rltd Orgs$0OtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmt
Deferred Compensation Flng Org$16,500DeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmt
Deferred Comp Rltd Orgs$0DeferredCompRltdOrgsAmt
Nontaxable Benefits Filing Org$31,650NontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmt
Nontaxable Benefits Rltd Orgs$0NontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmt
Total Compensation Filing Org$375,400TotalCompensationFilingOrgAmt
Total Compensation Rltd Orgs$0TotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmt
Comp Report Prior990 Filing Org$0CompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmt
Comp Report Prior990 Rltd Orgs$0CompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePart I, Line 1aFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationAs a condition of employment, and as a convenience to the University, the President & CEO is provided a home by the University. The University also provides grounds care and covers utilities for the home. The home is provided as a nontaxable benefit to the President & CEO.ExplanationTxt

Schedule K IRS990ScheduleK

Tax Exempt Bonds Issues TaxExemptBondsIssuesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd

Issuer Name IssuerName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1South Carolina Jobs Economic Development Authority (JEDA)BusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond Issuer EIN570314365BondIssuerEIN
CUSIP83704MAG1CUSIPNum
Bond Issued2018-09-20BondIssuedDt
Issue Price$19,640,000IssuePriceAmt
PurposeRefinance indebtedness taxable bonds issued 6/25/2013, building improvementsPurposeDesc
Defeased0DefeasedInd
On Behalf Of Issuer0OnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Pool Financing0PoolFinancingInd

Tax Exempt Bonds Proceeds TaxExemptBondsProceedsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Total Proceeds$19,664,471TotalProceedsAmt
In Reserve Fund$4,368,744InReserveFundAmt
Issuance Costs From Proceeds$387,312IssuanceCostsFromProceedsAmt
Other Spent Proceeds$14,908,415OtherSpentProceedsAmt
Substantial Completion2018SubstantialCompletionYr
Refunding Tax Exempt Bonds0RefundingTaxExemptBondsInd
Refunding Taxable BondsYes (1)RefundingTaxableBondsInd
Final Allocation Made0FinalAllocationMadeInd
Adequate Books And Rec Maint0AdequateBooksAndRecMaintInd

Tax Exempt Bonds Private Bus Use TaxExemptBondsPrivateBusUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Owning Bond Financed Property0OwningBondFinancedPropertyInd
Any Lease Arrangements0AnyLeaseArrangementsInd
Mgmt Contract Bond Fincd Prop0MgmtContractBondFincdPropInd
Any Research Agreements0AnyResearchAgreementsInd
Bond Iss Meet Prvt Sec Pymt Test0BondIssMeetPrvtSecPymtTestInd
Change In Use Bond Financed Prop0ChangeInUseBondFinancedPropInd
Procs Nonqualified Bond RemdtdYes (1)ProcsNonqualifiedBondRemdtdInd

Tax Exempt Bonds Arbitrage TaxExemptBondsArbitrageGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Form8038 T Filed0Form8038TFiledInd
Rebate Not Due YetYes (1)RebateNotDueYetInd
Exception To Rebate0ExceptionToRebateInd
No Rebate Due0NoRebateDueInd
Variable Rate Issue0VariableRateIssueInd
Hedge Identified In Bks And Rec0HedgeIdentifiedInBksAndRecInd
Gross Proceeds Invested In GIC0GrossProceedsInvestedInGICInd
Gross Proceeds Invested0GrossProceedsInvestedInd
Written Proc To Monitor ReqsYes (1)WrittenProcToMonitorReqsInd

Procedures Corrective Action ProceduresCorrectiveActionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Procedures Corrective ActionYes (1)ProceduresCorrectiveActionInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSchedule K, Part II, Line 3FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationThe amount recorded as total proceeds of issue for bond A is greater than the issue price for the bonds due to the inclusion of investment earnings.ExplanationTxt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (6 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 1The Executive Committee consists of Board Officers, Standing Committee chairs and two Board members at large nominated by the Committee on Trustees at the Board's Annual Meeting. The Executive Committee represents the Board between meetings of the Board and exercises in general the authority of the Board in matters pertaining to the regular administration of the Board except when referral with power has been given by the Board in respect to certain specific items of business.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 11bForm 990 is prepared by an independent CPA firm and reviewed in detail by the organization's top management. The reviewed Form 990 is then provided to the board of directors prior to filing with the IRS.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 12cThe board maintains a conflict of interest policy which is signed on an annual basis. In the course of meetings or activities, everyone will disclose any interests in a transaction or decision where he/she, including their business or other non-profit affiliations, family and/or significant other, employer or close associates will receive a benefit or a gain and these are reviewed by the President. The board reviews the President's signed statement. After disclosure or any possible conflicts of interest, the person will be asked to leave the room for the discussion and will not be permitted to vote on the question.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 15Compensation for the President & CEO is determined by the Board Chair in consultation with the President Evaluation and Compensation Committee and is presented to the full Board of Directors for prior review and approval. Compensation of other senior members of management is determined through application of the Agency's written performance review/compensation policies and procedures with final written approval by the President & CEO. The Board approves compensation set (% salary increase) in conjunction with the annual budget. The College uses comparative studies from other similarly sized historically black colleges and universities. Written documentation of the decision is kept in the College's permanent records.
Form 990, Part VI, Section C, line 19The governing documents, conflict of interest policy, and financial statements are available upon request.
Form 990, Part XI, line 9:Change in Value of Perpetual Trusts Held By Others 254,388.