STRATEGY STUDIO / NONPROFIT PEOPLE SEARCH

KENDAL AT OBERLIN: Form 990, tax year 2023

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
KENDAL AT OBERLIN (EIN 34-1567246)
Tax period
2023-01-01 to 2023-12-31
Filed
2024-08-02
IRS object ID
202432159349300408
Schema version
2023v5.1
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2024-08-02T08:02:15-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2023-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN410746749PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1CLIFTONLARSONALLEN LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line14334 MUNSON STREET SUITE 200AddressLine1Txt
CityCANTONCityNm
State AbbreviationOHStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP44718ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2023-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN341567246EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1KENDAL AT OBERLINBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlKENDBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone4407750094PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1600 KENDAL DRIVEAddressLine1Txt
CityOBERLINCityNm
State AbbreviationOHStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP44074ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonBARBARA THOMASPersonNm
Person TitleCHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICERPersonTitleTxt
Phone4407750094PhoneNum
Signature2024-08-01SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
IRS Responsible Prty Info CurrYes (1)IRSResponsiblePrtyInfoCurrInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonJENNIFER COLEMANPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00743188PTIN
Phone3304972000PhoneNum
Preparation2024-08-01PreparationDt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2023TaxYr
Build TS2024-08-08 14:25:15ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerSETH VILENSKYPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1600 KENDAL DRIVEAddressLine1Txt
CityOBERLINCityNm
State AbbreviationOHStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP44074ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$25,853,974GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website AddressWWW.KAO.KENDAL.ORGWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1990FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateOHLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionFOUNDED ON QUAKER VALUES, WE OFFER A VIBRANT, DIVERSE, CARING COMMUNITY SERVING OLDER ADULTS AND CONTRIBUTING TO THE OBERLIN COMMUNITY AND BEYOND IN NORTHEAST OHIO.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body19VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent19VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee300TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers253TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$1,112,880PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$612,584CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$22,250,921PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$23,585,680CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$4,193,735PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$2,817,711CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$938PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue-$1,162,001CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$27,558,474PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$25,853,974CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$312,648PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$319,206CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$11,493,962PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$11,712,813CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$9,898PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$8,272CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$8,272CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$10,709,955PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$11,739,569CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$22,526,463PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$23,779,860CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$5,032,011PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$2,074,114CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$119,793,857TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$124,198,609TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$64,527,488TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$63,540,606TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$55,266,369NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$60,658,003NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionFOUNDED AS A NONPROFIT ORGANIZATION BASED ON QUAKER VALUES, WE ARE A VIBRANT, DIVERSE, INCLUSIVE, CARING COMMUNITY FOCUSED ON HEALTHY AGING. (CONTINUED ON SCHEDULE O)WE SUPPORT INDIVIDUAL LIFESTYLES BY PROMOTING INDEPENDENCE, CONTINUOUS LEARNING, ENGAGEMENT IN AND SERVICE TO THE WIDER COMMUNITY, SOCIAL AND INTERGENERATIONAL RELATIONSHIPS, AND EXCELLENT HEALTH CARE. KENDAL AT OBERLIN OPERATES A CONTINUING CARE RETIREMENT FACILITY IN OBERLIN, OH CONSISTING OF 225 RESIDENTIAL UNITS WITH A COMMON FACILITY, 12 CERTIFIED AND LICENSED MEDICARE NURSING HOME BEDS AND 55 LICENSED UNITS FOR RESIDENTIAL CARE, AND 12 PRIVATE MEMORY CARE SUITES. PROGRAM SERVICE COSTS ALSO INCLUDE ADMISSION EXPENSES. SERVICES INCLUDE HOUSING, CENTRAL DINING, A FULL CONTINUUM OF CARE ON PREMISES, AS WELL AS SOCIAL, CULTURAL AND RECREATIONAL ACTIVITIES.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
Expense$19,623,509ExpenseAmt
Grant$319,206GrantAmt
Revenue$23,585,680RevenueAmt
DescKENDAL AT OBERLIN OPENED IN 1993 AND HAS PROVIDED SERVICES TO OVER 935 RESIDENTS FROM 38 STATES AND THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA. KENDAL AT OBERLIN IS A LIFE PLAN COMMUNITY (ALSO KNOWN AS A CONTINUING CARE RETIREMENT COMMUNITY), AN ACCREDITED ORGANIZATION UNDER THE COMMISSION ON ACCREDITATION OF REHABILITATION FACILITIES (CARF) STANDARDS AND HAS BEEN IDENTIFIED AS A 5 STAR RATED NURSING HOME BY THE CENTER OF MEDICARE AND MEDICAID SERVICES (CMS). KENDAL AT OBERLIN HAS ALSO RECEIVED A SPECIAL DESIGNATION AS A PERSON CENTERED LONG TERM CARE COMMUNITY AND AS A DEMENTIA CARE SPECIALTY PROGRAM BY CARF.(CONTINUED ON SCHEDULE O)KENDAL AT OBERLIN IS COMMITTED TO SOCIAL RESPONSIBILITY BY PROVIDING LEADERSHIP IN THE GREATER COMMUNITY AND MAKING KENDAL'S CAMPUS SPACES AND ONSITE PROGRAMS ACCESSIBLE TO THE LARGER COMMUNITY. SOME OF THE WAYS KENDAL CONNECTS WITH THE LARGER COMMUNITY INCLUDE:-KENDAL WELCOMES THE PUBLIC TO ART GALLERY TALKS, LECTURES, THEATRICAL AND MUSICAL PERFORMANCES FREE OF CHARGE.-OUR MEETING ROOMS WERE MADE AVAILABLE TO OVER 30 NONPROFIT ORGANIZATIONS FREE OF CHARGE.-MORE THAN 100 NEIGHBORING OLDER ADULTS ARE SERVED ANNUALLY IN KENDAL'S REHABILITATION AND FITNESS PROGRAMS.-MORE THAN 100 LOCAL STUDENTS FROM NURSING, REHABILITATION AND VOCATIONAL SCHOOLS WERE PROVIDED CLINICAL TRAINING AT KENDAL AT OBERLIN TO PREPARE THEM PROFESSIONALLY.-MORE THAN 25 AREA FAMILIES USE KENDAL'S ACCREDITED 5-STAR EARLY LEARNING PROGRAM (RATED BY THE STATE OF OHIO) FROM TODDLERS TO PRE-KINDERGARTEN CHILDREN. KENDAL AT OBERLIN'S EARLY LEARNING CENTER IS A PARTNER MEMBER AND ON THE STEERING COMMITTEE OF THE OBERLIN KIDS COLLABORATIVE THAT WAS ESTABLISHED BY THE UNITED WAY FOUNDATION. THE PROGRAM DEPENDS ON PARTNER ENGAGEMENT TO DEVELOP SOLUTIONS TO ENSURE ALL CHILDREN FROM BIRTH THROUGH PRE-K ENTER OBERLIN SCHOOL YEARS HEALTHY AND READY TO LEARN. THEIR FOCUS IS ON COMMUNITY-LEVEL IMPACT TO SUPPORT CHILDREN AND FAMILIES THROUGH SYSTEMS OF CHANGE, RESEARCH AND EVALUATION, ADVOCACY, AND PROGRAMMING. -KENDAL AT OBERLIN RECENTLY RECEIVED A PROGRAM OF DISTINCTION FROM GENERATIONS UNITED FOR ITS INTERGENERATIONAL PROGRAMMING OFFERED THROUGH KENDAL'S EARLY LEARNING CENTER, INVOLVEMENT WITH HIGH SCHOOL AND COLLEGE LEVEL STUDENTS IN PROGRAMMING THROUGHOUT THE CAMPUS COMMUNITY.-THE CITY OF OBERLIN WAS ALSO RECOGNIZED AS BEING ONE OF THE 5 BEST INTERGENERATIONAL COMMUNITIES.-KENDAL AT OBERLIN HAS MADE REAL ESTATE TAX PAYMENTS OF OVER $8.5 MILLION SINCE 2000. THIS HAS RESULTED IN SIGNIFICANT ECONOMIC IMPACT TO THE CITY OF OBERLIN AND THE LOCAL SCHOOL SYSTEM.-KENDAL AT OBERLIN HAS APPROXIMATELY 235 EMPLOYEES WHICH HAVE PROVIDED OVER $411 MILLION OF ECONOMIC BENEFIT IN THE LAST TWO DECADES TO LORAIN COUNTY FROM THE PAYROLL DOLLARS PAID TO EMPLOYEES.-KENDAL AT OBERLIN RESIDENTS, STAFF AND BOARD OF DIRECTORS HAVE VOLUNTEERED 63,490 OF RECORDED SERVICE HOURS ON AN ANNUAL BASIS THAT BENEFIT OVER 80 DIFFERENT NONPROFIT ORGANIZATIONS IN LORAIN COUNTY. THESE VOLUNTEER HOURS HAVE AN ECONOMIC VALUE OF OVER $2.0 MILLION PER YEAR FOR A CUMULATIVE IMPACT OF APPROXIMATELY $24.3 MILLION OVER THE PAST 2 DECADES.-KENDAL AT OBERLIN IS A LEADER IN THE FIELD OF AGING SERVICES AND HAS BEEN INSTRUMENTAL IN SUPPORTING BOTH THE NATIONAL AND STATE LEADERSHIP ACADEMY PROGRAMS THROUGH STAFF LEADERSHIP.-LEADING AGE AND LEADING AGE OHIO (NATIONAL AND STATE AGING SERVICES ORGANIZATION) HAS RECOGNIZED KENDAL AT OBERLIN FOR THE FOLLOWING PROGRAMS THAT ARE CONSIDERED MODEL PRACTICES:1. HUMAN RESOURCES APPROACH OF RECRUITING FROM WITHIN, WHICH HAS SUCCESSFULLY RECRUITED AND RETAINED CURRENT EMPLOYEES;2. THE FALLS AT RISK PROGRAM WHICH HAS REDUCED THE NUMBER OF RESIDENT FALLS AND INJURIES;3. RECEIVED THE PUBLIC TRUST AWARD FOR KENDAL AT OBERLIN'S PUBLICITY PLUGS PROGRAM FOR PROVIDING POSITIVE PUBLICITY FOR OBERLIN SCHOOLS;4. RECOGNIZED FOR ACHIEVING EXCELLENCE IN SURVEY RESULTS;5. RATED AS A 5 STAR RATING BY THE CENTERS FOR MEDICARE AND MEDICAID SERVICES WHICH IS THE HIGHEST RATING POSSIBLE AND PLACES KENDAL AT OBERLIN AMONG THE TOP SKILLED NURSING FACILITIES IN THE STATE OF OHIO;6. LEADINGAGE OHIO AWARDED KENDAL AT OBERLIN'S MOLLY KAVANAUGH THE EXCELLENCE IN COMMUNICATIONS AWARD FOR PROMOTING A POSITIVE IMAGE OF SENIOR SERVICES.-IN ADDITION, KENDAL AT OBERLIN'S RESIDENTS AND STAFF ACTIVELY CONTRIBUTE AND ENGAGE IN A VARIETY OF COMMUNITY EVENTS SUCH AS THE ""WALK TO END ALZHEIMER'S"", UNITED WAY, OBERLIN SCHOOLS AND OBERLIN COMMUNITY SERVICES TO NAME ONLY A FEW.KENDAL AT OBERLIN CONTINUES TO BE COMMITTED TO PROVIDING A HIGH QUALITY PROGRAM IN SERVICE TO THE RESIDENTS, IS A LEADER IN THE FIELD OF AGING SERVICES AND COMMITTED TO PROVIDING OUTREACH TO THE LARGER COMMUNITY, ""TOGETHER, TRANSFORMING THE EXPERIENCE OF AGING"".VOLUNTARY EVENT DISCLOSURE - COVID-19:WITH THE WORLD HEALTH ORGANIZATION'S DECLARATION OF A WORLDWIDE PANDEMIC DUE TO THE SPREAD OF THE CORONAVIRUS (COVID-19), WE KNOW THERE IS AN IMPACT ON GLOBAL MARKETS, SUPPLY CHAINS, BUSINESSES, AND COMMUNITIES. THE IMPACTS ON KENDAL AT OBERLIN HAVE INCLUDED ADDITIONAL COSTS FOR EMERGENCY PREPAREDNESS AND RESPONSE, DISEASE CONTROL AND CONTAINMENT, PERSONNEL SHORTAGES, OR LOSS OF REVENUE DUE TO REDUCTIONS IN CERTAIN REVENUE STREAMS. THE FULL IMPACT OF COVID-19 IS UNKNOWN AND CANNOT BE REASONABLY PREDICTED OR ESTIMATED AT THIS TIME.KENDAL AT OBERLIN HAS DEPLOYED ENHANCED INFECTION CONTROL MEASURES, WHICH HAVE BEEN DEVELOPED FOR PREVIOUS VIRAL OUTBREAKS, AND WE ARE ON HEIGHTENED ALERT AS RECOMMENDATIONS FROM THE CDC AND OTHER PUBLIC HEALTH OFFICIALS EVOLVE TO ADDRESS THE LATEST DEVELOPMENTS. WE ARE IN FREQUENT COMMUNICATION WITH THE KENDAL CORPORATION TO LEVERAGE RESOURCES AND KENDAL AT OBERLIN STAFF MEET DAILY TO PROACTIVELY STRATEGIZE AND PLAN FOR POTENTIAL SCENARIOS. OUR CLINICIANS ARE WORKING WITH LOCAL AND STATE HEALTH DEPARTMENTS TO FOLLOW THEIR GUIDELINES TO MITIGATE THE SPREAD AND IMPACT OF THE VIRUS.MARKETING AND COMMUNICATIONS-RECOGNIZING THE CHALLENGES OF MARKETING UNDER THE CURRENT CIRCUMSTANCES, THE MARKETING PROGRAM IS ADDING TO ITS DIGITAL STRATEGY IN ORDER TO MAINTAIN OCCUPANCY LEVELS.-ADDITIONAL RESOURCES HAVE BEEN PUT IN PLACE TO MAXIMIZE CONNECTIONS WITH WAITLIST AND PROSPECTIVE RESIDENTS VIA TELEPHONE, MAIL, EMAIL, AND VIRTUAL CONTACTS USING FACETIME, ZOOM, WEBEX AND SIMILAR VIDEOTELEPHONY TECHNOLOGIES.-DIGITAL EVENTS HAVE BEEN IMPLEMENTED FOR PROSPECTIVE RESIDENTS RELATED TO GENERAL KNOWLEDGE OF KENDAL AT OBERLIN AND THE FINANCIAL CONSIDERATIONS OF A LIFE PLAN COMMUNITY.-REGULAR UPDATES ON SOCIAL MEDIA SITES WITH VIDEOS, INSPIRATIONAL QUOTES AND ARTICLES, INCLUDING RESIDENTS AND PROSPECTS, TO ENGAGE WITH THE EXTERNAL COMMUNITY.-CREATION OF INFORMATIONAL VIDEOS, INCLUDING TOURS OF AVAILABLE APARTMENTS, RESIDENT TESTIMONIALS AND RESIDENT AND STAFF BIOS.-VIRTUAL SUPPORT GROUPS FOR HEALTH CENTER RESIDENCES' FAMILY MEMBERS, COORDINATED WITH SOCIAL WORKERS, ALLOWING FAMILY MEMBERS TO ASK QUESTIONS AND STAY CONNECTED WITH KENDAL AT OBERLIN.FINANCE-TO RECOVER SOME OF THE ADDITIONAL EXPENSES OF COVID-19, KENDAL AT OBERLIN HAS APPLIED FOR APPROPRIATE GRANTS AND LOANS FROM GOVERNMENT AND OTHER SOURCES.-IN COLLABORATION WITH OTHER ORGANIZATIONS IN THE KENDAL SYSTEM, WE HAVE ENGAGED IN GROUP PURCHASING FOR SUPPLIES AND OTHER PURCHASES TO PROVIDE APPROPRIATE LEVELS OF SERVICE TO OUR RESIDENTS AND A SAFE ENVIRONMENT FOR OUR STAFF.-IN 2023, KENDAL AT OBERLIN'S RATING WAS AFFIRMED BY THE FITCH RATING AGENCY AND RECEIVED AN A+ WITH A STABLE OUTLOOK.FOR INFORMATION ABOUT COVID-19 IN OUR GEOGRAPHIC AREA, PLEASE REFER TO:OHIO DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AT HTTPS://CORONAVIRUS.OHIO.GOV/WPS/PORTAL/GOV/COVID-19 ANDTHE LORAIN COUNTY PUBLIC HEALTH AT HTTPS://WWW.LORAINCOUNTYHEALTH.COM/CORONAVIRUS. FOR KENDAL AT OBERLIN UPDATES, PLEASE REFER TO KAO.KENDAL.ORG/NEWS.Desc
Total Program Service Expenses$19,623,509TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (1)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (1)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying Activities0LobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi EndowmentsYes (1)DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsYes (1)GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsYes (1)GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsYes (1)TaxExemptBondsInd
Invest Tax Exempt Bonds0InvestTaxExemptBondsInd
Escrow Account0EscrowAccountInd
On Behalf Of Issuer0OnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans0EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit Trans0PYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent0BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (1)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntYes (1)RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Transaction With Control EntYes (1)TransactionWithControlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org0TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document74IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Employee300EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit0UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contributions0QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed Of0Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt0SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc0SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members19GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member19IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (1)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (1)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (1)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldOHStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonANN O'MALLEY CFOPersonNm
Phone4407750094PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1600 KENDAL DRIVEAddressLine1Txt
CityOBERLINCityNm
State AbbreviationOHStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP44074ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (27 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtAverage Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
VILLARREAL JOAN
CHAIR3.000.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
STECKER DOMINIQUE
VICE CHAIR3.000.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
SCHULTZ LIZ
2ND VICE CHAIR3.000.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
BENJAMIN BARB
SECRETARY3.000.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
SOUTHWORTH JACK
TREASURER3.000.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
CHUANG WUU-SHUNG
BOARD MEMBER2.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
CONWAY ROLLIN
BOARD MEMBER2.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
DERSTINE ANDRIA
BOARD MEMBER2.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
KONKOLY TOM
BOARD MEMBER2.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MANDEREN BETSY
BOARD MEMBER2.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MCIVER ANNETTE
BOARD MEMBER2.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MONCHEIN ROBERT
BOARD MEMBER2.002.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MOORE SCOTT
BOARD MEMBER2.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
OLIN GARY
BOARD MEMBER2.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
SHIFERAW MICHAEL
BOARD MEMBER2.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
STORER DAN
BOARD MEMBER2.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
STYER DAN
BOARD MEMBER2.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
SUTHERLAND TRACY
BOARD MEMBER2.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
VERHOSKE CARMEN
BOARD MEMBER2.002.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
THOMAS BARBARA
CHIEF EXEUCTIVE OFFICER50.005.00Yes (X)$375,802$0$19,673
O'MALLEY ANN
CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER50.005.00Yes (X)$241,534$0$9,145
TERRELL STACY
CHIEF HEALTH SERVICES OFFI50.003.00Yes (X)$162,744$0$32,349
MERLENO TONI
DIRECTOR OF HR & OPER. SER50.000.00$144,144$0$14,264Yes (X)
PETSAS CHRYSTN
NURSE PRACTITIONER50.000.00$119,228$0$30,962Yes (X)
CARRION REYNALDO
DIRECTOR OF FACILITY SERVI50.000.00$123,301$0$13,601Yes (X)
MILLER JUDITH
DIRECTOR OF IT / ACCOUNTING50.000.00$115,480$0$16,548Yes (X)
LEEK KIM
DIRECTOR OF NURSING50.000.00$115,289$0$4,494Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$1,397,522TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$141,036TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K8IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
MAXIM HEALTHCARE SERVICES INC
12558 COLLECTIONS CTR DRCHICAGOIL60693MEDICAL STAFFING CO$404,787
PULLIN PAINTING & REMODELING
766 SHADYLAWN DRIVEAMHERSTOH44001PAINTING CONTRACTOR$384,244
WALLACE MANAGEMENT CORP
PO BOX 69268BALTIMOREMD21264THERAPY PROVIDER$264,744
ROCKWOOD FLOORING LLC
12077 LEAVITT ROADOBERLINOH44074FLOORING COMPANY$232,486
HITI DEFRANCESCO AND SIEBOLD INC
1939 W 25TH STREET SUITE 300CLEVELANDOH44113ARCHITECTURE FIRM$222,425
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K5CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Related Organizations$82,971RelatedOrganizationsAmt
All Other Contributions$529,613AllOtherContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$612,584TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (5 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
RESIDENT SERVICE FEES623990$14,824,501$14,824,501
HEALTH CENTER FEES623990$4,408,017$4,408,017
AMORTIZATION OF DEFERRED FEES623990$4,159,286$4,159,286
EARLY LEARNING CENTER623990$98,507$98,507
OTHER REVENUE623990$95,369$95,369
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$23,585,680TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$699,717TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$699,717ExclusionAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$1,145RealAmt

Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$0RealAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$1,145RealAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$1,145TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$1,145ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$2,117,994SecuritiesAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$0SecuritiesAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$2,117,994SecuritiesAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$2,117,994TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$2,117,994ExclusionAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtExclusionExclusionAmt
PENSION TERMINATION900099-$513,146-$513,146
CONVERSION OF NOTE RECEIVABLE900099-$650,000-$650,000
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total-$1,163,146OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$25,853,974TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$23,585,680RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$1,655,710ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$100,000TotalAmt
Program Services$100,000ProgramServicesAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$219,206TotalAmt
Program Services$219,206ProgramServicesAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$841,246TotalAmt
Management And General$841,246ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$8,322,834TotalAmt
Program Services$7,324,094ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$998,740ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$173,351TotalAmt
Program Services$152,549ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$20,802ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,734,952TotalAmt
Program Services$1,526,758ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$208,194ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$640,430TotalAmt
Program Services$505,940ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$134,490ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$168,147TotalAmt
Management And General$168,147ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$56,877TotalAmt
Management And General$56,877ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Prof Fundraising FeesForServicesProfFundraising

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$8,272TotalAmt
Fundraising$8,272FundraisingAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$199,350TotalAmt
Management And General$199,350ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$681,524TotalAmt
Program Services$596,578ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$84,946ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$372,226TotalAmt
Program Services$308,948ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$63,278ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$109,761TotalAmt
Program Services$91,102ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$18,659ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$393,968TotalAmt
Program Services$326,993ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$66,975ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,097,827TotalAmt
Program Services$2,055,870ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$41,957ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$53,842TotalAmt
Program Services$47,381ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$6,461ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$32,577TotalAmt
Program Services$28,668ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$3,909ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$368,269TotalAmt
Management And General$368,269ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Payments To Affiliates PaymentsToAffiliatesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$694,589TotalAmt
Management And General$694,589ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,117,140TotalAmt
Program Services$3,011,904ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$105,236ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$83,170TotalAmt
Program Services$83,170ProgramServicesAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmt
FOOD AND DINING$1,320,502$1,320,502
MAINTENANCE AND REPAIR$1,039,073$1,018,292$20,781
MEDICAL SUPPLIES$783,419$783,419
COMMUNITY OUTREACH$4,685$4,685

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$162,623TotalAmt
Program Services$117,450ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$45,173ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$23,779,860TotalAmt
Program Services$19,623,509ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$4,148,079ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$8,272FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$809,473BOYAmt
EOY$271,796EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$606,899BOYAmt
EOY$666,807EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$750EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,655,192BOYAmt
EOY$1,697,035EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$231,022BOYAmt
EOY$276,154EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$233,115BOYAmt
EOY$330,278EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$102,294,247LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$48,476,979LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$53,211,419BOYAmt
EOY$53,817,268EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$60,608,752BOYAmt
EOY$64,697,251EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,044,272BOYAmt
EOY$954,505EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,393,713BOYAmt
EOY$1,486,765EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$119,793,857BOYAmt
EOY$124,198,609EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,166,065BOYAmt
EOY$2,415,803EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$46,518,374BOYAmt
EOY$46,741,871EOYAmt

Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$15,168,919BOYAmt
EOY$13,644,739EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$674,130BOYAmt
EOY$738,193EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$64,527,488BOYAmt
EOY$63,540,606EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows FASB117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind

No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$48,535,933BOYAmt
EOY$53,822,622EOYAmt

Donor Restriction Net Assets DonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$6,730,436BOYAmt
EOY$6,835,381EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$55,266,369BOYAmt
EOY$60,658,003EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$119,793,857BOYAmt
EOY$124,198,609EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$2,074,114ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$3,793,254NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets-$475,734OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Publicly Supported Org509a2Yes (X)PubliclySupportedOrg509a2Ind

Gifts Grants Contris Rcvd509 GiftsGrantsContrisRcvd509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$215,171CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$1,575,058CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$841,951CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$1,112,880CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$612,584CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$4,357,644TotalAmt

Gross Receipts Admissions GrossReceiptsAdmissionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$20,464,853CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$21,562,702CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$23,748,008CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$22,250,921CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$23,585,680CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$111,612,164TotalAmt

Total509 Total509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$20,680,024CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$23,137,760CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$24,589,959CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$23,363,801CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$24,198,264CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$115,969,808TotalAmt

Amounts Rcvd Dsqlfy Person AmountsRcvdDsqlfyPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$139,403CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$1,193,693CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$336,649CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$907,217CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$300,321CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$2,877,283TotalAmt

Substantial Contributors Amt SubstantialContributorsAmtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Subst And Dsqlfy Prsns Tot SubstAndDsqlfyPrsnsTotGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$139,403CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$1,193,693CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$336,649CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$907,217CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$300,321CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$2,877,283TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Support Total509$113,092,525PublicSupportTotal509Amt

Gross Investment Income509 GrossInvestmentIncome509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$1,416,078CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$1,156,306CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$1,446,131CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$1,663,561CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$700,862CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$6,382,938TotalAmt

Investment Income And UBTI InvestmentIncomeAndUBTIGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$1,416,078CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$1,156,306CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$1,446,131CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$1,663,561CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$700,862CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$6,382,938TotalAmt

Other Income509 OtherIncome509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year-$1,163,146CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total-$1,163,146TotalAmt

Total Support Calendar Year TotalSupportCalendarYearGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$22,096,102CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$24,294,066CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$26,036,090CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$25,027,362CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$23,735,980CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$121,189,600TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Support CY5090.93320PublicSupportCY509Pct
Public Support PY5090.91810PublicSupportPY509Pct
Investment Income CY0.05270InvestmentIncomeCYPct
Investment Income PY0.05900InvestmentIncomePYPct
Thirty Thr Pct Suprt Tests CY509Yes (X)ThirtyThrPctSuprtTestsCY509Ind

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$1,052,017BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$550ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$178,460InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$9,203OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$1,221,824EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$1,322,295BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$2,775ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses-$263,384InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$9,669OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$1,052,017EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$1,131,577BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$37,665ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$162,710InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$9,657OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$1,322,295EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$491,944BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$504,913ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$138,922InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$4,202OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$1,131,577EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$402,676BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$18,969ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$70,299InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
End Year Balance$491,944EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Board Designated Balance EOY0.26000BoardDesignatedBalanceEOYPct
Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY0.74000PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Term Endowment Balance EOY0.00000TermEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Endowments Held Unrelated Org0EndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related Org0EndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$1,928,801OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$1,928,801BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$88,294,756OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$42,551,158DepreciationAmt
Book Value$45,743,598BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$12,070,690OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$5,925,821DepreciationAmt
Book Value$6,144,869BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$53,817,268TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (3 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
ANNUITY OBLIGATIONS$518,968
DEPOSITS FROM PROSPECTIVE RESIDENTS$190,000
DUE TO AFFILIATE$29,225
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$738,193TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$28,752,938TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$3,793,254NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Other Revenue-$694,940OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported$3,098,314RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$25,654,624RevenueSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld$199,350InvestmentExpensesNotIncldAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$199,350RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$25,853,974TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$23,361,304TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Expenses Included-$219,206OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported-$219,206ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$23,580,510ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld2$199,350InvestmentExpensesNotIncld2Amt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$199,350ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$23,779,860TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (4 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART V, LINE 4:THE PURPOSE OF THIS ENDOWMENT FUND IS TO PROVIDE SUBSIDY FOR THE RESIDENTS OF KENDAL AT OBERLIN WHO ARE NOT ABLE TO CONTINUE TO PAY THEIR MONTHLY FEE AS WELL AS TO FUND TRAINING FOR STAFF AND OTHER SPECIAL PURPOSE NEEDS.
PART X, LINE 2:THE COMMUNITY HAS BEEN GRANTED EXEMPT STATUS RELATIVE TO FEDERAL AND STATE CORPORATE INCOME TAXES UNDER SECTION 501(C)(3) OF THE INTERNAL REVENUE CODE AND APPLICABLE STATE CODES. THE COMMUNITY FOLLOWS THE GUIDANCE IN THE INCOME TAX STANDARD REGARDING THE RECOGNITION AND MEASUREMENT OF UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS, IF ANY. THE GUIDANCE CLARIFIES THE ACCOUNTING FOR UNCERTAINTY IN INCOME TAXES RECOGNIZED IN AN ENTITY'S FINANCIAL STATEMENTS. THE GUIDANCE FURTHER PRESCRIBES RECOGNITION AND MEASUREMENT OF TAX POSITIONS TAKEN OR EXPECTED TO BE TAKEN ON A TAX RETURN THAT ARE NOT CERTAIN TO BE REALIZED. THE APPLICATION OF THIS STANDARD HAS NO IMPACT ON THE COMMUNITY'S FINANCIAL STATEMENTS.
PART XI, LINE 2D - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:CHANGE IN VALUE OF CHARITABLE REMAINDER UNITRUSTS 10,638. CHANGE IN VALUE OF ANNUITY OBLIGATIONS -129,790. CHANGE IN VALUE OF INTEREST RATE SWAP AGREEMENT -356,582. RESIDENT ASSISTANCE GRANTS -219,206.
PART XII, LINE 2D - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:RESIDENT ASSISTANCE GRANTS -219,206.

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (1)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Recipient Table RecipientTable

Recipient Business Name RecipientBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1KENDAL NORTHERN OHIOBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1600 KENDAL DRIVEAddressLine1Txt
CityOBERLINCityNm
State AbbreviationOHStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP44074ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Recipient EIN200547957RecipientEIN
IRC Section501(C)(3)IRCSectionDesc
Cash Grant$0CashGrantAmt
Non Cash Assistance$100,000NonCashAssistanceAmt
Purpose Of GrantSUPPORT OF SPECIAL MEMBERSHIP AGREEMENT AND OTHER KNO OUTREACH INITIATIVESPurposeOfGrantTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total501c3 Org1Total501c3OrgCnt
Total Other Org0TotalOtherOrgCnt

Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant TypeRESIDENT FINANCIAL SUPPORTGrantTypeTxt
Recipient10RecipientCnt
Cash Grant$0CashGrantAmt
Non Cash Assistance$219,206NonCashAssistanceAmt
Valuation Method UsedN/AValuationMethodUsedDesc
Non Cash AssistanceTHE PRIMARY PURPOSE OF THE RESIDENT ASSISTANCE FUND IS TO PROVIDE FINANCIAL SUPPORT FOR THOSE RESIDENTS WHO ARE UNABLE TO PAY THEIR KENDAL MONTHLY FEE OR OTHER FINANCIAL NEEDS THAT MAY OCCUR. THE RESIDENT ASSISTANCE FUND WAS ESTABLISHED TO PROVIDE MONTHLY FEE ASSISTANCE ON GRANT NEEDS TO RESIDENTS WHO HAVE OUTLIVED THEIR RESOURCES AND ARE EXPERIENCING FINANCIAL DIFFICULTIES THROUGH NO FAULT OF THEIR OWN.NonCashAssistanceDesc

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART I, LINE 2:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationKENDAL AT OBERLIN IS ABLE TO ENSURE THE PROPER USE OF THE SUPPORT TO KENDAL NORTHERN OHIO THROUGH THEIR HISTORIC AND CONTINUING CLOSE RELATIONSHIP, WHICH INCLUDES, BUT IS NOT LIMITED TO SOME OVERLAPPING BOARD MEMBERS. THE RESIDENT FINANCIAL SUPPORT IS VETTED PRIOR TO THEIR RELEASE TO ENSURE PROPER USE OF THE FUNDS FOR THEIR INTENDED PURPOSE.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form990 Of Other OrganizationsYes (X)Form990OfOtherOrganizationsInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org0CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs0CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org0CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs0CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed PaymentsYes (1)AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract Exception0InitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (5 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
THOMAS BARBARA
CHIEF EXEUCTIVE OFFICER$352,235$0$23,567$0$0$0$9,362$0$10,311$0$395,475$0$0$0
O'MALLEY ANN
CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER$235,963$0$5,571$0$0$0$7,151$0$1,994$0$250,679$0$0$0
TERRELL STACY
CHIEF HEALTH SERVICES OFFI$158,324$0$4,420$0$0$0$5,087$0$27,262$0$195,093$0$0$0
MERLENO TONI
DIRECTOR OF HR & OPER. SER$140,694$0$3,450$0$0$0$4,304$0$9,960$0$158,408$0$0$0
PETSAS CHRYSTN
NURSE PRACTITIONER$115,944$0$3,284$0$0$0$3,815$0$27,147$0$150,190$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART I, LINE 7FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationBONUSES ARE PAID OUT BASED ON PERFORMANCE EVALUATIONS, OVERALL FINANCIAL STATUS OF THE ORGANIZATION, AND SPECIFIC GOALS ACHIEVED BY EACH EMPLOYEE DURING THE YEAR. THE AMOUNT OF THE FINANCIAL AWARD IS EVALUATED AND DETERMINED BY THE BOARD, WHO ALSO UTILIZES COMPARABILITY DATA TO ENSURE OVERALL COMPENSATION IS REASONABLE WHEN COMPARED TO SIMILAR POSITIONS AS SIMILAR ORGANIZATIONS IN THE SAME GEOGRAPHIC REGION. THE FOLLOWING INDIVIDUALS LISTED ON FORM 990, PART VII, SECTION A RECEIVED A BONUS, THE BONUS WAS INCLUDED IN THEIR 2023 W-2 AND IS INCLUDED ON SCHEDULE J, PART II, COLUMN B(II) WHEN APPLICABLE: BARBARA THOMAS $23,567 ANN O'MALLEY $5,571 STACY TERRELL $4,420 TONI MERLENO $3,450 CHRYSTN PETSAS $3,284 REYNALDO CARRION $2,568 JUDITH MILLER $2,494 KIM LEEK $1,475ExplanationTxt

Schedule K IRS990ScheduleK

Tax Exempt Bonds Issues TaxExemptBondsIssuesGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdBond Issuer EINBondIssuerEINBond IssuedBondIssuedDtIssue PriceIssuePriceAmtPurposePurposeDescDefeasedDefeasedIndOn Behalf Of IssuerOnBehalfOfIssuerIndPool FinancingPoolFinancingInd
LORAIN COUNTY PORT AUTHORITY
A3001314272018-07-17$5,675,000CURRENT REFUNDING OF 2013 SERIES B BONDS000
LORAIN COUNTY PORT AUTHORITY
B3001314272021-07-29$13,825,000REFINANCE THE 2013A BONDS TO LOWER THE COST OF CAPITAL000

Tax Exempt Bonds Proceeds TaxExemptBondsProceedsGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdRetiredRetiredAmtTotal ProceedsTotalProceedsAmtOther Spent ProceedsOtherSpentProceedsAmtSubstantial CompletionSubstantialCompletionYrRefunding Tax Exempt BondsRefundingTaxExemptBondsIndRefunding Taxable BondsRefundingTaxableBondsIndFinal Allocation MadeFinalAllocationMadeIndAdequate Books And Rec MaintAdequateBooksAndRecMaintIndIssuance Costs From ProceedsIssuanceCostsFromProceedsAmt
A$1,397,000$5,675,000$5,675,0002018Yes (1)0Yes (1)Yes (1)
B$3,500,000$13,825,000$13,513,1672021Yes (1)0Yes (1)Yes (1)$311,833

Tax Exempt Bonds Private Bus Use TaxExemptBondsPrivateBusUseGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdOwning Bond Financed PropertyOwningBondFinancedPropertyIndAny Lease ArrangementsAnyLeaseArrangementsIndMgmt Contract Bond Fincd PropMgmtContractBondFincdPropIndAny Research AgreementsAnyResearchAgreementsIndBond Iss Meet Prvt Sec Pymt TestBondIssMeetPrvtSecPymtTestIndChange In Use Bond Financed PropChangeInUseBondFinancedPropIndProcs Nonqualified Bond RemdtdProcsNonqualifiedBondRemdtdIndPrivate Bus Concerning UBIPrivateBusConcerningUBIPctTotal Private Business UseTotalPrivateBusinessUsePct
A000000Yes (1)
B00000000.050000.05000

Tax Exempt Bonds Arbitrage TaxExemptBondsArbitrageGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdForm8038 T FiledForm8038TFiledIndRebate Not Due YetRebateNotDueYetIndException To RebateExceptionToRebateIndNo Rebate DueNoRebateDueIndVariable Rate IssueVariableRateIssueIndHedge Identified In Bks And RecHedgeIdentifiedInBksAndRecIndGross Proceeds Invested In GICGrossProceedsInvestedInGICIndGross Proceeds InvestedGrossProceedsInvestedIndWritten Proc To Monitor ReqsWrittenProcToMonitorReqsIndTerm Of HedgeTermOfHedgePctSuperintegrated HedgeSuperintegratedHedgeIndHedge TerminatedHedgeTerminatedInd
(no name)
A000Yes (1)Yes (1)000Yes (1)
HUNTINGTON BANK
B000Yes (1)Yes (1)Yes (1)00Yes (1)9.50000000000000

Procedures Corrective Action ProceduresCorrectiveActionGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdProcedures Corrective ActionProceduresCorrectiveActionInd
AYes (1)
BYes (1)

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceDATE REBATE COMPUTATION PERFORMEDFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationISSUER NAME: LORAIN COUNTY PORT AUTHORITY DATE THE REBATE COMPUTATION WAS PERFORMED: 05/09/2018ExplanationTxt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (9 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 1ATHE COMMITTEES WITH AUTHORITY TO ACT ON BEHALF OF THE BOARD CONSIST OF THE EXECUTIVE AND ALL STANDING COMMITTEES. EACH COMMITTEE IS REQUIRED TO PROVIDE THEIR CONTEMPORANEOUS MINUTES TO THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS AS PART OF THE BOARD'S CONSENT AGENDA.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 6THE KENDAL CORPORATION, A 501(C)(3) PUBLIC CHARITY, IS CONSIDERED THE SOLE MEMBER BASED ON THE INTERNAL REVENUE SERVICE DEFINITION OF MEMBER.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7ATHE SELECTION OF ANY MEMBER OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS MUST BE APPROVED BY THE KENDAL CORPORATION.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7BTHE BOARD MUST SEEK AND OBTAIN APPROVAL FROM THE KENDAL CORPORATION PRIOR TO UNDERTAKING ANY OF THE FOLLOWING: (1) ANY CHANGE IN CORPORATE PURPOSES; (2) INCURRING OF INDEBTEDNESS WITH A PRINCIPAL AMOUNT OVER A SPECIFIED AMOUNT; (3) THE MANNER IN WHICH THE CORPORATION USES THE NAME "KENDAL" (4) ANY MATERIAL CHANGE IN THE CONTRACTS WITH RESIDENTS/MEMBERS; (5) PURCHASE, SALE, LEASE, ENCUMBRANCE OR OTHER DISPOSITION OF ANY REAL ESTATE OR IMPROVEMENTS OVER A SPECIFIED VALUE; (6) DISSOLUTION, DIVISION, OR ACQUISITION BY OR OF ANOTHER ENTITY; AND (7) CERTAIN AMENDMENT TO THE ARTICLES OF INCORPORATION AND/OR BYLAWS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11BTHE FORM 990 IS PREPARED BY AN INDEPENDENT ACCOUNTING FIRM. THE GOVERNANCE COMMITTEE HAS INSTRUCTED THE CHAIR OF THE BOARD AND THE TREASURER TO COMPLETE A DETAILED REVIEW AND APPROVAL OF THE FORM 990 PRIOR TO SUBMITTING TO THE FULL BOARD OF DIRECTORS. AFTER THIS DETAIL REVIEW, A DRAFT FORM 990 IS DISTRIBUTED TO KENDAL AT OBERLIN'S BOARD OF DIRECTORS FOR REVIEW AND COMMENT PRIOR TO THE COMPLETION OF THE FINAL ELECTRONIC FILING OF THE FORM 990.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12CON AN ANNUAL BASIS, THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS AND KEY STAFF (MANAGEMENT AND SUPERVISORS) OF THE ORGANIZATION COMPLETE A CONFLICT OF INTEREST STATEMENT. THIS INFORMATION IS SUMMARIZED AND REVIEWED BY THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS FOR AWARENESS. THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS DETERMINES IF A POTENTIAL CONFLICT IS AN ACTUAL CONFLICT. ALL KNOWN CONFLICTS ARE EVALUATED AGAIN IF THEY RELATE TO A SPECIFIC TRANSACTION THAT IS BEING CONSIDERED. IF A CONFLICT WERE TO ARISE, THE PERSON WHO HAS THE CONFLICT WOULD NOT BE INVOLVED WITH THE DISCUSSIONS OR DECISION MAKING PROCESS. THE GOVERNANCE COMMITTEE OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS RECEIVES AND REVIEWS A SUMMARY OF THE COMPLETED CONFLICT OF INTEREST DISCLOSURES. AT EACH BOARD MEETING THE BOARD CHAIR REMINDS EVERYONE TO CONSIDER ANY POTENTIAL CONFLICTS OF INTEREST AND ABSTAIN FROM THAT PARTICULAR DECISION MAKING PROCESS IF A CONFLICT IS PRESENT.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15THE CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER'S COMPENSATION IS ESTABLISHED BY THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS. THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS UTILIZES INDEPENDENT SALARY SURVEYS FROM THE NATIONAL INDUSTRY ASSOCIATION, THE STATE INDUSTRY ASSOCIATION AND A LOCAL SALARY SURVEY. ADDITIONAL INFORMATION AND SUPPORT IS ALSO OBTAINED FROM THE KENDAL CORPORATION. THIS INFORMATION IS REVIEWED WITH THE CHAIR OF THE BOARD ON AN ANNUAL BASIS. THIS PROCESS WAS LAST COMPLETED IN 2023. COMPENSATION OF OTHER OFFICERS ALSO UTILIZES INDEPENDENT SALARY SURVEYS FROM NATIONAL, STATE AND LOCAL SOURCES, IN CONJUNCTION WITH THE OVERALL PERFORMANCE REVIEW OF THE EMPLOYEE. THIS INFORMATION IS REVIEWED WITH THE CHAIR OF THE BOARD ON AN ANNUAL BASIS. THIS PROCESS WAS LAST COMPLETED IN 2023.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19KENDAL AT OBERLIN MAKES ITS GOVERNING DOCUMENTS, CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY, AND FINANCIAL STATEMENTS AVAILABLE TO THE PUBLIC UPON REQUEST. THE ANNUAL DISCLOSURE STATEMENT INCLUDES THE AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS AND RELATED FOOTNOTES. THIS IS PROVIDED TO THE CURRENT RESIDENTS OF KENDAL AT OBERLIN, THE PRIORITY WAIT LIST MEMBERS OF KENDAL AT OBERLIN AND ANY REQUEST OBTAINED THROUGHOUT THE YEAR.
FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9:CHANGE IN VALUE OF CHARITABLE REMAINDER UNITRUSTS 10,638. CHANGE IN VALUE OF ANNUITY OBLIGATIONS -129,790. CHANGE IN VALUE OF INTEREST RATE SWAP AGREEMENT -356,582.

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp (17 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdEINEINPrimary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxtLegal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCdExempt Code SectionExemptCodeSectionTxtPublic Charity StatusPublicCharityStatusTxtDirect Controlling NADirectControllingNACdControlled OrganizationControlledOrganizationIndBusiness Name Line1DirectControllingEntityName/BusinessNameLine1Txt
THE KENDAL CORPORATION
591 COLLABORATION WAY SUITE 603NEWARKDE19017232688382SUPPORTING ORGANIZATION THAT PROVIDES MANAGEMENT SUPPORT AND SERVICESDE501(C)(3)LINE 12C, III-FIN/A0
KENDAL AGING
591 COLLABORATION WAY SUITE 603NEWARKDE19017823361136PROVIDE SUPPORTING SERVICES IN THE OPERATION OF KENDAL AT SONOMADE501(C)(3)LINE 12B, II0THE KENDAL CORPORATION
KENDAL CHARITABLE FUNDS
591 COLLABORATION WAY SUITE 603NEWARKDE19017232626425MANAGE CHARITABLE CONTRIBUTIONSDE501(C)(3)LINE 12B, II OR LINE0THE KENDAL CORPORATION
KENDAL NEW YORK
1010 KENDAL WAYSLEEPY HOLLOWNY10591061656576PROVIDE SUPPORTING SERVICES IN OPERATION OF KENDAL ON HUDSON AND ITHACANY501(C)(3)LINE 12A, I0THE KENDAL CORPORATION
BARCLAY FRIENDS
700 N FRANKLIN STREETWEST CHESTERPA19380232088476OPERATE A CONTINUING CARE RETIREMENT COMMUNITYPA501(C)(3)LINE 10N/A0
CHANDLER HALL HEALTH SERVICES INC
99 BARCLAY STREETNEWTOWNPA18940232365124OPERATE A CONTINUING CARE RETIREMENT COMMUNITYPA501(C)(3)LINE 10N/A0
COLLINGTON EPISCOPAL LIFECARE COMMUNITY INC
10450 LOTTSFORD ROADMITCHELLVILLEMD20721521281156OPERATE A CONTINUING CARE RETIREMENT COMMUNITYMD501(C)(3)LINE 10N/A0
KENDAL AT HANOVER
67 CUMMINGS ROADHANOVERNH03755020519490OPERATE A CONTINUING CARE RETIREMENT COMMUNITYNH501(C)(3)LINE 10N/A0
KENDAL AT HOME
27519 DETROIT ROADWESTLAKEOH44145200548053OPERATE A CONTINUING CARE RETIREMENT COMMUNITY WITHOUT WALLSOH501(C)(3)LINE 10N/A0
KENDAL AT ITHACA
2230 NORTH TRIPHAMMER ROADITHACANY14850521787487OPERATE A CONTINUING CARE RETIREMENT COMMUNITYNY501(C)(3)LINE 10N/A0
KENDAL AT SONOMA
1801 BOXHEART DRIVEHEALDSBURGCA95448814896082OPERATE A CONTINUING CARE RETIREMENT COMMUNITYCA501(C)(3)LINE 10N/A0
KENDAL ON HUDSON
1010 KENDAL WAYSLEEPY HOLLOWNY10591133971396OPERATE A CONTINUING CARE RETIREMENT COMMUNITYNY501(C)(3)LINE 10N/A0
KENDAL-CROSSLANDS COMMUNITIES
1107 E BALTIMORE PIKE PO BOX 100KENNETT SQUAREPA19348231906212OPERATE A CONTINUING CARE RETIREMENT COMMUNITYPA501(C)(3)LINE 10N/A0
LEXINGTON RETIREMENT COMMUNITY INC
160 KENDAL DRIVELEXINGTONVA24450541795871OPERATE A CONTINUING CARE RETIREMENT COMMUNITYVA501(C)(3)LINE 10N/A0
THE ADMIRAL AT THE LAKE
929 WEST FOSTER AVENUECHICAGOIL60640362171730OPERATE A CONTINUING CARE RETIREMENT COMMUNITYIL501(C)(3)LINE 10N/A0
THE LATHROP COMMUNITIES INC
100 BASSETT BROOK DRIVEEASTHAMPTONMA01027042996627OPERATES A 55 & OVER COMMUNITYMA501(C)(3)LINE 10N/A0
KENDAL NORTHERN OHIO
600 KENDAL DRIVEOBERLINOH44074200547957SUPPORTING ORGANIZATION FOR KENDAL AT OBERLIN AND KENDAL COMMUNITY OUTREACHOH501(C)(3)LINE 12C, III-FIYes (1)KENDAL AT OBERLIN
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts Rylts0ReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth OrgYes (1)GiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth OrgYes (1)GiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other OrgYes (1)LoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth OrgYes (1)LoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Div Related Organization0DivRelatedOrganizationInd
Asset Sale To Other Org0AssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other Org0AssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset Exchange0AssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth Org0RentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth Org0RentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth OrgYes (1)PerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other OrgYes (1)PerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of FacilitiesYes (1)SharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees SharingYes (1)PaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other OrgYes (1)ReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other OrgYes (1)ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other OrgYes (1)TransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other Org0TransferFromOtherOrgInd

Transactions Related Org TransactionsRelatedOrgGrp (3 entries)

Transaction TypeTransactionTypeTxtInvolvedInvolvedAmtMethod Of Amount DeterminationMethodOfAmountDeterminationTxt
KENDAL NORTHERN OHIO
B$100,000CASH VALUE
KENDAL NORTHERN OHIO
D$650,000BOOK VALUE
KENDAL NORTHERN OHIO
D$1,948,486BOOK VALUE