UNITED WAY OF NORTHEAST FLORIDA INC: Form 990, tax year 2023
View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗
- Organization
- UNITED WAY OF NORTHEAST FLORIDA INC (EIN 59-0637825)
- Tax period
- 2023-07-01 to 2024-06-30
- Filed
- 2025-04-30
- IRS object ID
- 202501209349301035
- Schema version
- 2023v6.0
- Source
- Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica
Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.
Return header ReturnHeader
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return | 2025-04-30T08:58:11+00:00 | ReturnTs |
| Tax Period End | 2024-06-30 | TaxPeriodEndDt |
Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Firm EIN | 440160260 | PreparerFirmEIN |
Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | Forvis Mazars LLP | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 500 Ridgefield Court | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | Asheville | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | NC | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 28806 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return Type | 990 | ReturnTypeCd |
| Tax Period Begin | 2023-07-01 | TaxPeriodBeginDt |
Filer Filer
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EIN | 590637825 | EIN |
Business Name BusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | UNITED WAY OF NORTHEAST FLORIDA INC | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Control | UNIT | BusinessNameControlTxt |
| Phone | 9043903200 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 40 East Adams Street Suite 310 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | Jacksonville | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | FL | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 32202 | ZIPCd |
Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person | Melanie Patz | PersonNm |
| Person Title | President and CEO | PersonTitleTxt |
| Phone | 9043903200 | PhoneNum |
| Signature | 2025-04-30 | SignatureDt |
| Discuss With Paid Preparer | Yes (true) | DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd |
Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Person | Amy Bibby | PreparerPersonNm |
| PTIN | P00445891 | PTIN |
| Phone | 8282542254 | PhoneNum |
| Preparation | 2025-04-25 | PreparationDt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Tax | 2023 | TaxYr |
| Build TS | 2025-03-06 01:10:19Z | BuildTS |
Form 990 IRS990
Principal Ofcr Business Name PrincipalOfcrBusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | Melanie Patz | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 40 East Adams Street Suite 310 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | Jacksonville | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | FL | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 32202 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Gross Receipts | $25,453,183 | GrossReceiptsAmt |
| Group Return For Affiliates | false | GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd |
| Organization501c3 | Yes (X) | Organization501c3Ind |
| Website Address | www.unitedwaynefl.org | WebsiteAddressTxt |
| Type Of Organization Corp | Yes (X) | TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd |
| Formation | 1964 | FormationYr |
| Legal Domicile State | FL | LegalDomicileStateCd |
| Activity Or Mission | United Way envisions a community of opportunity where everyone has hope and can reach their full potential. United Way's mission is to solve Northeast Florida's toughest challenges by connecting people, resources and ideas. | ActivityOrMissionDesc |
| Voting Members Governing Body | 19 | VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt |
| Voting Members Independent | 19 | VotingMembersIndependentCnt |
| Total Employee | 100 | TotalEmployeeCnt |
| Total Volunteers | 3554 | TotalVolunteersCnt |
| Total Gross UBI | $0 | TotalGrossUBIAmt |
| Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm | $0 | NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt |
| PY Contributions Grants | $41,184,019 | PYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| CY Contributions Grants | $23,035,036 | CYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| PY Program Service Revenue | $270 | PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| CY Program Service Revenue | $726 | CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| PY Investment Income | $944,627 | PYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| CY Investment Income | $1,623,923 | CYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| PY Other Revenue | $251,332 | PYOtherRevenueAmt |
| CY Other Revenue | $793,498 | CYOtherRevenueAmt |
| PY Total Revenue | $42,380,248 | PYTotalRevenueAmt |
| CY Total Revenue | $25,453,183 | CYTotalRevenueAmt |
| PY Grants And Similar Paid | $18,860,859 | PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| CY Grants And Similar Paid | $17,743,799 | CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| PY Benefits Paid To Members | $0 | PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| CY Benefits Paid To Members | $0 | CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $5,889,746 | PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $5,815,451 | CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Fundraising Expense | $764,166 | CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt |
| PY Other Expenses | $4,283,695 | PYOtherExpensesAmt |
| CY Other Expenses | $4,694,162 | CYOtherExpensesAmt |
| PY Total Expenses | $29,034,300 | PYTotalExpensesAmt |
| CY Total Expenses | $28,253,412 | CYTotalExpensesAmt |
| PY Revenues Less Expenses | $13,345,948 | PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| CY Revenues Less Expenses | -$2,800,229 | CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| Total Assets BOY | $58,770,941 | TotalAssetsBOYAmt |
| Total Assets EOY | $59,555,774 | TotalAssetsEOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities BOY | $8,806,702 | TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities EOY | $8,378,320 | TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY | $49,964,239 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY | $51,177,454 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt |
| Mission | United Way envisions a community of opportunity where everyone has hope and can reach their full potential. United Way's mission is to solve Northeast Florida's toughest challenges by connecting people, resources and ideas. | MissionDesc |
| Significant New Program Srvc | false | SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd |
| Significant Change | false | SignificantChangeInd |
| Expense | $24,240,798 | ExpenseAmt |
| Grant | $17,743,799 | GrantAmt |
| Revenue | $726 | RevenueAmt |
| Desc | United Way provides and funds programs in Northeast Florida, that deliver vital services to the community that create a community of opportunity where everyone has hope and can reach their full potential. This begins with improving economic mobility for all Northeast Florida residents. We do this by investing in programs and initiatives that make it easier for people to break the cycle of poverty and live a better life. CREATING OPPORTUNITY by addressing: Basic Needs, Financial Well Being and Community Resiliency. Basic Needs Provide families with access to nutritious food, stable housing and mental health support during times of crisis. Financial Well-Being Help individuals obtain a quality education, steady employment and assets to weather financial challenges; and Community Resiliency breaking down barriers to success for individuals and families living below the ALICE threshold. | Desc |
| Total Program Service Expenses | $24,240,798 | TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt |
| Described In Section501c3 | Yes (true) | DescribedInSection501c3Ind |
| Schedule B Required | Yes (true) | ScheduleBRequiredInd |
| Political Campaign Acty | false | PoliticalCampaignActyInd |
| Lobbying Activities | false | LobbyingActivitiesInd |
| Donor Advised Fund | false | DonorAdvisedFundInd |
| Conservation Easements | false | ConservationEasementsInd |
| Collections Of Art | false | CollectionsOfArtInd |
| Credit Counseling | false | CreditCounselingInd |
| Donor Rstr Or Quasi Endowments | Yes (true) | DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd |
| Report Land Building Equipment | Yes (true) | ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd |
| Report Investments Other Sec | false | ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd |
| Report Program Related Invst | false | ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd |
| Report Other Assets | false | ReportOtherAssetsInd |
| Report Other Liabilities | Yes (true) | ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd |
| Include FIN48 Footnote | Yes (true) | IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd |
| Independent Audit Fincl Stmt | Yes (true) | IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd |
| Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt | false | ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd |
| School Operating | false | SchoolOperatingInd |
| Foreign Office | false | ForeignOfficeInd |
| Foreign Activities | false | ForeignActivitiesInd |
| More Than5000 K To Org | false | MoreThan5000KToOrgInd |
| More Than5000 K To Individuals | false | MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd |
| Professional Fundraising | false | ProfessionalFundraisingInd |
| Fundraising Activities | false | FundraisingActivitiesInd |
| Gaming Activities | false | GamingActivitiesInd |
| Operate Hospital | false | OperateHospitalInd |
| Grants To Organizations | Yes (true) | GrantsToOrganizationsInd |
| Grants To Individuals | Yes (true) | GrantsToIndividualsInd |
| Schedule J Required | Yes (true) | ScheduleJRequiredInd |
| Tax Exempt Bonds | false | TaxExemptBondsInd |
| Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans | false | EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd |
| PY Excess Benefit Trans | false | PYExcessBenefitTransInd |
| Loan Outstanding | false | LoanOutstandingInd |
| Grant To Related Person | false | GrantToRelatedPersonInd |
| Business Rln With Org Mem | false | BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd |
| Business Rln With Fam Mem | false | BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd |
| Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent | false | BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd |
| Deductible Non Cash Contri | Yes (true) | DeductibleNonCashContriInd |
| Deductible Art Contribution | false | DeductibleArtContributionInd |
| Terminate Operations | false | TerminateOperationsInd |
| Partial Liquidation | false | PartialLiquidationInd |
| Disregarded Entity | false | DisregardedEntityInd |
| Related Entity | false | RelatedEntityInd |
| Related Organization Ctrl Ent | false | RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd |
| Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org | false | TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd |
| Activities Conducted Prtshp | false | ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd |
| Schedule O Required | Yes (true) | ScheduleORequiredInd |
| IRP Document | 22 | IRPDocumentCnt |
| IRP Document W2 G | 0 | IRPDocumentW2GCnt |
| Backup Wthld Compliance | Yes (true) | BackupWthldComplianceInd |
| Employee | 100 | EmployeeCnt |
| Employment Tax Returns Filed | Yes (true) | EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd |
| Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit | false | UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd |
| Foreign Financial Account | false | ForeignFinancialAccountInd |
| Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans | false | ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd |
| Taxable Party Notification | false | TaxablePartyNotificationInd |
| Nondeductible Contributions | false | NondeductibleContributionsInd |
| Quid Pro Quo Contributions | false | QuidProQuoContributionsInd |
| Form8282 Property Disposed Of | false | Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd |
| Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct | false | RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd |
| Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct | false | PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd |
| Indoor Tanning Services | false | IndoorTanningServicesInd |
| Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt | false | SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd |
| Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc | false | SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd |
| Info In Schedule O Part VI | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd |
| Governing Body Voting Members | 19 | GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt |
| Independent Voting Member | 19 | IndependentVotingMemberCnt |
| Family Or Business Rln | false | FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd |
| Delegation Of Mgmt Duties | false | DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd |
| Change To Org Documents | Yes (true) | ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd |
| Material Diversion Or Misuse | false | MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd |
| Members Or Stockholders | false | MembersOrStockholdersInd |
| Election Of Board Members | false | ElectionOfBoardMembersInd |
| Decisions Subject To Approva | false | DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd |
| Minutes Of Governing Body | Yes (true) | MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd |
| Minutes Of Committees | Yes (true) | MinutesOfCommitteesInd |
| Officer Mailing Address | false | OfficerMailingAddressInd |
| Local Chapters | false | LocalChaptersInd |
| Form990 Provided To Gvrn Body | Yes (true) | Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd |
| Conflict Of Interest Policy | Yes (true) | ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd |
| Annual Disclosure Covered Prsn | Yes (true) | AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd |
| Regular Monitoring Enfrc | Yes (true) | RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd |
| Whistleblower Policy | Yes (true) | WhistleblowerPolicyInd |
| Document Retention Policy | Yes (true) | DocumentRetentionPolicyInd |
| Compensation Process CEO | Yes (true) | CompensationProcessCEOInd |
| Compensation Process Other | Yes (true) | CompensationProcessOtherInd |
| Investment In Joint Venture | false | InvestmentInJointVentureInd |
| States Where Copy Of Return Is Fld | FL | StatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd |
| Own Website | Yes (X) | OwnWebsiteInd |
| Other Website | Yes (X) | OtherWebsiteInd |
| Upon Request | Yes (X) | UponRequestInd |
| Other | Yes (X) | OtherInd |
Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail
Business Name BusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | Olga Mendoza | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Phone | 9043903292 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 40 East Adams Street Suite 310 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | Jacksonville | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | FL | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 32202 | ZIPCd |
Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (28 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Average Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRt | Individual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorInd | OfficerOfficerInd | Reportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmt | Reportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmt | Other CompensationOtherCompensationAmt | Highest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jerry Delgado | |||||||
| Treasurer and Chair, audit Committee | 2.0 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| Sabeen Perwaiz | |||||||
| Secretary and Chair of nominating and governance committee | 2.0 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| Aundra Wallace | |||||||
| Director | 1.0 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Brent Larosa | |||||||
| Director | 1.0 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Brian Evans | |||||||
| Director | 1.0 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Delores Barr Weaver | |||||||
| Director | 1.0 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Diana Sorfleet | |||||||
| Director | 1.0 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Dr Diana Greene | |||||||
| Director | 1.0 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Greg Montana | |||||||
| Director | 1.0 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Jan Hanak | |||||||
| Director | 1.0 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Joseph Davidson | |||||||
| Director | 1.0 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Kirk Larsen | |||||||
| Director | 1.0 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Lior Spring | |||||||
| Director | 1.0 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Lisa Palmer | |||||||
| Chair of the Board | 2.0 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Matt Zuino | |||||||
| Director | 1.0 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Ned PEVERLEY | |||||||
| Chair, Community Investments Council | 2.0 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Patty KEENAN | |||||||
| Director | 1.0 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Phillip Lee | |||||||
| Chair, Resource Development Council | 2.0 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| RUDY F JAMISON JR EdD | |||||||
| Director | 1.0 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Sara LEY | |||||||
| Chair, VCE Council | 2.0 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| MELANIE PATZ | |||||||
| President & CEO | 70.0 | Yes (X) | $259,601 | $0 | $40,807 | ||
| Olga Mendoza | |||||||
| VP of Finance | 50.0 | Yes (X) | $11,647 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Robin Abbot | |||||||
| Chief Financial Officer | 45.0 | Yes (X) | $104,159 | $0 | $7,088 | ||
| Coretta Hill | |||||||
| COO | 50.0 | $146,483 | $0 | $9,545 | Yes (X) | ||
| Dietz Brent | |||||||
| IT Director | 45.0 | $141,190 | $0 | $19,551 | Yes (X) | ||
| James Ellout | |||||||
| VP of Community Impact | 45.0 | $104,711 | $0 | $20,259 | Yes (X) | ||
| Jeffrey Winkler | |||||||
| Head of Basic Needs | 45.0 | $104,014 | $0 | $19,404 | Yes (X) | ||
| Porter Keto | |||||||
| Director, Full Service Schools | 45.0 | $101,698 | $0 | $21,775 | Yes (X) | ||
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Reportable Comp From Org | $973,503 | TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt |
| Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org | $0 | TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt |
| Total Other Compensation | $138,429 | TotalOtherCompensationAmt |
| Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 7 | IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
| Former Ofcr Employees Listed | false | FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd |
| Total Comp Greater Than150 K | Yes (true) | TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd |
| Compensation From Other Srcs | false | CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd |
Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (3 entries)
| Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1Txt | CityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNm | State AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCd | ZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCd | ServicesServicesDesc | CompensationCompensationAmt | Address Line2ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine2Txt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| enterprise Integration | ||||||
| 10950-60 San Jose Blvd | Jacksonville | FL | 32223 | IT Services | $137,234 | |
| Adjective & Co | ||||||
| 333 4th Avenue North | jacksonville beach | FL | 32250 | Advertising | $133,000 | |
| On Ideas Inc | ||||||
| 245 Riverside Ave | Jacksonville | FL | 32202 | Advertising | $106,572 | STE 200 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 3 | CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
| Federated Campaigns | $23,455 | FederatedCampaignsAmt |
| Government Grants | $9,868,848 | GovernmentGrantsAmt |
| All Other Contributions | $13,142,733 | AllOtherContributionsAmt |
| Noncash Contributions | $187,441 | NoncashContributionsAmt |
| Total Contributions | $23,035,036 | TotalContributionsAmt |
Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Desc | Service Fees | Desc |
| Business | 900099 | BusinessCd |
| Total Revenue Column | $726 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $726 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
Total Oth Program Service Rev TotalOthProgramServiceRevGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $0 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $0 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
| Unrelated Business Revenue | $0 | UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt |
| Exclusion | $0 | ExclusionAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Program Service Revenue | $726 | TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $1,623,923 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $1,623,923 | ExclusionAmt |
Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Real | $0 | RealAmt |
| Personal | $0 | PersonalAmt |
Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | $0 | SecuritiesAmt |
| Other | $0 | OtherAmt |
Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Desc | Miscellaneous Income | Desc |
| Business | 900099 | BusinessCd |
| Total Revenue Column | $793,498 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $793,498 | ExclusionAmt |
Miscellaneous Revenue MiscellaneousRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $0 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $0 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
| Unrelated Business Revenue | $0 | UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt |
| Exclusion | $0 | ExclusionAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Revenue Total | $793,498 | OtherRevenueTotalAmt |
Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $25,453,183 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $726 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
| Unrelated Business Revenue | $0 | UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt |
| Exclusion | $2,417,421 | ExclusionAmt |
Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $17,625,920 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $17,625,920 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $117,879 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $117,879 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $375,406 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $64,900 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $245,606 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $64,900 | FundraisingAmt |
Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $4,214,980 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $3,056,562 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $810,183 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $348,235 | FundraisingAmt |
Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $876,444 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $595,982 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $201,582 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $78,880 | FundraisingAmt |
Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $348,621 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $237,062 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $80,183 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $31,376 | FundraisingAmt |
Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $345 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $345 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $97,200 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $97,200 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $424,901 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $424,901 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,302,671 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $734,656 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $559,874 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $8,141 | FundraisingAmt |
Advertising AdvertisingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $241,992 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $214,688 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $22,794 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $4,510 | FundraisingAmt |
Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $469,046 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $318,951 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $107,881 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $42,214 | FundraisingAmt |
Occupancy OccupancyGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $439,995 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $324,501 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $82,462 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $33,032 | FundraisingAmt |
Travel TravelGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $43,487 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $31,619 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $7,305 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $4,563 | FundraisingAmt |
Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $141,600 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $96,288 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $32,568 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $12,744 | FundraisingAmt |
Insurance InsuranceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $59,497 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $39,502 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $13,805 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $6,190 | FundraisingAmt |
Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (3 entries)
| DescDesc | TotalTotalAmt | Program ServicesProgramServicesAmt | Management And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmt | FundraisingFundraisingAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| United Way Worldwide Membership | $400,935 | $272,636 | $92,215 | $36,084 |
| Bank Charges and Fees | $47,418 | $32,244 | $10,906 | $4,268 |
| Operating Supplies and Equipment | $1,025,075 | $477,408 | $458,638 | $89,029 |
All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $0 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $0 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $0 | FundraisingAmt |
Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $28,253,412 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $24,240,798 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $3,248,448 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $764,166 | FundraisingAmt |
Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $3,053,314 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $3,885,374 | EOYAmt |
Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $1,812,670 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $3,885,458 | EOYAmt |
Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $7,841,911 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $6,498,863 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $2,279,209 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $2,627,602 | EOYAmt |
Receivables From Officers Etc ReceivablesFromOfficersEtcGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Rcvbl From Disqualified Prsn RcvblFromDisqualifiedPrsnGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $625,610 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $229,667 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss | $1,986,451 | LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt |
| Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec | $1,835,074 | LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt |
Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $292,977 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $151,377 | EOYAmt |
Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $42,421,695 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $41,991,750 | EOYAmt |
Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $443,555 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $285,683 | EOYAmt |
Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $58,770,941 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $59,555,774 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $3,440,142 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $3,542,105 | EOYAmt |
Loans From Officers Directors LoansFromOfficersDirectorsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $5,366,560 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $4,836,215 | EOYAmt |
Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $8,806,702 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $8,378,320 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Organization Follows FASB117 | Yes (X) | OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind |
No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $27,191,797 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $27,098,310 | EOYAmt |
Donor Restriction Net Assets DonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $22,772,442 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $24,079,144 | EOYAmt |
Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $49,964,239 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $51,177,454 | EOYAmt |
Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $58,770,941 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $59,555,774 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Reconcilation Revenue Expnss | -$2,800,229 | ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt |
| Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst | $2,792,186 | NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt |
| Prior Period Adjustments | $1,221,258 | PriorPeriodAdjustmentsAmt |
| Other Changes In Net Assets | $0 | OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt |
| Method Of Accounting Accrual | Yes (X) | MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd |
| Accountant Compile Or Review | false | AccountantCompileOrReviewInd |
| FS Audited | Yes (true) | FSAuditedInd |
FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Separate Basis Fincl Stmt | Yes (X) | SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Audit Committee | Yes (true) | AuditCommitteeInd |
| Federal Grant Audit Required | Yes (true) | FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd |
| Federal Grant Audit Performed | Yes (true) | FederalGrantAuditPerformedInd |
Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Public Organization170 | Yes (X) | PublicOrganization170Ind |
Gifts Grants Contri Rcvd170 GiftsGrantsContriRcvd170Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Current Tax Year Minus4 Years | $21,631,028 | CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus3 Years | $49,740,276 | CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus2 Years | $43,875,652 | CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus1 Year | $41,184,019 | CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt |
| Current Tax Year | $23,035,036 | CurrentTaxYearAmt |
| Total | $179,466,011 | TotalAmt |
Tax Rev Levied Orgnztnl Bnft170 TaxRevLeviedOrgnztnlBnft170Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
Govt Furn Srvc Fclts Vl170 GovtFurnSrvcFcltsVl170Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
Total Calendar Year170 TotalCalendarYear170Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Current Tax Year Minus4 Years | $21,631,028 | CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus3 Years | $49,740,276 | CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus2 Years | $43,875,652 | CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus1 Year | $41,184,019 | CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt |
| Current Tax Year | $23,035,036 | CurrentTaxYearAmt |
| Total | $179,466,011 | TotalAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Substantial Contributors Tot | $11,765,404 | SubstantialContributorsTotAmt |
| Public Support Total170 | $167,700,607 | PublicSupportTotal170Amt |
Gross Investment Income170 GrossInvestmentIncome170Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Current Tax Year Minus4 Years | $68,525 | CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus3 Years | $55,927 | CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus2 Years | $274,737 | CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus1 Year | $944,627 | CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt |
| Current Tax Year | $1,623,923 | CurrentTaxYearAmt |
| Total | $2,967,739 | TotalAmt |
Unrelated Business Net Incm170 UnrelatedBusinessNetIncm170Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
Other Income170 OtherIncome170Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Current Tax Year Minus4 Years | $0 | CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus3 Years | $0 | CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus2 Years | $0 | CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus1 Year | $0 | CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt |
| Current Tax Year | $0 | CurrentTaxYearAmt |
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Support | $182,433,750 | TotalSupportAmt |
| Gross Receipts Rltd Activities | $437,652 | GrossReceiptsRltdActivitiesAmt |
| Public Support CY170 | 0.9192 | PublicSupportCY170Pct |
| Public Support PY170 | 0.9239 | PublicSupportPY170Pct |
| Thirty Thr Pct Suprt Tests CY170 | Yes (X) | ThirtyThrPctSuprtTestsCY170Ind |
Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB
Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Contributor | RESTRICTED | ContributorNum |
Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | RESTRICTED | BusinessNameLine1 |
Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | RESTRICTED | AddressLine1 |
| Address Line2 | RESTRICTED | AddressLine2 |
| City | RESTRICTED | City |
| State | RESTRICTED | State |
| ZIP Code | RESTRICTED | ZIPCode |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Contributions | RESTRICTED | TotalContributionsAmt |
Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD
CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Beginning Year Balance | $22,250,075 | BeginningYearBalanceAmt |
| Contributions | $250,000 | ContributionsAmt |
| Investment Earnings Or Losses | $3,117,059 | InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt |
| Administrative Expenses | $1,413,381 | AdministrativeExpensesAmt |
| End Year Balance | $24,203,753 | EndYearBalanceAmt |
CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Beginning Year Balance | $1,782,126 | BeginningYearBalanceAmt |
| Contributions | $19,771,694 | ContributionsAmt |
| Investment Earnings Or Losses | $1,717,909 | InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt |
| Administrative Expenses | $1,021,654 | AdministrativeExpensesAmt |
| End Year Balance | $22,250,075 | EndYearBalanceAmt |
CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Beginning Year Balance | $2,051,505 | BeginningYearBalanceAmt |
| Contributions | $332 | ContributionsAmt |
| Investment Earnings Or Losses | -$256,581 | InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt |
| Administrative Expenses | $13,130 | AdministrativeExpensesAmt |
| End Year Balance | $1,782,126 | EndYearBalanceAmt |
CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Beginning Year Balance | $1,605,655 | BeginningYearBalanceAmt |
| Contributions | $48,531 | ContributionsAmt |
| Investment Earnings Or Losses | $450,921 | InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt |
| Administrative Expenses | $53,602 | AdministrativeExpensesAmt |
| End Year Balance | $2,051,505 | EndYearBalanceAmt |
CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Beginning Year Balance | $1,619,733 | BeginningYearBalanceAmt |
| Investment Earnings Or Losses | $59,629 | InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt |
| Administrative Expenses | $73,707 | AdministrativeExpensesAmt |
| End Year Balance | $1,605,655 | EndYearBalanceAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Board Designated Balance EOY | 0.029 | BoardDesignatedBalanceEOYPct |
| Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY | 0.971 | PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct |
| Term Endowment Balance EOY | 0.0 | TermEndowmentBalanceEOYPct |
| Endowments Held Unrelated Org | Yes (true) | EndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd |
| Endowments Held Related Org | false | EndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd |
Equipment EquipmentGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $1,986,451 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $1,835,074 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $151,377 | BookValueAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Book Value Land Buildings | $151,377 | TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt |
Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (5 entries)
| DescDesc | AmtAmt |
|---|---|
| Designations Payable | $2,129,838 |
| Refundable Advances | $1,113,994 |
| Operating Lease Liabilities | $372,701 |
| Finance Lease Liabilities | $52,360 |
| First Coast Relief Fund payable | $1,167,322 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Liability | $4,836,215 | TotalLiabilityAmt |
| Footnote Text | Yes (X) | FootnoteTextInd |
| Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $25,195,581 | TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Net Unrealized Gains Invst | $2,792,186 | NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt |
| Other Revenue | $0 | OtherRevenueAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported | $2,792,186 | RevenueNotReportedAmt |
| Revenue Subtotal | $22,403,395 | RevenueSubtotalAmt |
| Investment Expenses Not Incld | $424,901 | InvestmentExpensesNotIncldAmt |
| Other Revenues Not Included | $2,624,887 | OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt | $3,049,788 | RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Revenue Per Form990 | $25,453,183 | TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt |
| Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $25,203,624 | TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Other Expenses Included | $0 | OtherExpensesIncludedAmt |
| Expenses Not Reported | $0 | ExpensesNotReportedAmt |
| Expenses Subtotal | $25,203,624 | ExpensesSubtotalAmt |
| Investment Expenses Not Incld2 | $424,901 | InvestmentExpensesNotIncld2Amt |
| Other Expenses Not Included | $2,624,887 | OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt |
| Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt | $3,049,788 | ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Expenses Per Form990 | $28,253,412 | TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (4 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| Schedule D, Part V, Line 4 Intended uses of endowment funds | As part of its Planned Giving Program, United Way established and will grow endowment funds to provide income for sustaining operations against fluctuations in the annual campaign revenue; to enhance annual campaign revenue from income generated by the endowed gifts; and to provide program funding flexibility not possible through annual campaign revenue including emergency funding, venture grants, administrative costs, challenge grants and infrastructure need. |
| Schedule D, Part X, Line 2 FIN 48 (ASC 740) footnote | United Way is exempt from federal and state income taxes under Internal Revenue Code Section 501(c)(3). Accordingly, the accompanying financial statements do not reflect a provision or liability for federal and state income taxes. United Way has determined that it does not have any material unrecognized tax benefits or obligations as of June 30, 2024. |
| Schedule D, Part XI, Line 4(b) Other revenues in form 990 not in audited financial statements | Donor Designations - 2624887 |
| Schedule D, Part XII, Line 4(b) Other expenses in form 990 not in audited financial statements | Donor Designations - 2624887 |
Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Grant Records Maintained | Yes (true) | GrantRecordsMaintainedInd |
Recipient Table RecipientTable (71 entries)
| Recipient EINRecipientEIN | IRC SectionIRCSectionDesc | Cash GrantCashGrantAmt | Purpose Of GrantPurposeOfGrantTxt | Business Name Line2RecipientBusinessName/BusinessNameLine2Txt |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ABILITY HOUSING OF NORTHEAST FLORIDA | ||||
| 593087085 | 501 (c) (3) | $100,000 | Permanent Supportive and Affordable Housing | |
| ANNIERUTH FOUNDATION | ||||
| 461171456 | 501 (c) (3) | $6,000 | Youth Enrichment Micro Grant | |
| BAKER COUNTY COUNCIL ON AGING | ||||
| 591596339 | 501 (c) (3) | $50,000 | Home Delivered Meals Program | |
| BARNABAS CENTER INC | ||||
| 592920275 | 501 (c) (3) | $90,000 | Crisis Assistance | |
| BEAM | ||||
| 592564222 | 501 (c) (3) | $50,000 | Single Parent Project | |
| BIG BROTHERS BIG SISTERS OF NORTHEAST FLORIDA | ||||
| 590683256 | 501 (c) (3) | $200,000 | OneToOne Mentoring Nassau | |
| BOYS & GIRLS CLUB OF NORTHEAST FLORIDA | ||||
| 596167630 | 501 (c) (3) | $575,000 | Traditional Clubs | |
| CATHEDRAL ARTS PROJECT INC | ||||
| 593672453 | 501 (c) (3) | $20,000 | Children art education | |
| CHILD GUIDANCE CENTER INC | ||||
| 590704727 | 501 (c) (3) | $1,656,191 | Full Service Schools | |
| CHILDRENS HOME SOCIETY OF FLORIDA | ||||
| 590192430 | 501 (c) (3) | $1,059,417 | Full Service Schools | |
| CITY YEAR INC (JACKSONVILLE) | ||||
| 222882549 | 501 (c) (3) | $150,000 | Whole School Whole Child | |
| CLARA WHITE MISSION | ||||
| 596002104 | 501 (c) (3) | $90,000 | Daily Feeding Program | |
| COMMUNITIES IN SCHOOLS OF JACKSONVILLE | ||||
| 593027895 | 501 (c) (3) | $114,000 | Positive Youth Development | |
| COMMUNITY HOSPICE OF NORTHEAST FLORIDA FOUNDATION FOR CARING INC | ||||
| 593583920 | 501 (c) (3) | $10,000 | camp healing powers program for children | |
| DANIEL MEMORIAL INC | ||||
| 593067752 | 501 (c) (3) | $1,508,218 | Project Prepare/Mental Health Services | |
| DELORES BARR WEAVER POLICY CENTER | ||||
| 460938295 | 501 (c) (3) | $8,000 | Youth Enrichment Micro Grant | |
| DOWNTOWN ECUMENICAL SERVICES COUNCIL | ||||
| 592437003 | 501 (c) (3) | $175,000 | Rent and Electric Assistance | |
| DUVAL COUNTY PUBLIC SCHOOLS | ||||
| 596000589 | 501 (c) (3) | $72,132 | Full Service Schools | |
| DUVAL COUNTY PUBLIC SCHOOLS ATTN KATRINA TAYLOR STUDENT DISCIPLINE & SUPPOR | ||||
| 596000589 | 501 (c) (3) | $26,000 | Full Service Schools | T SERV |
| EARLY LEARNING COALITION OF DUVAL COUNTY | ||||
| 593688924 | 501 (c) (3) | $591,419 | Success by 6 | |
| EMPOWERMENT ACADEMY INC | ||||
| 453801183 | 501 (c) (3) | $10,000 | Youth Enrichment Micro Grant | |
| EPISCOPAL CHILDREN'S SERVICES | ||||
| 591146765 | 501 (c) (3) | $184,730 | Success by 6 | |
| FAMILY FOUNDATIONS | ||||
| 593759863 | 501 (c) (3) | $828,613 | Full Service Schools | |
| FAMILY SUPPORT SERVICES OF NORTH FLORIDA INC | ||||
| 593759863 | 501 (c) (3) | $200,000 | Parent Needs Assistance | |
| FIRST COAST ESPORTS ALLIANCE INC | ||||
| 881805443 | 501 (c) (3) | $6,500 | Youth Enrichment Micro Grant | |
| FLORIDA SHERIFFS YOUTH RANCHES | ||||
| 237303117 | 501 (c) (3) | $15,000 | Student tutoring, education, and educational supplies | |
| GENERATION USA | ||||
| 843357705 | 501 (c) (3) | $68,750 | Workforce Development | |
| GIRL SCOUTS OF GATEWAY COUNCIL | ||||
| 590637857 | 501 (c) (3) | $50,000 | Summer Camps | |
| GIRLS INCORPORATED OF JACKSONVILLE | ||||
| 591317196 | 501 (c) (3) | $85,000 | Strong Smart Bold | |
| GROUNDWORK JACKSONVILLE INC | ||||
| 472342111 | 501 (c) (3) | $300,000 | Homeownership Preservation | |
| HUBBARD HOUSE INC | ||||
| 591814635 | 501 (c) (3) | $50,000 | Emergency Services/Children's Program | |
| IM SULZBACHER CENTER FOR THE HOMELESS INC | ||||
| 593229898 | 501 (c) (3) | $249,000 | Assistance for homeless community & Economic Mobility | |
| JACKSONVILLE AREA LEGAL AID | ||||
| 590696291 | 501 (c) (3) | $100,000 | Legal Assistance Program | |
| JACKSONVILLE ARTS AND MUSIC SCHOOL | ||||
| 471225657 | 501 (c) (3) | $8,500 | Youth Enrichment Micro Grant | |
| JACKSONVILLE GULLAH GEECHEE NATION COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT GROUP | ||||
| 300632202 | 501 (c) (3) | $7,000 | Youth Enrichment Micro Grant | |
| JACKSONVILLE PUBLIC EDUCATION FUND | ||||
| 592756660 | 501 (c) (3) | $39,985 | Parent Engagement | |
| JACKSONVILLE URBAN LEAGUE | ||||
| 590637865 | 501 (c) (3) | $6,000 | Youth Enrichment Micro Grant | |
| JASMYN | ||||
| 593284175 | 501 (c) (3) | $100,000 | Youth Homelessness | |
| JEWISH FAMILY & COMMUNITY SERVICES | ||||
| 590637868 | 501 (c) (3) | $3,146,558 | Achievers for Life | |
| KRUMPIN 4 SUCCESS | ||||
| 260222680 | 501 (c) (3) | $7,000 | Youth Enrichment Micro Grant | |
| LEARN TO READ-LITERACY ALLIANCE OF NEFL | ||||
| 237153919 | 501 (c) (3) | $89,000 | Education Assessment and LDS | |
| LEVEL THE PLAYING FIELD LEADERSHIP ACADEMY | ||||
| 850986354 | 501 (c) (3) | $7,500 | Youth Enrichment Micro Grant | |
| LIFT JAX INC | ||||
| 850819002 | 501 (c) (3) | $350,000 | Homeownership Preservation | |
| LISC LOCAL INITIATIVE SUPPORT | ||||
| 133030229 | 501 (c) (3) | $443,500 | Economic development engine for underserved neighborhoods | |
| LUTHERAN SOCIAL SRVCS OF NORTHEAST FLORIDA | ||||
| 591965600 | 501 (c) (3) | $75,000 | Nourishment Network | |
| MALIVAI WASHINGTON YOUTH FOUNDATION | ||||
| 593559150 | 501 (c) (3) | $120,000 | TnT Program | |
| MELANIN MARKET | ||||
| 852280318 | 501 (c) (3) | $5,192 | Youth Enrichment Micro Grant | |
| MOORE MYERS CHILDREN'S FUND | ||||
| 831765266 | 501 (c) (3) | $6,000 | Youth Enrichment Micro Grant | |
| MYVILLAGE PROJECT INC | ||||
| 473046049 | 501 (c) (3) | $7,000 | Youth Enrichment Micro Grant | |
| NASSAU COUNTY COUNCIL ON AGING | ||||
| 237375273 | 501 (c) (3) | $75,000 | Geriatric Case Manager Program | |
| NEW HEIGHTS OF NORTHEAST FLORIDA | ||||
| 590718304 | 501 (c) (3) | $120,000 | Adult & Children Therapy Services | |
| NORTHEAST FLORIDA AREA AGENCY ON AGING | ||||
| 591569867 | 501 (c) (3) | $100,000 | Home Delivered Meals Program | |
| NORTHSIDE COMMUNITY INVOLVEMENT | ||||
| 593390714 | 501 (c) (3) | $50,000 | Full Service Schools | |
| OPERATION NEW HOPE | ||||
| 593590360 | 501 (c) (3) | $350,000 | Ready4Work | |
| PACE CENTER FOR GIRLS | ||||
| 592414492 | 501 (c) (3) | $100,000 | Health Clinic | |
| READ USA INC | ||||
| 474729513 | 501 (c) (3) | $250,000 | Illiteracy in grade-level readers | |
| REGIONAL FOOD BANK OF NORTHEAST FLORIDA INC | ||||
| 465014769 | 501 (c) (3) | $350,000 | Access to Healthy Food | |
| SALVATION ARMY NORTHEAST FLORIDA AREA COMMAND | ||||
| 580660607 | 501 (c) (3) | $50,000 | Red Shield Lodge & Family Services (Clay, Duval & Nassau) | |
| SANCTUARY OF NORTHEAST FLORIDA INC | ||||
| 593108041 | 501 (c) (3) | $50,000 | Afterschool and Summer Program | |
| SEAMARK RANCH | ||||
| 621858150 | 501 (c) (3) | $40,000 | Family home model | |
| ST VINCENTS FOUNDATION | ||||
| 592219923 | 501 (c) (3) | $25,000 | Mobile health outreach | |
| THE CARPENTER'S SHOP CENTER INC | ||||
| 202828807 | 501 (c) (3) | $48,000 | Afterschool and Summer Program | |
| THE SOYINI CIRCLES GIRLS CORP | ||||
| 811692772 | 501 (c) (3) | $6,500 | Full Service Schools | |
| URBAN GEOPONICS | ||||
| 462265009 | 501 (c) (3) | $7,000 | Youth Enrichment Micro Grant | |
| US AND OUR CHILDREN INC DBA KASH KIDS | ||||
| 061690984 | 501 (c) (3) | $7,000 | Full Service Schools | |
| VISION IS PRICELESS COUNCIL INC | ||||
| 593386495 | 501 (c) (3) | $25,000 | Vision Care Services | |
| VOLUNTEERS IN MEDICINE JACKSONVILLE INC | ||||
| 753002172 | 501 (c) (3) | $25,000 | Primary and specialty care | |
| WALK-OFF CHARITIES OF JAX INC | ||||
| 821119696 | 501 (c) (3) | $6,000 | Youth Enrichment Micro Grant | |
| WEST JAX OUTREACH INC DBA COMMUNITY HEALTH OUTREACH | ||||
| 593038067 | 501 (c) (3) | $10,000 | Food Distribution | |
| YEAR UP INC | ||||
| 043534407 | 501 (c) (3) | $75,000 | Workforce Development | |
| YMCA OF FLORIDA'S FIRST COAST | ||||
| 590638514 | 501 (c) (3) | $50,000 | YMCA Urban Teen & Health Programs | |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total501c3 Org | 71 | Total501c3OrgCnt |
| Total Other Org | 0 | TotalOtherOrgCnt |
Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp (2 entries)
| Grant TypeGrantTypeTxt | RecipientRecipientCnt | Cash GrantCashGrantAmt |
|---|---|---|
| RENT ASSISTANCE | 53 | $106,159 |
| STUFF THE BUS | 0 | $11,720 |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form And Line Reference | Schedule I, Part I, Line 2 Procedures for monitoring use of grant funds. | FormAndLineReferenceDesc |
| Explanation | Because funding is reported by purpose, agencies may be listed more than once. However, the dollars are not duplicated. A volunteer committee of accounting professionals reviews the financial statements of the agencies requesting funding to ensure proper use of United Way funds. Funding is granted based on the criticality of the need being addressed by the program, the program's impact on addressing the need, the participants' results in the program, the utilization of the program's capacity and the importance of United Way funding to the success of the program. Funding is granted through targeted Notice of Funding Opportunities (NOFO) with formal review processes occurring annually. Bi-Annual reports of performance measures and utilization of capacity are reviewed by staff and volunteers. In addition, United Way of Northeast Florida is an open donor choice organization and distributes donor designations as requested. | ExplanationTxt |
Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Compensation Committee | Yes (X) | CompensationCommitteeInd |
| Form990 Of Other Organizations | Yes (X) | Form990OfOtherOrganizationsInd |
| Compensation Survey | Yes (X) | CompensationSurveyInd |
| Board Or Committee Approval | Yes (X) | BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd |
| Severance Payment | false | SeverancePaymentInd |
| Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan | false | SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd |
| Equity Based Comp Arrngm | false | EquityBasedCompArrngmInd |
| Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org | false | CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd |
| Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs | false | CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd |
| Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org | false | CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd |
| Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs | false | CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd |
| Any Non Fixed Payments | false | AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd |
| Initial Contract Exception | false | InitialContractExceptionInd |
Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (3 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Base Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Compensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmt | Bonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmount | Bonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmt | Other Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Other Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmt | Deferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmt | Deferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmt | Nontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmt | Nontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmt | Total Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Total Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmt | Comp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmt | Comp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| MELANIE PATZ | ||||||||||||||
| President & CEO | $259,601 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $22,500 | $0 | $18,307 | $0 | $300,408 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Coretta Hill | ||||||||||||||
| COO | $146,483 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $9,545 | $0 | $156,028 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Dietz Brent | ||||||||||||||
| IT Director | $141,190 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $19,551 | $0 | $160,741 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
Schedule M IRS990ScheduleM
Securities Publicly Traded SecuritiesPubliclyTradedGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Non Cash Checkbox | Yes (X) | NonCashCheckboxInd |
| Contribution | 8 | ContributionCnt |
| Noncash Contributions Rpt F990 | $187,441 | NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt |
| Method Of Determining Revenues | Market value | MethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form8283 Received | 0 | Form8283ReceivedCnt |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form And Line Reference | Schedule M, Part I Explanations of reporting method for number of contributions | FormAndLineReferenceDesc |
| Explanation | Securities - Publicly traded - The organization is reporting the number of contributors. | ExplanationTxt |
Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (7 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| Form 990, Part VI, Line 4 Significant changes to organizational documents | The bylaws were changed to extend terms from two three-year terms to three three-year terms. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Line 11b Review of form 990 by governing body | The Audit Committee meets with the independent auditors. They discuss the audit process; review and accept the audit; and meet in executive session with the audit team. At the Audit Committee meeting, the IRS Form 990 is reviewed. The form 990 is distributed to the board of directors for their approval prior to filling. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Line 12c Conflict of interest policy | Annually all Directors, Audit Committee Members and Staff Members review the conflict of interest policy included in the Code of Ethics and certify they recognize and understand their obligations and disclose any conflicts. Should situations arise during the course of the year, the individual immediately discloses the new situation. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Line 15a Process to establish compensation of top management official | Compensation is reviewed and approved with the budget. Local market data is part of the analysis process. In addition, organizational growth, strategic direction and individual responsibilities and performance are considered when the President determines annual compensation for each Leadership Team member. The President's compensation is evaluated and set annually by the Board of Directors. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Line 15b Process to establish compensation of other employees | Compensation is reviewed and approved with the budget. Local market data is part of the analysis process. In addition, organizational growth, strategic direction and individual responsibilities and performance are considered when the President determines annual compensation for each Leadership Team member. The President's compensation is evaluated and set annually by the Board of Directors. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Line 18 How forms are made available to the public | United Way provides governing documents and its conflict of interest policy upon request. Audited financial statements are available on request. Both prior year and current year audits are posted electronically on United Way's website www.unitedwaynefl.org/about-us/financial-information/ |
| Form 990, Part VI, Line 19 Required documents available to the public | United Way provides governing documents and its conflict of interest policy upon request. Audited financial statements are available on request. Both prior year and current year audits are posted electronically on United Way's website www.unitedwaynefl.org/about-us/financial-information/ |