STRATEGY STUDIO / NONPROFIT PEOPLE SEARCH

CREDIT UNIONS CHARTERED IN THE STATE OF MICHIGAN: Form 990, tax year 2023

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
CREDIT UNIONS CHARTERED IN THE STATE OF MICHIGAN (EIN 38-0495567)
Tax period
2023-01-01 to 2023-12-31
Filed
2024-09-23
IRS object ID
202402679349300860
Schema version
2023v5.1
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2024-09-23T09:25:47-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2023-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN381357951PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1PLANTE & MORAN PLLCBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1750 TRADE CENTRE WAY STE 300AddressLine1Txt
CityPORTAGECityNm
State AbbreviationMIStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP49002ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2023-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN380495567EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1DOW CREDIT UNIONBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlDOWCBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone9898357794PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1600 E LYON RDAddressLine1Txt
CityMIDLANDCityNm
State AbbreviationMIStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP48640ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonSANJAY AHLUWALIAPersonNm
Person TitleCHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICERPersonTitleTxt
Phone9898357794PhoneNum
Signature2024-09-19SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
IRS Responsible Prty Info CurrYes (1)IRSResponsiblePrtyInfoCurrInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonJOSHUA NITZ CPAPreparerPersonNm
PTINP01946955PTIN
Phone2695674500PhoneNum
Preparation2024-09-19PreparationDt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2023TaxYr
Build TS2024-08-08 14:25:15ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerMICHAEL G GOADPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1600 E LYON RDAddressLine1Txt
CityMIDLANDCityNm
State AbbreviationMIStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP48640ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$167,620,963GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Group Exemption1359GroupExemptionNum
Organization501cYes (X)Organization501cInd
Website AddressWWW.DOWCREDITUNION.ORGWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1937FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateMILegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionDOW CREDIT UNION IS A PRINCIPLES-BASED FINANCIAL COOPERATIVE COMMITTED TO EXCEPTIONAL SERVICE, CONVENIENCE, VALUE AND SECURITY OPERATING IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE MICHIGAN CREDIT UNION ACT.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body8VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent8VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee210TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers8TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$568,883TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$0PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$0CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$46,413,772PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$56,860,299CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$18,529,871PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$32,568,898CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$0PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$0CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$64,943,643PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$89,429,197CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$0PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$0CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$16,136,470PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$16,790,396CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$36,440,427PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$71,774,853CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$52,576,897PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$88,565,249CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$12,366,746PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$863,948CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$2,121,264,280TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$2,201,196,958TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$1,970,508,155TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$2,025,165,068TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$150,756,125NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$176,031,890NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionDOW CREDIT UNION IS A PRINCIPLES-BASED FINANCIAL COOPERATIVE COMMITTED TO EXCEPTIONAL SERVICE, CONVENIENCE, VALUE AND SECURITY OPERATING IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE MICHIGAN CREDIT UNION ACT.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
DescDOW CREDIT UNION IS A MICHIGAN STATE-CHARTERED CREDIT UNION PROVIDING APPROXIMATELY 80,993 MEMBERS WITH AFFORDABLE LOAN ACCOUNT SERVICES, SAVINGS, CHECKING ACCOUNTS, AND VARIOUS ELECTRONIC BASED SERVICES INCLUDING ATM ACCESS AND ONLINE BANKING. AS A COOPERATIVE FINANCIAL INSTITUTION, WE STRIVE TO PROVIDE OUTSTANDING MEMBER VALUE AND ARE COMMITTED TO PROVIDING SERVICES AND SOLUTIONS THAT WILL IMPROVE OUR MEMBERS' FINANCIAL LIFE. WE OFFER LOWER RATES ON LOANS, HIGHER RATES ON DEPOSITS AND CHARGE VERY FEW/LOW SERVICE FEES. WE HAVE SERVED OUR MEMBERS FOR OVER 80 YEARS.Desc
Described In Section501c30DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B Required0ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi Endowments0DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent0BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related Entity0RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document39628IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee210EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (1)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (1)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt0SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc0SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members8GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member8IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (1)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (1)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (1)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1SANJAY AHLUWALIA CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICERBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone9898357794PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1600 E LYON ROADAddressLine1Txt
CityMIDLANDCityNm
State AbbreviationMIStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP48640ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (24 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtAverage Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtKey EmployeeKeyEmployeeIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
PERRY HOLMON
BOARD CHAIRMAN4.000.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
LISA MCKENNEY
BOARD VICE CHAIRMAN4.000.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
SHANDELL MASSEY
SECRETARY/TREASURER4.000.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
MARK BACHMAN
BOARD MEMBER4.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
LISA BRYANT
BOARD MEMBER4.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MARK FENSKE
BOARD MEMBER4.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MIKE KAPP
BOARD MEMBER4.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
GARY MCGUIRE
BOARD MEMBER4.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MICHAEL GOAD
CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER40.000.00Yes (X)$701,683$0$50,632
SANJAY AHLUWALIA
CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER40.000.00Yes (X)$302,681$0$42,142
ARTHUR PETERS
CHIEF OPERATING OFFICER40.000.00Yes (X)$439,036$0$20,342
ELTON BROOKS
VP OF RETAIL40.000.00$290,918$0$29,685Yes (X)
SHEILA WRIGHT
VP OF HUMAN RESOURCES40.000.00$288,370$0$37,092Yes (X)
JOHN COSTELLO
VP OF LENDING40.000.00$233,215$0$17,966Yes (X)
MARK GANDY
VP RISK/COMPLIANCE40.000.00$338,324$0$29,815Yes (X)
NORMAN M ZUREICH
DIRECTOR OF IT40.000.00$168,518$0$21,356Yes (X)
LISA GRAY
DIRECTOR OF RISK & REGULATORY AFFAIRS40.000.00$168,700$0$29,167Yes (X)
ALISON TAYLOR
CONTROLLER40.000.00$155,214$0$32,222Yes (X)
LASHANTA GREEN
DIRECTOR OF MARKETING AND COMMUNITY RELATIONS40.000.00$150,963$0$18,945Yes (X)
ANGIE HILLIER
MORTGAGE OPERATIONS MANAGE40.000.00$131,281$0$29,632Yes (X)
ROBERT SAMBORN
IT INFRASTRUCTURE MANAGER40.000.00$125,567$0$22,527Yes (X)
KRISTINA BROZZO
MORTGAGE SALES MANAGER40.000.00$127,675$0$25,015Yes (X)
ROBERT LINDESMITH
IT NETWORK ENGINEER40.000.00$123,244$0$26,217Yes (X)
SUSAN PHILLIPS
SR EXECUTIVE ASST TO CEO40.000.00$121,395$0$27,229Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$3,866,784TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$459,984TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K29IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
JACK HENRY & ASSOCIATES INC
PO BOX 609MONETTMO65708CORE OPERATING SYSTEM PROVIDER$1,982,633
AMPLIFI LOYALTY SOLUTIONS
1620 BOND STNAPERVILLEIL60563CREDIT CARD REWARDS PROGRAM$1,199,795
SALESFORCE COM INC
PO BOX 203141DALLASTX753203140SOFTWARE PROVIDER$640,333
INSIGHT DIRECT USA INC
PO BOX 731069DALLASTX753731069TECH HARDWARE & SOFTWARE$490,017
EMPLOYER MANAGEMENT SOLUTIONS
7650 W COURTNEY CAMPBELL CSWYTAMPAFL33607SOFTWARE PROFESSIONAL SVCS$436,650
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K23CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmtUnrelated Business RevenueUnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
INCOME ON MEMBER LOANS522100$45,206,853$45,206,853
FEES AND CHARGES522100$11,084,563$11,084,563
FINANCE AND INSURANCE522100$568,883$568,883
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$56,860,299TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$33,665,939TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$33,665,939RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$60,111,057SecuritiesAmt
Other$16,983,668OtherAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$61,520,891SecuritiesAmt
Other$16,670,875OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities-$1,409,834SecuritiesAmt
Other$312,793OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$1,097,041TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income-$1,097,041RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$89,429,197TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$88,860,314RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$568,883UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,811,106TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$9,785,817TotalAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$962,231TotalAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,267,137TotalAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$964,105TotalAmt

Fees For Services Management FeesForServicesManagementGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$458,508TotalAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$119,524TotalAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$222,719TotalAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$87,979TotalAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,492,472TotalAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$722,444TotalAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,546,476TotalAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$556,629TotalAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$17,107TotalAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$50,179,189TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,006,674TotalAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$171,149TotalAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmt
LOAN EXPENSE$3,311,827
PROVISION FOR LOAN LOSS$3,262,398
VISA/DEBIT/CREDIT$3,229,493
EQUIPMENT RENTAL & MAIN$2,285,175

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,105,090TotalAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$88,565,249TotalAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$10,709,513BOYAmt
EOY$10,010,520EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$60,363,107BOYAmt
EOY$41,571,364EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,148,304,243BOYAmt
EOY$1,227,287,461EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,550,404BOYAmt
EOY$3,905,316EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$24,221,801LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$15,702,767LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$8,454,496BOYAmt
EOY$8,519,034EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$854,845,930BOYAmt
EOY$870,689,020EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,709,800BOYAmt
EOY$5,709,800EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$29,326,787BOYAmt
EOY$33,504,443EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,121,264,280BOYAmt
EOY$2,201,196,958EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$33,163,534BOYAmt
EOY$42,989,428EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$40,000,000BOYAmt
EOY$5,000,000EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,897,344,621BOYAmt
EOY$1,977,175,640EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,970,508,155BOYAmt
EOY$2,025,165,068EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Org Does Not Follow FASB117Yes (X)OrgDoesNotFollowFASB117Ind

Cap Stk Tr Prin Current Funds CapStkTrPrinCurrentFundsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Pd In Cap Srpls Land Bldg Eqp Fund PdInCapSrplsLandBldgEqpFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$150,756,125BOYAmt
EOY$176,031,890EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$150,756,125BOYAmt
EOY$176,031,890EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,121,264,280BOYAmt
EOY$2,201,196,958EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$863,948ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$26,516,371NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets-$2,104,554OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Info In Schedule O Part XIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$464,161OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$464,161BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$14,395,116OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$7,674,568DepreciationAmt
Book Value$6,720,548BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$9,362,524OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$8,028,199DepreciationAmt
Book Value$1,334,325BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$8,519,034TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (5 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
SHARE ACCOUNTS$357,322,711
SHARE DRAFT ACCOUNTS$240,861,766
HEALTH SAVINGS ACCOUNTS$4,296,680
HI YIELD DEPOSIT ACCOUNTS$685,831,996
CERTIFICATES OF DEPOSIT$688,862,487
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$1,977,175,640TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$115,916,606TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$26,487,409NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Revenue Not Reported$26,487,409RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$89,429,197RevenueSubtotalAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$0RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$89,429,197TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$88,565,249TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$88,565,249ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$0ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$88,565,249TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART X, LINE 2:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationTHE CREDIT UNION IS EXEMPT, BY STATUTE, FROM FEDERAL AND STATE INCOME TAXES. HOWEVER, THE CREDIT UNION MAY BE SUBJECT TO UNRELATED BUSINESS INCOME TAX. THE NET UNRELATED BUSINESS INCOME TAX IS IMMATERIAL TO THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS AS A WHOLE. ACCOUNTING PRINCIPLES GENERALLY ACCEPTED IN THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA REQUIRE MANAGEMENT TO EVALUATE TAX POSITIONS TAKEN BY THE CREDIT UNION AND RECOGNIZE A TAX LIABILITY IF THE CREDIT UNION HAS TAKEN AN UNCERTAIN POSITION THAT MORE LIKELY THAN NOT WOULD NOT BE SUSTAINED UPON EXAMINATION BY THE INTERNAL REVENUE SERVICE (IRS) OR OTHER APPLICABLE TAXING AUTHORITIES. MANAGEMENT HAS ANALYZED THE TAX POSITIONS TAKEN BY THE CREDIT UNION AND HAS CONCLUDED THAT, AS OF DECEMBER 31, 2023 AND 2022, THERE ARE NO UNCERTAIN POSITIONS TAKEN OR EXPECTED TO BE TAKEN THAT WOULD REQUIRE RECOGNITION OF A LIABILITY OR DISCLOSURE IN THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS. THE CREDIT UNION IS SUBJECT TO ROUTINE AUDITS BY TAXING JURISDICTIONS; HOWEVER, THERE ARE CURRENTLY NO AUDITS FOR ANY TAX PERIODS IN PROGRESS.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Independent ConsultantYes (X)IndependentConsultantInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance PaymentYes (1)SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanYes (1)SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (13 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
MICHAEL GOAD
CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER$535,655$0$164,222$0$1,806$0$33,000$0$17,632$0$752,315$0$0$0
ARTHUR PETERS
CHIEF OPERATING OFFICER$93,734$0$101,286$0$244,016$0$9,512$0$10,830$0$459,378$0$0$0
MARK GANDY
VP RISK/COMPLIANCE$271,000$0$64,318$0$3,006$0$26,529$0$3,286$0$368,139$0$0$0
SANJAY AHLUWALIA
CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER$247,396$0$54,907$0$378$0$25,461$0$16,681$0$344,823$0$0$0
SHEILA WRIGHT
VP OF HUMAN RESOURCES$227,789$0$59,615$0$966$0$23,279$0$13,813$0$325,462$0$0$0
ELTON BROOKS
VP OF RETAIL$230,926$0$59,572$0$420$0$23,267$0$6,418$0$320,603$0$0$0
JOHN COSTELLO
VP OF LENDING$125,594$0$64,545$0$43,076$0$12,712$0$5,254$0$251,181$0$0$0
LISA GRAY
DIRECTOR OF RISK & REGULATORY AFFAIR$149,521$0$17,832$0$1,347$0$15,312$0$13,855$0$197,867$0$0$0
NORMAN M ZUREICH
DIRECTOR OF IT$150,051$0$14,559$0$3,908$0$14,963$0$6,393$0$189,874$0$0$0
ALISON TAYLOR
CONTROLLER$138,184$0$16,594$0$436$0$14,594$0$17,628$0$187,436$0$0$0
LASHANTA GREEN
DIRECTOR OF MARKETING AND COMMUNITY$128,943$0$15,791$0$6,229$0$12,658$0$6,287$0$169,908$0$0$0
ANGIE HILLIER
MORTGAGE OPERATIONS MANAGE$116,112$0$14,822$0$347$0$12,146$0$17,486$0$160,913$0$0$0
KRISTINA BROZZO
MORTGAGE SALES MANAGER$113,334$0$13,374$0$967$0$11,635$0$13,380$0$152,690$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART I, LINE 4B:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationPARTICIPANTS IN A SUPPLEMENTAL NON-QUALIFIED RETIREMENT PLAN (SECTION 457(F)): MICHAEL GOAD DURING 2023, THE CREDIT UNION RECORDED ACCRUED BENEFIT EXPENSES TO A 457(F) PLAN AS FOLLOWS: MICHAEL GOAD: $296,222 - ACCRUEDExplanationTxt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (8 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 6ANY INDIVIDUAL THAT HAS AN ACCOUNT WITH THE CREDIT UNION IS A MEMBER.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7ATHE CREDIT UNION IS MEMBER OWNED AND EACH MEMBER IS ABLE TO ELECT THE VOLUNTEER BOARD OF DIRECTORS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7BTHERE ARE CERTAIN REQUIREMENTS OF THE MICHIGAN CREDIT UNION ACT THAT REQUIRE A VOTE OF THE MEMBERSHIP. NORMAL COURSE OF BUSINESS DOES NOT REQUIRE MEMBER APPROVAL.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11BMEMBERS OF SENIOR MANAGEMENT PERFORM THEIR REVIEW OF THE FORM 990 IN ITS DRAFT FORM. ONCE ALL NECESSARY REVISIONS ARE MADE, A COPY OF THE REVISED FORM 990 IS REVIEWED WITH THE SUPERVISORY COMMITTEE CHAIRMAN. ADDITIONALLY, THE VERSION OF THE FORM APPROVED BY MANAGEMENT AND THE SUPERVISORY COMMITTEE CHAIRMAN IS PROVIDED TO EACH MEMBER OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS PRIOR TO ELECTRONIC FILING.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12CON AN ANNUAL BASIS, ALL EMPLOYEES RECEIVE TRAINING TO REVIEW THE STANDARDS OF CONDUCT POLICY AND ALL EMPLOYEES ARE ASKED TO SIGN A STATEMENT DISCLOSING ANY POTENTIAL CONFLICTS OF INTEREST. THE SUPERVISORY COMMITTEE CHAIRMAN AND AN OFFICER REVIEW ANY DISCLOSURES AND TAKE APPLICABLE ACTION, AS NEEDED.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15THE CREDIT UNION UTILIZES A COMPENSATION COMMITTEE FOR ALL STAFF MEMBERS' COMPENSATION AND BENEFITS, INCLUDING EXECUTIVE PAY/PROGRAMS. WE UTILIZE AN INDEPENDENT COMPENSATION CONSULTANT TO PROVIDE COMPARABILITY DATA AND FINAL APPROVAL OF COMPENSATION IS GIVEN BY THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19WE POST OUR MONTHLY FINANCIALS IN THE LOBBY AND OUR ANNUAL REPORT IS ON THE WEBSITE. BYLAWS WOULD BE AVAILABLE TO A MEMBER UPON REQUEST. BOARD POLICIES ARE NOT USUALLY MADE AVAILABLE. IF REQUESTED, WE WOULD EXPLAIN THE POLICY VS. MAKING COPIES AVAILABLE.
FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9:NET CHANGE IN ACTUARIAL GAINS/(LOSSES) -820,392. CUMULATIVE EFFECT OF CHANGE IN ACCOUNTING PRINCIPLE -1,284,162.