STRATEGY STUDIO / NONPROFIT PEOPLE SEARCH

EDUCATORS CREDIT UNION: Form 990, tax year 2023

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
EDUCATORS CREDIT UNION (EIN 39-0555293)
Tax period
2023-01-01 to 2023-12-31
Filed
2024-10-21
IRS object ID
202432959349300733
Schema version
2023v5.1
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2024-10-21T12:31:19-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2023-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN390758449PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1WIPFLI LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11502 LONDON ROAD SUITE 200AddressLine1Txt
CityDULUTHCityNm
State AbbreviationMNStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP55812ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2023-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN390555293EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1EDUCATORS CREDIT UNIONBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlEDUCBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone2628865900PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11326 WILLOW ROADAddressLine1Txt
CityMT PLEASANTCityNm
State AbbreviationWIStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP53177ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonJAMES JUSTMANPersonNm
Person TitleCFOPersonTitleTxt
Phone2628865900PhoneNum
Signature2024-10-21SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
IRS Responsible Prty Info CurrYes (1)IRSResponsiblePrtyInfoCurrInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonMICHAEL J PETERSON CPAPreparerPersonNm
PTINP01833529PTIN
Phone2187224705PhoneNum
Preparation2024-09-23PreparationDt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2023TaxYr
Build TS2024-10-15 13:58:12ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerJAMES JUSTMANPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11326 WILLOW ROADAddressLine1Txt
CityMT PLEASANTCityNm
State AbbreviationWIStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP53177ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$258,863,987GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Group Exemption2157GroupExemptionNum
Organization501cYes (X)Organization501cInd
Website AddressWWW.ECU.COMWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1937FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateWILegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionPASSIONATELY HELP PEOPLE BY EDUCATING AND ADVISING TO EARN THEIR LOYALTY.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body13VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent13VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee652TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers13TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$906,553TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$0PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$0CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$135,818,689PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$156,559,607CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$28,157,065PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$61,871,505CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$2,825,306PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$3,074,715CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$166,801,060PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$221,505,827CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$663,542PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$744,615CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$45,800,721PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$46,164,370CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$88,333,342PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$130,559,908CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$134,797,605PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$177,468,893CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$32,003,455PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$44,036,934CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$3,107,585,746TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$3,193,764,972TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$2,842,785,113TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$2,870,306,411TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$264,800,633NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$323,458,561NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionOUR GOAL IS TO BE THE BEST CREDIT UNION, NOT THE LARGEST. THIS CAN BE ACHIEVED BY HAVING THE MOST LOYAL MEMBERS THROUGH THEIR USE OF OUR PRODUCTS, SERVICES, TECHNOLOGY, AND WILLINGNESS TO REFER OTHERS TO EDUCATORS CREDIT UNION.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
DescEDUCATORS CREDIT UNION PROVIDES BUSINESS AND CONSUMER LOANS AND LEASES. CURRENT LOAN PORTFOLIO IS OVER $2.2 BILLION. EDUCATORS OFFERS EDUCATIONAL SEMINARS TO HELP INFORM ITS MEMBERSHIP AND TOOLS TO HELP MAKE LARGE PURCHASES, SUCH AS HOME AND AUTOS. EDUCATORS CREDIT UNION ALSO HAS MANY FINANCIAL TOOLS TO HELP MEMBERS BUILD AND IMPROVE THEIR CREDIT SCORE TO ENSURE THEY GET THE LOWEST RATE POSSIBLE ON THEIR LOANS FOR YEARS TO COME.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescEDUCATORS CREDIT UNION PROVIDES VERY COMPETITIVE RATES ON SAVING, CHECKING, CDS, IRAS, AND MONEY MARKET ACCOUNTS WITH BALANCES OVER $2.8 BILLION. EDUCATORS THE CREDIT UNION GAVE BACK OVER $5.1 MILLION DOLLARS BACK TO OUR LOYAL MEMBERS THROUGH OUR MEMBER LOYALTY PROGRAM. WE ALSO HAVE GREAT BENEFITS FOR OUR MEMBERS LIKE MIND & MONEY, FINANCIAL WELLNESS TOOLS, AND FRAUD AND THEFT PROTECTION. EDUCATORS CREDIT UNION ALSO HAS A TEAM IN INVESTMENT SERVICES TO ENSURE FINANCIAL WELLNESS FOR FUTURE GENERATIONS.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty3 ProgSrvcAccomActy3Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescWE HAVE OVER 230,000 MEMBERS AND FOCUS ON EDUCATING THEM IN OUR BRANCHES AS WELL AS THROUGH COMMUNITY ACTIVITIES. EDUCATORS GAVE BACK MORE THAN $740,000 BACK TO THE COMMUNITIES IN WHICH WE SERVE. EDUCATORS CREDIT UNION ALSO AWARDED A TOTAL OF $70,000 TO 35 SCHOOL STUDENTS TO HELP OFFSET THE COST OF HIGHER EDUCATION. TO HELP ENSURE THE SECURITY OF OUR COMMUNITIES' INFORMATION, EDUCATORS CREDIT UNION OFFERS MULTIPLE SHRED DAYS THROUGHOUT OUR COMMUNITIES FREE OF CHARGE.Desc
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Described In Section501c30DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B Required0ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi Endowments0DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 Footnote0IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsYes (1)GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl EntYes (1)BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related Entity0RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document161219IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee652EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (1)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (1)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt0SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc0SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members13GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member13IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (1)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (1)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (1)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of Committees0MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersYes (1)LocalChaptersInd
Policies Reference ChaptersYes (1)PoliciesReferenceChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn Body0Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1JAMES JUSTMANBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone2628865900PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11326 WILLOW ROADAddressLine1Txt
CityMT PLEASANTCityNm
State AbbreviationWIStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP53177ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (26 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtKey EmployeeKeyEmployeeIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
MARY LUENEBURG
CHAIRPERSON1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$3,250$0$0
CHERYL KOTHE
VICE CHAIRPERSON1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$2,050$0$0
BRAD ZAUTCKE
TREASURER1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$2,000$0$0
MILTON DOCKERY
SECRETARY1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$850$0$0
CLARENCE ALLEN
BOARD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$1,350$0$0
SARAH FIEREK
BOARD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$1,250$0$0
WILLIAM HALSEY
BOARD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$1,800$0$0
NANCY MAJEWSKI
BOARD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$2,000$0$0
PAUL PELZEK
BOARD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$800$0$0
JANET DAYS
ASSOCIATE BOARD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$2,100$0$0
ELTON DEMETI
ASSOCIATE BOARD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$1,050$0$0
DONALD LODGE
ASSOCIATE BOARD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$1,750$0$0
LOGAN MARTIN
ASSOCIATE BOARD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$1,700$0$0
LINDA HOOVER
CEO & PRESIDENT40.00Yes (X)$725,266$0$50,779
JAMES JUSTMAN
CFO40.00Yes (X)$293,189$0$38,916
ASHLEY MADALA
VP LENDING40.00$180,897$0$31,784Yes (X)
LORI GORKOWSKI
VP PAYMENTS40.00$183,088$0$32,222Yes (X)
DALE DREHER
INFORMATION SECURITY OFFIC40.00$175,029$0$31,050Yes (X)
JONATHAN HENKES
VP IT40.00$174,109$0$21,812Yes (X)
MAGGIE FEAGER
SVP HR40.00$171,058$0$42,090Yes (X)
ANGELA LANGDON
VP RISK MANAGEMENT40.00$156,998$0$20,489Yes (X)
KURT JOHNSON
CRO40.00$300,138$0$65,076Yes (X)
JOSEPH BRAZGEL
CIO40.00$262,874$0$66,618Yes (X)
SHANNON HUOT
CHIEF EXPERIENCE OFFICER40.00$217,833$0$54,321Yes (X)
RICH CHIAPETE
CORPORATE ATTORNEY40.00$190,637$0$50,651Yes (X)
GLENN BRUSKY
VP FACILITIES40.00$169,996$0$30,799Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$3,223,062TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$536,607TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K45IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
ALKAMI TECHNOLOGY INC
PO BOX 122223DALLASTX753122223ONLINE BANKING PROVIDER$4,028,251
NUSOURCE FINANCIAL
9749 HAMILTON ROADEDEN PRAIRIEMN55344ITM SERVICE PROVIDER$3,175,311
FISERV
PO BOX 934057ATLANTAGA311934057CARD PROCESSOR$1,606,569
EDGE ONE INC
161 BUSINESS PARK CIRCLESTOUGHTONWI53589ATM/ITM SERVICE PROVIDER$1,513,410
IEMENTOR CORP
120 BISHOPS WAY STE 161BROOKFIELDWI53005IT CONSULTANT/CONTRACTOR$1,139,939
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K64CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (5 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
INTEREST ON LOANS522100$99,308,876$99,308,876
CREDIT CARD INTERCHANGE INCOME522100$32,571,077$32,571,077
MEMBER SERVICE FEES522100$14,180,552$14,180,552
INCOME FROM SALE OF LOANS522100$5,463,707$5,463,707
LOAN FEE INCOME522100$1,791,302$1,791,302

Total Oth Program Service Rev TotalOthProgramServiceRevGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$3,244,093TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$2,429,989RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$814,104UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$156,559,607TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$50,081,473TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$50,081,473ExclusionAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$149,854RealAmt

Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$251,078RealAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real-$101,224RealAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$101,224TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion-$101,224ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$27,805,398SecuritiesAmt
Other$15,883,673OtherAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$27,574,695SecuritiesAmt
Other$4,324,344OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$230,703SecuritiesAmt
Other$11,559,329OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$11,790,032TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$11,790,032ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Sales Of Inventory$5,300,492GrossSalesOfInventoryAmt
Cost Of Goods Sold$5,208,043CostOfGoodsSoldAmt

Net Income Or Loss NetIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$92,449TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$92,449UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt

Miscellaneous Revenue MiscellaneousRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$3,083,490TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$3,083,490ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$3,083,490OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$221,505,827TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$155,745,503RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$906,553UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$64,853,771ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$744,615TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,543,531TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$32,961,753TotalAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,650,477TotalAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,408,595TotalAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,600,014TotalAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$122,756TotalAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$362,607TotalAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,240,175TotalAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,971,368TotalAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,903,523TotalAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$13,239,471TotalAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,152,197TotalAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$148,376TotalAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,430,273TotalAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$23,557,576TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,734,976TotalAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$432,754TotalAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmt
DIVIDENDS PAID$32,948,569
DEBIT AND CREDIT CARD E$18,414,465
PROVISION FOR LOAN LOSS$11,727,680
CASH BACK REWARDS$5,877,568

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$5,295,574TotalAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$177,468,893TotalAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$58,934,104BOYAmt
EOY$42,247,113EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$78,769,992BOYAmt
EOY$101,646,585EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$8,953,409BOYAmt
EOY$10,131,627EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,116,403,607BOYAmt
EOY$2,224,569,392EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$6,702,863BOYAmt
EOY$6,296,764EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$91,255,951LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$39,935,771LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$55,202,292BOYAmt
EOY$51,320,180EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$734,899,037BOYAmt
EOY$668,747,480EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$15,649,428BOYAmt
EOY$15,145,539EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$32,071,014BOYAmt
EOY$73,660,292EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,107,585,746BOYAmt
EOY$3,193,764,972EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$33,441,773BOYAmt
EOY$49,019,801EOYAmt

Escrow Account Liability EscrowAccountLiabilityGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,803,078BOYAmt
EOY$2,834,764EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,412,631BOYAmt
EOY$2,347,429EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,805,127,631BOYAmt
EOY$2,816,104,417EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,842,785,113BOYAmt
EOY$2,870,306,411EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Org Does Not Follow FASB117Yes (X)OrgDoesNotFollowFASB117Ind

Cap Stk Tr Prin Current Funds CapStkTrPrinCurrentFundsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Pd In Cap Srpls Land Bldg Eqp Fund PdInCapSrplsLandBldgEqpFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$264,800,633BOYAmt
EOY$323,458,561EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$264,800,633BOYAmt
EOY$323,458,561EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,107,585,746BOYAmt
EOY$3,193,764,972EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$44,036,934ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$20,026,363NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets-$5,405,369OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Agent Trustee Etc0AgentTrusteeEtcInd
Incl Escrow Custodial Acct LiabYes (1)InclEscrowCustodialAcctLiabInd
Explanation ProvidedYes (X)ExplanationProvidedInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$14,439,561OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$14,439,561BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$55,204,052OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$25,823,426DepreciationAmt
Book Value$29,380,626BookValueAmt

Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$1,754,489OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$1,326,918DepreciationAmt
Book Value$427,571BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$18,518,698OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$12,785,427DepreciationAmt
Book Value$5,733,271BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$1,339,151OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$1,339,151BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$51,320,180TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescMEMBERS' SHARE AND SAVINGS ACCOUNTSDesc
Amt$2,816,104,417Amt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$2,816,104,417TotalLiabilityAmt
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$221,756,905TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Revenue Not Reported$0RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$221,756,905RevenueSubtotalAmt
Other Revenues Not Included-$251,078OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt-$251,078RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$221,505,827TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$177,719,971TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Expenses Included$251,078OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$251,078ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$177,468,893ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$0ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$177,468,893TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (3 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART IV, LINE 2B:THE CREDIT UNION IS THE TRUSTEE OF CERTAIN MEMBERS' ESCROW FUNDS AND HAS FIDUCIARY RESPONSIBILITY FOR THE ADMINISTRATION AND DISTRIBUTION OF THESE FUNDS FOR MEMBERS OF THE ORGANIZATION.
PART XI, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:RENTAL EXPENSE -251,078.
PART XII, LINE 2D - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:RENTAL EXPENSE 251,078.

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (1)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Recipient Table RecipientTable (9 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdRecipient EINRecipientEINIRC SectionIRCSectionDescCash GrantCashGrantAmtNon Cash AssistanceNonCashAssistanceAmtPurpose Of GrantPurposeOfGrantTxt
JUNIOR ACHIEVEMENT
11111 W LIBERTY DRIVEMILWAUKEEWI53224841223492501(C)(9)$65,000$0GENERAL SUPPORT
UNITED WAY OF RACINE COUNTY
2000 DOMANIK DRIVERACINEWI53404390806349501(C)(3)$63,259$0GENERAL SUPPORT
MILWAUKEE PUBLIC SCHOOLS FOUNDATION
234 W GALENA STMILWAUKEEWI53212391929112501(C)(3)$30,000$0GENERAL SUPPORT
HOUSING RESOURCES INC
7830 W BURLEIGH STREETMILWAUKEEWI53222391706658501(C)(3)$15,000$0GENERAL SUPPORT
ROC FOUNDATION INC
7044 S BALLPARK DRIVE SUITE 300FRANKLINWI53132842842277501(C)(3)$14,500$0GENERAL SUPPORT
PROHEALTH CARE
725 AMERICAN AVENUEWAUKESHAWI53188391314542501(C)(3)$13,000$0GENERAL SUPPORT
CITY OF RACINE PRCS
601 CARON BUTLER DRRACINEWI53403396005581GOVERNMENT$10,000$0GENERAL SUPPORT
UNITED WAY OF RACINE COUNTY
2000 DOMINIK DRRACINEWI53404390806349501(C)(3)$7,500$0GENERAL SUPPORT
88 NINE RADIO MILWAUKEE
220 E PITTSBURGH AVEMILWAUKEEWI53204201257939501(C)(3)$6,500$0GENERAL SUPPORT
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total501c3 Org7Total501c3OrgCnt
Total Other Org2TotalOtherOrgCnt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART I, LINE 2:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationBRANCH MANAGERS HAVE THE ABILITY TO APPROVE GRANTS TO A CERTAIN AMOUNT, AFTER THAT AMOUNT, THE GRANTS WOULD HAVE TO BE APPROVED BY THEIR MANAGER. LARGER GRANTS ARE APPROVED BY SENIOR MANAGEMENT AND ARE CONSIDERED COMMUNITY BENEFIT CONTRIBUTIONS.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (13 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
LINDA HOOVER
CEO & PRESIDENT$655,681$0$62,385$0$7,200$0$41,250$0$9,529$0$776,045$0$0$0
KURT JOHNSON
CRO$273,171$0$26,967$0$0$0$38,757$0$26,319$0$365,214$0$0$0
JAMES JUSTMAN
CFO$267,055$0$26,134$0$0$0$37,334$0$1,582$0$332,105$0$0$0
JOSEPH BRAZGEL
CIO$238,399$0$24,475$0$0$0$34,799$0$31,819$0$329,492$0$0$0
SHANNON HUOT
CHIEF EXPERIENCE OFFICER$198,280$0$19,553$0$0$0$28,127$0$26,194$0$272,154$0$0$0
RICH CHIAPETE
CORPORATE ATTORNEY$173,221$0$17,416$0$0$0$24,697$0$25,954$0$241,288$0$0$0
LORI GORKOWSKI
VP PAYMENTS$164,615$0$18,473$0$0$0$23,420$0$8,802$0$215,310$0$0$0
MAGGIE FEAGER
SVP HR$155,424$0$15,634$0$0$0$22,168$0$19,922$0$213,148$0$0$0
ASHLEY MADALA
VP LENDING$164,998$0$15,899$0$0$0$22,861$0$8,923$0$212,681$0$0$0
DALE DREHER
INFORMATION SECURITY OFFIC$159,799$0$15,230$0$0$0$22,127$0$8,923$0$206,079$0$0$0
GLENN BRUSKY
VP FACILITIES$153,598$0$16,279$0$119$0$21,996$0$8,803$0$200,795$0$0$0
JONATHAN HENKES
VP IT$158,903$0$15,206$0$0$0$21,764$0$48$0$195,921$0$0$0
ANGELA LANGDON
VP RISK MANAGEMENT$142,904$0$14,094$0$0$0$20,441$0$48$0$177,487$0$0$0

Schedule L IRS990ScheduleL

Bus Tr Involve Interested Prsn BusTrInvolveInterestedPrsnGrp

Name Of Interested NameOfInterested

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonCHERYL KOTHEPersonNm
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Relationship DescriptionBOARD VICE CHAIRRelationshipDescriptionTxt
Transaction$16,706TransactionAmt
TransactionSHIRTS FOR STAFF FOR GIFTS AND SPECIAL EVENTS. EMBROIDERY AND SCREEN PRINTING SERVICES FOR SHIRTS THAT STAFF PURCHASE FROM ELITE APPAREL LLC, OWNED BY CHERYL KOTHE.TransactionDesc
Sharing Of Revenues0SharingOfRevenuesInd

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (9 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 6THE ORGANIZATION CONSISTS OF MEMBERS. TO BE A MEMBER, ONE MUST HAVE A SHARE/SAVINGS ACCOUNT. EACH MEMBER HAS ONE VOTE TO ELECT THE GOVERNING BODY (BOARD OF DIRECTORS).
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7ATHE BOARD OF DIRECTORS ARE ELECTED BY THE MEMBERSHIP UTILIZING THEIR ONE VOTE PER MEMBER.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7BA MERGER IN WHICH EDUCATORS CREDIT UNION WAS NOT THE SURVIVING CREDIT UNION.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 8BMINUTES ARE NOT TAKEN FOR SUBCOMMITTEES OF THE BOARD, WITH THE EXCEPTION OF THE ALM COMMITTEE AND THE AUDIT COMMITTEE. THE ACTIONS RECOMMENDED BY THE SUBCOMMITTEES ARE PRESENTED TO THE FULL BOARD FOR APPROVAL AND INCLUDED IN THEIR MINUTES.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11BINFORMATION IS GATHERED BY THE CONTROLLER AND THE HUMAN RESOURCES MANAGER. THE FORM 990 IS REVIEWED BY THE CFO AND THE CONTROLLER. A COPY OF THE 990 IS PROVIDED TO THE BOARD AFTER SUBMISSION TO THE IRS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12CEMPLOYEES ARE REQUIRED ANNUALLY TO SIGN THE OATH OF OFFICE AND REPORT ANY CONFLICTS OF INTEREST. THE ORGANIZATION ENCOURAGES EMPLOYEES TO DISCUSS POTENTIAL CONFLICTS WITH THEIR MANAGER, HUMAN RESOURCES, INTERNAL AUDIT, OR BY REPORTING TO OUR ANONYMOUS FRAUD LINE. ALL REPORTS ARE INVESTIGATED AND ADDRESSED AS NECESSARY. EMPLOYEE AND BOARD MEMBER ACCOUNTS ARE PERIODICALLY REVIEWED FOR ANY IRREGULARITIES THAT WOULD POINT TO A VIOLATION OF THE POLICY.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15THE ORGANIZATION OBTAINS ANNUAL SALARY DATA FROM A THIRD-PARTY VENDOR. THE BUDGETING PROCESS AND BOARD APPROVE PERCENTAGE INCREASE FOR OVERALL SALARY INCREASES. ANNUAL INCREASES ARE GIVEN BASED ON SALARY RANGE, POSITION IN RANGE, PERFORMANCE, LENGTH OF EMPLOYMENT, TIME IN POSITION, AND THE BOARD APPROVED AVERAGE PERCENTAGE INCREASE.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19GOVERNING DOCUMENTS, CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY, AND FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE MADE AVAILABLE UPON REQUEST.
FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9:ONE-TIME ADJUSTMENT TO UNDIVIDED EARNINGS - EARLY ADOPTION OF CECL -5,405,369.