STRATEGY STUDIO / NONPROFIT PEOPLE SEARCH

CREDIT UNIONS IN THE STATE OF WASHINGTON: Form 990, tax year 2023

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
CREDIT UNIONS IN THE STATE OF WASHINGTON (EIN 91-0567788)
Tax period
2023-01-01 to 2023-12-31
Filed
2024-11-13
IRS object ID
202423189349310877
Schema version
2023v5.1
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2024-11-13T17:19:14-06:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2023-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN910189318PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1MOSS ADAMS LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1601 W RIVERSIDE AVENUE STE 1800AddressLine1Txt
CitySPOKANECityNm
State AbbreviationWAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP99201ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2023-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN910567788EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1HORIZON CREDIT UNIONBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlHORIBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone5099286494PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 15128AddressLine1Txt
CitySPOKANE VALLEYCityNm
State AbbreviationWAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP99216ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonJEFF ADAMSPersonNm
Person TitleCEOPersonTitleTxt
Phone5099286494PhoneNum
Signature2024-11-12SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
IRS Responsible Prty Info CurrYes (1)IRSResponsiblePrtyInfoCurrInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonEMINA O CRESSWELL CPAPreparerPersonNm
PTINP01217304PTIN
Phone5097472600PhoneNum
Preparation2024-11-08PreparationDt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2023TaxYr
Build TS2024-10-15 13:58:12ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerJEFF ADAMSPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 15128AddressLine1Txt
CitySPOKANE VALLEYCityNm
State AbbreviationWAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP99216ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$114,276,790GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Group Exemption1269GroupExemptionNum
Organization501cYes (X)Organization501cInd
Website AddressWWW.HZCU.ORGWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1947FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateWALegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionCREDIT UNION OPERATED WITHOUT PROFIT FOR MUTUAL PURPOSES. PROVIDE FINANCIAL SERVICES TO MEMBERS.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body7VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent7VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee528TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers14TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$193,008TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$0PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$0CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$79,355,427PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$96,814,180CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$4,119,502PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$13,379,631CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$27,300PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$24,717CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$83,502,229PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$110,218,528CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$330,167PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$298,502CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$33,016,415PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$39,672,206CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$37,372,405PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$64,865,353CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$70,718,987PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$104,836,061CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$12,783,242PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$5,382,467CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$2,076,980,376TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$2,055,277,728TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$1,839,227,205TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$1,814,821,990TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$237,753,171NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$240,455,738NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionCREDIT UNION OPERATED WITHOUT PROFIT FOR MUTUAL PURPOSES.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
DescPROVIDE FINANCIAL SERVICES TO APPROXIMATELY 112,300 MEMBERS. THESE SERVICES INCLUDE BUT ARE NOT LIMITED TO LOANS AND SAVINGS PROGRAMS. THE SERVICES ARE PROVIDED BY AT LEAST 14 NON-PAID VOLUNTEERS AND APPROXIMATELY 410 FULL-TIME PAID EMPLOYEES.Desc
Described In Section501c30DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B Required0ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign ActyYes (1)PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi Endowments0DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsYes (1)GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Loan OutstandingYes (1)LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent0BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related Entity0RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document25753IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee528EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (1)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (1)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht PymtYes (1)SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc0SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members7GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member7IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (1)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (1)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (1)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn Body0Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring Enfrc0RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower Policy0WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1DEBORAH PARELIUSBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone5099286494PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 15128AddressLine1Txt
CitySPOKANE VALLEYCityNm
State AbbreviationWAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP99216ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (15 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
STEVE SHARON
CHAIRMAN OF BOARD1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
MIKE BUTLER
1ST VICE CHAIRMAN1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
MARK LODINE
2ND VICE CHAIRMAN1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
PAT FITZGERALD
SECRETARY/TREASURER1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
DARIN BURRELL
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
THOMAS DILUZIO
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
PAT MARLER
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JEFF ADAMS
CEO40.00Yes (X)$6,111,461$0$55,334
DEBORAH PARELIUS
CFO40.00Yes (X)$465,986$0$49,497
MARK NEUMANN
COO40.00Yes (X)$469,660$0$46,281
GREG CRARY
SENIOR VP, INFORMATION SER40.00$342,928$0$51,617Yes (X)
JODIE OLSON
SENIOR VP, HUMAN RESOURCES40.00$339,739$0$43,739Yes (X)
BRIAN GRYTDAL
SENIOR VP, MARKETING40.00$338,480$0$38,360Yes (X)
JOHN COTNER
VP, LENDING40.00$209,153$0$32,763Yes (X)
STEFANIE ROBINSON
VP, MARKETING40.00$191,607$0$26,617Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$8,469,014TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$344,208TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K44IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
FISERV
901 INTERNATIONAL PKWY SUITE 100LAKE MARYFL32746DATA PROCESSING$3,205,225
BAKER CONSTRUCTION & DEVELOPMENT INC
2711 E SPRAGUE AVESPOKANEWA99202CONSTRUCTION$2,688,000
NCR CORPORATION
14181 COLLECTIONS CENTER DRCHICAGOIL60693WEBSITE & ELECTRONIC BANKING$1,563,102
COOK SOLUTIONS GROUP
9225 NE CASCADES PKWYPORTLANDOR97220ATM HARDWARE, SOFTWARE, & HOSTING SERVIC$1,357,456
LOOMIS
DEPT CH 10500PALATINEIL600550500SECURED ARMORED TRANSPORT$835,480
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K44CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (4 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmtUnrelated Business RevenueUnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
MEMBER INTEREST522100$82,469,745$82,469,745
CARD INCOME522100$6,807,153$6,807,153
FEES INCOME522100$6,613,106$6,420,098$193,008
OTHER INCOME525990$924,176$924,176
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$96,814,180TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$13,416,575TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$13,416,575ExclusionAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$24,717RealAmt

Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$0RealAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$24,717RealAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$24,717TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$24,717ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$4,021,318OtherAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$4,058,262OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other-$36,944OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$36,944TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion-$36,944ExclusionAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$110,218,528TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$96,621,172RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$193,008UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$13,404,348ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$295,502TotalAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,000TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$7,198,217TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$21,059,093TotalAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$5,783,664TotalAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,388,359TotalAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,242,873TotalAmt

Fees For Services Management FeesForServicesManagementGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$237,979TotalAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$635,566TotalAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$94,502TotalAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,169,914TotalAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,937,425TotalAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,321,882TotalAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,252,735TotalAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,924,849TotalAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$280,925TotalAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$46,771TotalAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$28,929,114TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,888,239TotalAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$885,497TotalAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmt
PROVISION FOR LOAN LOSS$5,277,766
CARD PROCESSING FEES$3,154,893
LOAN PROCESSING$2,595,217
MEMBER SERVICING$1,737,771

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,494,308TotalAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$104,836,061TotalAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$51,984,336BOYAmt
EOY$36,658,947EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$204,453,626BOYAmt
EOY$146,557,668EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,484,028BOYAmt
EOY$4,454,005EOYAmt

Receivables From Officers Etc ReceivablesFromOfficersEtcGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,085,751BOYAmt
EOY$2,085,751EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,642,108,689BOYAmt
EOY$1,697,095,708EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,904,767BOYAmt
EOY$3,033,889EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$79,741,583LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$28,177,801LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$49,607,401BOYAmt
EOY$51,563,782EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$77,023,228BOYAmt
EOY$68,406,846EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$7,356BOYAmt
EOY$6,543EOYAmt

Intangible Assets IntangibleAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$11,994,748BOYAmt
EOY$11,699,323EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$30,326,446BOYAmt
EOY$33,715,266EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,076,980,376BOYAmt
EOY$2,055,277,728EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$26,316,555BOYAmt
EOY$19,921,929EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$366,239BOYAmt
EOY$1,470,439EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,812,544,411BOYAmt
EOY$1,793,429,622EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,839,227,205BOYAmt
EOY$1,814,821,990EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Org Does Not Follow FASB117Yes (X)OrgDoesNotFollowFASB117Ind

Cap Stk Tr Prin Current Funds CapStkTrPrinCurrentFundsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Pd In Cap Srpls Land Bldg Eqp Fund PdInCapSrplsLandBldgEqpFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$237,753,171BOYAmt
EOY$240,455,738EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$237,753,171BOYAmt
EOY$240,455,738EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,076,980,376BOYAmt
EOY$2,055,277,728EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$5,382,467ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$916,533NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets-$3,596,433OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule C IRS990ScheduleC

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Political Expenditures$15,241PoliticalExpendituresAmt
Expended527 Activities$15,241Expended527ActivitiesAmt
Total Exempt Function Expend$15,241TotalExemptFunctionExpendAmt
Form1120 POL FiledYes (1)Form1120POLFiledInd

Section527 Political Org Section527PoliticalOrgGrp

Organization Business Name OrganizationBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1CREDIT UNION LEGISLATIVE ACTION FUNDBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line118000 INTERNATIONAL BLVD SUITE 350AddressLine1Txt
CitySEATACCityNm
State AbbreviationWAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP98188ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN800043051EIN
Paid Internal Funds$15,241PaidInternalFundsAmt
Contributions Rcvd Dlvr$7,874ContributionsRcvdDlvrAmt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART I-A, LINE 1:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationTHE CREDIT UNIONS ONLY INDIRECT POLITICAL CAMPAIGN ACTIVITY IS A CONTRIBUTION TO THE CREDIT UNION LEGISLATIVE ACTION COMMITTEE.ExplanationTxt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$12,339,205OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$12,339,205BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$39,357,855OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$10,128,746DepreciationAmt
Book Value$29,229,109BookValueAmt

Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$1,901,016OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$904,604DepreciationAmt
Book Value$996,412BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$24,063,343OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$17,144,451DepreciationAmt
Book Value$6,918,892BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$2,080,164OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$2,080,164BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$51,563,782TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (2 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
MEMBER SHARES & DEPOSITS$1,788,938,458
ROU LEASE LIABILITY$4,491,164
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$1,793,429,622TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$110,517,904TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$262,432NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Other Revenue$36,944OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported$299,376RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$110,218,528RevenueSubtotalAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$0RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$110,218,528TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$104,873,005TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Expenses Included$36,944OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$36,944ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$104,836,061ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$0ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$104,836,061TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (3 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART X, LINE 2:THE CREDIT UNION IS A STATE-CHARTERED CREDIT UNION DESCRIBED IN INTERNAL REVENUE CODE (IRC) SECTION 501(C)(14). AS SUCH, THE CREDIT UNION IS EXEMPT FROM FEDERAL TAXATION OF INCOME DERIVED FROM THE PERFORMANCE OF ACTIVITIES THAT ARE IN FURTHERANCE OF ITS EXEMPT PURPOSES. HOWEVER, IRC SECTION 511 IMPOSES A TAX ON THE UNRELATED BUSINESS INCOME (AS DEFINED IN SECTION 512) DERIVED BY STATE-CHARTERED CREDIT UNIONS. THE SPECIFIC APPLICATION OF SECTION 512 TO THE VARIOUS ACTIVITIES CONDUCTED BY STATE-CHARTERED CREDIT UNIONS HAS BEEN AT ISSUE FOR MANY YEARS. THE INTERNAL REVENUE SERVICE (IRS) HAS ISSUED A SERIES OF TECHNICAL ADVICE MEMORANDA (TAM) TO A NUMBER OF STATE-CHARTERED CREDIT UNIONS LOCATED THROUGHOUT THE COUNTRY. IN THESE TAMS, THE IRS RULED CERTAIN PRODUCTS AND SERVICES TO BE SUBJECT TO TAXATION AS UNRELATED BUSINESS INCOME. IN LIGHT OF THE TAMS, THE CREDIT UNION HAS ASSESSED ITS ACTIVITIES AND ANY POTENTIAL FEDERAL INCOME TAX LIABILITY. THE CREDIT UNION FILES IRS FORMS 990 AND 990-T, AS APPLICABLE, AND MEASURES AND RECOGNIZES THE IMPLICATIONS OF POSITIONS TAKEN OR EXPECTED TO BE TAKEN IN ITS TAX RETURNS ON AN ONGOING BASIS, IN ACCORDANCE WITH INCOME TAX GUIDANCE. THE CREDIT UNION HAD UNRECOGNIZED TAX BENEFITS IN THE AMOUNT OF $1,147,000 AT DECEMBER 31, 2022 DUE TO UNRELATED BUSINESS INCOME. THE CREDIT UNION HAD NO UNRECOGNIZED TAX LIABILITIES, AND NO ADJUSTMENTS TO ITS FINANCIAL POSITION, RESULTS OF OPERATIONS, OR CASH FLOWS RELATED TO UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS TAKEN FOR THE YEAR ENDED DECEMBER 31, 2023. THE CREDIT UNION IS NO LONGER SUBJECT TO FEDERAL, STATE, OR LOCAL INCOME TAX EXAMINATIONS BY TAX AUTHORITIES FOR 12 MONTHS PRIOR TO DECEMBER 31, 2020. IF ASSESSED, THE CREDIT UNION RECOGNIZES PENALTIES AND INTEREST ASSOCIATED WITH TAX MATTERS AS PART OF OPERATING EXPENSES. IN 2017, CONGRESS PASSED THE TAX CUTS AND JOBS ACT, WHICH IMPOSES A 21% EXCISE TAX ON EMPLOYEE COMPENSATION IN EXCESS OF $1 MILLION AND DEFERRED COMPENSATION AFTER THE EMPLOYEE HAS LEFT THE ORGANIZATION IN EXCESS OF THREE TIMES THE AVERAGE COMPENSATION OF THE PREVIOUS FIVE YEARS. THE CREDIT UNION HAS INCURRED $1 MILLION OF EXCISE TAXES IN 2023 AND $0 IN 2022.
PART XI, LINE 2D - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:GAIN/LOSS ON SALE OF FIXED ASSETS 36,944.
PART XII, LINE 2D - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:GAIN/LOSS ON SALE OF FIXED ASSETS 36,944.

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (1)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Recipient Table RecipientTable (6 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdRecipient EINRecipientEINIRC SectionIRCSectionDescCash GrantCashGrantAmtNon Cash AssistanceNonCashAssistanceAmtPurpose Of GrantPurposeOfGrantTxt
KXLY COMMUNITY PARTNERS FOUNDATION
500 W BOONE AVESPOKANEWA99201201033634501(C)(3)$25,000$0EXTREME TEAM SPONSOR
GOWEST CREDIT UNION FOUNDATION
18000 INTERNATIONAL BLVD SUITE 1102SEATACWA98188911649328501(C)(3)$15,241$0CREDIT UNION FOUNDATION CONTRIBUTION
NEIGHBORHOOD HOUSING SERVICES DBA NEIGHBORWORKS BOISE
3380 AMERICANA TERRANCE SUITE 120BOISEID83706820372645501(C)(3)$13,192$0GENERAL SUPPORT FOR BUILDING AND IMPROVING HOMES
NEIGHBORHOOD HOUSING SERVICES DBA NEIGHBORWORKS OF GREAT FALLS
509 1ST AVE SGREAT FALLSMT59401810389825501(C)(3)$10,000$0GENERAL SUPPORT FOR BUILDING AND IMPROVING HOMES
HUMAN RESOURCE DEVELOPMENT COUNCIL
32 S TRACY AVEBOZEMANMT59715810350886501(C)(3)$6,000$0BOAR SPONSORSHIP
BIG BEND COMMUNITY COLLEGE FOUNDATION
7662 CHANUTE ST NEMOSES LAKEWA98837237275328501(C)(3)$5,250$0FOOD PANTRY/EDUCATION SUPPORT
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total501c3 Org6Total501c3OrgCnt
Total Other Org0TotalOtherOrgCnt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART I, LINE 2:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationTHE ORGANIZATION KEEPS RECEIPTS OR DOCUMENTATION FOR EACH SPONSORED EVENT. THE ORGANIZATION HAS A POLICY AND SET OF BY-LAWS FOR THE COMMUNITY OUTREACH COMMITTEE TO FOLLOW WHEN APPROVING EXPENDITURES FOR EVENTS. THE COC IS ASSIGNED BY SENIOR MANAGEMENT A BUDGETED EXPENDITURE AMOUNT FOR EACH YEAR. THE DONATIONS WERE MADE TO KNOWN LOCAL CHARITABLE ORGANIZATIONS AND THEREFORE NO FURTHER MONITORING IS DONE TO ENSURE THAT THE FUNDS ARE NOT USED OUTSIDE THE U.S.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Travel For CompanionsYes (X)TravelForCompanionsInd
Written Policy Ref T And E ExpnssYes (1)WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd
Substantiation RequiredYes (1)SubstantiationRequiredInd
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Independent ConsultantYes (X)IndependentConsultantInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanYes (1)SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (8 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
JEFF ADAMS
CEO$1,883,203$0$206,340$0$4,021,918$0$25,454$0$29,880$0$6,166,795$0$3,947,160$0
MARK NEUMANN
COO$363,093$0$83,168$0$23,399$0$25,218$0$21,063$0$515,941$0$0$0
DEBORAH PARELIUS
CFO$390,353$0$75,633$0$0$0$26,400$0$23,097$0$515,483$0$0$0
GREG CRARY
SENIOR VP, INFORMATION SER$281,843$0$61,085$0$0$0$23,346$0$28,271$0$394,545$0$0$0
JODIE OLSON
SENIOR VP, HUMAN RESOURCES$281,032$0$58,707$0$0$0$26,400$0$17,339$0$383,478$0$0$0
BRIAN GRYTDAL
SENIOR VP, MARKETING$257,910$0$57,652$0$22,918$0$26,400$0$11,960$0$376,840$0$0$0
JOHN COTNER
VP, LENDING$185,662$0$23,491$0$0$0$15,534$0$17,229$0$241,916$0$0$0
STEFANIE ROBINSON
VP, MARKETING$163,269$0$21,095$0$7,243$0$15,693$0$10,924$0$218,224$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART I, LINE 1ATHE CREDIT UNION REIMBURSES LIMITED ACTUAL EXPENSES FOR SPOUSAL TRAVEL OF BOARD MEMBERS, SUPERVISORY COMMITTEE MEMBERS, THE CEO, AND SENIOR MANAGERS. THIS IS ONLY FOR TRAVEL RELATED TO CREDIT UNION BUSINESS. THE REIMBURSEMENTS ARE NOT TAXABLE COMPENSATION.
PART I, LINE 4BIN 2023, THE FOLLOWING AMOUNTS WERE DISTRIBUTED OUT OF A SUPPLEMENTAL NONQUALIFIED RETIREMENT PLAN: JEFF ADAMS - $3,947,160 JOHN COTNER PARTICIPATES IN A 457F PLAN. THERE WERE NO ACCRUALS OR PAYOUTS DURING 2023. DEBORAH PARELIUS, CFO, AND MARK NEUMANN, COO, PARTICIPATE IN THE SPLIT-DOLLAR LIFE INSURANCE ARRANGEMENT THAT IS TREATED AS A SPLIT-DOLLAR LOAN UNDER TREASURY REGULATIONS SECTION 1.7872-15.

Schedule L IRS990ScheduleL

Loans Btwn Org Interested Prsn LoansBtwnOrgInterestedPrsnGrp (2 entries)

Relationship With OrgRelationshipWithOrgTxtLoan PurposeLoanPurposeTxtLoan From OrganizationLoanFromOrganizationIndOriginal PrincipalOriginalPrincipalAmtBalance DueBalanceDueAmtDefaultDefaultIndBoard Or Committee ApprovalBoardOrCommitteeApprovalIndWritten AgreementWrittenAgreementInd
MARK NEUMANN
COOEXECUTIVE COMPENSATIONYes (X)$323,225$461,7510Yes (1)Yes (1)
DEBORAH PARELIUS
CFOEXECUTIVE COMPENSATIONYes (X)$1,392,000$1,624,0000Yes (1)Yes (1)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Balance Due$2,085,751TotalBalanceDueAmt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSCHEDULE L, PART II, LINE (C) ADDITIONAL EXPLANATION:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationEXECUTIVE COMPENSATION UNDER A SPLIT-DOLLAR LIFE INSURANCE ARRANGEMENT THAT IS TREATED AS A SPLIT-DOLLAR LOAN UNDER TREASURY REGULATIONS SECTION 1.7872-15.ExplanationTxt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (7 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 6ENTITY HAS MEMBERS WHO ELECT MEMBERS OF THE BOARD.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7AENTITY HAS ONE CLASS OF MEMBERS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7BENTITY HAS MEMBERS WHO HAVE RIGHTS TO RATIFY DECISIONS OF THE GOVERNING BODY.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11BTHE CFO REVIEWS THE FORM 990 AND WILL MAKE A COMPLETE COPY OF IT AVAILABLE TO THE BOARD AT THE NOVEMBER 2024 BOARD MEETING.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15CEO SALARY RANGES ARE PREPARED BY HUMAN RESOURCES BASED ON INDUSTRY COMPARABILITY DATA AND IS REVIEWED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE. THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE IS COMPRISED OF VOLUNTEER BOARD MEMBERS. CEO PERFORMANCE IS ASSESSED BY ENTIRE BOARD. SALARY TRENDS, BENCHMARKS AND DATA ARE REVIEWED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE FOR APPROPRIATE SALARY DETERMINATION AS DELEGATED TO AND AUTHORIZED BY THE BOARD. SENIOR MANAGER SALARY RANGES ARE PREPARED BY HUMAN RESOURCES BASED ON INDUSTRY COMPARABILITY DATA AND REVIEWED BY THE CEO AND THE COMPENSATION COMMITTEE AND/OR BOARD CHAIR. PERFORMANCE IS ASSESSED AND SALARY TRENDS ARE REVIEWED BY THE CEO TO DETERMINE RELEVANT SALARIES. EVERY FEW YEARS THE COMPENSATION DATA AND PROCESS IS REVIEWED BY AN OUTSIDE CONSULTANT.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19THE ORGANIZATION DOES NOT MAKE AVAILABLE TO THE PUBLIC THE ORGANIZATION'S GOVERNING DOCUMENTS OR CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY. THE ORGANIZATION PUBLISHES THEIR MONTHLY FINANCIAL STATEMENTS AT EACH BRANCH, AND THEIR QUARTERLY FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE PUBLISHED ON THE NCUA WEBSITE. THE ORGANIZATION'S ANNUAL REPORT IS AVAILABLE ON THEIR WEBSITE.
FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9:ACTUARIAL GAIN ON DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN -118,352. ALLOWANCE FOR CREDIT LOSSES - LOANS -3,478,081.