STRATEGY STUDIO / PUBLIC DATA EXPLORER

UNITED STATES ENDOWMENT FORFORESTRY AND COMMUNITIES INC: Form 990, tax year 2023

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
UNITED STATES ENDOWMENT FORFORESTRY AND COMMUNITIES INC (EIN 20-5583324)
Tax period
2023-01-01 to 2023-12-31
Filed
2024-11-14
IRS object ID
202423199349306547
Schema version
2023v5.1
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2024-11-14T12:23:51+00:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2023-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN440160260PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Forvis Mazars LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1500 Ridgefield CourtAddressLine1Txt
CityAshevilleCityNm
State AbbreviationNCStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP28806ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2023-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN205583324EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1United States Endowment for ForestryBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlUNITBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone8642337646PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line110 S Academy St STE 101AddressLine1Txt
CityGreenvilleCityNm
State AbbreviationSCStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP29601ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonPeter C MaddenPersonNm
Person TitlePresident/CEOPersonTitleTxt
Phone8642337646PhoneNum
Signature2024-11-14SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (true)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonAmy BibbyPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00445891PTIN
Phone8282542254PhoneNum
Preparation2024-11-14PreparationDt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2023TaxYr
Build TS2024-10-15 13:58:12ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

Principal Ofcr Business Name PrincipalOfcrBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Peter C MaddenBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line110 S Academy St STE 101AddressLine1Txt
CityGreenvilleCityNm
State AbbreviationSCStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP29601ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$19,543,568GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For AffiliatesfalseGroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website AddressWWW.USENDOWMENT.ORGWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation2006FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateDELegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionTO ADVANCE POSITIVE CHANGE FOR THE NATION'S WORKING FORESTS AND FOREST-RELIANT COMMUNITIESActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body15VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent14VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee14TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers15TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$10,859,388PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$16,252,712CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$0PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$0CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$3,523,750PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$2,641,815CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$547,583PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$649,041CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$14,930,721PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$19,543,568CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$14,620,815PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$18,783,718CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$4,436,610PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$4,823,581CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$3,428,371PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$3,534,519CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$22,485,796PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$27,141,818CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses-$7,555,075PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses-$7,598,250CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$283,124,174TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$300,985,916TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$11,192,824TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$10,639,473TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$271,931,350NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$290,346,443NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionTHE ENDOWMENT WORKS COLLABORATIVELY WITH PARTNERS IN THE PUBLIC AND PRIVATE SECTORS TO ADVANCE SYSTEMIC, TRANSFORMATIVE, AND SUSTAINABLE CHANGE FOR THE HEALTH AND VITALITY OF THE NATION'S WORKING FORESTS AND FOREST RELIANT COMMUNITIES.MissionDesc
Significant New Program SrvcfalseSignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant ChangefalseSignificantChangeInd
Expense$25,849,620ExpenseAmt
Grant$18,783,718GrantAmt
DescThe Endowment advances its mission using a "theory of change" that focuses on three areas: retaining and restoring healthy working forests; promoting and capturing multiple value streams using market-based tools; and enhancing community capacity, collaboration, and leadership. The Endowment deploys its work through five primary initiatives, each of which supports several programs or projects. I. Ecosystem Markets: Monetizing non-traditional forest products. The Endowment continues a focus on water as an ecosystem market. The Endowment is partially funding coordinators across the country who work with local partners to seek State Revolving Fund loans for forested watershed protection and management, which will help keep drinking water supplies clean and affordable. The Endowment is also exploring opportunities for biodiversity credits for landowners as another source of revenue that will contribute to conservation goals. II. Forest Retention and Health: Retaining/expanding and ensuring health of forests. This is a wide-ranging initiative that includes serving as cross-border convener for more strategic collaboration between Canada and the U.S. Other work includes corporate partnerships to protect bottomland hardwood forests, the Department of Defense's base buffering program and innovative financing approaches for forest management and retention. Each is designed to aid in retention and restoration of healthy working forests. A corporate partnership provides funding for conservation of high-value bottomland hardwood forests in North Carolina and Virginia; this program is a model for public-private partnerships. The Endowment works with local conservation partners to take advantage of USDA funds through the Natural Resources Conservation Service. Their Regional Conservation Partnership Program awards finance conservation easements that protect forests that are important for the environment and that sustain local jobs and economies. III. Traditional Markets: After successful work that led to the creation of two commodity check-offs - Softwood Lumber Board and Paper & Paper-based Packaging Board -- more recent work has included supporting initiatives to advance public understanding of the benefits of working forests and the role they play in climate solutions. We are also continuing to develop blockchain solutions through a program called ForesTrust, which seeks to track the supply chain of timber and forest products from forests to end-product, which helps alleviate issues involving illegal logging. IV. Future Markets: The Endowment is partnering with the USDA Forest Service and emerging producers to advance commercialization of cellulosic nanomaterials. This multi-year initiative engages partners to fill knowledge gaps facilitating new products and applications while placing a primary interest on ensuring human and environmental health and safety. Work continues to advance mass timber applications to support tall wooden buildings, including advancing the carbon story of forest products. The Endowment is investigating potential benefits and concerns associated with forest carbon. In response to an increase in public and private investment in carbon management and climate smart forestry on private forest lands, the Endowment is funding programs and workshops to better understand and quantify landowner capacity and willingness to adopt carbon management practices and the implications for other forest land uses (e.g., wood products). Through the US Biochar Initiative project, we work with partners to increase applications, market, and production of biochar with the ultimate goal of carbon being buried in the ground, allowing carbon credits to be realized. The Forest & Wood Carbon Data Platform launch in 2023 created a single U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA)-sponsored platform with multiple user-friendly tools providing transparent, high-integrity forest and wood product carbon data throughout the value chain. The platform will include six measurement, monitoring, reporting, and verification (MMRV) tools that align with a U.S. Forest Service (USFS) objective to serve as the primary source of information on carbon and carbon flows across U.S. Forest lands, harvested wood products, and end-use life cycle assessment. V. Asset Creation: We continue to support the Sustainable Forestry and Land Retention (SFLR) network and their goal to use forests and forest-based assets to create economic opportunity for African American landowners. American Forest Foundation is now the SFLR fiscal agent. SFLR is a multi-year program in partnership with the USDA Forest Service and NRCS across eight southern states and has successfully seen 1,500 black families move their lands into the forest management pipeline. We are applying the applied learnings for our work with the SFLR network to explore Hispanic/Latino landowners and their ability to generate wealth for their families and communities. We continue to work with the Economic Development Administration in New England in partnership with the Northern Forest Center to assist in finding local economic solutions to help offset the impact of the closure of much of the region's pulp and paper production.Desc
Total Program Service Expenses$25,849,620TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (true)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (true)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign ActyfalsePoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying ActivitiesfalseLobbyingActivitiesInd
Donor Advised FundfalseDonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation EasementsfalseConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of ArtfalseCollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingfalseCreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi EndowmentsYes (true)DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (true)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecYes (true)ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstfalseReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsfalseReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesfalseReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (true)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (true)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtfalseConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingfalseSchoolOperatingInd
Foreign OfficefalseForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesfalseForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To OrgfalseMoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To IndividualsfalseMoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional FundraisingfalseProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising ActivitiesfalseFundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming ActivitiesfalseGamingActivitiesInd
Operate HospitalfalseOperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsYes (true)GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsfalseGrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (true)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsfalseTaxExemptBondsInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit TransfalseEngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit TransfalsePYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan OutstandingfalseLoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related PersonfalseGrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org MemfalseBusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemfalseBusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl EntfalseBusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContrifalseDeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art ContributionfalseDeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate OperationsfalseTerminateOperationsInd
Partial LiquidationfalsePartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityYes (true)DisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityfalseRelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntfalseRelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd OrgfalseTrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted PrtshpfalseActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (true)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document46IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (true)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee14EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (true)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (true)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (true)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial AccountfalseForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter TransfalseProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party NotificationfalseTaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible ContributionsfalseNondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo ContributionsfalseQuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed OffalseForm8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalseRcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalsePayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning ServicesfalseIndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht PymtfalseSubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst IncfalseSubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members15GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member14IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business RlnfalseFamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt DutiesfalseDelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org DocumentsfalseChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or MisusefalseMaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersfalseMembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersfalseElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovafalseDecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (true)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (true)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing AddressfalseOfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersfalseLocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (true)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (true)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (true)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (true)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (true)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (true)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (true)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (true)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint VenturefalseInvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldDEStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldSCStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Own WebsiteYes (X)OwnWebsiteInd
Other WebsiteYes (X)OtherWebsiteInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Joie MoreBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone8642337646PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line110 S Academy St STE 101AddressLine1Txt
CityGreenvilleCityNm
State AbbreviationSCStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP29601ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (25 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtKey EmployeeKeyEmployeeIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
Chris McIver
Vice Chair1.0Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Kevin Schuyler
Treasurer1.0Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mark Emmerson
Chairman2.0Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Peter Madden
CEO Secretary40.0Yes (X)Yes (X)$435,910$0$70,435
Adrian Blocker
Director1.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Anna Torma
Director1.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Beatriz Da Cunha
Director1.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Caroline Dauzat
Director1.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Cris Stanbrook
Director1.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Fritz Mason
Director1.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Jo-Ellen Darcy
Director1.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Joshua Raglin
Director1.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mark Reed
Director1.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Maro Imirzian
Director1.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Rehad (Paul) Hossain
Director1.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Soile Kilpi
Director1.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Joie Mor
Chief Financial Officer40.0Yes (X)$205,258$0$54,700
Peter Stangel
Chief Operating Officer40.0Yes (X)$331,496$0$58,042
Alicia Cramer
Senior Vice President40.0$284,167$0$50,158Yes (X)
Matthew Krumenauer
Vice President40.0$235,151$0$25,867Yes (X)
Michael Goergen
Vice President40.0$257,185$0$28,290Yes (X)
Aleta Rogers
Director, Grants & Contracts Compliance40.0$121,226$0$13,335Yes (X)
Jaime Daniel
Finance Director40.0$133,560$0$40,099Yes (X)
Laura Garner
Development Director40.0$105,834$0$11,642Yes (X)
Teal Edelen
Program Officer40.0$124,034$0$13,644Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$2,233,821TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$366,212TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K10IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees ListedfalseFormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (true)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other SrcsfalseCompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
Legacy Philanthropy Works
521 Santa Barbara StSanta BarbaraCA93101Project Management$1,124,428
The Longleaf Alliance
12130 Dixon Center RdAndalusiaAL36420Project Management$641,758
Quantified Ventures LLC
6410 Ruffin RdChevy ChaseMD20815Project Management$587,801
mano-Y-ola
3813 Birchwood CtRaleighNC27612Project Management$537,838
Vireo Advisors LLC
111 Perkins St Apt 216BostonMA02130Environmental Consulting$405,484
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K30CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Government Grants$12,028,685GovernmentGrantsAmt
All Other Contributions$4,224,027AllOtherContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$16,252,712TotalContributionsAmt

Total Oth Program Service Rev TotalOthProgramServiceRevGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$0RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$0TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$119,563TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income-$912,095RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Exclusion$792,532ExclusionAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$0RealAmt
Personal$0PersonalAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$2,761,378SecuritiesAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$2,761,378SecuritiesAmt
Other$0OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$2,761,378TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$2,761,378ExclusionAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtExclusionExclusionAmt
Miscellaneous Income900099$502,077$502,077
Management Fees541610$146,964$146,964

Miscellaneous Revenue MiscellaneousRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$0RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$649,041OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$19,543,568TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income-$912,095RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$4,202,951ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$18,783,718TotalAmt
Program Services$18,783,718ProgramServicesAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,155,842TotalAmt
Program Services$840,167ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$315,675ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,782,722TotalAmt
Program Services$2,442,235ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$340,487ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$619,086TotalAmt
Program Services$555,762ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$63,324ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$265,931TotalAmt
Program Services$193,302ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$72,629ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$49,442TotalAmt
Management And General$49,442ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$54,021TotalAmt
Management And General$54,021ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$160,555TotalAmt
Management And General$160,555ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$300,645TotalAmt
Program Services$300,645ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$58,855TotalAmt
Program Services$58,855ProgramServicesAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$893,305TotalAmt
Program Services$876,142ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$17,163ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$691,717TotalAmt
Program Services$640,998ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$50,719ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$155,573TotalAmt
Program Services$96,890ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$58,683ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$28,075TotalAmt
Program Services$23,443ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$4,632ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$85,386TotalAmt
Program Services$15,689ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$69,697ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$622,984TotalAmt
Program Services$606,034ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$16,950ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$424,329TotalAmt
Program Services$413,734ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$10,595ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescTaxes and Other ExpensesDesc
Total$9,632TotalAmt
Program Services$2,006ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$7,626ManagementAndGeneralAmt

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$27,141,818TotalAmt
Program Services$25,849,620ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,292,198ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$8,716,155BOYAmt
EOY$9,105,002EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,760,496BOYAmt
EOY$6,507,299EOYAmt

Receivables From Officers Etc ReceivablesFromOfficersEtcGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rcvbl From Disqualified Prsn RcvblFromDisqualifiedPrsnGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$0EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$277,279BOYAmt
EOY$254,516EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$101,247BOYAmt
EOY$81,599EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$21,338,902LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$1,764,352LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$19,955,882BOYAmt
EOY$19,574,550EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$176,034,640BOYAmt
EOY$177,971,318EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$71,600,653BOYAmt
EOY$85,415,964EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$677,822BOYAmt
EOY$2,075,668EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$283,124,174BOYAmt
EOY$300,985,916EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$11,192,824BOYAmt
EOY$10,639,473EOYAmt

Loans From Officers Directors LoansFromOfficersDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$0EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$11,192,824BOYAmt
EOY$10,639,473EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows FASB117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind

No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$22,636,985BOYAmt
EOY$23,119,304EOYAmt

Donor Restriction Net Assets DonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$249,294,365BOYAmt
EOY$267,227,139EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$271,931,350BOYAmt
EOY$290,346,443EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$283,124,174BOYAmt
EOY$300,985,916EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss-$7,598,250ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$26,013,343NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$0OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or ReviewfalseAccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (true)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (true)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredYes (true)FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd
Federal Grant Audit PerformedYes (true)FederalGrantAuditPerformedInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Organization170Yes (X)PublicOrganization170Ind

Gifts Grants Contri Rcvd170 GiftsGrantsContriRcvd170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$10,675,091CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$10,387,679CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$12,743,082CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$10,859,388CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$16,252,712CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$60,917,952TotalAmt

Tax Rev Levied Orgnztnl Bnft170 TaxRevLeviedOrgnztnlBnft170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Govt Furn Srvc Fclts Vl170 GovtFurnSrvcFcltsVl170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Total Calendar Year170 TotalCalendarYear170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$10,675,091CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$10,387,679CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$12,743,082CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$10,859,388CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$16,252,712CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$60,917,952TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Substantial Contributors Tot$1,917,414SubstantialContributorsTotAmt
Public Support Total170$59,000,538PublicSupportTotal170Amt

Gross Investment Income170 GrossInvestmentIncome170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$917,660CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$492,286CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$639,613CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$505,508CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$792,532CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$3,347,599TotalAmt

Unrelated Business Net Incm170 UnrelatedBusinessNetIncm170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Other Income170 OtherIncome170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$283,233CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$342,687CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$541,193CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$547,583CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$649,041CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$2,363,737TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Support$66,629,288TotalSupportAmt
Gross Receipts Rltd Activities$0GrossReceiptsRltdActivitiesAmt
Public Support CY1700.8855PublicSupportCY170Pct
Public Support PY1700.8832PublicSupportPY170Pct
Thirty Thr Pct Suprt Tests CY170Yes (X)ThirtyThrPctSuprtTestsCY170Ind

Form990 Schedule A Part VI Form990ScheduleAPartVIGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSchedule A, Part II, Line 10 Other IncomeFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationDESCRIPTION - OTHER INCOME, COLUMN A - 283233.0, COLUMN B - 342687.0, COLUMN C - 541193.0, COLUMN D - 547583.0, COLUMN E - 649041.0, COLUMN F - 2363737.0;ExplanationTxt

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$247,635,293BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$28,366,990InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$12,615,001OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$263,387,282EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$284,425,359BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses-$26,075,066InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$10,715,000OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$247,635,293EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$247,828,142BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$44,248,217InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$7,651,000OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$284,425,359EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$230,682,480BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$24,953,662InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$7,808,000OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$247,828,142EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$201,429,295BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$37,428,185InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$8,175,000OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$230,682,480EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Board Designated Balance EOY0.0BoardDesignatedBalanceEOYPct
Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY0.7593PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Term Endowment Balance EOY0.2407TermEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Endowments Held Unrelated OrgfalseEndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related OrgfalseEndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$621,858OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$621,858BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$332,368OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$92,658DepreciationAmt
Book Value$239,710BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$20,384,676OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$1,671,694DepreciationAmt
Book Value$18,712,982BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$19,574,550TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Securities OtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescPrivate Limited PartnershipsDesc
Book Value$85,415,964BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Securities$85,415,964TotalBookValueSecuritiesAmt
Total Liability$0TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$45,396,356TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$26,013,343NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Other Revenue$0OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported$26,013,343RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$19,383,013RevenueSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld$160,555InvestmentExpensesNotIncldAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$0OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$160,555RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$19,543,568TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$26,981,263TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Expenses Included$0OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$26,981,263ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld2$160,555InvestmentExpensesNotIncld2Amt
Other Expenses Not Included$0OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$160,555ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$27,141,818TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Schedule D, Part V, Line 4 Intended uses of endowment fundsTHE ORGANIZATION WAS FUNDED WITH A ONE-TIME INFUSION OF $200 MILLION UNDER THE TERMS OF THE SOFTWOOD LUMBER AGREEMENT BETWEEN THE UNITED STATES AND CANADA. EARNINGS FROM THE ENDOWMENT CAN BE USED TO FUND THE ORGANIZATION'S PURPOSES OF SUPPORTING EDUCATIONAL AND CHARITABLE CAUSES IN TIMBER-RELIANT COMMUNITIES, EDUCATIONAL AND PUBLIC-INTEREST PROJECTS ADDRESSING FOREST MANAGEMENT ISSUES THAT AFFECT TIMBER-RELIANT COMMUNITIES, OR THE SUSTAINABILITY OF FORESTS AS SOURCES OF BUILDING MATERIALS, WILDLIFE HABITAT, BIO-ENERGY, RECREATION, AND OTHER VALUES.
Schedule D, Part X, Line 2 FIN 48 (ASC 740) footnoteTHE ENDOWMENT HAS OBTAINED TAX EXEMPT STATUS UNDER INTERNAL REVENUE CODE SECTION 501(C)(3), AND AS SUCH, IS EXEMPT FROM INCOME TAXES EXCEPT ON UNRELATED BUSINESS INCOME. ACCORDINGLY, THE ACCOMPANYING CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS DO NOT REFLECT A PROVISION OR LIABILITY FOR FEDERAL AND STATE INCOME TAXES. THE ENDOWMENT HAS DETERMINED THAT THERE ARE NO MATERIAL UNRECOGNIZED TAX BENEFITS OR OBLIGATIONS AS OF DECEMBER 31, 2023.

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (true)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Recipient Table RecipientTable (61 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdRecipient EINRecipientEINIRC SectionIRCSectionDescCash GrantCashGrantAmtPurpose Of GrantPurposeOfGrantTxt
2030 Inc
607 Cerrillos Road Suite GSante FeNM87505260251104501(c)(5)$64,500Mass Timber
American Forests
1220 L Street NW Suite 750WashingtonDC20005530196544501(c)(3)$218,904Carbon
Auburn University
636000724University$271,354Mass Timber
Black Family Land Trust Inc
043797149501(c)(3)$80,000Sustainable Forestry and Land Retention
Blue Forest Finance
5960 S Land Park Dr Suite 1264SacramentoCA95822831666979501(c)(3)$342,143Innovative Finance; Ecosystem Markets
Bosland Growth LLC
922555910For-Profit$339,009Scarred Mine Land; Forest Conservation
Clemson University
576000254University$133,475P3 Nano Research to Commercialization
Coalitions & Collaboratives Inc
PO Box 746Lake GeorgeCO80827472144690501(c)(3)$15,962Innovative Finance
Colorado State University
408 University Services CenterFort CollinsCO80523846000545University$188,399Mass Timber
Council of Great Lakes Governors Inc
309 East Rand RoadArlington HeightsIL60004411427529501(c)(3)$26,784Innovative Finance
County of Humboldt
946000513Govt$24,981Innovative Finance
Dovetail Partners
528 Hennepin Ave Suite 303MinneapolisMN55403522419510501(c)(3)$15,200Carbon
Florida State University
591961248University$56,219Prescribed Fire
Georgia Tech Research Corporation
580603146501(c)(3)$62,261P3 Nano Research to Commercialization; Carbon
Iowa State University of Science and Technology
426004224University$38,043Mass Timber
Kodama Systems Inc
871861470For-Profit$12,500Innovative Finance
Lincoln Institute of Land Policy
866021106501(c)(3)$114,999Forest Retention
Mammoth Lake Trails and Public Access Foundation
205554141501(c)(3)$16,671Innovative Finance
McIntosh SEED
582556194501(c)(3)$115,000Sustainable Forestry and Land Retention
Michigan State University
386005984University$36,484Blockchain
Mississippi State University
646000819University$46,406Mass Timber
Mount St Helens Institute
911569993501(c)(3)$56,650Innovative Finance
Multiplier
912166435501(c)(3)$20,734Innovative Finance
National Woodland Owners Association
542060831501(c)(3)$77,590Diversity Equity Inclusion
New Leaf Climate Partners
882100068Corp$162,600Carbon
Northern Forest Center
205583324501(c)(3)$411,961Economic Development Administration
Ohio State University
316025986University$99,999Forest Retention
Oregon State University
611730890University$100,295P3 Nano Research to Commericalization
Our Katahdin
472382072501(c)(3)$33,469Economic Development Administration
Pennsylvania State University
246000376University$51,205Carbon
Prairie View A&M University
746001078University$80,000Sustainble Forestry and Land Retention
Purdue University
356002041University$27,964P3 Nano Research to Commericalization
Research Foundation of SUNY
141368361University$35,972Economic Development Administration; P3 Nano Research to Commericalization
Rice University
741109620University$69,488P3 Nano Research to Commericalization
Roanoke Economic Development Inc
562182552501(c)(3)$115,000Sustainable Forestry and Land Retention
Ruffed Grouse Society & American Woodcock Society
540846925501(c)(3)$11,929Mitigation
Sand County Foundation Inc
396089450501(c)(3)$39,904Innovative Finance
Sappi North America Inc
232366983For-Profit$414,111P3 Nano
Save The Redwoods League
940843915501(c)(3)$21,600Innovative Finance
Softwood Lumber Board
454225562501(c)(3)$128,000Mass Timber
Somerset Economic Development Corp
010535534501(c)(3)$13,530Economic Development Administration
Summit County
050513167Govt$206,230Innovative Finance
The Freshwater Trust
930843521501(c)(3)$71,289Innovative Finance
The Nature Conservancy
530242652501(c)(3)$375,000Conservation
The Sierra Fund
680485725501(c)(3)$350,342Carbon
The University of Vermont
030179440501(c)(3)$30,059Mass Timber
Trout Unlimited Inc
381612715501(c)(3)$63,717Innovative Finance
Trust to Conserve Northeast Forest Lands
731674778501(c)(3)$145,000Economic Development Administration
United States Biochar Initiative
813951338501(c)(3)$279,506Biochar
University of Arkansas Pine Bluff
581353149501(c)(3)$7,003Sustainable Forestry and Land Retention
University of Maine
016000769University$386,408P3 Nano Research to Commericalization; Economic Development Administration
University of Miami
590624458University$49,795Mass Timber
University of Wisconsin-Madison
396006492University$222,477P3 Nano Research to Commericalization
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
470049123University$34,274Mass Timber
University of New Hampshire Cooperative Extension
026000937University$83,531Economic Development Administration
Vermont Sustainable Jobs Fund
030349736501(c)(3)$30,000Economic Development Administration
Virginia Tech Foundation Inc
540721690501(c)(3)$172,515Mitigation
West Virigina University
550665758501(c)(3)$18,604Mass Timber
Winston County Self Help
811396515501(c)(3)$55,000Sustainable Forestry and Land Retention
World Resources Insitute
521257057501(c)(3)$387,965Conservation Finance
Working Forest Initiative
882635577501(c)(6)$500,000Traditional Markets
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total501c3 Org55Total501c3OrgCnt
Total Other Org6TotalOtherOrgCnt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSchedule I, Part I, Line 2 Procedures for monitoring use of grant funds.FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationGRANTEES ARE TYPICALLY SELECTED FROM SUBMISSIONS IN RESPONSE TO COMPETITIVE REQUESTS FOR PROPOSALS PROCESSES. EACH PROJECT HAS A DIFFERENT SET OF CRITERIA. ALL GRANTEES OPERATE WITH AN AGREED-UPON WORKPLAN AND DELIVERABLES FOR EACH PROJECT. FUNDS ARE DISBURSED BASED UPON MONITORING OF PROGRESS AND THE AGREEMENT BETWEEN THE GRANTEE AND THE ENDOWMENT OF SATISFACTORY ACCOMPLISHMENTS PER THE AWARD CONTRACT. THE ORGANIZATION'S PROGRAM-RELATED INVESTMENTS ARE MADE UNDER THE DIRECTION OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS. ALL INVESTMENTS ARE WITH ORGANIZATIONS THAT SUPPORT THE US ENDOWMENT FOR FORESTRY AND COMMUNITIES' PURPOSE AND GOALS. THE INVESTMENTS ARE MONITORED BY THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Independent ConsultantYes (X)IndependentConsultantInd
Form990 Of Other OrganizationsYes (X)Form990OfOtherOrganizationsInd
Written Employment ContractYes (X)WrittenEmploymentContractInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance PaymentfalseSeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanfalseSupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp ArrngmfalseEquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng OrgfalseCompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related OrgsfalseCompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng OrgfalseCompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd OrgsfalseCompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed PaymentsfalseAnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract ExceptionfalseInitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (7 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
Peter Madden
CEO Secretary$395,846$0$40,064$0$0$0$36,300$0$34,135$0$506,345$0$0$0
Peter Stangel
Chief Operating Officer$299,709$0$31,787$0$0$0$36,300$0$21,742$0$389,538$0$0$0
Joie Mor
Chief Financial Officer$188,110$0$17,148$0$0$0$23,715$0$30,985$0$259,958$0$0$0
Alicia Cramer
Senior Vice President$256,901$0$27,266$0$0$0$31,807$0$18,351$0$334,325$0$0$0
Michael Goergen
Vice President$232,917$0$24,268$0$0$0$28,290$0$0$0$285,475$0$0$0
Matthew Krumenauer
Vice President$212,962$0$22,189$0$0$0$25,867$0$0$0$261,018$0$0$0
Jaime Daniel
Finance Director$120,208$0$13,352$0$0$0$15,590$0$24,509$0$173,659$0$0$0

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (7 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Part VI, Line 18COPIES OF THE ORGANIZATION'S FORM 990 IS AVAILABLE ON THE ORGANIZATIONAL WEBSITE AND WWW.GUIDESTAR.ORG.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 11b Review of form 990 by governing bodyTHE ENTIRE BOARD OF DIRECTORS WAS PROVIDED A COPY OF THE DRAFT FORM 990 WITH OPPORTUNITY FOR REVIEW AND DISCUSSION.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 12c Conflict of interest policyAT EVERY MEETING OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS, BEFORE ANY ACTION IS TAKEN ON A PARTICULAR TOPIC, MEMBERS ARE ASKED TO NOTE FOR THE RECORD ANY AREAS OF POTENTIAL CONFLICT. ANNUALLY, EACH MEMBER OF THE BOARD AND STAFF ARE ASKED TO REVIEW AND SIGN A COPY OF THE CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 15a Process to establish compensation of top management officialOFFICER-LEVEL SALARIES ARE ESTABLISHED BASED UPON THE EDUCATION, EXPERIENCE AND OTHER QUALIFICATIONS OF EACH INDIVIDUAL AND BENCHMARKED AGAINST THE PAY OF SIMILAR POSITIONS WITHIN NOT-FOR-PROFITS AS A CLASS (E.G. AVERAGE ANNUAL SALARY OF WASHINGTON, DC-BASED NGOS) AND A MORE DEFINED GROUP OF NOT-FOR-PROFITS "PEERGANIZATIONS. SALARIES OF ALL STAFF, WITH THE EXCEPTION OF THE CEO, ARE ESTABLISHED USING THESE BENCHMARKS AND ADMINISTERED BY THE CEO WITH BOARD REVIEW/APPROVAL ON EACH EMPLOYEE'S ON APRIL 1ST OF EACH YEAR. IN THE CASE OF THE CEO, THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS REVIEWS THE CEO'S PAY AND BENEFITS AT LEAST ANNUALLY. THE ENTIRE PAY/BENEFITS PACKAGE IS TESTED IN A REVIEW OF PEER GROUP AND OTHER BENCHMARKS AND PERIODICALLY REVIEWED BY OUTSIDE COUNSEL AND/OR A BENEFITS CONSULTANT.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 15b Process to establish compensation of other employeesOFFICER-LEVEL SALARIES ARE ESTABLISHED BASED UPON THE EDUCATION, EXPERIENCE AND OTHER QUALIFICATIONS OF EACH INDIVIDUAL AND BENCHMARKED AGAINST THE PAY OF SIMILAR POSITIONS WITHIN NOT-FOR-PROFITS AS A CLASS (E.G. AVERAGE ANNUAL SALARY OF WASHINGTON, DC-BASED NGOS) AND A MORE DEFINED GROUP OF NOT-FOR-PROFITS "PEERGANIZATIONS. SALARIES OF ALL STAFF, WITH THE EXCEPTION OF THE CEO, ARE ESTABLISHED USING THESE BENCHMARKS AND ADMINISTERED BY THE CEO WITH BOARD REVIEW/APPROVAL ON EACH EMPLOYEE'S ON APRIL 1ST OF EACH YEAR. IN THE CASE OF THE CEO, THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS REVIEWS THE CEO'S PAY AND BENEFITS AT LEAST ANNUALLY. THE ENTIRE PAY/BENEFITS PACKAGE IS TESTED IN A REVIEW OF PEER GROUP AND OTHER BENCHMARKS AND PERIODICALLY REVIEWED BY OUTSIDE COUNSEL AND/OR A BENEFITS CONSULTANT.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 19 Required documents available to the publicCOPIES OF ALL GOVERNANCE DOCUMENTS -- CHARTER, BYLAWS, STEWARDSHIP PRINCIPLES, VALUES -- ARE AVAILABLE ON THE ORGANIZATIONAL WEBSITE.
Form 990, Part XII, Line 2cTHIS PROCESS HAS NOT CHANGED FROM THE PRIOR YEAR.

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Disregarded Entities IdDisregardedEntitiesGrp (3 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdEINEINPrimary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxtLegal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCdTotal IncomeTotalIncomeAmtEnd Of Year AssetsEndOfYearAssetsAmtBusiness Name Line1DirectControllingEntityName/BusinessNameLine1Txt
Restoration Fuels
PO Box 668PinevilleOR97754371881323ManufacturingOR$4,131,657$20,987,238United States Endowment for Forestry and Communities Inc
Timberhaulingcom
10 S Academy St STE 101GreenvilleSC29601842204346Purchasing ManagerSC$525,719$0United States Endowment for Forestry and Communities Inc
Forestrust
10 S Academy St STE 101GreenvilleSC29601853186870TechnologySC$0$0United States Endowment for Forestry and Communities Inc