STRATEGY STUDIO / NONPROFIT PEOPLE SEARCH

UNIVERSITY OF MARYLAND BALTIMORE FOUNDATION INC: Form 990, tax year 2023

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
UNIVERSITY OF MARYLAND BALTIMORE FOUNDATION INC (EIN 31-1678679)
Tax period
2023-07-01 to 2024-06-30
Filed
2025-05-14
IRS object ID
202501349349311035
Schema version
2023v6.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2025-05-14T16:16:49-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2024-06-30TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1BDO USABusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line18401 GREENSBORO DRIVE 800AddressLine1Txt
CityMCLEANCityNm
State AbbreviationVAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP22102ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2023-07-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN311678679EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1University of Maryland BaltimoreBusinessNameLine1Txt
Business Name Line2Foundation IncBusinessNameLine2Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
In Care Of% PAM HECKLERInCareOfNm
Business Name ControlUNIVBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone4107065631PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1220 N Arch StreetAddressLine1Txt
CityBaltimoreCityNm
State AbbreviationMDStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP21201ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonPAM HECKLERPersonNm
Person TitleTREASURERPersonTitleTxt
Phone4107065631PhoneNum
Signature2025-05-12SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (true)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
IRS Responsible Prty Info CurrYes (true)IRSResponsiblePrtyInfoCurrInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonTodd TerescoPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00247720PTIN
Phone7038930600PhoneNum
Preparation2025-05-12PreparationDt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2023TaxYr
Build TS2025-03-06 01:10:19ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

Doing Business As Name DoingBusinessAsName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1UMBF INC UMB FOUNDATIONBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerPAM HECKLERPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1220 N Arch StreetAddressLine1Txt
CityBaltimoreCityNm
State AbbreviationMDStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP21201ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$78,181,862GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For AffiliatesfalseGroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website AddressWWW.UMARYLAND.EDU/UMBFWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1999FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateMDLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionSOLICIT/RECEIVE CONTRIBUTIONS/GRANTS FROM GENERAL PUBLIC TO HOLD, INVEST AND ADMINISTER THESE FUNDS AND PAY EXPENDITURES FOR UNIVERSITY AND SERVE IN ADVISORY ROLE TO PRESIDENT.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body31VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent31VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee0TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers0TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$40,872,108PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$31,051,099CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$109,556PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$74,629CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$12,926,768PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$20,917,966CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$38,526PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue-$20,574CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$53,946,958PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$52,023,120CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$23,743,710PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$24,646,038CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$0PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$439,736CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$2,079,933CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$13,574,670PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$12,818,361CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$37,318,380PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$37,904,135CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$16,628,578PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$14,118,985CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$470,520,325TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$498,682,827TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$3,480,154TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$3,156,955TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$467,040,171NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$495,525,872NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionTHE ORGANIZATION'S MISSION IS TO SOLICIT AND RECEIVE CONTRIBUTIONS AND GRANTS FROM THE GENERAL PUBLIC AND TO HOLD, INVEST, AND ADMINISTER THESE FUNDS AND PAY EXPENDITURES FOR THE BENEFIT OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MARYLAND IN BALTIMORE AND TO SERVE IN AN ADVISORY ROLE TO ITS PRESIDENT.MissionDesc
Significant New Program SrvcfalseSignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant ChangefalseSignificantChangeInd
Expense$14,444,522ExpenseAmt
Grant$11,636,181GrantAmt
Revenue$58,710RevenueAmt
DescCHARTERED IN 1807 AS THE FIRST PUBLIC MEDICAL SCHOOL IN THE UNITED STATES, THE UNIVERSITY OF MARYLAND SCHOOL OF MEDICINE (UMSOM) IS INTO ITS THIRD CENTURY. IT CONTINUES TODAY AS ONE OF THE FASTEST GROWING, TOP-TIER BIOMEDICAL RESEARCH ENTERPRISES IN THE WORLD - WITH 25 DEPARTMENTS, 5 INSTITUTES AND 10 RESEARCH CENTERS AND A WORKFORCE OF MORE THAN 7,500. MORE THAN 1,200 MEDICAL STUDENTS, GRADUATE STUDENTS, AND RESEARCH TRAINEES ARE EDUCATED AT UMSOM EVERY YEAR. IN PARTNERSHIP WITH THE UNIVERSITY OF MARYLAND MEDICAL CENTER, WE PROVIDE RESIDENCY AND FELLOWSHIP TRAINING IN MORE THAN 30 SPECIALTIES. ACCEPTANCE TO THE UMSOM MD PROGRAM IS HIGHLY COMPETITIVE, WITH NEARLY 6,000 APPLICANTS FOR 160 POSITIONS IN EACH CLASS. THE RESEARCH VISION OF THE SCHOOL OF MEDICINE IS TO BUILD ON GENERATIONS OF DISCOVERIES TO ADVANCE NEW THERAPIES AND CURES WITH THE HIGHEST LEVEL OF IMPACT ON HUMAN HEALTH IN THE REGION, THE NATION, AND AROUND THE WORLD. WITH AN OPERATING BUDGET OF $1.3 BILLION, THE SCHOOL OF MEDICINE DIRECTS MORE THAN $500 MILLION ANNUALLY TO DEVELOPING SOLUTIONS TO THE MOST CHALLENGING AND COMPLEX DISEASES. WE ARE RANKED 9TH AMONG ALL PUBLIC MEDICAL SCHOOLS FOR TOTAL RESEARCH GRANTS & CONTRACTS REPORTED BY THE ASSOCIATION OF AMERICAN MEDICAL COLLEGES (AAMC). ACCORDING TO US NEW AND WORLD REPORT, UMSOM RANKS AS THE 11TH HIGHEST AMONG PUBLIC MEDICAL SCHOOLS IN RESEARCH AND 22ND HIGHEST AMONG ALL MEDICAL SCHOOLS FOR PRIMARY CARE. UMSOM IS AN ANCHOR INSTITUTION OF THE WEST BALTIMORE COMMUNITY, AND THE SCHOOL IS COMMITTED TO IMPROVING THE HEALTH, QUALITY OF LIFE, AND PROSPERITY OF ITS NEIGHBORS. WE OFFER COMMUNITY OUTREACH PROGRAMS SUCH AS MINI-MED SCHOOL, A SERIES OF TUITION-FREE CLASSES DESIGNED TO HELP BALTIMORE RESIDENTS IMPROVE THEIR HEALTH AND WELL-BEING.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$5,728,921ExpenseAmt
Grant$4,882,843GrantAmt
Revenue$5,950RevenueAmt
DescTHE UMB FOUNDATION SUPPORTS ACADEMIC PROGRAMS AND CLINICAL AND RESEARCH ACTIVITIES IN THE UNIVERSITY OF MARYLAND FRANCIS KING CAREY SCHOOL OF LAW (MARYLAND CAREY LAW). ESTABLISHED IN 1816, MARYLAND CAREY LAW BEGAN REGULAR INSTRUCTION IN 1824. IT IS THE THIRD OLDEST LAW SCHOOL IN THE NATION. THE INNOVATIVE ACADEMIC AND SPECIALTY PROGRAMS HAVE GARNERED NATIONAL AND INTERNATIONAL RECOGNITION. THE MARYLAND CAREY LAW'S EXPERIENTIAL PROGRAMS ARE AMONG THE MOST EXTENSIVE IN THE COUNTRY, INCLUDING THE NATIONALLY RANKED CLINICAL LAW PROGRAM, WHICH OFFERS MORE THAN 75,000 HOURS OF FREE LEGAL SERVICES TO THE STATE OF MARYLAND AND HAS BEEN IN EXISTENCE FOR MORE THAN 40 YEARS. INTERDISCIPLINARY SPECIALTY PROGRAMS ARE OFFERED IN ENVIRONMENTAL LAW AND LAW AND HEALTH CARE. OTHER PROGRAMS INCLUDE ADVOCACY, ALTERNATIVE DISPUTE RESOLUTION, BUSINESS LAW, INTELLECTUAL PROPERTY LAW AND INTERNATIONAL AND COMPARATIVE LAW. THE MARYLAND CAREY LAW SEEKS TO PROMOTE A MORE JUST SOCIETY BY EDUCATING OUTSTANDING LAWYERS AND LEADERS, ADVANCE THE UNDERSTANDING OF LAW AND LEGAL INSTITUTIONS AND ENHANCE ACCESS TO JUSTICE. EXCELLENCE IN TEACHING PREPARES STUDENTS FOR LEADERSHIP AND PROFESSIONAL SUCCESS IN A WIDE RANGE OF CAREERS AND PROMOTES IN BOTH STUDENTS AND FACULTY THE HIGHEST STANDARD OF PUBLIC AND PROFESSIONAL SERVICE.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty3 ProgSrvcAccomActy3Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$3,623,634ExpenseAmt
Grant$3,448,977GrantAmt
Revenue$0RevenueAmt
DescU.S. NEWS & WORLD REPORT HAS RANKED UMSON'S BACHELOR OF SCIENCE IN NURSING, MASTER OF SCIENCE IN NURSING (MSN) AND DOCTOR OF NURSING PRACTICE (DNP) PROGRAMS AMONG THE TOP 10 IN THE NATION. AMONG PUBLIC SCHOOLS OF NURSING, THE SCHOOL'S DNP ADULT-GERONTOLOGY PRIMARY CARE NURSE PRACTITIONER SPECIALTY IS RANKED NO. 1, AND ITS DNP FAMILY NURSE PRACTITIONER SPECIALTY IS RANKED NO. 3. THE MSN HEALTH SERVICES LEADERSHIP AND MANAGEMENT SPECIALTY IS RANKED NO. 1 FOR ITS IN PERSON AND ONLINE PROGRAMS.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty Other ProgSrvcAccomActyOtherGrp (4 entries)

ExpenseExpenseAmtGrantGrantAmtRevenueRevenueAmtDescDesc
$1,770,687$1,535,001$2,020DENTISTRY
$1,301,497$1,001,490$0SOCIAL WORK
$1,197,209$1,005,162$0PHARMACY
$2,347,868$1,135,540$7,949ALL OTHERS
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Other Prog Srvc Expense$6,617,261TotalOtherProgSrvcExpenseAmt
Total Other Prog Srvc Grant$4,677,193TotalOtherProgSrvcGrantAmt
Total Other Prog Srvc Revenue$9,969TotalOtherProgSrvcRevenueAmt
Total Program Service Expenses$30,414,338TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (true)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (true)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign ActyfalsePoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying ActivitiesfalseLobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy TaxfalseSubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised FundfalseDonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation EasementsfalseConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of ArtfalseCollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingfalseCreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi EndowmentsYes (true)DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentfalseReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecYes (true)ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstfalseReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsfalseReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (true)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (true)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (true)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtfalseConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingfalseSchoolOperatingInd
Foreign OfficefalseForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesfalseForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To OrgfalseMoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To IndividualsfalseMoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional FundraisingfalseProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising ActivitiesYes (true)FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming ActivitiesfalseGamingActivitiesInd
Operate HospitalfalseOperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsYes (true)GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsYes (true)GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (true)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsfalseTaxExemptBondsInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit TransfalseEngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit TransfalsePYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan OutstandingfalseLoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related PersonfalseGrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org MemfalseBusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemfalseBusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl EntfalseBusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContriYes (true)DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art ContributionfalseDeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate OperationsfalseTerminateOperationsInd
Partial LiquidationfalsePartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityfalseDisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityfalseRelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntfalseRelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd OrgfalseTrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted PrtshpfalseActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (true)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document230IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (true)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee0EmployeeCnt
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitfalseUnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial AccountfalseForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter TransfalseProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party NotificationfalseTaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible ContributionsfalseNondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo ContributionsYes (true)QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contri DisclYes (true)QuidProQuoContriDisclInd
Form8282 Property Disposed OffalseForm8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalseRcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalsePayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning ServicesfalseIndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht PymtfalseSubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst IncfalseSubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members31GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member31IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business RlnfalseFamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt DutiesfalseDelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org DocumentsfalseChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or MisusefalseMaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersfalseMembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersfalseElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovafalseDecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (true)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (true)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing AddressfalseOfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersfalseLocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (true)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (true)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (true)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (true)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (true)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (true)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOfalseCompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherfalseCompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint VenturefalseInvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldAKStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldCAStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldCOStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldKYStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldMDStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldMAStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldMNStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldNHStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldNJStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldNYStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldOHStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldOKStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldORStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldSCStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldUTStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldWAStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Own WebsiteYes (X)OwnWebsiteInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonPAM HECKLERPersonNm
Phone4107065631PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1220 N ARCH STREETAddressLine1Txt
CityBALTIMORECityNm
State AbbreviationMDStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP21201ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part VIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIIInd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (35 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtAverage Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRtOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorInd
JAMES L HUGHES
PRESIDENT/CEO20.00.0Yes (X)$552,332$0$139,231
PAM HECKLER
TREASURER & COO40.00.0Yes (X)$286,230$0$86,472
GREGORY BOWDEN
SENIOR VP (Eff. 12/23)40.00.0Yes (X)$340,000$0$1,231
SHERI MYERS
ASST. TREASURER (Eff. 11/23)40.00.0Yes (X)$165,000$0$6,817
HARRY C KNIPP
CHAIR1.00.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
ELLEN H YANKELLOW
VICE CHAIR1.00.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
JOHN C WEISS
SECRETARY1.00.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
ANTHONY P ASHTON ESQ
TRUSTEE0.50.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
PETE BUZY
TRUSTEE0.50.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
SCOTT CANUEL
TRUSTEE0.50.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
MARY E CASKEY
TRUSTEE0.50.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
HAROLD E CHAPPELEAR
TRUSTEE0.50.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
CHARLES CHEN
TRUSTEE0.50.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
STEVE DUBIN
TRUSTEE0.50.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
MARECO EDWARDS
TRUSTEE0.50.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
TISHA S EDWARDS
TRUSTEE0.50.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
JENNIFER O ESTABROOK
TRUSTEE0.50.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
BARRY L GARBER
TRUSTEE0.50.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
BRIAN J GIBBONS
TRUSTEE0.50.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
EMERSON 'RANDY' HALL
TRUSTEE0.50.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
JOSEPH R HARDIMAN
TRUSTEE0.50.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
ALVIN D KATZ
TRUSTEE0.50.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
SAM LENNON JR
TRUSTEE0.50.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
RAY LEWIS
TRUSTEE0.50.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
SAMANTHA MELLERSON
TRUSTEE0.50.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
MICHAEL E MULDOWNEY
TRUSTEE0.50.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
DAMIEN MYERS
TRUSTEE0.50.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
TODD L PARCHMAN
TRUSTEE0.50.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
NIKOS PAVLIDIS
TRUSTEE0.50.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
MALINDA PEEPLES
TRUSTEE0.50.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
MAURICE N REID
TRUSTEE0.50.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
NNEKA RIMMER
TRUSTEE0.50.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
FREDERICK G SMITH
TRUSTEE0.50.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
RICHARD L TAYLOR
TRUSTEE0.50.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
MEI XU
TRUSTEE0.50.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$1,343,562TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$233,751TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K4IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees ListedfalseFormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (true)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other SrcsfalseCompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
IDFIVE LLC
800 N CHARTLES STREET SUITE 300MBALTIMOREMD21201WEBSITE DESIGN & DEV$395,294
MINDGRUB TECHNOLOGIES LLC
1215 E FORT AVENUE SUITE 200BALTIMOREMD21230WEB HOSTING SUPPORT$186,167
PUTTING ON THE RITZ
9115 WHISKEY BOTTOM ROAD SUITE ELAURELMD20723CATERING SERVICES$134,885
THE CLASSIC CATERING PEOPLE
99 PAINTERS MILL ROADOWINGS MILLSMD21117CATERING SERVICES$120,207
NAVISTAR DIRECT MARKETING LLC
4612 NAVISTAR DRIVEFREDERICKMD21703DIGITAL PRINTING$116,162
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K10CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Federated Campaigns$128,373FederatedCampaignsAmt
Fundraising$476,070FundraisingAmt
All Other Contributions$30,446,656AllOtherContributionsAmt
Noncash Contributions$2,479,858NoncashContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$31,051,099TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
CONTRACTS AND PUBLICATIONS611710$61,226$61,226
CONFERENCES/EDUCATIONAL PROGRAMS611710$10,028$10,028
FACULTY, STAFF, AND ALUMNI FUNCTIONS900099$3,375$3,375
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$74,629TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$9,096,516TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$9,096,516ExclusionAmt

Incm From Invest Bond Proceeds IncmFromInvestBondProceedsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Royalties Revenue RoyaltiesRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$0RealAmt
Personal$0PersonalAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$37,935,521SecuritiesAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$26,114,071SecuritiesAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$11,821,450SecuritiesAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$11,821,450TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$11,821,450ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Fundraising Gross Income$24,097FundraisingGrossIncomeAmt
Contri Rpt Fundraising Event$476,070ContriRptFundraisingEventAmt
Fundraising Direct Expenses$44,671FundraisingDirectExpensesAmt

Net Incm From Fundraising Evt NetIncmFromFundraisingEvtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$20,574TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion-$20,574ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gaming Gross Income$0GamingGrossIncomeAmt
Gaming Direct Expenses$0GamingDirectExpensesAmt

Net Income From Gaming NetIncomeFromGamingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Sales Of Inventory$0GrossSalesOfInventoryAmt
Cost Of Goods Sold$0CostOfGoodsSoldAmt

Net Income Or Loss NetIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$0OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$52,023,120TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$74,629RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Exclusion$20,897,392ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$24,296,123TotalAmt
Program Services$24,296,123ProgramServicesAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$349,915TotalAmt
Program Services$349,915ProgramServicesAmt

Foreign Grants ForeignGrantsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$439,736TotalAmt
Management And General$439,736ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Comp Disqual Persons CompDisqualPersonsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Management FeesForServicesManagementGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,398,408TotalAmt
Program Services$1,644,707ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,705,903ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$47,798FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$20,632TotalAmt
Program Services$20,632ProgramServicesAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$118,062TotalAmt
Management And General$118,062ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Lobbying FeesForServicesLobbyingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Prof Fundraising FeesForServicesProfFundraising

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,719,783TotalAmt
Management And General$2,719,783ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$910,932TotalAmt
Program Services$757,807ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$29,200ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$123,925FundraisingAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$289,394TotalAmt
Program Services$183,728ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$54,111ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$51,555FundraisingAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$463,485TotalAmt
Program Services$234,072ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$170,402ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$59,011FundraisingAmt

Royalties RoyaltiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$300,138TotalAmt
Program Services$289,616ProgramServicesAmt
Fundraising$10,522FundraisingAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$187,118TotalAmt
Program Services$180,264ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$3,447ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$3,407FundraisingAmt

Pymt Travel Entrtnmnt Pub Ofcl PymtTravelEntrtnmntPubOfclGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,608,196TotalAmt
Program Services$2,163,448ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$128,961ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$315,787FundraisingAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Payments To Affiliates PaymentsToAffiliatesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$31,167TotalAmt
Program Services$3,033ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$26,477ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$1,657FundraisingAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (3 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmtFundraisingFundraisingAmt
PRINTING & PUBLICATIONS$235,708$103,590$10,128$121,990
EQUIPMENT PUR., RENT, REPAIR$164,385$156,566$3,654$4,165
MISCELLANEOUS EXPENSES$1,370,953$30,837$0$1,340,116

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$37,904,135TotalAmt
Program Services$30,414,338ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$5,409,864ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$2,079,933FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$7,337,861BOYAmt
EOY$16,382,201EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$38,308,194BOYAmt
EOY$34,028,313EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Receivables From Officers Etc ReceivablesFromOfficersEtcGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rcvbl From Disqualified Prsn RcvblFromDisqualifiedPrsnGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$243,297BOYAmt
EOY$468,812EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$0LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$0LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,283,966BOYAmt
EOY$1,335,894EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$420,675,528BOYAmt
EOY$443,614,529EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Intangible Assets IntangibleAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,671,479BOYAmt
EOY$2,853,078EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$470,520,325BOYAmt
EOY$498,682,827EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,540,607BOYAmt
EOY$1,141,488EOYAmt

Grants Payable GrantsPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Escrow Account Liability EscrowAccountLiabilityGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Loans From Officers Directors LoansFromOfficersDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Unsecured Notes Loans Payable UnsecuredNotesLoansPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,939,547BOYAmt
EOY$2,015,467EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,480,154BOYAmt
EOY$3,156,955EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows FASB117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind

No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$42,674,504BOYAmt
EOY$46,856,131EOYAmt

Donor Restriction Net Assets DonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$424,365,667BOYAmt
EOY$448,669,741EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$467,040,171BOYAmt
EOY$495,525,872EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$470,520,325BOYAmt
EOY$498,682,827EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$14,118,985ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$14,366,716NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or ReviewfalseAccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (true)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (true)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredfalseFederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Organization170Yes (X)PublicOrganization170Ind

Gifts Grants Contri Rcvd170 GiftsGrantsContriRcvd170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$26,331,730CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$45,221,839CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$33,636,870CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$40,872,108CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$31,051,099CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$177,113,646TotalAmt

Tax Rev Levied Orgnztnl Bnft170 TaxRevLeviedOrgnztnlBnft170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Govt Furn Srvc Fclts Vl170 GovtFurnSrvcFcltsVl170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Total Calendar Year170 TotalCalendarYear170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$26,331,730CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$45,221,839CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$33,636,870CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$40,872,108CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$31,051,099CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$177,113,646TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Substantial Contributors Tot$45,865,414SubstantialContributorsTotAmt
Public Support Total170$131,248,232PublicSupportTotal170Amt

Gross Investment Income170 GrossInvestmentIncome170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$4,991,427CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$4,892,730CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$6,444,029CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$7,236,329CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$9,096,516CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$32,661,031TotalAmt

Unrelated Business Net Incm170 UnrelatedBusinessNetIncm170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Other Income170 OtherIncome170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$110,040CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$22,673CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$31,934CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$38,526CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$0CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$203,173TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Support$209,977,850TotalSupportAmt
Gross Receipts Rltd Activities$911,141GrossReceiptsRltdActivitiesAmt
Public Support CY1700.62506PublicSupportCY170Pct
Public Support PY1700.61746PublicSupportPY170Pct
Thirty Thr Pct Suprt Tests CY170Yes (X)ThirtyThrPctSuprtTestsCY170Ind

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Art Public Exhibition AmountsArtPublicExhibitionAmountsGrp
Held Works ArtHeldWorksArtGrp

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$350,745,435BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$8,569,166ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$27,788,154InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$11,408,292GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Administrative Expenses$3,174,682AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$372,519,781EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$336,043,632BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$10,568,278ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$17,857,762InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$10,480,034GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Administrative Expenses$3,244,202AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$350,745,436EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$327,109,533BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$15,355,807ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$5,075,080InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$8,687,247GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Administrative Expenses$2,809,541AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$336,043,632EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$257,068,449BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$17,697,306ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$62,939,190InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$7,520,259GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Administrative Expenses$3,075,153AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$327,109,533EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$254,671,402BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$9,790,217ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$1,144,138InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$5,665,167GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Administrative Expenses$2,872,141AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$257,068,449EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Board Designated Balance EOY0.02490BoardDesignatedBalanceEOYPct
Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY0.66100PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Term Endowment Balance EOY0.31410TermEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Endowments Held Unrelated OrgfalseEndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related OrgfalseEndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd
LandLandGrp
BuildingsBuildingsGrp
Leasehold ImprovementsLeaseholdImprovementsGrp
EquipmentEquipmentGrp
Other Land BuildingsOtherLandBuildingsGrp
Financial DerivativesFinancialDerivativesGrp
Closely Held Equity InterestsCloselyHeldEquityInterestsGrp

Other Securities OtherSecuritiesGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmtMethod ValuationMethodValuationCd
USMF INVESTMENTS$440,662,344F
COMMONFUND$2,952,185F
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Securities$443,614,529TotalBookValueSecuritiesAmt
Federal Income Tax Liability$0FederalIncomeTaxLiabilityAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescTRUST & ANNNUITY PAYMENT LIABILITYDesc
Amt$2,015,467Amt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$2,015,467TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$63,670,053TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$14,366,716NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Revenue Not Reported$14,366,716RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$49,303,337RevenueSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld$2,719,783InvestmentExpensesNotIncldAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$2,719,783RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$52,023,120TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$35,184,352TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Subtotal$35,184,352ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld2$2,719,783InvestmentExpensesNotIncld2Amt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$2,719,783ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$37,904,135TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
SCHEDULE D, PART V, LINE 4:ENDOWMENT ACCOUNTS ARE ESTABLISHED AND FUNDED BY DONORS IN SUPPORT OF PROGRAMS AT THE UNIVERSITY OF MARYLAND BALTIMORE. THESE ENDOWMENTS ARE PREDOMINANTLY PERMANENTLY RESTRICTED, AND THEY HAVE VARIOUS PURPOSES INCLUDING SCHOLARSHIPS, PROFESSORSHIPS, LECTURESHIPS, CHAIRS, CAPITAL EXPENDITURES, AND RESEARCH ACTIVITIES.
SCHEDULE D, PART X, LINE 2:U.S. GAAP requires management to evaluate tax positions taken by the f oundation and recognize a tax liability (or asset) if the Foundation has taken an uncertain position that more likely than not would not be sustained upon examination by the Internal Revenue Service. Management has analyzed the tax positions taken by the Foundation and has concluded that as of June 30, 2024 and 2023, there are no uncertain positions taken or expected to be taken that would require recognition of a liability (or asset) or disclosure in the financial statements. Therefore, no asset or liability has been recorded as of June 30, 2024 and 2023 for uncertain tax positions. The Foundation is subject to routine audits by taxing jurisdictions, however, there are currently no audits for any tax periods in process.

Schedule G IRS990ScheduleG

Fundraising Event Information FundraisingEventInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Event1SIDS FUNDRAISEREvent1Nm
Gross Receipts Event1$254,263GrossReceiptsEvent1Amt
Charitable Contri Event1$242,013CharitableContriEvent1Amt
Gross Revenue Event1$12,250GrossRevenueEvent1Amt
Other Direct Expenses Event1$44,671OtherDirectExpensesEvent1Amt
Event2MD CAREY ANNIVEvent2Nm
Gross Receipts Event2$81,987GrossReceiptsEvent2Amt
Charitable Contri Event2$78,037CharitableContriEvent2Amt
Gross Revenue Event2$3,950GrossRevenueEvent2Amt
Other Events Total1OtherEventsTotalCnt
Gross Receipts Other Events$163,917GrossReceiptsOtherEventsAmt
Charitable Contri Other Events$156,020CharitableContriOtherEventsAmt
Gross Revenue Other Events$7,897GrossRevenueOtherEventsAmt
Gross Receipts Total$500,167GrossReceiptsTotalAmt
Charitable Contributions Tot$476,070CharitableContributionsTotAmt
Gross Revenue Total Events$24,097GrossRevenueTotalEventsAmt
Oth Direct Expnss Total Events$44,671OthDirectExpnssTotalEventsAmt
Direct Expense Summary Events$44,671DirectExpenseSummaryEventsAmt
Net Income Summary-$20,574NetIncomeSummaryAmt

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (true)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Recipient Table RecipientTable (7 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdRecipient EINRecipientEINIRC SectionIRCSectionDescCash GrantCashGrantAmtPurpose Of GrantPurposeOfGrantTxt
UNIVERSITY OF MARYLAND BALTIMORE
650 W BALTIMORE STREETBALTIMOREMD21201526002033115$25,463,234EDUCATION/RESEARCH
SHOCK TRAUMA ASSOCIATES PA (STAPA)
110 S PACA STREETBALTIMOREMD21201521119350501(C)(3)$724,513CLINICAL SUPPORT
MEDICAL ALUMNI ASSO OF THE UNIV OF MD
419 W REDWOOD STREETBALTIMOREMD21201520615433501(C)(3)$127,434CLINICAL SUPPORT
MARYLAND PUBLIC INTEREST LAW PROJECT INC
500 W BALTIMORE STREETBALTIMOREMD21201521620485501(C)(3)$94,000PROGRAM SUPPORT
MARYLAND GLOBAL INITIATIVES CORPORATION
220 ARCH STREET 13TH FLBALTIMOREMD21201272222735501(C)(3)$55,676CLINICAL SUPPORT
UM FDSP ASSOCIATES PA
650 W BALTIMORE STREETBALTIMOREMD21201521456103501(C)(3)$33,189CLINICAL SUPPORT
UMMS FOUNDATION INC
110 S PACA STREETBALTIMOREMD21201522238893501(C)(3)$5,375CLINICAL SUPPORT
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total501c3 Org7Total501c3OrgCnt
Total Other Org0TotalOtherOrgCnt

Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp (8 entries)

Grant TypeGrantTypeTxtRecipientRecipientCntCash GrantCashGrantAmt
MEDICINE: SCHOLARSHIPS, AWARDS, STIPENDS74$226,747
LAW: SCHOLARSHIPS, AWARDS, STIPENDS28$41,616
SOCIAL WORK: SCHOLARSHIPS, AWARDS, STIPENDS21$41,599
DENTISTRY: SCHOLARSHIPS, AWARDS, STIPENDS10$17,145
CAMPUS: AWARDS, STIPENDS6$16,210
PROGRAMMATIC ASSISTANCE5$4,577
PHARMACY: SCHOLARSHIPS, AWARDS, STIPENDS3$2,000
NURSING: SCHOLARSHIPS, AWARDS, STIPENDS1$21

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSCHEDULE I, PART I, LINE 2:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationTHE ORGANIZATION ESTABLISHES SEPARATE ACCOUNTS TO HOUSE GRANT FUNDS DONATED PURSUANT TO A GRANT AGREEMENT TO PROVIDE SUPPORT FOR A PARTICULAR PROGRAM. THE GRANT AGREEMENT IS REVIEWED AND SIGNED BY THE ORGANIZATION'S TREASURER. PERIODIC GRANT PROGRESS REPORTS AND FINANCIAL REPORTS ARE PREPARED UNDER THE DIRECTION OF THE PRINCIPAL INVESTIGATOR. SUBJECT TO THE LANGUAGE IN THE GRANT AGREEMENT, REMAINING FUNDS ARE RETURNED TO THE GRANTING ORGANIZATION.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Severance PaymentfalseSeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanfalseSupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp ArrngmfalseEquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng OrgfalseCompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related OrgsfalseCompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng OrgfalseCompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd OrgsfalseCompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed PaymentsfalseAnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract ExceptionfalseInitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (4 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
JAMES L HUGHES
PRESIDENT/CEO$552,332$0$0$0$0$0$113,209$0$26,022$0$691,563$0$0$0
PAM HECKLER
TREASURER & COO$286,230$0$0$0$0$0$58,667$0$27,805$0$372,702$0$0$0
GREGORY BOWDEN
SENIOR VP (Eff. 12/23)$340,000$0$0$0$0$0$1,231$0$0$0$341,231$0$0$0
SHERI MYERS
ASST. TREASURER (Eff. 11/23)$165,000$0$0$0$0$0$2,250$0$4,567$0$171,817$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSCHEDULE J, PART I, LINE 3:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationTHE ORGANIZATION HAS NO EMPLOYEES. MEMBERS OF THE ORGANIZATION'S WORKFORCE ARE EMPLOYEES OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MARYLAND, BALTIMORE (UMB). THE ORGANIZATION REIMBURSES THE UNIVERSITY ANNUALLY FOR ITS SHARE OF THE COMPENSATION. UMB IS PART OF THE UNIVERSITY SYSTEM OF MARYLAND, A STATE AGENCY, THEREFORE, COMPENSATION OF OFFICERS AND MEMBERS OF THE ORGANIZATION'S WORKFORCE IS ESTABLISHED, MONITORED, AND GOVERNED BY REGULATIONS AND GUIDELINES IN PLACE FOR ALL STATE OF MARYLAND EMPLOYEES. IN ADDITION, THE ORGANIZATION'S BUDGET WHICH INCLUDES AGGREGATE SALARIES IS REVIEWED BY THE FINANCE COMMITTEE AND FULL BOARD OF TRUSTEES.ExplanationTxt

Schedule M IRS990ScheduleM

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Works Of ArtWorksOfArtGrp
Art Historical TreasuresArtHistoricalTreasuresGrp
Art Fractional InterestArtFractionalInterestGrp
Books And PublicationsBooksAndPublicationsGrp
Clothing And Household GoodsClothingAndHouseholdGoodsGrp
Cars And Other VehiclesCarsAndOtherVehiclesGrp
Boats And PlanesBoatsAndPlanesGrp
Intellectual PropertyIntellectualPropertyGrp

Securities Publicly Traded SecuritiesPubliclyTradedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
Contribution88ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$2,479,858NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
Method Of Determining RevenuesAVERAGE MKT HIGH/LOWMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities Closely Held StockSecuritiesCloselyHeldStockGrp
Secur Prtnrshp Trust IntrstsSecurPrtnrshpTrustIntrstsGrp
Securities MiscellaneousSecuritiesMiscellaneousGrp
Qualified Contrib Hist StructQualifiedContribHistStructGrp
Qualified Contrib OtherQualifiedContribOtherGrp
Real Estate ResidentialRealEstateResidentialGrp
Real Estate CommercialRealEstateCommercialGrp
Real Estate OtherRealEstateOtherGrp
CollectiblesCollectiblesGrp
Food InventoryFoodInventoryGrp
Drugs And Medical SuppliesDrugsAndMedicalSuppliesGrp
TaxidermyTaxidermyGrp
Historical ArtifactsHistoricalArtifactsGrp
Scientific SpecimensScientificSpecimensGrp
Archaeological ArtifactsArchaeologicalArtifactsGrp
Any Property That Must Be HeldfalseAnyPropertyThatMustBeHeldInd
Review Process Unusual NC GiftsYes (true)ReviewProcessUnusualNCGiftsInd
Third Parties UsedfalseThirdPartiesUsedInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSCHEDULE M, PART I, COLUMN (B):FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationTHE ITEMS LISTED IN PART I, LINE 9, SECURITIES - PUBLICLY TRADED, REFERENCES THE NUMBER OF NONCASH CONTRIBUTIONS.ExplanationTxt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (5 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART III, LINE 4D:OTHER PROGRAM SERVICES THE UNIVERSITY OF MARYLAND SCHOOL OF DENTISTRY (SOD), FOUNDED IN 1840, IS THE FIRST DENTAL SCHOOL IN THE WORLD ESTABLISHING THE FIRST DOCTOR OF DENTAL SURGERY DEGREE IN 1841. AS THE ONLY DENTAL SCHOOL IN THE STATE OF MARYLAND, THE SOD PROVIDES ESSENTIAL DENTAL CARE FOR MORE THAN 20,819 PATIENTS RESULTING IN APPROXIMATELY 79,305 PATIENT VISITS, MANY OF WHOM ARE UNDERSERVED. SOD SCIENTISTS, SPECIALIZING IN CANCER, PAIN AND MICROBIOLOGICAL RESEARCH, DISCOVER TREATMENTS THAT INFORM PATIENT CARE. THE SOD BUILDING, COMPLETED IN 2006, IS ONE OF THE MOST TECHNOLOGICALLY ADVANCED DENTAL EDUCATIONAL FACILITIES IN THE WORLD. THROUGH THE INNOVATIVE TECHNOLOGY-BASED CURRICULUM, EACH CLASS OF APPROXIMATELY 131 STUDENTS IS EQUIPPED WITH SKILLS TO EXCEL IN 21ST CENTURY DENTISTRY. UPON GRADUATION, SOD STUDENTS JOIN A NETWORK OF MORE THAN 8,767 ALUMNI WHO ARE LEADERS IN THE ORAL HEALTHCARE FIELD. EXPENSES: 1,770 ,687; GRANTS: 1,535,001; REVENUE: $2,020 ESTABLISHED IN 1841, THE UNIVERSITY OF MARYLAND SCHOOL OF PHARMACY IS RANKED 15TH OUT OF MORE THAN 140 SCHOOLS OF PHARMACY BY U.S. NEWS & WORLD REPORT. THE SCHOOL IS A THRIVING CENTER FOR PROFESSIONAL AND GRADUATE EDUCATION, PHARMACEUTICAL CARE, RESEARCH, AND COMMUNITY SERVICE. ITS FACULTY CREATE THE FUTURE OF PHARMACY BY PIONEERING NEW ROLES FOR PHARMACISTS IN ADVANCED CLINICAL PRACTICE AND CONDUCTING CUTTING-EDGE RESEARCH IN DRUG DISCOVERY AND DEVELOPMENT, COMPARATIVE EFFECTIVENESS AND PATIENT-CENTERED OUTCOMES, AND DISEASE MANAGEMENT. A CONTEMPORARY CURRICULUM, INNOVATIVE EDUCATIONAL EXPERIENCES, AND STRATEGIC PROFESSIONAL RELATIONSHIPS HELP TO INSPIRE EXCELLENCE IN THE SCHOOL'S MORE THAN 950 STUDENTS, RESIDENTS, AND POSTDOCTORAL FELLOWS. THE SCHOOL OFFERS 10 ACADEMIC PROGRAMS: DOCTOR OF PHARMACY; PHD PROGRAMS IN PALLIATIVE CARE, PHARMACEUTICAL HEALTH SERVICES RESEARCH, AND PHARMACEUTICAL SCIENCES; AND MS PROGRAMS IN MEDICAL CANNABIS SCIENCE AND THERAPEUTICS, PALLIATIVE CARE, PHARMACEUTICAL HEALTH SERVICES RESEARCH, PHARMACEUTICAL SCIENCES, PHARMACOMETRICS, AND REGULATORY SCIENCE. WITH A PORTFOLIO OF $37 MILLION IN GRANTS AND CONTRACTS, THE SCHOOL OF PHARMACY IS LEADING THE WAY IN DRUG DISCOVERY, CLINICAL INNOVATION, AND HEALTH SERVICES RESEARCH. IN 2017, THE SCHOOL LAUNCHED ITS EXCLUSIVE PHARMAPRENEURSHIP PROGRAM, WHICH DESCRIBES THE SCHOOL'S COMMITMENT TO SUPPORTING AND BEST POSITIONING BOTH FACULTY AND STUDENTS TO ACHIEVE THEIR CAREER ASPIRATIONS AND ADDRESS OUR NATION'S HEALTH CARE CHALLENGES. EXPENSES: 1,197,209; GRANTS: 1,005,162; REVENUE: NONE THE UMB FOUNDATION SUPPORTS ACADEMIC PROGRAMS, RESEARCH AND COMMUNITY WORK AT THE UNIVERSITY OF MARYLAND SCHOOL OF SOCIAL WORK (UMSSW). UMSSW'S MISSION IS TO DEVELOP PRACTITIONERS, LEADERS AND SCHOLARS TO ADVANCE THE WELL-BEING OF POPULATIONS AND COMMUNITIES AND TO PROMOTE SOCIAL JUSTICE. AS NATIONAL LEADERS, WE CREATE AND USE KNOWLEDGE FOR EDUCATION, SERVICE INNOVATION, AND POLICY DEVELOPMENT. UMSSW IS A HIGHLY-RANKED INSTITUTION THAT PRODUCES OUTSTANDING SOCIAL WORKERS WHOSE PRACTICE ADVANCES THE WELL-BEING OF ALL THE PEOPLE THEY SERVE. U.S. NEWS & WORLD REPORT RANKS THE SCHOOL 24TH IN THEIR LIST OF SOCIAL WORK GRADUATE SCHOOLS IN AMERICA. THE SCHOOL SERVES SOCIETY THROUGH THE DEVELOPMENT OF KNOWLEDGE IN EDUCATION, RESEARCH, SCHOLARSHIP, SERVICE INNOVATION, AND ADVOCACY. UMSSW WAS CREATED IN 1961 AND HAS GROWN TO BECOME ONE OF THE LARGEST AND MOST RESPECTED SCHOOLS OF SOCIAL WORK IN AMERICA. PART OF A PUBLIC UNIVERSITY IN A DIVERSIFIED STATE AND REGION, THE SCHOOL PROMOTES RESEARCH ON SOCIAL WORK SERVICES AND SOCIAL AND ECONOMIC JUSTICE IN ALL OF ITS ACTIVITIES. UMSSW STUDENTS PROVIDE MORE THAN 360,000 HOURS OF SOCIAL WORK SERVICES A YEAR WITHIN THE STATE OF MARYLAND AND SURROUNDING COMMUNITIES. THE STUDENT BODY CONCENTRATION BREAKOUT IS ABOUT 80% CLINICAL AND 20% MACRO (LEADERSHIP, POLICY AND SOCIAL CHANGE), ONE OF THE LARGEST MACRO CONCENTRATION PROGRAMS IN THE COUNTRY. IN ADDITION TO THE SCHOOL'S ACADEMIC SIDE, SSW HAS MULTIPLE COMMUNITY SERVICE PROGRAMS UNDER THE CENTER FOR RESTORATIVE CHANGE, FORMERLY KNOWN AS SWCOS (SOCIAL WORK COMMUNITY OUTREACH SERVICES). THE CENTER FOR RESTORATIVE CHANGE PROVIDES STUDENTS WITH HANDS-ON EXPERIENCE WORKING ON CRITICAL SOCIAL ISSUES IN AN ENCOURAGING, CREATIVE ATMOSPHERE THAT PREPARES THEM TO BE LEADERS IN COMMUNITY SOCIAL WORK; IT PROVIDES THOSE IN NEED WITH QUALITY SERVICES; AND CREATES RESEARCH OPPORTUNITIES TO GENERATE NEW KNOWLEDGE IN SOCIAL WORK PRACTICE. THE SSW ALSO HAS ABOUT $35 MILLION IN ANNUAL RESEARCH AND TRAINING GRANTS. EXPENSES: 1,301,497; GRANTS: 1,001,490; REVENUE: $NONE THE UMB FOUNDATION MANAGES AND INVESTS PRIVATE GIFTS AND/OR PROPERTY FOR THE BENEFIT OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MARYLAND IN BALTIMORE (UMB), FACILITATES FUNDRAISING PROGRAMS AND CONTRIBUTIONS FROM PRIVATE SOURCES, AND ENGAGES IN OTHER ACTIVITIES TO FURTHER EDUCATIONAL, RESEARCH AND SERVICE MISSIONS OF UMB. UMB IS MARYALND'S PUBLIC ACADEMIC HEALTH AND LAW UNIVERSITY DEVOTED TO PROFESSIONAL AND GRADUATE EDUCATION, RESEARCH, PATIENT CARE, AND PUBLIC SERVICE. UMB INCLUDES THE SCHOOLS OF MEDICINE, LAW, PHARMACY, DENTISTRY, NURSING, PUBLIC HEALTH, AND SOCIAL WORK, THE HEALTH SCIENCES & HUMAN SERVICES LIBRARY. USING STATE-OF-THE-ART TECHNOLOGICAL SUPPORT. UMB EDUCATES LEADERS IN HEALTH CARE DELIVERY, BIOMEDICAL SCIENCES, SOCIAL SERVICES, AND LAW. BY CONDUCTING INTERNATIONALLY RECOGNIZED COLLABORATIVE RESEARCH TO CURE DISEASE AND TO IMPROVE THE HEALTH, SOCIAL FUNCTIONING AND TREATMENT OF THE PEOPLE IT SERVES, THE UNIVERSITY FOSTERS ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT IN THE CITY, STATE AND REGION. UMB IS A MAJOR EMPLOYER IN BALTIMORE, GENERATING $13 IN ECONOMIC ACTIVITY FOR EVERY $1 OF STATE GENERAL FUNDS INVESTED IN FY 2023. UMB WAS AWARDED $663.1 MILLION IN RESEARCH AND GRANT FUNDING. EXPENSES: 2,347,868; GRANTS: 1,135,540; REVENUE: $7,949
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11B:A DRAFT VERSION OF FORM 990 IS PROVIDED TO THE AUDIT COMMITTEE OF THE ORGANIZATION'S BOARD OF TRUSTEES. THIS COMMITTEE REVIEWS THE RETURN. ANY CORRECTIONS OR SUGGESTIONS ARE MADE TO THE DRAFT RETURN. UPON FORMAL APPROVAL BY THIS BODY, THE RETURN IS ELECTRONICALLY FILED WITH THE INTERNAL REVENUE SERVICE BY THE EXTENDED DUE DATE. THE APPROVED FILING IS AVAILABLE TO THE FULL BOARD OF TRUSTEES.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12C:THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES AND OFFICERS OF THE ORGANIZATION ARE REQUIRED TO REVIEW THE CONFLICT-OF-INTEREST POLICY AND COMPLETE A DISCLOSURE FORM ANNUALLY TO INDICATE ANYTHING THAT THEY PERCEIVE TO BE A CONFLICT AS DESCRIBED IN THE POLICY. THE PRESIDENT OF THE ORGANIZATION MAINTAINS A RECORD THAT INDICATES COMPLIANCE WITH THIS POLICY BY EACH BOARD MEMBER.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15:THE ORGANIZATION HAS NO EMPLOYEES. MEMBERS OF THE ORGANIZATION'S WORKFORCE ARE EMPLOYEES OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MARYLAND, BALTIMORE (UMB). THE ORGANIZATION REIMBURSES THE UNIVERSITY ANNUALLY FOR ITS SHARE OF THE COMPENSATION. UMB IS PART OF THE UNIVERSITY SYSTEM OF MARYLAND, A STATE AGENCY, THEREFORE, COMPENSATION OF OFFICERS AND MEMBERS OF THE ORGANIZATION'S WORKFORCE IS ESTABLISHED, MONITORED, AND GOVERNED BY REGULATIONS AND GUIDELINES IN PLACE FOR ALL STATE OF MARYLAND EMPLOYEES. IN ADDITION, THE ORGANIZATION'S BUDGET WHICH INCLUDES AGGREGATE SALARIES IS REVIEWED BY THE FINANCE COMMITTEE AND FULL BOARD OF TRUSTEES.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19:THE ORGANIZATION MAINTAINS A PUBLIC DISCLOSURE FILE IN ITS OFFICE WHERE THE BOOKS AND RECORDS ARE MAINTAINED. THIS FILE CONTAINS IRS FORM 1023 APPLICATION OF RECOGNITION OF EXEMPTION AND THE PUBLIC DISCLOSURE VERSION OF IRS FORM 990 RETURN OR ORGANIZATION EXEMPT FROM INCOME TAX FOR THE THREE MOST RECENT FISCAL YEARS. THESE DOCUMENTS PLUS THE ARTICLES OF INCORPORATION BYLAWS, CONFLICT OF INTEREST AND NEPOTISM POLICY, AND FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE AVAILABLE ON THE ORGANIZATION'S WEBSITE.