STRATEGY STUDIO / NONPROFIT PEOPLE SEARCH

SAINT JOHNS HEALTH CENTER FOUNDATION: Form 990, tax year 2023

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
SAINT JOHNS HEALTH CENTER FOUNDATION (EIN 95-6100079)
Tax period
2023-01-01 to 2023-12-31
Filed
2024-11-14
IRS object ID
202433199349316973
Schema version
2023v5.1
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2024-11-14T17:39:24-06:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2023-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN951777440PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1GREEN HASSON & JANKS LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1700 S FLOWER STREET SUITE 3300AddressLine1Txt
CityLOS ANGELESCityNm
State AbbreviationCAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP90017ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2023-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN956100079EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1SAINT JOHN'S HEALTH CENTER FOUNDATIONBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlSAINBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone3108298424PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line12121 SANTA MONICA BOULEVARDAddressLine1Txt
CitySANTA MONICACityNm
State AbbreviationCAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP90404ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonSTELLA NICHOLSPersonNm
Person TitleCFOPersonTitleTxt
Phone3108298424PhoneNum
Signature2024-11-13SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
IRS Responsible Prty Info CurrYes (1)IRSResponsiblePrtyInfoCurrInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonLIZBETH G NEVAREZPreparerPersonNm
PTINP01399868PTIN
Phone3108731600PhoneNum
Preparation2024-11-13PreparationDt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2023TaxYr
Build TS2024-10-15 13:58:12ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerSTELLA NICHOLSPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line12121 SANTA MONICA BOULEVARDAddressLine1Txt
CitySANTA MONICACityNm
State AbbreviationCAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP90404ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$83,301,612GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website AddressHTTPS://SAINTJOHNSFOUNDATION.ORGWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1948FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateCALegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionTO PROVIDE LEADERSHIP AND PHILANTHROPIC SUPPORT TO PROVIDENCE SAINT JOHN'S HEALTH CENTER, SAINT JOHN'S CANCER INSTITUTE (FORMERLY JOHN WAYNE CANCER INSTITUTE), AND PACIFIC NEUROSCIENCE INSTITUTE FOUNDATION, THAT SERVE AS CATALYSTS FOR EXCEPTIONAL HEALTH CARE AND RESEARCH. THROUGH THE AFFILIATION ENDOWMENT, PROVIDE DIRECT HEALTH CARE SERVICES INCLUDING WELLNESS PROGRAMS, HEALTH RESEARCH AND EDUCATION TO THE RESIDENTS IN PROVIDENCE SAINT JOHN'S HEALTH CENTER SERVICE AREA (29 ZIP CODES).ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body123VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent121VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee41TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers216TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$93,466NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$35,879,255PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$32,299,441CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$0PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$0CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$2,868,339PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$8,115,091CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$117,150PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$37,347CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$38,864,744PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$40,451,879CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$32,364,605PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$23,941,160CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$6,933,405PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$6,932,887CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$4,559,711CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$2,552,128PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$2,855,345CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$41,850,138PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$33,729,392CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses-$2,985,394PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$6,722,487CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$326,428,369TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$356,971,958TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$14,061,831TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$13,872,458TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$312,366,538NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$343,099,500NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionTO PROVIDE LEADERSHIP AND PHILANTHROPIC SUPPORT TO PROVIDENCE SAINT JOHN'S HEALTH CENTER, JOHN WAYNE CANCER INSTITUTE (RENAMED TO SAINT JOHN'S CANCER INSTITUTE SUBSEQUENT TO YEAR END MAY 2021), AND PACIFIC NEUROSCIENCE INSTITUTE FOUNDATION, THAT SERVE AS CATALYSTS FOR EXCEPTIONAL HEALTH CARE AND RESEARCH. THROUGH THE AFFILIATION ENDOWMENT, PROVIDE DIRECT HEALTH CARE SERVICES INCLUDING WELLNESS PROGRAMS, HEALTH RESEARCH AND EDUCATION TO THE RESIDENTS IN PROVIDENCE SAINT JOHN'S HEALTH CENTER SERVICE AREA (29 ZIP CODES).MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
Expense$8,134,207ExpenseAmt
Grant$8,134,207GrantAmt
DescTO SUPPORT VARIOUS PROGRAMS AND SERVICES BENEFITTING THE HEART, ORTHO, NURSING AND OTHER VARIOUS DEPARTMENTS OF THE PROVIDENCE SAINT JOHN'S HEALTH CENTER.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$7,558,033ExpenseAmt
Grant$7,558,033GrantAmt
DescTO SUPPORT THE ONGOING RESEARCH STUDIES AND TREATMENT MODALITIES AT SAINT JOHN'S CANCER INSTITUTEDesc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty3 ProgSrvcAccomActy3Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$6,416,717ExpenseAmt
Grant$6,416,717GrantAmt
DescTO SUPPORT THE ONGOING BRAIN HEALTH RESEARCH STUDIES AND ADVANCEMENT OF TREATMENT MODALITIES AT PACIFIC NEUROSCIENCE INSTITUTE FOUNDATION.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty Other ProgSrvcAccomActyOtherGrp (2 entries)

ExpenseExpenseAmtGrantGrantAmtDescDesc
$1,607,000$1,607,000AFFILIATION ENDOWMENT TO SUPPORT NONPROFIT TAX-EXEMPT CHARITABLE HEALTHCARE FACILITIES AND CLINICS, INCLUDING, BUT NOT LIMITED TO, GENERAL ACUTE CARE HOSPITALS, IN PROVIDING DIRECT HEALTH CARE SERVICES AND ACCESS THERETO, INCLUDING WELLNESS PROGRAMS, HEALTH RESEARCH AND HEALTH EDUCATION TO IMPROVE HEALTH TO THE RESIDENTS IN PROVIDENCE SAINT JOHN'S HEALTH CENTER'S SERVICE AREA (29 ZIP CODES).
$225,203$225,203TO SUPPORT THE ONGOING EFFORTS OF SAINT JOHN'S PHYSICIAN PARTNERS, A NETWORK OF PRIMARY CARE AND SPECIALTY CARE PHYSICIANS SERVING THE WESTSIDE LOS ANGELES COMMUNITIES AND BEYOND, IN MAKING ITS SERVICES KNOWN TO PATIENTS THROUGH DEVELOPMENT OF A ROBUST AND INFORMATIVE WEBSITE.
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Other Prog Srvc Expense$1,832,203TotalOtherProgSrvcExpenseAmt
Total Other Prog Srvc Grant$1,832,203TotalOtherProgSrvcGrantAmt
Total Program Service Expenses$23,941,160TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (1)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (1)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying Activities0LobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi EndowmentsYes (1)DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecYes (1)ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising ActivitiesYes (1)FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming ActivitiesYes (1)GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsYes (1)GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans0EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit Trans0PYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent0BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContriYes (1)DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art ContributionYes (1)DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (1)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org0TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document0IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee41EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (1)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (1)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo ContributionsYes (1)QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contri DisclYes (1)QuidProQuoContriDisclInd
Form8282 Property Disposed Of0Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt0SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc0SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members123GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member121IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (1)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (1)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (1)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldCAStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1STELLA NICHOLSBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone3108298424PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line12221 SANTA MONICA BLVDAddressLine1Txt
CitySANTA MONICACityNm
State AbbreviationCAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP90404ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (129 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtAverage Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
SHERYL BOURGEOISPHD
PRESIDENT & CEO40.000.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$298,099$0$23,194
ROBERT KLEIN
PRESIDENT & CEO (TERM'D 4/28/2023)40.000.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$906,077$0$33,797
ROGER WACKER
CHAIR (TERM'D 12/31/2023)5.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
ROBERT AMONIC MD
SECRETARY2.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
CRAIG BENELL
TREASURER2.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
CHARLES ADAMS
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
WILLIAM ANDERSON
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
WILLIAM APFELBAUM
TRUSTEE (TERM'D 10/20/2023)1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
RAE ARCHIBALD
TRUSTEE2.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MARGOT ARMBRUSTER
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
J J ASSAF
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
LEE AULT
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
CHRISTINE AVANTI-FISCHER
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
DONNALISA BARNUM
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
KATHY BARRETT
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
FRANK BAXTER
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
RUDOLPH BEDFORD MD
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JAMES BIRDWELL
TRUSTEE2.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
NORRIS BISHTON
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
ERIC BORSTEIN
TRUSTEE (TERM'D 12/31/2023)1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
LOREN BORSTEIN
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JOHN BOWLIN
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
ABBOTT BROWN
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JULES BUENABENTA
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
CHARLES CALE
TRUSTEE (TERM'D 12/31/2023)1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
RICK CARUSO
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
HOWARD CHAIT
TRUSTEE (TERM'D 11/16/2023)1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
ALEX CHAVES
TRUSTEE (TERM'D 11/6/2023)1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
SCOTT COHEN
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JONATHAN COLE MD
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JONATHAN CONGDON
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
CYNTHIA CONNOLLY
TRUSTEE (TERM'D 10/4/2023)1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
RICHARD CORLIN MD
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
ANGELA COURTIN
TRUSTEE (TERM'D 11/14/2023)1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MARIAN CRAVER
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MICHAEL CROFT
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
RICHARD CROWELL
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
KATHY DANHAKL
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
GEORGE DAVIS
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
LAUREEN DRISCOLL
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
KEVIN EHRHART MD
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MARC EZRALOW
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MILES FISHER
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MARY FLAHERTY
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
FRANCES FLANAGAN
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
BRADFORD FREEMAN
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
WILLIAM GARLAND
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
RISA GERTNER
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
KRISTIN GIBELLO
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JOHN GOEDERS
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
ALLAN GOLDMAN
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JAE GOODMAN
TRUSTEE (TERM'D 12/31/2023)1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
GLENN GORLITSKY MD
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
ARSALAN GOZINI
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
ELIZABETH GREGORY RIORDAN
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MICHAEL HACKMAN
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
PETER HAIGHT
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
DAVID HO
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
TONIAN HOHBERG
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MARK HOLSCHER
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
STANLEY IEZMAN
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
BLAKE JOHNSON
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
STEAVEN JONES
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
LAWRENCE JONES MEISTER
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
PAUL KANIN
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MARY ELLEN KANOFF
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JORDAN KAPLAN
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
RUSSELL KINO MD
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
SCOTT KLEIN
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
BERNADETTE LEIWEKE
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
ROBERT LEVITT
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JUDITH LICKLIDER
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MELVIN LINDSEY
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JENNIFER LINEHAN KUTRIEH
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
ROBERT LOWE
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
KEVIN MANEMANN
TRUSTEE (TERM'D 1/31/2023)1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
KATHLEEN MCCARTHY
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
CARL MCKINZIE
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
BRUCE MEYER
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
PETER MULLIN
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
PAUL NATTERSON MD
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
LEE NEIBART
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
LISA NESBITT
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
CHRISTINE NEWMAN
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
CAROL NISHIKUBO
TRUSTEE (TERM'D 12/31/2023)1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
SHELBY NOTKIN
TRUSTEE2.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
PETER PELIKAN MD
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MARY PATRICIA PENCE
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
DALLAS PRICE-VAN BREDA
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
ERNIE PRUDENTE MD
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JUSTIN RAWLINS
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
ERIC REITER
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MICHAEL RICKS
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JOHN ROBERTSON MD
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JEANNE ROBINSON
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
VICTORIA ROGERS
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
THEODORE SCHNEIDER
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
CAROLE SCHWARTZ
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
DONNA SCHWEERS
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
DARREN SEIDEL
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
ROBERT SHUWARGER
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
LAURA SIART
TRUSTEE2.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
WILLIAM SIMON
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
CAROLYN SINGLETON
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
ROSA SINNOTT
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
LORAINE SINSKEY
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MICHAEL SITRICK
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
CHARLES SMITH
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JUAN SUAREZ
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
CHARLES THARNSTROM
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
NADINE TILLEY
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JAMES TOTH
TRUSTEE (TERM'D 12/31/2023)1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JOHN TRACY
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
DONNA TUTTLE
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
BENNET VAN DE BUNT
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
BRIAN WEBBER
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
STEPHANIE WESTON
TRUSTEE (TERM'D 12/31/2023)1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
EDWARD WHITE
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
SHANNON WICKSTROM
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
GRETCHEN WILLISON
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MICHAEL WISE
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
BRETT WYARD
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
PETER WYMAN
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
STELLA NICHOLS
CFO40.000.00Yes (X)$471,703$0$52,067
MICHAEL AVILA
SVP DEVELOPMENT (TERM'D 09/13/2023)40.000.00$379,298$0$22,683Yes (X)
ANDY TRILLING
VP DEVELOPMENT PRINCIPAL & ESTATE GIFTS40.000.00$273,133$0$39,089Yes (X)
JEANNE GOLDSMITH
VP DEVELOPMENT40.000.00$233,260$0$26,110Yes (X)
COOKIE ESTHER GALANTI
SENIOR DIRECTOR PHILANTHROPY40.000.00$226,658$0$28,674Yes (X)
THERESA CSISZAR
VP STRATEGIC ENGAGEMENT AND STEWARDSHIP40.000.00$206,508$0$38,811Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$2,994,736TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$264,425TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K17IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (4 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
MOON TIDE AGENCY LLC
200 N SEPULVEDA BLVD SUITE 110EL SEGUNDOCA90245MAGAZINE PRINTING SERVICE$166,089
GRENZEBACH GLIER & ASSOCIATES INC
200 S MICHIGAN AVENUE SUITE 2100CHICAGOIL60604FUNDRAISING AND PHILANTHROPIC MANAGEMENT$153,536
KORN FERRY (US)
1900 AVENUE OF THE STARS SUITE 260LOS ANGELESCA90067EXECUTIVE SEARCH$136,642
JMC PHILANTHROPIC ADVISORS
2444 WILSHIRE BLVD STE 622SANTA MONICACA90403PROVIDE SUPPORT & MANAGE AFFIL. ENDOW.$123,000
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K4CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Fundraising$395,345FundraisingAmt
All Other Contributions$31,904,096AllOtherContributionsAmt
Noncash Contributions$1,707,866NoncashContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$32,299,441TotalContributionsAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$7,009,700TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$7,009,700ExclusionAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$117,150RealAmt

Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$0RealAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$117,150RealAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$117,150TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$117,150ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$43,767,851SecuritiesAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$42,662,460SecuritiesAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$1,105,391SecuritiesAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$1,105,391TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$1,105,391ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Fundraising Gross Income$88,162FundraisingGrossIncomeAmt
Contri Rpt Fundraising Event$395,345ContriRptFundraisingEventAmt
Fundraising Direct Expenses$186,873FundraisingDirectExpensesAmt

Net Incm From Fundraising Evt NetIncmFromFundraisingEvtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$98,711TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion-$98,711ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gaming Gross Income$19,308GamingGrossIncomeAmt
Gaming Direct Expenses$400GamingDirectExpensesAmt

Net Income From Gaming NetIncomeFromGamingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$18,908TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$18,908ExclusionAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$40,451,879TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$0RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$8,152,438ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$23,941,160TotalAmt
Program Services$23,941,160ProgramServicesAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,784,937TotalAmt
Management And General$832,546ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$952,391FundraisingAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,890,619TotalAmt
Management And General$1,786,327ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$2,104,292FundraisingAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$79,478TotalAmt
Management And General$31,717ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$47,761FundraisingAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,177,853TotalAmt
Management And General$455,645ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$722,208FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$30,208TotalAmt
Management And General$26,011ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$4,197FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$70,750TotalAmt
Management And General$70,750ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$128,670TotalAmt
Management And General$128,670ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$903,195TotalAmt
Management And General$585,222ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$317,973FundraisingAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$347,570TotalAmt
Management And General$119,009ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$228,561FundraisingAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$133,433TotalAmt
Management And General$128,684ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$4,749FundraisingAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$173,632TotalAmt
Management And General$173,632ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$18,220TotalAmt
Management And General$3,692ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$14,528FundraisingAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$345,423TotalAmt
Management And General$257,878ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$87,545FundraisingAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$67,920TotalAmt
Management And General$67,920ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmtFundraisingFundraisingAmt
CHATAUQUA RETREAT$413,648$413,648
DONOR RECOGNITION$105,841$35,654$70,187
PROSPECT RESEARCH$54,622$54,622
COMMUNITY SUPPORT$21,697$21,697

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$40,516TotalAmt
Management And General$35,197ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$5,319FundraisingAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$33,729,392TotalAmt
Program Services$23,941,160ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$5,228,521ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$4,559,711FundraisingAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$80,293,960BOYAmt
EOY$77,926,291EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$31,356,552BOYAmt
EOY$24,358,969EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$8,182,333LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$474,721LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$7,345,532BOYAmt
EOY$7,707,612EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$74,766,792BOYAmt
EOY$85,018,980EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$120,993,937BOYAmt
EOY$150,446,286EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$11,671,596BOYAmt
EOY$11,513,820EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$326,428,369BOYAmt
EOY$356,971,958EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$14,061,831BOYAmt
EOY$13,872,458EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$14,061,831BOYAmt
EOY$13,872,458EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows FASB117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind

No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$118,665,248BOYAmt
EOY$141,491,457EOYAmt

Donor Restriction Net Assets DonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$193,701,290BOYAmt
EOY$201,608,043EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$312,366,538BOYAmt
EOY$343,099,500EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$326,428,369BOYAmt
EOY$356,971,958EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$6,722,487ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$24,613,684NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets-$603,209OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Info In Schedule O Part XIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Organization170Yes (X)PublicOrganization170Ind

Gifts Grants Contri Rcvd170 GiftsGrantsContriRcvd170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$77,310,438CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$87,609,073CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$56,225,795CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$35,879,255CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$32,299,441CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$289,324,002TotalAmt

Total Calendar Year170 TotalCalendarYear170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$77,310,438CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$87,609,073CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$56,225,795CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$35,879,255CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$32,299,441CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$289,324,002TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Substantial Contributors Tot$50,157,347SubstantialContributorsTotAmt
Public Support Total170$239,166,655PublicSupportTotal170Amt

Gross Investment Income170 GrossInvestmentIncome170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$2,141,342CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$1,692,717CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$173,156CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$2,384,937CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$7,126,850CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$13,519,002TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Support$302,843,004TotalSupportAmt
Public Support CY1700.78970PublicSupportCY170Pct
Public Support PY1700.77390PublicSupportPY170Pct
Thirty Thr Pct Suprt Tests CY170Yes (X)ThirtyThrPctSuprtTestsCY170Ind

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$31,117,814BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$10,815,944ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$2,884,909InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$1,130,228OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$43,688,439EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$32,741,593BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$1,033,610ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses-$2,058,529InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$598,860OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$31,117,814EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$28,050,825BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$3,850,001ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$1,566,219InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$725,452OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$32,741,593EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$26,389,403BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$162,398ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$2,276,673InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$777,649OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$28,050,825EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$25,003,770BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$269,880ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$2,006,376InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$890,623OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$26,389,403EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Board Designated Balance EOY0.21696BoardDesignatedBalanceEOYPct
Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY0.69802PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Term Endowment Balance EOY0.08502TermEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Endowments Held Unrelated Org0EndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related Org0EndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$863,600InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$5,278,862OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$6,142,462BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$885,950InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$1,153,921OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$474,721DepreciationAmt
Book Value$1,565,150BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$7,707,612TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Closely Held Equity Interests CloselyHeldEquityInterestsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Book Value$150,446,286BookValueAmt
Method ValuationFMethodValuationCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Securities$150,446,286TotalBookValueSecuritiesAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (3 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
OBLIGATIONS UNDER CHARITABLE GIFT ANNUITIES$1,209,628
DUE TO SAINT JOHN'S HEALTH CENTER & INSTITUTES$11,184,258
DUE TO SAINT JOHN'S HEALTH CENTER (OPERATING EXPENSES)$1,478,572
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$13,872,458TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$64,509,716TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$24,613,684NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Other Revenue-$427,177OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported$24,186,507RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$40,323,209RevenueSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld$128,670InvestmentExpensesNotIncldAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$128,670RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$40,451,879TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$33,776,754TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Expenses Included$176,032OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$176,032ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$33,600,722ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld2$128,670InvestmentExpensesNotIncld2Amt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$128,670ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$33,729,392TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (4 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART V, LINE 4:ENDOWMENT FUNDS ARE ESTABLISHED BY DONOR-RESTRICTED GIFTS AND BEQUESTS TO EITHER PROVIDE A PERMANENT ENDOWMENT, WHICH IS TO PROVIDE A PERMANENT SOURCE OF INCOME TO THE FOUNDATION, OR A TERM ENDOWMENT, WHICH IS TO PROVIDE INCOME FOR A SPECIFIED PERIOD TO THE FOUNDATION.
PART X, LINE 2:THE FOUNDATION RECOGNIZES THE IMPACT OF TAX POSITIONS IN THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS IF THAT POSITION IS MORE LIKELY THAN NOT TO BE SUSTAINED ON AUDIT, BASED ON THE TECHNICAL MERITS OF THE POSITION. DURING THE YEAR ENDED DECEMBER 31, 2023, THE FOUNDATION PERFORMED AN EVALUATION OF UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS AND DID NOT NOTE ANY MATTERS THAT WOULD REQUIRE RECOGNITION IN THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS OR WHICH MIGHT HAVE AN EFFECT ON ITS TAX-EXEMPT STATUS.
PART XI, LINE 2D - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:CHANGE IN VALUE OF GIFT ANNUITIES RECEIVABLE 700,158. CHANGE IN VALUE OF BENEFICIAL INTEREST IN CHARITABLE REMAINDER TRUSTS 208,906. BAD DEBT -1,512,273. GAMING EXPENSES 400. FUNDRAISING EXPENSES 175,632.
PART XII, LINE 2D - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:GAMING EXPENSES 400. FUNDRAISING EXPENSES 175,632.

Schedule G IRS990ScheduleG

Fundraising Event Information FundraisingEventInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Event1POWER OF PINKEvent1Nm
Gross Receipts Event1$483,507GrossReceiptsEvent1Amt
Charitable Contri Event1$395,345CharitableContriEvent1Amt
Gross Revenue Event1$88,162GrossRevenueEvent1Amt
Non Cash Prizes Event1$11,241NonCashPrizesEvent1Amt
Food And Beverage Event1$50,833FoodAndBeverageEvent1Amt
Other Direct Expenses Event1$124,799OtherDirectExpensesEvent1Amt
Gross Receipts Total$483,507GrossReceiptsTotalAmt
Charitable Contributions Tot$395,345CharitableContributionsTotAmt
Gross Revenue Total Events$88,162GrossRevenueTotalEventsAmt
Non Cash Prizes Total Events$11,241NonCashPrizesTotalEventsAmt
Food And Beverage Total Events$50,833FoodAndBeverageTotalEventsAmt
Oth Direct Expnss Total Events$124,799OthDirectExpnssTotalEventsAmt
Direct Expense Summary Events$186,873DirectExpenseSummaryEventsAmt
Net Income Summary-$98,711NetIncomeSummaryAmt

Gaming Information GamingInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Revenue Other Gaming$19,308GrossRevenueOtherGamingAmt
Oth Direct Expnss Other Gaming$400OthDirectExpnssOtherGamingAmt
Volunteer Labor Other GamingYes (1)VolunteerLaborOtherGamingInd
Volunteer Labor Other Gaming0.73000VolunteerLaborOtherGamingPct
Gross Revenue Total Gaming$19,308GrossRevenueTotalGamingAmt
Oth Direct Expnss Total Gaming$400OthDirectExpnssTotalGamingAmt
Direct Expense Summary Gaming$400DirectExpenseSummaryGamingAmt
Net Gaming Income Summary$18,908NetGamingIncomeSummaryAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
States Where Gaming ConductedCAStatesWhereGamingConductedCd
LicensedYes (1)LicensedInd
License Suspended Etc0LicenseSuspendedEtcInd
Gaming With Nonmembers0GamingWithNonmembersInd
Member Of Other Entity0MemberOfOtherEntityInd
Individual With BooksSTELLA NICHOLSIndividualWithBooksNm

Persons With Books US Address PersonsWithBooksUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line12221 SANTA MONICA BLVDAddressLine1Txt
CitySANTA MONICACityNm
State AbbreviationCAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP90404ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct With3rd Prty For Game Rev0CntrctWith3rdPrtyForGameRevInd
Charitable Distribution RqrYes (1)CharitableDistributionRqrInd
Distributed$17,377DistributedAmt

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (1)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Recipient Table RecipientTable (29 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdRecipient EINRecipientEINIRC SectionIRCSectionDescCash GrantCashGrantAmtNon Cash AssistanceNonCashAssistanceAmtPurpose Of GrantPurposeOfGrantTxt
BOYS AND GIRLS CLUB OF SANTA MONICA
1220 LINCOLN BLVDSANTA MONICACA90401951890706501(C)3$30,000$0TO SUPPORT HEALTHY LIFESTYLE AND SOCIAL-EMOTIONAL HEALTH PROGRAMS.
CANCER SUPPORT COMMUNITY LOS ANGELES
1990 SOUTH BUNDY DRIVE SUITE 100LOS ANGELESCA90025330287070501(C)3$30,000$0TO SUPPORT THE HEART INITIATIVE.
CATHOLIC CHARITIES OF LOS ANGELES INC
1531 JAMES M WOOD BLVDLOS ANGELESCA90015951690973501(C)3$75,000$0TO PROVIDE GENERAL OPERATING SUPPORT.
CLARIS HEALTH
11500 OLYMPIC BLVD STE 570LOS ANGELESCA90064954806856501(C)3$25,000$0TO SUPPORT THE EXPANSION OF THE MOBILE UNIT.
GROWING HOPE GARDENS
21145 COLINA DRIVETOPANGACA90290834524045501(C)3$25,000$0TO SUPPORT THE CULTIVATING HEALTHY COMMUNITIES PROJECT.
MEALS ON WHEELS WEST
1823-A MICHIGAN AVENUESANTA MONICACA90404954613280501(C)3$37,500$0TO SUPPORT THE FOOD & SHELTER AND COMMUNITY CONNECTIONS PROGRAMS.
OPICA
11759 MISSOURI AVENUELOS ANGELESCA90025953493725501(C)3$21,000$0TO SUPPORT THE OPICA SCHOLARSHIP PROGRAM FOR PNI PATIENTS.
PACIFIC PALISADES-MALIBU YMCA
821 VIA DE LA PAZPACIFIC PALISADESCA90272951644052501(C)3$25,000$0TO SUPPORT THE TEEN COMMUNTY EMPOWERMENT HUB.
PROVIDENCE SAINT JOHN'S HEALTH CENTER CHILD AND FAMILY DEVELOPMENT CENTER
2121 SANTA MONICA BLVDSANTA MONICACA90404951684082501(C)3$100,000$0TO SUPPORT THE PERINATAL WELLNESS PROGRAM.
PROVIDENCE SAINT JOHN'S HEALTH CENTER CLEFT PALATE CENTER
2121 SANTA MONICA BLVDSANTA MONICACA90404951684082501(C)3$150,000$0TO SUPPORT THE JANET K. SALOMONSON, MD SCHOLARSHIP PROGRAM.
PROVIDENCE SAINT JOHN'S HEALTH CENTER COMMUNITY BENEFIT PROGRAMS
2121 SANTA MONICA BLVDSANTA MONICACA90404951684082501(C)3$131,000$0TO SUPPORT THE HOMELESS CARE NAVIGATION PROGRAM.
PROVIDENCE SAINT JOHN'S HEALTH CENTER SAINT JOHN'S CANCER INSTITUTE
2121 SANTA MONICA BLVDSANTA MONICACA90404954291515501(C)3$175,000$0TO SUPPORT THE SJCI ONCOLOGY FELLOWSHIP PROGRAM.
SAFE PARKING LA
961 S MARIPOSA AVELOS ANGELESCA90006873148967501(C)3$10,000$0TO SUPPORT THE HOUSING STABLIZATION SPECIALIST POSITION.
SAFE PLACE FOR YOUTH
340 SUNSET AVENUEVENICECA90291841802637501(C)3$50,000$0TO SUPPORT SPY'S HEALTH & CLINICAL PROGRAMS.
SANTA MONICA EDUCATION FOUNDATION
1717 4TH STREET SUITE 132ASANTA MONICACA90401953787674501(C)3$75,000$0TO SUPPORT THE SANTA MONICA PUBLIC SCHOOL STUDENT WELLNESS PROGRAM.
SANTA MONICA FAMILY YMCA
1332 6TH STREETSANTA MONICACA90401951643380501(C)3$22,500$0TO SUPPORT YOUTH & TEEN SUMMER MEMBERSHIPS AT THE SANTA MONICA Y.
SANTA MONICA PREPARATORY
1011 7TH STREETSANTA MONICACA90403237071304501(C)3$25,000$0TO SUPPORT LAUNCH OF THE BREAKFAST PROGRAM.
STEP UP ON SECOND
1460 4TH STREET STE 200SANTA MONICACA90401954109386501(C)3$50,000$0TO SUPPORT STEP UP ON SECOND STREETS PROGRAMS IN SANTA MONICA AND THE SAINT JOHN'S CIF CATCHMENT AREA.
THE PEOPLE CONCERN
2116 ARLINGTON AVENUE SUITE 100LOS ANGELESCA90018956143865501(C)3$150,000$0TO SUPPORT THE WESTSIDE INTERIM HOUSING AND WELLNESS SUPPORT PROGRAM ($100,000) AND THE SOJOURN DOMESTIC VIOLENCE SUPPORT PROGRAM ($50,000).
THE SALVATION ARMY (SANTA MONICA CORPS)
1533 4TH STREETSANTA MONICACA90401941156347501(C)3$75,000$0TO SUPPORT THE HOMELESS OUTREACH PROGRAM.
THE REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA FBO UCLA VA FAMILY RESOURCE AND
10889 WILSHIRE BLVD SUITE 700LOS ANGELESCA90024943067788501(C)3$75,000$0TO EXPAND SUPPORT FOR TEMPORARY AND PERMANENTLY HOUSED VETERANS AND THEIR FAMILIES AT THE WEST LOS ANGELES VA CAMPUS.
USVETS
800 W SIXTH STREET SUITE 1505LOS ANGELESCA90017954382752501(C)3$50,000$0TO SUPPORT THE OUTREACH COORDINATOR ROLE BASED AT THE WEST LA VA NORTH CAMPUS
VISION TO LEARN
12100 WILSHIRE BLVD SUITE 1275LOS ANGELESCA90025453457853501(C)3$50,000$0TO SUPPORT VTLS PROGRAMS IN THE SAINT JOHNS HEALTH CENTER SERVICE AREA.
WESTSIDE FOOD BANK
1710 22ND STREETSANTA MONICACA90404953685875501(C)3$75,000$0TO SUPPORT FOOD PURCHASES FOR WSFB FOOD BANK SERVICES.
WISE AND HEALTHY AGING
1527 4TH STREET 2SANTA MONICACA90401952788014501(C)3$75,000$0TO SUPPORT THE AGING HOMELESS DIVERSION PREVENTION PROJECT.
PROVIDENCE SAINT JOHN'S HEALTH CENTER
2121 SANTA MONICA BLVDSANTA MONICACA90404951684082501(C)3$8,134,207$0VARIOUS PROGRAMS AND SERVICES
PACIFIC NEUROSCIENCE INSTITUTE FOUNDATION
2125 ARIZONA BLVDSANTA MONICACA90404475552178501(C)3$6,416,717$0RESEARCH
SAINT JOHN'S CANCER INSTITUTE (FORMERLY JOHN WAYNE CANCER INSTITUTE)
2200 SANTA MONICA BLVDSANTA MONICACA90404954291515501(C)3$7,558,033$0RESEARCH
SAINT JOHN'S PHYSICIAN PARTNERS
20555 EARL STREETTORRANCECA90503814542216501(C)3$225,203$0VARIOUS PROGRAMS AND SERVICES
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total501c3 Org25Total501c3OrgCnt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART I, LINE 2:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationFUNDS TO PROVIDENCE SAINT JOHN'S HEALTH CENTER ARE GRANTED AFTER THE EXPENSES HAVE BEEN INCURRED AND SUPPORTED BY COPIES OF INVOICES PAID RELATED TO EACH GRANT. THE ENTITIES SAINT JOHN'S CANCER INSTITUTE, PACIFIC NEUROSCIENCE INSTITUTE FOUNDATION, AND SAINT JOHN'S PHYSICIAN PARTNERS PROVIDE THE SAINT JOHN'S HEALTH CENTER FOUNDATION WITH AN ITEMIZED BILL. SAINT JOHN'S HEALTH CENTER FOUNDATION TRANSFERS THE FUNDS TO EACH RELATED ENTITY THE SUBSEQUENT MONTH. AFFILIATION ENDOWMENT GRANTEES ARE REQUIRED TO SUBMIT REPORTS TO SAINT JOHN'S HEALTH CENTER FOUNDATION INDICATING HOW THE FUNDS WERE SPENT.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Club Dues Or FeesYes (X)ClubDuesOrFeesInd
Written Policy Ref T And E ExpnssYes (1)WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd
Substantiation RequiredYes (1)SubstantiationRequiredInd
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Independent ConsultantYes (X)IndependentConsultantInd
Form990 Of Other OrganizationsYes (X)Form990OfOtherOrganizationsInd
Written Employment ContractYes (X)WrittenEmploymentContractInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance PaymentYes (1)SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org0CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs0CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org0CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs0CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed PaymentsYes (1)AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract Exception0InitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (8 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
ROBERT KLEIN
PRESIDENT & CEO (TERM'D 4/28/2023)$418,867$0$149,710$0$337,500$0$27,225$0$6,572$0$939,874$0$0$0
STELLA NICHOLS
CFO$369,592$0$102,111$0$0$0$40,635$0$11,432$0$523,770$0$0$0
MICHAEL AVILA
SVP DEVELOPMENT (TERM'D 09/13/2023)$302,406$0$76,892$0$0$0$7,781$0$14,902$0$401,981$0$0$0
SHERYL BOURGEOISPHD
PRESIDENT & CEO$298,099$0$0$0$0$0$13,280$0$9,914$0$321,293$0$0$0
ANDY TRILLING
VP DEVELOPMENT PRINCIPAL & ESTATE GI$246,757$0$26,376$0$0$0$19,638$0$19,451$0$312,222$0$0$0
JEANNE GOLDSMITH
VP DEVELOPMENT$197,136$0$36,124$0$0$0$16,714$0$9,396$0$259,370$0$0$0
COOKIE ESTHER GALANTI
SENIOR DIRECTOR PHILANTHROPY$204,904$0$21,754$0$0$0$18,430$0$10,244$0$255,332$0$0$0
THERESA CSISZAR
VP STRATEGIC ENGAGEMENT AND STEWARDS$166,260$0$40,248$0$0$0$16,915$0$21,896$0$245,319$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (3 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART I, LINE 1ATHE ORGANIZATION PAID $7,802.21 FOR THE CEO/PRESIDENT'S USE OF THE PACIFIC CLUB FOR DONOR CULTIVATION AND RELATIONSHIP BUILDING.
PART I, LINE 4AYES, THE FORMER CEO/PRESIDENT ROBERT O. KLEIN RECEIVED THE FIRST 50% OR $337,500 OF THE AGREED UPON TOTAL SEVERANCE PAYMENT OF $675,000 (REMAINING BALANCE TO BE PAID IN 2024).
PART I, LINE 7THE BOARD APPROVED THE BONUS FOR ROBERT O. KLEIN, STELLA NICHOLS, MICHAEL AVILA, ESTHER GALANTI, ANDREW TRILLING, THERESA CSISZAR, AND JEANNE GOLDSMITH.

Schedule M IRS990ScheduleM

Works Of Art WorksOfArtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
Contribution36ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$167,490NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
Method Of Determining RevenuesAPPRAISALMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt

Securities Publicly Traded SecuritiesPubliclyTradedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
Contribution36ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$1,026,051NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
Method Of Determining RevenuesFAIR MARKET VALUEMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt

Real Estate Residential RealEstateResidentialGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
Contribution1ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$430,000NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
Method Of Determining RevenuesCOST APPROACHMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt

Food Inventory FoodInventoryGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
Contribution6ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$9,663NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
Method Of Determining RevenuesSELLING PRICEMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt

Other Non Cash Contri Table OtherNonCashContriTableGrp (3 entries)

Non Cash CheckboxNonCashCheckboxIndDescDescContributionContributionCntNoncash Contributions Rpt F990NoncashContributionsRptF990AmtMethod Of Determining RevenuesMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt
Yes (X)EVENT GIVEAWAYS7$53,863SELLING PRICE
Yes (X)OPPORTUNITY DRAWING ITEMS11$10,798SELLING PRICE
Yes (X)GIFT CARDS1$10,000SELLING PRICE
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form8283 Received1Form8283ReceivedCnt
Any Property That Must Be Held0AnyPropertyThatMustBeHeldInd
Review Process Unusual NC GiftsYes (1)ReviewProcessUnusualNCGiftsInd
Third Parties UsedYes (1)ThirdPartiesUsedInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART I, COLUMN (B):NONCASH DONATIONS ARE LISTED BY TOTAL NUMBER OF DONORS.
PART I, LINE 32B:CARS2CHARITIES FOR VEHICLE DONATIONS. ABELL AUCTION COMPANY: FOR TANGIBLE NON-CASH CONTRIBUTIONS (SUCH AS ARTWORK) THAT ARE NOT HELD IN INVENTORY (OTHER ASSETS).

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (10 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 1ATHE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE IS A BOARD COMMITTEE AND SHALL HAVE AT LEAST FIVE (5) TRUSTEES AS MEMBERS, INCLUDING THE CHAIR, THE PRESIDENT, EITHER THE PROVIDENCE CEO OR THE PROVIDENCE COO, AND OTHER TRUSTEES APPOINTED BY THE BOARD. THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE SHALL ACT FOR THE FULL BOARD BETWEEN BOARD MEETINGS, EXCEPT THAT THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE SHALL NOT TAKE ANY ACTION SPECIFIED IN SECTION 2 OF ARTICLE V OR OUTSIDE THE ORDINARY COURSE OF BUSINESS OR SPECIFICALLY RESERVED TO THE FULL BOARD BY RESOLUTION. THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE SHALL BE RESPONSIBLE FOR THE PERIODIC EVALUATION OF THE PERFORMANCE AND COMPENSATION OF THE PRESIDENT & CEO.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 6THE ORGANIZATION HAS TWO MEMBERS, PROVIDENCE HEALTH SYSTEM SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA AND SAINT JOHN'S HEALTH CENTER FOUNDATION GOVERNANCE INC. WHO ELECT ONE OR MORE MEMBERS OF THE GOVERNING BODY. DECISIONS OF THE GOVERNING BODY ARE SUBJECT TO APPROVAL BY THE MEMBERS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7ATHE ORGANIZATION HAS MEMBERS WHO ELECT ONE OR MORE MEMBERS OF THE GOVERNING BODY.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7BDECISIONS OF THE GOVERNING BODY ARE SUBJECT TO APPROVAL BY THE MEMBERS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11BAN ELECTRONIC COPY OF THE 990 AND ITS SUPPORTING SCHEDULES WERE DISTRIBUTED TO THE SAINT JOHN'S HEALTH CENTER FOUNDATION (FOUNDATION) MANAGEMENT TEAM, AUDIT AND COMPLIANCE COMMITTEE AND GOVERNING BODY FOR THEIR REVIEW PRIOR TO FILING. THE FOUNDATION FORM 990 IS PREPARED AND REVIEWED BY AN INDEPENDENT AUDITING FIRM. FORM 990 IS MADE AVAILABLE TO THE FULL GOVERNING BODY UPON REQUEST.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12CTHE CONFLICT OF INTEREST PROCESS IS MANAGED AND MONITORED BY PROVIDENCE RISK AND INTEGRITY SERVICES - COMPLIANCE. ANNUAL QUESTIONNAIRES ARE DISTRIBUTED AND "AFFECTED AND INTERESTED PERSONS" WHO VIOLATE THE POLICY ARE SUBJECT TO APPROPRIATE CORRECTIVE ACTION.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15THE ORGANIZATION USES THE FOLLOWING IN ESTABLISHING THE COMPENSATION OF OFFICERS INDEPENDENTLY, WITHOUT THE PARTICIPATION OF INTERESTED PERSONS: COMPENSATION COMMITTEE; INDEPENDENT COMPENSATION CONSULTANTS; COMPENSATION SURVEYS AND STUDIES; APPROVAL BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE. FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15B: THE ORGANIZATION USES THE FOLLOWING IN ESTABLISHING THE COMPENSATION OF OTHER OFFICERS OR KEY EMPLOYEES OF THE ORGANIZATION INDEPENDENTLY, WITHOUT THE PARTICIPATION OF INTERESTED PERSONS: COMPENSATION SURVEYS AND STUDIES; COMPENSATION RATES THROUGHOUT PROVIDENCE SYSTEM.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19THE GOVERNING DOCUMENTS, CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY, AND FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE MADE AVAILABLE TO THE PUBLIC UPON REQUEST.
FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9:CHANGE IN VALUE OF GIFT ANNUITIES RECEIVABLE 700,158. CHANGE IN VALUE OF BENEFICIAL INTEREST IN CHARITABLE REMAINDER TRUSTS 208,906. BAD DEBT EXPENSE -1,512,273.
FORM 990, PART XII, LINE 2C:NO PROCESSES HAVE CHANGED FROM THE PRIOR YEAR.

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp (2 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdEINEINPrimary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxtLegal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCdExempt Code SectionExemptCodeSectionTxtDirect Controlling NADirectControllingNACdControlled OrganizationControlledOrganizationIndPublic Charity StatusPublicCharityStatusTxt
SAINT JOHN'S HEALTH CENTER FOUNDATION GOVERNANCE INC
2121 SANTA MONICA BLVDSANTA MONICACA90404473249939CORPORATE MEMBERCA501(C)(4)N/A0
PACIFIC NEUROSCIENCE INSTITUTE FOUNDATION
2125 ARIZONA AVENUESANTA MONICACA90404475552178ADVANCE NEUROSCIENCE CLINICAL CARECA501(C)(3)N/A0LINE 7
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts Rylts0ReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth OrgYes (1)GiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth Org0GiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other Org0LoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth Org0LoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Div Related Organization0DivRelatedOrganizationInd
Asset Sale To Other Org0AssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other Org0AssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset Exchange0AssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth Org0RentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth Org0RentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth Org0PerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other Org0PerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of Facilities0SharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees Sharing0PaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other OrgYes (1)ReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other Org0ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other Org0TransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other Org0TransferFromOtherOrgInd