STRATEGY STUDIO / PUBLIC DATA EXPLORER

FANNIN CO ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE INC: Form 990, tax year 2023

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
FANNIN CO ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE INC (EIN 75-0261611)
Tax period
2023-01-01 to 2023-12-31
Filed
2024-11-13
IRS object ID
202443189349305704
Schema version
2023v5.1
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2024-11-13T11:53:24-06:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2023-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN750882037PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1BOLINGER SEGARS GILBERT AND MOSS LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line18215 NASHVILLE AVENUEAddressLine1Txt
CityLUBBOCKCityNm
State AbbreviationTXStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP79423ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2023-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN750261611EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1FANNIN COUNTY ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE INCBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlFANNBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone9035832117PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 250AddressLine1Txt
CityBONHAMCityNm
State AbbreviationTXStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP75418ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonJOHN ED SHINPAUGHPersonNm
Person TitleGENERAL MANAGERPersonTitleTxt
Phone9035832117PhoneNum
Signature2024-10-29SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
IRS Responsible Prty Info Curr0IRSResponsiblePrtyInfoCurrInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonWILLIAM M MILLERPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00439459PTIN
Phone8067473806PhoneNum
Preparation2024-10-29PreparationDt
Self EmployedYes (X)SelfEmployedInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2023TaxYr
Build TS2024-10-15 13:58:12ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

Doing Business As Name DoingBusinessAsName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1FANNIN ELECTRIC COOPERATIVEBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerJOHN ED SHINPAUGHPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 250AddressLine1Txt
CityBONHAMCityNm
State AbbreviationTXStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP75418ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$32,641,620GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501cYes (X)Organization501cInd
Website AddressWWW.FANNINEC.COOPWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1939FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateTXLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionTO PROVIDE QUALITY AND RELIABLE ELECTRIC SERVICE TO MEMBERS AT COST ON A COOPERATIVE BASIS.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body7VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent7VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee43TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers0TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$0PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$0CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$32,344,486PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$31,842,776CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$271,399PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$699,979CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$172,553PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$98,865CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$32,788,438PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$32,641,620CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$4,268PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$4,979CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$1,514,762PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$1,183,625CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$3,358,391PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$4,330,586CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$27,488,182PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$26,341,222CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$32,365,603PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$31,860,412CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$422,835PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$781,208CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$82,496,559TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$87,054,901TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$54,641,792TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$57,878,085TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$27,854,767NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$29,176,816NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionNONEMissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
DescPROVIDING ELECTRIC ENERGY TO OUR MEMBERS ON A COOPERATIVE BASIS THROUGH THE ALLOCATION OF PATRONAGE CAPITAL. THERE WERE 11,920 ACTIVE SERVICES AT YEAR END.Desc
Described In Section501c30DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B Required0ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingYes (1)CreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi Endowments0DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstYes (1)ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent0BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related Entity0RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document31IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Employee43EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit0UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Members And Shr Gross Income$31,534,665MembersAndShrGrossIncomeAmt
Other Sources Gross Income$4,023,918OtherSourcesGrossIncomeAmt
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt0SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc0SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members7GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member7IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (1)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (1)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (1)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of Committees0MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest Policy0ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1KAREN RINTELMANN CFOBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone9035832117PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 250AddressLine1Txt
CityBONHAMCityNm
State AbbreviationTXStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP75418ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part VIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIIInd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (14 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
RODNEY BRENT
VICE-PRESIDENT0.50Yes (X)Yes (X)$7,500$0$0
STEPHEN COLLIDA
PRESIDENT2.10Yes (X)Yes (X)$7,400$0$0
SCOTT GIBBS
DIRECTOR0.70Yes (X)$7,500$0$0
ROBERT MILTON
SECRETARY/TREASURER0.80Yes (X)Yes (X)$7,500$0$0
JOHN SKOTNIK
DIRECTOR1.60Yes (X)$7,200$0$0
ALFRED SCOTT
DIRECTOR0.60Yes (X)$7,300$0$0
J SETH MAHLER
DIRECTOR0.50Yes (X)$7,200$0$0
JOHN ED SHINPAUGH
CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER55.00Yes (X)$267,291$0$114,523
KAREN RINTELMANN
CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER45.00Yes (X)$212,161$0$76,174
TIM KIDWELL
ASSISTANT MANAGER40.00$166,629$0$73,687Yes (X)
BARRY MURCHISON
ENGINEER MANAGER40.00$147,308$0$92,193Yes (X)
RODNEY GAMMONS
LINE SUPERINTENDENT40.00$134,934$0$76,184Yes (X)
KAYLEN FOGELBERG
1ST CLASS LINEMAN40.00$118,810$0$42,578Yes (X)
CORY PATTON
LINE FOREMAN40.00$120,200$0$54,708Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$1,218,933TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$530,047TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K10IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
COOPERATIVE BUILDING SOLUTIONS
PO BOX 790100SAINT LOUISMO63101NEW HQ CONTRACTORS$12,944,185
LINETEC SERVICES LLC
19820 N 7TH STE 120PHOENIXAZ85027ELECTRICAL CONTRACTOR$3,172,338
MOSS FARMS
135 CR 36950ARTHUR CITYTX75411TREE TRIMMING$839,603
HORTON TREE SERVICE
PO BOX 1185KENNEDALETX76060TREE TRIMMING$552,513
PRIMORIS T&D SERVICES LLC
1760 S STEMMONS FWYLEWISVILLETX75067ELECTRICAL CONTRACTOR$549,747
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K11CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Info In Schedule O Part VIIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIIIInd

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (4 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
SALES OF ELECTRICITY221000$30,537,753$30,537,753
PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS221000$775,413$775,413
SERVICE FEES221000$361,453$361,453
WHOLESALE TRANSMISSION ACCESS221000$168,157$168,157
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$31,842,776TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$578,496TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$578,496ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$121,483OtherAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$0OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$121,483OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$121,483TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$121,483RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmtExclusionExclusionAmt
BOND SECURITIZATION P'SHIP INCOME221000$80,829$80,829
POLE ATTACHMENT INCOME221000$17,636$17,636
MISCELLANEOUS REVENUE221000$400$400
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$98,865OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$32,641,620TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$32,045,488RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$596,132ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part IXYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIXInd

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,979TotalAmt

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,183,625TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$721,749TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,027,264TotalAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$380,742TotalAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$829,993TotalAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$370,838TotalAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,865,040TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,449,619TotalAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmt
PURCHASED POWER$18,077,634
DISTRIBUTION EXPENSE$2,759,892
ADMIN & GENERAL EXPENSE$753,319
CONSUMER EXPENSE$370,735

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$64,983TotalAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$31,860,412TotalAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$545,963BOYAmt
EOY$7,169,642EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$21,430,903BOYAmt
EOY$290,508EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$901,468BOYAmt
EOY$863,432EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$191,991BOYAmt
EOY$282,075EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,866,690BOYAmt
EOY$1,760,925EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$90,341,189LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$24,007,297LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$47,719,294BOYAmt
EOY$66,333,892EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$7,836,736BOYAmt
EOY$8,586,689EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,003,514BOYAmt
EOY$1,767,738EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$82,496,559BOYAmt
EOY$87,054,901EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$8,914,366BOYAmt
EOY$9,321,760EOYAmt

Escrow Account Liability EscrowAccountLiabilityGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$66,153BOYAmt
EOY$60,638EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$38,459,548BOYAmt
EOY$40,112,505EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$7,201,725BOYAmt
EOY$8,383,182EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$54,641,792BOYAmt
EOY$57,878,085EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Org Does Not Follow FASB117Yes (X)OrgDoesNotFollowFASB117Ind

Cap Stk Tr Prin Current Funds CapStkTrPrinCurrentFundsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$82,285BOYAmt
EOY$84,000EOYAmt

Pd In Cap Srpls Land Bldg Eqp Fund PdInCapSrplsLandBldgEqpFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$27,772,482BOYAmt
EOY$29,092,816EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$27,854,767BOYAmt
EOY$29,176,816EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$82,496,559BOYAmt
EOY$87,054,901EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$781,208ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$540,841OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Info In Schedule O Part XIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit Committee0AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Agent Trustee Etc0AgentTrusteeEtcInd
Incl Escrow Custodial Acct LiabYes (1)InclEscrowCustodialAcctLiabInd
Explanation ProvidedYes (X)ExplanationProvidedInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$335,578OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$335,578BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$855,059OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$437,601DepreciationAmt
Book Value$417,458BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$70,708,673OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$23,569,696DepreciationAmt
Book Value$47,138,977BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$18,441,879OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$18,441,879BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$66,333,892TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Invst Program Related Org InvstProgramRelatedOrgGrp (7 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmtMethod ValuationMethodValuationCd
PATRONAGE CAPITAL-NISC$77,063C
PATRONAGE CAPITAL-TEC$258,748C
PATRONAGE CAPITAL-CFC$644,151C
PATRONAGE CAPITAL-RCEC$6,781,922C
PATRONAGE CAPITAL-CRC$16,808C
CAPITAL TERM CERTIFICATES-CFC$343,402C
INVESTMENT IN BOND SECURITIZATION PARTNERSHIP$464,595C
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Program Rltd$8,586,689TotalBookValueProgramRltdAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (6 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
ACCUMULATED PROVISION FOR PENSION & BENEFITS$1,524,590
CONSUMER DEPOSITS$301,253
ACCRUED OPERATING TAXES$216,604
POWER COST RECOVERY - OVERBILLED$3,312,939
DEFERRED CREDITS - ADVANCES FOR CONSTRUCTION$2,312,755
DEFERRED CREDITS - UNCLAIMED CAPITAL CREDITS$715,041
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$8,383,182TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$32,641,620TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Revenue Not Reported$0RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$32,641,620RevenueSubtotalAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$0RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$32,641,620TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$30,676,787TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$30,676,787ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Other Expenses Not Included$1,183,625OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$1,183,625ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$31,860,412TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (4 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART IV, LINE 2B:PURSUANT TO SECTION 74.3013 OF THE TEXAS PROPERTY CODE, THE COOPERATIVE HAS ESTABLISHED A RURAL SCHOLARSHIP FUND WITH AMOUNTS DETERMINED UNCLAIMED UNDER STATE LAW. THE AMOUNTS DEPOSITED INTO THE RURAL SCHOLARSHIP FUND ARE APPROVED BY THE STATE OF TEXAS AND CAN ONLY BE USED FOR SCHOLARSHIPS TO ENABLE STUDENTS FROM RURAL AREAS TO ATTEND COLLEGE, TECHNICAL SCHOOL OR OTHER POST SECONDARY EDUCATION INSTITUTION. ANY AMOUNTS SO DEPOSITED INTO THE RURAL SCHOLARSHIP FUND ARE STILL PAYABLE TO THE PERSON TO WHOM THE ORIGINAL PAYMENT WAS MADE BUT UNCLAIMED.
PART X, LINE 2:THE COOPERATIVE HAS ADOPTED THE "UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS" PROVISIONS OF ACCOUNTING PRINCIPLES GENERALLY ACCEPTED IN THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA. THE PRIMARY TAX POSITION OF THE COOPERATIVE IS ITS FILING STATUS AS A TAX EXEMPT ENTITY. THE COOPERATIVE HAS DETERMINED THAT IT IS MORE LIKELY THAN NOT THAT ITS TAX POSITION WILL BE SUSTAINED UPON EXAMINATION BY THE INTERNAL REVENUE SERVICE (IRS), OR OTHER STATE TAXING AUTHORITY AND THAT ALL TAX BENEFITS ARE LIKELY TO BE REALIZED UPON SETTLEMENT WITH TAXING AUTHORITIES.
PART XII, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:PATRONAGE CAPITAL ALLOCATED OR TO BE ALLOCATED 1,183,625.
PART IX:THE AMOUNT OF OTHER ASSETS ON FORM 990, PAGE 11, PART X, LINE 15 DOES NOT EQUAL OR EXCEED 5% OF THE TOTAL ASSETS ON FORM 990, PAGE 11, PART X, LINE 16, COLUMN B. CONSEQUENTLY, IN ACCORDANCE WITH IRS INSTRUCTIONS SCHEDULE D, PART IX HAS BEEN LEFT BLANK. PART XII, LINE 4B: FOR THE AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS, THE AMOUNT OF PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS ALLOCATED OR TO BE ALLOCATED TO THE MEMBERS IS REPORTED AS AN INCREASE IN EQUITY AND NOT AS AN EXPENSE. THEREFORE, NET INCOME PER THE AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS IS REPORTED GROSS OF THE AMOUNT OF PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS THAT ARE EITHER ALLOCATED OR TO BE ALLOCATED AT THE TIME THE AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE PREPARED. HOWEVER, BECAUSE THE ALLOCATION OF PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS IS ONE ASPECT OF HOW THE COOPERATIVE FULFILLS ITS TAX EXEMPT PURPOSE OF OPERATING ON A COOPERATIVE BASIS, THE AMOUNT OF PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS EITHER ALLOCATED OR TO BE ALLOCATED TO THE MEMBERS IS REPORTED ON FORM 990, PART IX, LINE 4 AS "BENEFITS PAID TO MEMBERS".

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Form990 Of Other OrganizationsYes (X)Form990OfOtherOrganizationsInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (7 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
JOHN ED SHINPAUGH
CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER$229,216$0$500$0$37,575$0$81,205$0$33,318$0$381,814$0$0$0
KAREN RINTELMANN
CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER$186,335$0$380$0$25,446$0$59,388$0$16,786$0$288,335$0$0$0
TIM KIDWELL
ASSISTANT MANAGER$152,396$0$460$0$13,773$0$40,369$0$33,318$0$240,316$0$0$0
BARRY MURCHISON
ENGINEER MANAGER$139,911$0$420$0$6,977$0$58,875$0$33,318$0$239,501$0$0$0
RODNEY GAMMONS
LINE SUPERINTENDENT$130,462$0$940$0$3,532$0$69,921$0$6,263$0$211,118$0$0$0
CORY PATTON
LINE FOREMAN$119,016$0$740$0$444$0$21,548$0$33,160$0$174,908$0$0$0
KAYLEN FOGELBERG
1ST CLASS LINEMAN$118,061$0$520$0$229$0$11,018$0$31,560$0$161,388$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART II, COLUMN C:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationINCLUDED IN THIS AMOUNT IS THE INCREASE IN ACTUARIAL VALUE OF BENEFITS PAYABLE UNDER A DEFINED BENEFIT RETIREMENT PLAN. THE CONTRIBUTION RATE FOR PARTICIPANTS IN THE NRECA R&S DEFINED BENEFIT PENSION PLAN ARE THE SAME FOR ALL INDIVIDUALS IN THIS MULTI-EMPLOYER PLAN. THE CHANGE IN ACTUARIAL VALUE FOR EACH PARTICIPANT, HOWEVER, VARIES WITH AGE, YEARS OF SERVICE AND THE CURRENT INTEREST RATE ENVIRONMENT. IN OTHER WORDS, THE OLDER A PLAN PARTICIPANT IS, THE GREATER THE INCREASE IN THAT INDIVIDUAL'S CHANGE IN ACTUARIAL VALUE, ALL OTHER THINGS BEING EQUAL. BECAUSE THIS RELATES TO A MULTI-EMPLOYER PLAN, CASH CONTRIBUTIONS TO THE PLAN IN LIEU OF THE ACTUARIAL INCREASE ARE EXPENSED IN THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS. JOHN ED SHINPAUGH: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN $ 71,906 EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION TO 401(K) PLAN 9,299 TOTAL REPORTED IN COLUMN C $ 81,205 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN (71,906) ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTION TO DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN 47,538 EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE $ 56,837 KAREN RINTELMANN: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN $ 51,841 EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION TO 401(K) PLAN 7,547 TOTAL REPORTED IN COLUMN C $ 59,388 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN (51,841) ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTION TO DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN 38,584 EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE $ 46,131 TIM KIDWELL: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN $ 34,143 EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION TO 401(K) PLAN 6,226 TOTAL REPORTED IN COLUMN C $ 40,369 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN (34,143) ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTION TO DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN 31,829 EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE $ 38,055 BARRY MURCHISON: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN $ 53,148 EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION TO 401(K) PLAN 5,727 TOTAL REPORTED IN COLUMN C $ 58,875 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN (53,148) ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTION TO DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN 29,312 EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE $ 35,039 RODNEY GAMMONS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN $ 64,958 EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION TO 401(K) PLAN 4,963 TOTAL REPORTED IN COLUMN C $ 69,921 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN (64,958) ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTION TO DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN 25,374 EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE $ 30,337 CORY PATTON: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN $ 17,331 EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION TO 401(K) PLAN 4,217 TOTAL REPORTED IN COLUMN C $ 21,548 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN (17,331) ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTION TO DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN 21,423 EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE $ 25,640 KAYLEN FOGELBERG: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN $ 7,479 EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION TO 401(K) PLAN 3,539 TOTAL REPORTED IN COLUMN C $ 11,018 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN (7,479) ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTION TO DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN 17,978 EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE $ 21,517ExplanationTxt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (17 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART I:IN GENERAL, WHEN AN ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE BASES THE PATRONAGE DIVIDEND CALCULATION ON ITS NET BOOK INCOME/(LOSS), PAGE 1, PART I, LINE 19 - REVENUE LESS EXPENSES - WILL BE $0. FOR THE CURRENT YEAR, PAGE 1, PART I, LINE 19 REPORTS NET INCOME OF $781,208, WHICH IS THE EFFECT OF NON-OPERATING MARGINS RETAINED. THE FOLLOWING SCHEDULE IS PROVIDED TO FURTHER EXPLAIN THE IMPACT OF THIS TRANSACTION: (A) - NET INCOME ON PAGE 1, PART I, LINE 19 $ 781,208 (B) - BENEFITS PAID TO MEMBERS (I.E. PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS), PART I, LINE 14 $1,183,625 TOTAL 2023 NET MARGIN PER FINANCIAL STATEMENTS (A + B) $1,964,833
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 6THE COOPERATIVE WAS FORMED BY THE MEMBERS TO PROVIDE ELECTRIC SERVICE AT COST ON A COOPERATIVE BASIS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7ATHE MEMBERS OF THE COOPERATIVE VOTE ON THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS. ELECTIONS ARE DONE ON A ONE MEMBER ONE VOTE BASIS BY DISTRICT.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7BTHE FOLLOWING ACTS REQUIRE APPROVAL OF THE MEMBERS OF THE COOPERATIVE: 1. DISSOLUTION/LIQUIDATION OF THE COOPERATIVE 2. MERGER OR CONSOLIDATION OF THE COOPERATIVE WITH ANOTHER ORGANIZATION 3. THE DISPOSAL OF A SUBSTANTIAL PORTION OF THE COOPERATIVE'S ASSETS 4. AMENDMENT TO THE ARTICLES OF INCORPORATION
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 8BTHE COOPERATIVE HAS NO COMMITTEES WITH AUTHORITY TO ACT ON BEHALF OF THE GOVERNING BODY. THEREFORE, AND PURSUANT TO FORM 990 INSTRUCTIONS, THE QUESTION HAS BEEN ANSWERED "NO".
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11BMANAGEMENT PRESENTED A COPY OF THE FORM 990 TO THE BOARD FOR DISCUSSION AND REVIEW PRIOR TO FILING.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS USE A COMPENSATION SURVEY AND COMPARATIVE INFORMATION FROM FORM 990'S OF OTHER ORGANIZATIONS WHEN DETERMINING THE COMPENSATION OF THE GENERAL MANAGER. THE SURVEY SHOWS COMPARATIVE SALARIES FOR GENERAL MANAGERS FROM SIMILARLY SITUATED COOPERATIVES LOCATED IN TEXAS AND THE NATION. THE GENERAL MANAGER USES A COMPENSATION SURVEY AND COMPARATIVE INFORMATION FROM FORM 990'S OF OTHER ORGANIZATIONS WHEN DETERMINING THE COMPENSATION OF THE COOPERATIVE'S OTHER EMPLOYEES MEETING THE DEFINITION OF OFFICER AND KEY EMPLOYEES, IF ANY. THE SURVEY INCLUDES SALARIES FROM SIMILARLY SITUATED COOPERATIVES THROUGHOUT TEXAS AND THE NATION.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19THE COOPERATIVE PROVIDES A SUMMARIZED COPY OF THE AUDITED BALANCE SHEET AND INCOME STATEMENT TO THE MEMBERS OF THE COOPERATIVE AT THE ANNUAL MEETING. THE COOPERATIVE WILL PROVIDE A COMPLETE COPY OF THE BYLAWS, TARIFFS, AND AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS TO ANY MEMBER WHO REQUESTS A COPY.
FORM 990, PART VII, COLUMN F:IN ORDER TO PROVIDE RETIREMENT BENEFITS TO ITS EMPLOYEES, THE COOPERATIVE HAS ESTABLISHED A DEFINED CONTRIBUTION PLAN UNDER SECTION 401(K) OF THE INTERNAL REVENUE CODE. EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTIONS TO THE PLAN ARE MADE PURSUANT TO THE PLAN DOCUMENT. ADDITIONALLY, THE COOPERATIVE PARTICIPATES IN A MULTI-EMPLOYER DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN. CONTRIBUTIONS TO THIS PLAN ARE BASED ON THE FULL FUNDING LIMITATION OF SUCH PLAN. EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTIONS FOR BOTH PLANS ARE AVAILABLE TO PARTICIPATING EMPLOYEES, INCLUDING OFFICERS AND HIGHLY COMPENSATED EMPLOYEES, MEETING THE ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS OF SUCH PLANS. THE COOPERATIVE ALSO PROVIDES HEALTH, DENTAL, VISION AND LIFE INSURANCE TO ALL ELIGIBLE EMPLOYEES THROUGH A QUALIFIED PLAN. THE AMOUNTS REPORTED ON PART VII, COLUMN (F) FOR THE OFFICER AND HIGHLY COMPENSATED EMPLOYEES IS COMPRISED OF ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN THE DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN AND THE TOTAL AMOUNT CONTRIBUTED BY THE COOPERATIVE TO THE DEFINED CONTRIBUTION PLAN ON BEHALF OF AND FOR THEIR BENEFIT. IN ADDITION TO THE ABOVE PENSION PLANS, THE COOPERATIVE ALSO PROVIDES POST-RETIREMENT HEALTH INSURANCE BENEFITS THROUGH AN UNFUNDED WELFARE BENEFIT PLAN. THE VALUE OF THESE BENEFITS HAS NOT BEEN ESTIMATED.
FORM 990, PART VIII, LINE 2:PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS RESULT FROM THE PURCHASE OF WHOLESALE POWER FROM A GENERATION & TRANSMISSION COOPERATIVE. PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS ALSO RESULT FROM THE PAYMENT OF INTEREST FROM COOPERATIVE BANKS AND THE PURCHASE OF SUPPLIES AND SERVICES FROM OTHER COOPERATIVE ORGANIZATIONS. THE EXPENSES ASSOCIATED WITH PURCHASES FROM AND PAYMENTS TO SUCH COOPERATIVE ORGANIZATIONS ARE A DIRECT COMPONENT OF COST OF THE ELECTRIC SERVICE PROVIDED BY THE COOPERATIVE TO ITS MEMBERS.
FORM 990, PART IX:ALTHOUGH THE COOPERATIVE IS NO LONGER A RURAL UTILITIES SERVICE (RUS) BORROWER, ITS ACCOUNTING RECORDS ARE MAINTAINED IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE RUS UNIFORM SYSTEM OF ACCOUNTS (USOA) PRESCRIBED FOR RUS ELECTRIC BORROWERS. THE USOA DOES NOT RECORD EXPENSES IN THE GENERAL EXPENSE CATEGORIES PROVIDED ON PART IX LINES 1-23. THE COOPERATIVE SEPARATELY REPORTS SALARIES AND WAGES, EMPLOYEE BENEFITS AND PAYROLL TAXES THAT ARE ALLOCATED IN ACCORDANCE WITH THEIR ACCOUNTING SYSTEM, BUT OTHER EXPENSES THAT ARE DESCRIBED IN LINES 1-23 ARE REPORTED ON LINE 24 UNDER THE EXPENSE CATEGORIES REQUIRED BY THE USOA.
FORM 990, PART IX, LINE 1:ALL GRANTS AND/OR DONATIONS ARE MADE TO NON-PROFIT AND CIVIC ORGANIZATIONS THAT ARE LOCATED IN THE COOPERATIVE'S SERVICE AREA, AND INTENDED TO IMPROVE THE COMMUNITIES IN WHICH OUR MEMBERS RESIDE. EACH GRANT AND/OR DONATION MADE DURING THE YEAR WAS BELOW THE REPORTING THRESHOLD OF SCHEDULE I, PART II.
FORM 990, PART IX, LINE 4:PURSUANT TO FORM 990 INSTRUCTIONS, THE AMOUNT OF PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS PAID TO THE MEMBERS (HEREINAFTER REFERRED TO AS "PATRONS") SHOULD BE REPORTED ON PART IX, LINE 4. THE PHRASE "PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS PAID" REFERS TO THE PROCESS, SUBSEQUENT TO YEAR-END, BY WHICH THE COOPERATIVE ALLOCATES PATRONAGE CAPITAL TO AND, THEREFORE, OPERATES AT COST WITH ITS PATRONS. THE COOPERATIVE'S TAX EXEMPT PURPOSE IS TO PROVIDE ELECTRICITY TO ITS PATRONS AND TO DO SO ON A COOPERATIVE BASIS. TAX LAW DEFINES "OPERATING ON A COOPERATIVE BASIS" AS SUBORDINATION OF CAPITAL, DEMOCRATIC CONTROL, AND OPERATION AT COST. THE COOPERATIVE OPERATES AT COST THROUGH THE ALLOCATION OF TRUE PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS (ALSO REFERRED TO AS ALLOCATIONS OF PATRONAGE CAPITAL) TO ITS PATRONS. PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS ARE CONSIDERED PAID IF THE ALLOCATION IS MADE (1) PURSUANT TO A PRE-EXISTING OBLIGATION, (2) FROM THE MARGINS PRODUCED FROM THE TRANSACTIONS DONE WITH OR FOR PATRONS, AND (3) IN A FAIR AND EQUITABLE MANNER ON THE BASIS OF PATRONAGE (I.E. PURCHASES). ADDITIONALLY, THE ALLOCATION OF PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS SHOULD BE MADE WITHIN A REASONABLE TIME PERIOD AFTER THE CLOSE OF THE COOPERATIVE'S YEAR-END OF DECEMBER 31. EACH ONE OF THESE REQUIREMENTS FOR A TRUE PATRONAGE DIVIDEND IS PROVIDED FOR IN THE NON-PROFIT OPERATION ARTICLE OF THE BYLAWS. THE AMOUNT REPORTED ON PART IX, LINE 4 REPRESENTS THE AMOUNT OF PATRONAGE CAPITAL THAT IS EITHER ALLOCATED OR TO BE ALLOCATED TO THE PATRONS RESULTING FROM THEIR PURCHASE OF ELECTRICITY FROM THE COOPERATIVE FOR THE 2023 CALENDAR YEAR. BECAUSE PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS ARE THE PROCESS BY WHICH THE COOPERATIVE OPERATES AT COST WITH ITS PATRONS AND THEREBY A KEY COMPONENT TO ACCOMPLISHING ITS EXEMPT PURPOSE, THE COOPERATIVE HAS REPORTED SUCH AMOUNTS AS AN EXPENSE FOR FORM 990 REPORTING. PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS ARE NOT AN EXPENSE FOR FINANCIAL STATEMENTS PREPARED IN ACCORDANCE WITH GENERALLY ACCEPTED ACCOUNTING PRINCIPLES, HOWEVER.
FORM 990, PART IX, LINES 5-7:SALARIES AND WAGES ARE ALLOCATED TO ASSET, LIABILITY, AND EXPENSE ACCOUNTS BASED ON THE ACCOUNTING SYSTEM DESCRIBED ABOVE. THE FOLLOWING SCHEDULE RECONCILES AMOUNTS REPORTED ON LINES 5-7 TO TOTAL WAGES ACCRUED AND/OR PAID: TOTAL PER LINES 5-7 $ 2,749,013 LESS: DIRECTOR FEES REPORTED ON FORMS 1099-NEC (51,600) LESS: EMPLOYEE OFFICER BENEFITS REPORTED ON LINE 5 (190,697) PLUS: SALARIES AND WAGES CAPITALIZED DIRECTLY TO PLANT 1,193,047 PLUS: SALARIES AND WAGES CAPITALIZED/EXPENSED INDIRECTLY THROUGH CLEARING AND OTHER ACCOUNTS 71,689 TOTAL WAGES ACCRUED AND/OR PAID $ 3,771,452
FORM 990, PART IX, LINE 24:ADMINISTRATIVE & GENERAL EXPENSE IS COMPRISED OF THE FOLLOWING: ADMINISTRATIVE & GENERAL SALARIES, BENEFITS, & OTHER $ 1,246,868 OFFICE SUPPLIES 211,316 OUTSIDE SERVICES 119,511 INSURANCES AND DAMAGES 221,840 MISCELLANEOUS GENERAL 75,691 DIRECTORS 195,681 MAINTENANCE OF GENERAL PLANT 98,845 TOTAL ADMIN & GENERAL EXP PER FINANCIAL STATEMENTS $ 2,169,752 LESS: RECLASS OF DIRECTOR FEES TO PART IX, LINE 5 (51,600) LESS: RECLASS OF LABOR TO PART IX, LINES 5 & 7 (799,546) LESS: RECLASS OF BENEFITS TO PART IX, LINES 8-10 (565,287) TOTAL ADMIN & GENERAL EXPENSE PER FORM 990, PART IX $ 753,319
FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9:PATRONAGE CAPITAL ALLOCATED OR TO BE ALLOCATED 1,183,625. PATRONAGE CAPITAL RETIRED -620,362. OTHER COMPREHENSIVE INCOME - PENSION & BENEFITS -25,353. NET INCREASE IN MEMBERSHIPS 1,715. DONATED CAPITAL 1,216.
FORM 990, PART XII, LINE 2C:THE BOARD AS A WHOLE IS RESPONSIBLE FOR OVERSEEING THE FINANCIAL STATEMENT AUDIT AND SELECTING THE INDEPENDENT FINANCIAL STATEMENT AUDITOR. PROCEDURAL CHANGES DID NOT OCCUR DURING THE YEAR.