STRATEGY STUDIO / NONPROFIT PEOPLE SEARCH

EAST BALTIMORE DEVELOPMENT INC: Form 990, tax year 2021

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
EAST BALTIMORE DEVELOPMENT INC (EIN 27-0037508)
Tax period
2021-07-01 to 2022-06-30
Filed
2023-04-06
IRS object ID
202310969349300416
Schema version
2021v4.2
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2023-04-06T14:25:37-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2022-06-30TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN420714325PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RSM US LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1100 INTERNATIONAL DRIVE SUITE 1400AddressLine1Txt
CityBALTIMORECityNm
State AbbreviationMDStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP21202ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2021-07-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN270037508EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1EAST BALTIMORE DEVELOPMENT INCBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlEASTBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone4102340660PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1929 N WOLFE STREET STE 1106AddressLine1Txt
CityBALTIMORECityNm
State AbbreviationMDStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP21205ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonCHERYL WASHINGTONPersonNm
Person TitlePRESIDENT AND CEOPersonTitleTxt
Phone4102340660PhoneNum
Signature2023-03-30SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Signing Officer SigningOfficerGrp

Person Full Name PersonFullName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Person FirstCHERYLPersonFirstNm
Person LastWASHINGTONPersonLastNm
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SSN999009999SSN

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonJULIA FLANNERY CPAPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00928918PTIN
Phone4102469300PhoneNum
Preparation2023-03-30PreparationDt

Additional Filer Information AdditionalFilerInformation

Trusted Customer TrustedCustomerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Trusted Customer3TrustedCustomerCd
Authentication Assurance LevelAAL1AuthenticationAssuranceLevelCd
Identity Assurance LevelIAL1IdentityAssuranceLevelCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2021TaxYr
Build TS2023-04-26 12:10:37ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerCHERYL WASHINGTONPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1929 N WOLFE STREET STE 1106AddressLine1Txt
CityBALTIMORECityNm
State AbbreviationMDStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP21205ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$30,681,390GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website AddressWWW.EBDI.ORGWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation2002FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateMDLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionTO SUCCESSFULLY ATTRACT MARKET-ORIENTED INVESTMENT, DEVELOPMENT, POPULATION & ENTERPRISE TO THE EAST BALTIMORE COMMUNITY WHILE EQUIPPING COMMUNITY RESIDENTS WITH THE SKILLS, INFORMATION & RESOURCES THEY NEED TO BENEFIT FROM NEW HOUSING, EMPLOYMENT, BUSINESS & EDUCATIONAL OPPORTUNITIES.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Contract TerminationYes (X)ContractTerminationInd
Voting Members Governing Body17VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent17VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee8TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers21TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$4,173,163PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$2,702,162CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$1,032,632PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$670,500CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$0PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$23,046,697CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$5,374,776PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$3,843,585CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$10,580,571PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$30,262,944CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$0PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$0CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$966,398PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$1,005,569CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$11,986,346PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$8,627,359CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$12,952,744PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$9,632,928CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses-$2,372,173PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$20,630,016CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$59,534,248TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$12,751,192TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$66,836,298TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$100,009TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY-$7,302,050NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$12,651,183NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionEBDI'S MISSION IS TO SUCCESSFULLY ATTRACT MARKET-ORIENTED INVESTMENT, DEVELOPMENT, POPULATION AND ENTERPRISE TO THE EAST BALTIMORE COMMUNITY WHILE EQUIPPING COMMUNITY RESIDENTS WITH THE SKILLS, INFORMATION & RESOURCES THEY NEED TO BENEFIT FROM NEW HOUSING, EMPLOYMENT, BUSINESS AND EDUCATIONAL OPPORTUNITIES. EBDI'S EAST BALTIMORE INITIATIVE LEVERAGES THE WORLD-CLASS HEALTH AND RESEARCH FACILITIES THAT ANCHOR AND ECONOMICALLY POWER THE NEIGHBORHOOD, THE CITY AND THE REGION.EAST BALTIMORE DEVELOPMENT FOUNDATION, INC. (EBDF), A RELATED ORGANIZATION, WAS FORMED IN 2008 AS A NON-STOCK CORPORATION EXCLUSIVELY FOR CHARITABLE AND EDUCATIONAL PURPOSES TO SUPPORT AND CARRY OUT THE CHARITABLE AND EDUCATIONAL PURPOSES OF EBDI. EBDF IS A TYPE I SUPPORTING ORGANIZATION AS DEFINED BY THE IRS.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
Expense$8,285,800ExpenseAmt
Revenue$4,399,085RevenueAmt
DescIN 2022, EBDI CONTINUED TO WORK WITH DEVELOPERS, THE CITY, AND STATE AGENCIES TO COMPLETE PRE-DEVELOPMENT ACTIVITIES NECESSARY TO MAKE WAY FOR FOUR NEW RESIDENTIAL DEVELOPMENT PROJECTS THAT WILL YIELD OVER 500 UNITS OF MARKET-RATE AND AFFORDABLE RENTAL AND FOR-SALE HOMES. IN ADDITION, THE DEVELOPMENT OF THE NEXT COMMERCIAL/LAB BUILDING IS UNDERWAY AND THE SITE FOR A FUTURE GROCERY STORE/MIXED-USE DEVELOPMENT HAS BEEN IDENTIFIED. THESE EFFORTS ARE EXPECTED TO CONTINUE THROUGH CY 2023. EBDI ULTIMATELY PLANS TO BUILD AN ADDITIONAL 500 UNITS OF MIXED-INCOME HOUSING ALONG WITH TWO TO THREE ADDITIONAL COMMERCIAL BUILDINGS AND A PARKING GARAGE OVER THE NEXT 10 YEARS. EBDI CONSIDERS ITS APPROACH TO BE "RESPONSIBLE REDEVELOPMENT" WITH A FOCUS ON ECONOMIC AND COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT EFFORTS THAT ARE INCLUSIVE AND MITIGATE THE EFFECTS OF GENTRIFICATION.EBDI'S PARTNERS IN THIS REVITALIZATION EFFORT INCLUDE THE CITY OF BALTIMORE, THE STATE OF MARYLAND, JOHNS HOPKINS UNIVERSITY AND MEDICINE, THE ANNIE E. CASEY FOUNDATION, AND THE HARRY AND JEANETTE WEINBERG FOUNDATION, AMONG MANY OTHERS. EBDI'S MISSION IS TO SUCCESSFULLY ATTRACT MARKET-ORIENTED INVESTMENT, DEVELOPMENT, POPULATION, AND ENTERPRISE TO THE EAST BALTIMORE COMMUNITY WHILE EQUIPPING COMMUNITY RESIDENTS WITH THE SKILLS, INFORMATION, AND RESOURCES THEY NEED TO BENEFIT FROM NEW HOUSING, EMPLOYMENT, BUSINESS AND EDUCATIONAL OPPORTUNITIES. EBDI'S EAST BALTIMORE INITIATIVE LEVERAGES THE WORLD-CLASS HEALTH DELIVERY AND RESEARCH FACILITIES AT THE JOHNS HOPKINS MEDICAL CAMPUS THAT ANCHORS AND ECONOMICALLY POWERS THE NEIGHBORHOOD, THE CITY, AND THE REGION. FISCAL YEAR 2022 WAS A CHALLENGING YEAR CONSIDERING THE LINGERING IMPACT THE COVID-19 PANDEMIC HAS HAD ON EBDI'S FUNDERS. FORTUNATELY, EBDI CONTINUED TO SECURE FUNDING FROM JOHNS HOPKINS UNIVERSITY AND THE CITY AT THEIR RECURRING CONTRIBUTION LEVELS. EBDI ANTICIPATES CONTINUING TO RECEIVE FUNDING FROM JOHNS HOPKINS UNIVERSITY AND THE CITY IN 2023. EBDI WAS ABLE TO INCREASE ITS FISCAL YEAR 2023 BUDGET DUE TO ANTICIPATED DEVELOPMENT RIGHTS FEES TO BE EARNED IN FISCAL YEAR 2023.TO ADDRESS THIS POTENTIAL FUNDING GAP IN FISCAL YEAR 2023 AND BEYOND, EBDI HAS FOCUSED ON WORKING TO DISPOSE OF UNDEVELOPED PARCELS OF LAND THAT COULD GENERATE SUBSTANTIAL DEVELOPMENT RIGHTS FEES FOR EBDI. THE DEVELOPMENT RIGHTS FEES, WHICH ARE EQUIVALENT TO THE LAND ACQUISITION PRICE, WILL BE BASED ON THE FAIR MARKET VALUE OF THE LAND AS DETERMINED BY AN APPRAISAL. IN FISCAL YEAR 2022, EBDI RECEIVED $618,845 FROM A DEVELOPER FOR TWO PARTICULAR PARCELS OF LAND. THESE FUNDS PARTIALLY SUPPORTED UNANTICIPATED EXPENSES IN 2022 AND WILL PROVIDE ADDITIONAL FUNDING IN 2023. ADDITIONALLY, EBDI COMPLETED NEGOTIATIONS WITH ITS MASTER DEVELOPER TO TERMINATE ITS MASTER DEVELOPMENT AGREEMENT IN FEBRUARY 2022. DOING SO GAVE EBDI SITE CONTROL OVER THE FIVE REMAINING UNDEVELOPED PARCELS THAT HAVE NOT YET BEEN AWARDED TO A DEVELOPER. EBDI WILL COMMISSION APPRAISALS FOR THE PARCELS AND THUS FAR HAS RECEIVED APPRAISALS ON TWO PARCELS, WHICH YIELDED VALUES OF $7M AND $4.315M, RESPECTIVELY. EBDI BELIEVES THAT THE VALUES FOR THE OTHER PARCELS WILL BE IN A SIMILAR RANGE. AS A RESULT, EBDI IS IN A POSITION TO RECEIVE POTENTIAL DEVELOPMENT RIGHTS FEES FOR THE REMAINING PARCELS IN EXCESS OF $20 MILLION THROUGH THE DURATION OF THE MASTER PLAN BUILD-OUT. IF RECEIVED, THAT ADDITIONAL FUNDING WILL SUPPORT EBDI'S OPERATIONS FOR THE NEXT SEVERAL YEARS. EBDI CONSIDERS THIS REVENUE SOURCE TO BE SPECULATIVE DUE TO MARKET CONDITIONS AND OUTCOMES WITH NEGOTIATIONS UNTIL DEVELOPMENT RIGHTS ARE AWARDED AND DEVELOPMENT CONTRACTS ARE EXECUTED.DEVELOPMENT AND CONSTRUCTION ACTIVITIES ALL INCLUDE A COMMITMENT TO SUBSTANTIVE PARTICIPATION BY LOCAL, MINORITY OWNED AND WOMEN OWNED ENTERPRISES WITH OVER $437 MILLION IN CONSTRUCTION CONTRACTS LET TO SUCH FIRMS TO-DATE, AND THE LOCAL EAST BALTIMORE WORK FORCE IS GIVEN PRIORITY ACCESS TO THE BUSINESS AND JOB OPPORTUNITIES CREATED IN THE PROJECT AREA. THE COMPLETED REVITALIZATION EFFORT IS PROJECTED TO GENERATE $1.8 BILLION OF PUBLIC/PRIVATE INVESTMENT IN THE COMMUNITY OVER 20 YEARS, WITH $1.1 BILLION INVESTED TO-DATE.Desc
Total Program Service Expenses$8,285,800TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (1)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (1)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying ActivitiesYes (1)LobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi Endowments0DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other Liabilities0ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl Stmt0IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans0EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit Trans0PYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent0BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial LiquidationYes (1)PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityYes (1)DisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (1)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntYes (1)RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Transaction With Control Ent0TransactionWithControlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org0TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document25IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee8EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit0UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contributions0QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed Of0Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt0SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc0SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members17GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member17IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt DutiesYes (1)DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or Stockholders0MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board Members0ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To Approva0DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process Other0CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldMDStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Own WebsiteYes (X)OwnWebsiteInd
Other WebsiteYes (X)OtherWebsiteInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1CHERYL WASHINGTONBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone4102340660PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1929 N WOLFE STREET STE 1106AddressLine1Txt
CityBALTIMORECityNm
State AbbreviationMDStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP21205ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (19 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtOfficerOfficerIndAverage Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRtHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
TOMI HIERS
BOARD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
TALMADGE BRANCH
BOARD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
ANTONIO GLOVER
BOARD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
RONALD J DANIELS
BOARD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
VENROY JULY
BOARD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JEANNE HITCHCOCK
CHAIR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
CORY MCCRAY
BOARD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
THEODORE CARTER
BOARD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
GAVIN JOHNSON
BOARD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
ANTHONY KING
TREASURER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
CARON WATKINS
BOARD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
ABE ROSENTHAL
BOARD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
LT GOV HON BOYD K RUTHERFORD
BOARD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
ROBERT STOKES
BOARD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
COLIN TARBERT
BOARD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
TODD SCOTT
BOARD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
TRACY KARTYE
BOARD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
CHERYL WASHINGTON
CEO50.00$271,960$0$23,524Yes (X)1.00
KAREN JOHNSON
CRO45.00$249,729$0$29,234Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$521,689TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$52,758TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K2IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (4 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
K&K ADAMS
2901 DRUID PARK DRIVE STE 207BALTIMOREMD21215GENERAL CONTRACTOR$924,569
LSH GE GATEWAY 2 LLC
409 WASHINGTON AVE STE 900TOWSONMD21204GENERAL CONTRACTOR$648,587
GEI WINDEMERE LLC
1829 REISTERSTOWN RD STE 300BALTIMOREMD21208GENERAL CONTRACTOR$279,502
RSM US LLP
5155 PAYSPHERE CIRCLECHICAGOIL60674ACCOUNTING$102,548
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K4CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Government Grants$1,782,162GovernmentGrantsAmt
All Other Contributions$920,000AllOtherContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$2,702,162TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
DEVELOPER FEES900099$618,845$618,845
APPLICATION & OTHER FE900099$51,655$51,655
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$670,500TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$15TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$15ExclusionAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$3,839,585RealAmt

Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$0RealAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$3,839,585RealAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$3,839,585TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$3,728,585RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Exclusion$111,000ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$23,465,128OtherAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$418,446OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$23,046,682OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$23,046,682TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$23,046,682ExclusionAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescOTHER REVENUEDesc
Business900099BusinessCd
Total Revenue Column$4,000TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$4,000ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$4,000OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$30,262,944TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$4,399,085RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$23,161,697ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part IXYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIXInd

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$289,421TotalAmt
Program Services$109,982ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$179,439ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$546,679TotalAmt
Program Services$207,741ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$338,938ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$44,545TotalAmt
Program Services$16,927ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$27,618ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$75,845TotalAmt
Program Services$28,822ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$47,023ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$49,079TotalAmt
Program Services$18,650ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$30,429ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$122,713TotalAmt
Management And General$122,713ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$226,500TotalAmt
Management And General$226,500ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,994,432TotalAmt
Program Services$1,994,432ProgramServicesAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$38,117TotalAmt
Management And General$38,117ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$59,604TotalAmt
Management And General$59,604ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$8,985TotalAmt
Management And General$8,985ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$170,402TotalAmt
Program Services$2,730ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$167,672ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,497TotalAmt
Management And General$1,497ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,159,992TotalAmt
Program Services$2,159,992ProgramServicesAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,075,498TotalAmt
Program Services$1,075,498ProgramServicesAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$88,221TotalAmt
Management And General$88,221ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (2 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmt
PROPERTY OPERATING EXPE$2,488,929$2,488,929
PROPERTY & SPECIAL TAXE$168,181$168,181

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$24,288TotalAmt
Program Services$13,916ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$10,372ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$9,632,928TotalAmt
Program Services$8,285,800ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,347,128ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,656,227BOYAmt
EOY$1,338,991EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$50,000BOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$514,599BOYAmt
EOY$271,218EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$75,731BOYAmt
EOY$15,179EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$12,670,219LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$1,544,415LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$54,506,210BOYAmt
EOY$11,125,804EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$731,481BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$59,534,248BOYAmt
EOY$12,751,192EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,948,489BOYAmt
EOY$91,509EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$105,685BOYAmt
EOY$8,500EOYAmt

Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$61,145,000BOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,637,124BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$66,836,298BOYAmt
EOY$100,009EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows FASB117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind

No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY-$7,514,467BOYAmt
EOY$12,438,766EOYAmt

Donor Restriction Net Assets DonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$212,417BOYAmt
EOY$212,417EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY-$7,302,050BOYAmt
EOY$12,651,183EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$59,534,248BOYAmt
EOY$12,751,192EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$20,630,016ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets-$676,783OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Consolidated Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)ConsolidatedBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Organization170Yes (X)PublicOrganization170Ind

Gifts Grants Contri Rcvd170 GiftsGrantsContriRcvd170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$6,771,434CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$2,719,739CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$1,906,266CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$4,173,163CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$2,702,162CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$18,272,764TotalAmt

Total Calendar Year170 TotalCalendarYear170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$6,771,434CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$2,719,739CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$1,906,266CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$4,173,163CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$2,702,162CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$18,272,764TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Substantial Contributors Tot$1,977,961SubstantialContributorsTotAmt
Public Support Total170$16,294,803PublicSupportTotal170Amt

Gross Investment Income170 GrossInvestmentIncome170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$3CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year$111,015CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$111,018TotalAmt

Other Income170 OtherIncome170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$1,212CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$33,420CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$15,038CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$54CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$4,000CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$53,724TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Support$18,437,506TotalSupportAmt
Gross Receipts Rltd Activities$30,841,809GrossReceiptsRltdActivitiesAmt
Public Support CY1700.88380PublicSupportCY170Pct
Public Support PY1700.91070PublicSupportPY170Pct
Thirty Thr Pct Suprt Tests CY170Yes (X)ThirtyThrPctSuprtTestsCY170Ind

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule C IRS990ScheduleC

Other Exempt Purpose Expend OtherExemptPurposeExpendGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Filing Organizations Total$9,632,928FilingOrganizationsTotalAmt

Total Exempt Purpose Expend TotalExemptPurposeExpendGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Filing Organizations Total$9,632,928FilingOrganizationsTotalAmt

Lobbying Nontaxable Amount LobbyingNontaxableAmountGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Filing Organizations Total$631,646FilingOrganizationsTotalAmt

Grassroots Nontaxable GrassrootsNontaxableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Filing Organizations Total$157,912FilingOrganizationsTotalAmt

Tot Lbbyng Grassroot Mns Non Tx TotLbbyngGrassrootMnsNonTxGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Filing Organizations Total$0FilingOrganizationsTotalAmt

Tot Lbby Expend Mns Lbbyng Non Tx TotLbbyExpendMnsLbbyngNonTxGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Filing Organizations Total$0FilingOrganizationsTotalAmt

Avg Lobbying Nontaxable Amount AvgLobbyingNontaxableAmountGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Year Minus3$758,762CurrentYearMinus3Amt
Current Year Minus2$681,888CurrentYearMinus2Amt
Current Year Minus1$797,637CurrentYearMinus1Amt
Current Year$631,646CurrentYearAmt
Total$2,869,933TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Lobbying Ceiling$4,304,900LobbyingCeilingAmt

Avg Grassroots Nontaxable AvgGrassrootsNontaxableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Year Minus3$189,691CurrentYearMinus3Amt
Current Year Minus2$170,472CurrentYearMinus2Amt
Current Year Minus1$199,409CurrentYearMinus1Amt
Current Year$157,912CurrentYearAmt
Total$717,484TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grassroots Ceiling$1,076,226GrassrootsCeilingAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$266,807OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$266,807BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$463,301OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$456,095DepreciationAmt
Book Value$7,206BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$11,940,111OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$1,088,320DepreciationAmt
Book Value$10,851,791BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$11,125,804TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$30,273,059TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Revenue$10,115OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported$10,115RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$30,262,944RevenueSubtotalAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$0RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$30,262,944TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$9,713,503TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Expenses Included$80,575OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$80,575ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$9,632,928ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$0ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$9,632,928TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (4 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART X, LINE 2:THE ORGANIZATIONS ADOPTED GUIDANCE IN THE FASB ASC TOPIC, ACCOUNTING FOR UNCERTAINTY IN INCOME TAXES, WHICH ADDRESSES THE DETERMINATION OF WHETHER TAX BENEFITS CLAIMED OR EXPECTED TO BE CLAIMED ON A TAX RETURN SHOULD BE RECORDED IN THE CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS. UNDER THIS GUIDANCE, THE ORGANIZATIONS MAY RECOGNIZE THE TAX BENEFIT FROM AN UNCERTAIN TAX POSITION ONLY IF IT IS MORE LIKELY THAN NOT THAT THE TAX POSITION WILL BE SUSTAINED UPON EXAMINATION BY TAXING AUTHORITIES, BASED UPON THE TECHNICAL MERITS OF THE POSITION. THE TAX BENEFITS RECOGNIZED IN THE CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS FROM SUCH A POSITION ARE MEASURED BASED ON THE LARGEST BENEFIT THAT HAS A GREATER THAN 50% LIKELIHOOD OF BEING REALIZED UPON ULTIMATE SETTLEMENT. THE GUIDANCE ON ACCOUNTING FOR UNCERTAINTY IN INCOME TAXES ALSO ADDRESSES DE-RECOGNITION, CLASSIFICATION, INTEREST AND PENALTIES ON INCOME TAXES AND ACCOUNTING IN INTERIM PERIODS. MANAGEMENT EVALUATED THE ORGANIZATIONS' TAX POSITIONS AND CONCLUDED THAT THE ORGANIZATIONS HAVE TAKEN NO UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS THAT REQUIRE ADJUSTMENT TO THE CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS TO COMPLY WITH THE PROVISIONS OF THIS GUIDANCE. THE ORGANIZATIONS ARE NO LONGER SUBJECT TO INCOME TAX EXAMINATIONS BY THE U.S. FEDERAL, STATE OR LOCAL TAX AUTHORITIES BEFORE JUNE 30, 2019.
PART XI, LINE 2D - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE CONSOLIDATED: EAST BALTIMORE DEVELOPMENT FOUNDATION 10,115.
PART XII, LINE 2D - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE CONSOLIDATED: EAST BALTIMORE DEVELOPMENT FOUNDATION 80,575.
PART VI, LINE 1E - LAND, BUILDING, AND EQUIPMENT -THE OTHER ASSETS COST CONSIST OF PUBLIC PARK LAND, $9,855,866 PUBLIC PARK FIXED ASSETS, $2,084,245

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org0CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs0CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org0CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs0CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed Payments0AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract Exception0InitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (2 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
CHERYL WASHINGTON
CEO$271,960$0$0$0$0$0$15,277$0$8,247$0$295,484$0$0$0
KAREN JOHNSON
CRO$249,729$0$0$0$0$0$14,037$0$15,197$0$278,963$0$0$0

Schedule N IRS990ScheduleN

Disposition Of Assets Detail DispositionOfAssetsDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Assets Distri Or Expnss PaidTRANSFER OF 75% OF 929 N WOLFE STREET, LLCAssetsDistriOrExpnssPaidDesc
Distribution2022-01-31DistributionDt
Fair Market Value Of Asset-$23,053,873FairMarketValueOfAssetAmt
Method Of FMV DeterminationBOOK VALUEMethodOfFMVDeterminationTxt
EIN822912570EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1P3 FOUNDATIONBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line12626 GLENWOOD AVE STE 550AddressLine1Txt
CityRALEIGHCityNm
State AbbreviationNCStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP27608ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
IRC Section501(C)(3)IRCSectionTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Director Of Successor20DirectorOfSuccessor2Ind
Employee Of Successor20EmployeeOfSuccessor2Ind
Owner Of Successor20OwnerOfSuccessor2Ind
Receive Compensation20ReceiveCompensation2Ind

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (8 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART I929 WAS A SINGLE MEMBER LIMITED LIABILITY COMPANY WHOLLY OWNED BY EBDI. AS PART OF THE RESTRUCTURE ON JANUARY 31, 2022, EBDI TRANSFERRED 75% OWNERSHIP OF 929 TO ANOTHER NON-PROFIT OWNER, P3 FOUNDATION, WHICH THEN BECAME THE MANAGER OF THE PROPERTY. EBDI RETAINED A 25% OWNERSHIP STAKE IN THE PROPERTY. EBDI EXPECTS TO TRANSFER THE REMAINING 25% TO P3 FOUNDATION IN FISCAL YEAR 2023 FOR NO CONSIDERATION. ACCORDINGLY, ALL ACTIVITY THROUGH JANUARY 31, 2022 IS REPORTED ON THIS FORM 990 AND ON THE CONSOLIDATED AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 3NICOLE M. HARRELL, CPA, LLC PERFORMS ACCOUNTING CONSULTING RESPONSIBILITIES WHICH INCLUDES BANK RECONCILIATIONS, SUPERVISING OF THE ACCOUNTS PAYABLE AND RECEIVABLE ACTIVITY, FINANCIAL REPORTING PREPARATION, COMPLETION OF ANNUAL AUDIT AND FORM 990 PROCEDURES AND REPORTS TO THE CEO. SHE ALSO PERFORMS THE REVIEW OF MONTHLY FINANCIAL STATEMENTS AND COMPLETION OF EBDI FINANCE COMMITTEE AND BOARD PACKAGES FOR QUARTERLY MEETINGS. EBDI PAID HARRELL CPA $127,820 FOR THE ABOVE SERVICES DURING THE TAX YEAR. RUDOLPH ISAACS, CPA, PERFORMS THE REVIEW OF FINANCIAL STATEMENTS AND COMPLETION OF GREYSTAR MANAGEMENT/929 PORTION EBDI FINANCE COMMITTEE AND BOARD PACKAGES FOR QUARTERLY MEETINGS. ISAACS ALSO PROVIDED TECHNICAL ASSISTANCE AND KNOWLEDGE IN COMPLETING THE ANNUAL AUDIT OF EBDI. ISAACS PROVIDES MANAGEMENT SUPPORT RELATING TO GREYSTAR MANAGEMENT AND REPORTS RELATING TO 929. THIS INCLUDES REVIEW WEEKLY LEASING ACTIVITY AND WORK WITH GREYSTAR TO DEVELOP LEASING STRATEGIES. REPORTING TO EBDI MANAGEMENT ON THE RESULTS OF 929 ACTIVITY. EBDI PAID ISAACS $4,800 FOR THE ABOVE SERVICES DURING THE TAX YEAR.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11BTHE FORM 990 WAS PREPARED BY RSM US IN CONSULTATION WITH AN ACCOUNTING CONSULTANT ENGAGED BY EBDI TO ASSIST WITH FINANCIAL REPORTING, AUDIT AND FORM 990. THE FORM WAS THEN REVIEWED WITH THE PRESIDENT AND CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER AS WELL AS THE FINANCE/AUDIT COMMITTEE OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS IN MARCH PRIOR TO SUBMISSION. THE FINANCE/AUDIT COMMITTEE INCLUDES SENIOR MANAGERS FROM SEVERAL FOUNDATIONS AND PARTNERS WITH NATIONAL AND LOCAL ACCOUNTING FIRMS. THE COMMENTS OF THE REVIEW TEAM WERE INCORPORATED INTO THE FINAL DOCUMENT AND EMAILED TO THE FULL BOARD OF DIRECTORS PRIOR TO SUBMISSION.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12CEBDI HAS A WRITTEN CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY. KEY EMPLOYEES, OFFICERS AND DIRECTORS UPDATE THEIR DISCLOSURE STATEMENT ANNUALLY. WHENEVER THERE IS REASON TO BELIEVE THAT AN ACTUAL OR POTENTIAL CONFLICT OF INTEREST EXISTS BETWEEN EBDI AND AN INTERESTED PARTY, THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS SHALL DETERMINE THE APPROPRIATE ORGANIZATIONAL RESPONSE. WHERE THE ACTUAL OR POTENTIAL CONFLICT EXISTS, THE CEO SHALL REVIEW THE MATTER AND TAKE APPROPRIATE ACTION AS NECESSARY TO PROTECT THE INTERESTS OF EBDI. THE CEO SHALL REPORT TO THE CHAIRMAN THE RESULTS OF ANY REVIEW AND THE ACTION PROPOSED TO BE TAKEN. THE CHAIRMAN, IN CONSULTATION WITH THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE, SHALL DETERMINE IF ANY FURTHER BOARD REVIEW OR ACTION IS REQUIRED. AN INTERESTED PARTY WHO HAS AN ACTUAL OR POTENTIAL CONFLICT OF INTEREST WITH RESPECT TO A PROPOSED ACTION OR TRANSACTION WITH EBDI SHALL NOT PARTICIPATE IN ANY WAY IN, OR BE PRESENT DURING, THE DELIBERATIONS AND DECISION MAKING RELATED TO THE PROPOSED ACTION OR TRANSACTION.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15ATHE COMPENSATION OF THE PRESIDENT AND CEO IS ESTABLISHED BY THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS AND IS DETERMINED AND DOCUMENTED ANNUALLY BASED UPON COMPARABLE COMPENSATION DATA. BONUSES FOR THE PREVIOUS YEAR ARE DETERMINED BASED UPON ACHIEVEMENT OF SPECIFIC ORGANIZATIONAL GOALS. THE COMPENSATION OF OFFICERS AND KEY EMPLOYEES IS ESTABLISHED BY THE PRESIDENT AND CEO WITH APPROVAL OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS THROUGH THE BUDGET PROCESS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19ORGANIZATIONAL DOCUMENTS, THE CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY, AND THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE AVAILABLE TO THE PUBLIC, FOR THE SAME PERIOD OF DISCLOSURE AS SET FORTH IN SECTION 6104(D), UPON WRITTEN REQUEST TO THE ORGANIZATION. THE ORGANIZATION WILL ARRANGE A MUTUALLY CONVENIENT TIME FOR REVIEW AT THE MAIN OFFICE OF EBDI AT 929 N. WOLFE STREET, BALTIMORE, MARYLAND.
FORM 990, PART IX, LINE 11GINFRASTRUCTURE CONTRACTORS: PROGRAM SERVICE EXPENSES 1,361,862. MANAGEMENT AND GENERAL EXPENSES 0. FUNDRAISING EXPENSES 0. TOTAL EXPENSES 1,361,862. PROFESSIONAL SERVICES: PROGRAM SERVICE EXPENSES 228,100. MANAGEMENT AND GENERAL EXPENSES 0. FUNDRAISING EXPENSES 0. TOTAL EXPENSES 228,100. ENGINEERING SERVICES: PROGRAM SERVICE EXPENSES 4,320. MANAGEMENT AND GENERAL EXPENSES 0. FUNDRAISING EXPENSES 0. TOTAL EXPENSES 4,320. SECURITY SERVICES: PROGRAM SERVICE EXPENSES 400,150. MANAGEMENT AND GENERAL EXPENSES 0. FUNDRAISING EXPENSES 0. TOTAL EXPENSES 400,150.
FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9:NET ASSET ADJUSTMENT WITH RELATED ORGANIZATION -676,783.

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Disregarded Entities IdDisregardedEntitiesGrp (3 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdEINEINPrimary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxtLegal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCdTotal IncomeTotalIncomeAmtEnd Of Year AssetsEndOfYearAssetsAmtBusiness Name Line1DirectControllingEntityName/BusinessNameLine1Txt
1809 ASHLAND AVENUE LLC
929 N WOLFE ST STE 1106BALTIMOREMD21205412135971MANAGEMENT & OTHER REAL ESTATE ACTIVITIESMD$0$0EAST BALTIMORE DEVELOPMENT INC
929 N WOLFE STREET LLC
929 N WOLFE ST STE 1106BALTIMOREMD21205MANAGEMENT & OTHER REAL ESTATE ACTIVITIESMD$4,118,670$0EAST BALTIMORE DEVELOPMENT INC
R-ONE DEVELOPMENT LLC
929 N WOLFE ST STE 1106BALTIMOREMD21205MANAGEMENT & OTHER REAL ESTATE ACTIVITIESMD$0$0EAST BALTIMORE DEVELOPMENT INC

Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp

Disregarded Entity Name DisregardedEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1EAST BALTIMORE DEVELOPMENT FOUNDATION INCBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1929 N WOLFE ST STE 1106AddressLine1Txt
CityBALTIMORECityNm
State AbbreviationMDStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP21205ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN263871581EIN
Primary ActivitiesSUPPORT THE CHARITABLE AND EDUCATIONAL PURPOSES OF EBDIPrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateMDLegalDomicileStateCd
Exempt Code Section501(C)(3)ExemptCodeSectionTxt
Public Charity Status11A-IPublicCharityStatusTxt

Direct Controlling Entity Name DirectControllingEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1EAST BALTIMORE DEVELOPMENT INCBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Controlled OrganizationYes (1)ControlledOrganizationInd

Id Related Org Txbl Corp Tr IdRelatedOrgTxblCorpTrGrp

Related Organization Name RelatedOrganizationName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1EAST BALTIMORE COMMUNITY SCHOOL LAND CONDOMINIUM INCBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1929 N WOLFE ST STE 1106AddressLine1Txt
CityBALTIMORECityNm
State AbbreviationMDStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP21205ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Primary ActivitiesCONDOMINIUMPrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateMDLegalDomicileStateCd

Direct Controlling Entity Name DirectControllingEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1EAST BALTIMORE DEVELOPMENT INCBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Entity TypeCEntityTypeTxt
Ownership1.00000OwnershipPct
Controlled Organization0ControlledOrganizationInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts Rylts0ReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth Org0GiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth Org0GiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other Org0LoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth Org0LoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Div Related Organization0DivRelatedOrganizationInd
Asset Sale To Other Org0AssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other Org0AssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset Exchange0AssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth Org0RentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth Org0RentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth Org0PerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other Org0PerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of Facilities0SharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees Sharing0PaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other Org0ReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other Org0ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other OrgYes (1)TransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other Org0TransferFromOtherOrgInd

Transactions Related Org TransactionsRelatedOrgGrp

Other Organization Name OtherOrganizationName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1EAST BALTIMORE DEVELOPMENT FOUNDATION INCBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Transaction TypeRTransactionTypeTxt
Involved$676,783InvolvedAmt
Method Of Amount DeterminationBOOK VALUEMethodOfAmountDeterminationTxt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART I:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
Explanation929 N. WOLFE STREET LLC (929) WAS A SINGLE MEMBER ENTITY CREATED BY EBDI TO OWN AND OPERATE THE 20-STORY STUDENT HOUSING PROJECT DEVELOPED AT 929 N. WOLFE STREET. ON JANUARY 31, 2022, EBDI TRANSFERRED 75% OF ITS MEMBERSHIP INTEREST IN 929 TO AN UNRELATED NONPROFIT FOUNDATION. THE ACTIVITY ON THE FORM 990 INCLUDES THE ACTIVITY OF 929 FOR THE PERIOD JULY 1, 2021 THROUGH JANUARY 31, 2022.ExplanationTxt