INTER-COUNTY ENERGY COOPERATIVE CORPORATION: Form 990, tax year 2022
View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗
- Organization
- INTER-COUNTY ENERGY COOPERATIVE CORPORATION (EIN 61-0235235)
- Tax period
- 2022-01-01 to 2022-12-31
- Filed
- 2023-05-12
- IRS object ID
- 202311329349305121
- Schema version
- 2022v5.0
- Source
- Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica
Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.
Return header ReturnHeader
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return | 2023-05-12T12:32:14-05:00 | ReturnTs |
| Tax Period End | 2022-12-31 | TaxPeriodEndDt |
Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Firm EIN | 610420207 | PreparerFirmEIN |
Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | JONES NALE & MATTINGLY PLC | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 401 WEST MAIN STREET SUITE 1100 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | LOUISVILLE | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | KY | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 40202 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return Type | 990 | ReturnTypeCd |
| Tax Period Begin | 2022-01-01 | TaxPeriodBeginDt |
Filer Filer
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EIN | 610235235 | EIN |
Business Name BusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | INTER-COUNTY ENERGY COOPERATIVE | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Control | INTE | BusinessNameControlTxt |
| Phone | 8592364561 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | PO BOX 87 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | DANVILLE | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | KY | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 40422 | ZIPCd |
Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person | JERRY W CARTER | PersonNm |
| Person Title | PRESIDENT & CEO | PersonTitleTxt |
| Phone | 8592364561 | PhoneNum |
| Signature | 2023-05-09 | SignatureDt |
| Discuss With Paid Preparer | Yes (1) | DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd |
Signing Officer SigningOfficerGrp
Person Full Name PersonFullName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person First | JERRY | PersonFirstNm |
| Person Last | CARTER | PersonLastNm |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| SSN | 999009999 | SSN |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| IRS Responsible Prty Info Curr | Yes (1) | IRSResponsiblePrtyInfoCurrInd |
Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Person | TRAVIS C FRICK | PreparerPersonNm |
| PTIN | P00641130 | PTIN |
| Phone | 5025830248 | PhoneNum |
Additional Filer Information AdditionalFilerInformation
Trusted Customer TrustedCustomerGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Trusted Customer | 3 | TrustedCustomerCd |
| Authentication Assurance Level | AAL1 | AuthenticationAssuranceLevelCd |
| Identity Assurance Level | IAL1 | IdentityAssuranceLevelCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Tax | 2022 | TaxYr |
| Build TS | 2023-04-26 12:10:37Z | BuildTS |
Form 990 IRS990
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Principal Officer | JERRY W CARTER | PrincipalOfficerNm |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | PO BOX 87 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | DANVILLE | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | KY | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 40422 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Gross Receipts | $74,823,291 | GrossReceiptsAmt |
| Group Return For Affiliates | 0 | GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd |
| Organization501c | Yes (X) | Organization501cInd |
| Website Address | WWW.INTERCOUNTYENERGY.NET | WebsiteAddressTxt |
| Type Of Organization Corp | Yes (X) | TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd |
| Formation | 1937 | FormationYr |
| Legal Domicile State | KY | LegalDomicileStateCd |
| Activity Or Mission | PROVIDE ELECTRIC SERVICE TO MEMBER OWNERS ON A PATRONAGE BASIS. SERVE AN AVERAGE OF APPROXIMATELY 26,278 CUSTOMERS PER MONTH. | ActivityOrMissionDesc |
| Voting Members Governing Body | 6 | VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt |
| Voting Members Independent | 6 | VotingMembersIndependentCnt |
| Total Employee | 66 | TotalEmployeeCnt |
| Total Volunteers | 0 | TotalVolunteersCnt |
| Total Gross UBI | $0 | TotalGrossUBIAmt |
| Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm | $0 | NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt |
| PY Contributions Grants | $1,349,743 | PYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| CY Contributions Grants | $57,661 | CYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| PY Program Service Revenue | $53,289,233 | PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| CY Program Service Revenue | $72,360,888 | CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| PY Investment Income | $59,839 | PYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| CY Investment Income | $141,199 | CYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| PY Other Revenue | $1,247,637 | PYOtherRevenueAmt |
| CY Other Revenue | $2,263,543 | CYOtherRevenueAmt |
| PY Total Revenue | $55,946,452 | PYTotalRevenueAmt |
| CY Total Revenue | $74,823,291 | CYTotalRevenueAmt |
| PY Grants And Similar Paid | $8,000 | PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| CY Grants And Similar Paid | $6,000 | CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| PY Benefits Paid To Members | $1,121,293 | PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| CY Benefits Paid To Members | $4,782,590 | CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $7,803,018 | PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $7,733,035 | CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Fundraising Expense | $0 | CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt |
| PY Other Expenses | $47,014,141 | PYOtherExpensesAmt |
| CY Other Expenses | $62,301,666 | CYOtherExpensesAmt |
| PY Total Expenses | $55,946,452 | PYTotalExpensesAmt |
| CY Total Expenses | $74,823,291 | CYTotalExpensesAmt |
| PY Revenues Less Expenses | $0 | PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| CY Revenues Less Expenses | $0 | CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| Total Assets BOY | $143,876,670 | TotalAssetsBOYAmt |
| Total Assets EOY | $149,903,408 | TotalAssetsEOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities BOY | $91,471,356 | TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities EOY | $92,837,069 | TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY | $52,405,314 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY | $57,066,339 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt |
| Mission | PROVIDE ELECTRIC SERVICE TO MEMBER OWNERS ON A PATRONAGE BASIS. SERVE AN AVERAGE OF APPROXIMATELY 27,520 CUSTOMERS PER MONTH. | MissionDesc |
| Significant New Program Srvc | 0 | SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd |
| Significant Change | 0 | SignificantChangeInd |
| Expense | $74,823,291 | ExpenseAmt |
| Revenue | $74,157,871 | RevenueAmt |
| Desc | PROVIDE ELECTRIC SERVICE TO MEMBER OWNERS ON A PATRONAGE BASIS. SERVE APPROXIMATELY 26,278 CONSUMERS PER MONTH. | Desc |
| Total Program Service Expenses | $74,823,291 | TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt |
| Described In Section501c3 | 0 | DescribedInSection501c3Ind |
| Schedule B Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleBRequiredInd |
| Political Campaign Acty | 0 | PoliticalCampaignActyInd |
| Subject To Proxy Tax | 0 | SubjectToProxyTaxInd |
| Donor Advised Fund | 0 | DonorAdvisedFundInd |
| Conservation Easements | 0 | ConservationEasementsInd |
| Collections Of Art | 0 | CollectionsOfArtInd |
| Credit Counseling | 0 | CreditCounselingInd |
| Donor Rstr Or Quasi Endowments | 0 | DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd |
| Report Land Building Equipment | Yes (1) | ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd |
| Report Investments Other Sec | 0 | ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd |
| Report Program Related Invst | Yes (1) | ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd |
| Report Other Assets | 0 | ReportOtherAssetsInd |
| Report Other Liabilities | Yes (1) | ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd |
| Include FIN48 Footnote | Yes (1) | IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd |
| Independent Audit Fincl Stmt | 0 | IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd |
| Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt | 0 | ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd |
| School Operating | 0 | SchoolOperatingInd |
| Foreign Office | 0 | ForeignOfficeInd |
| Foreign Activities | 0 | ForeignActivitiesInd |
| More Than5000 K To Org | 0 | MoreThan5000KToOrgInd |
| More Than5000 K To Individuals | 0 | MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd |
| Professional Fundraising | 0 | ProfessionalFundraisingInd |
| Fundraising Activities | 0 | FundraisingActivitiesInd |
| Gaming Activities | 0 | GamingActivitiesInd |
| Operate Hospital | 0 | OperateHospitalInd |
| Grants To Organizations | 0 | GrantsToOrganizationsInd |
| Grants To Individuals | Yes (1) | GrantsToIndividualsInd |
| Schedule J Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleJRequiredInd |
| Tax Exempt Bonds | 0 | TaxExemptBondsInd |
| Loan Outstanding | 0 | LoanOutstandingInd |
| Grant To Related Person | 0 | GrantToRelatedPersonInd |
| Business Rln With Org Mem | 0 | BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd |
| Business Rln With Fam Mem | 0 | BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd |
| Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent | 0 | BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd |
| Deductible Non Cash Contri | 0 | DeductibleNonCashContriInd |
| Deductible Art Contribution | 0 | DeductibleArtContributionInd |
| Terminate Operations | 0 | TerminateOperationsInd |
| Partial Liquidation | 0 | PartialLiquidationInd |
| Disregarded Entity | 0 | DisregardedEntityInd |
| Related Entity | 0 | RelatedEntityInd |
| Related Organization Ctrl Ent | 0 | RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd |
| Activities Conducted Prtshp | 0 | ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd |
| Schedule O Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleORequiredInd |
| IRP Document | 30 | IRPDocumentCnt |
| IRP Document W2 G | 0 | IRPDocumentW2GCnt |
| Backup Wthld Compliance | Yes (1) | BackupWthldComplianceInd |
| Employee | 66 | EmployeeCnt |
| Employment Tax Returns Filed | Yes (1) | EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd |
| Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit | 0 | UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd |
| Foreign Financial Account | 0 | ForeignFinancialAccountInd |
| Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans | 0 | ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd |
| Taxable Party Notification | 0 | TaxablePartyNotificationInd |
| Nondeductible Contributions | 0 | NondeductibleContributionsInd |
| Quid Pro Quo Contributions | 0 | QuidProQuoContributionsInd |
| Form8282 Property Disposed Of | 0 | Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd |
| Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct | 0 | RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd |
| Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct | 0 | PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd |
| Members And Shr Gross Income | $73,048,908 | MembersAndShrGrossIncomeAmt |
| Other Sources Gross Income | $1,774,383 | OtherSourcesGrossIncomeAmt |
| Indoor Tanning Services | 0 | IndoorTanningServicesInd |
| Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt | 0 | SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd |
| Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc | 0 | SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd |
| Info In Schedule O Part VI | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd |
| Governing Body Voting Members | 6 | GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt |
| Independent Voting Member | 6 | IndependentVotingMemberCnt |
| Family Or Business Rln | 0 | FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd |
| Delegation Of Mgmt Duties | 0 | DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd |
| Change To Org Documents | 0 | ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd |
| Material Diversion Or Misuse | 0 | MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd |
| Members Or Stockholders | Yes (1) | MembersOrStockholdersInd |
| Election Of Board Members | Yes (1) | ElectionOfBoardMembersInd |
| Decisions Subject To Approva | Yes (1) | DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd |
| Minutes Of Governing Body | Yes (1) | MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd |
| Minutes Of Committees | Yes (1) | MinutesOfCommitteesInd |
| Officer Mailing Address | 0 | OfficerMailingAddressInd |
| Local Chapters | 0 | LocalChaptersInd |
| Form990 Provided To Gvrn Body | Yes (1) | Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd |
| Conflict Of Interest Policy | Yes (1) | ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd |
| Annual Disclosure Covered Prsn | Yes (1) | AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd |
| Regular Monitoring Enfrc | Yes (1) | RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd |
| Whistleblower Policy | Yes (1) | WhistleblowerPolicyInd |
| Document Retention Policy | Yes (1) | DocumentRetentionPolicyInd |
| Compensation Process CEO | Yes (1) | CompensationProcessCEOInd |
| Compensation Process Other | Yes (1) | CompensationProcessOtherInd |
| Investment In Joint Venture | 0 | InvestmentInJointVentureInd |
| Upon Request | Yes (X) | UponRequestInd |
Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail
Business Name BusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | ALYSSA KURTZ VP FINANCE | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Phone | 8592364561 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 1009 HUSTONVILLE ROAD | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | DANVILLE | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | KY | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 40422 | ZIPCd |
Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (12 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Average Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRt | Individual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorInd | OfficerOfficerInd | Reportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmt | Reportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmt | Other CompensationOtherCompensationAmt | Key EmployeeKeyEmployeeInd | Highest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| JOE SPALDING | ||||||||
| CHAIRMAN | 7.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $18,075 | $0 | $0 | ||
| JASON TODD | ||||||||
| VICE CHAIRMAN | 7.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $20,600 | $0 | $0 | ||
| JAMES KEVIN PRESTON | ||||||||
| SEC/TREAS | 6.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $21,650 | $0 | $0 | ||
| WILLIAM GOGGIN | ||||||||
| DIRECTOR | 3.00 | Yes (X) | $15,875 | $0 | $0 | |||
| WILLIAM PEYTON | ||||||||
| DIRECTOR | 3.00 | Yes (X) | $14,225 | $0 | $0 | |||
| LOUIS KERRICK | ||||||||
| DIRECTOR | 5.00 | Yes (X) | $15,850 | $0 | $0 | |||
| JERRY CARTER | ||||||||
| PRESIDENT/CEO | 50.00 | $205,262 | $0 | $60,137 | Yes (X) | |||
| DAVID PHELPS | ||||||||
| VP OPERATIONS | 48.00 | $150,980 | $0 | $44,203 | Yes (X) | |||
| LORI STOCKER | ||||||||
| VP, OFFICE SERVICES | 45.00 | $117,463 | $0 | $37,214 | Yes (X) | |||
| DAN HITCHCOCK | ||||||||
| VP, MEMBER SERVICES | 45.00 | $131,379 | $0 | $38,592 | Yes (X) | |||
| JESSIE TURPIN | ||||||||
| SYSTEM ENGINEER MANAGER | 40.00 | $127,037 | $0 | $32,297 | Yes (X) | |||
| ALYSSA KURTZ | ||||||||
| VP OF FINANCE & ADMIN | 45.00 | $116,014 | $0 | $23,324 | Yes (X) | |||
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Reportable Comp From Org | $954,410 | TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt |
| Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org | $0 | TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt |
| Total Other Compensation | $235,767 | TotalOtherCompensationAmt |
| Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 6 | IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
| Former Ofcr Employees Listed | 0 | FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd |
| Total Comp Greater Than150 K | Yes (1) | TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd |
| Compensation From Other Srcs | 0 | CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd |
Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)
| Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1Txt | CityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNm | State AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCd | ZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCd | ServicesServicesDesc | CompensationCompensationAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 5-STAR ELECTRIC LLC | |||||
| 12402 CALIBER DR SUITE 300 | OKLAHOMA CITY | OK | 73134 | CONSTRUCTION | $1,564,846 |
| WA KENDALL AND CO INC | |||||
| PO BOX 831 | LAWRENCEVILLE | GA | 30046 | CLEAR RIGHT OF WAY | $1,454,282 |
| ASPLUNDH | |||||
| 708 BLAIR BILL RD | WILLOW GROVE | PA | 19090 | RIGHT OF WAY | $954,461 |
| GIS LANDMARK | |||||
| 126 S MAIN STREET | MT VERNON | KY | 43050 | GIS FIELD COLLECTION | $289,182 |
| PROTEC TERRA | |||||
| 4861 KEATS GROVE LANE | LEXINGTON | KY | 40513 | RWAY CONTRACTOR | $121,768 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 5 | CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
| Government Grants | $57,661 | GovernmentGrantsAmt |
| Total Contributions | $57,661 | TotalContributionsAmt |
Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (2 entries)
| DescDesc | BusinessBusinessCd | Total Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmt | Related Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
|---|---|---|---|
| PROVIDE ELECTRIC SERVICE | 221000 | $72,360,588 | $72,360,588 |
| ELECTRIC MERCHANDISE | 221000 | $300 | $300 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Program Service Revenue | $72,360,888 | TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $141,199 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $141,199 | ExclusionAmt |
Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp (3 entries)
| DescDesc | BusinessBusinessCd | Total Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmt | Related Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt | ExclusionExclusionAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| G&T CAPITAL CREDITS | 221000 | $1,594,365 | $1,594,365 | |
| JOINT USE ATTACHMENTS | 221000 | $630,359 | $630,359 | |
| CAPITAL CREDITS ALLOCATED | 221000 | $202,618 | $202,618 |
Miscellaneous Revenue MiscellaneousRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | -$163,799 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | -$163,799 | ExclusionAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Revenue Total | $2,263,543 | OtherRevenueTotalAmt |
Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $74,823,291 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $74,157,871 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
| Unrelated Business Revenue | $0 | UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt |
| Exclusion | $607,759 | ExclusionAmt |
Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $6,000 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $6,000 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $4,782,590 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $4,782,590 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $311,537 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $311,537 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $5,097,536 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $5,097,536 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $938,849 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $938,849 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $994,675 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $994,675 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $390,438 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $390,438 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $56,133 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $56,133 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $18,625 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $18,625 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Advertising AdvertisingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $479 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $479 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $281,071 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $281,071 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Interest InterestGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,730,869 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $1,730,869 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $4,833,206 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $4,833,206 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Insurance InsuranceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $319,446 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $319,446 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)
| DescDesc | TotalTotalAmt | Program ServicesProgramServicesAmt |
|---|---|---|
| COST OF POWER | $51,585,310 | $51,585,310 |
| DISTRIBUTION - MAINTENA | $3,742,264 | $3,742,264 |
| DISTRIBUTION - OPERATIO | $3,309,244 | $3,309,244 |
| ADMINISTRATIVE AND GENE | $2,433,750 | $2,433,750 |
All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | -$6,008,731 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | -$6,008,731 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $74,823,291 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $74,823,291 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $0 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $0 | FundraisingAmt |
Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $7,308,877 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $3,108,631 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $5,655,246 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $7,207,046 | EOYAmt |
Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $737,135 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $991,971 | EOYAmt |
Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $303,812 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $334,525 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss | $148,956,129 | LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt |
| Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec | $50,048,345 | LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt |
Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $96,373,024 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $98,907,784 | EOYAmt |
Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EOY | $5,011,364 | EOYAmt |
Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $33,095,377 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $33,839,487 | EOYAmt |
Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $403,199 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $502,600 | EOYAmt |
Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $143,876,670 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $149,903,408 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $5,854,709 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $6,926,163 | EOYAmt |
Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $78,469,315 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $78,910,407 | EOYAmt |
Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $7,147,332 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $7,000,499 | EOYAmt |
Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $91,471,356 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $92,837,069 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Org Does Not Follow FASB117 | Yes (X) | OrgDoesNotFollowFASB117Ind |
Cap Stk Tr Prin Current Funds CapStkTrPrinCurrentFundsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $1,105,395 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $1,121,735 | EOYAmt |
Pd In Cap Srpls Land Bldg Eqp Fund PdInCapSrplsLandBldgEqpFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | -$974,854 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | -$916,138 | EOYAmt |
Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $52,274,773 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $56,860,742 | EOYAmt |
Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $52,405,314 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $57,066,339 | EOYAmt |
Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $143,876,670 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $149,903,408 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Info In Schedule O Part XI | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd |
| Reconcilation Revenue Expnss | $0 | ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt |
| Other Changes In Net Assets | $4,661,025 | OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt |
| Info In Schedule O Part XII | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd |
| Method Of Accounting Accrual | Yes (X) | MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd |
| Accountant Compile Or Review | 0 | AccountantCompileOrReviewInd |
| FS Audited | Yes (1) | FSAuditedInd |
FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Separate Basis Fincl Stmt | Yes (X) | SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Audit Committee | Yes (1) | AuditCommitteeInd |
| Federal Grant Audit Required | 0 | FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd |
Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB
Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Contributor | RESTRICTED | ContributorNum |
Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | RESTRICTED | BusinessNameLine1 |
Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | RESTRICTED | AddressLine1 |
| Address Line2 | RESTRICTED | AddressLine2 |
| City | RESTRICTED | City |
| State | RESTRICTED | State |
| ZIP Code | RESTRICTED | ZIPCode |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Contributions | RESTRICTED | TotalContributionsAmt |
Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD
Buildings BuildingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $148,306,769 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $50,048,345 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $98,258,424 | BookValueAmt |
Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $649,360 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Book Value | $649,360 | BookValueAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Book Value Land Buildings | $98,907,784 | TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt |
Invst Program Related Org InvstProgramRelatedOrgGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Desc | PROGRAM RELATED INVESTMENTS | Desc |
| Book Value | $33,839,487 | BookValueAmt |
| Method Valuation | F | MethodValuationCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Book Value Program Rltd | $33,839,487 | TotalBookValueProgramRltdAmt |
Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (3 entries)
| DescDesc | AmtAmt |
|---|---|
| ACCUMULATED POSTRETIREMENT BENEFITS | $5,070,888 |
| CUSTOMER DEPOSITS | $801,933 |
| OTHER CURRENT AND ACCRUED LIABILITIES | $1,127,678 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Liability | $7,000,499 | TotalLiabilityAmt |
| Footnote Text | Yes (X) | FootnoteTextInd |
| Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $74,823,291 | TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported | $0 | RevenueNotReportedAmt |
| Revenue Subtotal | $74,823,291 | RevenueSubtotalAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt | $0 | RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Revenue Per Form990 | $74,823,291 | TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt |
| Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $74,823,291 | TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Expenses Not Reported | $0 | ExpensesNotReportedAmt |
| Expenses Subtotal | $74,823,291 | ExpensesSubtotalAmt |
| Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt | $0 | ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Expenses Per Form990 | $74,823,291 | TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form And Line Reference | PART X, LINE 2: | FormAndLineReferenceDesc |
| Explanation | INTER-COUNTY'S ACCOUNTING POLICY PROVIDES THAT A TAX EXPENSE/BENEFIT FROM AN UNCERTAIN TAX POSITION MAY BE RECOGNIZED WHEN IT IS MORE LIKELY THAN NOT THAT THE POSITION WILL BE SUSTAINED UPON EXAMINATION, INCLUDING RESOLUTIONS OF ANY RELATED APPEALS OR LITIGATION PROCESSES, BASED ON THE TECHNICAL MERITS. MANAGEMENT BELIEVES INTER-COUNTY HAS NO UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS RESULTING IN AN ACCRUAL OF TAX EXPENSE OR BENEFIT. | ExplanationTxt |
Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Grant Records Maintained | 0 | GrantRecordsMaintainedInd |
Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Grant Type | SCHOLARSHIPS TO KENTUCKY COLLEGES | GrantTypeTxt |
| Recipient | 6 | RecipientCnt |
| Cash Grant | $6,000 | CashGrantAmt |
| Valuation Method Used | CASH | ValuationMethodUsedDesc |
Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Compensation Survey | Yes (X) | CompensationSurveyInd |
| Board Or Committee Approval | Yes (X) | BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd |
| Severance Payment | 0 | SeverancePaymentInd |
| Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan | 0 | SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd |
| Equity Based Comp Arrngm | 0 | EquityBasedCompArrngmInd |
Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (5 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Base Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Compensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmt | Bonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmount | Bonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmt | Other Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Other Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmt | Deferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmt | Deferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmt | Nontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmt | Nontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmt | Total Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Total Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmt | Comp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmt | Comp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| JERRY CARTER | ||||||||||||||
| PRESIDENT/CEO | $205,262 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $60,137 | $0 | $265,399 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| DAVID PHELPS | ||||||||||||||
| VP OPERATIONS | $150,980 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $44,203 | $0 | $195,183 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| DAN HITCHCOCK | ||||||||||||||
| VP, MEMBER SERVICES | $131,379 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $38,592 | $0 | $169,971 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| JESSIE TURPIN | ||||||||||||||
| SYSTEM ENGINEER MANAGER | $127,037 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $32,297 | $0 | $159,334 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| LORI STOCKER | ||||||||||||||
| VP, OFFICE SERVICES | $117,463 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $37,214 | $0 | $154,677 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (10 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 6 | LINE 6 EXPLANATION - MUST BE A MEMBER TO RECEIVE ELECTRIC SERVICE. EACH MEMBER HAS 1 VOTE. MAY HAVE MORE THAN 1 SERVICE PER MEMBERSHIP. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7A | LINE 7A EXPLANATION - THE "CREDENTIALS AND ELECTIONS COMMITTEE" MEETS EVERY YEAR THERE IS AN ELECTION TO VERIFY QUALIFICATIONS AND CERTIFY CANDIDATES FOR ELECTION TO THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS. ALL BOARD CANDIDATES, INCLUDING INCUMBENTS, MUST OBTAIN A PETITION SIGNED BY 25 OR MORE ELIGIBLE MEMBERS AND PRESENT THOSE TO THE "CREDENTIALS AND ELECTIONS COMMITTEE". DIRECTORS ARE ELECTED AT THE ANNUAL MEETING OF MEMBERS. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7B | LINE 7B EXPLANATION - ARTICLES OF INCORPORATION CAN ONLY BE CHANGED BY A MAJORITY VOTE AT A MEETING OF MEMBERS AT WHICH A QUORUM IS PRESENT. BYLAWS MAY BE ALTERED, AMENDED, OR REPEALED AT ANY REGULAR OR SPECIAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS WITH A MAJORITY VOTE. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11B | LINE 11B EXPLANATION - DIRECTORS ARE FURNISHED A DRAFT COPY THE FORM 990 PRIOR TO FILING FOR REVIEW AND CHANGES AS NEEDED. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12C | DIRECTORS AND KEY EMPLOYEES ANNUALLY COMPLETE QUESTIONNAIRE ON FAMILY AND BUSINESS RELATIONSHIPS. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15 | 15A. BOARD ANNUALLY EVALUATES THE PERFORMANCE OF THE PRES/CEO AND SETS COMPENSATION USING DATA SUPPLIED BY STATE AND NATIONAL ORGANIZATION SURVEYS OF ELECTRIC COOPERATIVES. 15B. OUTSIDE CONSULTANT PROVIDES MARKET RESEARCH DATA ON EACH POSITION BASED UPON JOB DESCRIPTIONS. USUALLY, AN AVERAGE IS TAKEN FOR AT LEAST 2-3 RESULTS. THE MARKET VALUE BECOMES THE "TARGET" FOR EACH POSITION. WHETHER AN EMPLOYEE RECEIVES A MARKET ADJUSTMENT DEPENDS UPON THEIR PERFORMANCE APPRAISAL RESULTS. THE BOARD REVIEWS AND APPROVES THE STUDY. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19 | THE MOST CURRENT VERSION OF THE ARTICLES OF INCORPORATION AND BYLAWS ARE AVAILABLE TO THE PUBLIC ON THE COOPERATIVE'S WEBSITE AND ARE ALSO AVAILABLE IN PRINTED FORM UPON REQUEST. THE ARTICLES OF INCORPORATION AND BYLAWS ARE PUBLISHED ANNUALLY IN THE KENTUCKY LIVING MAGAZINE DISTRIBUTED TO EACH MEMBER. FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE AVAILABLE ON THE KENTUCKY PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION'S WEBSITE, AND ARE PUBLISHED ANNUALLY IN THE KENTUCKY LIVING MAGAZINE AND DISTRIBUTED TO EACH MEMBER. A COPY OF THE FORM 990 IS DISPLAYED IN THE LOBBY OF EACH OFFICE. IN ADDITION, ANYONE MAY REQUEST A COPY OF THE FILING. |
| FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9: | ACCUMULATED COMPREHENSIVE INCOME INCREASE IN MEMBERSHIPS MARGINS ALLOCATED TO MEMBERS 4,782,590. REFUNDS OF CAPITAL CREDITS -197,755. OTHER EQUITIES 76,190. |
| 990, PT XII, LINE 2C | THE ORGANIZATION HAS NOT CHANGED ITS OVERSIGHT PROCESS DURING THE PREVIOUS TAX YEAR. |
| FORM 990, PART IX, LINE 4 | - BENEFITS PAID TO OR FOR MEMBERS REPRESENTS PATRONAGE CAPITAL ALLOCATED TO MEMBERS IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE BYLAWS OF THE COOPERATIVE. THIS REPORTING RESULTS IN A DIFFERENCE BETWEEN BOOK INCOME AND INCOME REPORTED ON THE FORM 990 BY THE SAME AMOUNT. |