STRATEGY STUDIO / NONPROFIT PEOPLE SEARCH

SAFE CREDIT UNION: Form 990, tax year 2022

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
SAFE CREDIT UNION (EIN 94-1179501)
Tax period
2022-01-01 to 2022-12-31
Filed
2023-05-11
IRS object ID
202321319349307557
Schema version
2022v5.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2023-05-11T23:04:01+00:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2022-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN350921680PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1CROWE LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1575 Market Street Suite 3300AddressLine1Txt
CitySan FranciscoCityNm
State AbbreviationCAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP941055829ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2022-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN941179501EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Safe Credit UnionBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlSAFEBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone9169797233PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line12295 Iron Point Rd Suite 100AddressLine1Txt
CityFolsomCityNm
State AbbreviationCAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP956308765ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonAlexis FitzpatrickPersonNm
Person TitleEVP/CFOPersonTitleTxt
Signature2023-05-11SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (true)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Signing Officer SigningOfficerGrp

Person Full Name PersonFullName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Person FirstAlexisPersonFirstNm
Person LastFitzpatrickPersonLastNm
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SSN999009999SSN

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonDiane KirmaciPreparerPersonNm
PTINP01578407PTIN
Phone4155761100PhoneNum
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2022TaxYr
Build TS2023-04-26 12:10:37ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

Principal Ofcr Business Name PrincipalOfcrBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Faye NabhaniBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line12295 Iron Point Rd Suite 100AddressLine1Txt
CityFolsomCityNm
State AbbreviationCAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP956308765ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$183,102,902GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For AffiliatesfalseGroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501cYes (X)Organization501cInd
Website Addresswww.safecu.orgWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1940FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateCALegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionSAFE Credit Union's mission is to help members improve their financial well-being, provide excellent service, and ensure a financially sound credit union.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body10VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent10VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee955TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers16TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$1,194,515TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
CY Contributions Grants$0CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$150,301,150PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$156,257,340CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$7,697,792PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$19,849,896CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$4,137,728PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$6,995,666CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$162,136,670PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$183,102,902CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$396,890PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$494,708CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$12,583,597PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$10,824,672CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$73,808,684PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$77,120,529CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$41,211,294PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$61,389,255CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$128,000,465PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$149,829,164CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$34,136,205PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$33,273,738CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$4,443,372,826TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$4,508,747,092TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$4,089,764,165TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$4,219,469,562TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$353,608,661NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$289,277,530NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionSAFE Credit Union's mission is to help members improve their financial well-being, provide excellent service, and ensure a financially sound credit union.MissionDesc
Significant New Program SrvcfalseSignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant ChangefalseSignificantChangeInd
DescSAFE HAS SERVED THE SACRAMENTO AREA SINCE 1940, AND NOW HAS MEMBERSHIP SPANNING 13 COUNTIES IN NORTHERN CALIFORNIA. SAFE HAS 20 BRANCHES IN THREE OF THESE COUNTIES: SACRAMENTO, PLACER AND YOLO. SAFE SERVES APPROXIMATELY 234,495 MEMBERS. SAFE OFFERS DEPOSITORY, LENDING AND OTHER FINANCIAL PRODUCTS AND SERVICES TO HELP ITS MEMBERS IMPROVE THEIR FINANCIAL WELL-BEING. AS A NOT FOR PROFIT, SAFE IS ABLE TO DELIVER BENEFITS TO ITS MEMBERSHIP THROUGH LOWER LOAN RATES AND HIGHER DEPOSIT RATES. IN ADDITION, SAFE MEMBERS ENJOY THE FOLLOWING BENEFITS: ACCESS TO OVER 30,000 ATMS NATIONWIDE, ACCESS TO 5,600 SHARED BRANCH LOCATIONS NATIONWIDE, ABILITY TO PERFORM POINT-OF-SALE (POS) TRANSACTIONS, FREE ONLINE BANKING AND BILL PAY, FINANCIAL MANAGEMENT TOOLS AND EARLY PAYDAY WITH DIRECT DEPOSIT.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescSAFE OFFERS A VARIETY OF DEPOSIT PRODUCTS INCLUDING SAVINGS, CHECKING, MONEY MARKET, CERTIFICATE, RETIREMENT, BUSINESS, AND YOUTH ACCOUNTS. DEPOSITS ARE FEDERALLY INSURED TO AT LEAST $250,000 AND BACKED BY THE FULL FAITH AND CREDIT OF THE UNITED STATES GOVERNMENT. SAFE'S DEPOSIT RATES ARE EVERY COMPETITIVE WITH THE MARKET AND ARE TYPICALLY HIGHER THAN BANKS. SAFE FEATURES BOTH LOW AND NO-COST CHECKING PRODUCTS AS WELL AS THOSE WITH HIGHER DIVIDEND RATES. MEMBERS CAN TRANSFER FUNDS FROM ONE DEPOSIT PRODUCT OR ACCOUNT TO ANOTHER QUICKLY AND SEAMLESSLY THROUGH OUR ONLINE, MOBILE, AND TELEPHONE BANKING SYSTEMS.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty3 ProgSrvcAccomActy3Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescSAFE OFFERS A VARIETY OF LOW-RATE PRODUCTS TO HELP MEMBERS WITH THEIR FINANCING NEEDS. AVAILABLE LOAN PRODUCTS INCLUDE AUTO LOANS, REAL ESTATE MORTGAGE LOANS, HOME EQUITY LINES OF CREDIT, HOME IMPROVEMENT LOANS, VISA CREDIT CARDS, SMALL BUSINESS LOANS, AND OTHER SECURED AND UNSECURED LOANS.Desc
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Expenses$0TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3falseDescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredfalseScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign ActyYes (true)PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Donor Advised FundfalseDonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation EasementsfalseConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of ArtfalseCollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingYes (true)CreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi EndowmentsfalseDonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (true)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecYes (true)ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstfalseReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsfalseReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (true)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (true)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (true)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtfalseConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingfalseSchoolOperatingInd
Foreign OfficefalseForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesfalseForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To OrgfalseMoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To IndividualsfalseMoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional FundraisingfalseProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising ActivitiesfalseFundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming ActivitiesfalseGamingActivitiesInd
Operate HospitalfalseOperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsYes (true)GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsYes (true)GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (true)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsfalseTaxExemptBondsInd
Loan OutstandingYes (true)LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related PersonfalseGrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org MemfalseBusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemfalseBusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl EntfalseBusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContrifalseDeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art ContributionfalseDeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate OperationsfalseTerminateOperationsInd
Partial LiquidationfalsePartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityfalseDisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityfalseRelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntfalseRelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Activities Conducted PrtshpfalseActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (true)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document128015IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (true)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee955EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (true)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (true)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (true)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial AccountfalseForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter TransfalseProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party NotificationfalseTaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible ContributionsfalseNondeductibleContributionsInd
Indoor Tanning ServicesfalseIndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht PymtYes (true)SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst IncfalseSubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members10GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member10IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business RlnfalseFamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt DutiesfalseDelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org DocumentsfalseChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or MisusefalseMaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (true)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (true)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (true)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (true)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesfalseMinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing AddressfalseOfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersYes (true)LocalChaptersInd
Policies Reference ChaptersYes (true)PoliciesReferenceChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (true)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (true)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (true)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (true)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (true)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (true)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (true)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (true)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint VenturefalseInvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldCAStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Alexis FitzpatrickBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone9169797233PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line12295 Iron Point Rd Suite 100AddressLine1Txt
CityFolsomCityNm
State AbbreviationCAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP95630ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (22 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtKey EmployeeKeyEmployeeIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
Jody Porter
2nd Vice Chairperson3.0Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Rick Blumenfeld
Treasurer5.0Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Robert Logue
1st Vice Chairperson8.0Yes (X)Yes (X)$1,678$0$0
Sonia Lewis
Secretary8.0Yes (X)Yes (X)$1,639$0$0
Terrrance Tremelling
Chairperson10.0Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Bernadette Austin
Director6.0Yes (X)$1,147$0$0
Brian Bedford
Director (until 8/15/22)2.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Donald Ball
Director4.0Yes (X)$3,906$0$0
Ronald Seaman
Director5.0Yes (X)$2,959$0$0
Ryan Larkin
Director4.0Yes (X)$1,378$0$0
Trish Rodriguez
Director2.0Yes (X)$909$0$0
Chris Harris
EVP/CFO40.0Yes (X)$439,600$0$26,131
David Roughton
CEO40.0Yes (X)$1,176,986$0$41,084
Faye Nabhani
President40.0Yes (X)$666,860$0$38,386
Colleen Nerius
EVP/CHRO40.0$446,808$0$36,030Yes (X)
Michael McCarthy
SVP/CIO40.0$429,262$0$42,812Yes (X)
Tiffani Vargas
EVP/CLO40.0$348,896$0$41,739Yes (X)
Brandi Schaefer
Sr Mortgage Officer40.0$1,925,742$0$26,016Yes (X)
Damian Azimi
Sr Mortgage Officer40.0$592,960$0$42,880Yes (X)
Diane Hicks
Sr Mortgage Officer40.0$855,489$0$18,871Yes (X)
Ryan Smith
Sr Mortgage Officer40.0$533,687$0$44,258Yes (X)
William G Erb
Mortgage Sales Team Lead40.0$979,083$0$45,951Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$8,408,989TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$404,158TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K171IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees ListedfalseFormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (true)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other SrcsfalseCompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
NCR CORPORATION
864 SPRING STREET NWATLANTAGA303081007ATM Online Banking Services$3,043,324
CITY OF SACRAMENTO
PO Box 2770SACRAMENTOCA958122770Naming Rights Convention Ctr Signage$2,557,147
UNCOMMON ADVERTISING
1331 21ST STREETSACRAMENTOCA95811Public Relations/Marketing$1,759,021
FISERV INC
PO BOX 208457DALLASTX753208457Core system software provider$1,646,062
INFOIMAGE
175 SOUTH HILL DRIVEBRISBANECA94005Printing and Imaging Services$1,468,355
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K71CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Total Contributions$0TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (5 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmtUnrelated Business RevenueUnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmtExclusionExclusionAmt
Interest on loans to members522100$96,449,405$96,449,405$0$0
ATM and debit card fees522100$28,132,894$27,746,692$386,202$0
Account service fees522100$16,547,552$16,547,552$0$0
Loan fees522100$8,206,785$8,206,785$0$0
Net gain on sale of loans522100$947,050$947,050$0$0

Total Oth Program Service Rev TotalOthProgramServiceRevGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$5,973,654TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$5,917,295RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$56,359UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$156,257,340TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$19,849,896TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$0RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$19,849,896ExclusionAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$398,032RealAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$398,032RealAmt
Personal$0PersonalAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$398,032TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$0RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$398,032ExclusionAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$0SecuritiesAmt
Other$0OtherAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmtUnrelated Business RevenueUnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmtExclusionExclusionAmt
Other non-interest income522100$5,845,680$4,047,043$0$1,798,637
Shared branch fees522100$751,954$0$751,954$0
$0$0$0$0

Miscellaneous Revenue MiscellaneousRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$0RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$6,597,634OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$183,102,902TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$159,861,822RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$1,194,515UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$22,046,565ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$482,708TotalAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$12,000TotalAmt

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$10,824,672TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,751,283TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$55,414,852TotalAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,257,637TotalAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$8,661,062TotalAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$5,035,695TotalAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,138,311TotalAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$369,423TotalAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,629,764TotalAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,849,711TotalAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$6,239,883TotalAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$15,655,216TotalAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$5,391,105TotalAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$367,651TotalAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$514,964TotalAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,476,443TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,144,856TotalAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$270,378TotalAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmt
Provision for Loan Losses$9,269,663
Loan Servicing Expense$5,840,499
Fraud and Card Losses$908,031
DFPI Assessment$427,513

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$895,844TotalAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$149,829,164TotalAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$13,214,956BOYAmt
EOY$20,457,390EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$547,126,402BOYAmt
EOY$182,345,670EOYAmt

Receivables From Officers Etc ReceivablesFromOfficersEtcGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,336,268BOYAmt
EOY$2,379,700EOYAmt

Rcvbl From Disqualified Prsn RcvblFromDisqualifiedPrsnGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,452,115,216BOYAmt
EOY$3,109,768,829EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$110,187,543LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$54,373,082LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$55,226,063BOYAmt
EOY$55,814,461EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,192,190,619BOYAmt
EOY$927,017,676EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt

Intangible Assets IntangibleAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$13,545,540BOYAmt
EOY$13,416,456EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$167,617,762BOYAmt
EOY$197,546,910EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,443,372,826BOYAmt
EOY$4,508,747,092EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$42,206,384BOYAmt
EOY$54,442,020EOYAmt

Escrow Account Liability EscrowAccountLiabilityGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,092,000BOYAmt
EOY$3,733,046EOYAmt

Loans From Officers Directors LoansFromOfficersDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$200,000,000EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,043,465,781BOYAmt
EOY$3,961,294,496EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,089,764,165BOYAmt
EOY$4,219,469,562EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Org Does Not Follow FASB117Yes (X)OrgDoesNotFollowFASB117Ind

Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$353,608,661BOYAmt
EOY$289,277,530EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$353,608,661BOYAmt
EOY$289,277,530EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,443,372,826BOYAmt
EOY$4,508,747,092EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$33,273,738ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst-$97,604,869NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$0OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or ReviewfalseAccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (true)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (true)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredfalseFederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule C IRS990ScheduleC

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Political Expenditures$79,368PoliticalExpendituresAmt
Volunteer Hours0VolunteerHoursCnt
Expended527 Activities$79,368Expended527ActivitiesAmt
Internal Funds Contributed$0InternalFundsContributedAmt
Total Exempt Function Expend$79,368TotalExemptFunctionExpendAmt
Form1120 POL FiledYes (true)Form1120POLFiledInd

Section527 Political Org Section527PoliticalOrgGrp

Organization Business Name OrganizationBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1The Sacramento Metropolitan Chamber PACBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11017 L St 557AddressLine1Txt
CitySacramentoCityNm
State AbbreviationCAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP95814ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN912066212EIN
Paid Internal Funds$20,000PaidInternalFundsAmt
Contributions Rcvd Dlvr$0ContributionsRcvdDlvrAmt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSchedule C, Part I-A, Line 1 Description of Political ActivitiesFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationSAFE IS A COMMUNITY-BASED CREDIT UNION THAT HAS SIGNIFICANT INTERFACE WITH THE LOCAL, STATE, AND FEDERAL GOVERNMENT OFFICIALS AND ENTITIES. SAFE PARTICIPATES IN THE POLITICAL PROCESS IN ORDER TO HAVE AN OPPORTUNITY TO PROVIDE INPUT ON LEGISLATION THAT AFFECTS CREDIT UNIONS.ExplanationTxt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Agent Trustee EtcYes (true)AgentTrusteeEtcInd
Beginning Balance$766,063,822BeginningBalanceAmt
Additions During Year$54,758,711AdditionsDuringYearAmt
Distributions During Year$99,939,654DistributionsDuringYearAmt
Ending Balance$720,882,879EndingBalanceAmt
Incl Escrow Custodial Acct LiabYes (true)InclEscrowCustodialAcctLiabInd
Explanation ProvidedYes (X)ExplanationProvidedInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$10,022,969OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$10,022,969BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$48,513,513OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$17,487,434DepreciationAmt
Book Value$31,026,079BookValueAmt

Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$4,139,800OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$2,474,034DepreciationAmt
Book Value$1,665,766BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$47,511,261OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$34,411,614DepreciationAmt
Book Value$13,099,647BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$55,814,461TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Securities OtherSecuritiesGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmtMethod ValuationMethodValuationCd
Available for Sale Securities$911,960,704F
Other Investments$15,056,972F
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Securities$927,017,676TotalBookValueSecuritiesAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (6 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
Member share accounts
Public unit shares
Member share accounts
Public unit shares
Member share accounts$3,881,218,720
Public unit shares$80,075,776
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$3,961,294,496TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$85,498,033TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst-$97,604,869NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Other Revenue$0OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported-$97,604,869RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$183,102,902RevenueSubtotalAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$0OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$0RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$183,102,902TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$149,829,164TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Expenses Included$0OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$149,829,164ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Other Expenses Not Included$0OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$0ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$149,829,164TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (3 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Schedule D, Part IV, Line 1b Agent, trustee, custodian, or other intermediary arrangementThe credit union serves as custodian for assets which are not included on the balance sheet.
Schedule D, Part IV, Line 2b Explanation of escrow agreementThe credit union holds funds in escrow to pay real estate taxes and insurance on behalf of its mortgage loan members.
Schedule D, Part X, Line 2 FIN 48 (ASC 740) footnoteThe Credit Union is exempt, by statute, from federal income taxes. The Credit Union is a state-chartered credit union described in Internal Revenue Code (IRC) Section 501(c)(14). As such, the Credit Union is exempt from federal taxation of income derived from the performance of activities that are in furtherance of its exempt purposes. However, the Credit Union is subject to unrelated business income tax. FASB Codification Topic 740, Income Taxes, provides guidance for how uncertain tax positions should be recognized, measured, disclosed and presented in the financial statements. This requires the evaluation of tax positions taken or expected to be taken in the course of preparing the Credit Union's tax returns to determine whether the tax positions are more likely than not to be sustained "when challenged or "when examined" by the applicable tax authority. Tax positions not deemed to meet the more-likely-than-not threshold would be recorded as a tax expense and liability in the current year. For the years ended December 31, 2022 and 2021, management has determined that there are no material uncertain tax positions.

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (true)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Recipient Table RecipientTable (24 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdRecipient EINRecipientEINIRC SectionIRCSectionDescCash GrantCashGrantAmtPurpose Of GrantPurposeOfGrantTxt
Aerospace Museum of California
3200 Freedom Park DrMcClellanCA95662942831253501(c)(3)$25,000Sponsorship and support of community-related programs and fundraisers
California Capital Airshow
10425 Norden AveMatherCA95655743212900501(c)(3)$7,500STEM Expo Sponsorship
Children's Miracle Network
10325 Meanley DriveSan DiegoCA92131870387205501(c)(3)$16,600Support of Children's Miracle Network via SacTown Run
Cyber Proud Inc
1900 Point West Way 104SacramentoCA95815852461355501(c)(3)$18,650Grant for Q1 funding cycle. Dollars allocated to programs supporting veterans and workforce development initiatives
Downtown Sacramento Partnership
980 9TH Street STE 200SacramentoCA95814680270320501(c)(6)$7,000State of Downtown Sponsorship
The First Tee of Greater Sacramento
3649 Fulton AveSacramentoCA95821680023502501(c)(3)$10,000Support for program which teaches children the principles/values of life through golf
Folsom Economic Development Corp
200 Wool StreetFolsomCA95630680377492501(c)(3)$10,000Support for the economic development within the City of Folsom
Hope Healthy Outcomes
2540 Douglas BlvdRosevilleCA95661262379385501(c)(3)$20,0002nd Quarter Grant-Mental Health
Junior Achievement
PO Box 255602SacramentoCA95865946080866501(c)(3)$20,0002021 Q3 Grant
Keaton's Child Cancer Alliance
2260 Douglas BlvdRosevilleCA95661680406980501(c)(3)$6,4502021 Q2 Grant Recipient
National Credit Union Foundation Inc
5710 Mineral Point RdMadisonWI53705391383650501(c)(3)$10,000Support of the National Credit Union Foundation
Project Attain
3400 3rd AveSacramentoCA95817680287387501(c)(3)$25,000Support of Project Attain
Sacramento County Office of Education
PO Box 269003SacramentoCA95826946002536Government$10,000Support of local high school scholarships
Sacramento Food Bank and Family Services
3333 Third AveSacramentoCA95817943315566501(c)(3)$21,800No Student left Hungry Q3 2022 Grant and Joy and Kindness campaign
Sacramento Neighborhood Housing Services
2411 Alhambra Suite 200SacramentoCA95817680118032501(c)(3)$20,000Support of Neighborhood Works
Serotonin Surge Charities
824 Falcon AveDavisCA95616680411254501(c)(3)$10,000Lighting the Way
Shriner's Hospital
2425 Stockton BlvdSacramentoCA95817362193608501(c)(3)$10,300Big Day of Giving and Community event support
Saint John's Program for Real Change
2443 Fair Oaks Blvd 369SacramentoCA95825680132934501(c)(3)$11,9002021 Q2 Grant Recipient
Stanford Youth
8912 Volunteer LaneSacramentoCA95826680065690501(c)(3)$10,0002nd Quarter Grant-Mental Health
Nonprofit Resource CenterImpact Foundry
2030 W El Camino Ave Suite 210SacramentoCA95833680173440501(c)(3)$10,0002022 Corporate Sponsorship
UC Davis Medical School
4900 Broadway Ste 115SacramentoCA95820946036494501(c)(3)$21,200Sponsorship of UC Davis medical student scholarships, mini-medical school, and palliative care fellowship
Sacramento Veterans Employer Resources Group Inc (VERG)
4801 Laguna Blvd Suite 105-116SacramentoCA95758853340395501(c)(3)$10,0002022 Big Day of Giving
Volunteers of America N CA and N Nevada
3434 Marconi AveSacramentoCA95821946001984501(c)(3)$10,000Q1 grant funding for programs supporting veterans with workforce development programs.
Sacramento State Alumni Assoc
6000 J StSacramentoCA95819943001359501(c)(3)$22,0002021 Q3 Grant
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total501c3 Org23Total501c3OrgCnt
Total Other Org1TotalOtherOrgCnt

Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant TypeSTUDENT SCHOLARSHIPSGrantTypeTxt
Recipient12RecipientCnt
Cash Grant$12,000CashGrantAmt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSchedule I, Part I, Line 2 Procedures for monitoring use of grant funds.FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationCommunity donations and contributions are reviewed and approved by SAFE's executive management prior to disbursement. All donations and contributions are reported to SAFE's board of directors on a monthly basis for their review.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Travel For CompanionsYes (X)TravelForCompanionsInd
Club Dues Or FeesYes (X)ClubDuesOrFeesInd
Written Policy Ref T And E ExpnssYes (true)WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd
Substantiation RequiredYes (true)SubstantiationRequiredInd
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Form990 Of Other OrganizationsYes (X)Form990OfOtherOrganizationsInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance PaymentfalseSeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanYes (true)SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp ArrngmfalseEquityBasedCompArrngmInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (11 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
David Roughton
CEO$908,102$0$251,401$0$17,483$0$24,560$0$16,524$0$1,218,070$0$0$0
Faye Nabhani
President$454,110$0$107,506$0$105,244$0$23,800$0$14,586$0$705,246$0$0$0
Chris Harris
EVP/CFO$364,892$0$72,797$0$1,911$0$24,084$0$2,047$0$465,731$0$0$0
Colleen Nerius
EVP/CHRO$301,331$0$59,704$0$85,773$0$24,258$0$11,772$0$482,838$0$0$0
Michael McCarthy
SVP/CIO$289,309$0$58,641$0$81,312$0$23,653$0$19,159$0$472,074$0$0$0
Tiffani Vargas
EVP/CLO$286,241$0$61,004$0$1,651$0$23,701$0$18,038$0$390,635$0$0$0
Brandi Schaefer
Sr Mortgage Officer$1,923,746$0$750$0$1,246$0$23,200$0$2,816$0$1,951,758$0$0$0
William G Erb
Mortgage Sales Team Lead$918,918$0$58,203$0$1,962$0$24,009$0$21,942$0$1,025,034$0$0$0
Diane Hicks
Sr Mortgage Officer$851,167$0$750$0$3,572$0$17,349$0$1,522$0$874,360$0$0$0
Damian Azimi
Sr Mortgage Officer$590,535$0$1,767$0$658$0$23,800$0$19,080$0$635,840$0$0$0
Ryan Smith
Sr Mortgage Officer$528,585$0$1,530$0$3,572$0$21,984$0$22,274$0$577,945$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (4 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Schedule J, Part I, Line 1a Travel for companionsBenefits to interested persons includes travel-related expenses for the spouses of the Board Directors or Senior Management who are attending credit union and financial services industry conferences or events. The following individuals received this benefit and were issued a 1099-NEC or W-2: 1. Robert Logue 2. Bernadette Austin 3. Jeff Jefferson 4. Ronald Seaman 5. James Hopp 6. Donald Ball 7. Ryan Larkin 8. Sonia Lewis 9. Trish Rodriguez 10. David Roughton
Schedule J, Part I, Line 1a Health or social club dues or initiation feesSAFE pays the membership dues to a local country club for its CEO for business development. This amount was not treated as taxable income.
Schedule J, Part I, Line 4b Supplemental nonqualified retirement plan1. The credit union's CEO, David Roughton, has a SERP in which the credit union pays a retirement benefit to the executive if certain requirements are met. The retirement benefit is treated as annual compensation, which is subject to income tax and is included in Other Reportable Compensation in Schedule J, Part II. The original terms of the SERP agreement were met at the end of 2021. No annual amounts were paid in 2022. 2. The credit union's EVP/CFO, Chris Harris, has a SERP in which the credit union pays a retirement benefit to the executive if certain requirements are met. The retirement benefit is treated as annual compensation, which is subject to income tax and is included in Other Reportable Compensation in Schedule J, Part II. The original terms of the SERP agreement were met at the end of 2021. No annual amounts were paid in 2022. 3. The credit union's President, Faye Nabhani, has a SERP in which the credit union pays a retirement benefit to the executive if certain requirements are met. The retirement benefit is treated as annual compensation, which is subject to income tax and is included in Other Reportable Compensation in Schedule J, Part II. The annual amount paid in 2022 is $103,333. 4. The credit union's EVP/CHRO, Colleen Nerius, has a SERP in which the credit union pays a retirement benefit to the executive if certain requirements are met. The retirement benefit is treated as annual compensation, which is subject to income tax and is included in Other Reportable Compensation in Schedule J, Part II. The annual amount paid in 2022 is $85,000. 5. The credit union's SVP/CIO, Michael McCarthy, has a SERP in which the credit union pays a retirement benefit to the executive if certain requirements are met. The retirement benefit is treated as annual compensation, which is subject to income tax and is included in Other Reportable Compensation in Schedule J, Part II. The annual amount paid in 2022 is $80,630.
Schedule J, Part I, Line 1b POLICY ON REIMBURSEMENTTHE BUSINESS PURPOSE OF THIS MEMBERSHIP IS TO FACILITATE EVENTS FOR THE CREDIT UNION'S CEO AND BUSINESS ASSOCIATES. MEMBERSHIP DUES ARE INVOICED DIRECTLY TO SAFE ON A MONTHLY BASIS AND APPROVED IN ACCORDANCE WITH COMPANY EXPENSE POLICIES. EXPENSES FOR TRAVEL COMPANIONS OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS ARE SUBJECT TO THE SAME EXPENSE REIMBURSEMENT POLICY AS IS THE BOARD AND ORGANIZATION'S EMPLOYEES.

Schedule L IRS990ScheduleL

Loans Btwn Org Interested Prsn LoansBtwnOrgInterestedPrsnGrp (19 entries)

Relationship With OrgRelationshipWithOrgTxtLoan PurposeLoanPurposeTxtLoan From OrganizationLoanFromOrganizationIndOriginal PrincipalOriginalPrincipalAmtBalance DueBalanceDueAmtDefaultDefaultIndBoard Or Committee ApprovalBoardOrCommitteeApprovalIndWritten AgreementWrittenAgreementInd
DirectorUnsecured Credit Card LoanYes (X)$719$719falsefalseYes (true)
DirectorReal EstateYes (X)$625,000$238,012falsefalseYes (true)
DirectorNew VehicleYes (X)$40,283$11,615falsefalseYes (true)
DirectorUnsecured Credit Card LoanYes (X)$3,556$3,556falsefalseYes (true)
DirectorUnsecured Credit Card LoanYes (X)$467$467falsefalseYes (true)
DirectorReal EstateYes (X)$420,374$19,371falsefalseYes (true)
DirectorUnsecured Credit Card LoanYes (X)$4,499$4,499falsefalseYes (true)
DirectorUnsecured Credit Card LoanYes (X)$418$418falsefalseYes (true)
DirectorUnsecured Credit Card LoanYes (X)$3,411$3,411falsefalseYes (true)
DirectorUnsecured Credit Card LoanYes (X)$5,403$5,403falsefalseYes (true)
OfficerUnsecured Credit Card LoanYes (X)$1,698$1,698falseYes (true)Yes (true)
Key EmployeeNew VehicleYes (X)$34,883$17,711falsefalseYes (true)
Key EmployeeReal EstateYes (X)$650,000$492,293falsefalseYes (true)
OfficerReal EstateYes (X)$1,150,000$765,217falseYes (true)Yes (true)
Key EmployeeNew VehicleYes (X)$48,000$37,465falsefalseYes (true)
Key EmployeeUsed VehicleYes (X)$51,546$45,320falsefalseYes (true)
Key EmployeeReal EstateYes (X)$935,000$670,506falsefalseYes (true)
Key EmployeeReal EstateYes (X)$1,264,256$59,408falsefalseYes (true)
OfficerUnsecured Credit Card LoanYes (X)$2,611$2,611falseYes (true)Yes (true)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Balance Due$2,379,700TotalBalanceDueAmt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (11 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Part III, Line 4d OTHER PROGRAM SERVICESFINANCIAL PLANNING SERVICES, INSURANCE PRODUCTS AND THE PARTICIPATION IN MANY COMMUNITY-RELATED EVENTS AND SUPPORT OF NON-PROFIT ORGANIZATIONS.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 6 Classes of members or stockholdersThe credit union's members have rights to elect the members of the governing body. The credit union's members also receive a share of the organization's profits in the form of cash dividends on deposits.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 7a Members or stockholders electing members of governing bodyMembers of the credit union have the right to elect one or more members of the organization's governing body, whether periodically, or as vacancies arise, or otherwise.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 7b Decisions requiring approval by members or stockholdersMembers of the credit union have the right to approve the governing body's election and removal of members of the governing body, as well as other matters that are subject to the approval of members of the credit union as they occur and as outlined in the bylaws.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 8b Documentation of meetings held by committees of governing bodyTHE BOARD OF DIRECTORS DO NOT DELEGATE BOARD AUTHORITY TO A COMMITTEE, HOWEVER MAY APPOINT AN EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF NO FEWER THAN THREE DIRECTORS AND DELEGATE TO SUCH COMMITTEE THE POWER TO APPROVE MEMBERSHIP APPLICATIONS. WITH THE WRITTEN APPROVAL OF THE COMMISSIONER, IF DELEGATED, THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MAY ACT FOR THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS IN THE PURCHASE AND SALE OF SECURITIES, INVESTMENT AND WITHDRAWAL OF FUNDS, IN BORROWING FUNDS AND IN MAKING LOANS TO OTHER CREDIT UNIONS IN ACCORDANCE WITH APPLICABLE LAW AND REGULATIONS.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 11b Review of form 990 by governing bodyPreparation of the Form 990 is coordinated through the company's Finance department and third-party tax preparer. Information is requested from and gathered by several functional areas and executive management to assist in the completion of the Form. Throughout the process, questions are discussed with the tax preparer and resolutions are incorporated into the return as appropriate. Once completed, executive management reviews the form for accuracy and reasonableness. The completed form is then presented to the board of directors for their review prior to filing. Any questions or issues raised by the board are addressed and approved prior to submission to the IRS.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 12c Conflict of interest policyAny instances of a conflict of interest that management becomes aware of is escalated to the Chief Human Resources Officer and the President/CEO. An investigation would be conducted to gather all the facts. Those facts would be used to determine the appropriate actions that are warranted. SAFE also has a formal process that provides employees a means of reporting any complaint or inappropriate activities directly to the Audit Committee or directly to our regulator, the California Department of Financial Protection and Innovation. Lastly, SAFE's internal control structure is documented, reviewed and updated annually by management and audited by its external and internal auditors. Internal controls are a vital part of helping to detect conflicts or inappropriate activity within the organization.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 15a Process to establish compensation of top management officialANNUALLY, SAFE REVIEWS CURRENT EXTERNAL MARKET DATA. ADJUSTMENTS MAY BE MADE AS NEEDED BASED ON THE MARKET-BASED SALARY AND THE INDIVIDUAL'S PERFORMANCE, EXPERIENCE, SKILLS, AND TIME IN THE ROLE. THIS PROCESS AFFECTS ALL LEVELS AND POSITIONS WITHIN THE ORGANIZATION. FURTHER, EXECUTIVE COMPENSATION SURVEYS ARE REVIEWED BY THE CHIEF HUMAN RESOURCES OFFICER AND ARE USED FOR COMPARISON PURPOSES TO ENSURE THAT COMPETITIVE, MARKET BASED RANGES ARE IN PLACE. FOR THE CEO, COMPENSATION IS REVIEWED AND APPROVED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF THE BOARD AND A CEO COMPENSATION SALARY SURVEY IS OBTAINED AND RESEARCH IS PERFORMED TO ENSURE COMPENSATION LEVELS ARE COMPETITIVE.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 15b Process to establish compensation of other employeesANNUALLY, SAFE REVIEWS CURRENT EXTERNAL MARKET DATA. ADJUSTMENTS MAY BE MADE AS NEEDED BASED ON THE MARKET-BASED SALARY AND THE INDIVIDUAL'S PERFORMANCE, EXPERIENCE, SKILLS, AND TIME IN THE ROLE. THIS PROCESS AFFECTS ALL LEVELS AND POSITIONS WITHIN THE ORGANIZATION. FURTHER, EXECUTIVE COMPENSATION SURVEYS ARE REVIEWED BY THE CHIEF HUMAN RESOURCES OFFICER AND ARE USED FOR COMPARISON PURPOSES TO ENSURE THAT COMPETITIVE, MARKET BASED RANGES ARE IN PLACE. FOR THE CEO, COMPENSATION IS REVIEWED AND APPROVED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF THE BOARD AND A CEO COMPENSATION SALARY SURVEY IS OBTAINED AND RESEARCH IS PERFORMED TO ENSURE COMPENSATION LEVELS ARE COMPETITIVE.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 19 Required documents available to the publicGoverning documents and conflict of interest policies are not made available to the public. Annual reports containing financial results for the last two fiscal years are provided on SAFE's website. Complete audited financial statements are also provided on the company's website annually. Lastly, SAFE's regulatory 5300 call reports are filed quarterly and are available to the public via NCUA's website.
Form 990, Part VIII, Line 2f Other Program Service RevenueSecurities and insurance fees - Total Revenue: 5973654, Related or Exempt Function Revenue: 5917295, Unrelated Business Revenue: 56359, Revenue Excluded from Tax Under Sections 512, 513, or 514: ;