STRATEGY STUDIO / PUBLIC DATA EXPLORER

CREATIVE WORKS: Form 990, tax year 2021

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
CREATIVE WORKS (EIN 01-0280723)
Tax period
2021-07-01 to 2022-06-30
Filed
2023-04-24
IRS object ID
202341149349300764
Schema version
2021v4.2
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2023-04-24T09:29:35-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2022-06-30TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN010523282PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Berry Dunn McNeil & Parker LLCBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line12211 Congress StAddressLine1Txt
CityPortlandCityNm
State AbbreviationMEStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP04102ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2021-07-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN010280723EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Creative WorksBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlCREABusinessNameControlTxt
Phone2078791140PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line110 Speirs StreetAddressLine1Txt
CityWestbrookCityNm
State AbbreviationMEStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP04092ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonMatthew HickeyPersonNm
Person TitleCEOPersonTitleTxt
Phone2078791140PhoneNum
Signature2023-04-11SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Signing Officer SigningOfficerGrp

Person Full Name PersonFullName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Person FirstMatthewPersonFirstNm
Person LastHickeyPersonLastNm
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SSN999009999SSN

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonJoseph R ByrnePreparerPersonNm
PTINP01289281PTIN
Phone2077752387PhoneNum
Preparation2023-04-11PreparationDt

Additional Filer Information AdditionalFilerInformation

Trusted Customer TrustedCustomerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Trusted Customer3TrustedCustomerCd
Authentication Assurance LevelAAL1AuthenticationAssuranceLevelCd
Identity Assurance LevelIAL1IdentityAssuranceLevelCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2021TaxYr
Build TS2023-04-26 12:10:37ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerMatthew HickeyPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line110 Speirs StreetAddressLine1Txt
CityWestbrookCityNm
State AbbreviationMEStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP04092ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$29,507,303GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website Addresswww.beingcreativeworks.orgWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1967FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateMELegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionCreative Works empowers people with disabilities to live, work, and be a part of their community.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body5VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent5VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee470TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers21TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$3,189,536PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$1,262,189CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$19,988,944PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$24,648,929CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$1,443,710PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$995,590CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$418,025PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$607,230CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$25,040,215PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$27,513,938CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$0PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$0CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$16,134,763PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$17,287,205CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$6,762,729PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$7,859,993CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$22,897,492PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$25,147,198CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$2,142,723PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$2,366,740CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$24,192,346TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$24,080,172TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$3,870,219TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$3,401,831TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$20,322,127NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$20,678,341NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionCreative Works empowers people with disabilities to live, work and be a part of their community through comprehensive vocational, developmental, and residential programs tailored to each person's needs. Creative Works expands opportunities for people with disabilities to pursue their potential and be treated with dignity, appreciation and respect. Creative Works envisions a world without barriers. We understand that all people have a valuable contribution to make to each other and to society. By combining this understanding with a standard of excellence throughout all Creative Works programs, we can make a positive and significant difference both for individuals and for the community.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
Expense$17,175,435ExpenseAmt
Revenue$19,499,859RevenueAmt
DescResidential Services provide support for individuals with disabilities in the individuals' home or in CW Residences, and range from 24-hour support to just a few hours each week. Residental services assist with social skills, community access, health and safety, household maintenance, self-advocacy, and many other needs in order to provide the most comprehensive and therapeutic support possible.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$2,931,238ExpenseAmt
Revenue$2,770,498RevenueAmt
DescCommunity Day Services enable people with developmental disabilities to participate fully in community life and to increase their self-reliance through activities that are enriching, meaningful and goal-oriented. Day services are designed to maximize an individual's ability to manage everyday life activities in communities rich with resources. A variety of skill-building options are offered, in addition to readiness skills, volunteer opportunities, and means of artistic expression, all based upon individual needs.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty3 ProgSrvcAccomActy3Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$1,999,152ExpenseAmt
Revenue$2,064,878RevenueAmt
DescMaine Woodworks is a social enterprise of Creative Works that employs an integrated workforce consisting of people with and without disabilities. All employees earn a competitive wage and work in an environment that fosters both the development and mastery of various furniture-making skills and independence within their work environment. Our wood shop produces bench-crafted, cottage-style furniture built with renewable North American hardwoods and environmentally friendly finishes. Our colorful line of furniture is sold throughout the United States, and proceeds from sales are used to further the social mission of Creative Works.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty Other ProgSrvcAccomActyOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$463,472ExpenseAmt
Revenue$920,924RevenueAmt
DescEmployment and Other ServicesDesc
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Other Prog Srvc Expense$463,472TotalOtherProgSrvcExpenseAmt
Total Other Prog Srvc Revenue$920,924TotalOtherProgSrvcRevenueAmt
Total Program Service Expenses$22,569,297TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (1)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (1)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying ActivitiesYes (1)LobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi Endowments0DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 Footnote0IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans0EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit Trans0PYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent0BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related Entity0RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org0TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document61IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee470EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit0UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contributions0QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed Of0Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt0SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc0SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members5GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member5IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or Stockholders0MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board Members0ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To Approva0DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1James FlakerBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone2078791140PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line110 Speirs StreetAddressLine1Txt
CityWestbrookCityNm
State AbbreviationMEStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP04092ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (13 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
James Harrison
Chairman1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Carolyn Faulkner
Vice President1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Samuel Marcisso
Treasurer1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Denise Dix
Secretary1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Wayne Messer
Director1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Edward McGeachey
Past President1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
James Houle Esq
Past Director1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Heidi Howard
Executive Director40.00Yes (X)$370,967$0$26,654
Matthew Hickey
COO40.00Yes (X)$208,758$0$45,893
James Flaker
CFO40.00Yes (X)$116,503$0$5,528
Stephen Hawkes
HR Director40.00$119,496$0$45,996Yes (X)
Charlie Rowe
IT Director40.00$115,005$0$19,268Yes (X)
Patrick Benerugaba
House Manager40.00$110,951$0$13,069Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$1,041,680TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$156,408TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K6IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp

Contractor Name ContractorName

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Systems EngineeringBusinessNameLine1Txt

Contractor Address ContractorAddress

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1120 Exchange StreetAddressLine1Txt
CityPortlandCityNm
State AbbreviationMEStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP04101ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ServicesIT ServicesServicesDesc
Compensation$145,142CompensationAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K1CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Government Grants$1,232,733GovernmentGrantsAmt
All Other Contributions$29,456AllOtherContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$1,262,189TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Net Patient Service Revenue623990$24,601,857$24,601,857
Other Program Revenue623990$47,072$47,072
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$24,648,929TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$371,246TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$371,246ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$705,656SecuritiesAmt
Other$477,713OtherAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$403,909SecuritiesAmt
Other$155,116OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$301,747SecuritiesAmt
Other$322,597OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$624,344TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$624,344ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Sales Of Inventory$2,041,570GrossSalesOfInventoryAmt
Cost Of Goods Sold$1,434,340CostOfGoodsSoldAmt

Net Income Or Loss NetIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$607,230TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$607,230RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$27,513,938TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$25,256,159RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$995,590ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part IXYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIXInd

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$774,303TotalAmt
Program Services$691,633ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$82,670ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$13,262,704TotalAmt
Program Services$11,869,493ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,393,211ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$268,873TotalAmt
Program Services$240,986ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$27,887ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,956,051TotalAmt
Program Services$1,752,998ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$203,053ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,025,274TotalAmt
Program Services$918,755ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$106,519ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$13,614TotalAmt
Program Services$12,819ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$795ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$24,100TotalAmt
Program Services$22,693ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,407ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$27,300TotalAmt
Management And General$27,300ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,495,487TotalAmt
Program Services$3,247,330ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$248,157ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$243,818TotalAmt
Program Services$110,894ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$132,924ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$278,295TotalAmt
Program Services$257,755ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$20,540ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$229,357TotalAmt
Program Services$95,785ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$133,572ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$970,460TotalAmt
Program Services$921,780ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$48,680ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$227,614TotalAmt
Program Services$187,124ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$40,490ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$96,376TotalAmt
Program Services$62,310ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$34,066ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$536,880TotalAmt
Program Services$490,634ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$46,246ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmt
Service Provider Tax$1,215,085$1,215,085
Miscellaneous Expense$269,557$251,232$18,325
Food Expense$170,775$164,391$6,384
Equipment Repairs$61,275$55,600$5,675

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$25,147,198TotalAmt
Program Services$22,569,297ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$2,577,901ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXInd

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$425,554BOYAmt
EOY$476,909EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,002,927BOYAmt
EOY$1,910,690EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,800,241BOYAmt
EOY$2,566,702EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$329,327BOYAmt
EOY$306,019EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$325,754BOYAmt
EOY$325,130EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$15,098,371LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$6,335,734LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$9,298,447BOYAmt
EOY$8,762,637EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$10,909,855BOYAmt
EOY$9,615,199EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$100,241BOYAmt
EOY$116,886EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$24,192,346BOYAmt
EOY$24,080,172EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,279,039BOYAmt
EOY$1,414,498EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$753,303BOYAmt
EOY$416,912EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,737,636BOYAmt
EOY$1,453,535EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$100,241BOYAmt
EOY$116,886EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,870,219BOYAmt
EOY$3,401,831EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows FASB117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind

No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$20,306,995BOYAmt
EOY$20,667,173EOYAmt

Donor Restriction Net Assets DonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$15,132BOYAmt
EOY$11,168EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$20,322,127BOYAmt
EOY$20,678,341EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$24,192,346BOYAmt
EOY$24,080,172EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$2,366,740ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst-$2,010,526NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$0OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredYes (1)FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd
Federal Grant Audit PerformedYes (1)FederalGrantAuditPerformedInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Publicly Supported Org509a2Yes (X)PubliclySupportedOrg509a2Ind

Gifts Grants Contris Rcvd509 GiftsGrantsContrisRcvd509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$28,375CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$27,090CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$411,694CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$3,189,536CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$1,262,189CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$4,918,884TotalAmt

Gross Receipts Admissions GrossReceiptsAdmissionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$17,001,210CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$20,113,929CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$21,298,135CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$20,406,969CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$25,256,159CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$104,076,402TotalAmt

Total509 Total509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$17,029,585CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$20,141,019CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$21,709,829CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$23,596,505CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$26,518,348CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$108,995,286TotalAmt

Amounts Rcvd Dsqlfy Person AmountsRcvdDsqlfyPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$2,575CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$1,918CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$1,900CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$2,200CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$2,000CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$10,593TotalAmt

Substantial Contributors Amt SubstantialContributorsAmtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Subst And Dsqlfy Prsns Tot SubstAndDsqlfyPrsnsTotGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$2,575CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$1,918CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$1,900CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$2,200CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$2,000CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$10,593TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Support Total509$108,984,693PublicSupportTotal509Amt

Gross Investment Income509 GrossInvestmentIncome509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$199,397CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$240,668CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$168,065CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$169,485CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$371,246CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$1,148,861TotalAmt

Investment Income And UBTI InvestmentIncomeAndUBTIGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$199,397CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$240,668CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$168,065CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$169,485CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$371,246CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$1,148,861TotalAmt

Net Income From Other UBI NetIncomeFromOtherUBIGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$29,803CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$12,095CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Total$41,898TotalAmt

Total Support Calendar Year TotalSupportCalendarYearGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$17,258,785CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$20,393,782CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$21,877,894CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$23,765,990CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$26,889,594CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$110,186,045TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Support CY5090.98910PublicSupportCY509Pct
Public Support PY5090.99030PublicSupportPY509Pct
Investment Income CY0.01040InvestmentIncomeCYPct
Investment Income PY0.00900InvestmentIncomePYPct
Thirty Thr Pct Suprt Tests CY509Yes (X)ThirtyThrPctSuprtTestsCY509Ind

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule C IRS990ScheduleC

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Volunteers0VolunteersInd
Paid Staff Or Management0PaidStaffOrManagementInd
Media Advertisements0MediaAdvertisementsInd
Mailings Members0MailingsMembersInd
Publications Or Broadcast0PublicationsOrBroadcastInd
Grants Other Organizations0GrantsOtherOrganizationsInd
Direct Contact Legislators0DirectContactLegislatorsInd
Rallies Demonstrations0RalliesDemonstrationsInd
Other ActivitiesYes (1)OtherActivitiesInd
Other Activities$354OtherActivitiesAmt
Total Lobbying Expenditures$354TotalLobbyingExpendituresAmt
Not Described Section501c30NotDescribedSection501c3Ind

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePart II-B, Line 1:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationThe Organization pays dues to various associations, a portion of which are attributable to lobbying activities.ExplanationTxt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$2,089,500OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$2,089,500BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$10,355,983OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$4,144,049DepreciationAmt
Book Value$6,211,934BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$1,662,596OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$1,453,750DepreciationAmt
Book Value$208,846BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$990,292OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$737,935DepreciationAmt
Book Value$252,357BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$8,762,637TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescDeferred Compensation LiabilityDesc
Amt$116,886Amt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$116,886TotalLiabilityAmt
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$26,245,869TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst-$2,010,526NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Other Revenue$769,757OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported-$1,240,769RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$27,486,638RevenueSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld$27,300InvestmentExpensesNotIncldAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$27,300RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$27,513,938TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$25,889,655TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Expenses Included$769,757OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$769,757ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$25,119,898ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld2$27,300InvestmentExpensesNotIncld2Amt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$27,300ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$25,147,198TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Part XI, Line 2d - Other Adjustments:Cost of Goods Sold 769,757.
Part XII, Line 2d - Other Adjustments:Cost of Goods Sold 769,757.

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Independent ConsultantYes (X)IndependentConsultantInd
Form990 Of Other OrganizationsYes (X)Form990OfOtherOrganizationsInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanYes (1)SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org0CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs0CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org0CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs0CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed PaymentsYes (1)AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract Exception0InitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (3 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
Heidi Howard
Executive Director$224,887$0$0$0$146,080$0$6,199$0$20,455$0$397,621$0$126,580$0
Matthew Hickey
COO$175,161$0$26,561$0$7,036$0$6,627$0$39,266$0$254,651$0$0$0
Stephen Hawkes
HR Director$104,569$0$10,414$0$4,513$0$4,030$0$41,966$0$165,492$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Part I, Line 4bHeidi Howard participates in a 457(f) supplemental nonqualified retirement plan. During calendar year 2021, Ms. Howard received a compensation payment from the 457(f) plan in the amount of $126,580. This amount is being reported as part of the amount disclosed on Schedule J, Part II, column (B)(iii) as well as column (F).
Part I, Line 7James Flaker, Charlie Rowe, Stephen Hawkes, Matthew Hickey and Patrick Benerugaba each received a bonus based on performance outcomes. No portion of the bonuses paid were contingent upon the revenues or net earnings of the Organization. The Board of Directors engaged the services of an independent CPA/salary and benefits consultant to determine total compensation to be paid to key employees. The consultant presented a report including a comprehensive salary survey and draft rebuttal presumptive checklist per IRS guidelines, which proposed total compensation of the Executive Director based on the national average of compensation at comparable nonprofit organizations. The Board of Directors reviewed the national comparability data in the report, as well as the sources of the review data, which were incorporated into the checklist. The data also included the most recent U.S. Office of Personnel Management (OPM) Cost of Living and Locality Pay Tables. This review process resulted in a compensation package that included a salary and a performance-based bonus, which was based on the prior year's performance measures.

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (6 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 11bThe Organization's senior team reviews the 990 prepared by the Organization's independent CPA firm. Once satisified, the 990 is sent to all board members for their review and approval.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 12cThe Board of Directors will conduct business so as to avoid any action that may result in or give the appearance of using the agency to achieve private gain or to dispense preferential treatment. Procedures: 1. The Board will periodically review approved vendors and subcontractors to determine if any secondary relationships exist. Any such relationships will be disclosed and the related Director will recuse him/herself from any discussions or votes regarding that vendor or subcontractor. 2. Secondary relationships will be disclosed in any requests for proposals and resulting bids. The related Director will recuse him/herself from any discussion or votes regarding that request for proposal or bid. 3. The Board shall take no action that results in private gain or preferential treatment. Any action that could have the potential appearance of a conflict will be disclosed and the affected Director will recuse him/herself from any discussion or votes regarding that action.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 15The Board of Directors engaged the services of an independent CPA/salary and benefits consultant to determine total compensation to be paid to key employees. The consultant presented a report including a comprehensive salary survey and draft rebuttal presumptive checklist per IRS guidelines, which proposed total compensation of the Executive Director based on the national average of compensation at comparable nonprofit organizations. The Board of Directors reviewed the national comparability data in the report, as well as the sources of the review data, which were incorporated into the checklist. The data also included the most recent U.S. Office of Personnel Management (OPM) Cost of Living and Locality Pay Tables. This review process resulted in a compensation package that included a salary and a performance-based bonus, which was based on the prior year's performance measures.
Form 990, Part VI, Section C, line 19No other documents are available to the Public.
Form 990, Part IX, line 11gConsulting Fees: Program service expenses 3,208,998. Management and general expenses 198,927. Fundraising expenses 0. Total expenses 3,407,925. Contract Services: Program service expenses 38,332. Management and general expenses 49,230. Fundraising expenses 0. Total expenses 87,562.
Form 990, Part X, Line 10: Land, Buildings, and EquipmentSection 1.263 (a)-3(n) Election: Creative Works 10 Speirs Street Westbrook, ME 04092 EIN: 01-0280723 Creative Works is electing to capitalize repair and maintenance costs under Regulation Section 1.263(a)-3(n).