STRATEGY STUDIO / NONPROFIT PEOPLE SEARCH

THE AWTY INTERNATIONAL SCHOOL: Form 990, tax year 2023

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
THE AWTY INTERNATIONAL SCHOOL (EIN 23-7258712)
Tax period
2023-07-01 to 2024-06-30
Filed
2025-05-06
IRS object ID
202521269349303342
Schema version
2023v6.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2025-05-06T17:27:51-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2024-06-30TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN760269860PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Blazek & VetterlingBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line12900 Weslayan Suite 200AddressLine1Txt
CityHoustonCityNm
State AbbreviationTXStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP77027ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2023-07-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN237258712EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1The Awty International SchoolBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlAWTYBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone7136864850PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line17455 Awty School LaneAddressLine1Txt
CityHoustonCityNm
State AbbreviationTXStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP77055ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonJohn MurphyPersonNm
Person TitleCFOPersonTitleTxt
Phone7136864850PhoneNum
Signature2025-05-06SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
IRS Responsible Prty Info Curr0IRSResponsiblePrtyInfoCurrInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonBarbara MurphyPreparerPersonNm
PTINP01386215PTIN
Phone7134395739PhoneNum
Preparation2025-05-06PreparationDt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2023TaxYr
Build TS2025-03-06 01:10:19ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerHeather BeckPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line17455 Awty School LaneAddressLine1Txt
CityHoustonCityNm
State AbbreviationTXStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP77055ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$88,065,619GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website Addresswww.awty.orgWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1956FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateTXLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionThe Awty International School is a world-class international school, on a welcoming campus, with a unique school spirit, which challenges and inspires all of our students to achieve their ultimate potential.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body18VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent18VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee538TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers676TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$2,555,418PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$2,133,342CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$59,824,333PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$62,403,899CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$1,746,859PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$1,805,006CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$613,070PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$454,923CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$64,739,680PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$66,797,170CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$2,543,467PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$2,370,241CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$36,929,547PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$40,492,422CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$1,425,052CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$18,978,957PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$21,466,826CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$58,451,971PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$64,329,489CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$6,287,709PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$2,467,681CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$228,774,916TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$235,901,283TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$111,672,331TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$111,956,671TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$117,102,585NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$123,944,612NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionSee Schedule OThe purpose of Awty International School (Awty) is to create an environment where students experience excellence every day to make their mark on the world alongside their community, in a spirit of curiosity, courage and kindness. Awty offers students a rigorous path to graduating with either the International Baccalaureate or the French Baccalaureate. In addition to a challenging curriculum, Awty provides students with a kind and friendly environment, in which diverse cultures, nationalities and languages are celebrated. Social-emotional learning and character development are highly emphasized, empowering students with resilience, empathy, and problem-solving skills as they grow to become responsible world citizens.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
Expense$58,575,383ExpenseAmt
Grant$2,370,241GrantAmt
Revenue$62,706,466RevenueAmt
DescThe Awty International School (Awty) is a private day school that provides instruction to both American and International students in Houston, Texas. Awty's enrollment is approximately 1,794 students in preschool through 12th grade. Founded in 1956, the purpose of Awty is to give its students an innovative and comprehensive education at all levels.Desc
Total Program Service Expenses$58,575,383TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (1)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (1)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying Activities0LobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi EndowmentsYes (1)DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other Liabilities0ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 Footnote0IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl Stmt0IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingYes (1)SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising ActivitiesYes (1)FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsYes (1)GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsYes (1)TaxExemptBondsInd
Invest Tax Exempt Bonds0InvestTaxExemptBondsInd
Escrow Account0EscrowAccountInd
On Behalf Of Issuer0OnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans0EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit Trans0PYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent0BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContriYes (1)DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityYes (1)DisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (1)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntYes (1)RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Transaction With Control Ent0TransactionWithControlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org0TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document180IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee538EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit0UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo ContributionsYes (1)QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contri DisclYes (1)QuidProQuoContriDisclInd
Form8282 Property Disposed Of0Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt0SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc0SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members18GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member18IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or Stockholders0MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board Members0ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To Approva0DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1John MurphyBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone7136864850PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line17455 Awty School LaneAddressLine1Txt
CityHoustonCityNm
State AbbreviationTXStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP77055ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (29 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtKey EmployeeKeyEmployeeIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeIndFormer Ofcr Director TrusteeFormerOfcrDirectorTrusteeInd
Robert Bunch
Chair10.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Harry Yan
Treasurer2.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Jay Watkins
Secretary2.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Maconda Abinader
Board Member1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Eimear Bonner
Board Member1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Claudia Contreras
Board Member1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Stephanie Cox
Board Member1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Johanne Gatto
Board Member1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Glen Gonzalez
Board Member1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Jake Gopinath
Board Member1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Rob Mark
Board Member1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Leslie Nelson
Board Member1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Daniel Ogbonna
Board Member1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Sonya Reed
Board Member1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Gavin Rennick
Board Member1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Stefaan Sercu
Board Member1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mark Sweigart
Board Member1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Luca Zanotti
Board Member1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Heather Beck
Head of School40.00Yes (X)$275,607$0$10,526
John Murphy
CFO40.00Yes (X)$320,798$0$46,927
Pierre Puget
Proviseur40.00Yes (X)$293,495$0$33,582
Thomas Oden
Secondary Head40.00$253,580$0$43,177Yes (X)
Tim Long
Lower School Head40.00$177,321$0$28,670Yes (X)
Erika Kling
Senior Philanthropic Advisor40.00$203,938$0$29,553Yes (X)
Don Davis
Director of Facilities40.00$182,839$0$39,761Yes (X)
Lindsay Youngdahl
Athletic Director40.00$153,717$0$19,624Yes (X)
Lauren Linn
Acting Director of Advancement40.00$153,344$0$26,565Yes (X)
Chris Wozniak
IT Director40.00$146,433$0$18,588Yes (X)
Lisa Darling
Former Head of School40.00$459,765$0$16,168Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$2,620,837TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$313,141TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K40IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees ListedYes (1)FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
David E Harvey Builders Inc
3630 WestchaseHoustonTX77042Construction$7,950,510
Sage Dining Services Inc
1402 York RoadLuthervilleMD21093Cafeteria services$2,327,813
AFC Corp Transportation
15734 Aldine Westfield RdHoustonTX77032Bus services$679,186
Lake Flato Architects
311 3rd StSan AntonioTX78205Architect services$445,984
Maintenance of Houston Inc
4007 Waldo StHoustonTX77063Cleaning services$402,372
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K16CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Fundraising$656,129FundraisingAmt
All Other Contributions$1,477,213AllOtherContributionsAmt
Noncash Contributions$128,143NoncashContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$2,133,342TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (5 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Tuition and fees611600$57,868,148$57,868,148
Program service fees611710$4,230,752$4,230,752
Bus services611710$206,966$206,966
Other program revenue611710$84,488$84,488
Cafe revenue611710$13,545$13,545
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$62,403,899TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$1,429,993TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$1,429,993ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$20,798,347SecuritiesAmt
Other$10,000OtherAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$20,433,334SecuritiesAmt
Other$0OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$365,013SecuritiesAmt
Other$10,000OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$375,013TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$375,013ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Fundraising Gross Income$501,507FundraisingGrossIncomeAmt
Contri Rpt Fundraising Event$656,129ContriRptFundraisingEventAmt
Fundraising Direct Expenses$349,151FundraisingDirectExpensesAmt

Net Incm From Fundraising Evt NetIncmFromFundraisingEvtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$152,356TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$152,356ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Sales Of Inventory$788,531GrossSalesOfInventoryAmt
Cost Of Goods Sold$485,964CostOfGoodsSoldAmt

Net Income Or Loss NetIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$302,567TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$302,567RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$66,797,170TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$62,706,466RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$1,957,362ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,370,241TotalAmt
Program Services$2,370,241ProgramServicesAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,052,615TotalAmt
Program Services$1,887,147ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$117,814ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$47,654FundraisingAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$28,832,378TotalAmt
Program Services$26,138,414ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,955,064ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$738,900FundraisingAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$984,414TotalAmt
Program Services$891,299ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$67,673ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$25,442FundraisingAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$6,463,185TotalAmt
Program Services$5,862,700ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$435,491ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$164,994FundraisingAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,159,830TotalAmt
Program Services$1,959,636ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$145,146ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$55,048FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$77,457TotalAmt
Management And General$77,457ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$47,278TotalAmt
Management And General$47,278ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$130,347TotalAmt
Management And General$130,347ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,216,444TotalAmt
Program Services$959,784ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$256,660ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$84,316TotalAmt
Management And General$37,838ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$46,478FundraisingAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,388,199TotalAmt
Program Services$797,616ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$479,279ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$111,304FundraisingAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,280,755TotalAmt
Program Services$1,165,154ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$97,556ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$18,045FundraisingAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,527,274TotalAmt
Program Services$2,414,901ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$99,527ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$12,846FundraisingAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$296,089TotalAmt
Program Services$291,219ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$4,870ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,026,089TotalAmt
Program Services$805,242ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$85,619ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$135,228FundraisingAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$759,372TotalAmt
Program Services$759,372ProgramServicesAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$5,648,741TotalAmt
Program Services$5,397,576ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$222,454ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$28,711FundraisingAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$645,088TotalAmt
Program Services$616,405ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$25,404ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$3,279FundraisingAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmt
Cafeteria expenses$1,944,439$1,944,439
Edu materials, programs$1,787,217$1,787,217
Buses, transportation$1,552,113$1,552,113
Field trips$760,907$760,907

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$294,701TotalAmt
Program Services$214,001ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$43,577ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$37,123FundraisingAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$64,329,489TotalAmt
Program Services$58,575,383ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$4,329,054ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$1,425,052FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,177BOYAmt
EOY$4,177EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$56,628,090BOYAmt
EOY$54,517,165EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,458,935BOYAmt
EOY$2,772,241EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$132,301BOYAmt
EOY$149,349EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$379,057BOYAmt
EOY$398,884EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$927,229BOYAmt
EOY$998,715EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$162,226,893LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$42,168,177LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$115,206,858BOYAmt
EOY$120,058,716EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$49,890,957BOYAmt
EOY$57,001,247EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$147,312BOYAmt
EOY$789EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$228,774,916BOYAmt
EOY$235,901,283EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,292,642BOYAmt
EOY$5,026,153EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$43,173,040BOYAmt
EOY$45,567,768EOYAmt

Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$63,206,649BOYAmt
EOY$61,362,750EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$111,672,331BOYAmt
EOY$111,956,671EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows FASB117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind

No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$113,081,646BOYAmt
EOY$122,659,799EOYAmt

Donor Restriction Net Assets DonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,020,939BOYAmt
EOY$1,284,813EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$117,102,585BOYAmt
EOY$123,944,612EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$228,774,916BOYAmt
EOY$235,901,283EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$2,467,681ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$4,374,346NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$0OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Consolidated Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)ConsolidatedBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SchoolYes (X)SchoolInd

Gifts Grants Contri Rcvd170 GiftsGrantsContriRcvd170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$5,126,887CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$5,665,214CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$5,773,691CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$2,555,418CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$2,133,342CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$21,254,552TotalAmt

Total Calendar Year170 TotalCalendarYear170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$5,126,887CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$5,665,214CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$5,773,691CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$2,555,418CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$2,133,342CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$21,254,552TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Substantial Contributors Tot$4,511,300SubstantialContributorsTotAmt
Public Support Total170$16,743,252PublicSupportTotal170Amt

Gross Investment Income170 GrossInvestmentIncome170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$679,355CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$464,335CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$377,852CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$1,214,130CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$1,429,993CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$4,165,665TotalAmt

Unrelated Business Net Incm170 UnrelatedBusinessNetIncm170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$73,663CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$119,730CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$51,856CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$283,953CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$152,356CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$681,558TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Support$26,101,775TotalSupportAmt
Gross Receipts Rltd Activities$284,085,634GrossReceiptsRltdActivitiesAmt
Public Support CY1700.64150PublicSupportCY170Pct
Public Support PY1700.62340PublicSupportPY170Pct
Thirty Thr Pct Suprt Tests CY170Yes (X)ThirtyThrPctSuprtTestsCY170Ind

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$26,728,986BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$2,800,000ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$2,943,257InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
End Year Balance$32,472,243EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$25,118,558BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$1,610,428InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
End Year Balance$26,728,986EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$8,269,198BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$18,200,000ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses-$1,350,640InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
End Year Balance$25,118,558EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$6,334,866BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$1,934,332InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
End Year Balance$8,269,198EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$6,025,332BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$309,534InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
End Year Balance$6,334,866EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Board Designated Balance EOY1.00000BoardDesignatedBalanceEOYPct
Endowments Held Unrelated Org0EndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related Org0EndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$14,139,756OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$14,139,756BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$138,869,519OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$37,352,865DepreciationAmt
Book Value$101,516,654BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$8,712,440OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$4,815,312DepreciationAmt
Book Value$3,897,128BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$505,178OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$505,178BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$120,058,716TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$69,156,892TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$4,374,346NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Other Revenue$485,964OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported$4,860,310RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$64,296,582RevenueSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld$130,347InvestmentExpensesNotIncldAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$2,370,241OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$2,500,588RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$66,797,170TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$62,314,865TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Expenses Included$485,964OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$485,964ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$61,828,901ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld2$130,347InvestmentExpensesNotIncld2Amt
Other Expenses Not Included$2,370,241OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$2,500,588ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$64,329,489TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (5 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Part V, Line 4:Endowment funds are invested for the long term support of the School. No distributions were made from the fund this year.
Part XI, Line 2d - Other Adjustments:Bookstore COGS 485,964.
Part XI, Line 4b - Other Adjustments:Financial aid 2,370,241.
Part XII, Line 2d - Other Adjustments:Bookstore COGS 485,964.
Part XII, Line 4b - Other Adjustments:Financial aid 2,370,241.

Schedule E IRS990ScheduleE

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Nondiscriminatory Policy StmtYes (1)NondiscriminatoryPolicyStmtInd
Policy Stmt In Brochures EtcYes (1)PolicyStmtInBrochuresEtcInd
Plcy Pblczd Via Broadcast MediaYes (1)PlcyPblczdViaBroadcastMediaInd
Maintain Racial Comp RecsYes (1)MaintainRacialCompRecsInd
Maintain Scholarships RecsYes (1)MaintainScholarshipsRecsInd
Maintain Cpy Of Brochures EtcYes (1)MaintainCpyOfBrochuresEtcInd
Maintain Cpy Of All SolYes (1)MaintainCpyOfAllSolInd
Discriminate Race Stdnts Rghts0DiscriminateRaceStdntsRghtsInd
Discriminate Race Admiss Plcy0DiscriminateRaceAdmissPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Emplm Fculty0DiscriminateRaceEmplmFcultyInd
Discriminate Race Schs0DiscriminateRaceSchsInd
Discriminate Race Educ Plcy0DiscriminateRaceEducPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Use Of Fclts0DiscriminateRaceUseOfFcltsInd
Discriminate Race Athlt Prog0DiscriminateRaceAthltProgInd
Discriminate Race Other Acty0DiscriminateRaceOtherActyInd
Government Financial Aid RcvdYes (1)GovernmentFinancialAidRcvdInd
Government Financial Aid Rvkd0GovernmentFinancialAidRvkdInd
Compliance With Rev Proc7550Yes (1)ComplianceWithRevProc7550Ind

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Schedule E, Part I, Line 3The Awty International School's nondiscriminatory policy is published on its website.
Schedule E, Part I, Line 6Financial aid is provided to French citizen students by a French governmental agency. The distribution of the financial aid to qualified students is determined by a committee of the French Consulate-Houston and the French Government Agency-France.

Schedule G IRS990ScheduleG

Fundraising Event Information FundraisingEventInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Event1GalaEvent1Nm
Gross Receipts Event1$1,157,636GrossReceiptsEvent1Amt
Charitable Contri Event1$656,129CharitableContriEvent1Amt
Gross Revenue Event1$501,507GrossRevenueEvent1Amt
Rent Facility Costs Event1$170,423RentFacilityCostsEvent1Amt
Entertainment Event1$13,965EntertainmentEvent1Amt
Other Direct Expenses Event1$164,763OtherDirectExpensesEvent1Amt
Gross Receipts Total$1,157,636GrossReceiptsTotalAmt
Charitable Contributions Tot$656,129CharitableContributionsTotAmt
Gross Revenue Total Events$501,507GrossRevenueTotalEventsAmt
Rent Fclty Costs Total Events$170,423RentFcltyCostsTotalEventsAmt
Entertainment Total Events$13,965EntertainmentTotalEventsAmt
Oth Direct Expnss Total Events$164,763OthDirectExpnssTotalEventsAmt
Direct Expense Summary Events$349,151DirectExpenseSummaryEventsAmt
Net Income Summary$152,356NetIncomeSummaryAmt

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (1)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant TypeScholarships & financial aidGrantTypeTxt
Recipient108RecipientCnt
Cash Grant$2,370,241CashGrantAmt
Non Cash AssistanceTuition reductionNonCashAssistanceDesc

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePart I, Line 2:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationParents of students seeking financial aid annually submit an application and financial information to the School and to Blackbaud Financial Aid Management for evaluation. Evaluation is returned from Blackbaud to the school for approval by the Financial Aid Committee, which consists of several key employees of the school.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Idemnification Gross Up PmtsYes (X)IdemnificationGrossUpPmtsInd
Housing Allowance Or ResidenceYes (X)HousingAllowanceOrResidenceInd
Club Dues Or FeesYes (X)ClubDuesOrFeesInd
Written Policy Ref T And E ExpnssYes (1)WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd
Substantiation RequiredYes (1)SubstantiationRequiredInd
Form990 Of Other OrganizationsYes (X)Form990OfOtherOrganizationsInd
Written Employment ContractYes (X)WrittenEmploymentContractInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanYes (1)SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org0CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs0CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org0CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs0CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed PaymentsYes (1)AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract Exception0InitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (11 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
Lisa Darling
Former Head of School$230,713$0$69,750$0$159,302$0$11,625$0$4,543$0$475,933$0$0$0
John Murphy
CFO$289,774$0$31,024$0$0$0$15,083$0$31,844$0$367,725$0$0$0
Pierre Puget
Proviseur$267,471$0$26,024$0$0$0$14,265$0$19,317$0$327,077$0$0$0
Thomas Oden
Secondary Head$227,556$0$26,024$0$0$0$11,795$0$31,382$0$296,757$0$0$0
Heather Beck
Head of School$234,806$0$1,024$0$39,777$0$0$0$10,526$0$286,133$0$0$0
Erika Kling
Senior Philanthropic Advisor$202,923$0$1,015$0$0$0$10,367$0$19,186$0$233,491$0$0$0
Don Davis
Director of Facilities$153,601$0$16,015$0$13,223$0$8,146$0$31,615$0$222,600$0$0$0
Tim Long
Lower School Head$176,306$0$1,015$0$0$0$9,053$0$19,617$0$205,991$0$0$0
Lauren Linn
Acting Director of Advancement$152,261$0$1,083$0$0$0$8,200$0$18,365$0$179,909$0$0$0
Lindsay Youngdahl
Athletic Director$152,634$0$1,083$0$0$0$7,716$0$11,908$0$173,341$0$0$0
Chris Wozniak
IT Director$145,350$0$1,083$0$0$0$7,322$0$11,266$0$165,021$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (3 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Part I, Line 1aThe Former Head of School, Lisa Darling, received a housing allowance ($15,000), a health/social club membership ($16,916) and a car allowance ($4,386). These benefits are included in her taxable compensation. The total of $36,302 is included in Part II, Col (B)(iii). The Head of School beginning July 1, 2023, Heather Beck, received a housing allowance ($16,500), a health/social club membership ($17,877) and a car allowance ($5,400). These benefits are included in her taxable compensation. The total of $39,777 is included in Part II, Col (B)(iii). The Director of Facilities, Don Davis, received a car allowance of $13,223. This amount is included in his taxable compensation and is reflected in Part II, Col (B)(iii). All school employees, including those reported on Part VII, received bonus payments in December 2023 that were grossed up.
Part I, Line 4bLisa Darling participated in a Section 457(f) nonqualified plan. For a one-year term, the school made a contribution to the 457(f) plan equal to 20% of her base salary. The School contribution to the plan totaling $93,000 was fully vested on June 30, 2023 and was paid out to Lisa Darling in June 2023. This amount is included in Part II, Col (B)(iii).
Part I, Line 7Certain officers received bonus payments during the year as reflected on Part II, column (b)(ii). Bonus payments are part of the budget approved by the Board each year.

Schedule K IRS990ScheduleK

Tax Exempt Bonds Issues TaxExemptBondsIssuesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd

Issuer Name IssuerName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Arlington Higher Ed FinBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond Issuer EIN273906171BondIssuerEIN
CUSIP000000000CUSIPNum
Bond Issued2020-04-21BondIssuedDt
Issue Price$65,000,000IssuePriceAmt
PurposeLoan refinancing, capital constructionPurposeDesc
Defeased0DefeasedInd
On Behalf Of Issuer0OnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Pool Financing0PoolFinancingInd

Tax Exempt Bonds Proceeds TaxExemptBondsProceedsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Retired$2,902,251RetiredAmt
Total Proceeds$65,000,000TotalProceedsAmt
Issuance Costs From Proceeds$374,787IssuanceCostsFromProceedsAmt
Capital Expenditures$51,051,894CapitalExpendituresAmt
Other Spent Proceeds$13,573,319OtherSpentProceedsAmt
Substantial Completion2024SubstantialCompletionYr
Refunding Tax Exempt BondsYes (1)RefundingTaxExemptBondsInd
Refunding Taxable Bonds0RefundingTaxableBondsInd
Final Allocation MadeYes (1)FinalAllocationMadeInd
Adequate Books And Rec MaintYes (1)AdequateBooksAndRecMaintInd

Tax Exempt Bonds Private Bus Use TaxExemptBondsPrivateBusUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Owning Bond Financed Property0OwningBondFinancedPropertyInd
Any Lease Arrangements0AnyLeaseArrangementsInd
Mgmt Contract Bond Fincd Prop0MgmtContractBondFincdPropInd
Any Research Agreements0AnyResearchAgreementsInd
Bond Iss Meet Prvt Sec Pymt Test0BondIssMeetPrvtSecPymtTestInd
Change In Use Bond Financed Prop0ChangeInUseBondFinancedPropInd
Procs Nonqualified Bond RemdtdYes (1)ProcsNonqualifiedBondRemdtdInd

Tax Exempt Bonds Arbitrage TaxExemptBondsArbitrageGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Form8038 T Filed0Form8038TFiledInd
Rebate Not Due YetYes (1)RebateNotDueYetInd
Exception To Rebate0ExceptionToRebateInd
No Rebate Due0NoRebateDueInd
Variable Rate Issue0VariableRateIssueInd
Hedge Identified In Bks And Rec0HedgeIdentifiedInBksAndRecInd
Gross Proceeds Invested In GIC0GrossProceedsInvestedInGICInd
Gross Proceeds Invested0GrossProceedsInvestedInd
Written Proc To Monitor ReqsYes (1)WrittenProcToMonitorReqsInd

Procedures Corrective Action ProceduresCorrectiveActionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Procedures Corrective ActionYes (1)ProceduresCorrectiveActionInd

Schedule M IRS990ScheduleM

Securities Publicly Traded SecuritiesPubliclyTradedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
Contribution2ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$10,407NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
Method Of Determining RevenuesFMVMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt

Other Non Cash Contri Table OtherNonCashContriTableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
DescAuction itemsDesc
Contribution220ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$117,736NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
Method Of Determining RevenuesFMVMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Any Property That Must Be Held0AnyPropertyThatMustBeHeldInd
Review Process Unusual NC GiftsYes (1)ReviewProcessUnusualNCGiftsInd
Third Parties Used0ThirdPartiesUsedInd

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (4 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 11bForm 990 is provided to the full Board of Trustees prior to filing with the IRS, following completion of the Finance and Audit Committee's review. Awty will try to maintain a donor's anonymity when requested by the donor to the extent allowable by the IRS.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 12cA conflict of interest agreement is signed by each Trustee and key employee and submitted to the CFO annually.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 15The Head of School has a long-term employment agreement that is reviewed and executed by the Board Chair. To determine compensation for the Head of School, the Board reviews a Head of School compensation study of other independent schools in the United States. For other key positions, the School compares base salaries to similar positions at other independent schools in the United States with similar enrollment, annual tuition and total employees.
Form 990, Part VI, Section C, line 19Available upon request.

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Disregarded Entities IdDisregardedEntitiesGrp

Disregarded Entity Name DisregardedEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line11110 NPO LLCBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line17455 Awty School LaneAddressLine1Txt
CityHoustonCityNm
State AbbreviationTXStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP77055ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN471087340EIN
Primary ActivitiesHold real property for the benefit of AISPrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateTXLegalDomicileStateCd
Total Income$0TotalIncomeAmt
End Of Year Assets$20,917,223EndOfYearAssetsAmt

Direct Controlling Entity Name DirectControllingEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1The Awty International SchoolBusinessNameLine1Txt

Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp (2 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdEINEINPrimary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxtLegal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCdExempt Code SectionExemptCodeSectionTxtPublic Charity StatusPublicCharityStatusTxtBusiness Name Line1DirectControllingEntityName/BusinessNameLine1TxtControlled OrganizationControlledOrganizationInd
1495 POP Inc
7455 Awty School LaneHoustonTX77055201056344Hold real property for the benefit of AISTX501(c)(3)12bThe Awty International SchoolYes (1)
7502 Old Katy Road Company
7455 Awty School LaneHoustonTX77055710888921Hold real property for the benefit of AISTX501(c)(3)12bThe Awty International SchoolYes (1)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts Rylts0ReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth Org0GiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth Org0GiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other Org0LoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth Org0LoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Div Related Organization0DivRelatedOrganizationInd
Asset Sale To Other Org0AssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other Org0AssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset Exchange0AssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth Org0RentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth Org0RentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth Org0PerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other Org0PerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of Facilities0SharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees Sharing0PaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other Org0ReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other Org0ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other Org0TransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other Org0TransferFromOtherOrgInd