STRATEGY STUDIO / PUBLIC DATA EXPLORER

NUECES ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE INC: Form 990, tax year 2022

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
NUECES ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE INC (EIN 74-0811772)
Tax period
2022-01-01 to 2022-12-31
Filed
2023-11-13
IRS object ID
202303179349307340
Schema version
2022v5.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2023-11-13T14:10:35-06:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2022-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN750882037PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1BOLINGER SEGARS GILBERT AND MOSS LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line18215 NASHVILLE AVENUEAddressLine1Txt
CityLUBBOCKCityNm
State AbbreviationTXStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP79423ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2022-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN740811772EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1NUECES ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE INCBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlNUECBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone3613872581PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line114353 COOPERATIVE AVEAddressLine1Txt
CityROBSTOWNCityNm
State AbbreviationTXStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP78380ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonVARZAVAND IRANIPersonNm
Person TitleCEOPersonTitleTxt
Phone3613872581PhoneNum
Signature2023-09-28SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Signing Officer SigningOfficerGrp

Person Full Name PersonFullName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Person FirstVARZAVANDPersonFirstNm
Person LastIRANIPersonLastNm
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SSN999009999SSN
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
IRS Responsible Prty Info Curr0IRSResponsiblePrtyInfoCurrInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonWILLIAM M MILLERPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00439459PTIN
Phone8067473806PhoneNum
Preparation2023-09-28PreparationDt
Self EmployedYes (X)SelfEmployedInd

Additional Filer Information AdditionalFilerInformation

Trusted Customer TrustedCustomerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Trusted Customer2TrustedCustomerCd
Authentication Assurance LevelAAL1AuthenticationAssuranceLevelCd
Identity Assurance LevelIAL1IdentityAssuranceLevelCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2022TaxYr
Build TS2023-04-26 12:10:37ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerVARZAVAND IRANIPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line114353 COOPERATIVE AVEAddressLine1Txt
CityROBSTOWNCityNm
State AbbreviationTXStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP78380ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$110,240,780GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501cYes (X)Organization501cInd
Website AddressWWW.NUECESELECTRIC.ORGWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1939FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateTXLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionTO PROVIDE QUALITY AND RELIABLE ELECTRIC SERVICE TO MEMBERS AT COST ON A COOPERATIVE BASIS.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body8VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent8VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee98TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers0TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$0PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$0CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$87,521,103PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$109,057,063CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$1,132,855PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$930,542CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$53,807PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$28,874CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$88,707,765PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$110,016,479CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$74,584PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$56,618CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$6,438,361PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$9,157,834CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$6,625,432PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$7,075,592CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$75,446,437PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$93,708,785CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$88,584,814PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$109,998,829CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$122,951PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$17,650CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$212,095,793TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$219,076,817TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$94,907,125TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$95,790,881TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$117,188,668NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$123,285,936NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionTHE MISSION OF NUECES ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE, INC, A MEMBER-OWNED COOPERATIVE, IS TO HELP OUR MEMBERS CONTINUALLY IMPROVE THEIR QUALITY OF LIFE BY PROVIDING RELIABLE AND COST EFFECTIVE ELECTRIC SERVICE IN A CULTURE WHERE SAFETY IS A PRIORITY.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
DescPROVIDING ELECTRIC ENERGY TO OUR MEMBERS ON A COOPERATIVE BASIS THROUGH THE ALLOCATION OF PATRONAGE CAPITAL. THERE WERE 51,082 ACTIVE SERVICES AT YEAR END.Desc
Described In Section501c30DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B Required0ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingYes (1)CreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi Endowments0DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecYes (1)ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstYes (1)ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsYes (1)GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent0BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (1)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntYes (1)RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Transaction With Control Ent0TransactionWithControlEntInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document87IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Employee98EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit0UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Members And Shr Gross Income$109,490,286MembersAndShrGrossIncomeAmt
Other Sources Gross Income$1,947,731OtherSourcesGrossIncomeAmt
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt0SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc0SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members8GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member8IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (1)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (1)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (1)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of Committees0MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
Own WebsiteYes (X)OwnWebsiteInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1ADRIANA PENA CFOBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone3613872581PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line114353 COOPERATIVE AVEAddressLine1Txt
CityROBSTOWNCityNm
State AbbreviationTXStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP78380ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part VIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIIInd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (18 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtAverage Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRtHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
BRIAN MENKING
PRESIDENT3.47Yes (X)Yes (X)$19,800$0$0
DAVID ROSSE
SECRETARY/TREASURER4.40Yes (X)Yes (X)$17,400$0$01.00
RUMALDO JUAREZ
DIRECTOR3.60Yes (X)$17,100$0$0
GREGG TRUESDALE
DIRECTOR3.10Yes (X)$17,100$0$0
GLADYS LIPPINCOTT
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$16,800$0$0
JUAN ALVARADO
DIRECTOR3.63Yes (X)$16,500$0$0
DONALD WAYNE HERRMANN
DIRECTOR4.40Yes (X)$15,600$0$01.00
LOUIS W HARTMAN JAN-SEP
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$12,900$0$0
SUSAN STEWART OCT-DEC
DIRECTOR3.25Yes (X)$3,900$0$0
VARZAVAND IRANI
CEO50.00Yes (X)$312,720$0$125,710
SARAH FISHER
COO/ASSISTANT GM52.00Yes (X)$192,579$0$137,029
ADRIANA PENA
CFO46.00Yes (X)$157,662$0$124,191
FRANK WILSON
CRO47.00Yes (X)$150,148$0$94,187
ROBERT HOLLOWAY
JOURNEY LINE WORKER58.00$166,158$0$60,006Yes (X)
JUAN RIVERA
JOURNEY LINE WORKER63.00$169,355$0$55,610Yes (X)
ALBERT PENA
JOURNEY LINE WORKER50.00$133,967$0$69,316Yes (X)
RAYMUNDO PINA
JOURNEY LINE WORKER54.00$144,351$0$56,651Yes (X)
JUAN GUZMAN
JOURNEY LINE WORKER50.00$135,349$0$47,225Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$1,699,389TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$769,925TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K10IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
SOUTH TEXAS ELECTRIC CO-OP INC
PO BOX 119NURSERYTX77976RETAIL BILLING$1,403,271
URBAN ELECTRICAL SERVICES INC
PO BOX 219CARRIZO SPRINGSTX78834LINE CONSTRUCTION$1,073,766
MOREHEAD DOTTS & ASSOCIATES
545 N UPPER BROADWAYCORPUS CHRISTITX78401ADVERTISING$1,034,675
JD UNDERGROUND INC
PO BOX 955SINTONTX78387TRENCHING AND BORING$307,692
ASPLUNDH TREE EXPERT CO
1700 SOLUTION CENTERCHICAGOIL60677TREE TRIMMING$303,442
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K15CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Info In Schedule O Part VIIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIIIInd

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (5 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
SALES OF ELECTRICITY221000$102,951,753$102,951,753
PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS221000$3,256,967$3,256,967
DISTRIBUTION SERVICES221000$1,751,825$1,751,825
SERVICE FEES221000$1,075,777$1,075,777
OTHER PROGRAM REVENUE221000$20,741$20,741
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$109,057,063TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$933,618TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$933,618ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$185OtherAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$3,261OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other-$3,076OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$3,076TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income-$3,076RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Sales Of Inventory$198,329GrossSalesOfInventoryAmt
Cost Of Goods Sold$221,040CostOfGoodsSoldAmt

Net Income Or Loss NetIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$22,711TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income-$22,711RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescPOLE ATTACHMENT INCOMEDesc
Business221000BusinessCd
Total Revenue Column$51,585TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$51,585ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$51,585OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$110,016,479TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$109,031,276RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$985,203ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part IXYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIXInd

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$56,618TotalAmt

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$9,157,834TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,431,326TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,959,417TotalAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$405,601TotalAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$925,376TotalAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$353,872TotalAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,252,177TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,482,531TotalAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmt
PURCHASED POWER$72,626,777
ADMIN & GENERAL EXPENSE$4,240,198
CONSUMER EXPENSE$4,153,975
DISTRIBUTION EXPENSE$2,428,223

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,524,904TotalAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$109,998,829TotalAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$6,300,946BOYAmt
EOY$10,227,895EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$500,000BOYAmt
EOY$178,962EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,836,669BOYAmt
EOY$2,926,300EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,888,101BOYAmt
EOY$1,939,614EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$997,180BOYAmt
EOY$656,481EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$154,862,572LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$35,401,303LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$118,909,190BOYAmt
EOY$119,461,269EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$30,064,010BOYAmt
EOY$30,359,099EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$47,962,137BOYAmt
EOY$50,672,702EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,637,560BOYAmt
EOY$2,654,495EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$212,095,793BOYAmt
EOY$219,076,817EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$6,837,504BOYAmt
EOY$10,171,703EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$8,239,627BOYAmt
EOY$7,195,498EOYAmt

Escrow Account Liability EscrowAccountLiabilityGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$263,749BOYAmt
EOY$258,556EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$73,618,435BOYAmt
EOY$71,841,553EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,947,810BOYAmt
EOY$6,323,571EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$94,907,125BOYAmt
EOY$95,790,881EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Org Does Not Follow FASB117Yes (X)OrgDoesNotFollowFASB117Ind

Cap Stk Tr Prin Current Funds CapStkTrPrinCurrentFundsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$514,135BOYAmt
EOY$575,015EOYAmt

Pd In Cap Srpls Land Bldg Eqp Fund PdInCapSrplsLandBldgEqpFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$116,674,533BOYAmt
EOY$122,710,921EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$117,188,668BOYAmt
EOY$123,285,936EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$212,095,793BOYAmt
EOY$219,076,817EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$17,650ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$6,079,618OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Info In Schedule O Part XIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Agent Trustee Etc0AgentTrusteeEtcInd
Incl Escrow Custodial Acct LiabYes (1)InclEscrowCustodialAcctLiabInd
Explanation ProvidedYes (X)ExplanationProvidedInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$1,234,601OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$1,234,601BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$26,926,254OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$6,183,096DepreciationAmt
Book Value$20,743,158BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$125,082,533OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$29,218,207DepreciationAmt
Book Value$95,864,326BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$1,619,184OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$1,619,184BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$119,461,269TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Securities OtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescTREASURY STRIPSDesc
Book Value$30,359,099BookValueAmt
Method ValuationCMethodValuationCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Securities$30,359,099TotalBookValueSecuritiesAmt

Invst Program Related Org InvstProgramRelatedOrgGrp (12 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmtMethod ValuationMethodValuationCd
CAPITAL TERM CERTIFICATES$738,569C
PATRONAGE CAPITAL - STEC$44,350,468C
PATRONAGE CAPITAL - CFC$280,180C
PATRONAGE CAPITAL - TEC$1,147,556C
PATRONAGE CAPITAL - NISC$173,132C
PATRONAGE CAPITAL - COBANK$2,511,422C
PATRONAGE CAPITAL - FEDERATED$587,362C
PATRONAGE CAPITAL - CRC$18,875C
PATRONAGE CAPITAL - NRTC$108,710C
PATRONAGE CAPITAL - VALLEY TELEPHONE$2,727C
OTHER INVESTMENTS - RESTRICTED ENERGY DEPOSIT & SCHOLARSHIP FUND$751,566C
MEMBERSHIPS IN ASSOCIATED ORGANIZATIONS$2,135C
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Program Rltd$50,672,702TotalBookValueProgramRltdAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (5 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
CONSUMER DEPOSITS$2,231,968
ADVANCES FOR CONSTRUCTION$2,698,331
UNCLAIMED PATRONAGE CAPITAL PAYABLE$746,345
ACCRUED OPERATING TAXES$529,235
ACCRUED EMPLOYEE INCENTIVE$117,692
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$6,323,571TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$109,154,715TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Revenue Not Reported$0RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$109,154,715RevenueSubtotalAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$861,764OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$861,764RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$110,016,479TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$99,979,231TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$99,979,231ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Other Expenses Not Included$10,019,598OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$10,019,598ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$109,998,829TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (6 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART IV, LINE 2B:PURSUANT TO SECTION 74.3013 OF THE TEXAS PROPERTY CODE, THE COOPERATIVE HAS ESTABLISHED A RURAL SCHOLARSHIP FUND WITH AMOUNTS DESIGNATED UNCLAIMED UNDER STATE LAW. THE AMOUNTS DEPOSITED INTO THE RURAL SCHOLARSHIP FUND ARE APPROVED BY THE STATE OF TEXAS AND CAN ONLY BE USED FOR SCHOLARSHIPS TO ENABLE STUDENTS FROM RURAL AREAS TO ATTEND COLLEGE, TECHNICAL SCHOOL OR OTHER POST SECONDARY EDUCATION INSTITUTION. ANY AMOUNTS SO DEPOSITED INTO THE RURAL SCHOLARSHIP FUND ARE STILL PAYABLE TO THE PERSON TO WHOM THE ORIGINAL PAYMENT WAS MADE BUT UNCLAIMED.
PART X, LINE 2:THE COOPERATIVE ADOPTED THE "UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS" PROVISIONS OF ACCOUNTING PRINCIPLES GENERALLY ACCEPTED IN THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA. THE PRIMARY TAX POSITION OF THE COOPERATIVE IS ITS FILING STATUS AS A TAX EXEMPT ENTITY. THE COOPERATIVE DETERMINED THAT IT IS MORE LIKELY THAN NOT THAT ITS TAX POSITION WILL BE SUSTAINED UPON EXAMINATION BY THE INTERNAL REVENUE SERVICE(IRS), OR OTHER STATE TAXING AUTHORITY AND THAT ALL TAX BENEFITS ARE LIKELY TO BE REALIZED UPON SETTLEMENT WITH TAXING AUTHORITIES.
PART XI, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:NON-OPERATING EXPENSE RECLASSIFIED AS FORM 990 EXPENSE 861,764.
PART XII, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:NON-OPERATING EXPENSE RECLASSIFIED AS FORM 990 EXPENSE 861,764. PATRONAGE CAPITAL ALLOCATED OR TO BE ALLOCATED 9,157,834.
PART IX:THE AMOUNT OF OTHER ASSETS ON FORM 990, PAGE 11, PART X, LINE 15 DOES NOT EQUAL OR EXCEED 5% OF THE TOTAL ASSETS ON FORM 990, PAGE 11, PART X, LINE 16, COLUMN B. THEREFORE, IN ACCORDANCE WITH IRS INSTRUCTIONS, SCHEDULE D, PART IX HAS BEEN LEFT BLANK.
PART XII, LINE 4B:FOR THE AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS, THE AMOUNT OF PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS PAID OR ALLOCATED TO THE MEMBERS IS REPORTED AS AN INCREASE IN EQUITY AND NOT AS AN EXPENSE. THEREFORE, NET INCOME PER THE AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS IS REPORTED GROSS OF THE AMOUNT OF PATRONAGE CAPITAL THAT ARE EITHER ALLOCATED OR TO BE ALLOCATED AT THE TIME THE AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE PREPARED. HOWEVER, BECAUSE THE ALLOCATION OF PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS IS ONE ASPECT OF HOW THE COOPERATIVE FULFILLS ITS TAX EXEMPT PURPOSE OF OPERATING ON A COOPERATIVE BASIS, THE AMOUNT OF PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS EITHER ALLOCATED OR TO BE ALLOCATED TO THE MEMBERS IS REPORTED ON FORM 990, PART IX, LINE 4 AS "BENEFITS PAID TO MEMBERS".

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records Maintained0GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Recipient Table RecipientTable (3 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdRecipient EINRecipientEINIRC SectionIRCSectionDescCash GrantCashGrantAmtNon Cash AssistanceNonCashAssistanceAmtPurpose Of GrantPurposeOfGrantTxtAddress Line2USAddress/AddressLine2Txt
NUECES CHARITIES INC
14353 COOPERATIVE AVECORPUS CHRISTITX78380742756238501(C)(3)$0$10,000CHARITIES DONATIONS 2022
BUCCANEER COMMISSION INC
PO BOX 30404CORPUS CHRISTITX78463741144093501(C)(3)$0$7,5002022 BUC DAY MILITARY APPRECIATION AND 2022 BUC DAY SPONSORSHIP.
MORALE WELFARE & RECREATION
601 NIMITZ AVE BLDG 3766 NAVAL AIRKINGSVILLETX78363741871775501(C)(3)$0$13,800WINGS OVER SOUTH TEXAS EVENTSTATION

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART II:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationALL GRANTS, SPONSORSHIPS AND/OR DONATIONS ARE MADE TO NON-PROFIT AND CIVIC ORGANIZATIONS THAT ARE LOCATED IN THE COOPERATIVE'S SERVICE AREA, AND ARE INTENDED TO IMPROVE THE COMMUNITIES IN WHICH OUR MEMBERS RESIDE.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Independent ConsultantYes (X)IndependentConsultantInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (9 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
VARZAVAND IRANI
CEO$267,962$0$27,497$0$17,261$0$96,492$0$29,218$0$438,430$0$0$0
SARAH FISHER
COO/ASSISTANT GM$156,986$0$13,325$0$22,268$0$104,658$0$32,371$0$329,608$0$0$0
ADRIANA PENA
CFO$140,603$0$10,646$0$6,413$0$93,006$0$31,185$0$281,853$0$0$0
FRANK WILSON
CRO$124,684$0$9,976$0$15,488$0$64,551$0$29,636$0$244,335$0$0$0
ROBERT HOLLOWAY
JOURNEY LINE WORKER$154,168$0$3,694$0$8,296$0$32,228$0$27,778$0$226,164$0$0$0
JUAN RIVERA
JOURNEY LINE WORKER$160,430$0$4,127$0$4,798$0$43,809$0$11,801$0$224,965$0$0$0
ALBERT PENA
JOURNEY LINE WORKER$126,901$0$2,972$0$4,094$0$41,517$0$27,799$0$203,283$0$0$0
RAYMUNDO PINA
JOURNEY LINE WORKER$126,266$0$3,299$0$14,786$0$27,419$0$29,232$0$201,002$0$0$0
JUAN GUZMAN
JOURNEY LINE WORKER$128,136$0$2,864$0$4,349$0$19,413$0$27,812$0$182,574$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART II, COLUMN C:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationINCLUDED IN THIS AMOUNT IS THE INCREASE IN ACTUARIAL VALUE OF BENEFITS PAYABLE UNDER A DEFINED BENEFIT RETIREMENT PLAN. THE CONTRIBUTION RATE FOR PARTICIPANTS IN THE NRECA R&S DEFINED BENEFIT PENSION PLAN ARE THE SAME FOR ALL INDIVIDUALS IN THIS MULTI-EMPLOYER PLAN. THE CHANGE IN ACTUARIAL VALUE FOR EACH PARTICIPANT, HOWEVER, VARIES WITH AGE, YEARS OF SERVICE AND THE CURRENT INTEREST RATE ENVIORNMENT. IN OTHER WORDS, THE OLDER A PLAN PARTICIPANT IS, THE GREATER THE INCREASE IN THAT INDIVIDUAL'S CHANGE IN ACTUARIAL VALUE, ALL OTHER THINGS BEING EQUAL. BECAUSE THIS RELATES TO A MULTI-EMPLOYER PLAN, CASH CONTRIBUTIONS TO THE PLAN IN LIEU OF THE ACTUARIAL INCREASE ARE EXPENSED IN THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS. VARZAVAND IRANI: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN $ 86,381 EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION TO 401(K) PLAN 10,111 TOTAL REPORTED IN COLUMN C $ 96,492 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN (86,381) ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTION TO DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN 49,584 EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE $ 59,695 SARAH FISHER: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN $ 98,353 EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION TO 401(K) PLAN 6,305 TOTAL REPORTED IN COLUMN C $104,658 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN (98,353) ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTION TO DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN 35,242 EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE $ 41,547 ADRIANA PENA: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN $ 87,782 EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION TO 401(K) PLAN 5,224 TOTAL REPORTED IN COLUMN C $ 93,006 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN (87,782) ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTION TO DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN 29,465 EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE $ 34,689 FRANK WILSON: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN $ 59,634 EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION TO 401(K) PLAN 4,917 TOTAL REPORTED IN COLUMN C $ 64,551 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN (59,634) ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTION TO DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN 27,741 EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE $ 32,658 ROBERT HOLLOWAY: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN $ 26,835 EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION TO 401(K) PLAN 5,393 TOTAL REPORTED IN COLUMN C $ 32,228 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN (26,835) ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTION TO DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN 19,067 EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE $ 24,460 JUAN RIVERA: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN $ 38,377 EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION TO 401(K) PLAN 5,432 TOTAL REPORTED IN COLUMN C $ 43,809 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN (38,377) ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTION TO DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN 19,067 EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE $ 24,499 ALBERT PENA: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN $ 37,169 EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION TO 401(K) PLAN 4,348 TOTAL REPORTED IN COLUMN C $ 41,517 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN (37,169) ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTION TO DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN 19,067 EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE $ 23,415 RAYMUNDO PINA: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN $ 22,655 EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION TO 401(K) PLAN 4,764 TOTAL REPORTED IN COLUMN C $ 27,419 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN (22,655) ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTION TO DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN 19,067 EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE $ 23,831 JUAN GUZMAN: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN $ 14,983 EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION TO 401(K) PLAN 4,430 TOTAL REPORTED IN COLUMN C $ 19,413 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN (14,983) ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTION TO DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN 17,333 EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE $ 21,763ExplanationTxt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (19 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART I:IN GENERAL, WHEN AN ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE BASES THE PATRONAGE DIVIDEND CALCULATION ON ITS NET BOOK INCOME/(LOSS), PAGE 1, PART I, LINE 19 - REVENUE LESS EXPENSES - WILL BE $0. FOR THE CURRENT YEAR, PAGE 1 , PART I, LINE 19 REPORTS A NET INCOME OF $17,650, WHICH IS THE INCOME STATEMENT EFFECT OF ACCRUED UNBILLED REVENUE. THE GAAP BASIS FINANCIAL STATEMENTS INCLUDE AN ACCRUAL FOR UNBILLED REVENUE BECAUSE THE COOPERATIVE'S BILLING CYCLE DOES NOT END ON THE LAST DAY OF THE MONTH. THEREFORE, IT HAS REVENUE IN DECEMBER OF EACH YEAR THAT IT HAS EARNED BUT WILL NOT BILL UNTIL THE FIRST BILLING CYCLE OF THE FOLLOWING YEAR. THE COOPERATIVE ESTIMATES THIS REVENUE AND RECORDS IT AS ACCRUED UNBILLED REVENUE IN ORDER TO MATCH THE REVENUE WITH THE YEAR EARNED. HOWEVER, THE COOPERATIVE ALLOCATES THE REVENUE TO MEMBERS IN THE YEAR IT IS BILLED RATHER THAN WHEN ACCRUED. THIS TIMING DIFFERENCE IS FAIR AND EQUITABLE BECAUSE IT MATCHES THE PATRONAGE DIVIDEND ALLOCATED WITH THE BILLING RECORDS USED TO ALLOCATE THE MARGINS. DUE TO THE TIMING OF WHEN THE COOPERATIVE ALLOCATES ACCRUED UNBILLED REVENUE, PAGE 1 , PART I, LINE 19 ANNUALLY REPORTS NET INCOME EQUAL TO THE NET INCREASE IN ACCRUED UNBILLED REVENUE OR A NET LOSS EQUAL TO THE NET DECREASE IN UNBILLED REVENUE. THE FOLLOWING SCHEDULE IS PROVIDED TO FURTHER EXPLAIN THE IMPACT OF THIS TRANSACTION: ADD: UNBILLED REVENUE 12/31/22 $ 2,646,207 LESS: UNBILLED REVENUE 12/31/21 (2,628,557) (A) - INCREASE EQUALS NET INCOME ON PAGE 1 $ 17,650 (B) - BENEFITS PAID TO MEMBERS (I.E. PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS), PART I, LINE 14 $ 9,157,834 TOTAL 2022 NET MARGIN (A + B) $ 9,175,484
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 6THE COOPERATIVE WAS FORMED BY THE MEMBERS TO PROVIDE ELECTRIC SERVICE AT COST ON A COOPERATIVE BASIS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7ATHE MEMBERS OF THE COOPERATIVE VOTE ON THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS. ELECTIONS ARE DONE ON A ONE MEMBER ONE VOTE BASIS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7BTHE FOLLOWING ACTS REQUIRE APPROVAL OF THE MEMBERS OF THE COOPERATIVE: 1. AMENDMENT TO THE ARTICLES OF INCORPORATION 2. DISPOSAL OF A SUBSTANTIAL PORTION OF THE COOPERATIVE'S ASSETS 3. DISSOLUTION AND LIQUIDATION OF THE COOPERATIVE 4. MERGER OR CONSOLIDATION OF THE COOPERATIVE WITH ANOTHER ORGANIZATION
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 8BTHE COOPERATIVE HAS NO COMMITTEES WITH AUTHORITY TO ACT ON BEHALF OF THE GOVERNING BODY. THEREFORE, AND PURSUANT TO FORM 990 INSTRUCTIONS, THE QUESTION HAS BEEN ANSWERED "NO".
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11BMANAGEMENT PRESENTED A COPY OF THE FORM 990 TO THE BOARD FOR DISCUSSION AND REVIEW PRIOR TO FILING.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12CDIRECTORS, OFFICERS AND KEY EMPLOYEES ARE REQUIRED TO DISCLOSE IMMEDIATELY ANY RELATIONSHIPS CONSIDERED TO BE A POSSIBLE CONFLICT OF INTEREST.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS USE THE EXPERTISE OF AN INDEPENDENT COMPENSATION CONSULTANT AND A COMPENSATION SURVEY WHEN DETERMINING THE COMPENSATION OF THE CEO. THE SURVEY SHOWS COMPARATIVE SALARIES FOR CEOS/GENERAL MANAGERS FROM SIMILARLY SITUATED COOPERATIVES LOCATED IN TEXAS AND THE NATION. THE BOARD AND THE CEO USE THE EXPERTISE OF AN INDEPENDENT COMPENSATION CONSULTANT AND A COMPENSATION SURVEY WHEN DETERMINING THE COMPENSATION OF THE COOPERATIVE'S OTHER EMPLOYEES MEETING THE DEFINITION OF OFFICER AND KEY EMPLOYEES, IF ANY. THE SURVEY INCLUDES SALARIES FROM SIMILARLY SITUATED COOPERATIVES THROUGHOUT TEXAS AND THE NATION.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19THE COOPERATIVE WILL PROVIDE A COPY OF ITS CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY TO ANY MEMBER REQUESTING A COPY. THE COOPERATIVE ALSO PROVIDES A COPY OF THE SUMMARIZED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS TO THE MEMBERS OF THE COOPERATIVE IN THE ANNUAL REPORT. ADDITIONALLY, THE BYLAWS, ARTICLES OF INCORPORATION, AND A FULL COPY OF AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE ALSO POSTED TO THE COOPERATIVE'S WEBSITE FOR THE MOST RECENTLY COMPLETED CALENDAR YEARS.
FORM 990, PARTS VI & VII:THE COOPERATIVE ANNUALLY PROVIDES EACH DIRECTOR WHO SERVED ON THE BOARD DURING THE YEAR A QUESTIONNAIRE. THE COMPLETED QUESTIONNAIRES ARE USED TO COMPLETE THE APPLICABLE QUESTIONS ON THE FORM 990 PERTAINING TO BUSINESS RELATIONSHIPS AMONG DIRECTORS, OFFICERS, AND KEY EMPLOYEES, AS WELL AS TO DETERMINE IF THERE ARE ANY TRANSACTIONS WHICH MUST BE REPORTED IN DETAIL ON SCHEDULE L - "TRANSACTIONS WITH INTERESTED PERSONS". IF THE COOPERATIVE WAS UNABLE TO OBTAIN A COMPLETED QUESTIONNAIRE, THE COOPERATIVE RELIED UPON THE COMPLETED INFORMATION FOR THE PRIOR YEAR. MR. HARTMAN IS NO LONGER A DIRECTOR OF THE BOARD; THEREFORE, HIS PRIOR YEAR QUESITONNAIRE WAS RELIED UPON WHILE PREPARING THE RETURN. THERE WERE NO KNOWN CHANGES FROM 2021 TO 2022.
FORM 990, PART VII, COLUMN F:IN ORDER TO PROVIDE RETIREMENT BENEFITS TO ITS EMPLOYEES, THE COOPERATIVE HAS ESTABLISHED A DEFINED CONTRIBUTION PLAN UNDER SECTION 401(K) OF THE INTERNAL REVENUE CODE. EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTIONS TO THE PLAN ARE MADE PURSUANT TO THE PLAN DOCUMENT. ADDITIONALLY, THE COOPERATIVE PARTICIPATES IN A MULTI-EMPLOYER DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN. CONTRIBUTIONS TO THIS PLAN ARE BASED ON THE FULL FUNDING LIMITATION OF SUCH PLAN. EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTIONS FOR BOTH PLANS ARE AVAILABLE TO PARTICIPATING EMPLOYEES, INCLUDING OFFICERS AND HIGHLY COMPENSATED EMPLOYEES, MEETING THE ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS OF SUCH PLANS. THE COOPERATIVE ALSO PROVIDES HEALTH, DENTAL, VISION AND LIFE INSURANCE TO ALL ELIGIBLE EMPLOYEES THROUGH A QUALIFIED PLAN. THE AMOUNTS REPORTED ON PART VII, COLUMN (F) FOR THE OFFICERS AND HIGHLY COMPENSATED EMPLOYEES IS COMPRISED OF ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN THE DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN, THE TOTAL AMOUNT CONTRIBUTED BY THE COOPERATIVE TO THE DEFINED CONTRIBUTION PLAN AND INSURANCE PAID ON BEHALF OF AND FOR THEIR BENEFIT.
FORM 990, PART VIII, LINE 2B:PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS RESULT FROM THE PURCHASE OF WHOLESALE POWER FROM A GENERATION & TRANSMISSION COOPERATIVE. PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS ALSO RESULT FROM THE PAYMENT OF INTEREST FROM COOPERATIVE BANKS AND THE PURCHASE OF SUPPLIES AND SERVICES FROM OTHER COOPERATIVE ORGANIZATIONS. THE EXPENSES ASSOCIATED WITH PURCHASES FROM AND PAYMENTS TO SUCH COOPERATIVE ORGANIZATIONS ARE A DIRECT COMPONENT OF COST OF THE ELECTRIC SERVICE PROVIDED BY THE COOPERATIVE TO ITS MEMBERS.
FORM 990, PART IX:ALTHOUGH THE COOPERATIVE IS NO LONGER AN RUS BORROWER, ITS ACCOUNTING RECORDS ARE MAINTAINED IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE RUS UNIFORM SYSTEM OF ACCOUNTS (USOA) PRESCRIBED FOR RUS ELECTRIC BORROWERS. THE USOA DOES NOT RECORD EXPENSES IN THE GENERAL EXPENSE CATEGORIES PROVIDED ON PART IX LINES 1-23. THE COOPERATIVE SEPARATELY REPORTS SALARIES AND WAGES, EMPLOYEE BENEFITS AND PAYROLL TAXES THAT ARE ALLOCATED IN ACCORDANCE WITH THEIR ACCOUNTING SYSTEM, BUT OTHER EXPENSES THAT ARE DESCRIBED IN LINES 1-23 ARE REPORTED ON LINE 24 UNDER THE EXPENSE CATEGORIES REQUIRED BY THE USOA.
FORM 990, PART IX, LINES 5-7:SALARIES AND WAGES ARE ALLOCATED TO ASSET, LIABILITY, AND EXPENSE ACCOUNTS BASED ON THE ACCOUNTING SYSTEM DESCRIBED ABOVE. THE FOLLOWING SCHEDULE RECONCILES AMOUNTS REPORTED ON LINES 5-7 TO THE TOTAL WAGES ACCRUED AND/OR PAID: TOTAL PER LINES 5-7 $ 5,390,743 LESS: DIRECTOR FEES REPORTED ON FORMS 1099-NEC (137,100) LESS: EMPLOYEE OFFICER BENEFITS REPORTED ON LINE 5 (481,117) PLUS: SALARIES AND WAGES ALLOCATED TO NONOPERATING MARGINS 9,132 PLUS: SALARIES AND WAGES CAPITALIZED DIRECTLY TO PLANT 1,750,901 PLUS: SALARIES AND WAGES CAPITALIZED/EXPENSED INDIRECTLY THROUGH CLEARING AND OTHER ACCOUNTS 358,289 TOTAL WAGES ACCRUED AND/OR PAID $ 6,890,848
FORM 990, PART IX, LINE 24:ADMINISTRATIVE & GENERAL EXPENSE IS COMPRISED OF THE FOLLOWING: ADMINISTRATIVE & GENERAL SALARIES, BENEFITS, & OTHER $ 1,527,472 OFFICE SUPPLIES 773,794 OUTSIDE SERVICES 367,021 INSURANCES 376,987 REGULATORY COMMISSION 378,431 DIRECTORS 167,119 DUES AND SUBSCRIPTIONS 128,999 ANNUAL MEETING 236,871 ADVERTISING 1,579,488 MISCELLANEOUS GENERAL 582,113 MAINTENANCE OF GENERAL PLANT 432,449 TOTAL ADMIN & GENERAL EXP PER FINANCIAL STATEMENTS $ 6,550,744 LESS: RECLASS OF DIRECTOR FEES TO PART IX, LINE 5 (137,100) LESS: RECLASS OF LABOR TO PART IX, LINES 5 & 7 (1,494,967) LESS: RECLASS OF BENEFITS TO PART IX, LINES 8-10 (678,479) TOTAL ADMIN & GENERAL EXPENSE PER FORM 990, PART IX $ 4,240,198
FORM 990, PART IX, LINE 4:PURSUANT TO THE FORM 990 INSTRUCTIONS, THE AMOUNT OF PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS PAID TO THE MEMBERS (HEREINAFTER REFERRED TO AS "PATRONS") SHOULD BE REPORTED ON PART IX, LINE 4. THE PHRASE "PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS PAID" REFERS TO THE PROCESS, SUBSEQUENT TO YEAR-END, BY WHICH THE COOPERATIVE ALLOCATES PATRONAGE CAPITAL TO AND, THEREFORE, OPERATES AT COST WITH ITS PATRONS. THE COOPERATIVE'S TAX EXEMPT PURPOSE IS TO PROVIDE ELECTRICITY TO ITS PATRONS AND TO DO SO ON A COOPERATIVE BASIS. TAX LAW DEFINES "OPERATING ON A COOPERATIVE BASIS" AS SUBORDINATION OF CAPITAL, DEMOCRATIC CONTROL, AND OPERATION AT COST. THE COOPERATIVE OPERATES AT COST THROUGH THE ALLOCATION OF TRUE PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS (ALSO REFERRED TO AS ALLOCATIONS OF PATRONAGE CAPITAL) TO ITS PATRONS. PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS ARE CONSIDERED PAID IF THE ALLOCATION IS MADE (1) PURSUANT TO A PRE-EXISTING OBLIGATION, (2) FROM THE MARGINS PRODUCED FROM THE TRANSACTIONS DONE WITH OR FOR PATRONS, AND (3) IN A FAIR AND EQUITABLE MANNER ON THE BASIS OF PATRONAGE (I.E. PURCHASES). ADDITIONALLY, THE ALLOCATION OF PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS SHOULD BE MADE WITHIN A REASONABLE TIME PERIOD AFTER THE CLOSE OF THE COOPERATIVE'S YEAR-END OF DECEMBER 31. EACH ONE OF THESE REQUIREMENTS FOR A TRUE PATRONAGE DIVIDEND IS PROVIDED FOR IN THE NON-PROFIT OPERATION ARTICLE OF THE COOPERATIVE'S BYLAWS. THE AMOUNT REPORTED ON PART IX, LINE 4 REPRESENTS THE AMOUNT OF PATRONAGE CAPITAL THAT IS EITHER ALLOCATED OR TO BE ALLOCATED TO THE PATRONS RESULTING FROM THEIR PURCHASE OF ELECTRICITY FROM THE COOPERATIVE FOR THE 2021 CALENDAR YEAR. BECAUSE PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS ARE THE PROCESS BY WHICH THE COOPERATIVE OPERATES AT COST WITH ITS PATRONS AND THEREBY A KEY COMPONENT TO ACCOMPLISHING ITS EXEMPT PURPOSE, THE COOPERATIVE HAS REPORTED SUCH AMOUNTS AS AN EXPENSE FOR FORM 990 REPORTING. PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS ARE NOT AN EXPENSE FOR FINANCIAL STATEMENTS PREPARED IN ACCORDANCE WITH GENERALLY ACCEPTED ACCOUNTING PRINCIPLES, HOWEVER.
FORM 990, PART IX, LINE 24E:OTHER EXPENSES ARE COMPRISED OF THE FOLLOWING: OTHER DEDUCTIONS $ 102,780 MILITARY PRIVATIZATION EXPENSES 861,764 PROPERTY AND GROSS RECEIPTS TAXES 1,560,360 TOTAL OTHER EXPENSES PER FORM 990, PART IX $ 2,524,904
FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9:PATRONAGE CAPITAL ALLOCATED OR TO BE ALLOCATED 9,157,834. PATRONAGE CAPITAL RETIRED - TOTAL -3,214,829. PATRONAGE CAPITAL RETIRED - DISCOUNT 75,727. NET CHANGE IN MEMBERSHIPS 60,880. UNBILLED REVENUE 6.
FORM 990, PART XII, LINE 2C:THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS HAVE ASSIGNED MEMBERS TO AN AUDIT COMMITTEE TO OVERSEE THE FINANCIAL STATEMENT AUDIT AND SELECT THE INDEPENDENT FINANCIAL STATEMENT AUDITOR. PROCEDURAL CHANGES DID NOT OCCUR DURING THE YEAR.

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp

Disregarded Entity Name DisregardedEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1NUECES ELECTRIC CHARITIES INCBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line114353 COOPERATIVE AVEAddressLine1Txt
CityROBSTOWNCityNm
State AbbreviationTXStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP78380ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN742756238EIN
Primary ActivitiesBETTERING THE QUALITY OF LIFE OF CITIZENS WITHIN THE SERVICE AREA.PrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateTXLegalDomicileStateCd
Exempt Code Section501(C)(3)ExemptCodeSectionTxt
Public Charity StatusLINE 7PublicCharityStatusTxt

Direct Controlling Entity Name DirectControllingEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1NUECES ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE INCBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Controlled OrganizationYes (1)ControlledOrganizationInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts Rylts0ReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth OrgYes (1)GiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth Org0GiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other Org0LoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth Org0LoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Div Related Organization0DivRelatedOrganizationInd
Asset Sale To Other Org0AssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other Org0AssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset Exchange0AssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth Org0RentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth Org0RentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth Org0PerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other Org0PerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of FacilitiesYes (1)SharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees SharingYes (1)PaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other Org0ReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other Org0ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other Org0TransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other Org0TransferFromOtherOrgInd

Transactions Related Org TransactionsRelatedOrgGrp (3 entries)

Transaction TypeTransactionTypeTxtMethod Of Amount DeterminationMethodOfAmountDeterminationTxt
NUECES ELECTRIC CHARITIES INC
NN/A - UNDER $50,000
NUECES ELECTRIC CHARITIES INC
BN/A - UNDER $50,000
NUECES ELECTRIC CHARITIES INC
ON/A - UNDER $50,000