STRATEGY STUDIO / PUBLIC DATA EXPLORER

SHENANDOAH VALLEY ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE INC: Form 990, tax year 2022

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
SHENANDOAH VALLEY ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE INC (EIN 54-0377465)
Tax period
2022-01-01 to 2022-12-31
Filed
2023-11-03
IRS object ID
202313079349301461
Schema version
2022v5.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2023-11-03T11:01:47-04:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2022-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN541320089PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1ADAMS JENKINS & CHEATHAMBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1231 WYLDEROSE DRAddressLine1Txt
CityMIDLOTHIANCityNm
State AbbreviationVAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP23113ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2022-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN540377465EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1SHENANDOAH VALLEY ELECTRICBusinessNameLine1Txt
Business Name Line2COOPERATIVEBusinessNameLine2Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlSHENBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone5404342200PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1180 OAKWOOD DRAddressLine1Txt
CityROCKINGHAMCityNm
State AbbreviationVAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP22801ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonGREGORY S ROGERSPersonNm
Person TitlePRESIDENT & CEOPersonTitleTxt
Phone5404342200PhoneNum
Signature2023-10-27SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (true)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Signing Officer SigningOfficerGrp

Person Full Name PersonFullName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Person FirstGREGPersonFirstNm
Person LastROGERSPersonLastNm
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SSN999009999SSN
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
IRS Responsible Prty Info CurrYes (true)IRSResponsiblePrtyInfoCurrInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonG STEVEN GILLIAM CPAPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00348264PTIN
Phone8043231313PhoneNum
Preparation2023-10-27PreparationDt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2022TaxYr
Build TS2023-04-26 12:10:37ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerGREGORY S ROGERSPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1180 OAKWOOD DRAddressLine1Txt
CityROCKINGHAMCityNm
State AbbreviationVAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP22801ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$277,120,588GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For AffiliatesfalseGroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501cYes (X)Organization501cInd
Website AddressWWW.SVEC.COOPWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1936FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateVALegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionPROVIDE RELIABLE AND SAFE ELECTRIC SERVICE AT THE BEST POSSIBLE VALUE WITHIN OUR COMMUNITIES, CONSISTENT WITH SOUND MANAGEMENT AND COOPERATIVE PRINCIPLES.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body10VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent10VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee256TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Gross UBI$176,054TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$175,054NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$3,967,000PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$0CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$235,245,414PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$274,494,342CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$215,203PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$1,281,467CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$1,323,629PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$1,230,193CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$240,751,246PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$277,006,002CYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$0CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$11,949,892PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$12,580,534CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$26,624,650PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$28,584,532CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$196,695,748PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$231,899,341CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$235,270,290PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$273,064,407CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$5,480,956PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$3,941,595CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$571,380,010TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$620,113,096TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$367,363,094TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$408,434,401TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$204,016,916NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$211,678,695NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionPROVIDE RELIABLE AND SAFE ELECTRIC SERVICE AT THE BEST POSSIBLE VALUE WITHIN OUR COMMUNITIES, CONSISTENT WITH SOUND MANAGEMENT AND COOPERATIVE PRINCIPLES.MissionDesc
Significant New Program SrvcfalseSignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant ChangefalseSignificantChangeInd
DescPROVIDE RELIABLE AND SAFE ELECTRIC SERVICE AT THE BEST POSSIBLE VALUE WITHIN OUR COMMUNITIES, CONSISTENT WITH SOUND MANAGEMENT AND COOPERATIVE PRINCIPLES. THE THREE LARGEST PROGRAM SERVICES AS MEASURED BY EXPENSES WERE AS FOLLOWS: COST OF POWER 184,317,504 OTHER SALARIES AND WAGES 22,776,825 DEPRECIATION EXPENSE 20,885,459Desc
Described In Section501c3falseDescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredfalseScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign ActyfalsePoliticalCampaignActyInd
Subject To Proxy TaxfalseSubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised FundfalseDonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation EasementsfalseConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of ArtfalseCollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingfalseCreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi EndowmentsfalseDonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (true)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecfalseReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstYes (true)ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsfalseReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (true)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (true)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (true)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtfalseConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingfalseSchoolOperatingInd
Foreign OfficefalseForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesfalseForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To OrgfalseMoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To IndividualsfalseMoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional FundraisingfalseProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising ActivitiesfalseFundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming ActivitiesfalseGamingActivitiesInd
Operate HospitalfalseOperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsfalseGrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsfalseGrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (true)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsfalseTaxExemptBondsInd
Loan OutstandingfalseLoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related PersonfalseGrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org MemfalseBusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemfalseBusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl EntfalseBusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContrifalseDeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art ContributionfalseDeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate OperationsfalseTerminateOperationsInd
Partial LiquidationfalsePartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityfalseDisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityfalseRelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntfalseRelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Activities Conducted PrtshpfalseActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (true)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document66IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (true)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee256EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (true)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (true)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (true)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial AccountfalseForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter TransfalseProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party NotificationfalseTaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible ContributionsfalseNondeductibleContributionsInd
Members And Shr Gross Income$269,351,664MembersAndShrGrossIncomeAmt
Other Sources Gross Income$6,714,785OtherSourcesGrossIncomeAmt
Indoor Tanning ServicesfalseIndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht PymtfalseSubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst IncfalseSubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members10GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member10IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business RlnfalseFamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt DutiesfalseDelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org DocumentsfalseChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or MisusefalseMaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (true)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (true)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (true)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (true)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (true)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing AddressfalseOfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersfalseLocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (true)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (true)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (true)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (true)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (true)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (true)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (true)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (true)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint VenturefalseInvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonSHENANDOAH VALLEY ELECTRIC COOPPersonNm
Phone5404342200PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1180 OAKWOOD DRAddressLine1Txt
CityROCKINGHAMCityNm
State AbbreviationVAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP22801ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part VIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIIInd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (17 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeIndIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorInd
GREGORY S ROGERS
PRESIDENT &60.00Yes (X)$399,682$0$97,037
JONATHAN M AULGUR
ASST SEC/TRE50.00Yes (X)$287,139$0$44,013
WAYNE D HANNAH JR
VP & CIO55.00$237,105$0$75,799Yes (X)
JASON E BURCH
VP ENGINEERI50.00$193,895$0$44,797Yes (X)
MICHAEL ALEXANDER
LEAD LINEMAN40.00$187,917$0$39,794Yes (X)
THOMAS H HANDLEY
DIRECTOR OF40.00$176,180$0$33,584Yes (X)
BENJAMIN CASH
MGR DISTRICT50.00$164,540$0$45,173Yes (X)
CA HELSLEY
SEC/TREAS5.00Yes (X)$33,985$0$0Yes (X)
TODD VAN HORN
DIRECTOR5.81$28,205$0$0Yes (X)
LARRY C HOWDYSHELL
DIRECTOR9.98$27,540$0$0Yes (X)
BILL ORNDOFF
CHAIR6.15Yes (X)$27,260$0$0Yes (X)
STEPHEN BURKHOLDER
DIRECTOR4.98$26,535$0$0Yes (X)
ROBBIE F MARCHANT
DIRECTOR7.61$26,200$0$0Yes (X)
SUZANNE OBENSHAIN
DIRECTOR7.33$25,975$0$0Yes (X)
JR DOFFLEMYER
VICE CHAIR4.20Yes (X)$25,590$0$0Yes (X)
BRENT ARBOGAST
DIRECTOR3.43$25,320$0$0Yes (X)
BRIAN PLUM
DIRECTOR3.56$25,100$0$0Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$1,918,168TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$380,197TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K82IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees ListedfalseFormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (true)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other SrcsfalseCompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
XYLEM TREE EXPERTS
208 E PLUME ST SUITE 250NORFOLKVA23510TREE TRIMMING$5,749,495
DAVIS H ELLIOTT CO
PO BOX 37251BALTIMOREMD21297R/W CONSTR$5,035,306
PIKE ENGINEERING
PO BOX 746315ATLANTAGA30374WORK ORDERS$1,249,665
AUGUSTA UTILITIES LLC
PO BOX 8VERONAVA24482LINE INSTALL$1,104,965
WEED CONTROL
800 CABIN HILL DRIVEGREENSBURGPA15601R/W SPRAYING$979,033
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K21CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
SALE AND DIST. OF ELECT.221000$269,351,664$269,351,664
CONTRIB IN AID OF CONSTRUCT221000$4,154,889$4,154,889
PATRONAGE ALLOC RECEIVED221000$987,789$987,789
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$274,494,342TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$1,212,976TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$1,212,976ExclusionAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Personal$1,294,435PersonalAmt

Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Personal$64,242PersonalAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Personal$1,230,193PersonalAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$1,230,193TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$176,054UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$1,054,139ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$118,835OtherAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$50,344OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$68,491OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$68,491TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$68,491ExclusionAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$277,006,002TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$274,494,342RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$176,054UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$2,335,606ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part IXYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIXInd

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$12,580,534TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,099,581TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$22,776,825TotalAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,831,033TotalAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,877,093TotalAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$521,655TotalAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,523,624TotalAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$89,919TotalAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$11,467,687TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$20,885,459TotalAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmt
COST OF POWER$184,317,504
DISTRIBUTION MAINTENANCE$11,436,549
DISTRIBUTION OPERATION$5,508,355
ADMIN & GENERAL$5,016,003

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total-$10,867,414TotalAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$273,064,407TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$11,749,812BOYAmt
EOY$12,919,897EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$45,803,175BOYAmt
EOY$69,696,642EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$30,467,489BOYAmt
EOY$34,509,285EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$7,537,117BOYAmt
EOY$10,702,416EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,011,980BOYAmt
EOY$2,511,475EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$650,676,110LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$228,067,801LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$409,014,408BOYAmt
EOY$422,608,309EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$63,910,263BOYAmt
EOY$66,264,937EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$885,766BOYAmt
EOY$900,135EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$571,380,010BOYAmt
EOY$620,113,096EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$16,832,038BOYAmt
EOY$25,947,669EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$336,727,671BOYAmt
EOY$374,410,307EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$13,803,385BOYAmt
EOY$8,076,425EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$367,363,094BOYAmt
EOY$408,434,401EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Org Does Not Follow FASB117Yes (X)OrgDoesNotFollowFASB117Ind

Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$204,016,916BOYAmt
EOY$211,678,695EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$204,016,916BOYAmt
EOY$211,678,695EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$571,380,010BOYAmt
EOY$620,113,096EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$3,941,595ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$3,720,184OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or ReviewfalseAccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (true)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (true)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredfalseFederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$650,676,110OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$228,067,801DepreciationAmt
Book Value$422,608,309BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$422,608,309TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Invst Program Related Org InvstProgramRelatedOrgGrp (4 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmtMethod ValuationMethodValuationCd
PATRONAGE CAPITAL ALLOCATIONS$64,748,365C
CAPITAL TERM CERTIFICATES$1,479,227C
BUILDING$36,320C
MEMBERSHIP FEES$1,025C
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Program Rltd$66,264,937TotalBookValueProgramRltdAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (3 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
CONSUMER DEPOSITS$5,091,706
OTHER CURRENT LIABILITIES$2,188,671
DEFERRED CREDITS$796,048
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$8,076,425TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$274,408,711TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Revenue$1,557,598OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported$1,557,598RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$272,851,113RevenueSubtotalAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$4,154,889OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$4,154,889RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$277,006,002TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$260,548,115TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Expenses Included$64,242OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$64,242ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$260,483,873ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Other Expenses Not Included$12,580,534OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$12,580,534ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$273,064,407TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (5 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
SCHEDULE D, PAGE 3, PART XTHE COOPERATIVE HAS BEEN GRANTED EXEMPTION FROM FEDERAL INCOME TAXATION UNDER INTERNAL REVENUE SERVICE CODE SECTION 501(C)(12). THE COOPERATIVE EVALUATES THE FILING POSITIONS IN ALL FEDERAL AND STATE JURISDICTIONS WHERE IT IS REQUIRED TO FILE INCOME TAX RETURNS, INCLUDING ITS STATUS AS A TAX- EXEMPT ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE ENTITY. THE COOPERATIVE BELIEVES ITS TREATMENT AS A TAX-EXEMPT UTILITY WILL BE SUSTAINED AND DOES NOT ANTICIPATE ANY ADJUSTMENT THAT WILL RESULT IN A MATERIAL CHANGE TO ITS FINANCIAL POSITION. THE COOPERATIVE IS NOT CURRENTLY UNDER AUDIT BY ANY TAX JURISDICTION.
SCHEDULE D, PAGE 4, PART XI, LINE 2DCASH PATRONAGE RECEIVED 1,501,961 TOWER EXPENSES NETTED IN REVENUE 64,242 UNREALIZED LOSS -8,605
SCHEDULE D, PAGE 4, PART XI, LINE 4BCONTRIBUTIONS IN AID OF CONSTRUCTION 4,154,889
SCHEDULE D, PAGE 4, PART XII, LINE 2DRENTAL EXPENSES NETTED AGAINST REVENUE 64,242
SCHEDULE D, PAGE 4, PART XII, LINE 4BPATRONAGE CREDITED TO MEMBER ACCOUNTS 12,580,534

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Travel For CompanionsYes (X)TravelForCompanionsInd
Written Policy Ref T And E ExpnssYes (true)WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd
Substantiation RequiredYes (true)SubstantiationRequiredInd
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Independent ConsultantYes (X)IndependentConsultantInd
Form990 Of Other OrganizationsYes (X)Form990OfOtherOrganizationsInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance PaymentfalseSeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanYes (true)SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp ArrngmfalseEquityBasedCompArrngmInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (7 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmount
GREGORY S ROGERS
PRESIDENT & CEO$399,682$81,500$15,537$496,719
JONATHAN M AULGUR
ASST SEC/TREAS$286,139$40,467$3,546$331,152$1,000
WAYNE D HANNAH JR
VP & CIO$236,105$60,516$15,283$312,904$1,000
JASON E BURCH
VP ENGINEERING$192,895$29,206$15,591$238,692$1,000
MICHAEL ALEXANDER
LEAD LINEMAN$186,917$29,764$10,030$227,711$1,000
THOMAS H HANDLEY
DIRECTOR OF FINANCE$176,180$31,195$2,389$209,764
BENJAMIN CASH
MGR DISTRICT OPS$163,540$30,729$14,444$209,713$1,000

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
SCHEDULE J, PAGE 1, PART I, LINE 4GREGORY S. ROGERS 0 20,500 0
SCHEDULE J, PART IIICERTAIN INDIVIDUALS PARTICIPATE IN A NONQUALIFIED EXECUTIVE BENEFIT RESTORATION PLAN (EBR)UNDER CODE SECTION 457(B), AS A RESULT OF HAVING BENEFITS UNDER THE QUALIFIED 401(K) PLAN RESTRICTED BECAUSE OF MAXIMUM LIMITS ON BENEFITS THAT MAY BE PROVIDED UNDER THE QUALIFIED 401(K) PLAN.

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (11 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990FORM 990, PART IX, LINE 4 PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS ARE PAID TO MEMBERS' ACCOUNTS IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE PRE-EXISTING OBLIGATION IN THE COOPERATIVE'S BYLAWS. THE COOPERATIVE IS OBLIGATED TO PAY BY CREDITS TO A CAPITAL ACCOUNT FOR EACH PATRON ALL SUCH AMOUNTS IN EXCESS OF OPERATING COSTS AND EXPENSES. IRS INSTRUCTIONS FOR LINE 4 CHANGED IN 2011 TO INCLUDE PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS PAID BY SECTION 501 (C)(12) ORGANIZATIONS TO THEIR MEMBERS. ACCORDINGLY, THESE AMOUNTS ARE INCLUDED IN LINE 4 OF PART IX. FORM 990 PART IX LINE 17 REPRESENTS ALL TRANSPORTATION EXPENSES INCLUDING MILEAGE, GAS, AND THE MAINTENANCE COSTS OF ALL VEHICLES OWNED BY THE COOPERATIVE.
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 6SHENANDOAH VALLEY ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE IS AN ELECTRIC MEMBERSHIP COOPERATIVE THAT DELIVERS ELECTRICITY TO THE MEMBERS OF SVEC.
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 7AMEMBERS OF THE GOVERNING BOARD ARE ELECTED BY THE MEMBERSHIP OF THE COOPERATIVE THROUGH DEMOCRATICALLY CONTESTED ELECTIONS. THE BOARD HAS REGULAR MONTHLY MEETINGS AND AN ANNUAL MEETING THAT IS OPEN TO THE ENTIRE MEMBERSHIP.
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 7BCERTAIN DECISIONS OF THE GOVERNING BODY ARE SUBJECT TO APPROVAL BY THE MEMBERS AS REQUIRED BY STATE LAW AND THE BYLAWS.
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 11BTHE PRESIDENT AND CEO OR A DESIGNEE WILL REVIEW THE 990 WITH THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS PRIOR TO FILING WITH THE IRS.
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 12CTHE COOPERATIVE'S LEGAL COUNSEL ANNUALLY REVIEWS THE CONFLICT OF INTEREST COMPLIANCE AND ENFORCEMENT WITH THE GOVERNING BOARD.
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 15ATHE GOVERNING BOARD'S COMPENSATION AND BENEFITS COMMITTEE DOES AN ANNUAL REVIEW OF THE CEO'S COMPENSATION AND BENEFITS. THIS IS DONE AFTER A THIRD PARTY REVIEW AND RECOMMENDATION.
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 15BTHE GOVERNING BOARD'S COMPENSATION AND BENEFITS COMMITTEE DOES AN ANNUAL REVIEW OF OFFICERS- AND KEY EMPLOYEES' COMPENSATION AND BENEFITS. THIS IS DONE AFTER A THIRD PARTY REVIEW OF THE OVERALL COMPENSATION.
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 19GOVERNING DOCUMENTS, POLICIES, FORM 990 AND FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE ALWAYS AVAILABLE UPON REQUEST. BYLAWS, RATES AND TERMS ARE DISCLOSED ON THE COOPERATIVE'S WEBSITE. FINANCIAL INFORMATION IS PRESENTED TO THE MEMBERSHIP EACH YEAR AT THE ANNUAL MEETING. THIS INFORMATION IS ALSO PUBLISHED IN THE COOPERATIVE'S MAGAZINE COOPERATIVE LIVING WITH LINKS AVAILABLE ON THE WEBSITE.
FORM 990, PART VIITHE COOPERATIVE PARTICIPATED IN THE NRECA GROUP DEFINED PENSION PLAN. AS PART OF THIS PLAN, PARTICIPANTS WERE REQUIRED TO RECOGNIZE THE ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN THE VALUE OF THEIR ACCOUNT ON FORM 990. THE CONTRIBUTION RATE FOR PARTICIPANTS IN THE PLAN WAS THE SAME FOR ALL INDIVIDUALS IN THE PLAN. THE CHANGE IN THE ACTUARIAL VALUE FOR EACH PARTICIPANT, HOWEVER, VARIED WITH AGE. IN OTHER WORDS, THE OLDER A PARTICIPANT IS, THE GREATER THE INCREASE IN THAT INDIVIDUAL'S CHANGE IN ACTUARIAL VALUE WITH ALL OTHER THINGS BEING EQUAL. THE RS PLAN IS NOW FROZEN.
FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9NET INCREASE IN MEMBERSHIPS 3,360 CHANGE IN DONATED CAPITAL 806,367 CASH PATRONAGE RECEIVED 1,501,961 PATRONAGE CAPITAL CREDITED TO MEMBER ACCOUNTS 12,580,534 RETIREMENT OF CAPITAL CREDITS -7,008,544 CONTRIBUTIONS IN AID OF CONSTRUCTION -4,154,889 UNREALIZED LOSS ON 457 PLAN -8,605 TOTAL 3,720,184