STRATEGY STUDIO / PUBLIC DATA EXPLORER

NORTH CENTRAL ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE INC: Form 990, tax year 2022

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
NORTH CENTRAL ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE INC (EIN 34-4316639)
Tax period
2022-01-01 to 2022-12-31
Filed
2023-11-14
IRS object ID
202313189349303151
Schema version
2022v5.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2023-11-14T08:35:40-06:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2022-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN363163136PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1LWG CPAS & ADVISORSBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11776 N MERIDIAN ST STE 500AddressLine1Txt
CityINDIANAPOLISCityNm
State AbbreviationINStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP46202ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2022-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN344316639EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1NORTH CENTRAL ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE INCBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlNORTBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone4406472133PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1350 STUMP PIKE ROADAddressLine1Txt
CityATTICACityNm
State AbbreviationOHStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP44807ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonEDWARD VANHOOSEPersonNm
Person TitlePRESIDENT/CEOPersonTitleTxt
Phone4406472133PhoneNum
Signature2023-10-24SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Signing Officer SigningOfficerGrp

Person Full Name PersonFullName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Person FirstEDWARDPersonFirstNm
Person LastVANHOOSEPersonLastNm
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SSN999009999SSN
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
IRS Responsible Prty Info Curr0IRSResponsiblePrtyInfoCurrInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonBRIAN D CHERRYPreparerPersonNm
PTINP01355823PTIN
Phone3176344747PhoneNum

Additional Filer Information AdditionalFilerInformation

Trusted Customer TrustedCustomerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Trusted Customer2TrustedCustomerCd
Authentication Assurance LevelAAL1AuthenticationAssuranceLevelCd
Identity Assurance LevelIAL1IdentityAssuranceLevelCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2022TaxYr
Build TS2023-04-26 12:10:37ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerEDWARD VANHOOSEPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1350 STUMP PIKE ROADAddressLine1Txt
CityATTICACityNm
State AbbreviationOHStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP44807ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$30,230,060GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501cYes (X)Organization501cInd
Website AddressNCELEC.ORGWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1936FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateOHLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionTO PROVIDE ELECTRICITY AND RELATED SERVICES TO MEMBERS.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body9VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent9VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee41TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers0TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$677,700PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$0CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$28,094,675PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$30,208,960CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$34,702PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$36,264CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$11,707PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue-$15,164CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$28,818,784PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$30,230,060CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$0PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$0CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$0PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$0CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$26,508,760PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$28,163,765CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$26,508,760PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$28,163,765CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$2,310,024PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$2,066,295CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$73,924,415TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$77,695,772TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$40,566,635TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$43,351,969TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$33,357,780NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$34,343,803NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionTO PROVIDE OUR MEMBER-OWNERS WITH HIGHLY RELIABLE ELECTRIC SERVICE, SUPERIOR CUSTOMER SERVICE AND INNOVATIVE ENERGY SOLUTIONS AT COMPETITIVE PRICES.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
Expense$28,163,765ExpenseAmt
Revenue$30,208,961RevenueAmt
DescPROVIDE ELECTRICITY AND RELATED SERVICES TO MEMBERS.Desc
Total Program Service Expenses$28,163,765TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c30DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B Required0ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi Endowments0DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecYes (1)ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl Stmt0IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J Required0ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl EntYes (1)BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (1)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document52IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Employee41EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns Filed0EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit0UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contributions0QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed Of0Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Members And Shr Gross Income$30,208,961MembersAndShrGrossIncomeAmt
Other Sources Gross Income$21,100OtherSourcesGrossIncomeAmt
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt0SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc0SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members9GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member9IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (1)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (1)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To Approva0DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention Policy0DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldOHStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Other WebsiteYes (X)OtherWebsiteInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1COLLEEN ANTHONYBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone4406472133PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1350 STUMP PIKE ROADAddressLine1Txt
CityATTICACityNm
State AbbreviationOHStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP44807ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (16 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
KEVIN BISHOP
SECRETARY3.88Yes (X)Yes (X)$11,375$0$0
ANDREW BROSE
DIRECTOR1.37Yes (X)$4,600$0$0
RONALD FRISCH
DIRECTOR2.94Yes (X)$8,450$0$0
DAVID GREEN
DIRECTOR1.63Yes (X)$7,250$0$0
MICHAEL SCHERGER
VICE CHAIR3.15Yes (X)Yes (X)$11,150$0$0
DENNIS SCHINDLER
DIRECTOR5.42Yes (X)$11,825$0$0
STEVEN SEITZ
TREASURER4.02Yes (X)Yes (X)$11,336$0$0
RODNEY SNAVELY
CHAIR6.35Yes (X)Yes (X)$16,275$0$0
NICHOLAS WAGNER
DIRECTOR7.27Yes (X)$13,925$0$0
EDWARD VANHOOSE
PRESIDENT/CEO60.00Yes (X)$121,642$0$10,521
BRAD WARNEMENT
CHIEF OPERATING OFFICER53.85Yes (X)$69,598$0$11,139
BRIAN MILLER
LINEMAN46.52$109,701$0$21,624Yes (X)
PATRICK PIFHER
ENGINEERING SERVICES MANAGER42.92$106,086$0$22,903Yes (X)
DANIEL REER
LINEMAN44.42$104,870$0$3,903Yes (X)
RANDALL PHILLIPS
OPERATIONS MANAGER45.00$104,544$0$15,641Yes (X)
CURT REITER
LINEMAN44.96$102,090$0$8,977Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$814,717TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$94,708TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K9IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 K0TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (2 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
SPENCER'S TREE & LANDSCAPE
4291 KING ROADBUCYRUSOH44820TREE SERVICES$308,342
BUCKEYE BORING AND EXCAVATING LLC
5688 STATE HWY 231SYCAMOREOH44882BORING SERVICES$225,916
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K2CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (5 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
RESIDENTIAL SALES221000$18,962,794$18,962,794
COMMERCIAL SALES - LARGE221000$5,399,988$5,399,988
COMMERCIAL SALES- SMALL221000$3,842,860$3,842,860
PATRONAGE CAPITAL CREDITS900001$951,259$951,259
PUBLIC REVENUES221000$708,419$708,419

Total Oth Program Service Rev TotalOthProgramServiceRevGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$343,640TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$343,640RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$30,208,960TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$36,264TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$36,264ExclusionAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescMISC REVENUE/EXPDesc
Business221000BusinessCd
Total Revenue Column-$41,830TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income-$41,830RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt

Miscellaneous Revenue MiscellaneousRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$26,666TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$26,666ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total-$15,164OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$30,230,060TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$30,167,130RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$62,930ExclusionAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,285,152TotalAmt
Program Services$1,285,152ProgramServicesAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,781,345TotalAmt
Program Services$2,781,345ProgramServicesAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmt
PURCHASED POWER$17,129,073$17,129,073
OPERATIONS EXPENSE$2,146,920$2,146,920
GENERAL AND ADMINISTRAT$2,134,137$2,134,137
MAINTENANCE EXPENSE$1,173,145$1,173,145

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,513,993TotalAmt
Program Services$1,513,993ProgramServicesAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$28,163,765TotalAmt
Program Services$28,163,765ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$292,277BOYAmt
EOY$363,611EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,000,927BOYAmt
EOY$53,195EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,507,983BOYAmt
EOY$2,874,937EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$7,417BOYAmt
EOY$7,413EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$609,987BOYAmt
EOY$1,013,203EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$485,763BOYAmt
EOY$360,999EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$88,728,856LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$29,316,843LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$55,444,229BOYAmt
EOY$59,412,013EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$13,575,832BOYAmt
EOY$13,610,401EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$73,924,415BOYAmt
EOY$77,695,772EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,315,571BOYAmt
EOY$7,332,700EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$34,643,890BOYAmt
EOY$33,142,334EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,607,174BOYAmt
EOY$2,876,935EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$40,566,635BOYAmt
EOY$43,351,969EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Org Does Not Follow FASB117Yes (X)OrgDoesNotFollowFASB117Ind

Cap Stk Tr Prin Current Funds CapStkTrPrinCurrentFundsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$80,980BOYAmt
EOY$80,980EOYAmt

Pd In Cap Srpls Land Bldg Eqp Fund PdInCapSrplsLandBldgEqpFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$33,276,800BOYAmt
EOY$34,262,823EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$33,357,780BOYAmt
EOY$34,343,803EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$73,924,415BOYAmt
EOY$77,695,772EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$2,066,295ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets-$1,080,272OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Info In Schedule O Part XIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$210,718OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$210,718BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$5,820,994OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$2,094,798DepreciationAmt
Book Value$3,726,196BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$82,697,144OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$27,222,045DepreciationAmt
Book Value$55,475,099BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$59,412,013TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Securities OtherSecuritiesGrp (10 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmtMethod ValuationMethodValuationCd
PATRONAGE CAPITAL FROM ASSOCIATED C$11,579,270C
INVESTMENTS TO CAPITAL CERTIFICATES$636,365C
OTHER INVESTMENTS IN ASSOC ORG - BU$1,191,765C
INVESTMENT IN NCAD$1,000C
INVESTMENT IN FESCO$1,000C
INVESTMENT IN HEARTLAND LLC$197,936C
INVESTMENT IN COBANK$1,100C
INVESTMENT IN ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT$865C
CADP MBSHP$100C
OTHER INVESTMENTS IN ASSOC ORG - CF$1,000C
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Securities$13,610,401TotalBookValueSecuritiesAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (5 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
ACCUMULATED PROVISION FOR PENSIONS$1,175,676
ACCUMULATED PROVISION FOR DEFERRED$175,034
CUSTOMER DEPOSITS$276,137
ACCRUED EMPLOYEES LEAVE - VACATION$1,079,930
DEFERRED CAPITAL CREDIT RETIREMENT$170,158
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$2,876,935TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$30,230,060TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Revenue Not Reported$0RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$30,230,060RevenueSubtotalAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$0RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$30,230,060TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$28,163,765TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$28,163,765ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$0ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$28,163,765TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART X, LINE 2:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationTHE COOPERATIVE BELIEVES THEY ARE NOT TAKING ANY UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS.ExplanationTxt

Schedule L IRS990ScheduleL

Bus Tr Involve Interested Prsn BusTrInvolveInterestedPrsnGrp (2 entries)

Relationship DescriptionRelationshipDescriptionTxtTransactionTransactionAmtSharing Of RevenuesSharingOfRevenuesInd
EDWARD VANHOOSE
SEE BELOW$17,129,0730
NICK WAGNER
SEE BELOW$240,6870

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
SCHEDULE L, PART IV, LINE 1MR. VANHOOSE IS THE PRESIDENT/CEO OF THE COOPERATIVE AND DIRECTOR FOR BUCKEYE POWER. NORTH CENTRAL ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE HAS AN AGREEMENT TO PURCHASE POWER FROM BUCKEYE POWER.
SCHEDULE L, PART IV, LINE 3MR. WAGNER IS BOTH A DIRECTOR FOR THE COOPERATIVE AND A DIRECTOR FOR THE STATEWIDE ORGANIZATION, OHIO RURAL ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE. THE COOPERATIVE PAYS ANNUAL DUES FOR TRAINING AND OTHER SERVICES PROVIDED BY THE STATEWIDE ORGANIZATION.

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (9 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 6MEMBERS OF THE COOPERATIVE EACH HAVE A VOTE AT THE ANNUAL MEETING TO ELECT DIRECTORS AND VOTE ON PROPOSED CHANGES TO THE COOPERATIVE'S BYLAWS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7ATHE MEMBERSHIP ELECTS BOARD MEMBERS AT THE ANNUAL MEETING.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11BTHE EXAMINATION AND DISCUSSION OF EACH YEAR'S FORM 990 IS PLACED ON THE AGENDA OF THE REGULAR BOARD MEETING. THE 990 IS THOROUGHLY REVIEWED. NECESSARY CHANGES, IF ANY, ARE APPROVED BY MANAGEMENT AND COMMUNICATED TO THE BOARD.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12CDIRECTORS ARE REQUIRED ANNUALLY TO DISCLOSE ALL INTEREST THAT COULD GIVE RISE TO CONFLICT. EACH DIRECTOR COMPLETES AND SIGNS A QUESTIONNAIRE ADDRESSING CONFLICTS OF INTEREST AND BUSINESS RELATIONSHIPS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15EMPLOYEE COMPENSATION LEVELS ARE REVIEWED ANNUALLY USING INDUSTRY SURVEY DATA.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 18RECORDS ARE MADE AVAILABLE UPON REQUEST
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19BYLAWS ARE AVAILABLE UPON REQUEST. FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE AVAILABLE AT THE ANNUAL MEETING. THIS INFORMATION IS ALSO AVAILABLE UPON REQUEST.
FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9:CAPITAL CREDIT RETIREMENTS -1,080,492. CHANGE IN MEMBERSHIPS 220.
FORM 990, PART XII, LINE 2CTHE BOARD OF DIRECTORS ASSUME RESPONSBILITY FOR OVERSIGHT OF THE AUDIT OF ITS FINANCIAL STATEMENTS AND SELECTION OF AN INDEPENDENT AUDITOR.

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Related Org Txbl Corp Tr IdRelatedOrgTxblCorpTrGrp

Related Organization Name RelatedOrganizationName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1FEDERATED ENERGY SERVICES COOPERATIVE INCBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 475AddressLine1Txt
CityATTICACityNm
State AbbreviationOHStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP44807ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN341851918EIN
Primary ActivitiesSERVICE MANAGEMENTPrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateOHLegalDomicileStateCd
Entity TypeCEntityTypeTxt
Ownership0.50000OwnershipPct
Controlled Organization0ControlledOrganizationInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts Rylts0ReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth Org0GiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth Org0GiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other Org0LoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth Org0LoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Div Related Organization0DivRelatedOrganizationInd
Asset Sale To Other Org0AssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other Org0AssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset Exchange0AssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth Org0RentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth Org0RentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth Org0PerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other Org0PerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of Facilities0SharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees SharingYes (1)PaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other OrgYes (1)ReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other OrgYes (1)ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other Org0TransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other Org0TransferFromOtherOrgInd

Transactions Related Org TransactionsRelatedOrgGrp

Other Organization Name OtherOrganizationName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1FEDERATED ENERGY SERVICES COOPERATIVE INCBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Transaction TypeOTransactionTypeTxt
Involved$1,405,757InvolvedAmt
Method Of Amount DeterminationSEE SUPPLEMENTAL EXPLANATIONSMethodOfAmountDeterminationTxt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceFORM 990, SCHEDULE R, PART V, LINE 10FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationEDWARD VANHOOSE, PRESIDENT/CEO, AND BRAD WARNEMENT, CHIEF OPERATING OFFICER - WAGES AND BENEFITS ARE ALLOCATED AMONG NORTH CENTRAL ELECTRIC AND LORAIN-MEDINA RURAL ELECTRIC COOPERATIVES. WAGES AND BENEFITS ARE PAID BY FESCO. LORAIN-MEDINA RURAL ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE AND NORTH CENTRAL ELECTRIC PAY FESCO FOR EMPLOYEE WAGES AND BENEFITS. FESCO RECONCILES ANY AMOUNTS OWED BETWEEN THE TWO COOPERATIVES FOR THE WAGES AND BENEFITS.ExplanationTxt