WOODMEN OF THE WORLD LIFE INSURANCE SOCIETY: Form 990, tax year 2022
View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗
- Organization
- WOODMEN OF THE WORLD LIFE INSURANCE SOCIETY (EIN 47-0339250)
- Tax period
- 2022-01-01 to 2022-12-31
- Filed
- 2023-11-14
- IRS object ID
- 202313189349308196
- Schema version
- 2022v5.0
- Source
- Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica
Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.
Return header ReturnHeader
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return | 2023-11-14T13:33:45-05:00 | ReturnTs |
| Tax Period End | 2022-12-31 | TaxPeriodEndDt |
| Return Type | 990 | ReturnTypeCd |
| Tax Period Begin | 2022-01-01 | TaxPeriodBeginDt |
Filer Filer
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EIN | 470339250 | EIN |
Business Name BusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | WOODMEN OF THE WORLD LIFE INSURANCE | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Business Name Line2 | SOCIETY | BusinessNameLine2Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Control | WOOD | BusinessNameControlTxt |
| Phone | 4023421890 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 1700 FARNAM STREET SUITE 2200 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | OMAHA | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | NE | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 681022025 | ZIPCd |
Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person | AARON COOPER | PersonNm |
| Person Title | DIR, ACCT SUPPORT | PersonTitleTxt |
| Phone | 4023421890 | PhoneNum |
| Signature | 2023-11-14 | SignatureDt |
Signing Officer SigningOfficerGrp
Person Full Name PersonFullName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person First | AARON | PersonFirstNm |
| Person Last | COOPER | PersonLastNm |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| SSN | 999009999 | SSN |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| IRS Responsible Prty Info Curr | false | IRSResponsiblePrtyInfoCurrInd |
| Tax | 2022 | TaxYr |
| Build TS | 2023-04-26 12:10:37Z | BuildTS |
Form 990 IRS990
Doing Business As Name DoingBusinessAsName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | WOODMENLIFE | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
Principal Ofcr Business Name PrincipalOfcrBusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | DENISE M MCCAULEY | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 1700 FARNAM ST | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | OMAHA | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | NE | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 68102 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Gross Receipts | $2,547,367,021 | GrossReceiptsAmt |
| Group Return For Affiliates | false | GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd |
| Organization501c | Yes (X) | Organization501cInd |
| Website Address | WOODMENLIFE.ORG | WebsiteAddressTxt |
| Type Of Organization Corp | Yes (X) | TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd |
| Formation | 1890 | FormationYr |
| Legal Domicile State | NE | LegalDomicileStateCd |
| Activity Or Mission | UNITING HARDWORKING AMERICANS TO SECURE THEIR FINANCIAL FUTURE WHILE STRENGTHENING OUR COMMUNITIES AND COUNTRY. | ActivityOrMissionDesc |
| Voting Members Governing Body | 13 | VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt |
| Voting Members Independent | 9 | VotingMembersIndependentCnt |
| Total Employee | 973 | TotalEmployeeCnt |
| Total Volunteers | 18417 | TotalVolunteersCnt |
| Total Gross UBI | $1,030,791 | TotalGrossUBIAmt |
| Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm | $144,130 | NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt |
| CY Contributions Grants | $0 | CYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| PY Program Service Revenue | $576,584,190 | PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| CY Program Service Revenue | $651,810,047 | CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| PY Investment Income | $435,927,357 | PYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| CY Investment Income | $349,606,513 | CYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| PY Other Revenue | $8,108,267 | PYOtherRevenueAmt |
| CY Other Revenue | $4,064,165 | CYOtherRevenueAmt |
| PY Total Revenue | $1,020,619,814 | PYTotalRevenueAmt |
| CY Total Revenue | $1,005,480,725 | CYTotalRevenueAmt |
| PY Grants And Similar Paid | $1,294,040 | PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| CY Grants And Similar Paid | $953,071 | CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| PY Benefits Paid To Members | $696,417,910 | PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| CY Benefits Paid To Members | $810,594,634 | CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $89,939,202 | PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $69,522,607 | CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Fundraising Expense | $0 | CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt |
| PY Other Expenses | $164,388,254 | PYOtherExpensesAmt |
| CY Other Expenses | $118,243,401 | CYOtherExpensesAmt |
| PY Total Expenses | $952,039,406 | PYTotalExpensesAmt |
| CY Total Expenses | $999,313,713 | CYTotalExpensesAmt |
| PY Revenues Less Expenses | $68,580,408 | PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| CY Revenues Less Expenses | $6,167,012 | CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| Total Assets BOY | $11,463,649,522 | TotalAssetsBOYAmt |
| Total Assets EOY | $11,059,800,916 | TotalAssetsEOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities BOY | $9,738,606,414 | TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities EOY | $9,384,955,343 | TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY | $1,725,043,108 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY | $1,674,845,573 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt |
| Info In Schedule O Part III | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd |
| Mission | UNITING HARDWORKING AMERICANS TO SECURE THEIR FINANCIAL FUTURE WHILE STRENGTHENING OUR COMMUNITIES AND COUNTRY. | MissionDesc |
| Significant New Program Srvc | false | SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd |
| Significant Change | false | SignificantChangeInd |
| Desc | WOODMENLIFE EXTRAS: WOODMENLIFE OFFERS A VARIETY OF EXCLUSIVE BENEFITS AND DISCOUNTS TO OUR MEMBERS AT NO EXTRA COST, JUST FOR DOING BUSINESS WITH US. SOME OF THE NON-CONTRACTUAL BENEFITS AVAILABLE TO ELIGIBLE WOODMENLIFE MEMBERS INCLUDE: FIRST RESPONDERS BENEFIT - WOODMENLIFE WILL PAY A 25,000 BENEFIT IF A GOOD-STANDING MEMBER IS KILLED WHILE PERFORMING HIS/HER DUTIES AS A NON- MILITARY FIRST RESPONDER. FIRST RESPONDERS MAY INCLUDE FIREFIGHTERS, EMTS AND PARAMEDICS, POLICE, OR A PERSON PERFORMING A SUPPORTING ROLE TO SUCH INDIVIDUALS. FAMILY LEGACY BENEFIT - WOODMENLIFE OFFERS 1,000 PER MONTH FOR THE CARE OF MEMBERS' CHILDREN IF THEY ARE ORPHANED. NATURAL DISASTER BENEFIT - QUALIFIED MEMBERS WHOSE HOMES ARE DAMAGED OR DESTROYED BY NATURAL DISASTERS, SUCH AS HURRICANES, TORNADOES, FLOODS, WILD/FOREST FIRES, OR EARTHQUAKES, MAY BE ELIGIBLE FOR UP TO 1,000 TO HELP WITH HOME REPAIR COSTS. LIFE'S PERKS - THIS EASY-TO-USE MEMBER DISCOUNT PROGRAM OFFERS SAVINGS ON BRAND-NAME ITEMS FROM MORE THAN 30,000 LOCAL AND NATIONAL RETAILERS. MEMBERS CAN SAVE MONEY ON EVERYDAY ITEMS LIKE CELL PHONES, RESTAURANTS AND WHOLESALE CLUB MEMBERSHIPS, AND ON MAJOR PURCHASES LIKE AUTOMOBILES, HOMES AND FURNITURE. WOODMENLIFE FOCUS FORWARD SCHOLARSHIP - THROUGH THE WOODMENLIFE FOCUS FORWARD SCHOLARSHIP, MORE THAN 4,000 SCHOLARSHIPS WORTH 2.7 MILLION HAVE BEEN AWARDED TO HIGH SCHOOL GRADUATES SINCE 2017. SCHOLARSHIPS MAY BE USED AT COLLEGES, UNIVERSITIES AND TRADE SCHOOLS, AND SCHOLARSHIP MONEY CAN BE USED FOR EDUCATION-RELATED EXPENSES, WHICH INCLUDE TUITION, FEES, BOOKS, SUPPLIES AND ROOM AND BOARD. STUDENT LOAN RELIEF - EVERY YEAR, WOODMENLIFE GIVES UP TO 200 1,000 AWARDS TO ELIGIBLE MEMBERS. RECIPIENTS ARE SELECTED BASED ON COMMUNITY SERVICE, PATRIOTISM AND LOAN STATEMENTS. LAWASSURETM -LAWASSURE GIVES WOODMENLIFE MEMBERS THE ABILITY TO CREATE CUSTOMIZED WILLS, POWERS OF ATTORNEY AND HEALTHCARE DIRECTIVES WITH FREE, EASY-TO-USE ONLINE TEMPLATES. GIVING TOGETHER - THE GIVING TOGETHER PROGRAM PROVIDES FUNDING FOR SALES REPRESENTATIVES TO ORGANIZE AND CONDUCT COMMUNITY BEAUTIFICATION PROJECTS, SUCH AS PAINTING AT YOUTH FOOTBALL FIELDS AND LANDSCAPING AT SCHOOLS AND COMMUNITY CENTERS. COMMUNITY IMPROVEMENT FUNDS - WOODMENLIFE ALLOCATES FUNDS TO LOCAL CHAPTERS AND COMMUNITIES THAT SUPPORT OUR SHARED COMMITMENT TO FAMILY, COMMUNITY AND COUNTRY. THESE FUNDS HELP MEMBERS PROVIDE FOR LOCAL NEEDS AND GIVE MEMBERS A VOICE IN DECIDING WHICH CAUSES MATTER MOST TO THEM. ANNUAL REGIONAL EVENTS - IN 2022, WOODMENLIFE INTRODUCED ANNUAL REGIONAL EVENTS (ARES) TO MEMBERS ACROSS THE COUNTRY. THESE EVENTS ARE DESIGNED TO HELP PEOPLE COLLABORATE, AS WELL AS TO EDUCATE, AND RECOGNIZE CHAPTERS AND MEMBERS FOR THEIR CONTRIBUTIONS TO THE COMMUNITY. THEY ARE ANOTHER WAY FOR WOODMENLIFE TO CULTIVATE RELATIONSHIPS AMONG THE WOODMENLIFE FAMILY. THERE WERE 32 ARES HELD IN 2022 | Desc |
Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Desc | PATRIOTIC PROGRAM: WOODMENLIFE'S PATRIOTIC PROGRAM WAS LAUNCHED MORE THAN 75 YEARS AGO IN SUPPORT OF THE ORGANIZATION'S COMMON BOND FOCUS ON OUR COUNTRY. SINCE 1947, THE ORGANIZATION HAS DONATED MORE THAN 3.5 MILLION FLAGS TO NONPROFIT ORGANIZATIONS, SCHOOLS AND COMMUNITIES. WOODMENLIFE IS THE SECOND LARGEST PURCHASER OF AMERICAN FLAGS BEHIND THE UNITED STATES GOVERNMENT. AS PART OF THE PATRIOTIC PROGRAM, CHAPTERS ARE ENCOURAGED TO PLAN AND PARTICIPATE IN FLAGS ACROSS AMERICA PROJECTS ON JUNE 14 AND IN HONOR AND REMEMBRANCE CEREMONIES ON SEPTEMBER 11. THEY ALSO PLAN COMMUNITY SERVICE PROJECTS FOR VETERANS DAY, MEMORIAL DAY AND INDEPENDENCE DAY. IN ADDITION, WOODMENLIFE HAS PARTNERED WITH THE GARY SINISE FOUNDATION TO FURTHER SUPPORT THEIR MISSION OF HONORING OUR DEFENDERS, VETERANS, FIRST RESPONDERS, THEIR FAMILIES, AND THOSE IN NEED. | Desc |
Prog Srvc Accom Acty3 ProgSrvcAccomActy3Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Desc | FIGHTING HUNGER - WOODMENLIFE MADE FIGHTING HUNGER ITS NATIONAL COMMUNITY FOCUS IN 2015. THIS FOCUS UNITES MEMBERS OF THE WOODMENLIFE FAMILY, AS WELL AS OUR SALES REPRESENTATIVES AND HOME OFFICE ASSOCIATES. HUNGER-FIGHTING EFFORTS INCLUDE COMMUNITY FOOD DRIVES, BACKPACK STUFFING EVENTS, SORTING DONATIONS AT LOCAL FOOD BANKS, SERVING MEALS AT COMMUNITY KITCHENS, AND HOLDING COOKING FUNDRAISERS. WOODMENLIFE ALSO SUPPORTS THIS EFFORT THROUGH ITS CORPORATE GIVING. SINCE 2015, WOODMENLIFE AND ITS MEMBERS HAVE COLLECTED NEARLY 1.2 MILLION POUNDS OF FOOD AND DONATED NEARLY 3.4 MILLION DOLLARS. | Desc |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Described In Section501c3 | false | DescribedInSection501c3Ind |
| Schedule B Required | false | ScheduleBRequiredInd |
| Political Campaign Acty | Yes (true) | PoliticalCampaignActyInd |
| Subject To Proxy Tax | false | SubjectToProxyTaxInd |
| Donor Advised Fund | false | DonorAdvisedFundInd |
| Conservation Easements | false | ConservationEasementsInd |
| Collections Of Art | false | CollectionsOfArtInd |
| Credit Counseling | false | CreditCounselingInd |
| Donor Rstr Or Quasi Endowments | false | DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd |
| Report Land Building Equipment | Yes (true) | ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd |
| Report Investments Other Sec | Yes (true) | ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd |
| Report Program Related Invst | false | ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd |
| Report Other Assets | Yes (true) | ReportOtherAssetsInd |
| Report Other Liabilities | Yes (true) | ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd |
| Include FIN48 Footnote | false | IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd |
| Independent Audit Fincl Stmt | Yes (true) | IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd |
| Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt | false | ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd |
| School Operating | false | SchoolOperatingInd |
| Foreign Office | false | ForeignOfficeInd |
| Foreign Activities | Yes (true) | ForeignActivitiesInd |
| More Than5000 K To Org | false | MoreThan5000KToOrgInd |
| More Than5000 K To Individuals | false | MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd |
| Professional Fundraising | false | ProfessionalFundraisingInd |
| Fundraising Activities | false | FundraisingActivitiesInd |
| Gaming Activities | false | GamingActivitiesInd |
| Operate Hospital | false | OperateHospitalInd |
| Grants To Organizations | Yes (true) | GrantsToOrganizationsInd |
| Grants To Individuals | Yes (true) | GrantsToIndividualsInd |
| Schedule J Required | Yes (true) | ScheduleJRequiredInd |
| Tax Exempt Bonds | false | TaxExemptBondsInd |
| Loan Outstanding | false | LoanOutstandingInd |
| Grant To Related Person | false | GrantToRelatedPersonInd |
| Business Rln With Org Mem | false | BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd |
| Business Rln With Fam Mem | false | BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd |
| Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent | false | BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd |
| Deductible Non Cash Contri | false | DeductibleNonCashContriInd |
| Deductible Art Contribution | false | DeductibleArtContributionInd |
| Terminate Operations | false | TerminateOperationsInd |
| Partial Liquidation | false | PartialLiquidationInd |
| Disregarded Entity | false | DisregardedEntityInd |
| Related Entity | Yes (true) | RelatedEntityInd |
| Related Organization Ctrl Ent | Yes (true) | RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd |
| Transaction With Control Ent | Yes (true) | TransactionWithControlEntInd |
| Activities Conducted Prtshp | false | ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd |
| Schedule O Required | Yes (true) | ScheduleORequiredInd |
| IRP Document | 177364 | IRPDocumentCnt |
| IRP Document W2 G | 0 | IRPDocumentW2GCnt |
| Backup Wthld Compliance | Yes (true) | BackupWthldComplianceInd |
| Employee | 973 | EmployeeCnt |
| Employment Tax Returns Filed | Yes (true) | EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd |
| Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit | Yes (true) | UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd |
| Form990 T Filed | Yes (true) | Form990TFiledInd |
| Foreign Financial Account | false | ForeignFinancialAccountInd |
| Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans | false | ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd |
| Taxable Party Notification | false | TaxablePartyNotificationInd |
| Nondeductible Contributions | false | NondeductibleContributionsInd |
| Quid Pro Quo Contributions | false | QuidProQuoContributionsInd |
| Form8282 Property Disposed Of | false | Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd |
| Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct | false | RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd |
| Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct | false | PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd |
| Indoor Tanning Services | false | IndoorTanningServicesInd |
| Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt | Yes (true) | SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd |
| Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc | false | SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd |
| Info In Schedule O Part VI | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd |
| Governing Body Voting Members | 13 | GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt |
| Independent Voting Member | 9 | IndependentVotingMemberCnt |
| Family Or Business Rln | false | FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd |
| Delegation Of Mgmt Duties | false | DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd |
| Change To Org Documents | false | ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd |
| Material Diversion Or Misuse | false | MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd |
| Members Or Stockholders | Yes (true) | MembersOrStockholdersInd |
| Election Of Board Members | Yes (true) | ElectionOfBoardMembersInd |
| Decisions Subject To Approva | Yes (true) | DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd |
| Minutes Of Governing Body | Yes (true) | MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd |
| Minutes Of Committees | Yes (true) | MinutesOfCommitteesInd |
| Officer Mailing Address | false | OfficerMailingAddressInd |
| Local Chapters | Yes (true) | LocalChaptersInd |
| Policies Reference Chapters | Yes (true) | PoliciesReferenceChaptersInd |
| Form990 Provided To Gvrn Body | Yes (true) | Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd |
| Conflict Of Interest Policy | Yes (true) | ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd |
| Annual Disclosure Covered Prsn | Yes (true) | AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd |
| Regular Monitoring Enfrc | Yes (true) | RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd |
| Whistleblower Policy | Yes (true) | WhistleblowerPolicyInd |
| Document Retention Policy | Yes (true) | DocumentRetentionPolicyInd |
| Compensation Process CEO | Yes (true) | CompensationProcessCEOInd |
| Compensation Process Other | Yes (true) | CompensationProcessOtherInd |
| Investment In Joint Venture | false | InvestmentInJointVentureInd |
| Upon Request | Yes (X) | UponRequestInd |
Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person | AARON COOPER | PersonNm |
| Phone | 4023421890 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 1700 FARNAM STREET | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | OMAHA | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | NE | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 68102 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Info In Schedule O Part VII | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartVIIInd |
Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (40 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Average Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRt | Average Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRt | Individual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorInd | OfficerOfficerInd | Reportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmt | Reportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmt | Other CompensationOtherCompensationAmt | Highest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| PATRICK L DEES | ||||||||
| PRESIDENT & | 50.00 | 1.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $1,414,047 | $0 | $34,756 | |
| DENISE M MCCAULEY | ||||||||
| EXEC VP, SEC | 50.00 | 1.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $881,568 | $0 | $54,384 | |
| JON AERNI | ||||||||
| EXEC VP, CFO | 50.00 | 2.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $642,449 | $0 | $207,916 | |
| STEPHEN K MCMAHAN | ||||||||
| EXEC VP CHIE | 50.00 | 3.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $659,039 | $0 | $171,895 | |
| PASQUALE FRAPPAMPINA | ||||||||
| SR VP, NAT S | 50.00 | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $605,463 | $0 | $18,434 | ||
| SPENCER T OWEN | ||||||||
| REGIONAL DIR | 50.00 | $481,061 | $0 | $120,191 | Yes (X) | |||
| CYNTHIA S BENGTSON | ||||||||
| EXEC VP, CHI | 50.00 | Yes (X) | $550,461 | $0 | $24,374 | |||
| RAYMOND G SMOLINSKI | ||||||||
| VP, BUSINESS | 50.00 | Yes (X) | $405,149 | $0 | $103,750 | |||
| LYNN ESPELAND | ||||||||
| SVP GEN COUN | 50.00 | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $414,553 | $0 | $32,465 | ||
| LEE A JANECEK | ||||||||
| VP, CORE OPS | 50.00 | Yes (X) | $319,846 | $0 | $81,776 | |||
| RONNIE LEAR | ||||||||
| REGIONAL DIR | 50.00 | $364,028 | $0 | $7,437 | Yes (X) | |||
| ANNETTE M DEVINE | ||||||||
| VP, ACCOUNTI | 50.00 | 3.00 | Yes (X) | $286,562 | $0 | $72,212 | ||
| JACOB DAY | ||||||||
| VP, CHIEF IN | 50.00 | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $290,734 | $0 | $62,037 | ||
| TYLER LAWRENCE | ||||||||
| REGIONAL DIR | 50.00 | $303,366 | $0 | $48,479 | Yes (X) | |||
| JAMES SMILEY | ||||||||
| RECRUITING S | 50.00 | $326,211 | $0 | $25,279 | Yes (X) | |||
| CHARLES R DRIFFILL | ||||||||
| VP, SALES | 50.00 | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $312,676 | $0 | $32,786 | ||
| BLAKE WARNEKE | ||||||||
| VP ACTUARY & | 50.00 | Yes (X) | $304,609 | $0 | $40,131 | |||
| KARLA J GOCHENOUR | ||||||||
| VP, HUMAN RE | 50.00 | Yes (X) | $300,777 | $0 | $40,671 | |||
| GREGORY ROBERTSON | ||||||||
| REGIONAL DIR | 50.00 | $314,065 | $0 | $26,017 | Yes (X) | |||
| JEREMY CARROLL | ||||||||
| VP, SALES | 50.00 | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $275,135 | $0 | $48,076 | ||
| RANDALL P ROTSCHAFER | ||||||||
| VP, CHIEF RI | 50.00 | Yes (X) | $283,783 | $0 | $37,574 | |||
| KELLY LIBERTY | ||||||||
| VP, STRATEGI | 50.00 | Yes (X) | $251,649 | $0 | $49,221 | |||
| JOHN SHARP | ||||||||
| DEPUTY GENER | 50.00 | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $273,191 | $0 | $24,268 | ||
| PAULA S MAU | ||||||||
| VP, SECURITY | 50.00 | Yes (X) | $241,880 | $0 | $45,872 | |||
| LORI HOWARD | ||||||||
| VP, MARKETIN | 50.00 | Yes (X) | $211,309 | $0 | $49,600 | |||
| MICHAEL HEMENWAY | ||||||||
| CHIEF HUMAN | 50.00 | Yes (X) | $209,819 | $0 | $37,920 | |||
| DANIEL MOLONY | ||||||||
| VP, FRATERNA | 50.00 | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $182,885 | $0 | $43,783 | ||
| PAMELA MORTENSON | ||||||||
| VP, STRATEGI | 50.00 | Yes (X) | $179,119 | $0 | $23,095 | |||
| CATHRYN MOBLEY | ||||||||
| BOARD OF DIR | 5.00 | Yes (X) | $95,419 | $0 | $0 | |||
| JAMES W SHAVER | ||||||||
| BOARD OF DIR | 5.00 | Yes (X) | $84,799 | $0 | $0 | |||
| MICHAEL C SHEALY | ||||||||
| BOARD OF DIR | 5.00 | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $82,701 | $0 | $0 | ||
| JAMES W BOSLER III | ||||||||
| BOARD OF DIR | 5.00 | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $82,058 | $0 | $0 | ||
| ROBERT T MAHER | ||||||||
| BOD, FORMER | 5.00 | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $79,548 | $0 | $0 | ||
| DARYL J DOISE | ||||||||
| BOARD OF DIR | 5.00 | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $79,323 | $0 | $0 | ||
| DWAYNE H TUCKER | ||||||||
| BOARD OF DIR | 5.00 | Yes (X) | $78,133 | $0 | $0 | |||
| JAMES CALDWELL | ||||||||
| BOARD OF DIR | 5.00 | Yes (X) | $76,240 | $0 | $0 | |||
| TIFFANY MYERS | ||||||||
| BOARD OF DIR | 5.00 | Yes (X) | $66,734 | $0 | $0 | |||
| LANCE LARSEN | ||||||||
| VP, ADDITION | 50.00 | Yes (X) | $52,287 | $0 | $9,634 | |||
| DANNY E CUMMINS | ||||||||
| DIR, FORMER | 5.00 | Yes (X) | $36,021 | $0 | $0 | |||
| AARON COOPER | ||||||||
| DIR, ACCT SU | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||||
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Reportable Comp From Org | $12,098,697 | TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt |
| Total Other Compensation | $1,574,033 | TotalOtherCompensationAmt |
| Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 315 | IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
| Former Ofcr Employees Listed | false | FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd |
| Total Comp Greater Than150 K | Yes (true) | TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd |
| Compensation From Other Srcs | false | CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd |
Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)
| Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1Txt | Address Line2ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine2Txt | CityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNm | State AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCd | ZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCd | ServicesServicesDesc | CompensationCompensationAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| LIDP CONSULTING SERVICES INC | ||||||
| 101 W VENICE AVE | SUITE 22 | VENICE | FL | 34285 | SFTWR DEVELOP. | $4,238,179 |
| SHI INTERNATIONAL CORP | ||||||
| PO BOX 952121 | DALLAS | TX | 753952121 | SOFTWARE | $3,657,854 | |
| SIRIUS COMPUTER SOLUTIONS INC | ||||||
| PO BOX 202289 | DALLAS | TX | 753202289 | HARDWARE/MAINT. | $3,185,628 | |
| BASIS GLOBAL TECHNOLOGIES INC | ||||||
| 11 E MADISON ST 6TH FLR | CHICAGO | IL | 60602 | ADVERTISING SVS | $2,750,472 | |
| MICROSOFT CORPORATION | ||||||
| ONE MICROSOFT WAY | REDMOND | WA | 98052 | SOFTWARE | $1,709,607 | |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 124 | CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (3 entries)
| DescDesc | BusinessBusinessCd | Total Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmt | Related Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
|---|---|---|---|
| PREMIUM INCOME | 524113 | $634,026,186 | $634,026,186 |
| FRATERNAL INCOME | 524113 | $11,793,911 | $11,793,911 |
| SUPPLEMENTARY CONTRACTS | 524113 | $5,989,950 | $5,989,950 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Program Service Revenue | $651,810,047 | TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $347,027,124 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $347,027,124 | ExclusionAmt |
Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Real | $19,309,314 | RealAmt |
Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Real | $16,275,940 | RealAmt |
Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Real | $3,033,374 | RealAmt |
Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $3,033,374 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $3,033,374 | ExclusionAmt |
Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | $1,238,053,232 | SecuritiesAmt |
| Other | $290,136,513 | OtherAmt |
Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | $1,230,322,018 | SecuritiesAmt |
| Other | $295,288,338 | OtherAmt |
Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | $7,731,214 | SecuritiesAmt |
| Other | -$5,151,825 | OtherAmt |
Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $2,579,389 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $2,579,389 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp (2 entries)
| DescDesc | BusinessBusinessCd | Total Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmt | Unrelated Business RevenueUnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt |
|---|---|---|---|
| INCOME/(LOSS) FROM PSHIPS | 900099 | $635,043 | $635,043 |
| PARKING LOTS AND GARAGES | 812930 | $395,748 | $395,748 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Revenue Total | $1,030,791 | OtherRevenueTotalAmt |
Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $1,005,480,725 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $654,389,436 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
| Unrelated Business Revenue | $1,030,791 | UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt |
| Exclusion | $350,060,498 | ExclusionAmt |
Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $713,577 | TotalAmt |
Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $239,494 | TotalAmt |
Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $810,594,634 | TotalAmt |
Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $12,098,697 | TotalAmt |
Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $50,531,791 | TotalAmt |
Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | -$13,349,263 | TotalAmt |
Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $13,175,751 | TotalAmt |
Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $7,065,631 | TotalAmt |
Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,043,382 | TotalAmt |
Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $429,966 | TotalAmt |
Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $210,917 | TotalAmt |
Advertising AdvertisingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $4,494,899 | TotalAmt |
Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $3,623,592 | TotalAmt |
Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $19,001,775 | TotalAmt |
Occupancy OccupancyGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $3,583,421 | TotalAmt |
Travel TravelGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $210,961 | TotalAmt |
Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $636,796 | TotalAmt |
Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $3,936,831 | TotalAmt |
Insurance InsuranceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $555,177 | TotalAmt |
Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)
| DescDesc | TotalTotalAmt |
|---|---|
| COMMISSIONS | $39,902,282 |
| SALES EXPENSES | $10,005,636 |
| TRANSFER TO SEPARATE ACCO | $9,644,222 |
| FRATERNAL CHAPTER FUNDING | $5,777,673 |
All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $15,185,871 | TotalAmt |
Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $999,313,713 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $0 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $0 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $0 | FundraisingAmt |
Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | -$15,118,917 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | -$2,528,141 | EOYAmt |
Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $115,543,888 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $41,464,335 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $883,279 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $245,750 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss | $240,720,052 | LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt |
| Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec | $171,562,713 | LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt |
Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $64,829,984 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $69,157,339 | EOYAmt |
Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $8,001,918,894 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $7,704,925,061 | EOYAmt |
Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $2,379,323,651 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $2,486,793,311 | EOYAmt |
Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $916,268,743 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $759,743,261 | EOYAmt |
Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $11,463,649,522 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $11,059,800,916 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $58,738,260 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $52,087,219 | EOYAmt |
Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $9,679,868,154 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $9,332,868,124 | EOYAmt |
Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $9,738,606,414 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $9,384,955,343 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Org Does Not Follow FASB117 | Yes (X) | OrgDoesNotFollowFASB117Ind |
Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $1,725,043,108 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $1,674,845,573 | EOYAmt |
Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $1,725,043,108 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $1,674,845,573 | EOYAmt |
Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $11,463,649,522 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $11,059,800,916 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Info In Schedule O Part XI | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd |
| Reconcilation Revenue Expnss | $6,167,012 | ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt |
| Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst | -$149,790,816 | NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt |
| Other Changes In Net Assets | $93,426,269 | OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt |
| Method Of Accounting Other | Yes (X) | MethodOfAccountingOtherInd |
| Accountant Compile Or Review | false | AccountantCompileOrReviewInd |
| FS Audited | Yes (true) | FSAuditedInd |
FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Separate Basis Fincl Stmt | Yes (X) | SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Audit Committee | Yes (true) | AuditCommitteeInd |
| Federal Grant Audit Required | false | FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd |
Schedule C IRS990ScheduleC
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Political Expenditures | $13,000 | PoliticalExpendituresAmt |
| Form1120 POL Filed | false | Form1120POLFiledInd |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form And Line Reference | SCHEDULE C, PART IV | FormAndLineReferenceDesc |
| Explanation | WOODMENLIFE MADE STATE AND LOCAL CONTRIBUTIONS. | ExplanationTxt |
Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD
Buildings BuildingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Investment Cost Or Other Basis | $111,664,436 | InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $107,871,628 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $152,647,137 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $66,888,927 | BookValueAmt |
Equipment EquipmentGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $21,183,988 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $18,915,576 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $2,268,412 | BookValueAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Book Value Land Buildings | $69,157,339 | TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt |
Other Securities OtherSecuritiesGrp (9 entries)
| DescDesc | Book ValueBookValueAmt | Method ValuationMethodValuationCd |
|---|---|---|
| MORTGAGE LOANS - COST | $2,305,138,657 | C |
| CTF LOANS-LEGACY | $111,609,981 | C |
| OTHER SCHEDULE BA-COST | $44,818,705 | C |
| CTF LOANS-INGENIUM | $9,927,940 | C |
| ACCELERATED BENEFIT LIENS | $906,688 | C |
| OTHER SCHEDULE BA-MKT VAL ADJ | $841,004 | F |
| CTF LOANS IN PROCESS | $500,635 | C |
| CTF LOANS-NONADMITTED | -$725,543 | C |
| CALL OPTIONS&WARRANTS-MKT ADJ | -$13,330,894 | F |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Book Value Securities | $2,486,793,311 | TotalBookValueSecuritiesAmt |
Other Assets Org OtherAssetsOrgGrp (4 entries)
| DescDesc | Book ValueBookValueAmt |
|---|---|
| SEPARATE ACCOUNTS | $694,343,501 |
| INVESTMENT INCOME DUE & ACCRUED | $60,035,245 |
| REINSURANCE AMOUNTS RECOVERABLE | $3,899,690 |
| PREMIUMS & CONSIDERATIONS | $1,464,825 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Book Value Other Assets | $759,743,261 | TotalBookValueOtherAssetsAmt |
Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (9 entries)
| DescDesc | AmtAmt |
|---|---|
| LIFE RESERVES | $7,360,066,563 |
| DEPOSIT CONTRACTS LIABILITY | $880,176,966 |
| SEPARATE ACCOUNT | $683,117,912 |
| MISC LIABILITIES | $192,707,355 |
| A&H RESERVES | $63,317,723 |
| CONTRACT CLAIMS | $59,881,597 |
| AGGREGATE WRITE-INS | $55,558,366 |
| PROVISION FOR REFUNDS PAYABLE | $23,600,000 |
| BENEFIT LIABILITIES | $14,441,642 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Liability | $9,332,868,124 | TotalLiabilityAmt |
| Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $994,251,978 | TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Other Revenue | $16,275,940 | OtherRevenueAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported | $16,275,940 | RevenueNotReportedAmt |
| Revenue Subtotal | $977,976,038 | RevenueSubtotalAmt |
| Other Revenues Not Included | $27,504,687 | OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt | $27,504,687 | RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Revenue Per Form990 | $1,005,480,725 | TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt |
| Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $988,084,966 | TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Other Expenses Included | $16,275,940 | OtherExpensesIncludedAmt |
| Expenses Not Reported | $16,275,940 | ExpensesNotReportedAmt |
| Expenses Subtotal | $971,809,026 | ExpensesSubtotalAmt |
| Other Expenses Not Included | $27,504,687 | OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt |
| Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt | $27,504,687 | ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Expenses Per Form990 | $999,313,713 | TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (4 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| SCHEDULE D, PAGE 4, PART XI, LINE 2D | EXPENSES RELATED TO RENTAL INCOME 16,275,940 |
| SCHEDULE D, PAGE 4, PART XI, LINE 4B | EXPENSES RELATED TO INVESTMENT INCOME 24,925,298 NET GAIN SALE OF ASSETS 2,579,389 |
| SCHEDULE D, PAGE 4, PART XII, LINE 2D | EXPENSES RELATED TO RENTAL INCOME 16,275,940 |
| SCHEDULE D, PAGE 4, PART XII, LINE 4B | EXPENSES RELATED TO INVESTMENT INCOME 24,925,298 NET GAIN SALE OF ASSETS 2,579,389 BOOK / TAX DEPRECIATION DIFFERENCE 20,212,771 |
Schedule F IRS990ScheduleF
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Grant Records Maintained | false | GrantRecordsMaintainedInd |
Account Activities Outside US AccountActivitiesOutsideUSGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Region | CENTRAL AMERICA AND THE CARIBBEAN | RegionTxt |
| Type Of Activities Conducted | INVESTMENTS | TypeOfActivitiesConductedTxt |
| Region Total Expenditures | $19,368,962 | RegionTotalExpendituresAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Subtotal Spent | $19,368,962 | SubtotalSpentAmt |
| Total Spent | $19,368,962 | TotalSpentAmt |
| Transfer To Foreign Corp | Yes (true) | TransferToForeignCorpInd |
| Interest In Foreign Trust | false | InterestInForeignTrustInd |
| Foreign Corp Ownership | Yes (true) | ForeignCorpOwnershipInd |
| Passive Foreign Investmest Co | Yes (true) | PassiveForeignInvestmestCoInd |
| Foreign Partnership | false | ForeignPartnershipInd |
| Boycott Countries | false | BoycottCountriesInd |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form And Line Reference | SCHEDULE F, PAGE 1, PART I, LINE 3 | FormAndLineReferenceDesc |
| Explanation | CENTRAL AMERICA AND THE CARIBBEAN 0 19,368,962 | ExplanationTxt |
Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Grant Records Maintained | Yes (true) | GrantRecordsMaintainedInd |
Recipient Table RecipientTable (23 entries)
| Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1Txt | CityUSAddress/CityNm | State AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCd | ZIPUSAddress/ZIPCd | Recipient EINRecipientEIN | IRC SectionIRCSectionDesc | Cash GrantCashGrantAmt | Purpose Of GrantPurposeOfGrantTxt | Address Line2USAddress/AddressLine2Txt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| AIM INSTITUTE-CAREERLINKCOM | ||||||||
| 1905 HARNEY ST STE 300 | OMAHA | NE | 68102 | 470749200 | 501C3 | $9,000 | GENERAL SUPPORT | |
| AMERICAN HEART ASSOCIATION | ||||||||
| 7272 GREENVILLE AVENUE | DALLAS | TX | 75231 | 135613797 | 501C3 | $30,660 | GENERAL SUPPORT | |
| BOYS AND GIRLS CLUB OF AMERICA | ||||||||
| 2610 HAMILTON ST | OMAHA | NE | 681311640 | 272250924 | 501C4 | $10,000 | GENERAL SUPPORT | |
| BUSINESS ETHICS ALLIANCE | ||||||||
| 2500 CALIFORNIA PLAZA | OMAHA | NE | 68178 | 743244900 | 501C3 | $10,000 | GENERAL SUPPORT | |
| CRESCENT FOOD PANTRY | ||||||||
| 720 OLD LINCOLN HWY | CRESCENT | IA | 51526 | 472459792 | 501C3 | $8,325 | GENERAL SUPPORT | |
| FIRST RESPONDERS FOUNDATION | ||||||||
| 2900 SOUTH 110TH CT | OMAHA | NE | 68114 | 263499345 | 501C3 | $22,675 | GENERAL SUPPORT | |
| FOOD BANK FOR THE HEARTLAND | ||||||||
| 10525 J STREET | OMAHA | NE | 68127 | 470637701 | 501C3 | $75,399 | GENERAL SUPPORT | |
| GARY SINISE FOUNDATION | ||||||||
| 2029 CENTURY PARK EAST NO 1500 | LOS ANGELES | CA | 90067 | 800587086 | 501C3 | $251,040 | GENERAL SUPPORT | |
| HABITAT FOR HUMANITY | ||||||||
| 1701 NORTH 24TH STREET | OMAHA | NE | 68110 | 363283625 | 501C3 | $10,050 | GENERAL SUPPORT | |
| HEARTLAND FAMILY SERVICES | ||||||||
| 2101 S 42ND ST | OMAHA | NE | 68105 | 470390618 | 501C3 | $11,000 | GENERAL SUPPORT | |
| JUNIOR ACHIEVEMENT | ||||||||
| 11248 DAVENPORT STREET | OMAHA | NE | 68154 | 470468426 | 501C3 | $5,500 | GENERAL SUPPORT | SUITE 100 |
| NE VIETNAM VETERANS MEMORIAL FOUND | ||||||||
| 7914 WEST DODGE RD 446 | OMAHA | NE | 68114 | 834392408 | 501C3 | $25,000 | GENERAL SUPPORT | |
| OMAHA SYMPHONY ASSOCIATION | ||||||||
| 1905 HARNEY STREET | OMAHA | NE | 68102 | 476039304 | 501C3 | $15,000 | GENERAL SUPPORT | SUITE 400 |
| OPEN DOOR MISSION | ||||||||
| 2828 NORTH 23RD STREET EAST | OMAHA | NE | 68110 | 470411375 | 501C3 | $5,400 | GENERAL SUPPORT | |
| SAVING GRACE PERISHABLE FOOD RESCUE | ||||||||
| 4611 S 96TH ST STE 112 | OMAHA | NE | 68127 | 461852863 | 501C3 | $8,837 | GENERAL SUPPORT | |
| HEARTLAND HOPE MISSION | ||||||||
| 2021 U ST | OMAHA | NE | 68107 | 141869352 | 501C3 | $12,640 | GENERAL SUPPORT | |
| OMAHA PERFORMING ARTS SOCIETY | ||||||||
| 1200 DOUGLAS ST | OMAHA | NE | 68102 | 470832480 | 501C3 | $10,000 | GENERAL SUPPORT | |
| FOSTER LOVE INCORPORATION | ||||||||
| 319 REMINGTON ROAD | OMAHA | NE | 68046 | 851321331 | 501C3 | $9,500 | GENERAL SUPPORT | |
| MIDLANDS COMMUNITY FOUNDATION | ||||||||
| 217 N JEFFERSON ST | PAPILLION | NE | 68046 | 510191738 | 501C3 | $7,500 | GENERAL SUPPORT | |
| BELLEVUE JUNIOR SPORTS | ||||||||
| 1406 LAWRENCE LANE | BELLEVUE | NE | 68005 | 470599770 | 501C3 | $7,000 | GENERAL SUPPORT | |
| THE KIM FOUNDATION | ||||||||
| 11949 Q ST | OMAHA | NE | 68137 | 470837377 | 501C3 | $5,500 | GENERAL SUPPORT | |
| RASE STRONG | ||||||||
| 9721 CINNAMON DRIVE | OMAHA | NE | 68136 | 474697054 | 501C3 | $5,500 | GENERAL SUPPORT | |
| CHILD SAVING INSTITUTE | ||||||||
| 4545 DODGE STREET | OMAHA | NE | 68132 | 450489204 | 501C3 | $7,500 | GENERAL SUPPORT | |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total501c3 Org | 22 | Total501c3OrgCnt |
| Total Other Org | 1 | TotalOtherOrgCnt |
Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Grant Type | SCHOLARSHIP | GrantTypeTxt |
| Recipient | 460 | RecipientCnt |
| Cash Grant | $239,494 | CashGrantAmt |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form And Line Reference | SCHEDULE I, PAGE 1, PART I, LINE 2 | FormAndLineReferenceDesc |
| Explanation | WOODMENLIFE APPOINTS A CORPORATE SOCIAL RESPONSIBILITY COMMITTEE ANNUALLY. THIS COMMITTEE IS RESPONSIBLE FOR COORDINATING EFFORTS TO RECEIVE, CONSIDER, APPROVE, DENY AND DISBURSE CONTRIBUTIONS REQUESTED. | ExplanationTxt |
Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Travel For Companions | Yes (X) | TravelForCompanionsInd |
| Idemnification Gross Up Pmts | Yes (X) | IdemnificationGrossUpPmtsInd |
| Discretionary Spending Acct | Yes (X) | DiscretionarySpendingAcctInd |
| Written Policy Ref T And E Expnss | Yes (true) | WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd |
| Substantiation Required | Yes (true) | SubstantiationRequiredInd |
| Compensation Committee | Yes (X) | CompensationCommitteeInd |
| Independent Consultant | Yes (X) | IndependentConsultantInd |
| Written Employment Contract | Yes (X) | WrittenEmploymentContractInd |
| Compensation Survey | Yes (X) | CompensationSurveyInd |
| Board Or Committee Approval | Yes (X) | BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd |
| Severance Payment | false | SeverancePaymentInd |
| Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan | Yes (true) | SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd |
| Equity Based Comp Arrngm | false | EquityBasedCompArrngmInd |
Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (28 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Base Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Bonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmount | Other Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Nontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmt | Total Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Deferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| PATRICK L DEES | ||||||
| PRESIDENT & CEO | $864,494 | $492,768 | $56,785 | $34,756 | $1,448,803 | |
| DENISE M MCCAULEY | ||||||
| EXEC VP, SECR, COO | $550,102 | $284,832 | $46,634 | $29,984 | $935,952 | $24,400 |
| JON AERNI | ||||||
| EXEC VP, CFO | $398,281 | $197,277 | $46,891 | $37,173 | $850,365 | $170,743 |
| STEPHEN K MCMAHAN | ||||||
| EXEC VP CHIEF MKTG | $403,883 | $197,277 | $57,879 | $33,531 | $830,934 | $138,364 |
| PASQUALE FRAPPAMPINA | ||||||
| SR VP, NAT SALES MGR | $212,179 | $370,952 | $22,332 | $18,434 | $623,897 | |
| SPENCER T OWEN | ||||||
| REGIONAL DIRECTOR | $408,951 | $61,309 | $10,801 | $32,743 | $601,252 | $87,448 |
| CYNTHIA S BENGTSON | ||||||
| EXEC VP, CHIEF RISK | $361,238 | $185,540 | $3,683 | $24,374 | $574,835 | |
| RAYMOND G SMOLINSKI | ||||||
| VP, BUSINESS TECHNOL | $294,912 | $88,975 | $21,262 | $23,078 | $508,899 | $80,672 |
| LYNN ESPELAND | ||||||
| SVP GEN COUNSEL | $314,588 | $88,791 | $11,174 | $32,465 | $447,018 | |
| LEE A JANECEK | ||||||
| VP, CORE OPS & CF UN | $247,098 | $65,975 | $6,773 | $43,726 | $401,622 | $38,050 |
| RONNIE LEAR | ||||||
| REGIONAL DIRECTOR | $296,397 | $54,676 | $12,955 | $7,437 | $371,465 | |
| ANNETTE M DEVINE | ||||||
| VP, ACCOUNTING SERVI | $206,465 | $57,275 | $22,822 | $41,442 | $358,774 | $30,770 |
| JACOB DAY | ||||||
| VP, CHIEF INV OFF | $189,284 | $80,890 | $20,560 | $39,136 | $352,771 | $22,901 |
| TYLER LAWRENCE | ||||||
| REGIONAL DIRECTOR | $173,205 | $119,500 | $10,661 | $30,159 | $351,845 | $18,320 |
| JAMES SMILEY | ||||||
| RECRUITING SALES MAN | $279,542 | $25,268 | $21,401 | $25,279 | $351,490 | |
| CHARLES R DRIFFILL | ||||||
| VP, SALES | $236,185 | $70,659 | $5,832 | $32,786 | $345,462 | |
| BLAKE WARNEKE | ||||||
| VP ACTUARY & CHIEF A | $224,262 | $57,475 | $22,872 | $9,975 | $344,740 | $30,156 |
| KARLA J GOCHENOUR | ||||||
| VP, HUMAN RESOURCES | $227,415 | $58,402 | $14,960 | $40,671 | $341,448 | |
| GREGORY ROBERTSON | ||||||
| REGIONAL DIRECTOR | $287,661 | $18,760 | $7,644 | $26,017 | $340,082 | |
| JEREMY CARROLL | ||||||
| VP, SALES | $205,907 | $63,725 | $5,503 | $28,466 | $323,211 | $19,610 |
| RANDALL P ROTSCHAFER | ||||||
| VP, CHIEF RISK OFFIC | $216,025 | $55,696 | $12,062 | $37,574 | $321,357 | |
| KELLY LIBERTY | ||||||
| VP, STRATEGIC INITIA | $199,302 | $49,975 | $2,372 | $34,436 | $300,870 | $14,785 |
| JOHN SHARP | ||||||
| DEPUTY GENERAL COUNS | $215,863 | $47,575 | $9,753 | $7,371 | $297,459 | $16,897 |
| PAULA S MAU | ||||||
| VP, SECURITY OFFICIA | $173,409 | $47,575 | $20,896 | $26,038 | $287,752 | $19,834 |
| LORI HOWARD | ||||||
| VP, MARKETING | $151,359 | $43,093 | $16,857 | $34,165 | $260,909 | $15,435 |
| MICHAEL HEMENWAY | ||||||
| CHIEF HUMAN RESOURCE | $179,681 | $27,975 | $2,163 | $24,882 | $247,739 | $13,038 |
| DANIEL MOLONY | ||||||
| VP, FRATERNAL | $146,686 | $35,046 | $1,153 | $28,478 | $226,668 | $15,305 |
| PAMELA MORTENSON | ||||||
| VP, STRATEGIC INITIA | $119,624 | $50,300 | $9,195 | $11,141 | $202,214 | $11,954 |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| SCHEDULE J, PAGE 1, PART I, LINE 1A | TRAVEL FOR COMPANIONS THAT MEETS SPECIFIC GUIDELINES IS REIMBURSED AND INCLUDED IN TAXABLE INCOME. A LIMITED GROSS UP IS PROVIDED FOR THOSE PAYMENTS. DISCRETIONARY SPENDING ACCOUNTS ARE EXTENDED TO EXECUTIVE OFFICERS. |
| SCHEDULE J, PART III | WOODMENLIFE ESTABLISHED NONQUALIFIED SUPPLEMENTAL PLANS FOR THE PURPOSE OF PROVIDING A NONQUALIFIED RETIREMENT BENEFIT TO ELIGIBLE PARTICIPANTS. THE PLANS COMPLY WITH THE REQUIREMENTS OF SECTION 409A OF THE INTERNAL REVENUE CODE AND REGULATIONS PROMULGATED THEREUNDER. THE SUPPLEMENTAL PLANS WERE CLOSED TO NEW PARTICIPANTS ON DECEMBER 31, 2012. PLANS MAY NOT HAVE BEEN PREVIOUSLY INCLUDED IN PART II SCHEDULE J AS THE REPORTING REQUIREMENTS UNDER THIS SCHEDULE WERE NOT IN PLACE FOR ALL PRIOR YEARS THAT THE ELIGIBLE PARTICIPANTS ACCRUED DEFERRED COMPENSATION UNDER A SUPPLEMENTAL PLAN. SINCE THERE WERE NO SUCH REPORTING REQUIREMENTS UNDER THE FORM 990 FOR PRIOR YEARS, INCLUDING SUCH PAYMENTS IN PART II SCHEDULE J WOULD CREATE A MISLEADING REPORT SINCE IT WOULD NOT ACCURATELY DISCLOSE THAT MOST OF THE DEFERRED COMPENSATION PAYMENT HAD ACTUALLY OCCURRED IN PRIOR YEARS. THE WOODMENLIFE NONQUALIFIED CONTRIBUTION BENEFIT PLAN ("CONTRIBUTION PLAN") WAS ESTABLISHED DECEMBER 31, 2012 TO PROVIDE A NONQUALIFIED DEFINED CONTRIBUTION BENEFIT PLAN TO ANY NEWLY ELIGIBLE EMPLOYEES AND WOODMENLIFE REPRESENTATIVES WHO HAD NOT PREVIOUSLY BEEN PROVIDED A BENEFIT UNDER A SUPPLEMENTAL PLAN. THIS CONTRIBUTION PLAN COMPLIES WITH THE REQUIREMENTS OF SECTION 409A OF THE INTERNAL REVENUE CODE AND REGULATIONS PROMULGATED THEREUNDER. BALANCES FOR CERTAIN PARTICIPANTS LISTED IN SCHEDULE J WERE ADJUSTED DUE TO A CHANGE IN THE ENROLLED ACTUARY AND VALUATION SOFTWARE FOR WOODMENLIFE'S DEFINED BENEFIT RETIREMENT PLAN. THE CHANGE MEETS THE CONDITIONS FOR AUTOMATIC APPROVAL PROVIDED IN IRS REV. PROC. 2017-56 AND ARE NOT INCLUDED IN SCHEDULE J COLUMN (C). |
Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (12 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| FORM 990, PAGE 1, ITEM C | WOODMENLIFE |
| FORM 990, PAGE 2, PART III, LINE 4A | WOODMENLIFE EXTRAS: WOODMENLIFE OFFERS A VARIETY OF EXCLUSIVE BENEFITS AND DISCOUNTS TO OUR MEMBERS AT NO EXTRA COST, JUST FOR DOING BUSINESS WITH US. SOME OF THE NON-CONTRACTUAL BENEFITS AVAILABLE TO ELIGIBLE WOODMENLIFE MEMBERS INCLUDE: FIRST RESPONDERS BENEFIT - WOODMENLIFE WILL PAY A 25,000 BENEFIT IF A GOOD-STANDING MEMBER IS KILLED WHILE PERFORMING HIS/HER DUTIES AS A NON- MILITARY FIRST RESPONDER. FIRST RESPONDERS MAY INCLUDE FIREFIGHTERS, EMTS AND PARAMEDICS, POLICE, OR A PERSON PERFORMING A SUPPORTING ROLE TO SUCH INDIVIDUALS. FAMILY LEGACY BENEFIT - WOODMENLIFE OFFERS 1,000 PER MONTH FOR THE CARE OF MEMBERS' CHILDREN IF THEY ARE ORPHANED. NATURAL DISASTER BENEFIT - QUALIFIED MEMBERS WHOSE HOMES ARE DAMAGED OR DESTROYED BY NATURAL DISASTERS, SUCH AS HURRICANES, TORNADOES, FLOODS, WILD/FOREST FIRES, OR EARTHQUAKES, MAY BE ELIGIBLE FOR UP TO 1,000 TO HELP WITH HOME REPAIR COSTS. LIFE'S PERKS - THIS EASY-TO-USE MEMBER DISCOUNT PROGRAM OFFERS SAVINGS ON BRAND-NAME ITEMS FROM MORE THAN 30,000 LOCAL AND NATIONAL RETAILERS. MEMBERS CAN SAVE MONEY ON EVERYDAY ITEMS LIKE CELL PHONES, RESTAURANTS AND WHOLESALE CLUB MEMBERSHIPS, AND ON MAJOR PURCHASES LIKE AUTOMOBILES, HOMES AND FURNITURE. WOODMENLIFE FOCUS FORWARD SCHOLARSHIP - THROUGH THE WOODMENLIFE FOCUS FORWARD SCHOLARSHIP, MORE THAN 4,000 SCHOLARSHIPS WORTH 2.7 MILLION HAVE BEEN AWARDED TO HIGH SCHOOL GRADUATES SINCE 2017. SCHOLARSHIPS MAY BE USED AT COLLEGES, UNIVERSITIES AND TRADE SCHOOLS, AND SCHOLARSHIP MONEY CAN BE USED FOR EDUCATION-RELATED EXPENSES, WHICH INCLUDE TUITION, FEES, BOOKS, SUPPLIES AND ROOM AND BOARD. STUDENT LOAN RELIEF - EVERY YEAR, WOODMENLIFE GIVES UP TO 200 1,000 AWARDS TO ELIGIBLE MEMBERS. RECIPIENTS ARE SELECTED BASED ON COMMUNITY SERVICE, PATRIOTISM AND LOAN STATEMENTS. LAWASSURETM -LAWASSURE GIVES WOODMENLIFE MEMBERS THE ABILITY TO CREATE CUSTOMIZED WILLS, POWERS OF ATTORNEY AND HEALTHCARE DIRECTIVES WITH FREE, EASY-TO-USE ONLINE TEMPLATES. GIVING TOGETHER - THE GIVING TOGETHER PROGRAM PROVIDES FUNDING FOR SALES REPRESENTATIVES TO ORGANIZE AND CONDUCT COMMUNITY BEAUTIFICATION PROJECTS, SUCH AS PAINTING AT YOUTH FOOTBALL FIELDS AND LANDSCAPING AT SCHOOLS AND COMMUNITY CENTERS. COMMUNITY IMPROVEMENT FUNDS - WOODMENLIFE ALLOCATES FUNDS TO LOCAL CHAPTERS AND COMMUNITIES THAT SUPPORT OUR SHARED COMMITMENT TO FAMILY, COMMUNITY AND COUNTRY. THESE FUNDS HELP MEMBERS PROVIDE FOR LOCAL NEEDS AND GIVE MEMBERS A VOICE IN DECIDING WHICH CAUSES MATTER MOST TO THEM. ANNUAL REGIONAL EVENTS - IN 2022, WOODMENLIFE INTRODUCED ANNUAL REGIONAL EVENTS (ARES) TO MEMBERS ACROSS THE COUNTRY. THESE EVENTS ARE DESIGNED TO HELP PEOPLE COLLABORATE, AS WELL AS TO EDUCATE, AND RECOGNIZE CHAPTERS AND MEMBERS FOR THEIR CONTRIBUTIONS TO THE COMMUNITY. THEY ARE ANOTHER WAY FOR WOODMENLIFE TO CULTIVATE RELATIONSHIPS AMONG THE WOODMENLIFE FAMILY. THERE WERE 32 ARES HELD IN 2022 |
| FORM 990, PAGE 2, PART III, LINE 4B | PATRIOTIC PROGRAM: WOODMENLIFE'S PATRIOTIC PROGRAM WAS LAUNCHED MORE THAN 75 YEARS AGO IN SUPPORT OF THE ORGANIZATION'S COMMON BOND FOCUS ON OUR COUNTRY. SINCE 1947, THE ORGANIZATION HAS DONATED MORE THAN 3.5 MILLION FLAGS TO NONPROFIT ORGANIZATIONS, SCHOOLS AND COMMUNITIES. WOODMENLIFE IS THE SECOND LARGEST PURCHASER OF AMERICAN FLAGS BEHIND THE UNITED STATES GOVERNMENT. AS PART OF THE PATRIOTIC PROGRAM, CHAPTERS ARE ENCOURAGED TO PLAN AND PARTICIPATE IN FLAGS ACROSS AMERICA PROJECTS ON JUNE 14 AND IN HONOR AND REMEMBRANCE CEREMONIES ON SEPTEMBER 11. THEY ALSO PLAN COMMUNITY SERVICE PROJECTS FOR VETERANS DAY, MEMORIAL DAY AND INDEPENDENCE DAY. IN ADDITION, WOODMENLIFE HAS PARTNERED WITH THE GARY SINISE FOUNDATION TO FURTHER SUPPORT THEIR MISSION OF HONORING OUR DEFENDERS, VETERANS, FIRST RESPONDERS, THEIR FAMILIES, AND THOSE IN NEED. |
| FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 6 | WOODMEN OF THE WORLD LIFE INSURANCE SOCIETY IS COMPRISED OF ITS MEMBERS. |
| FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 7A | THE MEMBERS ELECT THE OFFICERS AND DIRECTORS EVERY FOUR YEARS. |
| FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 7B | THE EXECUTIVE OFFICERS AND BOARD OF DIRECTORS ARE SUBJECT TO APPROVAL OF THE MEMBERSHIP. |
| FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 11B | THE FORM 990 IS PREPARED AND REVIEWED BY PROFESSIONAL INTERNAL STAFF. THE FORM 990 IS THEN FORWARDED TO THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS FOR REVIEW PRIOR TO FINAL SIGNATURE AND FILING OF THE RETURN. |
| FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 12C | AN ANNUAL CONFLICT OF INTEREST QUESTIONNAIRE IS PROVIDED BY AND SUBSEQUENTLY RETAINED BY THE LEGAL DEPARTMENT. |
| FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 15A | PERIODICALLY EXTERNAL RESEARCH IS CONDUCTED TO ASSESS THE COMPETITIVENESS OF EXECUTIVE-LEVEL COMPENSATION. IF EXTERNAL DATA SUPPORTS A CHANGE, A RECOMMENDATION IS MADE BY HR TO THE COMPENSATION COMMITTEE (SUBSET OF BOARD OF DIRECTORS) FOR APPROVAL. |
| FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 15B | PERIODICALLY EXTERNAL RESEARCH IS CONDUCTED TO ASSESS THE COMPETITIVENESS OF EXECUTIVE-LEVEL COMPENSATION. IF EXTERNAL DATA SUPPORTS A CHANGE, A RECOMMENDATION IS MADE BY HR TO THE COMPENSATION COMMITTEE (SUBSET OF BOARD OF DIRECTORS) FOR APPROVAL. |
| FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 19 | THE CONSTITUTION AND BYLAWS ARE AVAILABLE ON OUR WEBSITE, WOODMENLIFE.ORG. THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS AND CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY ARE AVAILABLE UPON REQUEST. |
| FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9 | MINIMUM PENSION OBLIGATIONS 116,812,027 CHANGE IN RESERVE ON ACCT 0 CHANGE IN ASSET VALUATION RESERVE 115,781,829 CHANGE IN NON-ADMITTED ASSETS -139,167,587 TOTAL 93,426,269 |
Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR
Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp
Disregarded Entity Name DisregardedEntityName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | WOODMENLIFE OUTREACH FOUNDATION | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 1700 FARNAM STREET | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | OMAHA | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | NE | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 68102 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EIN | 844477207 | EIN |
| Primary Activities | CHARITABLE | PrimaryActivitiesTxt |
| Legal Domicile State | NE | LegalDomicileStateCd |
| Exempt Code Section | 501C3 | ExemptCodeSectionTxt |
| Public Charity Status | PF | PublicCharityStatusTxt |
Direct Controlling Entity Name DirectControllingEntityName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | WOODMEN OF | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Controlled Organization | false | ControlledOrganizationInd |
Id Related Org Txbl Corp Tr IdRelatedOrgTxblCorpTrGrp (3 entries)
| Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1Txt | CityUSAddress/CityNm | State AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCd | ZIPUSAddress/ZIPCd | EINEIN | Primary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxt | Legal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCd | Business Name Line1DirectControllingEntityName/BusinessNameLine1Txt | Entity TypeEntityTypeTxt | Share Of Total IncomeShareOfTotalIncomeAmt | Share Of EOY AssetsShareOfEOYAssetsAmt | Controlled OrganizationControlledOrganizationInd |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| WFS HOLDINGS INC | |||||||||||
| 1700 FARNAM STREET | OMAHA | NE | 68102 | 223828160 | HOLDING CO | NE | WOODMEN OF | C CORP | -$16,139 | $17,648,076 | Yes (true) |
| WOODMEN FINANCIAL SERVICES INC | |||||||||||
| 1700 FARNAM STREET | OMAHA | NE | 68102 | 223828171 | FINANCIAL | NE | WFS HOLDIN | C CORP | -$101,617 | $1,351,503 | Yes (true) |
| WOODMEN INSURANCE AGENCY INC | |||||||||||
| 1700 FARNAM STREET | OMAHA | NE | 68102 | 010785572 | INSURANCE | NE | WFS HOLDIN | C CORP | $207,282 | Yes (true) | |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts Rylts | false | ReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd |
| Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth Org | false | GiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd |
| Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth Org | false | GiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd |
| Loans Or Guarantees To Other Org | false | LoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd |
| Loans Or Guarantees From Oth Org | false | LoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd |
| Div Related Organization | false | DivRelatedOrganizationInd |
| Asset Sale To Other Org | false | AssetSaleToOtherOrgInd |
| Asset Purchase From Other Org | false | AssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd |
| Asset Exchange | false | AssetExchangeInd |
| Rental Of Facilities To Oth Org | Yes (true) | RentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd |
| Rental Of Fclts From Oth Org | false | RentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd |
| Perform Of Services For Oth Org | false | PerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd |
| Perform Of Services By Other Org | false | PerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd |
| Sharing Of Facilities | Yes (true) | SharingOfFacilitiesInd |
| Paid Employees Sharing | Yes (true) | PaidEmployeesSharingInd |
| Reimbursement Paid To Other Org | false | ReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd |
| Reimbursement Paid By Other Org | Yes (true) | ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd |
| Transfer To Other Org | false | TransferToOtherOrgInd |
| Transfer From Other Org | false | TransferFromOtherOrgInd |
Transactions Related Org TransactionsRelatedOrgGrp (3 entries)
| Transaction TypeTransactionTypeTxt | InvolvedInvolvedAmt | Method Of Amount DeterminationMethodOfAmountDeterminationTxt |
|---|---|---|
| WOODMEN FINANCIAL SERVICES INC | ||
| Q | $1,029,317 | CASH PAID |
| WOODMEN INSURANCE AGENCY INC | ||
| Q | $410,360 | CASH PAID |
| WOODMEN FINANCIAL SERVICES INC | ||
| J | $60,720 | CASH PAID |