AMERICAN COLLEGE: Form 990, tax year 2022
View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗
- Organization
- AMERICAN COLLEGE (EIN 23-1352008)
- Tax period
- 2022-01-01 to 2022-12-31
- Filed
- 2023-11-14
- IRS object ID
- 202313189349314261
- Schema version
- 2022v5.0
- Source
- Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica
Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.
- Return header
- Form 990
- Schedule A
- Schedule B
- Schedule D
- Schedule E
- Schedule G
- Schedule I
- Schedule J
- Schedule O
Return header ReturnHeader
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return | 2023-11-14T15:35:12-06:00 | ReturnTs |
| Tax Period End | 2022-12-31 | TaxPeriodEndDt |
| Return Type | 990 | ReturnTypeCd |
| Tax Period Begin | 2022-01-01 | TaxPeriodBeginDt |
Filer Filer
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EIN | 231352008 | EIN |
Business Name BusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | The American College | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Control | AMER | BusinessNameControlTxt |
| Phone | 6105261000 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 630 Allendale Road 400 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | King of Prussia | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | PA | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 19406 | ZIPCd |
Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person | MARK MONTGOMERY | PersonNm |
| Person Title | Chief Financial Officer | PersonTitleTxt |
| Phone | 6105261000 | PhoneNum |
| Signature | 2023-11-06 | SignatureDt |
Signing Officer SigningOfficerGrp
Person Full Name PersonFullName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person First | MARK | PersonFirstNm |
| Person Last | MONTGOMERY | PersonLastNm |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| SSN | XXX-XX-XXXX | SSN |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| IRS Responsible Prty Info Curr | 0 | IRSResponsiblePrtyInfoCurrInd |
Additional Filer Information AdditionalFilerInformation
Trusted Customer TrustedCustomerGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Trusted Customer | 2 | TrustedCustomerCd |
| Authentication Assurance Level | AAL1 | AuthenticationAssuranceLevelCd |
| Identity Assurance Level | IAL1 | IdentityAssuranceLevelCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Tax | 2022 | TaxYr |
| Build TS | 2023-04-26 12:10:37Z | BuildTS |
Form 990 IRS990
Doing Business As Name DoingBusinessAsName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | The American College of Financial Se | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Principal Officer | George Nichols III | PrincipalOfficerNm |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 630 Allendale Road 400 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | King of Prussia | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | PA | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 19406 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Gross Receipts | $47,106,825 | GrossReceiptsAmt |
| Group Return For Affiliates | 0 | GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd |
| Organization501c3 | Yes (X) | Organization501c3Ind |
| Website Address | www.theamericancollege.edu | WebsiteAddressTxt |
| Type Of Organization Corp | Yes (X) | TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd |
| Formation | 1927 | FormationYr |
| Legal Domicile State | PA | LegalDomicileStateCd |
| Activity Or Mission | The mission of The American College of Financial Services (continued on next page). | ActivityOrMissionDesc |
| Voting Members Governing Body | 26 | VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt |
| Voting Members Independent | 24 | VotingMembersIndependentCnt |
| Total Employee | 232 | TotalEmployeeCnt |
| Total Volunteers | 75 | TotalVolunteersCnt |
| Total Gross UBI | $0 | TotalGrossUBIAmt |
| Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm | $0 | NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt |
| PY Contributions Grants | $11,290,063 | PYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| CY Contributions Grants | $13,794,611 | CYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| PY Program Service Revenue | $22,831,492 | PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| CY Program Service Revenue | $26,306,068 | CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| PY Investment Income | $3,773,811 | PYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| CY Investment Income | $1,185,702 | CYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| PY Other Revenue | $1,906,514 | PYOtherRevenueAmt |
| CY Other Revenue | $1,478,155 | CYOtherRevenueAmt |
| PY Total Revenue | $39,801,880 | PYTotalRevenueAmt |
| CY Total Revenue | $42,764,536 | CYTotalRevenueAmt |
| PY Grants And Similar Paid | $1,530,238 | PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| CY Grants And Similar Paid | $2,589,587 | CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| PY Benefits Paid To Members | $0 | PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| CY Benefits Paid To Members | $0 | CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $26,309,351 | PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $28,204,678 | CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Fundraising Expense | $3,105,903 | CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt |
| PY Other Expenses | $14,037,934 | PYOtherExpensesAmt |
| CY Other Expenses | $15,579,326 | CYOtherExpensesAmt |
| PY Total Expenses | $41,877,523 | PYTotalExpensesAmt |
| CY Total Expenses | $46,373,591 | CYTotalExpensesAmt |
| PY Revenues Less Expenses | -$2,075,643 | PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| CY Revenues Less Expenses | -$3,609,055 | CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| Total Assets BOY | $101,126,239 | TotalAssetsBOYAmt |
| Total Assets EOY | $95,423,850 | TotalAssetsEOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities BOY | $18,786,999 | TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities EOY | $21,394,682 | TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY | $82,339,240 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY | $74,029,168 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt |
| Info In Schedule O Part III | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd |
| Mission | The mission of The American College of Financial Services is to provide applied financial knowledge and education, promote life-long learning, and advocate for ethical standards for the benefit of society. | MissionDesc |
| Significant New Program Srvc | 0 | SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd |
| Significant Change | 0 | SignificantChangeInd |
| Expense | $24,416,559 | ExpenseAmt |
| Grant | $1,381,204 | GrantAmt |
| Revenue | $18,907,813 | RevenueAmt |
| Desc | The Huebner School administers the curriculum leading to the CLU, ChFC, RICP, CLF, ChSNC, and WMCP professional designations. It also provides the educational content needed to obtain the CFP professional designation. There are approximately 14,000 students enrolled in theseprograms. | Desc |
Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Expense | $3,807,176 | ExpenseAmt |
| Grant | $777,931 | GrantAmt |
| Revenue | $2,948,219 | RevenueAmt |
| Desc | The Irwin Graduate School administers the curriculum leading to the Master of Science in Management, the Master of Science in Financial Services, the Chartered Advisor in Philanthropy (CAP) designation, and the Doctoral Program in Financial and Retirement Planning. There are approximately 1,160 students enrolled in these programs. | Desc |
Prog Srvc Accom Acty3 ProgSrvcAccomActy3Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Expense | $699,696 | ExpenseAmt |
| Grant | $8,680 | GrantAmt |
| Revenue | $541,834 | RevenueAmt |
| Desc | The FSCP Program administers the curriculum leading to the FSCP professional designation. There are approximately 1,000 students enrolled in this program. | Desc |
Prog Srvc Accom Acty Other ProgSrvcAccomActyOtherGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Expense | $5,046,847 | ExpenseAmt |
| Grant | $421,772 | GrantAmt |
| Revenue | $4,221,999 | RevenueAmt |
| Desc | The College's Professional Recertification Program (PRP) ensures professional designation holders remain current and serve as an emblem of excellence and expertise to their peers and clients. The Black Executive Leadership Program was launched in 2022. Continuing Education, Course Fees, and Textbooks Fees are included here. | Desc |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Other Prog Srvc Expense | $5,046,847 | TotalOtherProgSrvcExpenseAmt |
| Total Other Prog Srvc Grant | $421,772 | TotalOtherProgSrvcGrantAmt |
| Total Other Prog Srvc Revenue | $4,221,999 | TotalOtherProgSrvcRevenueAmt |
| Total Program Service Expenses | $33,970,278 | TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt |
| Described In Section501c3 | Yes (1) | DescribedInSection501c3Ind |
| Schedule B Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleBRequiredInd |
| Political Campaign Acty | 0 | PoliticalCampaignActyInd |
| Lobbying Activities | 0 | LobbyingActivitiesInd |
| Subject To Proxy Tax | 0 | SubjectToProxyTaxInd |
| Donor Advised Fund | 0 | DonorAdvisedFundInd |
| Conservation Easements | 0 | ConservationEasementsInd |
| Collections Of Art | Yes (1) | CollectionsOfArtInd |
| Credit Counseling | 0 | CreditCounselingInd |
| Donor Rstr Or Quasi Endowments | Yes (1) | DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd |
| Report Land Building Equipment | Yes (1) | ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd |
| Report Investments Other Sec | Yes (1) | ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd |
| Report Program Related Invst | 0 | ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd |
| Report Other Assets | Yes (1) | ReportOtherAssetsInd |
| Report Other Liabilities | Yes (1) | ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd |
| Include FIN48 Footnote | Yes (1) | IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd |
| Independent Audit Fincl Stmt | Yes (1) | IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd |
| Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt | 0 | ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd |
| School Operating | Yes (1) | SchoolOperatingInd |
| Foreign Office | 0 | ForeignOfficeInd |
| Foreign Activities | 0 | ForeignActivitiesInd |
| More Than5000 K To Org | 0 | MoreThan5000KToOrgInd |
| More Than5000 K To Individuals | 0 | MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd |
| Professional Fundraising | 0 | ProfessionalFundraisingInd |
| Fundraising Activities | Yes (1) | FundraisingActivitiesInd |
| Gaming Activities | 0 | GamingActivitiesInd |
| Operate Hospital | 0 | OperateHospitalInd |
| Grants To Organizations | 0 | GrantsToOrganizationsInd |
| Grants To Individuals | Yes (1) | GrantsToIndividualsInd |
| Schedule J Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleJRequiredInd |
| Tax Exempt Bonds | 0 | TaxExemptBondsInd |
| Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans | 0 | EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd |
| PY Excess Benefit Trans | 0 | PYExcessBenefitTransInd |
| Loan Outstanding | 0 | LoanOutstandingInd |
| Grant To Related Person | 0 | GrantToRelatedPersonInd |
| Business Rln With Org Mem | 0 | BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd |
| Business Rln With Fam Mem | 0 | BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd |
| Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent | 0 | BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd |
| Deductible Non Cash Contri | 0 | DeductibleNonCashContriInd |
| Deductible Art Contribution | 0 | DeductibleArtContributionInd |
| Terminate Operations | 0 | TerminateOperationsInd |
| Partial Liquidation | 0 | PartialLiquidationInd |
| Disregarded Entity | 0 | DisregardedEntityInd |
| Related Entity | 0 | RelatedEntityInd |
| Related Organization Ctrl Ent | 0 | RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd |
| Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org | 0 | TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd |
| Activities Conducted Prtshp | 0 | ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd |
| Schedule O Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleORequiredInd |
| IRP Document | 233 | IRPDocumentCnt |
| IRP Document W2 G | 0 | IRPDocumentW2GCnt |
| Backup Wthld Compliance | Yes (1) | BackupWthldComplianceInd |
| Employee | 232 | EmployeeCnt |
| Employment Tax Returns Filed | Yes (1) | EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd |
| Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit | 0 | UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd |
| Foreign Financial Account | 0 | ForeignFinancialAccountInd |
| Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans | 0 | ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd |
| Taxable Party Notification | 0 | TaxablePartyNotificationInd |
| Nondeductible Contributions | 0 | NondeductibleContributionsInd |
| Quid Pro Quo Contributions | 0 | QuidProQuoContributionsInd |
| Form8282 Property Disposed Of | 0 | Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd |
| Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct | 0 | RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd |
| Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct | 0 | PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd |
| Indoor Tanning Services | 0 | IndoorTanningServicesInd |
| Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt | Yes (1) | SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd |
| Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc | 0 | SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd |
| Info In Schedule O Part VI | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd |
| Governing Body Voting Members | 26 | GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt |
| Independent Voting Member | 24 | IndependentVotingMemberCnt |
| Family Or Business Rln | Yes (1) | FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd |
| Delegation Of Mgmt Duties | 0 | DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd |
| Change To Org Documents | 0 | ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd |
| Material Diversion Or Misuse | 0 | MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd |
| Members Or Stockholders | 0 | MembersOrStockholdersInd |
| Election Of Board Members | 0 | ElectionOfBoardMembersInd |
| Decisions Subject To Approva | 0 | DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd |
| Minutes Of Governing Body | Yes (1) | MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd |
| Minutes Of Committees | Yes (1) | MinutesOfCommitteesInd |
| Officer Mailing Address | 0 | OfficerMailingAddressInd |
| Local Chapters | 0 | LocalChaptersInd |
| Form990 Provided To Gvrn Body | Yes (1) | Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd |
| Conflict Of Interest Policy | Yes (1) | ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd |
| Annual Disclosure Covered Prsn | Yes (1) | AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd |
| Regular Monitoring Enfrc | Yes (1) | RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd |
| Whistleblower Policy | Yes (1) | WhistleblowerPolicyInd |
| Document Retention Policy | Yes (1) | DocumentRetentionPolicyInd |
| Compensation Process CEO | Yes (1) | CompensationProcessCEOInd |
| Compensation Process Other | Yes (1) | CompensationProcessOtherInd |
| Investment In Joint Venture | 0 | InvestmentInJointVentureInd |
| States Where Copy Of Return Is Fld | AK | StatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd |
| States Where Copy Of Return Is Fld | AZ | StatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd |
| States Where Copy Of Return Is Fld | CO | StatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd |
| States Where Copy Of Return Is Fld | KY | StatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd |
| States Where Copy Of Return Is Fld | MD | StatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd |
| States Where Copy Of Return Is Fld | MA | StatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd |
| States Where Copy Of Return Is Fld | MI | StatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd |
| States Where Copy Of Return Is Fld | NH | StatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd |
| States Where Copy Of Return Is Fld | NY | StatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd |
| States Where Copy Of Return Is Fld | OH | StatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd |
| States Where Copy Of Return Is Fld | OK | StatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd |
| States Where Copy Of Return Is Fld | OR | StatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd |
| States Where Copy Of Return Is Fld | OK | StatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd |
| Upon Request | Yes (X) | UponRequestInd |
Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person | Alexander Eom | PersonNm |
| Phone | 6105261263 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 630 Allendale Rd Suite 400 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | King of Prussia | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | PA | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 19406 | ZIPCd |
Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (41 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Average Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRt | Individual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorInd | OfficerOfficerInd | Reportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmt | Reportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmt | Other CompensationOtherCompensationAmt | Key EmployeeKeyEmployeeInd | Highest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| George Nichols | ||||||||
| President & CEO | 40.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $1,156,836 | $0 | $18,176 | ||
| Todd Schoon | ||||||||
| EVP and Senior Advisor to | 40.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $112,500 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Scott Berlin | ||||||||
| Trustee | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| Chris Blunt | ||||||||
| Trustee | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| Wallace Boston | ||||||||
| Trustee | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| Brandon Carter | ||||||||
| Trustee | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| George Connolly | ||||||||
| Trustee | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| Susan Cooper | ||||||||
| Trustee | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| Michael Davidson | ||||||||
| Trustee | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| Scott Davison | ||||||||
| Trustee | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| Edward Deutschlander | ||||||||
| Trustee | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| Matt Foran | ||||||||
| Trustee | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| David Fritz | ||||||||
| Trustee | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| Timothy Gerend | ||||||||
| Trustee | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| Randall Harbert | ||||||||
| Trustee | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| Salene Hitchcock-Gear | ||||||||
| Trustee | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| John Howard | ||||||||
| Trustee | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| Michael James | ||||||||
| Trustee | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| Michelle Johnson | ||||||||
| Trustee | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| Rodger Johnson | ||||||||
| Trustee | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| Fred Jonske | ||||||||
| Trustee | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| Cheri Lytle | ||||||||
| Trustee | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| Knut Olson | ||||||||
| Trustee | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| Kristi Rodriguez | ||||||||
| Trustee | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| Michael Rosenzweig | ||||||||
| Trustee | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| Frederick Sievert | ||||||||
| Trustee | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| Mark Montgomery | ||||||||
| Chief Financial and Risk Officer | 40.00 | Yes (X) | $314,769 | $0 | $44,573 | |||
| Gwen Hall | ||||||||
| EVP and Provost | 40.00 | $527,938 | $0 | $25,307 | Yes (X) | |||
| Deborah Glenn | ||||||||
| Chief Human Resources Offi | 40.00 | $323,853 | $0 | $19,645 | Yes (X) | |||
| Ed McEvoy | ||||||||
| Chief Information Officer | 40.00 | $333,526 | $0 | $22,893 | Yes (X) | |||
| Jared Trexler | ||||||||
| Chief Marketing Officer | 40.00 | $273,084 | $0 | $13,185 | Yes (X) | |||
| David Stoeffel | ||||||||
| EVP and Provost | 40.00 | $505,493 | $0 | $19,303 | Yes (X) | |||
| Kirk Trasborg | ||||||||
| Chief Strategy Officer | 40.00 | $259,284 | $0 | $23,090 | Yes (X) | |||
| Dave Eurich | ||||||||
| VP Business Development | 40.00 | $196,802 | $0 | $12,983 | Yes (X) | |||
| Grady Batchelor | ||||||||
| SVP Institute for Learning Innovation | 40.00 | $249,168 | $0 | $12,094 | Yes (X) | |||
| Steve Grourke | ||||||||
| SVP Advancement | 40.00 | $377,856 | $0 | $19,817 | Yes (X) | |||
| Michael Finke | ||||||||
| Professor and Frank M. Engle Chair | 40.00 | $265,376 | $0 | $20,066 | Yes (X) | |||
| Charles Cronin | ||||||||
| VP Advancement | 40.00 | $243,274 | $0 | $18,641 | Yes (X) | |||
| Hilary Fiorella | ||||||||
| Exec Dir - Center for Women in Financial Services | 40.00 | $210,062 | $0 | $29,494 | Yes (X) | |||
| Karim Hill | ||||||||
| Exec Dir - Center for Economic Empowerment and Equ | 40.00 | $222,095 | $0 | $12,830 | Yes (X) | |||
| Dien Vien | ||||||||
| Exec Dir - Center for Philanthropy | 40.00 | $235,462 | $0 | $27,458 | Yes (X) | |||
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Reportable Comp From Org | $5,807,378 | TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt |
| Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org | $0 | TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt |
| Total Other Compensation | $339,555 | TotalOtherCompensationAmt |
| Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 72 | IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
| Former Ofcr Employees Listed | 0 | FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd |
| Total Comp Greater Than150 K | Yes (1) | TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd |
| Compensation From Other Srcs | 0 | CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd |
Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)
| Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1Txt | CityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNm | State AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCd | ZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCd | ServicesServicesDesc | CompensationCompensationAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Push10 Inc | |||||
| 1500 Chestnut Street Suite 2 19 | Philadelphia | PA | 19102 | Website Consulting | $368,225 |
| Faegre Drinker Biddle & Reath LLP | |||||
| One Logan Square Suite 2000 | PHiladelphia | PA | 19103 | Legal Services | $267,287 |
| Engine Room Technology | |||||
| 370 E Gowen Avenue | Philadelphia | PA | 19119 | Website Consulting | $237,621 |
| Sloane & Company LLC | |||||
| One World Trade Center 285 Fulton | New York | NY | 10007 | PR and Marketing | $235,788 |
| Torch Enterprises Inc | |||||
| 3225 Mcleod Drive Suite 100 | Las Vegas | NV | 89121 | Consulting | $200,006 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 11 | CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
| Fundraising | $1,053,000 | FundraisingAmt |
| All Other Contributions | $12,741,611 | AllOtherContributionsAmt |
| Noncash Contributions | $4,044 | NoncashContributionsAmt |
| Total Contributions | $13,794,611 | TotalContributionsAmt |
Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (4 entries)
| DescDesc | BusinessBusinessCd | Total Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmt | Related Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Solomon S. Huebner | 611310 | $18,907,813 | $18,907,813 |
| Other Program Revenue | 611310 | $3,908,202 | $3,908,202 |
| Richard D. Irwin Gradu | 611310 | $2,948,219 | $2,948,219 |
| FSCP | 611310 | $541,834 | $541,834 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Program Service Revenue | $26,306,068 | TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $1,042,741 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $1,042,741 | ExclusionAmt |
Royalties Revenue RoyaltiesRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $227,009 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $227,009 | ExclusionAmt |
Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Real | $1,956,347 | RealAmt |
Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Real | $0 | RealAmt |
Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Real | $1,956,347 | RealAmt |
Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $1,956,347 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $1,956,347 | ExclusionAmt |
Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | $3,234,985 | SecuritiesAmt |
Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | $3,092,024 | SecuritiesAmt |
Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | $142,961 | SecuritiesAmt |
Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $142,961 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $142,961 | ExclusionAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Fundraising Gross Income | $231,267 | FundraisingGrossIncomeAmt |
| Contri Rpt Fundraising Event | $1,053,000 | ContriRptFundraisingEventAmt |
| Fundraising Direct Expenses | $1,250,265 | FundraisingDirectExpensesAmt |
Net Incm From Fundraising Evt NetIncmFromFundraisingEvtGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | -$1,018,998 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | -$1,018,998 | ExclusionAmt |
Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Desc | Institutional Book Sal | Desc |
| Business | 611130 | BusinessCd |
| Total Revenue Column | $150,887 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $150,887 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
Miscellaneous Revenue MiscellaneousRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $162,910 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $162,910 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Revenue Total | $313,797 | OtherRevenueTotalAmt |
Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $42,764,536 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $26,619,865 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
| Unrelated Business Revenue | $0 | UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt |
| Exclusion | $2,350,060 | ExclusionAmt |
Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $2,589,587 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $2,589,587 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $5,428,419 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $2,494,808 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $2,324,781 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $608,830 | FundraisingAmt |
Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $17,066,405 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $13,120,989 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $2,976,085 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $969,331 | FundraisingAmt |
Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,612,945 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $1,612,945 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $2,664,251 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $4,350,335 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | -$2,082,014 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $395,930 | FundraisingAmt |
Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,432,658 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $1,432,658 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $332,234 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $16,185 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $316,049 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $106,592 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $106,592 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $4,246,529 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $3,523,823 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $586,116 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $136,590 | FundraisingAmt |
Advertising AdvertisingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,013,438 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $997,304 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $3,659 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $12,475 | FundraisingAmt |
Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,760,161 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $1,393,917 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $293,221 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $73,023 | FundraisingAmt |
Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $699,242 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $515,966 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $40,952 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $142,324 | FundraisingAmt |
Travel TravelGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $546,743 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $356,606 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $130,516 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $59,621 | FundraisingAmt |
Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $630,169 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $79,460 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $199,428 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $351,281 | FundraisingAmt |
Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,746,845 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $1,394,561 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $242,711 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $109,573 | FundraisingAmt |
Insurance InsuranceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $429,221 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $350,874 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $78,347 | FundraisingAmt |
Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)
| DescDesc | TotalTotalAmt | Program ServicesProgramServicesAmt | Management And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmt | FundraisingFundraisingAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Curriculum Development | $1,397,662 | $1,396,011 | $1,651 | |
| Other General Administr | $1,276,356 | $1,064,588 | $101,702 | $110,066 |
| Plant Operations | $854,946 | $676,138 | $126,659 | $52,149 |
| Bank Service Charge | $539,188 | $532,825 | $6,363 |
Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $46,373,591 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $33,970,278 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $9,297,410 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $3,105,903 | FundraisingAmt |
Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $7,827,460 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $2,583,686 | EOYAmt |
Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $4,625,312 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $12,143,813 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $1,443,427 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $2,202,921 | EOYAmt |
Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $36,924 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $62,208 | EOYAmt |
Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $1,952,363 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $2,483,743 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss | $46,898,603 | LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt |
| Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec | $18,694,090 | LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt |
Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $29,280,154 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $28,204,513 | EOYAmt |
Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $9,907,828 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $15,240,174 | EOYAmt |
Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $24,063,362 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $9,440,295 | EOYAmt |
Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $21,989,409 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $23,062,497 | EOYAmt |
Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $101,126,239 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $95,423,850 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $6,402,002 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $7,329,933 | EOYAmt |
Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $10,977,113 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $12,602,953 | EOYAmt |
Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $1,407,884 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $1,461,796 | EOYAmt |
Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $18,786,999 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $21,394,682 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Organization Follows FASB117 | Yes (X) | OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind |
No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $22,566,933 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $13,587,233 | EOYAmt |
Donor Restriction Net Assets DonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $59,772,307 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $60,441,935 | EOYAmt |
Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $82,339,240 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $74,029,168 | EOYAmt |
Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $101,126,239 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $95,423,850 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Info In Schedule O Part XI | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd |
| Reconcilation Revenue Expnss | -$3,609,055 | ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt |
| Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst | -$5,133,460 | NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt |
| Other Changes In Net Assets | $432,443 | OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt |
| Method Of Accounting Accrual | Yes (X) | MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd |
| Accountant Compile Or Review | 0 | AccountantCompileOrReviewInd |
| FS Audited | Yes (1) | FSAuditedInd |
FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Separate Basis Fincl Stmt | Yes (X) | SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Audit Committee | Yes (1) | AuditCommitteeInd |
| Federal Grant Audit Required | 0 | FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd |
Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| School | Yes (X) | SchoolInd |
Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB
Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Contributor | RESTRICTED | ContributorNum |
Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | RESTRICTED | BusinessNameLine1 |
Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | RESTRICTED | AddressLine1 |
| Address Line2 | RESTRICTED | AddressLine2 |
| City | RESTRICTED | City |
| State | RESTRICTED | State |
| ZIP Code | RESTRICTED | ZIPCode |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Contributions | RESTRICTED | TotalContributionsAmt |
Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD
Held Works Art HeldWorksArtGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Assets Included | $142,552 | AssetsIncludedAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Collection Used Pub Exhibition | Yes (X) | CollectionUsedPubExhibitionInd |
| Collection Used Preservation | Yes (X) | CollectionUsedPreservationInd |
| Solicited Assets Sale | 0 | SolicitedAssetsSaleInd |
CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Beginning Year Balance | $42,247,027 | BeginningYearBalanceAmt |
| Contributions | $2,211,222 | ContributionsAmt |
| Investment Earnings Or Losses | -$554,959 | InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt |
| Other Expenditures | $1,354,586 | OtherExpendituresAmt |
| End Year Balance | $42,548,704 | EndYearBalanceAmt |
CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Beginning Year Balance | $45,679,213 | BeginningYearBalanceAmt |
| Contributions | $2,679,107 | ContributionsAmt |
| Investment Earnings Or Losses | $585,320 | InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt |
| Other Expenditures | $6,696,613 | OtherExpendituresAmt |
| End Year Balance | $42,247,027 | EndYearBalanceAmt |
CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Beginning Year Balance | $54,081,458 | BeginningYearBalanceAmt |
| Contributions | $3,595,469 | ContributionsAmt |
| Investment Earnings Or Losses | -$2,721,928 | InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt |
| Other Expenditures | $9,275,786 | OtherExpendituresAmt |
| End Year Balance | $45,679,213 | EndYearBalanceAmt |
CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Beginning Year Balance | $60,983,467 | BeginningYearBalanceAmt |
| Contributions | $475,259 | ContributionsAmt |
| Investment Earnings Or Losses | $6,354,378 | InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt |
| Other Expenditures | $13,731,646 | OtherExpendituresAmt |
| End Year Balance | $54,081,458 | EndYearBalanceAmt |
CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Beginning Year Balance | $68,079,599 | BeginningYearBalanceAmt |
| Contributions | $537,360 | ContributionsAmt |
| Investment Earnings Or Losses | -$2,830,427 | InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt |
| Other Expenditures | $4,803,065 | OtherExpendituresAmt |
| End Year Balance | $60,983,467 | EndYearBalanceAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Board Designated Balance EOY | 0.16360 | BoardDesignatedBalanceEOYPct |
| Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY | 0.59390 | PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct |
| Term Endowment Balance EOY | 0.24250 | TermEndowmentBalanceEOYPct |
| Endowments Held Unrelated Org | 0 | EndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd |
| Endowments Held Related Org | 0 | EndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd |
Land LandGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Investment Cost Or Other Basis | $7,976,047 | InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Book Value | $7,976,047 | BookValueAmt |
Buildings BuildingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Investment Cost Or Other Basis | $17,201,002 | InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $2,744,165 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $14,456,837 | BookValueAmt |
Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Investment Cost Or Other Basis | $5,395,222 | InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $1,649,763 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $3,745,459 | BookValueAmt |
Equipment EquipmentGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Investment Cost Or Other Basis | $15,710,095 | InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $14,300,162 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $1,409,933 | BookValueAmt |
Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Investment Cost Or Other Basis | $616,237 | InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Book Value | $616,237 | BookValueAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Book Value Land Buildings | $28,204,513 | TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt |
Other Securities OtherSecuritiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Desc | Vanguard Total Bond | Desc |
| Book Value | $9,440,295 | BookValueAmt |
| Method Valuation | F | MethodValuationCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Book Value Securities | $9,440,295 | TotalBookValueSecuritiesAmt |
Other Assets Org OtherAssetsOrgGrp (2 entries)
| DescDesc | Book ValueBookValueAmt |
|---|---|
| Life Insurance CSV - contributed policies | $10,293,868 |
| Life Insurance CSV - COLI policies | $12,768,629 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Book Value Other Assets | $23,062,497 | TotalBookValueOtherAssetsAmt |
Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (3 entries)
| DescDesc | AmtAmt |
|---|---|
| Accrued Pension | $470,047 |
| Loan Payable | $980,299 |
| Annuities Payable | $11,450 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Liability | $1,461,796 | TotalLiabilityAmt |
| Footnote Text | Yes (X) | FootnoteTextInd |
| Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $38,900,408 | TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Net Unrealized Gains Invst | -$5,133,460 | NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt |
| Other Revenue | $1,269,332 | OtherRevenueAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported | -$3,864,128 | RevenueNotReportedAmt |
| Revenue Subtotal | $42,764,536 | RevenueSubtotalAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt | $0 | RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Revenue Per Form990 | $42,764,536 | TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt |
| Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $47,623,856 | TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Other Expenses Included | $1,250,265 | OtherExpensesIncludedAmt |
| Expenses Not Reported | $1,250,265 | ExpensesNotReportedAmt |
| Expenses Subtotal | $46,373,591 | ExpensesSubtotalAmt |
| Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt | $0 | ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Expenses Per Form990 | $46,373,591 | TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (5 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| Part V, Line 4: | The College's endowment funds are held in perpetuity and the investment earnings are used in accordance with the donors' intents, which ultimately align with the mission of the College. |
| Part X, Line 2: | The Internal Revenue Service has classified The American College as exempt from federal income taxes under Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code ("Code"); as organizations, contributions to which are deductable under Section 170(c) of the Code; and as organizations that are not private foundations as defined in Section 509(a) of the Code. U.S. GAAP requires management to evaluate tax positions taken and recognize a tax liability, if the College has taken an uncertain tax position that more likely than not would not be sustained upon examination by a government authority. Management has analyzed the tax position taken by the College and has concluded that as of December 31, 2022 and 2021, there are no uncertain positions taken or expected to be taken that would require recognition of a liability or disclosure in the financial statements. |
| Part XI, Line 2d - Other Adjustments: | (Gain)/Loss on life insurance CSV 19067. CAAFP 1250265. |
| Part XII, Line 2d - Other Adjustments: | CAAFP Expenses moved to Statement of Revenue 1250265. |
| Part III, Line 4 | The Circular Corners Statue is prominently displayed and enhances the visual footprint of the building. The Huebner Tea Set was used by the College's founder and was contributed by his family. It is displayed in the College's Executive Suite. |
Schedule E IRS990ScheduleE
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Nondiscriminatory Policy Stmt | 0 | NondiscriminatoryPolicyStmtInd |
| Policy Stmt In Brochures Etc | 0 | PolicyStmtInBrochuresEtcInd |
| Plcy Pblczd Via Broadcast Media | 0 | PlcyPblczdViaBroadcastMediaInd |
| Maintain Racial Comp Recs | Yes (1) | MaintainRacialCompRecsInd |
| Maintain Scholarships Recs | Yes (1) | MaintainScholarshipsRecsInd |
| Maintain Cpy Of Brochures Etc | Yes (1) | MaintainCpyOfBrochuresEtcInd |
| Maintain Cpy Of All Sol | Yes (1) | MaintainCpyOfAllSolInd |
| Discriminate Race Stdnts Rghts | 0 | DiscriminateRaceStdntsRghtsInd |
| Discriminate Race Admiss Plcy | 0 | DiscriminateRaceAdmissPlcyInd |
| Discriminate Race Emplm Fculty | 0 | DiscriminateRaceEmplmFcultyInd |
| Discriminate Race Schs | 0 | DiscriminateRaceSchsInd |
| Discriminate Race Educ Plcy | 0 | DiscriminateRaceEducPlcyInd |
| Discriminate Race Use Of Fclts | 0 | DiscriminateRaceUseOfFcltsInd |
| Discriminate Race Athlt Prog | 0 | DiscriminateRaceAthltProgInd |
| Discriminate Race Other Acty | 0 | DiscriminateRaceOtherActyInd |
| Government Financial Aid Rcvd | 0 | GovernmentFinancialAidRcvdInd |
| Government Financial Aid Rvkd | 0 | GovernmentFinancialAidRvkdInd |
| Compliance With Rev Proc7550 | 0 | ComplianceWithRevProc7550Ind |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (4 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| Schedule E, Part I, Line 3 | The American College offers private donor funded scholarships as educational assistance for underserved communities in line with the College's mission. |
| Schedule E, Part I, Line 4 | The American College does not require ethnic and gender information from students who are matriculating or enrolling for courses at the graduate or designation levels. The College offers students the opportunity to voluntarily provide race, gender, and other demographics on the student profiles after enrollment. The College has begun to offer private donor funded scholarships to members of underserved communities. |
| Schedule E, Part I, Line 5 | The College has begun to offer private donor funded scholarship assistance to members of underserved communities. |
| Schedule E, Part I, Line 7 | The American College of Financial Services provides equal opportunity to students and employees, regardless of race, color, and national or ethnic origin. |
Schedule G IRS990ScheduleG
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Mail Solicitations | Yes (X) | MailSolicitationsInd |
| Email Solicitations | Yes (X) | EmailSolicitationsInd |
| In Person Solicitations | Yes (X) | InPersonSolicitationsInd |
| Solicitation Of Non Govt Grants | Yes (X) | SolicitationOfNonGovtGrantsInd |
| Solicitation Of Govt Grants | Yes (X) | SolicitationOfGovtGrantsInd |
| Special Fundraising Events | Yes (X) | SpecialFundraisingEventsInd |
| Agrmt Prof Fundraising Acty | 0 | AgrmtProfFundraisingActyInd |
| Licensed States | AL | LicensedStatesCd |
| Licensed States | AK | LicensedStatesCd |
| Licensed States | AZ | LicensedStatesCd |
| Licensed States | AR | LicensedStatesCd |
| Licensed States | CA | LicensedStatesCd |
| Licensed States | CO | LicensedStatesCd |
| Licensed States | CT | LicensedStatesCd |
| Licensed States | DE | LicensedStatesCd |
| Licensed States | FL | LicensedStatesCd |
| Licensed States | GA | LicensedStatesCd |
| Licensed States | HI | LicensedStatesCd |
| Licensed States | ID | LicensedStatesCd |
| Licensed States | IL | LicensedStatesCd |
| Licensed States | IN | LicensedStatesCd |
| Licensed States | IA | LicensedStatesCd |
| Licensed States | KS | LicensedStatesCd |
| Licensed States | KY | LicensedStatesCd |
| Licensed States | LA | LicensedStatesCd |
| Licensed States | ME | LicensedStatesCd |
| Licensed States | MD | LicensedStatesCd |
| Licensed States | MA | LicensedStatesCd |
| Licensed States | MI | LicensedStatesCd |
| Licensed States | MN | LicensedStatesCd |
| Licensed States | MS | LicensedStatesCd |
| Licensed States | MO | LicensedStatesCd |
| Licensed States | MT | LicensedStatesCd |
| Licensed States | NE | LicensedStatesCd |
| Licensed States | NV | LicensedStatesCd |
| Licensed States | NH | LicensedStatesCd |
| Licensed States | NJ | LicensedStatesCd |
| Licensed States | NM | LicensedStatesCd |
| Licensed States | NY | LicensedStatesCd |
| Licensed States | NC | LicensedStatesCd |
| Licensed States | ND | LicensedStatesCd |
| Licensed States | OH | LicensedStatesCd |
| Licensed States | OK | LicensedStatesCd |
| Licensed States | OR | LicensedStatesCd |
| Licensed States | PA | LicensedStatesCd |
| Licensed States | RI | LicensedStatesCd |
| Licensed States | SC | LicensedStatesCd |
| Licensed States | SD | LicensedStatesCd |
| Licensed States | TN | LicensedStatesCd |
| Licensed States | TX | LicensedStatesCd |
| Licensed States | UT | LicensedStatesCd |
| Licensed States | VT | LicensedStatesCd |
| Licensed States | VA | LicensedStatesCd |
| Licensed States | WA | LicensedStatesCd |
| Licensed States | WV | LicensedStatesCd |
| Licensed States | WI | LicensedStatesCd |
| Licensed States | WY | LicensedStatesCd |
Fundraising Event Information FundraisingEventInformationGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Event1 | Conference of African American Fin | Event1Nm |
| Gross Receipts Event1 | $1,284,267 | GrossReceiptsEvent1Amt |
| Charitable Contri Event1 | $1,053,000 | CharitableContriEvent1Amt |
| Gross Revenue Event1 | $231,267 | GrossRevenueEvent1Amt |
| Rent Facility Costs Event1 | $715,100 | RentFacilityCostsEvent1Amt |
| Food And Beverage Event1 | $24,256 | FoodAndBeverageEvent1Amt |
| Other Direct Expenses Event1 | $510,909 | OtherDirectExpensesEvent1Amt |
| Other Events Total | 0 | OtherEventsTotalCnt |
| Gross Receipts Total | $1,284,267 | GrossReceiptsTotalAmt |
| Charitable Contributions Tot | $1,053,000 | CharitableContributionsTotAmt |
| Gross Revenue Total Events | $231,267 | GrossRevenueTotalEventsAmt |
| Rent Fclty Costs Total Events | $715,100 | RentFcltyCostsTotalEventsAmt |
| Food And Beverage Total Events | $24,256 | FoodAndBeverageTotalEventsAmt |
| Oth Direct Expnss Total Events | $510,909 | OthDirectExpnssTotalEventsAmt |
| Direct Expense Summary Events | $1,250,265 | DirectExpenseSummaryEventsAmt |
| Net Income Summary | -$1,018,998 | NetIncomeSummaryAmt |
Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Grant Records Maintained | Yes (1) | GrantRecordsMaintainedInd |
Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Grant Type | Tuition Assistance | GrantTypeTxt |
| Recipient | 1238 | RecipientCnt |
| Cash Grant | $2,589,587 | CashGrantAmt |
Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| First Class Or Charter Travel | Yes (X) | FirstClassOrCharterTravelInd |
| Housing Allowance Or Residence | Yes (X) | HousingAllowanceOrResidenceInd |
| Club Dues Or Fees | Yes (X) | ClubDuesOrFeesInd |
| Written Policy Ref T And E Expnss | Yes (1) | WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd |
| Substantiation Required | Yes (1) | SubstantiationRequiredInd |
| Compensation Committee | Yes (X) | CompensationCommitteeInd |
| Independent Consultant | Yes (X) | IndependentConsultantInd |
| Written Employment Contract | Yes (X) | WrittenEmploymentContractInd |
| Board Or Committee Approval | Yes (X) | BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd |
| Severance Payment | 0 | SeverancePaymentInd |
| Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan | Yes (1) | SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd |
| Equity Based Comp Arrngm | 0 | EquityBasedCompArrngmInd |
| Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org | Yes (1) | CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd |
| Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs | 0 | CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd |
| Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org | Yes (1) | CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd |
| Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs | 0 | CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd |
| Any Non Fixed Payments | 0 | AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd |
| Initial Contract Exception | 0 | InitialContractExceptionInd |
Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (16 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Base Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Compensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmt | Bonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmount | Bonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmt | Other Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Other Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmt | Deferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmt | Deferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmt | Nontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmt | Nontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmt | Total Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Total Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmt | Comp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmt | Comp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| George Nichols | ||||||||||||||
| President & CEO | $741,472 | $0 | $393,800 | $0 | $21,564 | $0 | $15,250 | $0 | $2,926 | $0 | $1,175,012 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Gwen Hall | ||||||||||||||
| EVP and Provost | $396,580 | $0 | $112,500 | $0 | $18,858 | $0 | $15,250 | $0 | $10,057 | $0 | $553,245 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| David Stoeffel | ||||||||||||||
| EVP and Provost | $389,429 | $0 | $112,500 | $0 | $3,564 | $0 | $15,250 | $0 | $4,053 | $0 | $524,796 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Steve Grourke | ||||||||||||||
| SVP Advancement | $285,646 | $0 | $84,400 | $0 | $7,810 | $0 | $15,000 | $0 | $4,817 | $0 | $397,673 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Mark Montgomery | ||||||||||||||
| Chief Financial and Risk Officer | $244,229 | $0 | $70,000 | $0 | $540 | $0 | $16,535 | $0 | $28,038 | $0 | $359,342 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Ed McEvoy | ||||||||||||||
| Chief Information Officer | $259,004 | $0 | $68,600 | $0 | $5,922 | $0 | $20,652 | $0 | $2,241 | $0 | $356,419 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Deborah Glenn | ||||||||||||||
| Chief Human Resources Offi | $248,089 | $0 | $68,600 | $0 | $7,164 | $0 | $16,330 | $0 | $3,315 | $0 | $343,498 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Jared Trexler | ||||||||||||||
| Chief Marketing Officer | $220,658 | $0 | $50,600 | $0 | $1,826 | $0 | $10,991 | $0 | $2,194 | $0 | $286,269 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Michael Finke | ||||||||||||||
| Professor and Frank M. Engle Chair | $264,134 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $1,242 | $0 | $17,225 | $0 | $2,841 | $0 | $285,442 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Kirk Trasborg | ||||||||||||||
| Chief Strategy Officer | $248,042 | $0 | $10,000 | $0 | $1,242 | $0 | $12,500 | $0 | $10,590 | $0 | $282,374 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Dien Vien | ||||||||||||||
| Exec Dir - Center for Philanthropy | $212,860 | $0 | $1,570 | $0 | $21,032 | $0 | $10,589 | $0 | $16,869 | $0 | $262,920 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Charles Cronin | ||||||||||||||
| VP Advancement | $205,850 | $0 | $25,000 | $0 | $12,424 | $0 | $16,400 | $0 | $2,241 | $0 | $261,915 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Grady Batchelor | ||||||||||||||
| SVP Institute for Learning Innovatio | $198,586 | $0 | $35,000 | $0 | $15,582 | $0 | $9,885 | $0 | $2,209 | $0 | $261,262 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Hilary Fiorella | ||||||||||||||
| Exec Dir - Center for Women in Finan | $200,498 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $9,564 | $0 | $8,165 | $0 | $21,329 | $0 | $239,556 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Karim Hill | ||||||||||||||
| Exec Dir - Center for Economic Empow | $219,985 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $2,110 | $0 | $10,589 | $0 | $2,241 | $0 | $234,925 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Dave Eurich | ||||||||||||||
| VP Business Development | $170,767 | $0 | $25,000 | $0 | $1,035 | $0 | $11,050 | $0 | $1,933 | $0 | $209,785 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| Part I, Line 1a | The Executive Committee of the Board has authorized the President to travel first class air on trips over four hours. The President and certain members of the Executive Leadership team are also allowed a housing allowance and/or health or social Club dues or initiation fees as part of their employment agreements. |
| Part I, Line 3 | The College's Compensation Committee, composed of Board members, determines the base compensation and annual incentive award of the President & CEO. They also review and approve the President & CEO's recommendations for other members of the College's leadership team. The award amounts are tied to the College's goals as well as individual performance and based on a qualitative evaluation of the accomplishment of goals that are determined at the beginning of the year. Part I, Line 5: In 2019 The College implemented short and long term incentive plans for top level executives. The Short Term Incentive Plan (STIP) is offered to members of the College's Leadership with annual payouts based on the achievement of enterprise-wide goals and objectives. The first payout was made in February 2020 for the 2019 calendar year. The Long Term Incentive Plan (LTIP) is offered to The College's Executive Leadership Team and is designed to retain and reward key executives based on the achievement of The College's long-term strategic objectives. The next potential payout date is February 2028, coinciding with The College's 100 year anniversary. |
Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (7 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 2 | Todd Schoon is a College Trustee and he serves on the Board of OneAmerica where Scott Davison, also a College Trustee, is the CEO. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 11b | The Form 990 is completed by Finance staff and reviewed by the Chief Finance & Risk Officer for accuracy and completeness. It is then reviewed by the College's independent auditors. Once these steps are completed, it is presented to the College's Finance & Investment Committee and the full Board of Trustees for their review. This process involves sending the completed Form electronically to the Committee and Board and reviewing the Form during Committee's quarterly meeting prior to filing. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 12c | All members of the College's Board of Trustees and all employees are required to complete the conflict of interest form annually. The returned forms are tabulated to ensure 100% response. The results of the Board member's responses are communicated to the Audit and Risk Committee and independent auditors and appropriate action is recommended. The results of the employee responses are communicated to the Chief Financial & Risk Officer and independent auditors and appropriate action is taken. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 15 | The College's Compensation Committee, composed of Board members, determines the base compensation and annual incentive award of the President & CEO. They also review and approve the President & CEO's recommendations for other members of the College's leadership team. The award amounts are tied to individual performance and based on a qualitative evaluation of the accomplishment of goals that are determined at the beginning of the year. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Section C, line 18 | The governing documents, conflict of interest policy, and financial statements are made available to the public on an as requested basis. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Section C, line 19 | The governing documents, conflict of interest policy, and financial statements are made available to the public on an as requested basis. |
| Form 990, Part XI, line 9: | Increase in minimum pension liability 413376. Other Changes (Change in Life insurance CSV) 19067. |