STRATEGY STUDIO / PUBLIC DATA EXPLORER

SWISHER ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE INC: Form 990, tax year 2022

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
SWISHER ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE INC (EIN 75-0594971)
Tax period
2022-01-01 to 2022-12-31
Filed
2023-11-15
IRS object ID
202313199349329781
Schema version
2022v5.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2023-11-15T19:38:55-06:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2022-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN750882037PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1BOLINGER SEGARS GILBERT AND MOSS LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line18215 NASHVILLE AVENUEAddressLine1Txt
CityLUBBOCKCityNm
State AbbreviationTXStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP79423ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2022-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN750594971EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1SWISHER ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE INCBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlSWISBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone8069953567PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 67AddressLine1Txt
CityTULIACityNm
State AbbreviationTXStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP79088ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonDWAIN TIPTONPersonNm
Person TitleGENERAL MANAGERPersonTitleTxt
Phone8069953567PhoneNum
Signature2023-11-02SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Signing Officer SigningOfficerGrp

Person Full Name PersonFullName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Person FirstDWAINPersonFirstNm
Person LastTIPTONPersonLastNm
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SSN999009999SSN
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
IRS Responsible Prty Info Curr0IRSResponsiblePrtyInfoCurrInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonWILLIAM M MILLERPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00439459PTIN
Phone8067473806PhoneNum
Preparation2023-11-02PreparationDt
Self EmployedYes (X)SelfEmployedInd

Additional Filer Information AdditionalFilerInformation

Trusted Customer TrustedCustomerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Trusted Customer2TrustedCustomerCd
Authentication Assurance LevelAAL1AuthenticationAssuranceLevelCd
Identity Assurance LevelIAL1IdentityAssuranceLevelCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2022TaxYr
Build TS2023-04-26 12:10:37ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerDWAIN TIPTONPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 67AddressLine1Txt
CityTULIACityNm
State AbbreviationTXStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP79088ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$25,677,057GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501cYes (X)Organization501cInd
Website AddressWWW.SWISHERELECTRIC.ORGWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1939FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateTXLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionTO PROVIDE QUALITY AND RELIABLE ELECTRIC SERVICE TO MEMBERS OF THE COOPERATIVE.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body7VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent7VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee47TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers0TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$3,780TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$0PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$0CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$22,894,107PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$25,204,535CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$156,316PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$191,391CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$9,457PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$13,942CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$23,059,880PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$25,409,868CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$11,635PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$9,755CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$539,023PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$501,576CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$3,238,278PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$3,317,299CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$19,091,493PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$21,366,832CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$22,880,429PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$25,195,462CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$179,451PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$214,406CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$72,434,253TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$71,325,380TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$31,819,841TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$31,227,096TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$40,614,412NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$40,098,284NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionTO SUPPLY THE PRESENT AND FUTURE ELECTRICAL SERVICE NEEDS TO ITS MEMBERS IN AN EFFICIENT AND ECONOMICAL MANNER AND TO HAVE A SOUND FINANCIAL BASE IN ORDER TO PROVIDE THE HIGHEST RELIABILITY OF SERVICE WITH INTEGRITY, INNOVATION, ACCOUNTABILITY AND COMMITMENT TO COMMUNITY THEREBY ENHANCING THE QUALITY OF LIFE FOR ALL OUR MEMBERS.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
DescPROVIDING ELECTRIC ENERGY TO OUR MEMBERS ON A COOPERATIVE BASIS THROUGH THE ALLOCATION OF PATRONAGE CAPITAL. THERE WERE 7,973 ACTIVE SERVICES AT YEAR END.Desc
Described In Section501c30DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B Required0ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingYes (1)CreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi Endowments0DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstYes (1)ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent0BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related Entity0RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document47IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Employee47EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns Filed0EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (1)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (1)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Members And Shr Gross Income$25,157,316MembersAndShrGrossIncomeAmt
Other Sources Gross Income$956,857OtherSourcesGrossIncomeAmt
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt0SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc0SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members7GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member7IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (1)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (1)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (1)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of Committees0MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1JASMINE DICKSON DIRECTOR OF FIN & OFFICE SERVICESBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone8069953567PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1401 SW 2ND STREETAddressLine1Txt
CityTULIACityNm
State AbbreviationTXStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP79088ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part VIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIIInd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (10 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtOfficerOfficerIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
JEFF HARRELL
DIRECTOR1.40Yes (X)$26,325$0$0
DWAIN STRANGE
PRESIDENT2.00Yes (X)$26,317$0$0Yes (X)
RALPH FROST
DIRECTOR1.30Yes (X)$26,308$0$0
MACE MIDDLETON
VICE PRESIDENT1.00Yes (X)$26,296$0$0Yes (X)
BILLY COGDELL
ASSISTANT SECRETARY/TREASURER1.40Yes (X)$13,765$0$0Yes (X)
BRAD SHARP
DIRECTOR1.20Yes (X)$13,762$0$0
JIMMY BURSON
SECRETARY/TREASURER0.90Yes (X)$13,753$0$0Yes (X)
DWAIN TIPTON
GENERAL MANAGER55.00$162,353$0$151,570Yes (X)
JASMINE DICKSON
DIRECTOR OF FINANCE40.00$102,166$0$43,735Yes (X)
MARY ELLEN MCMANUS
DIRECTOR OF ENGINEERING & OPERATIONS45.00$112,007$0$45,209Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$523,052TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$240,514TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K3IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (2 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
NATIONAL INFORMATION SOLUTIONS COOPERATI
ONE INNOVATIVE CIRCLELAKE SAINT LOUISMO63367SOFTWARE$127,722
CURRENT UTILITY SERVICES LLC
423 5TH STREETSCOTLANDTX76379MAINTENANCE ON OVERHEAD LINES$103,270
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K2CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Info In Schedule O Part VIIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIIIInd

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (4 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
SALES OF ELECTRICITY221000$24,520,827$24,520,827
PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS221000$558,229$558,229
SERVICE FEES221000$108,079$108,079
ELECTRIC WHEELING221000$17,400$17,400
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$25,204,535TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$179,773TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$179,773ExclusionAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Personal$3,780PersonalAmt

Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Personal$0PersonalAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Personal$3,780PersonalAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$3,780TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$3,780UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$39,100OtherAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$27,482OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$11,618OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$11,618TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$11,618RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Sales Of Inventory$239,104GrossSalesOfInventoryAmt
Cost Of Goods Sold$239,707CostOfGoodsSoldAmt

Net Income Or Loss NetIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$603TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income-$603RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescPOLE ATTACHMENT INCOMEDesc
Business221000BusinessCd
Total Revenue Column$10,765TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$10,765ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$10,765OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$25,409,868TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$25,215,550RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$3,780UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$190,538ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part IXYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIXInd

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$9,755TotalAmt

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$501,576TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$606,350TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,796,789TotalAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$369,977TotalAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$406,790TotalAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$137,393TotalAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$949,405TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,931,336TotalAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmt
PURCHASED POWER$16,576,538
DISTRIBUTION EXPENSE$937,719
ADMIN & GENERAL EXPENSE$675,971
OPERATING TAXES$184,390

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$111,473TotalAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$25,195,462TotalAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$267,054BOYAmt
EOY$701,365EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,074,343BOYAmt
EOY$2,264,635EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$975,631BOYAmt
EOY$1,765,463EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$605,597BOYAmt
EOY$700,328EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,758,397BOYAmt
EOY$3,097,946EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$69,790,395LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$31,758,393LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$37,738,635BOYAmt
EOY$38,032,002EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$24,999,320BOYAmt
EOY$24,747,310EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$15,276BOYAmt
EOY$16,331EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$72,434,253BOYAmt
EOY$71,325,380EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,583,045BOYAmt
EOY$1,694,348EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$105,733EOYAmt

Escrow Account Liability EscrowAccountLiabilityGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$77,492BOYAmt
EOY$66,006EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$27,322,786BOYAmt
EOY$26,059,005EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,836,518BOYAmt
EOY$3,302,004EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$31,819,841BOYAmt
EOY$31,227,096EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Org Does Not Follow FASB117Yes (X)OrgDoesNotFollowFASB117Ind

Cap Stk Tr Prin Current Funds CapStkTrPrinCurrentFundsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Pd In Cap Srpls Land Bldg Eqp Fund PdInCapSrplsLandBldgEqpFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$40,614,412BOYAmt
EOY$40,098,284EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$40,614,412BOYAmt
EOY$40,098,284EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$72,434,253BOYAmt
EOY$71,325,380EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$214,406ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst-$191,239NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets-$539,295OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Info In Schedule O Part XIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit Committee0AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Agent Trustee Etc0AgentTrusteeEtcInd
Incl Escrow Custodial Acct LiabYes (1)InclEscrowCustodialAcctLiabInd
Explanation ProvidedYes (X)ExplanationProvidedInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$119,487OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$119,487BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$1,764,100OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$1,051,788DepreciationAmt
Book Value$712,312BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$67,806,928OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$30,653,741DepreciationAmt
Book Value$37,153,187BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$99,880OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$52,864DepreciationAmt
Book Value$47,016BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$38,032,002TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Invst Program Related Org InvstProgramRelatedOrgGrp (8 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmtMethod ValuationMethodValuationCd
PATRONAGE CAPITAL - TEC$312,835C
PATRONAGE CAPITAL - CFC$366,267C
PATRONAGE CAPITAL - GSEC$21,690,226C
PATRONAGE CAPITAL - NISC$45,969C
PATRONAGE CAPITAL - OTHER$206,229C
CAPITAL TERM CERTIFICATES - CFC$710,598C
SCHOLARSHIP FUNDS & OPERATIONS RESERVE$915,186C
CFC MEMBER CAPITAL SECURITIES$500,000C
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Program Rltd$24,747,310TotalBookValueProgramRltdAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (5 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
CONSUMER DEPOSITS$212,044
DEFERRED CREDITS - OTHER$441,093
DEFERRED CREDIT - UNCLAIMED CAPITAL CREDIT CHECKS$128,220
DEFERRED CREDIT - OVERBILLED POWER COST$2,481,163
ACCRUED OPERATING TAXES$39,484
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$3,302,004TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$25,238,467TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst-$191,239NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Other Revenue$19,838OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported-$171,401RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$25,409,868RevenueSubtotalAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$0RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$25,409,868TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$24,713,724TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Expenses Included$19,838OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$19,838ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$24,693,886ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Other Expenses Not Included$501,576OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$501,576ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$25,195,462TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (8 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART IV, LINE 2B:PURSUANT TO SECTION 74.3013 OF THE TEXAS PROPERTY CODE, THE COOPERATIVE HAS ESTABLISHED A RURAL SCHOLARSHIP FUND WITH AMOUNTS DESIGNATED UNCLAIMED UNDER STATE LAW. THE AMOUNTS DEPOSITED INTO THE RURAL SCHOLARSHIP FUND ARE APPROVED BY THE STATE OF TEXAS AND CAN ONLY BE USED FOR SCHOLARSHIPS TO ENABLE STUDENTS FROM RURAL AREAS TO ATTEND COLLEGE, TECHNICAL SCHOOL OR OTHER POST SECONDARY EDUCATION INSTITUTION. ANY AMOUNTS SO DEPOSITED INTO THE RURAL SCHOLARSHIP FUND ARE STILL PAYABLE TO THE PERSON TO WHOM THE ORIGINAL PAYMENT WAS MADE BUT UNCLAIMED. ALSO PURSUANT TO SECTION 74.3013 OF THE TEXAS PROPERTY CODE, THE COOPERATIVE HAS ESTABLISHED AN ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT FUND WITH AMOUNTS DESIGNATED UNCLAIMED UNDER STATE LAW. THE AMOUNTS DEPOSITED INTO THE ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT FUND ARE APPROVED BY THE STATE OF TEXAS AND CAN ONLY BE USED FOR THE STIMULATION AND IMPROVEMENT OF BUSINESS AND COMMERCIAL ACTIVITY FOR ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT IN RURAL COMMUNITIES. ANY AMOUNTS SO DEPOSITED INTO THE ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT FUND ARE STILL PAYABLE TO THE PERSON TO WHOM THE ORIGINAL PAYMENT WAS MADE BUT UNCLAIMED.
PART X, LINE 2:THE COOPERATIVE HAS ADOPTED THE "UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS" PROVISIONS OF ACCOUNTING PRINCIPLES GENERALLY ACCEPTED IN THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA. THE PRIMARY TAX POSITION OF THE COOPERATIVE IS ITS FILING STATUS AS A TAX EXEMPT ENTITY. THE COOPERATIVE DETERMINED THAT IT IS MORE LIKELY THAN NOT THAT ITS TAX POSITION WILL BE SUSTAINED UPON EXAMINATION BY THE INTERNAL REVENUE SERVICE (IRS), OR OTHER STATE TAXING AUTHORITY AND THAT ALL TAX BENEFITS ARE LIKELY TO BE REALIZED UPON SETTLEMENT WITH TAXING AUTHORITIES.
PART XI, LINE 2D - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:NET EXPENSE REDUCTIONS RECLASSED FROM NONOPERATING MARGINS 19,838.
PART XI, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:NET EXPENSE REDUCTIONS RECLASSED FROM NONOPERATING MARGINS
PART XII, LINE 2D - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:NET EXPENSE REDUCTIONS RECLASSED FROM NONOPERATING MARGINS 19,838.
PART XII, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:PATRONAGE CAPITAL ALLOCATED OR TO BE ALLOCATED 501,576.
PART IX:THE AMOUNT OF OTHER ASSETS ON FORM 990, PAGE 11, PART IX, LINE 15 DOES NOT EQUAL OR EXCEED 5% OF THE TOTAL ASSETS ON FORM 990, PAGE 11, PART X, LINE 16, COLUMN B. CONSEQUENTLY, IN ACCORDANCE WITH IRS INSTRUCTIONS SCHEDULE D, PART IX HAS BEEN LEFT BLANK.
PART XII, LINE 4B:FOR THE AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS, THE AMOUNT OF PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS ALLOCATED OR TO BE ALLOCATED TO THE MEMBERS IS REPORTED AS AN INCREASE IN EQUITY AND NOT AS AN EXPENSE. THEREFORE, NET INCOME PER THE AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS IS REPORTED GROSS OF THE AMOUNT OF PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS THAT ARE EITHER ALLOCATED OR TO BE ALLOCATED AT THE TIME THE AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE PREPARED. HOWEVER, BECAUSE THE ALLOCATION OF PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS IS ONE ASPECT OF HOW THE COOPERATIVE FULFILLS ITS TAX EXEMPT PURPOSE OF OPERATING ON A COOPERATIVE BASIS, THE AMOUNT OF PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS EITHER ALLOCATED OR TO BE ALLOCATED TO THE MEMBERS IS REPORTED ON FORM 990, PART IX, LINE 4 AS "BENEFITS PAID TO MEMBERS". PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS ARE ALLOCATED ON A PATRONAGE BASIS AND DONE SO PURSUANT TO A PRE-EXISTING OBLIGATION AS PROVIDED FOR IN THE "NON-PROFIT OPERATION" ARTICLE OF THE COOPERATIVE'S BYLAWS.

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Travel For CompanionsYes (X)TravelForCompanionsInd
Written Policy Ref T And E ExpnssYes (1)WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd
Substantiation RequiredYes (1)SubstantiationRequiredInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (2 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
DWAIN TIPTON
GENERAL MANAGER$156,171$0$950$0$5,232$0$79,302$0$72,268$0$313,923$0$0$0
MARY ELLEN MCMANUS
DIRECTOR OF ENGINEERING & OPERATIONS$109,420$0$1,225$0$1,362$0$33,122$0$12,087$0$157,216$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART I, LINE 1APURSUANT TO APPLICABLE TRAVEL POLICIES, THE COOPERATIVE WILL REIMBURSE DIRECTORS FOR THE COST OF HIS/HER SPOUSE TO ACCOMPANY HIM/HER ON OFFICIAL BUSINESS OF THE COOPERATIVE.
PART II, COLUMN C:INCLUDED IN THIS AMOUNT IS THE INCREASE IN ACTUARIAL VALUE OF BENEFITS PAYABLE UNDER A DEFINED BENEFIT RETIREMENT PLAN. THE CONTRIBUTION RATE FOR PARTICIPANTS IN THE NRECA R&S DEFINED BENEFIT PENSION PLAN ARE THE SAME FOR ALL INDIVIDUALS IN THIS MULTI-EMPLOYER PLAN. THE CHANGE IN ACTUARIAL VALUE FOR EACH PARTICIPANT, HOWEVER, VARIES WITH AGE, YEARS OF SERVICE AND THE CURRENT INTEREST RATE ENVIRONMENT. IN OTHER WORDS, THE OLDER A PLAN PARTICIPANT IS, THE GREATER THE INCREASE IN THAT INDIVIDUAL'S CHANGE IN ACTUARIAL VALUE, ALL OTHER THINGS BEING EQUAL. BECAUSE THIS RELATES TO A MULTI-EMPLOYER PLAN, CASH CONTRIBUTIONS TO THE PLAN IN LIEU OF THE ACTUARIAL INCREASE ARE EXPENSED IN THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS AND REPRESENT THE TRUE COST TO THE COOPERATIVE. DWAIN TIPTON: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN $ 75,970 EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION TO 401(K) PLAN 3,332 TOTAL REPORTED IN COLUMN C $ 79,302 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN (75,970) ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTION TO DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN 44,907 EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE $ 48,239 MARY ELLEN MCMANUS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN $ 30,122 EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION TO 401(K) PLAN 2,223 TOTAL REPORTED IN COLUMN C $ 33,122 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN (30,122) ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTION TO DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE $

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (17 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 6THE COOPERATIVE WAS FORMED BY THE MEMBERS TO PROVIDE ELECTRIC SERVICE AT COST ON A COOPERATIVE BASIS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7ATHE MEMBERS OF THE COOPERATIVE VOTE ON THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS. ELECTIONS ARE DONE ON A ONE MEMBER ONE VOTE BASIS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7BTHE FOLLOWING ACTS REQUIRE APPROVAL OF THE MEMBERS OF THE COOPERATIVE: 1. DISSOLUTION/LIQUIDATION OF THE COOPERATIVE 2. MERGER OR CONSOLIDATION OF THE COOPERATIVE WITH ANOTHER ORGANIZATION 3. THE DISPOSAL OF A SUBSTANTIAL PORTION OF THE COOPERATIVE'S ASSETS 4. AMENDMENT TO THE ARTICLES OF INCORPORATION
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 8BTHE COOPERATIVE HAS NO COMMITTEES WITH AUTHORITY TO ACT ON BEHALF OF THE GOVERNING BODY. THEREFORE, AND PURSUANT TO FORM 990 INSTRUCTIONS, THE QUESTION HAS BEEN ANSWERED "NO".
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11BMANAGEMENT PRESENTED A COPY OF THE FORM 990 TO THE BOARD FOR DISCUSSION AND REVIEW PRIOR TO FILING.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12CON AN ANNUAL BASIS, THE COOPERATIVE WILL REQUIRE THE BOARD AND ITS EMPLOYEES TO COMPLETE AND SIGN A CONFLICT OF INTEREST CERTIFICATION AND DISCLOSURE FORM. THE BOARD WILL ALSO COMPLETE AND SIGN THE FORM 990 DISCLOSURE QUESTIONNAIRE. THE SIGNED COPIES WILL BE KEPT IN THE PERSONNEL FILE FOR EACH INDIVIDUAL.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS DISCUSS AND EVALUATE THE PERFORMANCE OF THE GENERAL MANAGER FOR DETERMINING COMPENSATION.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19A SUMMARY OF THE ANNUAL FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE HANDED OUT TO MEMBERS AT THE ANNUAL MEMBERSHIP MEETING. THE COOPERATIVE WILL PROVIDE A COMPLETE COPY OF THE AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS TO ANY MEMBER WHO REQUESTS A COPY. THE COOPERATIVE'S CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY IS AVAILABLE TO THE PUBLIC UPON REQUEST AT THE COOPERATIVE'S HEADQUARTERS.
FORM 990, PART VII, COLUMN F:IN ORDER TO PROVIDE RETIREMENT BENEFITS TO ITS EMPLOYEES, THE COOPERATIVE HAS ESTABLISHED A DEFINED CONTRIBUTION PLAN UNDER SECTION 401(K) OF THE INTERNAL REVENUE CODE. EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTIONS TO THE PLAN ARE MADE PURSUANT TO THE PLAN DOCUMENT. ADDITIONALLY, THE COOPERATIVE PARTICIPATES IN A MULTI-EMPLOYER DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN. CONTRIBUTIONS TO THIS PLAN ARE BASED ON THE FULL FUNDING LIMITATION OF SUCH PLAN. EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTIONS FOR BOTH PLANS ARE AVAILABLE TO PARTICIPATING EMPLOYEES, INCLUDING OFFICERS, MEETING THE ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS OF SUCH PLANS. THE COOPERATIVE ALSO PROVIDES HEALTH, DENTAL, VISION AND LIFE INSURANCE TO ALL ELIGIBLE EMPLOYEES, THROUGH A QUALIFIED PLAN. THE AMOUNTS REPORTED ON PART VII, COLUMN (F) FOR THE OFFICER IS COMPRISED OF THE ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN THE DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN, THE TOTAL AMOUNT CONTRIBUTED BY THE COOPERATIVE TO THE DEFINED CONTRIBUTION PLAN AND INSURANCE PAID ON BEHALF OF AND FOR HIS BENEFIT. IN ADDITION TO THE ABOVE PENSION PLANS, THE COOPERATIVE ALSO PROVIDES POST-RETIREMENT HEALTH INSURANCE BENEFITS THROUGH AN UNFUNDED WELFARE BENEFIT PLAN. THE VALUE OF THESE BENEFITS HAS NOT BEEN ESTIMATED.
FORM 990, PART VIII, LINE 2:PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS RESULT FROM THE PURCHASE OF WHOLESALE POWER FROM A GENERATION & TRANSMISSION COOPERATIVE. PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS ALSO RESULT FROM THE PAYMENT OF INTEREST FROM COOPERATIVE BANKS AND THE PURCHASE OF SUPPLIES AND SERVICES FROM OTHER COOPERATIVE ORGANIZATIONS. THE EXPENSES ASSOCIATED WITH PURCHASES FROM AND PAYMENTS TO SUCH COOPERATIVE ORGANIZATIONS ARE A DIRECT COMPONENT OF COST OF THE ELECTRIC SERVICE PROVIDED BY THE COOPERATIVE TO ITS MEMBERS.
FORM 990, PART IX:ALTHOUGH THE COOPERATIVE IS NO LONGER A RURAL UTILITIES SERVICE (RUS) BORROWER, ITS ACCOUNTING RECORDS ARE MAINTAINED IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE RUS UNIFORM SYSTEM OF ACCOUNTS (USOA) AS PRESCRIBED FOR RUS ELECTRIC BORROWERS. THE USOA DOES NOT RECORD EXPENSES IN THE GENERAL EXPENSE CATEGORIES PROVIDED ON PART IX LINES 1-23. THE COOPERATIVE SEPARATELY REPORTS SALARIES AND WAGES, EMPLOYEE BENEFITS AND PAYROLL TAXES THAT WILL BE ALLOCATED IN ACCORDANCE WITH THEIR ACCOUNTING SYSTEM, BUT OTHER EXPENSES THAT ARE DESCRIBED IN LINES 1-23 WILL BE REPORTED ON LINE 24 UNDER THE EXPENSE CATEGORIES REQUIRED BY THE USOA.
FORM 990, PART IX, LINES 5-7:SALARIES AND WAGES ARE ALLOCATED TO ASSET, LIABILITY, AND EXPENSE ACCOUNTS BASED ON THE ACCOUNTING SYSTEM DESCRIBED ABOVE. THE FOLLOWING SCHEDULE RECONCILES AMOUNTS REPORTED ON LINES 5-7 TO TOTAL WAGES ACCRUED AND/OR PAID: TOTAL PER LINES 5-7 $ 2,403,139 LESS: DIRECTOR FEES REPORTED ON FORMS 1099-NEC (146,526) LESS: EMPLOYEE OFFICER BENEFITS INCLUDED IN LINE 5 (195,305) PLUS: SALARIES AND WAGES CAPITALIZED DIRECTLY TO PLANT 398,098 PLUS: SALARIES AND WAGES CAPITALIZED/EXPENSED INDIRECTLY THROUGH CLEARING & OTHER ACCOUNTS 248,559 TOTAL WAGES ACCRUED AND/OR PAID $ 2,707,965
FORM 990, PART IX, LINE 24:ADMINISTRATIVE AND GENERAL EXPENSE IS COMPRISED OF THE FOLLOWING: ADMINISTRATIVE & GENERAL SALARIES, BENEFITS, & OTHER $ 578,880 OFFICE SUPPLIES 21,318 SOFTWARE MAINTENANCE 153,262 OUTSIDE SERVICES EMPLOYED 141,790 INJURIES AND DAMAGES INSURANCE 98,592 EMPLOYEE PENSION & BENEFITS 8,489 DIRECTORS 154,837 DUES TO ASSOCIATED ORGANIZATIONS 33,699 EMPLOYEE TRAVEL 17,128 ADVERTISING 13,692 MISCELLANEOUS GENERAL 85,053 ANNUAL MEETING 31,613 COMMUNITY PUBLIC RELATIONS & AREA DEVELOPMENT 32,048 MEMBER SERVICES RELATIONS 29,340 MAINTENANCE OF GENERAL PLANT 85,761 REGULATORY COMMISSION 41,724 TOTAL ADMIN & GENERAL EXP PER FINANCIAL STATEMENTS $ 1,527,226 LESS: RECLASS OF DIRECTOR FEES TO PART IX, LINE 5 (146,526) LESS: RECLASS OF LABOR TO PART IX, LINES 5 & 7 (458,143) LESS: RECLASS OF BENEFITS TO PART IX, LINES 8-10 (246,586) TOTAL ADMIN & GENERAL EXPENSE PER FORM 990, PART IX $ 675,971
FORM 990, PART IX, LINE 4:PURSUANT TO THE FORM 990 INSTRUCTIONS, THE AMOUNT OF PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS PAID TO THE MEMBERS (HEREINAFTER REFERRED TO AS "PATRONS") SHOULD BE REPORTED ON PART IX, LINE 4. THE PHRASE "PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS PAID" REFERS TO THE PROCESS, SUBSEQUENT TO YEAR-END, BY WHICH THE COOPERATIVE ALLOCATES PATRONAGE CAPITAL TO AND, THEREFORE, OPERATES AT COST WITH ITS PATRONS. THE COOPERATIVE'S TAX EXEMPT PURPOSE IS TO PROVIDE ELECTRICITY TO ITS PATRONS AND TO DO SO ON A COOPERATIVE BASIS. TAX LAW DEFINES "OPERATING ON A COOPERATIVE BASIS" AS SUBORDINATION OF CAPITAL, DEMOCRATIC CONTROL, AND OPERATION AT COST. THE COOPERATIVE OPERATES AT COST THROUGH THE ALLOCATION OF TRUE PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS (ALSO REFERRED TO AS ALLOCATIONS OF PATRONAGE CAPITAL) TO ITS PATRONS. PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS ARE CONSIDERED PAID IF THE ALLOCATION IS MADE (1) PURSUANT TO A PRE-EXISTING OBLIGATION, (2) FROM THE MARGINS PRODUCED FROM THE TRANSACTIONS DONE WITH OR FOR PATRONS, AND (3) IN A FAIR AND EQUITABLE MANNER ON THE BASIS OF PATRONAGE (I.E. PURCHASES). ADDITIONALLY, THE ALLOCATION OF PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS SHOULD BE MADE WITHIN A REASONABLE TIME PERIOD AFTER THE CLOSE OF THE COOPERATIVE'S YEAR-END OF DECEMBER 31. EACH ONE OF THESE REQUIREMENTS FOR A TRUE PATRONAGE DIVIDEND IS PROVIDED FOR IN THE NON-PROFIT OPERATION ARTICLE OF THE COOPERATIVE'S BYLAWS. THE AMOUNT REPORTED ON PART IX, LINE 4 REPRESENTS THE AMOUNT OF PATRONAGE CAPITAL THAT IS EITHER ALLOCATED OR TO BE ALLOCATED TO THE PATRONS RESULTING FROM THEIR PURCHASE OF ELECTRICITY FROM THE COOPERATIVE FOR THE 2022 CALENDAR YEAR. BECAUSE PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS ARE THE PROCESS BY WHICH THE COOPERATIVE OPERATES AT COST WITH ITS PATRONS AND THEREBY A KEY COMPONENT TO ACCOMPLISHING ITS EXEMPT PURPOSE, THE COOPERATIVE HAS REPORTED SUCH AMOUNTS AS AN EXPENSE FOR FORM 990 REPORTING. PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS ARE NOT AN EXPENSE FOR FINANCIAL STATEMENTS PREPARED IN ACCORDANCE WITH GENERALLY ACCEPTED ACCOUNTING PRINCIPLES, HOWEVER.
FORM 990, PART IX, LINE 1:ALL GRANTS, SPONSORSHIPS, AND/OR DONATIONS ARE MADE TO NON-PROFIT AND CIVIC ORGANIZATIONS THAT ARE LOCATED IN THE COOPERATIVE'S SERVICE AREA, AND ARE INTENDED TO IMPROVE THE COMMUNITIES IN WHICH OUR MEMBERS RESIDE. EACH GRANT, SPONSORSHIP, AND/OR DONATION MADE DURING THE YEAR WAS BELOW THE REPORTING THRESHOLD OF SCHEDULE I, PART II.
FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9:PATRONAGE CAPITAL ALLOCATED OR TO BE ALLOCATED 501,576. PATRONAGE CAPITAL RETIRED - TOTAL -969,922. PATRONAGE CAPITAL RETIRED - DISCOUNT 19,429. OTHER COMPREHENSIVE INCOME - PROVISION FOR PENSION & BENEFITS -90,378.
FORM 990, PART XII, LINE 2C:THE BOARD AS A WHOLE IS RESPONSIBLE FOR OVERSEEING THE FINANCIAL STATEMENT AUDIT AND SELECTING THE INDEPENDENT FINANCIAL STATEMENT AUDITOR. PROCEDURAL CHANGES DID NOT OCCUR DURING THE YEAR.