STRATEGY STUDIO / PUBLIC DATA EXPLORER

PETIT JEAN ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE CORPORATION: Form 990, tax year 2022

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
PETIT JEAN ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE CORPORATION (EIN 71-0139955)
Tax period
2022-01-01 to 2022-12-31
Filed
2023-11-15
IRS object ID
202323209349301902
Schema version
2022v5.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2023-11-15T23:50:20-06:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2022-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN750882037PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1BOLINGER SEGARS GILBERT AND MOSS LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line18215 NASHVILLE AVENUEAddressLine1Txt
CityLUBBOCKCityNm
State AbbreviationTXStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP79423ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2022-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN710139955EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1PETIT JEAN ELECTRIC COOPERATIVEBusinessNameLine1Txt
Business Name Line2CORPORATIONBusinessNameLine2Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlPETIBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone5017452493PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 37AddressLine1Txt
CityCLINTONCityNm
State AbbreviationARStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP72031ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonDONNIE COLLINSPersonNm
Person TitlePRESIDENTPersonTitleTxt
Phone5017452493PhoneNum
Signature2023-11-15SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Signing Officer SigningOfficerGrp

Person Full Name PersonFullName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Person FirstDONNIEPersonFirstNm
Person LastCOLLINSPersonLastNm
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SSN999009999SSN
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
IRS Responsible Prty Info Curr0IRSResponsiblePrtyInfoCurrInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonWILLIAM M MILLERPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00439459PTIN
Phone8067473806PhoneNum
Preparation2023-10-25PreparationDt
Self EmployedYes (X)SelfEmployedInd

Additional Filer Information AdditionalFilerInformation

Trusted Customer TrustedCustomerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Trusted Customer2TrustedCustomerCd
Authentication Assurance LevelAAL1AuthenticationAssuranceLevelCd
Identity Assurance LevelIAL1IdentityAssuranceLevelCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2022TaxYr
Build TS2023-04-26 12:10:37ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerMICHAEL KIRKLANDPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 37AddressLine1Txt
CityCLINTONCityNm
State AbbreviationARStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP72031ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$46,750,045GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501cYes (X)Organization501cInd
Website AddressWWW.PJECC.COMWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1940FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateARLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionTO PROVIDE QUALITY AND RELIABLE ELECTRIC SERVICE TO MEMBERS AT COST ON A COOPERATIVE BASIS.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body9VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent9VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee80TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers0TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$3,331,049TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$0PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$0CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$38,642,372PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$42,689,747CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$468,739PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$402,735CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$1,621,888PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$3,654,850CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$40,732,999PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$46,747,332CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$6,838PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$6,803CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$2,194,902PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$3,601,291CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$5,770,494PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$6,217,237CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$32,425,136PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$36,172,092CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$40,397,370PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$45,997,423CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$335,629PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$749,909CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$119,449,116TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$166,442,334TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$75,104,956TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$118,982,668TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$44,344,160NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$47,459,666NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionTO PROVIDE RELIABLE AND QUALITY ELECTRIC SERVICE AT FAIR AND COMPETITIVE PRICES. WE PROVIDE LEADERSHIP WITHIN LOCAL COMMUNITIES TO FACILITATE POSITIVE GROWTH WITHIN OUR SERVICE AREA.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
DescPROVIDING ELECTRIC ENERGY TO OUR MEMBERS ON A COOPERATIVE BASIS THROUGH THE ALLOCATION OF PATRONAGE CAPITAL. THERE WERE 20,778 ACTIVE SERVICES AT YEAR END.Desc
Described In Section501c30DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B Required0ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi Endowments0DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstYes (1)ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent0BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityYes (1)DisregardedEntityInd
Related Entity0RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document50IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Employee80EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit0UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Members And Shr Gross Income$42,962,017MembersAndShrGrossIncomeAmt
Other Sources Gross Income$4,740,300OtherSourcesGrossIncomeAmt
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt0SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc0SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members9GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member9IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business RlnYes (1)FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (1)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (1)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (1)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of Committees0MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1MARIANNE PYEATT MANAGER OF FINANCE AND ACCOUNTINGBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone5017452493PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1270 QUALITY DRAddressLine1Txt
CityCLINTONCityNm
State AbbreviationARStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP72031ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part VIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIIInd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (16 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtOfficerOfficerIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
RICHARD COLLINS JR
DIRECTOR9.00Yes (X)$38,305$0$0
FREDERICK HERMAN
SECRETARY/TREASURER4.50Yes (X)$34,233$0$0Yes (X)
DARRELL ALLEN
DIRECTOR6.50Yes (X)$30,514$0$0
TERRY KIRKENDOLL
DIRECTOR5.20Yes (X)$28,851$0$0
WILLIAM DERICKSON
DIRECTOR1.90Yes (X)$28,618$0$0
DONNIE COLLINS
PRESIDENT3.30Yes (X)$28,283$0$0Yes (X)
ADDISON WOOD
DIRECTOR4.50Yes (X)$27,964$0$0
JEREL BROWN
DIRECTOR3.50Yes (X)$25,355$0$0
GILBERT LEWIS
DIRECTOR (JUNE-DEC)6.10Yes (X)$16,995$0$0
MICHAEL KIRKLAND
CEO/GENERAL MANAGER55.00$356,581$0$315,239Yes (X)
MARIANNE PYEATT
MANAGER OF FINANCE AND ACC60.00$124,788$0$61,864Yes (X)
JOHNNY MOORE
MANAGER OF OPERATIONS50.00$122,580$0$97,806Yes (X)
MICHAEL GARBOW
MANAGER OF ENGINEERING46.70$128,090$0$88,055Yes (X)
WILLIAM GREEN
BROADBAND MANAGER72.00$134,315$0$72,768Yes (X)
WILLIAM TESTER
BRANCH MANAGER60.00$124,169$0$82,139Yes (X)
SHAWN BIGGS
SYSTEM ENGINEER47.00$111,445$0$41,142Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$1,361,086TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$759,013TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K10IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
MDR CONSTRUCTION
321 EAST BAYLIS CHAPEL ROADCOLUMBIAMS39429MAKE READY CONSTRUCTION FIBER$10,981,940
ERVIN CABLE
PO BOX 932157ATLANTAGA31193CONSTRUCTION FIBER$5,447,830
CONEXON LLC
2001 GRAND BLVD STE 700KANSAS CITYMO64108FIBER PROJECT MANAGEMENT$3,793,630
ARKANSAS ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE INC
PO BOX 190257LITTLE ROCKAR72219CONSTRUCTION/ROW$2,675,154
TECHLINE INC
PO BOX 674005DALLASTX75267CONSTRUCTION FIBER$2,218,232
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K16CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Info In Schedule O Part VIIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIIIInd

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (4 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
SALES OF ELECTRICITY221000$41,996,754$41,996,754
PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS221000$486,746$486,746
SERVICE FEES221000$179,825$179,825
OTHER PROGRAM REVENUE221000$26,422$26,422
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$42,689,747TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$402,735TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$402,735ExclusionAmt

Royalties Revenue RoyaltiesRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$15,948TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$15,948ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Sales Of Inventory$4,591GrossSalesOfInventoryAmt
Cost Of Goods Sold$2,713CostOfGoodsSoldAmt

Net Income Or Loss NetIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$1,878TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$1,878RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtUnrelated Business RevenueUnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmtExclusionExclusionAmt
BROADBAND INTERNET SALES517000$3,422,101$3,422,101
POLE ATTACHMENT INCOME221000$305,975$305,975
BROADBAND P'SHIP LOSS221000-$91,052-$91,052
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$3,637,024OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$46,747,332TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$42,691,625RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$3,331,049UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$724,658ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part IXYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIXInd

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$6,803TotalAmt

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,601,291TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,117,590TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,099,554TotalAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$885,893TotalAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$854,166TotalAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$260,034TotalAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,741,197TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,655,917TotalAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmt
PURCHASED POWER$23,533,335
DISTRIBUTION EXPENSE$2,625,728
ADMIN & GENERAL EXPENSE$1,130,683
OPERATING TAXES$753,295

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$731,937TotalAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$45,997,423TotalAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,131,763BOYAmt
EOY$1,789,722EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,702,708BOYAmt
EOY$109,400EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,384,368BOYAmt
EOY$4,110,721EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,961,079BOYAmt
EOY$4,618,915EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$540,236BOYAmt
EOY$192,572EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$180,723,522LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$39,036,126LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$93,571,026BOYAmt
EOY$141,687,396EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$12,188,201BOYAmt
EOY$12,036,525EOYAmt

Intangible Assets IntangibleAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$220,686BOYAmt
EOY$222,399EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$749,049BOYAmt
EOY$1,674,684EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$119,449,116BOYAmt
EOY$166,442,334EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,928,724BOYAmt
EOY$12,558,136EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$62,649,678BOYAmt
EOY$100,623,942EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$6,526,554BOYAmt
EOY$5,800,590EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$75,104,956BOYAmt
EOY$118,982,668EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Org Does Not Follow FASB117Yes (X)OrgDoesNotFollowFASB117Ind

Cap Stk Tr Prin Current Funds CapStkTrPrinCurrentFundsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$322,050BOYAmt
EOY$325,180EOYAmt

Pd In Cap Srpls Land Bldg Eqp Fund PdInCapSrplsLandBldgEqpFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$44,022,110BOYAmt
EOY$47,134,486EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$44,344,160BOYAmt
EOY$47,459,666EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$119,449,116BOYAmt
EOY$166,442,334EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$749,909ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$2,365,597OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Info In Schedule O Part XIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Consolidated Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)ConsolidatedBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit Committee0AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$2,600,271OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$2,600,271BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$3,904,196OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$1,357,369DepreciationAmt
Book Value$2,546,827BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$123,633,865OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$37,678,757DepreciationAmt
Book Value$85,955,108BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$50,585,190OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$50,585,190BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$141,687,396TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Invst Program Related Org InvstProgramRelatedOrgGrp (9 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmtMethod ValuationMethodValuationCd
PATRONAGE CAPITAL - AECC$9,674,156C
PATRONAGE CAPITAL - AECI$477,156C
PATRONAGE CAPITAL - CFC$306,858C
PATRONAGE CAPITAL - FEDERATED$348,840C
PATRONAGE CAPITAL - NISC$205,107C
CAPITAL TERM CERTIFICATES - CFC$754,935C
ARKANSAS RURAL ELECTRIC SELF-INS TRUST$58,834C
DIAMOND STATE NETWORK$204,815C
OTHER INVESTMENTS IN ASSOCIATED ORGANIZATIONS$5,824C
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Program Rltd$12,036,525TotalBookValueProgramRltdAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (5 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
ACCUMULATED PROVISION FOR POST RETIREMENT BENEFITS$2,150,613
CONSUMER DEPOSITS$1,607,419
ACCRUED PROPERTY TAXES$765,900
REFUNDABLE AID TO CONSTRUCTION$103,257
UNCLAIMED CAPITAL CREDITS$1,173,401
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$5,800,590TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$46,747,332TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Revenue Not Reported$0RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$46,747,332RevenueSubtotalAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$0RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$46,747,332TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$42,396,132TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$42,396,132ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Other Expenses Not Included$3,601,291OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$3,601,291ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$45,997,423TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (4 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART X, LINE 2:THE COOPERATIVE FOLLOWS THE "UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS" PROVISIONS OF ACCOUNTING PRINCIPLES GENERALLY ACCEPTED IN THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA. THE PRIMARY TAX POSITION OF THE COOPERATIVE IS ITS FILING STATUS AS A TAX EXEMPT ENTITY. THE COOPERATIVE DETERMINED THAT IT IS MORE LIKELY THAN NOT THAT ITS TAX POSITION WILL BE SUSTAINED UPON EXAMINATION BY THE INTERNAL REVENUE SERVICE (IRS) AND THAT ALL TAX BENEFITS ARE LIKELY TO BE REALIZED UPON SETTLEMENT WITH TAXING AUTHORITIES.
PART XII, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:PATRONAGE CAPITAL ALLOCATED OR TO BE ALLOCATED 3,601,291.
PART IX:THE AMOUNT OF OTHER ASSETS ON FORM 990, PAGE 11, PART X, LINE 15 DOES NOT EQUAL OR EXCEED 5% OF THE TOTAL ASSETS ON FORM 990, PAGE 11, PART X, LINE 16, COLUMN B. CONSEQUENTLY, IN ACCORDANCE WITH IRS INSTRUCTIONS, SCHEDULE D, PART IX HAS BEEN LEFT BLANK.
PART XII, LINE 4B:FOR THE AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS, THE AMOUNT OF PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS ALLOCATED OR TO BE ALLOCATED TO THE MEMBERS IS REPORTED AS AN INCREASE IN EQUITY AND NOT AS AN EXPENSE. THEREFORE, NET INCOME PER THE AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS IS REPORTED GROSS OF THE AMOUNT OF PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS THAT ARE EITHER ALLOCATED OR TO BE ALLOCATED AT THE TIME THE AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE PREPARED. HOWEVER, BECAUSE THE ALLOCATION OF PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS IS ONE ASPECT OF HOW THE COOPERATIVE FULFILLS ITS TAX EXEMPT PURPOSE OF OPERATING ON A COOPERATIVE BASIS, THE AMOUNT OF PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS EITHER ALLOCATED OR TO BE ALLOCATED TO THE MEMBERS IS REPORTED ON FORM 990, PART IX, LINE 4 AS "BENEFITS PAID TO MEMBERS".

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (7 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
MICHAEL KIRKLAND
CEO/GENERAL MANAGER$348,254$0$118$0$8,209$0$289,418$0$25,821$0$671,820$0$0$0
JOHNNY MOORE
MANAGER OF OPERATIONS$116,251$0$330$0$5,999$0$75,827$0$21,979$0$220,386$0$0$0
MICHAEL GARBOW
MANAGER OF ENGINEERING$122,612$0$276$0$5,202$0$63,829$0$24,226$0$216,145$0$0$0
WILLIAM GREEN
BROADBAND MANAGER$132,697$0$157$0$1,461$0$45,815$0$26,953$0$207,083$0$0$0
WILLIAM TESTER
BRANCH MANAGER$114,178$0$347$0$9,644$0$56,596$0$25,543$0$206,308$0$0$0
MARIANNE PYEATT
MANAGER OF FINANCE AND ACC$123,192$0$119$0$1,477$0$36,043$0$25,821$0$186,652$0$0$0
SHAWN BIGGS
SYSTEM ENGINEER$109,027$0$114$0$2,304$0$11,103$0$30,039$0$152,587$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART II, COLUMN C:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationINCLUDED IN THIS AMOUNT IS THE INCREASE IN ACTUARIAL VALUE OF BENEFITS PAYABLE UNDER A DEFINED BENEFIT RETIREMENT PLAN. THE CONTRIBUTION RATE FOR PARTICIPANTS IN THE NRECA R&S DEFINED BENEFIT PENSION PLAN ARE THE SAME FOR ALL INDIVIDUALS IN THIS MULTI-EMPLOYER PLAN. THE CHANGE IN ACTUARIAL VALUE FOR EACH PARTICIPANT, HOWEVER, VARIES WITH AGE, YEARS OF SERVICE AND THE CURRENT INTEREST RATE ENVIRONMENT. IN OTHER WORDS, THE OLDER A PLAN PARTICIPANT IS, THE GREATER THE INCREASE IN THAT INDIVIDUAL'S CHANGE IN ACTUARIAL VALUE, ALL OTHER THINGS BEING EQUAL. BECAUSE THIS RELATES TO A MULTI-EMPLOYER PLAN, CASH CONTRIBUTIONS TO THE PLAN IN LIEU OF THE ACTUARIAL INCREASE ARE EXPENSED IN THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS. MICHAEL KIRKLAND: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN $ 271,956 EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION TO 401(K) PLAN 17,462 TOTAL REPORTED IN COLUMN C $ 289,418 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN (271,956) ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTION TO DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN 97,552 EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE $ 115,014 JOHNNY MOORE: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN $ 69,757 EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION TO 401(K) PLAN 6,070 TOTAL REPORTED IN COLUMN C $ 75,827 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN (69,757) ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTION TO DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN 42,763 EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE $ 48,833 MICHAEL GARBOW: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN $ 57,329 EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION TO 401(K) PLAN 6,500 TOTAL REPORTED IN COLUMN C $ 63,829 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN (57,329) ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTION TO DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN 47,381 EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE $ 53,881 WILLIAM GREEN: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN $ 38,975 EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION TO 401(K) PLAN 6,840 TOTAL REPORTED IN COLUMN C $ 45,815 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN (38,975) ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTION TO DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN 40,582 EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE $ 47,422 WILLIAM TESTER: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN $ 50,753 EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION TO 401(K) PLAN 5,843 TOTAL REPORTED IN COLUMN C $ 56,596 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN (50,753) ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTION TO DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN 42,763 EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE $ 48,606 MARIANNE PYEATT: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN $ 29,735 EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION TO 401(K) PLAN 6,308 TOTAL REPORTED IN COLUMN C $ 36,043 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN (29,735) ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTION TO DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN 34,537 EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE $ 40,845 SHAWN BIGGS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN $ 6,175 EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION TO 401(K) PLAN 4,928 TOTAL REPORTED IN COLUMN C $ 11,103 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN (6,175) ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTION TO DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN 11,712 EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE $ 16,640ExplanationTxt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (19 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART I:IN GENERAL, WHEN AN ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE BASES THE PATRONAGE DIVIDEND CALCULATION ON ITS NET BOOK INCOME/(LOSS), PAGE 1, PART I, LINE 19 - REVENUE LESS EXPENSES - WILL BE $0. FOR THE CURRENT YEAR, PAGE 1, PART I, LINE 19 REPORTS NET INCOME OF $749,909, WHICH IS THE INCOME STATEMENT EFFECT OF ACCRUED UNBILLED REVENUE. THE GAAP BASIS FINANCIAL STATEMENTS INCLUDE AN ACCRUAL FOR UNBILLED REVENUE BECAUSE THE COOPERATIVE'S BILLING CYCLE DOES NOT END ON THE LAST DAY OF THE MONTH. THEREFORE, IT HAS REVENUE IN DECEMBER OF EACH YEAR THAT IT HAS EARNED BUT WILL NOT BILL UNTIL THE FIRST BILLING CYCLE OF THE FOLLOWING YEAR. THE COOPERATIVE ESTIMATES THIS REVENUE AND RECORDS IT AS ACCRUED UNBILLED REVENUE IN ORDER TO MATCH THE REVENUE WITH THE YEAR EARNED. HOWEVER, THE COOPERATIVE ALLOCATES THE REVENUE TO MEMBERS IN THE YEAR IT IS BILLED RATHER THAN WHEN ACCRUED. THIS TIMING DIFFERENCE IS FAIR AND EQUITABLE BECAUSE IT MATCHES THE PATRONAGE DIVIDEND ALLOCATED WITH THE BILLING RECORDS USED TO ALLOCATE THE MARGINS. DUE TO THE TIMING OF WHEN THE COOPERATIVE ALLOCATES ACCRUED UNBILLED REVENUE, PAGE 1, PART I, LINE 19 ANNUALLY REPORTS NET INCOME EQUAL TO THE NET INCREASE IN ACCRUED UNBILLED REVENUE OR A NET LOSS EQUAL TO THE NET DECREASE IN UNBILLED REVENUE. THE FOLLOWING SCHEDULE IS PROVIDED TO FURTHER EXPLAIN THE IMPACT OF THESE TRANSACTIONS: ADD: UNBILLED REVENUE 12/31/22 $ 1,490,646 LESS: UNBILLED REVENUE 12/31/21 (740,737) (A) - NET INCREASE IN UNBILLED REVENUE $ 749,909 (B) - BENEFITS PAID TO MEMBERS (I.E. PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS), PART I, LINE 14 $ 3,601,291 TOTAL 2022 NET MARGIN (A + B) $ 4,351,200
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 2BUSINESS RELATIONSHIP: TERRY KIRKENDOLL (DIRECTOR), DARRELL ALLEN (DIRECTOR), JEREL BROWN (DIRECTOR) AND MICHAEL KIRKLAND (CEO) SERVED ON THE BOARD OF ARKANSAS ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE CORPORATION (AECC) AT THE REQUEST OF AND FOR THE BENEFIT OF THE COOPERATIVE. FREDERICK HARMAN (DIRECTOR) AND MICHAEL KIRKLAND (CEO) SERVED ON THE BOARD OF ARKANSAS ELECTRIC COOPERATIVES, INC. (AECI) AT THE REQUEST OF AND FOR THE BENEFIT OF THE COOPERATIVE.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 6THE COOPERATIVE WAS FORMED BY THE MEMBERS TO PROVIDE ELECTRIC SERVICE AT COST ON A COOPERATIVE BASIS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7ATHE MEMBERS OF THE COOPERATIVE VOTE ON THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS THROUGH VOTING DISTRICTS. BASED ON GEOGRAPHICAL LOCATION, THE MEMBERS ARE ASSIGNED TO A DISTRICT AND REPRESENTED BY A DIRECTOR VOTED ON AND LIVING IN THE RESPECTIVE DISTRICT. EVERY FIVE YEARS AT THE END OF THE RESPECTIVE DIRECTOR'S TERM, ELECTIONS ARE DONE ON A ONE MEMBER ONE VOTE BASIS. PURSUANT TO THE REQUIREMENTS OF ARTICLE IV, SECTION 6 OF THE BYLAWS, MEMBERS ALSO HAVE THE ABILITY TO PETITION AND VOTE FOR THE REMOVAL OF A DIRECTOR.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7BTHE FOLLOWING ACTS REQUIRE APPROVAL OF THE MEMBERS OF THE COOPERATIVE: 1. DISSOLUTION/LIQUIDATION OF THE COOPERATIVE 2. MERGER OR CONSOLIDATION OF THE COOPERATIVE WITH ANOTHER ORGANIZATION 3. DISPOSAL OF A SUBSTANTIAL PORTION OF THE COOPERATIVE'S ASSETS 4. AMENDMENT TO THE ARTICLES OF INCORPORATION 5. MEMBER INITIATED PROPOSALS
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 8BTHE COOPERATIVE HAS NO COMMITTEES WITH AUTHORITY TO ACT ON BEHALF OF THE GOVERNING BODY. THEREFORE, AND PURSUANT TO FORM 990 INSTRUCTIONS, THE QUESTION HAS BEEN ANSWERED "NO".
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11BMANAGEMENT PRESENTED A COPY OF THE FORM 990 TO THE BOARD FOR DISCUSSION AND REVIEW PRIOR TO FILING.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12CTHE BOARD OF DIRECTORS AND OFFICERS ARE RESPONSIBLE TO REVIEW AND BE FAMILIAR WITH THE POLICIES OUTLINED IN THE COOPERATIVE'S CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY. THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS AND OFFICERS ARE REQUIRED TO ANNUALLY COMPLETE A DISCLOSURE OF ANY ACTION OR SITUATION THAT MIGHT VIOLATE THE POLICY.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS IS RESPONSIBLE FOR DETERMINING THE COMPENSATION FOR THE CEO BASED ON AN ANNUAL REVIEW. INTERNAL AND/OR EXTERNAL RESOURCES ARE ALSO USED TO COMPARE ANNUAL COMPENSATION WITHIN THE INDUSTRY. THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS AND CEO DETERMINES COMPENSATION FOR OFFICERS OF THE COOPERATIVE ANNUALLY BASED ON A COMPENSATION SURVEY.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19THE COOPERATIVE PROVIDES A COPY OF THE BYLAWS AT THE TIME AN APPLICATION FOR SERVICE IS COMPLETED. ADDITIONALLY, THE COOPERATIVE WILL PROVIDE A COMPLETE COPY OF ITS GOVERNING DOCUMENTS AND CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY TO ANY MEMBER WHO REQUESTS A COPY OF ANY SUCH DOCUMENT. ANNUALLY, THE COOPERATIVE MAILS A COPY OF THE ANNUAL REPORT, WHICH INCLUDES FINANCIAL STATEMENTS AND RELEVANT FINANCIAL DATA FOR THE PAST THREE YEARS. ADDITIONAL INFORMATION REPORTED TO THE ARKANSAS PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION (APSC) IS AVAILABLE TO THE PUBLIC ON THE ASPC WEBSITE.
FORM 990, PART VII, COLUMN F:IN ORDER TO PROVIDE RETIREMENT BENEFITS TO ITS EMPLOYEES, THE COOPERATIVE HAS ESTABLISHED A DEFINED CONTRIBUTION PLAN UNDER SECTION 401(K) OF THE INTERNAL REVENUE CODE. EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTIONS TO THE PLAN ARE MADE PURSUANT TO THE PLAN DOCUMENT. ADDITIONALLY, THE COOPERATIVE PARTICIPATES IN A MULTI-EMPLOYER DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN. CONTRIBUTIONS TO THIS PLAN ARE BASED ON THE FULL FUNDING LIMITATION OF SUCH PLAN. EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTIONS FOR BOTH PLANS ARE AVAILABLE TO PARTICIPATING EMPLOYEES, INCLUDING OFFICERS AND HIGHLY COMPENSATED EMPLOYEES MEETING THE ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS OF SUCH PLANS. THE COOPERATIVE ALSO PROVIDES HEALTH, DENTAL, VISION AND LIFE INSURANCE TO ALL ELIGIBLE EMPLOYEES THROUGH A QUALIFIED PLAN. THE AMOUNTS REPORTED ON PART VII, COLUMN (F) FOR OFFICERS AND THE HIGHLY COMPENSATED EMPLOYEE IS COMPRISED OF ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN THE DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN, THE TOTAL AMOUNT CONTRIBUTED BY THE COOPERATIVE TO THE DEFINED CONTRIBUTION PLAN AND INSURANCE PAID ON BEHALF OF AND FOR THEIR BENEFIT. IN ADDITION TO THE ABOVE PENSION PLANS, THE COOPERATIVE ALSO PROVIDES POST-RETIREMENT HEALTH INSURANCE BENEFITS THROUGH AN UNFUNDED WELFARE BENEFIT PLAN. THE VALUE OF THESE BENEFITS HAS NOT BEEN ESTIMATED.
FORM 990, PART VIII, LINE 2:PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS RESULT FROM THE PURCHASE OF WHOLESALE POWER FROM A GENERATION & TRANSMISSION COOPERATIVE. PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS ALSO RESULT FROM THE PAYMENT OF INTEREST FROM COOPERATIVE BANKS AND THE PURCHASE OF SUPPLIES AND SERVICES FROM OTHER COOPERATIVE ORGANIZATIONS. THE EXPENSES ASSOCIATED WITH PURCHASES FROM AND PAYMENTS TO SUCH COOPERATIVE ORGANIZATIONS ARE A DIRECT COMPONENT OF COST OF THE ELECTRIC SERVICE PROVIDED BY THE COOPERATIVE TO ITS MEMBERS.
FORM 990, PART IX:THE ACCOUNTING RECORDS OF THE COOPERATIVE ARE MAINTAINED IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE RURAL UTILITIES SERVICE (RUS) UNIFORM SYSTEM OF ACCOUNTS (USOA) PRESCRIBED FOR RUS ELECTRIC BORROWERS. THE USOA DOES NOT RECORD EXPENSES IN THE GENERAL EXPENSE CATEGORIES PROVIDED ON PART IX LINES 1-23. THE COOPERATIVE SEPARATELY REPORTS SALARIES AND WAGES, EMPLOYEE BENEFITS, AND PAYROLL TAXES THAT ARE ALLOCATED IN ACCORDANCE WITH THEIR ACCOUNTING SYSTEM, BUT OTHER EXPENSES THAT ARE DESCRIBED IN LINES 1-23 ARE REPORTED ON LINE 24 UNDER THE EXPENSE CATEGORIES REQUIRED BY THE USOA.
FORM 990, PART IX, LINE 4:PURSUANT TO THE FORM 990 INSTRUCTIONS, THE AMOUNT OF PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS PAID TO THE MEMBERS (HEREINAFTER REFERRED TO AS "PATRONS") SHOULD BE REPORTED ON PART IX, LINE 4. THE PHRASE "PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS PAID" REFERS TO THE PROCESS, SUBSEQUENT TO YEAR-END, BY WHICH THE COOPERATIVE ALLOCATES PATRONAGE CAPITAL TO AND, THEREFORE, OPERATES AT COST WITH ITS PATRONS. THE COOPERATIVE'S TAX EXEMPT PURPOSE IS TO PROVIDE ELECTRICITY TO ITS PATRONS AND TO DO SO ON A COOPERATIVE BASIS. TAX LAW DEFINES "OPERATING ON A COOPERATIVE BASIS" AS SUBORDINATION OF CAPITAL, DEMOCRATIC CONTROL, AND OPERATION AT COST. THE COOPERATIVE OPERATES AT COST THROUGH THE ALLOCATION OF TRUE PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS (ALSO REFERRED TO AS ALLOCATIONS OF PATRONAGE CAPITAL) TO ITS PATRONS. PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS ARE CONSIDERED PAID IF THE ALLOCATION IS MADE (1) PURSUANT TO A PRE-EXISTING OBLIGATION, (2) FROM THE MARGINS PRODUCED FROM THE TRANSACTIONS DONE WITH OR FOR PATRONS, AND (3) IN A FAIR AND EQUITABLE MANNER ON THE BASIS OF PATRONAGE (I.E. PURCHASES). ADDITIONALLY, THE ALLOCATION OF PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS SHOULD BE MADE WITHIN A REASONABLE TIME PERIOD AFTER THE CLOSE OF THE COOPERATIVE'S YEAR-END OF DECEMBER 31. EACH ONE OF THESE REQUIREMENTS FOR A TRUE PATRONAGE DIVIDEND IS PROVIDED FOR IN THE NON-PROFIT OPERATION ARTICLE OF THE BYLAWS. THE AMOUNT REPORTED ON PART IX, LINE 4 REPRESENTS THE AMOUNT OF PATRONAGE CAPITAL THAT IS EITHER ALLOCATED OR TO BE ALLOCATED TO THE PATRONS RESULTING FROM THEIR PURCHASE OF ELECTRICITY FROM THE COOPERATIVE FOR THE 2022 CALENDAR YEAR. BECAUSE PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS ARE THE PROCESS BY WHICH THE COOPERATIVE OPERATES AT COST WITH ITS PATRONS AND THEREBY A KEY COMPONENT TO ACCOMPLISHING ITS EXEMPT PURPOSE, THE COOPERATIVE HAS REPORTED SUCH AMOUNTS AS AN EXPENSE FOR FORM 990 REPORTING. PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS ARE NOT AN EXPENSE FOR FINANCIAL STATEMENTS PREPARED IN ACCORDANCE WITH GENERALLY ACCEPTED ACCOUNTING PRINCIPLES, HOWEVER.
FORM 990, PART IX, LINES 5-7:SALARIES AND WAGES ARE ALLOCATED TO ASSET, LIABILITY, AND EXPENSE ACCOUNTS BASED ON THE ACCOUNTING SYSTEM DESCRIBED ABOVE. THE FOLLOWING SCHEDULE RECONCILES AMOUNTS REPORTED ON LINES 5-7 TO TOTAL WAGES ACCRUED AND/OR PAID: TOTAL PER LINES 5-7 $ 4,217,144 LESS: DIRECTOR FEES REPORTED ON FORMS 1099-NEC (259,118) LESS: EMPLOYEE OFFICER BENEFITS INCLUDED IN LINE 5 (377,103) PLUS: SALARIES AND WAGES CAPITALIZED DIRECTLY TO PLANT 2,082,793 PLUS: SALARIES AND WAGES CAPITALIZED/EXPENSED INDIRECTLY THROUGH CLEARING AND OTHER ACCOUNTS 265,879 TOTAL WAGES ACCRUED AND/OR PAID $ 5,929,595
FORM 990, PART IX, LINE 24:ADMINISTRATIVE & GENERAL EXPENSE IS COMPRISED OF THE FOLLOWING: ADMINISTRATIVE & GENERAL SALARIES, BENEFITS, & OTHER $ 1,207,291 OFFICE SUPPLIES 229,337 OUTSIDE SERVICES 227,049 INSURANCES 79,959 DIRECTORS 314,384 ANNUAL MEETING 14,674 MISCELLANEOUS GENERAL 186,802 REGULATORY COMMISSION 72,604 MAINTENANCE OF GENERAL PLANT 118,695 PETIT JEAN FIBER EXPENSES 816,598 TOTAL ADMIN & GENERAL EXP PER FINANCIAL STATEMENTS $ 3,267,393 LESS: RECLASS OF DONATIONS TO PART IX, LINE 1 (3,300) LESS: RECLASS OF DIRECTOR FEES TO PART IX, LINE 5 (259,118) LESS: RECLASS OF LABOR TO PART IX, LINES 5 & 7 (1,126,479) LESS: RECLASS OF BENEFITS TO PART IX, LINES 8-10 (747,813) TOTAL ADMIN & GENERAL EXPENSE PER FORM 990, PART IX $ 1,130,683
FORM 990, PART IX, LINE 24E:OTHER EXPENSES IS COMPRISED OF THE FOLLOWING: CONSUMER ACCOUNTS $ 388,273 CUSTOMER SERVICE AND INFORMATION 362,903 TRANSMISSION 28 COST OF FIBER ACCESS 51,715 OTHER DEDUCTIONS 40,805 PROVISION FOR FEDERAL AND STATE INCOME TAXES (111,787) TOTAL OTHER EXPENSES PER FORM 990, PART IX $ 731,937
FORM 990, PART IX, LINE 1:ALL GRANTS, SPONSORSHIPS, AND/OR DONATIONS ARE MADE TO NON-PROFIT AND CIVIC ORGANIZATIONS THAT ARE LOCATED IN THE COOPERATIVE'S SERVICE AREA, AND ARE INTENDED TO IMPROVE THE COMMUNITIES IN WHICH OUR MEMBERS RESIDE. EACH GRANT, SPONSORSHIP, AND/OR DONATION MADE DURING THE YEAR WAS BELOW THE REPORTING THRESHOLD OF SCHEDULE I, PART II.
FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9:PATRONAGE CAPITAL ALLOCATED OR TO BE ALLOCATED 3,601,291. PATRONAGE CAPITAL RETIRED -1,899,282. UNCLAIMED PATRONAGE CAPITAL RETIREMENTS RETAINED PER STATE LAW 435,263. NET CHANGE IN MEMBERSHIPS 3,130. OTHER COMPREHENSIVE INCOME PROVISION FOR POST-RETIREMENT BENEFIT OBLIGATION 225,195.

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Disregarded Entities IdDisregardedEntitiesGrp

Disregarded Entity Name DisregardedEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1PETIT JEAN FIBER LLCBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 37AddressLine1Txt
CityCLINTONCityNm
State AbbreviationARStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP72031ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Primary ActivitiesBROADBAND INTERNET SERVICEPrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateARLegalDomicileStateCd
Total Income$3,422,101TotalIncomeAmt
End Of Year Assets$2,942,548EndOfYearAssetsAmt

Direct Controlling Entity Name DirectControllingEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1PETIT JEAN ELECTRIC COOPERATIVEBusinessNameLine1Txt