STRATEGY STUDIO / NONPROFIT PEOPLE SEARCH

MAINE DENTAL SERVICE CORPORATION: Form 990, tax year 2022

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
MAINE DENTAL SERVICE CORPORATION (EIN 01-0286541)
Tax period
2022-01-01 to 2022-12-31
Filed
2023-11-07
IRS object ID
202343119349304334
Schema version
2022v5.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2023-11-07T17:46:24-06:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2022-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN010494526PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Baker Newman & NoyesBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1650 Elm Street Suite 302AddressLine1Txt
CityManchesterCityNm
State AbbreviationNHStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP03101ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2022-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN010286541EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Maine Dental Service CorporationBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlMAINBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone6032231000PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO Box 2002AddressLine1Txt
CityConcordCityNm
State AbbreviationNHStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP033022002ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonThomas RaffioPersonNm
Person TitlePresident & CEOPersonTitleTxt
Phone6032231000PhoneNum
Signature2023-11-07SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Signing Officer SigningOfficerGrp

Person Full Name PersonFullName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Person FirstThomasPersonFirstNm
Person LastRaffioPersonLastNm
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SSN999009999SSN
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
IRS Responsible Prty Info Curr0IRSResponsiblePrtyInfoCurrInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonConnor SmartPreparerPersonNm
PTINP02285543PTIN
Phone6036262200PhoneNum
Preparation2023-11-07PreparationDt

Additional Filer Information AdditionalFilerInformation

Trusted Customer TrustedCustomerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Trusted Customer3TrustedCustomerCd
Authentication Assurance LevelAAL1AuthenticationAssuranceLevelCd
Identity Assurance LevelIAL1IdentityAssuranceLevelCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2022TaxYr
Build TS2023-04-26 12:10:37ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

Doing Business As Name DoingBusinessAsName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Delta Dental Plan of MaineBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerThomas RaffioPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO Box 2002AddressLine1Txt
CityConcordCityNm
State AbbreviationNHStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP033022002ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$178,886,354GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501cYes (X)Organization501cInd
Website Addresswww.nedelta.comWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1965FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateMELegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionProvides programs of dental careActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body14VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent10VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee6TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers0TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$100,000TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$0PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$0CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$147,232,528PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$163,537,312CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$932,137PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$735,449CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$0PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$0CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$148,164,665PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$164,272,761CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$600,400PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$553,900CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$125,125,793PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$138,844,633CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$1,057,128PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$1,158,470CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$16,971,735PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$19,815,567CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$143,755,056PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$160,372,570CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$4,409,609PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$3,900,191CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$78,079,521TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$75,628,828TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$7,653,369TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$7,640,155TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$70,426,152NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$67,988,673NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionIt is our mission to advance the oral health and overall wellness of our customers and the general public by providing innovative benefits and professional partnerships through diversified strategic business and philanthropic initiatives.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
Expense$144,587,922ExpenseAmt
Revenue$163,437,312RevenueAmt
DescMaine Dental Service Corporation, Inc. advances and promotes the improvement of oral health by offering innovative, cost effective dental benefits plans that meet the needs of our customers by integrating activities such as cost management policies, fee reduction agreements with dentists, ensuring quality and cost effective dental benefit delivery, and accurate and timely claims payment. We are recognized for our expertise in the dental benefits industry, the vibrancy of our participating dentist network, and our strong brand. Program services include the processing and payment of claims for dental benefits for various large and small groups, as well as individuals and families. Maine Dental Service Corporation, Inc. processed approximately 792,700 claims in 2022. There are approximately 411,500 members in Maine included in the various plans. Customer's expectations for quality standards are extremely rigorous and we provide a guarantee of service called GOSE, or Guarantee of Service Excellence, which guarantees seven key service claims: (1) smooth implementation to Northeast Delta Dental; (2) exceptional customer service; (3) quick processing of claims; (4) no inappropriate billing by participating dentists; (5) accurate and quick turnaround of identification cards; (6) timely employee booklets; and (7) marketing service contracts. In the event one or more of these service guarantees are not met, a cash reimbursement is provided.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$553,900ExpenseAmt
Grant$553,900GrantAmt
DescMaine Dental Service Corporation Inc. is one of three members of the Northeast Delta Dental Foundation. The company contributes .075% of annual budgeted revenue, as well as 10% of annual revenue in excess of expenses, to the Northeast Delta Dental Foundation. The Northeast Delta Dental Foundation's purpose is to improve the access to, and the quality of, oral health care and education for the public and dental communities in Maine, New Hampshire, and Vermont. The Northeast Delta Dental Foundation awards numerous grants to community organizations and programs.Desc
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Expenses$145,141,822TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c30DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B Required0ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign ActyYes (1)PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi Endowments0DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsYes (1)GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans0EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit Trans0PYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org MemYes (1)BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl EntYes (1)BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related Entity0RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
Info In Schedule O Part VYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVInd
IRP Document529IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee6EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (1)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (1)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt0SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc0SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members14GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member10IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (1)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (1)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To Approva0DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEO0CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process Other0CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Laurie BienefeldBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone6032231000PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1One Delta Drive PO Box 2002AddressLine1Txt
CityConcordCityNm
State AbbreviationNHStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP03302ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part VIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIIInd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (19 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmt
Jeffrey R Walawender DDS
Chair & Director3.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$26,027$0$0
Kyra Chadbourne DDS
Chair & Director (part-year)3.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$16,052$0$0
Bruce Nickerson CPA
Treasurer & Director3.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$10,975$0$0
Laura Oakes DMD
Director3.00Yes (X)$9,980$0$0
Kristine Avery SPHR
Director3.00Yes (X)$9,315$0$0
Kathy Reynolds
Director3.00Yes (X)$8,815$0$0
Scott Normandeau
Director3.00Yes (X)$8,815$0$0
Grace Odimayo DMD
Director3.00Yes (X)$8,150$0$0
Craig Bradford Rand DDS
Director3.00Yes (X)$8,150$0$0
Burton Rankie DDS
Director3.00Yes (X)$7,315$0$0
Jayne Giles
Vice Chair & Director3.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$7,150$0$0
David Daigler CPA
Director3.00Yes (X)$6,650$0$0
Katherin O'Grady
Director3.00Yes (X)$6,650$0$0
Marcia Minter
Director3.00Yes (X)$4,825$0$0
Michael Goldeberg
Director (part-year)3.00Yes (X)$4,825$0$0
Melissa Haidu-Sylvia DDS
Director3.00Yes (X)$2,660$0$0
Donald Oakes
Director (part-year)3.00Yes (X)$1,000$0$0
Thomas Raffio
DDPNH President & CEO10.00Yes (X)$1,018,080$0$55,849
Francis Boucher
DDPNH Sr. Vice President10.00Yes (X)$290,816$0$56,872
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$1,456,250TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$112,721TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K0IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other SrcsYes (1)CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
Wyssta Services Inc
PO Box 86Stevens PointWI54481Contracted services$1,034,983
Cross Benefit Solutions
116 Community DriveAugustaME04330Insurance broker commissions$456,359
Combined Services LLC DBA csOne
PO Box 1320ConcordNH03301Insurance broker commissions$340,264
Maine Education Association
35 Community DriveAugustaME04330Administrative fees$251,093
Acadia Benefits
50 Portland Pier Suite 301PortlandME04101Insurance broker commissions$228,634
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K10CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmtUnrelated Business RevenueUnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Admin service contract fees524292$84,462,117$84,462,117
Premium revenue524114$78,975,195$78,975,195
Management fees - CSLLC524298$100,000$100,000
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$163,537,312TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$1,231,543TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$1,231,543ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$14,117,499SecuritiesAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$14,613,593SecuritiesAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities-$496,094SecuritiesAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$496,094TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion-$496,094ExclusionAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$164,272,761TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$163,437,312RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$100,000UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$735,449ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$553,900TotalAmt
Program Services$553,900ProgramServicesAmt

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$138,844,633TotalAmt
Program Services$138,844,633ProgramServicesAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$147,354TotalAmt
Management And General$147,354ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$789,583TotalAmt
Management And General$789,583ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$43,535TotalAmt
Management And General$43,535ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$122,269TotalAmt
Management And General$122,269ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$55,729TotalAmt
Management And General$55,729ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$61,600TotalAmt
Management And General$61,600ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$41,995TotalAmt
Management And General$41,995ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$147,500TotalAmt
Management And General$147,500ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$121,484TotalAmt
Management And General$121,484ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$564,800TotalAmt
Management And General$564,800ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$46,281TotalAmt
Management And General$46,281ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$49,029TotalAmt
Management And General$49,029ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$6,673TotalAmt
Management And General$6,673ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$33,693TotalAmt
Management And General$33,693ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,025TotalAmt
Management And General$1,025ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$22,698TotalAmt
Management And General$22,698ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmt
Administration - DDPNH$13,052,930$5,743,289$7,309,641
Brokers' commissions$3,440,798$3,440,798
Strategic initiatives$1,838,526$1,838,526
Dues and subscriptions$286,896$286,896

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$99,639TotalAmt
Management And General$99,639ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$160,372,570TotalAmt
Program Services$145,141,822ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$15,230,748ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$9,263,600BOYAmt
EOY$8,748,037EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,457,422BOYAmt
EOY$4,038,768EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,689,382BOYAmt
EOY$4,663,483EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,756BOYAmt
EOY$15,844EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$153,729LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$152,473LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,281BOYAmt
EOY$1,256EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$58,425,828BOYAmt
EOY$55,008,015EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$86,272BOYAmt
EOY$19,521EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,098,525BOYAmt
EOY$3,063,348EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$53,455BOYAmt
EOY$70,556EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$78,079,521BOYAmt
EOY$75,628,828EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,531,122BOYAmt
EOY$4,036,034EOYAmt

Grants Payable GrantsPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$490,000BOYAmt
EOY$433,400EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,632,247BOYAmt
EOY$3,170,721EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$7,653,369BOYAmt
EOY$7,640,155EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows FASB117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind

No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$70,426,152BOYAmt
EOY$67,988,673EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$70,426,152BOYAmt
EOY$67,988,673EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$78,079,521BOYAmt
EOY$75,628,828EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$3,900,191ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst-$6,337,670NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$0OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Info In Schedule O Part XIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule C IRS990ScheduleC

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Political Expenditures$4,000PoliticalExpendituresAmt
Expended527 Activities$4,000Expended527ActivitiesAmt
Total Exempt Function Expend$4,000TotalExemptFunctionExpendAmt
Form1120 POL FiledYes (1)Form1120POLFiledInd

Section527 Political Org Section527PoliticalOrgGrp (4 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdEINEINPaid Internal FundsPaidInternalFundsAmt
House Republican Fund
PO Box 5629AugustaME04332364860692$1,000
House Democratic Campaign Committee
PO Box 2021AugustaME04338222695883$1,000
Senate Democratic Campaign Committee
PO Box 2207AugustaME04338010478979$1,000
Maine Senate Republican Majority PAC
PO Box 1AugustaME04332263733192$1,000

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePart I-A, Line 1:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationFour campaign donations totaling $4,000 were made in Maine.ExplanationTxt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$21,115OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$21,115DepreciationAmt
Book Value$0BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$132,614OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$131,358DepreciationAmt
Book Value$1,256BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$1,256TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (2 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
Unearned revenue$1,491,621
Advances - admin service contracts$1,679,100
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$3,170,721TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$80,344,656TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst-$6,337,667NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Other Revenue$454,544OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported-$5,883,123RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$86,227,779RevenueSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld$147,500InvestmentExpensesNotIncldAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$77,897,481OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$78,044,981RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$164,272,760TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$82,327,589TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$82,327,589ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld2$147,500InvestmentExpensesNotIncld2Amt
Other Expenses Not Included$77,897,481OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$78,044,981ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$160,372,570TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (5 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Part X, Line 2:The 2022 audited financial statements contain the following paragraphs pertaining to tax positions under FIN 48: The Corporation is exempt from federal and state income taxes under the provisions of Section 501(c)(4) of the Internal Revenue Code. Management has evaluated the Corporation's tax positions taken on its filed tax returns and concluded that the Corporation has maintained its tax-exempt status.
Part XI, Line 2d - Other Adjustments:Change in nonadmitted assets 454,544.
Part XI, Line 4b - Other Adjustments:Dental claims paid under admin service contracts 77,897,481. Change in nonadmitted assets
Part XII, Line 4b - Other Adjustments:Dental claims paid under admin service contracts 77,897,481.
Schedule D, Part XI, Line 2d:The Corporation has historically prepared its financial statements in accordance with accounting principles generally accepted in the United States of America (GAAP). Effective January 1, 2012 the Corporation elected to prepare its financial statements to conform with the statutory accounting practices of the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC), as prescribed or permitted by the Maine Bureau of Insurance. The change in nonadmitted assets reported here in Part XI is one of the reconciling items to meet the reporting requirements for the Form 990.

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (1)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Recipient Table RecipientTable

Recipient Business Name RecipientBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Northeast Delta Dental FoundationBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1One Delta Drive PO Box 2002AddressLine1Txt
CityConcordCityNm
State AbbreviationNHStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP03302ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Recipient EIN020489150RecipientEIN
IRC Section501(c)(3)IRCSectionDesc
Cash Grant$553,900CashGrantAmt
Non Cash Assistance$0NonCashAssistanceAmt
Purpose Of GrantGeneral support to promote oral healthPurposeOfGrantTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total501c3 Org1Total501c3OrgCnt
Total Other Org0TotalOtherOrgCnt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePart I, Line 2:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationMaine Dental Service Corporation (MDSC) makes elective annual charitable contributions to the Northeast Dental Foundation equal to 0.075% of the budgeted gross billings, plus 10% of the actual increase in unrestricted net assets from operations each year. MDSC's total contributions to the Foundation in 2022 totaled $553,900.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org0CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs0CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org0CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs0CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed Payments0AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract Exception0InitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (2 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
Thomas Raffio
DDPNH President & CEO$575,726$0$404,049$0$38,305$0$32,471$0$23,378$0$1,073,929$0$0$0
Francis Boucher
DDPNH Sr. Vice President$229,118$0$61,698$0$0$0$31,165$0$25,707$0$347,688$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSchedule J, Part II:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationThomas Raffio, CEO, and Francis Boucher, Senior Vice President, received all of their compensation from Delta Dental Plan of New Hampshire, which is an unrelated organization per Schedule R definitions; while definitionally unrelated, Delta Dental Plan of New Hampshire does coordinate and work closely with the Maine Dental Service Corporation to fulfill their respective exempt missions. In accordance with the IRS Instructions for the Form 990, compensation or payments from an unrelated organization to an individual for services rendered to the filing organization in that person's capacity as an officer, director, trustee, or employee of the filing organization, then the filing organization must report such amounts as compensation from the filing organization. Therefore, the compensation paid to these individuals has been reported on this Form 990, Schedule J, Part II, Payments Made by the Filing Organization, though Maine Dental Service Corporation did not, in fact, directly pay or compensate these individuals; these individuals were paid by Delta Dental Plan of New Hampshire in part for services rendered for the benefit and on behalf of Delta Dental Vermont. Additionally, due to the close working relationship between the two organizations, neither the filing organization nor Delta Dental Plan of New Hampshire is able to make a determination of how much of each named individuals' compensation relates to time and resources expended on either the filing organization or Delta Dental Plan of New Hampshire. For this reason and to promote transparency and compliance with this tax return, the filing organization has elected to report 100% of the named individuals' applicable calendar year compensation as received by the Delta Dental Plan of New Hampshire on this Form 990, Part VII, and Schedule J, in accordance with the definitions and calculations as detailed in the IRS Form 990 Instructions.ExplanationTxt

Schedule L IRS990ScheduleL

Bus Tr Involve Interested Prsn BusTrInvolveInterestedPrsnGrp (5 entries)

Relationship DescriptionRelationshipDescriptionTxtTransactionTransactionAmtTransactionTransactionDescSharing Of RevenuesSharingOfRevenuesInd
Laura Oakes DMD
Director$1,042,284The Directors listed here have ownership interests in dental practices that receive insurance reimbursements from Delta Dental in the ordinary course of their business. All transactions are at arm's length and for fair value.0
Kyra Chadbourne DDS
Chair & Director (part year)$445,519Please see above.0
Craig Bradford Rand DDS
Director$639,394Please see above.0
Melissa Haidu-Sylvia DDS
Director$293,676Please see above.0
Burton Rankie DDS
Director$210,498Please see above0

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (9 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Part V, Line 2aThe six employees included here are actually employed and paid by Delta Dental Plan of New Hampshire. These employees are assigned to provide sales and marketing services to Maine Dental Services Corporation. Maine Dental Services Corporation reimburses Delta Dental Plan of New Hampshire for these employees' payroll and employee benefit expenses.
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 6The membership of Maine Dental Service Corporation consists of the Board of Directors, all of the individuals covered under the Company's dental benefit plans, and the Maine dentists participating in the Company's dental networks which are used by the individuals covered under one of the Company's dental benefit plans.
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 7aThe Board of Trustees are elected at the Maine Dental Service Corporation's Annual Membership meeting, which requires a quorum of 25 members to conduct business.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 11bThe Form 990 is reviewed in detail by key finance employees of Northeast Delta Dental. A final draft is presented to the Board before the Form is filed.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 12cA copy of the conflict of interest policy is distributed annually to all officers, directors, and the management team. All are required to report any conflicts and sign, date, and return the policy, whether or not a conflict exists, to confirm compliance. General Counsel reviews the returned policies and reports the results to the entire Board of Directors. Board members are asked to provide updates of any changes that may occur between their annual conflict of interest filings.
Form 990, Part VI, Section C, line 19Upon request, Maine Dental Services Corporation makes its governing documents, conflict of interest policy, or financial statements available to the public.
Form 990, Part IV, Line 23; and Part VII, Section A:Thomas Raffio, CEO, and Francis Boucher, Senior Vice President, received all of their compensation from Delta Dental Plan of New Hampshire, which is an unrelated organization per IRS definitions; while definitionally unrelated, Delta Dental Plan of New Hampshire does coordinate and work closely with the Maine Dental Service Corporation to fulfill their respective exempt missions. In accordance with the IRS Instructions for the Form 990, compensation or payments from an unrelated organization to an individual for services rendered to the filing organization in that person's capacity as an officer, director, trustee, or employee of the filing organization, then the filing organization must report such amounts as compensation from the filing organization. Therefore, the compensation paid to these individuals has been reported on this Form 990, Part VII, Section A, under Column (D), though the Maine Dental Service Corporation did not, in fact, directly pay or compensate these individuals; these individuals were paid by Delta Dental Plan of New Hampshire in part for services rendered for the benefit and on behalf of Maine Dental Service Corporation. Additionally, due to the close working relationship between the two organizations, neither the filing organization nor Delta Dental Plan of New Hampshire is able to make a determination of how much of each named individuals' compensation relates to time and resources expended on either the filing organization or Delta Dental Plan of New Hampshire. For this reason and to promote transparency and compliance with this tax return, the filing organization has elected to report 100% of the named individuals' applicable calendar year compensation as received by the Delta Dental Plan of New Hampshire on this Form 990, Part VII, and Schedule J, in accordance with the definitions and calculations as detailed in the IRS Form 990 Instructions.
Form 990, Part XII, Line 2c:The Finance/Audit Committee oversees the audit process for Maine Dental Service Corporation. The audit process for the financial statements did not change from the prior year. Independent accountants performed the audit in both 2021 and 2022.
Form 990, Part XI, Line 9:The Corporation has historically prepared its financial statements in accordance with accounting principles generally accepted in the United States of America (GAAP). Effective January 1, 2012, the Corporation elected to prepare its financial statements using accounting practices prescribed or permitted by the Vermont Department of Financial Regulation. This is one of the reconciling items to meet the reporting requirements for the Form 990.