STRATEGY STUDIO / NONPROFIT PEOPLE SEARCH

SUNNYSIDE PRESBYTERIAN HOME: Form 990, tax year 2022

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
SUNNYSIDE PRESBYTERIAN HOME (EIN 54-0591600)
Tax period
2022-01-01 to 2022-12-31
Filed
2023-11-15
IRS object ID
202343199349326549
Schema version
2022v5.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2023-11-15T18:52:45-06:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2022-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN410746749PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1CLIFTONLARSONALLEN LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1227 WEST TRADE STREET SUITE 800AddressLine1Txt
CityCHARLOTTECityNm
State AbbreviationNCStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP28202ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2022-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN540591600EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1SUNNYSIDE PRESBYTERIAN HOMEBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlSUNNBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone5405688600PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1600 UNIVERSITY BLVD STE LAddressLine1Txt
CityHARRISONBURGCityNm
State AbbreviationVAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP22801ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonKEN BOWARD CFOPersonNm
Person TitleCHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICERPersonTitleTxt
Phone5405688600PhoneNum
Signature2023-11-15SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Signing Officer SigningOfficerGrp

Person Full Name PersonFullName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Person FirstKENPersonFirstNm
Person LastBOWARD CFOPersonLastNm
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SSNXXX-XX-XXXXSSN
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
IRS Responsible Prty Info Curr0IRSResponsiblePrtyInfoCurrInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonJOHN NORMANPreparerPersonNm
PTINP01506766PTIN
Phone7049985200PhoneNum
Preparation2023-11-03PreparationDt

Additional Filer Information AdditionalFilerInformation

Trusted Customer TrustedCustomerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Trusted Customer3TrustedCustomerCd
Authentication Assurance LevelAAL1AuthenticationAssuranceLevelCd
Identity Assurance LevelIAL1IdentityAssuranceLevelCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2022TaxYr
Build TS2023-04-26 12:10:37ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerKEN BOWARDPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1600 UNIVERSITY BLVD STE LAddressLine1Txt
CityHARRISONBURGCityNm
State AbbreviationVAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP22801ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$55,536,096GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website AddressWWW.SUNNYSIDECOMMUNITIES.COMWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1955FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateVALegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionTO PROVIDE CARE AND SERVICES TO THE ELDERLY.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body11VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent11VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee859TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers392TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$599TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$1,225,757PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$1,911,558CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$47,248,333PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$49,343,618CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$3,895,873PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$2,530,328CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$1,469,599PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$1,491,129CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$53,839,562PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$55,276,633CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$1,777,707PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$1,662,610CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$23,920,021PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$26,664,930CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$264,788CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$22,630,854PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$24,686,880CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$48,328,582PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$53,014,420CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$5,510,980PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$2,262,213CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$155,089,929TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$144,804,898TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$108,280,436TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$104,064,346TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$46,809,493NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$40,740,552NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionTO OFFER RETIREMENT LIVING CHOICES THAT ENHANCE THE PHYSICAL, SPIRITUAL, SOCIAL, PSYCHOLOGICAL AND SECURITY NEEDS OF OLDER ADULTS IN CARING CHRISTIAN COMMUNITIES AND TO PROVIDE FELLOWSHIP SUPPORT IN THE EVENT THAT A RESIDENT OUTLIVES THEIR RESOURCES.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
Expense$18,066,814ExpenseAmt
Grant$1,227,896GrantAmt
Revenue$16,665,891RevenueAmt
DescPROVIDED QUALITY NURSING CARE TO 375 RESIDENTS INCLUDING RESTORATIVE AND INNOVATIVE ACTIVITIES IN SUNNYSIDE'S NURSING FACILITIES. GRANTED $1,227,896 TO RESIDENTS TO HELP PAY THE COST OF CARE.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$9,799,715ExpenseAmt
Grant$387,204GrantAmt
Revenue$12,719,865RevenueAmt
DescPROVIDED QUALITY ASSISTED LIVING CARE TO 241 ELDERLY RESIDENTS WHO ARE UNABLE TO BE COMPLETELY INDEPENDENT BUT DO NOT REQUIRE CARE IN A NURSING FACILITY. GRANTED $387,204 TO RESIDENTS TO HELP PAY THE COST OF CARE.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty3 ProgSrvcAccomActy3Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$14,973,823ExpenseAmt
Grant$47,510GrantAmt
Revenue$19,957,862RevenueAmt
DescPROVIDED 624 ELDERLY RESIDENTS APARTMENT AND COTTAGE LIVING IN SECURE COMMUNITIES TO MAXIMIZE INDEPENDENCE AND QUALITY OF LIFE. GRANTED $47,510 TO RESIDENTS TO HELP PAY THE COST OF CARE.Desc
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Expenses$42,840,352TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (1)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (1)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying Activities0LobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingYes (1)CreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi EndowmentsYes (1)DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 Footnote0IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsYes (1)GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsYes (1)TaxExemptBondsInd
Invest Tax Exempt Bonds0InvestTaxExemptBondsInd
Escrow Account0EscrowAccountInd
On Behalf Of Issuer0OnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans0EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit Trans0PYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent0BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related Entity0RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org0TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document105IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Employee859EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (1)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (1)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contributions0QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed Of0Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt0SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc0SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members11GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member11IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or Stockholders0MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board Members0ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To Approva0DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint VentureYes (1)InvestmentInJointVentureInd
Written Policy Or ProcedureYes (1)WrittenPolicyOrProcedureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldVAStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Other WebsiteYes (X)OtherWebsiteInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1KEN BOWARDBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone5404763515PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1600 UNIVERSITY BLVD SUITE LAddressLine1Txt
CityHARRISONBURGCityNm
State AbbreviationPAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP22801ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (20 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtAverage Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
JAMES J ROWE
BOARD CHAIR2.000.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
MICHAEL W PUGH
BOARD VICE CHAIR2.000.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
ELLEN R BLOSE
SECRETARY2.000.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
DAVID W GARLAND
BOARD MEMBER2.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JAMES KRAUSS
BOARD MEMBER2.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JEFFREY G LENHART
BOARD MEMBER2.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
KATHY MORAN
BOARD MEMBER, LEFT OCT-222.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
RICHARD RJ MORIN
BOARD MEMBER2.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
EDMUND P PRICE
BOARD MEMBER2.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
APRIL TEMPLE
BOARD MEMBER2.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
DAPHYNE S THOMAS
BOARD MEMBER2.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JERRY SHEETS
BOARD MEMBER2.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JOSH LYONS
PRESIDENT AND CEO40.000.00Yes (X)$327,317$0$13,145
KEN BOWARD
TREASURER AND CFO40.000.00Yes (X)$188,783$0$31,729
LISA KANNEY
ASSISTANT SECRETARY40.000.00Yes (X)$61,640$0$2,976
KAREN WIGGINTON
CHIEF MARKETING OFFICER40.000.00$164,326$0$14,834Yes (X)
PAULA GREENHAGEN
CHIEF HR OFFICER, LEFT DEC-2240.000.00$159,527$0$24,335Yes (X)
CHARLOTTE SIBOLD
EXEC DIR, SUNNYS, LEFT DEC-2240.000.00$174,883$0$16,257Yes (X)
JAMES SOUTER
EXEC DIR, KINGS GRANT CAMPUS40.000.00$152,483$0$13,095Yes (X)
KAREN RILEY
CHIEF HEALTH INTEGRATION OFFICER40.000.00$137,102$0$22,933Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$1,366,061TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$139,304TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K12IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
SPECTRUM PARENT INC & SUBSIDIARIES
PO BOX 69268BALTIMOREMD21264THERAPY SERVICES$1,495,213
SYSCO FOOD SERVICES OF VA
PO BOX 20020HARRISONBURGVA22801FOOD AND DINING SUPPLIES$1,192,943
RAN MAR CORP
501 SHENANDOAH AVENUEELKTONVA22827BUILDING CONTRACTOR$980,223
HARMAN CONSTRUCTION INC
1024 PLEASANT VALLEY RDHARRISONBURGVA22801BUILDING CONTRACTOR$800,672
MEDICAL SOLUTIONS LLC
PO BOX 310737DES MOINESIA50331AGENCY PERSONNEL$798,810
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K37CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Government Grants$1,031,623GovernmentGrantsAmt
All Other Contributions$879,935AllOtherContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$1,911,558TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (4 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
RESIDENTIAL SERVICE623000$19,775,626$19,775,626
HEALTHCARE SERVICES623000$16,585,056$16,585,056
ASSISTED LIVING623000$12,713,484$12,713,484
PHARMACY REVENUE623000$269,452$269,452
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$49,343,618TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$2,530,328TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$2,530,328ExclusionAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$261,489RealAmt

Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$259,463RealAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$2,026RealAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$2,026TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$599UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$1,427ExclusionAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtExclusionExclusionAmt
MARKETING FEES623000$263,347$263,347
TELEPHONE AND INTERNET900099$243,616$243,616
PRESCRIPTION/DENTAL FE623000$94,578$94,578

Miscellaneous Revenue MiscellaneousRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$887,562TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$887,562ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$1,489,103OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$55,276,633TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$49,343,618RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$599UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$4,020,858ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,662,610TotalAmt
Program Services$1,662,610ProgramServicesAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$629,587TotalAmt
Management And General$629,587ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$19,646,209TotalAmt
Program Services$16,434,992ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$3,003,416ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$207,801FundraisingAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$461,502TotalAmt
Management And General$461,502ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,520,830TotalAmt
Program Services$2,165,599ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$2,342,243ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$12,988FundraisingAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,406,802TotalAmt
Program Services$1,122,094ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$274,258ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$10,450FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Management FeesForServicesManagementGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$8,833TotalAmt
Program Services$8,833ProgramServicesAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$9,365TotalAmt
Fundraising$9,365FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$108,576TotalAmt
Management And General$108,576ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,413,162TotalAmt
Program Services$2,734,681ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$678,481ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$223,268TotalAmt
Program Services$223,268ProgramServicesAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,355,052TotalAmt
Program Services$1,290,206ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$45,865ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$18,981FundraisingAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,709,323TotalAmt
Program Services$3,855,171ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$853,552ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$600FundraisingAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,453,890TotalAmt
Program Services$1,432,526ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$21,364ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$8,015,732TotalAmt
Program Services$7,687,510ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$327,530ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$692FundraisingAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$825,037TotalAmt
Management And General$825,037ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (2 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmt
MEDICAL COSTS AND CHARG$2,380,014$2,380,014
RAW FOOD$1,627,089$1,626,995$94

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$557,539TotalAmt
Program Services$215,853ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$337,775ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$3,911FundraisingAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$53,014,420TotalAmt
Program Services$42,840,352ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$9,909,280ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$264,788FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$172,294BOYAmt
EOY$191,039EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,042,029BOYAmt
EOY$1,470,387EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$6,600BOYAmt
EOY$200EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,746,521BOYAmt
EOY$1,207,494EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$506,734BOYAmt
EOY$422,932EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$18,494,489BOYAmt
EOY$16,313,473EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$215,975,980LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$131,806,489LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$83,692,705BOYAmt
EOY$84,169,491EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$41,348,195BOYAmt
EOY$38,013,443EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,978,852BOYAmt
EOY$1,999,428EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$101,510BOYAmt
EOY$1,017,011EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$155,089,929BOYAmt
EOY$144,804,898EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,145,464BOYAmt
EOY$3,985,465EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$51,192,715BOYAmt
EOY$50,232,859EOYAmt

Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$49,729,966BOYAmt
EOY$47,602,253EOYAmt

Escrow Account Liability EscrowAccountLiabilityGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,206,664BOYAmt
EOY$1,349,754EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$644,769BOYAmt
EOY$487,596EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,360,858BOYAmt
EOY$406,419EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$108,280,436BOYAmt
EOY$104,064,346EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows FASB117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind

No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$40,104,139BOYAmt
EOY$35,281,494EOYAmt

Donor Restriction Net Assets DonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$6,705,354BOYAmt
EOY$5,459,058EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$46,809,493BOYAmt
EOY$40,740,552EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$155,089,929BOYAmt
EOY$144,804,898EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$2,262,213ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst-$8,510,837NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$179,683OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Info In Schedule O Part XIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Consolidated Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)ConsolidatedBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredYes (1)FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd
Federal Grant Audit PerformedYes (1)FederalGrantAuditPerformedInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Publicly Supported Org509a2Yes (X)PubliclySupportedOrg509a2Ind

Gifts Grants Contris Rcvd509 GiftsGrantsContrisRcvd509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$1,029,975CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$466,481CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$2,118,885CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$1,225,757CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$1,911,558CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$6,752,656TotalAmt

Gross Receipts Admissions GrossReceiptsAdmissionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$42,478,259CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$44,703,512CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$45,455,629CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$47,248,333CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$49,343,618CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$229,229,351TotalAmt

Total509 Total509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$43,508,234CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$45,169,993CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$47,574,514CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$48,474,090CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$51,255,176CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$235,982,007TotalAmt

Amounts Rcvd Dsqlfy Person AmountsRcvdDsqlfyPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Substantial Contributors Amt SubstantialContributorsAmtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Subst And Dsqlfy Prsns Tot SubstAndDsqlfyPrsnsTotGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Support Total509$235,982,007PublicSupportTotal509Amt

Gross Investment Income509 GrossInvestmentIncome509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$1,581,264CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$1,751,986CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$2,210,645CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$4,158,855CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$2,791,817CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$12,494,567TotalAmt

Investment Income And UBTI InvestmentIncomeAndUBTIGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$1,581,264CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$1,751,986CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$2,210,645CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$4,158,855CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$2,791,817CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$12,494,567TotalAmt

Other Income509 OtherIncome509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$949,652CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$1,475,946CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$1,373,355CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$1,492,652CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$1,489,103CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$6,780,708TotalAmt

Total Support Calendar Year TotalSupportCalendarYearGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$46,039,150CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$48,397,925CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$51,158,514CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$54,125,597CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$55,536,096CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$255,257,282TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Support CY5090.92450PublicSupportCY509Pct
Public Support PY5090.92870PublicSupportPY509Pct
Investment Income CY0.04890InvestmentIncomeCYPct
Investment Income PY0.04570InvestmentIncomePYPct
Thirty Thr Pct Suprt Tests CY509Yes (X)ThirtyThrPctSuprtTestsCY509Ind

Form990 Schedule A Part VI Form990ScheduleAPartVIGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSCHEDULE A, PART III, LINE 12, EXPLANATION OF OTHER INCOME:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationOTHER REVENUE - 2018 AMOUNT: $ 278,699. 2019 AMOUNT: $ 813,629. 2020 AMOUNT: $ 827,837. 2021 AMOUNT: $ 865,583. 2022 AMOUNT: $ 887,562. MARKETING FEES - 2018 AMOUNT: $ 305,339. 2019 AMOUNT: $ 343,563. 2020 AMOUNT: $ 229,456. 2021 AMOUNT: $ 328,009. 2022 AMOUNT: $ 263,347. SERVICE FEES - 2018 AMOUNT: $ 260,384. 2019 AMOUNT: $ 247,671. 2020 AMOUNT: $ 243,520. 2021 AMOUNT: $ 229,592. 2022 AMOUNT: $ 243,616. PHARMACY AND DENTAL FEES - 2018 AMOUNT: $ 105,230. 2019 AMOUNT: $ 71,083. 2020 AMOUNT: $ 72,542. 2021 AMOUNT: $ 69,468. 2022 AMOUNT: $ 94,578.ExplanationTxt

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Agent Trustee Etc0AgentTrusteeEtcInd
Incl Escrow Custodial Acct LiabYes (1)InclEscrowCustodialAcctLiabInd
Explanation ProvidedYes (X)ExplanationProvidedInd

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$6,705,354BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$43,812ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses-$1,208,795InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$56,213OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$5,459,058EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$6,186,441BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$8,156ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$519,051InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$8,294OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$6,705,354EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$5,886,445BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$112,025ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$475,411InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$287,440OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$6,186,441EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$5,278,222BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$93,834ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$608,720InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$94,331OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$5,886,445EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$5,612,087BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$332,929ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses-$538,177InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$128,617OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$5,278,222EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Board Designated Balance EOY0.00000BoardDesignatedBalanceEOYPct
Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY0.80000PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Term Endowment Balance EOY0.20000TermEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Endowments Held Unrelated Org0EndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related Org0EndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$4,624,656OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$4,624,656BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$183,183,076OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$118,405,978DepreciationAmt
Book Value$64,777,098BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$21,594,701OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$13,400,511DepreciationAmt
Book Value$8,194,190BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$6,573,547OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$6,573,547BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$84,169,491TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescANNUITIES PAYABLEDesc
Amt$406,419Amt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$406,419TotalLiabilityAmt
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$45,801,795TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst-$8,510,837NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Other Revenue-$1,223,464OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported-$9,734,301RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$55,536,096RevenueSubtotalAmt
Other Revenues Not Included-$259,463OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt-$259,463RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$55,276,633TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$51,351,810TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$51,351,810ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Other Expenses Not Included$1,662,610OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$1,662,610ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$53,014,420TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (5 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART IV, LINE 2B:A REFUNDABLE DEPOSIT OF 5% OF THE ADVANCE FEE IS MADE AT THE TIME A RESIDENCY AGREEMENT IS EXECUTED. ADVANCE FEES RECEIVED FROM RESIDENTS UPON ADMISSION ARE SUBJECT TO THE REFUND PROVISIONS OF RESIDENTS' AGREEMENTS. FOR OUR MOST PREVALENT CONTRACT TYPE, REFUND PERIODS EXPIRE RATABLY OVER 50 MONTHS FROM THE RESIDENTS' DATE OF ENTRANCE.
PART V, LINE 4:THE INTENDED USE OF THE ORGANIZATION'S ENDOWMENT FUNDS IS TO PROVIDE BENEVOLENT CARE.
PART XI, LINE 2D - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:RESIDENT ASSISTANCE NETTED ON FS -1,662,610. CHANGE IN FV OF SWAPS 1,789,387. CHANGE IN FV OF PT -1,208,795. CHANGE IN PV OF ANNUITIES -11,138. RELEASE FROM RESTRICTIONS -56,213. LOSS ON EXTINGUISHMENT OF DEBT -74,095.
PART XI, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:RENT EXPENSE INCLUDED IN REV ON 990 -259,463.
PART XII, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:RESIDENT ASSISTANCE NETTED ON FS 1,662,610.

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (1)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant TypeRESIDENT ASSISTANCE (SEE PART IV)GrantTypeTxt
Recipient57RecipientCnt
Cash Grant$1,662,610CashGrantAmt
Valuation Method UsedN/AValuationMethodUsedDesc
Non Cash AssistanceN/ANonCashAssistanceDesc

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART I, LINE 2:A RESIDENT, PROSPECTIVE RESIDENT, OR THE FAMILY OF A RESIDENT MAY APPLY TO THE ADMINISTRATOR, OR OTHER PERSONS DESIGNATED BY THE ADMINISTRATOR, FOR FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE. THE ADMINISTRATOR WILL REVIEW THE RESIDENT'S RESOURCES, TAKING INTO ACCOUNT ALL EXPENSES, INCLUDING INSURANCE PREMIUMS, PRESCRIPTION DRUGS, ETC., AS WELL AS AMOUNTS DUE SUNNYSIDE. THE LEVEL OF ASSISTANCE WILL BE ESTABLISHED TO ALLOW SUFFICIENT FUNDS TO COVER EXPENSES AND A REASONABLE AMOUNT FOR ROUTINE DISCRETIONARY EXPENDITURES. A LISTING OF THE RESIDENT'S RESOURCES AND THE AMOUNT OF FELLOWSHIP ASSISTANCE WILL BE CREATED, AND REVIEWED AND APPROVED BY THE EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR WITH OVERSIGHT FROM THE CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER.
PART III COLUMN (A) - TYPE OF ASSISTANCESUNNYSIDE HAS ENJOYED A LONG HISTORY OF PROVIDING CARE TO RESIDENTSIN ALL LEVELS OF CARE WHO END UP EXHAUSTING THEIR PERSONAL RESOURCES. ONCE IN ASSISTED OR NURSING CARE SUNNYSIDE CONTINUES ITS SUPPORT ALONG WITH FUNDS THAT RESIDENTS RECEIVE FROM GOVERNMENTAL PROGRAMS SUCH AS THE VIRGINIA MEDICAL ASSISTANCE PROGEAM (MEDICAID) FOR HEALTHCARE.

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Independent ConsultantYes (X)IndependentConsultantInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance PaymentYes (1)SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org0CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs0CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org0CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs0CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed PaymentsYes (1)AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract Exception0InitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (7 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
JOSH LYONS
PRESIDENT AND CEO$278,657$0$48,660$0$0$0$11,857$0$1,288$0$340,462$0$0$0
KEN BOWARD
TREASURER AND CFO$174,083$0$14,700$0$0$0$7,990$0$23,739$0$220,512$0$0$0
CHARLOTTE SIBOLD
EXEC DIR, SUNNYS, LEFT DEC-22$104,553$0$15,750$0$54,580$0$7,131$0$9,126$0$191,140$0$0$0
PAULA GREENHAGEN
CHIEF HR OFFICER, LEFT DEC-22$90,911$0$15,400$0$53,216$0$6,622$0$17,713$0$183,862$0$0$0
KAREN WIGGINTON
CHIEF MARKETING OFFICER$149,259$0$15,067$0$0$0$6,656$0$8,178$0$179,160$0$0$0
JAMES SOUTER
EXEC DIR, KINGS GRANT CAMPUS$138,833$0$13,650$0$0$0$6,136$0$6,959$0$165,578$0$0$0
KAREN RILEY
CHIEF HEALTH INTEGRATION OFFICER$137,102$0$0$0$0$0$5,820$0$17,113$0$160,035$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (3 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART I, LINE 3THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES RECOMMENDS CEO SALARY AND BONUS AND PERIODICALLY WILL USE INDEPENDENT COMPENSATION CONSULTANT OR COMPENSATION SURVEY/STUDY TO SET THE RANGES FOR THE EXECUTIVE STAFF. ADDITIONALLY, THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE APPROVES THE ANNUAL BONUSES FOR EXECUTIVE STAFF AND KEY EMPLOYEES.
PART I, LINE 4ANAME: PAULA GREENHAGEN, DESCRIPTION: SEVERANCE, CURRENT YEAR AMOUNT: $53,216. PLAN DESCRIPTION: EARLY RETIREMENT/SEVERANCE NAME: CHARLOTTE SIBOLD, DESCRIPTION: SEVERANCE, CURRENT YEAR AMOUNT: $54,580. PLAN DESCRIPTION: SEVERANCE
PART I, LINE 7THE BOARD OF TRUSTEE'S EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE APPROVED A BONUS TO BE PAID TO THE CEO BASED ON ITS ASSESSMENT OF HIS CONTRIBUTION MADE DURING THE YEAR TO THE COMPANY'S GOALS, OBJECTIVES AND STRATEGIC DIRECTION. ADDITIONALLY, THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE APPROVES A BONUS POOL TO BE USED BY THE CEO TO AWARD BONUSES FOR SELECT SENIOR EXECUTIVE STAFF MEMBERS OR OTHER KEY STAFF BASED ON HIS ASSESSMENT OF THE CONTRIBUTIONS MADE BY THESE EMPLOYEES DURING THE YEAR. IN DETERMINING THE REASONABLENESS OF BONUSES AWARDED, ASSESSMENTS ARE COMPARED AGAINST INDUSTRY BENCHMARKS FOR TOTAL COMPENSATION. THESE BONUSES ARE REPORTED IN PART VII OF THE FORM 990 IN COLUMN D FOR THE AMOUNTS PAID DURING 2021.

Schedule K IRS990ScheduleK

Tax Exempt Bonds Issues TaxExemptBondsIssuesGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdBond Issuer EINBondIssuerEINBond IssuedBondIssuedDtIssue PriceIssuePriceAmtPurposePurposeDescDefeasedDefeasedIndOn Behalf Of IssuerOnBehalfOfIssuerIndPool FinancingPoolFinancingInd
EDA OF ROCKINGHAM COUNTY VIRGINIA
A5411559872017-05-19$16,000,000FUND RENOVATIONS AT CAMPUSES OF SUNNYSIDE, SUMMIT SQUARE, & KING'S GRANT000
EDA OF ROCKINGHAM COUNTY VIRGINIA
B5411559872020-01-08$32,929,461REFINANCING AND FUND RENOVATIONS AT SUNNYSIDE CAMPUSES000

Tax Exempt Bonds Proceeds TaxExemptBondsProceedsGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdRetiredRetiredAmtTotal ProceedsTotalProceedsAmtIssuance Costs From ProceedsIssuanceCostsFromProceedsAmtCapital ExpendituresCapitalExpendituresAmtUnspentUnspentAmtSubstantial CompletionSubstantialCompletionYrRefunding Tax Exempt BondsRefundingTaxExemptBondsIndRefunding Taxable BondsRefundingTaxableBondsIndFinal Allocation MadeFinalAllocationMadeIndAdequate Books And Rec MaintAdequateBooksAndRecMaintIndOther Spent ProceedsOtherSpentProceedsAmt
A$921,762$16,000,000$250,000$12,855,464$2,894,5362017000Yes (1)
B$2,672,067$32,929,461$542,630$3,237,453$6,763,7722020Yes (1)0Yes (1)Yes (1)$22,385,606

Tax Exempt Bonds Private Bus Use TaxExemptBondsPrivateBusUseGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdOwning Bond Financed PropertyOwningBondFinancedPropertyIndAny Lease ArrangementsAnyLeaseArrangementsIndMgmt Contract Bond Fincd PropMgmtContractBondFincdPropIndAny Research AgreementsAnyResearchAgreementsIndPrivate Bus Use By OthersPrivateBusUseByOthersPctTotal Private Business UseTotalPrivateBusinessUsePctBond Iss Meet Prvt Sec Pymt TestBondIssMeetPrvtSecPymtTestIndChange In Use Bond Financed PropChangeInUseBondFinancedPropIndProcs Nonqualified Bond RemdtdProcsNonqualifiedBondRemdtdInd
A00000.008600.0086000Yes (1)
B00000.008600.0086000Yes (1)

Tax Exempt Bonds Arbitrage TaxExemptBondsArbitrageGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdForm8038 T FiledForm8038TFiledIndRebate Not Due YetRebateNotDueYetIndException To RebateExceptionToRebateIndNo Rebate DueNoRebateDueIndVariable Rate IssueVariableRateIssueIndHedge Identified In Bks And RecHedgeIdentifiedInBksAndRecIndGross Proceeds Invested In GICGrossProceedsInvestedInGICIndGross Proceeds InvestedGrossProceedsInvestedIndWritten Proc To Monitor ReqsWrittenProcToMonitorReqsIndTerm Of HedgeTermOfHedgePctSuperintegrated HedgeSuperintegratedHedgeIndHedge TerminatedHedgeTerminatedInd
(no name)
A0Yes (1)000000Yes (1)
BB&T
B0Yes (1)00Yes (1)Yes (1)00Yes (1)5.40000000000000

Procedures Corrective Action ProceduresCorrectiveActionGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdProcedures Corrective ActionProceduresCorrectiveActionInd
AYes (1)
BYes (1)

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (7 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 1ATHE BOARD OF TRUSTEES HAS 4 SUB COMMITTEES: (1) AUDIT AND FINANCE, (2) GOVERNANCE, (3) STRATEGIC PLANNING AND (4) EXECUTIVE. ALL ARE CHARGED WITH ACTING IN THEIR RESPECTIVE AREA WITH RATIFICATION FROM THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES. MEMBERS OF THESE COMMITTEES ARE THE SUBJECT MATTER EXPERTS IN THE RESPECTIVE AREAS AND ALL ARE ALSO MEMBERS OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11BTHE 990 IS DISTRIBUTED FOR REVIEW TO THE MEMBERS OF THE AUDIT AND FINANCE COMMITTEE AND IS APPROVED AT THE NEXT MEETING PRIOR TO FILING. ADDITIONALLY, A COPY OF THE 990 IS MADE AVAILABLE TO THE FULL BOARD OF TRUSTEES BEFORE FILING.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12CEACH DIRECTOR, PRINCIPAL OFFICER, OR MEMBER OF A COMMITTEE WITH BOARD DELEGATED POWERS ARE COVERED UNDER THE CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY. THEY ARE REQUIRED TO ANNUALLY SIGN A STATEMENT WHICH AFFIRMS THAT SUCH PERSON HAS RECEIVED A COPY OF THE CONFLICTS OF INTEREST POLICY, HAS READ AND UNDERSTANDS THE POLICY AND HAS AGREED TO COMPLY WITH THE POLICY. THE POLICY OUTLINES THE GUIDING PRINCIPLES, DISCLOSURE REQUIREMENTS, AND PROCEDURES FOR DEALING WITH CONFLICTS OF INTEREST. A PERSON WITH A CONFLICT SHALL LEAVE THE BOARD OR COMMITTEE MEETING WHILE THE DETERMINATION OF A CONFLICT OF INTEREST IS DISCUSSED AND VOTED UPON. THE REMAINING BOARD OR COMMITTEE MEMBERS SHALL DECIDE IF A CONFLICT OF INTEREST EXISTS. IF IT IS DETERMINED A CONFLICT OF INTEREST EXISTS, THE PERSON WITH A CONFLICT SHALL LEAVE THE MEETING DURING DISCUSSION OF, AND THE VOTE ON, THE TRANSACTION OR ARRANGEMENT THAT RESULTS IN THE CONFLICT OF INTEREST. THE REMAINING BOARD OR COMMITTEE MEMBERS WILL REVIEW AND ADDRESS THE ACTUAL CONFLICT ACCORDING TO PROCEDURES AS SET FORTH IN THE ORGANIZATION'S CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15QUANTITATIVE DATA FROM SIMILARLY SITUATED ORGANIZATIONS ARE OBTAINED AND REVIEWED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF THE BOARD. CEO COMPENSATION IS REVIEWED AND SET BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF THE BOARD WITH FULL BOARD APPROVAL. THE COMPENSATION DETERMINATION IS CONFIRMED AND COMMUNICATED IN WRITING BY THE BOARD CHAIRPERSON AND GIVEN TO THE HR DEPARTMENT FOR IMPLEMENTATION. RECORDS ARE MAINTAINED IN THE CEO'S PERSONNEL FOLDER. FOR KEY EMPLOYEES, COMPENSATION DATA ARE BENCHMARKED USING THE MOST RECENT "LEADINGAGE LEADERSHIP COMPENSATION SURVEY OF MULTI-SITE ORGANIZATIONS." KEY EMPLOYEES/OFFICERS COMPENSATION IS REVIEWED IN CONNECTION WITH THE ANNUAL PERFORMANCE REVIEW PROCESS THAT TAKES PLACE ON THE EMPLOYMENT ANNIVERSARY. THE PERFORMANCE REVIEW IS COMPLETED AND THE CEO DETERMINES COMPENSATION FOR THE UPCOMING ANNUAL PERIOD, FACTORING IN MARKET AND PERFORMANCE DATA.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19THE ORGANIZATION MAKES ITS GOVERNING DOCUMENTS, CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY, AND FINANCIAL STATEMENT AVAILABLE TO THE PUBLIC UPON REQUEST.
FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9:CHANGE IN FV OF SWAPS 1,789,387. CHANGE IN PV OF PT -1,208,795. CHANGE IN PV OF ANNUITIES -11,138. RELEASE FROM RESTRICTIONS -56,213. RENT EXPENSES -259,463. LOSS ON EXTINGUISHMENT OF DEBT -74,095.
FORM 990, PART XII, LINE 3B:SUNNYSIDE IS REQUIRED TO UNDERGO A SINGLE AUDIT OF COVID-19 PROVIDER RELIEF FUNDS (PRF). THE SINGLE AUDIT WAS COMPLETED IN ADVANCE OF THE SEPTEMBER 30, 2022 DUE DATE.