SALEM ACADEMY & COLLEGE: Form 990, tax year 2023
View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗
- Organization
- SALEM ACADEMY & COLLEGE (EIN 56-0530005)
- Tax period
- 2023-07-01 to 2024-06-30
- Filed
- 2025-05-09
- IRS object ID
- 202531299349302948
- Schema version
- 2023v6.0
- Source
- Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica
Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.
- Return header
- Form 990
- Schedule A
- Schedule B
- Schedule D
- Schedule E
- Schedule G
- Schedule I
- Schedule J
- Schedule K
- Schedule L
- Schedule M
- Schedule O
- Schedule R
Return header ReturnHeader
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return | 2025-05-09T14:01:17-05:00 | ReturnTs |
| Tax Period End | 2024-06-30 | TaxPeriodEndDt |
Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Firm EIN | 540504460 | PreparerFirmEIN |
Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | BROWN EDWARDS & COMPANY LLP | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 105 ARBOR DRIVE 3RD FLOOR | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | CHRISTIANSBURG | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | VA | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 24073 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return Type | 990 | ReturnTypeCd |
| Tax Period Begin | 2023-07-01 | TaxPeriodBeginDt |
Filer Filer
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EIN | 560530005 | EIN |
Business Name BusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | SALEM ACADEMY AND COLLEGE | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Control | SALE | BusinessNameControlTxt |
| Phone | 3369175764 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 601 S CHURCH ST | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | WINSTONSALEM | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | NC | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 27101 | ZIPCd |
Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person | DAVID BROWNING | PersonNm |
| Person Title | VP FINANCE & ADMIN, CFO | PersonTitleTxt |
| Phone | 3369175472 | PhoneNum |
| Signature | 2025-05-09 | SignatureDt |
| Discuss With Paid Preparer | Yes (1) | DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| IRS Responsible Prty Info Curr | 0 | IRSResponsiblePrtyInfoCurrInd |
Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Person | MARK WOOLWINE | PreparerPersonNm |
| PTIN | P00647446 | PTIN |
| Phone | 5404433606 | PhoneNum |
| Preparation | 2025-05-09 | PreparationDt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Tax | 2023 | TaxYr |
| Build TS | 2025-03-06 01:10:19Z | BuildTS |
Form 990 IRS990
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Principal Officer | DR SUMMER MCGEE | PrincipalOfficerNm |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 601 S CHURCH ST | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | WINSTONSALEM | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | NC | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 27101 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Gross Receipts | $38,915,790 | GrossReceiptsAmt |
| Group Return For Affiliates | 0 | GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd |
| Organization501c3 | Yes (X) | Organization501c3Ind |
| Website Address | WWW.SALEM.EDU, WWW.SALEMACADEMY.COM | WebsiteAddressTxt |
| Type Of Organization Corp | Yes (X) | TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd |
| Formation | 1772 | FormationYr |
| Legal Domicile State | NC | LegalDomicileStateCd |
| Activity Or Mission | SALEM ACADEMY AND COLLEGE IS A DIVERSE COMMUNITY DEDICATED TO EDUCATING GIRLS AND WOMEN AND EMPOWERING THEM TO LEAD. SINCE 1772, SALEM ACADEMY FOSTERS GIRLS TO BECOME COMPASSIONATE AND CREATIVE LEADERS WHO CHART THEIR PATHS WITH CHARACTER, CURIOSITY, AND COURAGE. AT SALEM ACADEMY, CORE VALUES SUCH AS TRANSFORMATIVE LEARNING, COMPREHENSIVE WELLNESS, AND INCLUSIVE COMMUNITY PROVIDE AN EXTRAORDINARY EDUCATIONAL EXPERIENCE TO PREPARE STUDENTS FOR COLLEGE AND LIFE. SALEM COLLEGE, A PREMIER WOMEN'S COLLEGE COMMITTED TO ADVANCING EQUITY IN HEALTH AND IN SOCIETY, IS GROUNDED IN THE LIBERAL ARTS. AT SALEM COLLEGE, CORE VALUES SUCH AS INTELLECTUAL CURIOSITY, EQUITY AND BELONGING, AND COURAGEOUS LEADERSHIP DEVELOPS STUDENTS' POTENTIAL TO PREPARE THEM TO CREATE HEALTHIER AND MORE EQUITABLE COMMUNITIES | ActivityOrMissionDesc |
| Voting Members Governing Body | 20 | VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt |
| Voting Members Independent | 20 | VotingMembersIndependentCnt |
| Total Employee | 421 | TotalEmployeeCnt |
| Total Volunteers | 16 | TotalVolunteersCnt |
| Total Gross UBI | $0 | TotalGrossUBIAmt |
| Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm | $0 | NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt |
| PY Contributions Grants | $10,888,843 | PYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| CY Contributions Grants | $12,157,479 | CYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| PY Program Service Revenue | $10,673,595 | PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| CY Program Service Revenue | $12,935,458 | CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| PY Investment Income | $1,278,652 | PYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| CY Investment Income | $9,989,613 | CYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| PY Other Revenue | $3,896,334 | PYOtherRevenueAmt |
| CY Other Revenue | $3,820,683 | CYOtherRevenueAmt |
| PY Total Revenue | $26,737,424 | PYTotalRevenueAmt |
| CY Total Revenue | $38,903,233 | CYTotalRevenueAmt |
| PY Grants And Similar Paid | $6,861,065 | PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| CY Grants And Similar Paid | $8,174,852 | CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| PY Benefits Paid To Members | $0 | PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| CY Benefits Paid To Members | $0 | CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $12,677,435 | PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $13,253,336 | CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $338,104 | PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $403,887 | CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Fundraising Expense | $1,426,640 | CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt |
| PY Other Expenses | $10,451,033 | PYOtherExpensesAmt |
| CY Other Expenses | $11,509,416 | CYOtherExpensesAmt |
| PY Total Expenses | $30,327,637 | PYTotalExpensesAmt |
| CY Total Expenses | $33,341,491 | CYTotalExpensesAmt |
| PY Revenues Less Expenses | -$3,590,213 | PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| CY Revenues Less Expenses | $5,561,742 | CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| Total Assets BOY | $104,896,332 | TotalAssetsBOYAmt |
| Total Assets EOY | $110,111,288 | TotalAssetsEOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities BOY | $18,649,077 | TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities EOY | $20,751,996 | TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY | $86,247,255 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY | $89,359,292 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt |
| Mission | SEE SCHEDULE O | MissionDesc |
| Significant New Program Srvc | 0 | SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd |
| Significant Change | 0 | SignificantChangeInd |
| Expense | $24,737,056 | ExpenseAmt |
| Grant | $8,174,852 | GrantAmt |
| Revenue | $16,759,144 | RevenueAmt |
| Desc | SALEM ACADEMY & COLLEGE PROVIDES A COLLEGE EDUCATION TO APPROXIMATELY 377 FULL TIME COLLEGE STUDENTS, A HIGH SCHOOL EDUCATION TO APPROXIMATELY 77 FULL TIME STUDENTS (GRADES 9-12), AND PROVIDES CONTINUING EDUCATION TO APPROXIMATELY 82 PART-TIME STUDENTS THROUGHOUT THE COMMUNITY. THE COLLEGE ALSO PROVIDES ON-CAMPUS FOOD SERVICES AND HOUSING TO APPROXIMATELY 186 STUDENTS WHO MAINTAIN RESIDENCE ON THE CAMPUS OF SALEM COLLEGE, AND 30 STUDENTS WHO MAINTAIN RESIDENCE AT SALEM ACADEMY. | Desc |
| Total Program Service Expenses | $24,737,056 | TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt |
| Described In Section501c3 | Yes (1) | DescribedInSection501c3Ind |
| Schedule B Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleBRequiredInd |
| Political Campaign Acty | 0 | PoliticalCampaignActyInd |
| Lobbying Activities | 0 | LobbyingActivitiesInd |
| Subject To Proxy Tax | 0 | SubjectToProxyTaxInd |
| Donor Advised Fund | 0 | DonorAdvisedFundInd |
| Conservation Easements | Yes (1) | ConservationEasementsInd |
| Collections Of Art | Yes (1) | CollectionsOfArtInd |
| Credit Counseling | Yes (1) | CreditCounselingInd |
| Donor Rstr Or Quasi Endowments | Yes (1) | DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd |
| Report Land Building Equipment | Yes (1) | ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd |
| Report Investments Other Sec | Yes (1) | ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd |
| Report Program Related Invst | 0 | ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd |
| Report Other Assets | Yes (1) | ReportOtherAssetsInd |
| Report Other Liabilities | Yes (1) | ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd |
| Include FIN48 Footnote | Yes (1) | IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd |
| Independent Audit Fincl Stmt | Yes (1) | IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd |
| Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt | 0 | ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd |
| School Operating | Yes (1) | SchoolOperatingInd |
| Foreign Office | 0 | ForeignOfficeInd |
| Foreign Activities | 0 | ForeignActivitiesInd |
| More Than5000 K To Org | 0 | MoreThan5000KToOrgInd |
| More Than5000 K To Individuals | 0 | MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd |
| Professional Fundraising | Yes (1) | ProfessionalFundraisingInd |
| Fundraising Activities | 0 | FundraisingActivitiesInd |
| Gaming Activities | 0 | GamingActivitiesInd |
| Operate Hospital | 0 | OperateHospitalInd |
| Grants To Organizations | 0 | GrantsToOrganizationsInd |
| Grants To Individuals | Yes (1) | GrantsToIndividualsInd |
| Schedule J Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleJRequiredInd |
| Tax Exempt Bonds | Yes (1) | TaxExemptBondsInd |
| Invest Tax Exempt Bonds | 0 | InvestTaxExemptBondsInd |
| Escrow Account | 0 | EscrowAccountInd |
| On Behalf Of Issuer | 0 | OnBehalfOfIssuerInd |
| Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans | 0 | EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd |
| PY Excess Benefit Trans | 0 | PYExcessBenefitTransInd |
| Loan Outstanding | 0 | LoanOutstandingInd |
| Grant To Related Person | Yes (1) | GrantToRelatedPersonInd |
| Business Rln With Org Mem | 0 | BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd |
| Business Rln With Fam Mem | 0 | BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd |
| Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent | 0 | BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd |
| Deductible Non Cash Contri | Yes (1) | DeductibleNonCashContriInd |
| Deductible Art Contribution | 0 | DeductibleArtContributionInd |
| Terminate Operations | 0 | TerminateOperationsInd |
| Partial Liquidation | 0 | PartialLiquidationInd |
| Disregarded Entity | Yes (1) | DisregardedEntityInd |
| Related Entity | 0 | RelatedEntityInd |
| Related Organization Ctrl Ent | 0 | RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd |
| Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org | 0 | TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd |
| Activities Conducted Prtshp | 0 | ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd |
| Schedule O Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleORequiredInd |
| IRP Document | 1420 | IRPDocumentCnt |
| IRP Document W2 G | 0 | IRPDocumentW2GCnt |
| Backup Wthld Compliance | Yes (1) | BackupWthldComplianceInd |
| Employee | 421 | EmployeeCnt |
| Employment Tax Returns Filed | Yes (1) | EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd |
| Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit | Yes (1) | UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd |
| Form990 T Filed | Yes (1) | Form990TFiledInd |
| Foreign Financial Account | 0 | ForeignFinancialAccountInd |
| Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans | 0 | ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd |
| Taxable Party Notification | 0 | TaxablePartyNotificationInd |
| Nondeductible Contributions | 0 | NondeductibleContributionsInd |
| Quid Pro Quo Contributions | 0 | QuidProQuoContributionsInd |
| Form8282 Property Disposed Of | 0 | Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd |
| Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct | 0 | RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd |
| Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct | 0 | PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd |
| Indoor Tanning Services | 0 | IndoorTanningServicesInd |
| Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt | 0 | SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd |
| Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc | 0 | SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd |
| Info In Schedule O Part VI | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd |
| Governing Body Voting Members | 20 | GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt |
| Independent Voting Member | 20 | IndependentVotingMemberCnt |
| Family Or Business Rln | 0 | FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd |
| Delegation Of Mgmt Duties | 0 | DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd |
| Change To Org Documents | 0 | ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd |
| Material Diversion Or Misuse | 0 | MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd |
| Members Or Stockholders | 0 | MembersOrStockholdersInd |
| Election Of Board Members | 0 | ElectionOfBoardMembersInd |
| Decisions Subject To Approva | 0 | DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd |
| Minutes Of Governing Body | Yes (1) | MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd |
| Minutes Of Committees | Yes (1) | MinutesOfCommitteesInd |
| Officer Mailing Address | 0 | OfficerMailingAddressInd |
| Local Chapters | 0 | LocalChaptersInd |
| Form990 Provided To Gvrn Body | Yes (1) | Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd |
| Conflict Of Interest Policy | Yes (1) | ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd |
| Annual Disclosure Covered Prsn | Yes (1) | AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd |
| Regular Monitoring Enfrc | Yes (1) | RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd |
| Whistleblower Policy | Yes (1) | WhistleblowerPolicyInd |
| Document Retention Policy | Yes (1) | DocumentRetentionPolicyInd |
| Compensation Process CEO | Yes (1) | CompensationProcessCEOInd |
| Compensation Process Other | Yes (1) | CompensationProcessOtherInd |
| Investment In Joint Venture | 0 | InvestmentInJointVentureInd |
| Own Website | Yes (X) | OwnWebsiteInd |
| Other Website | Yes (X) | OtherWebsiteInd |
| Upon Request | Yes (X) | UponRequestInd |
Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail
Business Name BusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | SCOTT MORIN | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Phone | 3369175472 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 601 S CHURCH ST | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | WINSTONSALEM | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | NC | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 27101 | ZIPCd |
Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (30 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Average Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRt | Individual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorInd | OfficerOfficerInd | Reportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmt | Reportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmt | Other CompensationOtherCompensationAmt | Highest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| DR PATRICE DAVIS | |||||||
| BOARD CHAIR | 10.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| DR JOHN MCCONNELL | |||||||
| BOARD VICE CHAIR | 10.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| BROOKE SMITH | |||||||
| SECRETARY | 5.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| SALLIE BEASON | |||||||
| TREASURER | 5.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| MIMI ALEDO-SANDOVAL | |||||||
| TRUSTEE | 5.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| JULIA ARCHER | |||||||
| TRUSTEE | 5.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| ELIZABETH BAIRD | |||||||
| TRUSTEE | 5.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| SARAH BERGA | |||||||
| TRUSTEE | 5.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| AKESHIA CRAVEN-HOWELL | |||||||
| TRUSTEE | 5.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| LINDA DARDEN | |||||||
| TRUSTEE | 5.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| ELLEN DREW | |||||||
| TRUSTEE | 5.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| TERRIE DAVIS | |||||||
| TRUSTEE | 5.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| LOSSIE FREEMAN | |||||||
| TRUSTEE | 5.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| BETH GIANOPULOS | |||||||
| TRUSTEE | 5.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| INA KAMENZ | |||||||
| TRUSTEE | 5.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| KATHERINE HOLLAND-ORTIZ | |||||||
| TRUSTEE | 5.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| DR BRANDY NELSON | |||||||
| TRUSTEE | 5.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| ANNE SALISBURY | |||||||
| TRUSTEE | 5.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| SYDNEY TAYLOR | |||||||
| TRUSTEE | 5.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| DR EILEEN WILSON-OYELARAN | |||||||
| TRUSTEE | 5.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| SUMMER MCGEE | |||||||
| PRESIDENT | 50.00 | Yes (X) | $251,501 | $0 | $38,817 | ||
| DAVID BROWNING | |||||||
| VP FINANCE/CFO | 50.00 | Yes (X) | $185,947 | $0 | $11,813 | ||
| KATHRYN BARNES | |||||||
| VP OF INSTITUTIONAL DEVELOPMENT | 50.00 | Yes (X) | $130,235 | $0 | $8,358 | ||
| KRIS SORRELLS | |||||||
| HEAD OF ACADEMY | 50.00 | Yes (X) | $99,836 | $0 | $16,343 | ||
| BRETT WOODS | |||||||
| VP FOR ACADEMIC AFFAIRS | 50.00 | Yes (X) | $78,486 | $0 | $2,740 | ||
| JOHN DAYNES | |||||||
| CHIEF ENROLLMENT OFFICER | 50.00 | $162,411 | $0 | $8,037 | Yes (X) | ||
| DALE SANDERS | |||||||
| PROFESSOR OF HEALTH & BUSINESS ADMINISTRATION | 50.00 | $142,692 | $0 | $7,921 | Yes (X) | ||
| JENNA SHEFFIELD | |||||||
| ASSOCIATE VP FOR ACADEMIC AFFAIRS | 50.00 | $113,521 | $0 | $13,275 | Yes (X) | ||
| EVANGELIA MAZARIS | |||||||
| VP OF EQUITY, DIVERSITY, AND INCLUSION | 50.00 | $119,622 | $0 | $6,197 | Yes (X) | ||
| GLENN MCGEE | |||||||
| ADMISSIONS DIRECTOR | 50.00 | $113,491 | $0 | $6,470 | Yes (X) | ||
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Reportable Comp From Org | $1,397,742 | TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt |
| Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org | $0 | TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt |
| Total Other Compensation | $119,971 | TotalOtherCompensationAmt |
| Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 13 | IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
| Former Ofcr Employees Listed | 0 | FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd |
| Total Comp Greater Than150 K | Yes (1) | TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd |
| Compensation From Other Srcs | 0 | CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd |
Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)
| Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1Txt | CityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNm | State AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCd | ZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCd | ServicesServicesDesc | CompensationCompensationAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ARAMARK SERVICES INC | |||||
| PO BOX 978839 | DALLAS | TX | 753978839 | DINING SERVICES | $2,075,335 |
| EAB GLOBAL INC | |||||
| PO BOX 603519 | CHARLOTTE | NC | 282603519 | STUDENT MARKETING & RESEARCH | $593,238 |
| COMMUNITY COUNSELING SERVICES CO LLC | |||||
| PO BOX 824885 | PHILADELPHIA | PA | 191824885 | PRE-CAMPAIGN CONSULTANTING | $403,887 |
| NOVANT CORPORATE HEALTH | |||||
| 2085 FRONTIS PLAZA BLVD | WINSTONSALEM | NC | 27103 | HEALTH SERVICES | $371,871 |
| NWN CORPORATION | |||||
| PO BOX 945596 | ATLANTA | GA | 303945596 | NETWORK SERVICES | $320,657 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 10 | CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
| Government Grants | $152,449 | GovernmentGrantsAmt |
| All Other Contributions | $12,005,030 | AllOtherContributionsAmt |
| Noncash Contributions | $294,266 | NoncashContributionsAmt |
| Total Contributions | $12,157,479 | TotalContributionsAmt |
Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Desc | TUITION AND FEES | Desc |
| Business | 611710 | BusinessCd |
| Total Revenue Column | $12,935,458 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $12,935,458 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Program Service Revenue | $12,935,458 | TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $1,751,863 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $1,751,863 | ExclusionAmt |
Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Real | $24,381 | RealAmt |
Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Real | $12,557 | RealAmt |
Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Real | $11,824 | RealAmt |
Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $11,824 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $11,824 | ExclusionAmt |
Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | $8,222,923 | SecuritiesAmt |
| Other | $14,827 | OtherAmt |
Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | $0 | SecuritiesAmt |
| Other | $0 | OtherAmt |
Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | $8,222,923 | SecuritiesAmt |
| Other | $14,827 | OtherAmt |
Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $8,237,750 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $14,827 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
| Exclusion | $8,222,923 | ExclusionAmt |
Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp (2 entries)
| DescDesc | BusinessBusinessCd | Total Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmt | Related Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
|---|---|---|---|
| AUXILIARY ENTERPRISES | 611310 | $3,104,832 | $3,104,832 |
| TRUST DISTRIBUTIONS | 611310 | $317,152 | $317,152 |
Miscellaneous Revenue MiscellaneousRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $386,875 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $386,875 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Revenue Total | $3,808,859 | OtherRevenueTotalAmt |
Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $38,903,233 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $16,759,144 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
| Unrelated Business Revenue | $0 | UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt |
| Exclusion | $9,986,610 | ExclusionAmt |
Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $8,174,852 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $8,174,852 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,646,258 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $455,848 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $929,941 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $260,469 | FundraisingAmt |
Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $9,602,742 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $6,717,026 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $2,379,035 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $506,681 | FundraisingAmt |
Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $114,774 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $59,829 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $47,634 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $7,311 | FundraisingAmt |
Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,084,102 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $757,964 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $268,963 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $57,175 | FundraisingAmt |
Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $805,460 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $516,091 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $232,446 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $56,923 | FundraisingAmt |
Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $59,734 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $59,734 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $87,241 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $87,241 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Fees For Services Prof Fundraising FeesForServicesProfFundraising
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $403,887 | TotalAmt |
| Fundraising | $403,887 | FundraisingAmt |
Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $320,271 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $320,271 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $2,271,453 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $1,734,944 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $536,509 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Advertising AdvertisingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $166,713 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $118,821 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $38,632 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $9,260 | FundraisingAmt |
Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,211,835 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $620,379 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $580,643 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $10,813 | FundraisingAmt |
Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $544,360 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $445,089 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $55,915 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $43,356 | FundraisingAmt |
Occupancy OccupancyGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,464,021 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $1,146,264 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $298,013 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $19,744 | FundraisingAmt |
Travel TravelGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $412,439 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $342,911 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $62,947 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $6,581 | FundraisingAmt |
Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $139,639 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $106,815 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $32,824 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Interest InterestGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $817,582 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $817,582 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,410,717 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $1,099,346 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $292,435 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $18,936 | FundraisingAmt |
Insurance InsuranceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $432,259 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $35,513 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $396,746 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)
| DescDesc | TotalTotalAmt | Program ServicesProgramServicesAmt | Management And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmt |
|---|---|---|---|
| AUXILIARY ENTERPRISE | $1,538,377 | $1,538,377 | |
| PLEDGE WRITE-OFFS | $442,439 | $442,439 | |
| MERCANTILE STORE | $37,262 | $37,262 | |
| UNRELATED BUSINESS INCO | $53 | $53 |
All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $153,021 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $49,405 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $78,112 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $25,504 | FundraisingAmt |
Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $33,341,491 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $24,737,056 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $7,177,795 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $1,426,640 | FundraisingAmt |
Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $5,894,302 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $1,612,790 | EOYAmt |
Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $4,371,409 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $5,986,214 | EOYAmt |
Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $3,329,348 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $7,452,990 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $294,161 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $493,413 | EOYAmt |
Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $146,187 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $180,186 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss | $68,412,319 | LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt |
| Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec | $43,461,174 | LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt |
Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $23,955,077 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $24,951,145 | EOYAmt |
Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $41,413,927 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $38,484,368 | EOYAmt |
Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $17,128,120 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $22,025,644 | EOYAmt |
Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $8,363,801 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $8,924,538 | EOYAmt |
Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $104,896,332 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $110,111,288 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $1,738,556 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $2,371,441 | EOYAmt |
Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $1,455,233 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $1,428,064 | EOYAmt |
Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $15,324,890 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $16,643,992 | EOYAmt |
Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $130,398 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $308,499 | EOYAmt |
Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $18,649,077 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $20,751,996 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Organization Follows FASB117 | Yes (X) | OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind |
No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $12,976,579 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $8,004,390 | EOYAmt |
Donor Restriction Net Assets DonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $73,270,676 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $81,354,902 | EOYAmt |
Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $86,247,255 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $89,359,292 | EOYAmt |
Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $104,896,332 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $110,111,288 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Info In Schedule O Part XI | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd |
| Reconcilation Revenue Expnss | $5,561,742 | ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt |
| Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst | -$2,838,430 | NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt |
| Other Changes In Net Assets | $388,725 | OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt |
| Info In Schedule O Part XII | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd |
| Method Of Accounting Accrual | Yes (X) | MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd |
| Accountant Compile Or Review | 0 | AccountantCompileOrReviewInd |
| FS Audited | Yes (1) | FSAuditedInd |
FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Separate Basis Fincl Stmt | Yes (X) | SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Audit Committee | Yes (1) | AuditCommitteeInd |
| Federal Grant Audit Required | Yes (1) | FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd |
| Federal Grant Audit Performed | Yes (1) | FederalGrantAuditPerformedInd |
Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| School | Yes (X) | SchoolInd |
Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB
Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Contributor | RESTRICTED | ContributorNum |
Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | RESTRICTED | BusinessNameLine1 |
Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | RESTRICTED | AddressLine1 |
| Address Line2 | RESTRICTED | AddressLine2 |
| City | RESTRICTED | City |
| State | RESTRICTED | State |
| ZIP Code | RESTRICTED | ZIPCode |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Contributions | RESTRICTED | TotalContributionsAmt |
Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Historic Structure | Yes (X) | HistoricStructureInd |
| Total Easements | 1 | TotalEasementsCnt |
| Total Acreage | 0.00 | TotalAcreageCnt |
| Historic Structure Easements | 1 | HistoricStructureEasementsCnt |
| States Easements Held | 1 | StatesEasementsHeldCnt |
| Written Policy Monitoring | Yes (1) | WrittenPolicyMonitoringInd |
| Staff Hours Spent Enforcement | 10.00 | StaffHoursSpentEnforcementCnt |
| Expenses Incurred Enforcement | $1,500 | ExpensesIncurredEnforcementAmt |
| Section170h Rqr Stsfd | Yes (1) | Section170hRqrStsfdInd |
Art Public Exhibition Amounts ArtPublicExhibitionAmountsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Assets Included | $235,798 | AssetsIncludedAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Collection Used Pub Exhibition | Yes (X) | CollectionUsedPubExhibitionInd |
| Coll Used Scholarly Rsrch | Yes (X) | CollUsedScholarlyRsrchInd |
| Collection Used Preservation | Yes (X) | CollectionUsedPreservationInd |
| Solicited Assets Sale | 0 | SolicitedAssetsSaleInd |
| Agent Trustee Etc | 0 | AgentTrusteeEtcInd |
| Incl Escrow Custodial Acct Liab | Yes (1) | InclEscrowCustodialAcctLiabInd |
| Explanation Provided | Yes (X) | ExplanationProvidedInd |
CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Beginning Year Balance | $58,670,615 | BeginningYearBalanceAmt |
| Contributions | $674,677 | ContributionsAmt |
| Investment Earnings Or Losses | $6,486,072 | InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt |
| Other Expenditures | $5,318,730 | OtherExpendituresAmt |
| End Year Balance | $60,512,634 | EndYearBalanceAmt |
CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Beginning Year Balance | $56,574,866 | BeginningYearBalanceAmt |
| Contributions | $701,912 | ContributionsAmt |
| Investment Earnings Or Losses | $4,478,882 | InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt |
| Other Expenditures | $3,085,045 | OtherExpendituresAmt |
| End Year Balance | $58,670,615 | EndYearBalanceAmt |
CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Beginning Year Balance | $67,246,674 | BeginningYearBalanceAmt |
| Contributions | $754,767 | ContributionsAmt |
| Investment Earnings Or Losses | -$7,540,054 | InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt |
| Other Expenditures | $3,886,521 | OtherExpendituresAmt |
| End Year Balance | $56,574,866 | EndYearBalanceAmt |
CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Beginning Year Balance | $56,694,071 | BeginningYearBalanceAmt |
| Contributions | $503,060 | ContributionsAmt |
| Investment Earnings Or Losses | $13,962,773 | InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt |
| Other Expenditures | $3,913,230 | OtherExpendituresAmt |
| End Year Balance | $67,246,674 | EndYearBalanceAmt |
CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Beginning Year Balance | $59,857,730 | BeginningYearBalanceAmt |
| Contributions | $518,913 | ContributionsAmt |
| Investment Earnings Or Losses | $808,794 | InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt |
| Other Expenditures | $4,491,366 | OtherExpendituresAmt |
| End Year Balance | $56,694,071 | EndYearBalanceAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Board Designated Balance EOY | 0.00000 | BoardDesignatedBalanceEOYPct |
| Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY | 0.74178 | PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct |
| Term Endowment Balance EOY | 0.25822 | TermEndowmentBalanceEOYPct |
| Endowments Held Unrelated Org | 0 | EndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd |
| Endowments Held Related Org | 0 | EndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd |
Land LandGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $1,775,056 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Book Value | $1,775,056 | BookValueAmt |
Buildings BuildingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $50,487,607 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $32,796,008 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $17,691,599 | BookValueAmt |
Equipment EquipmentGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $14,879,836 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $10,665,166 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $4,214,670 | BookValueAmt |
Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $1,269,820 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Book Value | $1,269,820 | BookValueAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Book Value Land Buildings | $24,951,145 | TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt |
Other Securities OtherSecuritiesGrp (3 entries)
| DescDesc | Book ValueBookValueAmt | Method ValuationMethodValuationCd |
|---|---|---|
| CASH AND TEMPORARY INVESTMENTS | $1,875,810 | C |
| REAL ASSETS | $8,108,342 | C |
| ABSOLUTE RETURN | $12,041,492 | C |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Book Value Securities | $22,025,644 | TotalBookValueSecuritiesAmt |
Other Assets Org OtherAssetsOrgGrp (5 entries)
| DescDesc | Book ValueBookValueAmt |
|---|---|
| SPLIT INTEREST AGREEMENTS AND PERPETUAL TRUSTS | $7,517,177 |
| CASH SURRENDER VALUE OF LIFE INSURANCE | $1,181,852 |
| INTEREST IN OIL WELL | $50,389 |
| SALEM STORE INVENTORY | $43,908 |
| RIGHT OF USE ASSET | $131,212 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Book Value Other Assets | $8,924,538 | TotalBookValueOtherAssetsAmt |
Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (2 entries)
| DescDesc | AmtAmt |
|---|---|
| AGENCY FUNDS | $178,590 |
| LEASE LIABILITY | $129,909 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Liability | $308,499 | TotalLiabilityAmt |
| Footnote Text | Yes (X) | FootnoteTextInd |
| Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $25,685,890 | TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Net Unrealized Gains Invst | -$2,838,430 | NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt |
| Other Revenue | -$1,896,347 | OtherRevenueAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported | -$4,734,777 | RevenueNotReportedAmt |
| Revenue Subtotal | $30,420,667 | RevenueSubtotalAmt |
| Investment Expenses Not Incld | $320,271 | InvestmentExpensesNotIncldAmt |
| Other Revenues Not Included | $8,162,295 | OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt | $8,482,566 | RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Revenue Per Form990 | $38,903,233 | TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt |
| Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $24,858,925 | TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Expenses Not Reported | $0 | ExpensesNotReportedAmt |
| Expenses Subtotal | $24,858,925 | ExpensesSubtotalAmt |
| Investment Expenses Not Incld2 | $320,271 | InvestmentExpensesNotIncld2Amt |
| Other Expenses Not Included | $8,162,295 | OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt |
| Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt | $8,482,566 | ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Expenses Per Form990 | $33,341,491 | TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (8 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| PART II, LINE 9: | SALEM'S HISTORIC CONSERVATION EASEMENT IS FOR A HISTORIC STRUCTURE ON CAMPUS THAT IS USED IN SALEM'S DAILY OPERATIONS. REVENUES AND EXPENSES ARE REPORTED IN THE NORMAL OPERATIONS OF THE INSTUTITION AND THE STRUCTURE IS RECORDED WITH OTHER PROPERTY ON THE BALANCE SHEET. |
| PART III, LINE 4: | SALEM DID NOT RECONGNIZE REVENUE FROM THE RECEIPT OF HISTORICAL TREASURES OR WORKS OF ART, BUT MAKES THEM AVAILABLE MAINLY FOR SCHOLARLY RESEARCH AND EXHIBITION IN VARIOUS CAMPUS BUILDINGS. |
| PART IV, LINE 2B: | FUND BALANCES OF STUDENT ACTIVITY ORGANIZATIONS |
| PART V, LINE 4: | SALEM'S ENDOWMENT FUNDS ARE USED TO FUND SCHOLARSHIPS AND FOR THE OPERATING EXPENSES OF SALEM ACADEMY AND COLLEGE. |
| PART X, LINE 2: | MANAGEMENT EVALUATED SALEM'S TAX POSITIONS AND CONCLUDED THAT SALEM HAD TAKEN NO UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS THAT REQUIRE ADJUSTMENT TO THE CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS TO COMPLY WITH THE PROVISIONS OF THE INCOME TAXES TOPIC OF THE FASB ACT. |
| PART XI, LINE 2D - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS: | CHANGE IN VALUE OF TRUSTS AND SPLIT INTEREST AGREEMENTS 388,725. RELEASE OF NON-OPERATING ENDOWMENT RECEIPTS -2,285,072. |
| PART XI, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS: | GRANTS & OTHER ASSISTANCE TO INDIVIDUALS IN US 8,174,852. RENT EXPENSE -12,557. |
| PART XII, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS: | GRANTS & OTHER ASSISTANCE TO INDIVIDUALS IN US 8,174,852. RENT EXPENSE -12,557. |
Schedule E IRS990ScheduleE
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Nondiscriminatory Policy Stmt | Yes (1) | NondiscriminatoryPolicyStmtInd |
| Policy Stmt In Brochures Etc | Yes (1) | PolicyStmtInBrochuresEtcInd |
| Plcy Pblczd Via Broadcast Media | Yes (1) | PlcyPblczdViaBroadcastMediaInd |
| Maintain Racial Comp Recs | Yes (1) | MaintainRacialCompRecsInd |
| Maintain Scholarships Recs | Yes (1) | MaintainScholarshipsRecsInd |
| Maintain Cpy Of Brochures Etc | Yes (1) | MaintainCpyOfBrochuresEtcInd |
| Maintain Cpy Of All Sol | Yes (1) | MaintainCpyOfAllSolInd |
| Discriminate Race Stdnts Rghts | 0 | DiscriminateRaceStdntsRghtsInd |
| Discriminate Race Admiss Plcy | 0 | DiscriminateRaceAdmissPlcyInd |
| Discriminate Race Emplm Fculty | 0 | DiscriminateRaceEmplmFcultyInd |
| Discriminate Race Schs | 0 | DiscriminateRaceSchsInd |
| Discriminate Race Educ Plcy | 0 | DiscriminateRaceEducPlcyInd |
| Discriminate Race Use Of Fclts | 0 | DiscriminateRaceUseOfFcltsInd |
| Discriminate Race Athlt Prog | 0 | DiscriminateRaceAthltProgInd |
| Discriminate Race Other Acty | 0 | DiscriminateRaceOtherActyInd |
| Government Financial Aid Rcvd | Yes (1) | GovernmentFinancialAidRcvdInd |
| Government Financial Aid Rvkd | 0 | GovernmentFinancialAidRvkdInd |
| Compliance With Rev Proc7550 | Yes (1) | ComplianceWithRevProc7550Ind |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (3 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| SCHEDULE E, PART I, LINE 3 | SEE PART II |
| SCHEDULE E, PART I, LINE 6 | SALEM STUDENTS RECEIVE A VARIETY OF FEDERAL AND STATE GRANTS AND LOANS, INCLUDING FEDERAL PELL GRANTS, FEDERAL DIRECT STUDENT LOANS, NORTH CAROLINA NEED-BASED SCHOLARSHIPS, AND NORTH CAROLINA GOLDEN LEAF FOUNDATION SCHOLARSHIPS. |
| SCHEDULE E, LINE 3 - EXPLANATION OF RACIAL NONDISCRIMINATION POLICY: | THE NONDISCRIMINATORY POLICY IS INCLUDED ON MARKETING MATERIALS AND EMPLOYMENT ADVERTISEMENTS FOR THE SCHOOL. |
Schedule G IRS990ScheduleG
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Agrmt Prof Fundraising Acty | Yes (1) | AgrmtProfFundraisingActyInd |
Fundraiser Activity Info FundraiserActivityInfoGrp
Organization Business Name OrganizationBusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | COMMUNITY COUNSELLING SERVICE CO LLC | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 1667 K STREET NW SUITE 210 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | WASHINGTON | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | DC | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 20006 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Activity | PRE-CAMPAIGN PLANNING SERVICES | ActivityTxt |
| Fundraiser Control Of Funds | 0 | FundraiserControlOfFundsInd |
| Gross Receipts | $0 | GrossReceiptsAmt |
| Retained By Contractor | $403,887 | RetainedByContractorAmt |
| Net To Organization | -$403,887 | NetToOrganizationAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Retained By Contractors | $403,887 | TotalRetainedByContractorsAmt |
| Total Net To Organization | -$403,887 | TotalNetToOrganizationAmt |
Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Grant Records Maintained | Yes (1) | GrantRecordsMaintainedInd |
Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Grant Type | SCHOLARSHIPS | GrantTypeTxt |
| Recipient | 456 | RecipientCnt |
| Cash Grant | $8,174,852 | CashGrantAmt |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| PART I, LINE 2: | SALEM GRANTS FUNDS IN THE WAY OF SCHOLARSHIPS TO QUALIFIED STUDENTS IN ITS ACADEMY AND COLLEGE. SALEM MAINTAINS RECORDS ON ALL STUDENTS RECEIVING FINANCIAL AID IN THE FORM OF SALEM GRANTS OR FROM OTHER SOURCES. SALEM COLLEGE COMPLIES WITH ALL APPLICABLE FEDERAL RULES AS IT RELATES TO COLLEGE FINANCIAL AID. |
| SCHEDULE I, PART III, COLUMN B: | THE VAST MAJORITY OF SALEM'S COLLEGE STUDENTS RECEIVE SOME FORM OF SCHOLARSHIP FROM THE COLLEGE. SALEM PROVIDES THIS ASSISTANCE THROUGH ENDOWED SCHOLARSHIPS AND INSTITUTIONAL REMISSION (DISCOUNT). SALEM COMPLIES WITH ALL FEDERAL AND STATE REGULATIONS REGARDING THE REWARDING OF STUDENT FINANCIAL AID AND FILES THE REQUISITE INFORMATION WITH FEDERAL AND STATE AGENCIES AS IT PERTAINS TO ITS STUDENTS. |
Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Housing Allowance Or Residence | Yes (X) | HousingAllowanceOrResidenceInd |
| Written Policy Ref T And E Expnss | 0 | WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd |
| Substantiation Required | 0 | SubstantiationRequiredInd |
| Severance Payment | 0 | SeverancePaymentInd |
| Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan | 0 | SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd |
| Equity Based Comp Arrngm | 0 | EquityBasedCompArrngmInd |
| Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org | 0 | CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd |
| Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs | 0 | CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd |
| Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org | 0 | CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd |
| Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs | 0 | CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd |
| Any Non Fixed Payments | 0 | AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd |
| Initial Contract Exception | 0 | InitialContractExceptionInd |
Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (4 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Base Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Compensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmt | Bonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmount | Bonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmt | Other Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Other Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmt | Deferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmt | Deferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmt | Nontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmt | Nontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmt | Total Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Total Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmt | Comp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmt | Comp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SUMMER MCGEE | ||||||||||||||
| PRESIDENT | $251,501 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $15,000 | $0 | $23,817 | $0 | $290,318 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| DAVID BROWNING | ||||||||||||||
| VP FINANCE/CFO | $185,947 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $11,813 | $0 | $197,760 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| JOHN DAYNES | ||||||||||||||
| CHIEF ENROLLMENT OFFICER | $162,411 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $8,037 | $0 | $170,448 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| DALE SANDERS | ||||||||||||||
| PROFESSOR OF HEALTH & BUSINESS ADMIN | $142,692 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $7,921 | $0 | $150,613 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form And Line Reference | PART I, LINE 1A | FormAndLineReferenceDesc |
| Explanation | SALEM PROVIDES THE PRESIDENT WITH ON-CAMPUS HOUSING FOR THE BENEFIT AND CONVENIENCE OF SALEM. | ExplanationTxt |
Schedule K IRS990ScheduleK
Tax Exempt Bonds Issues TaxExemptBondsIssuesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Bond Reference | A | BondReferenceCd |
Issuer Name IssuerName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | PUBLIC FINANCE AUTHORITY | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Bond Issuer EIN | 273866124 | BondIssuerEIN |
| CUSIP | NONEAVAIL | CUSIPNum |
| Bond Issued | 2023-08-24 | BondIssuedDt |
| Issue Price | $19,784,000 | IssuePriceAmt |
| Purpose | REFINANCING/NEW MONEY PROJECT | PurposeDesc |
| Defeased | 0 | DefeasedInd |
| On Behalf Of Issuer | 0 | OnBehalfOfIssuerInd |
| Pool Financing | 0 | PoolFinancingInd |
Tax Exempt Bonds Proceeds TaxExemptBondsProceedsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Bond Reference | A | BondReferenceCd |
| Total Proceeds | $19,784,000 | TotalProceedsAmt |
| Issuance Costs From Proceeds | $325,874 | IssuanceCostsFromProceedsAmt |
| Capital Expenditures | $1,020,987 | CapitalExpendituresAmt |
| Other Spent Proceeds | $15,994,775 | OtherSpentProceedsAmt |
| Unspent | $2,442,364 | UnspentAmt |
| Refunding Tax Exempt Bonds | 0 | RefundingTaxExemptBondsInd |
| Refunding Taxable Bonds | 0 | RefundingTaxableBondsInd |
| Final Allocation Made | 0 | FinalAllocationMadeInd |
| Adequate Books And Rec Maint | Yes (1) | AdequateBooksAndRecMaintInd |
Tax Exempt Bonds Private Bus Use TaxExemptBondsPrivateBusUseGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Bond Reference | A | BondReferenceCd |
| Owning Bond Financed Property | 0 | OwningBondFinancedPropertyInd |
| Any Lease Arrangements | 0 | AnyLeaseArrangementsInd |
| Mgmt Contract Bond Fincd Prop | 0 | MgmtContractBondFincdPropInd |
| Any Research Agreements | 0 | AnyResearchAgreementsInd |
| Bond Iss Meet Prvt Sec Pymt Test | 0 | BondIssMeetPrvtSecPymtTestInd |
| Change In Use Bond Financed Prop | 0 | ChangeInUseBondFinancedPropInd |
| Procs Nonqualified Bond Remdtd | Yes (1) | ProcsNonqualifiedBondRemdtdInd |
Tax Exempt Bonds Arbitrage TaxExemptBondsArbitrageGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Bond Reference | A | BondReferenceCd |
| Form8038 T Filed | 0 | Form8038TFiledInd |
| Rebate Not Due Yet | 0 | RebateNotDueYetInd |
| Exception To Rebate | 0 | ExceptionToRebateInd |
| No Rebate Due | 0 | NoRebateDueInd |
| Variable Rate Issue | 0 | VariableRateIssueInd |
| Hedge Identified In Bks And Rec | 0 | HedgeIdentifiedInBksAndRecInd |
| Gross Proceeds Invested In GIC | 0 | GrossProceedsInvestedInGICInd |
| Gross Proceeds Invested | 0 | GrossProceedsInvestedInd |
| Written Proc To Monitor Reqs | Yes (1) | WrittenProcToMonitorReqsInd |
Procedures Corrective Action ProceduresCorrectiveActionGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Bond Reference | A | BondReferenceCd |
| Procedures Corrective Action | Yes (1) | ProceduresCorrectiveActionInd |
Schedule L IRS990ScheduleL
Grnt Asst Bnft Interested Prsn GrntAsstBnftInterestedPrsnGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Cash Grant | $22,500 | CashGrantAmt |
| Type Of Assistance | TUITION REMISSION | TypeOfAssistanceTxt |
| Assistance Purpose | STUDENT SCHOLARSHIP ASSISTANCE | AssistancePurposeTxt |
Schedule M IRS990ScheduleM
Securities Publicly Traded SecuritiesPubliclyTradedGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Non Cash Checkbox | Yes (X) | NonCashCheckboxInd |
| Contribution | 12 | ContributionCnt |
| Noncash Contributions Rpt F990 | $268,203 | NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt |
| Method Of Determining Revenues | AVE HIGH/LOW AT TRANSACT | MethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt |
Other Non Cash Contri Table OtherNonCashContriTableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Non Cash Checkbox | Yes (X) | NonCashCheckboxInd |
| Desc | OTHER | Desc |
| Contribution | 11 | ContributionCnt |
| Noncash Contributions Rpt F990 | $26,063 | NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt |
| Method Of Determining Revenues | FMV AT TRANSACT | MethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Any Property That Must Be Held | 0 | AnyPropertyThatMustBeHeldInd |
| Review Process Unusual NC Gifts | Yes (1) | ReviewProcessUnusualNCGiftsInd |
| Third Parties Used | Yes (1) | ThirdPartiesUsedInd |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form And Line Reference | PART I, LINE 32B: | FormAndLineReferenceDesc |
| Explanation | SALEM HIRES A CONSULTANT TO APPRAISE THE VALUE OF CERTAIN DONATED ITEMS AND SEND TO AUCTION FOR SALE. | ExplanationTxt |
Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (6 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11B | A DRAFT OF THE FULL 990 IS REVIEWED AND APPROVED BY THE FINANCE COMMITTEE. THE APPROVED DRAFT IS POSTED TO THE BOARD'S SECURE PORTAL, WITH NAMES AND ADDRESSES REDACTED FROM SCHEDULE B TO REDUCE RISK OF DONOR DISCLOSURE. THE BOARD IS NOTIFIED THAT THE RETURN HAS BEEN POSTED AND PROVIDED A TIME FRAME IN WHICH COMMENTS OR QUESTIONS SHOULD BE MADE. THE RETURN IS FILED AFTER THAT DATE. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12C | EACH YEAR, THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES AND EXECUTIVE TEAM OF SALEM ARE ASKED TO REVIEW THE CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY, REVIEW SALEM'S LIST OF MAJOR VENDORS AND PROVIDE A SIGNED STATEMENT STATING ANY RELATIONSHIPS WITH THESE VENDORS AND ANY OTHER ITEMS THAT MAY HAVE THE POTENTIAL TO BE A CONFLICT OF INTEREST. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15 | COMPENSATION FOR THE PRESIDENT IS DETERMINED BY THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES. THE PRESIDENT IS EVALUATED ANNUALLY AND COMPENSATION IS REVIEWED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE AND THE FULL BOARD. THE PRESIDENT REVIEWS THE COMPENSATION OF OTHER EXECUTIVE TEAM MEMBERS AND REPORTS TO THE BOARD WHO REVIEWS THESE DECISIONS. SALEM MAKES USE OF SURVEY DATA PROVIDED BY NORTH CAROLINA INDEPENDENT COLLEGES AND UNIVERSITIES, THE COUNCIL OF INDEPENDENT COLLEGES AND OTHER SOURCES TO DETERMINE THE APPROPRIATE LEVEL OF COMPENSATION FOR OFFICERS/KEY EMPLOYEES AND WOULD ENGAGE ADDITIONAL OUTSIDE CONSULTANTS IF NECESSARY. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19 | FINANCIAL STATEMENTS AND GOVERNING DOCUMENTS ARE AVAILABLE UPON REQUEST FROM THE CFO'S OFFICE FOR THE SAME PERIOD OF DISCLOSURE AS SET FORTH IN SECTION 6104(D). |
| FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9: | CHANGE IN VALUE OF SPLIT INTEREST AGREEMENTS 388,725. |
| FORM 990, PART XII, LINE 2C: | THE PROCESS HAS NOT CHANGED FROM THE PRIOR YEAR. |
Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR
Id Disregarded Entities IdDisregardedEntitiesGrp
Disregarded Entity Name DisregardedEntityName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | SALEM RECREATIONAL FIELDS LLC | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 601 SOUTH CHURCH STREET | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | WINSTONSALEM | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | NC | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 27101 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EIN | 562272294 | EIN |
| Primary Activities | RECREATION FIELD | PrimaryActivitiesTxt |
| Legal Domicile State | NC | LegalDomicileStateCd |
| End Of Year Assets | $737,006 | EndOfYearAssetsAmt |
Direct Controlling Entity Name DirectControllingEntityName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | SALEM ACADEMY AND COLLEGE | BusinessNameLine1Txt |