Sierra Nevada College: Form 990, tax year 2020
View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗
- Organization
- Sierra Nevada College (EIN 88-0121831)
- Tax period
- 2020-07-01 to 2021-06-30
- Filed
- 2022-01-12
- IRS object ID
- 202200129349300620
- Schema version
- 2020v4.1
- Source
- Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica
Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.
- Return header
- Form 990
- Schedule A
- Schedule B
- Schedule D
- Schedule E
- Schedule G
- Schedule I
- Schedule J
- Schedule O
Return header ReturnHeader
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return | 2022-01-12T10:27:32-06:00 | ReturnTs |
| Tax Period End | 2021-06-30 | TaxPeriodEndDt |
Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Firm EIN | 450250958 | PreparerFirmEIN |
Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | Eide Bailly LLC | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 5441 Kietzke Lane Suite 150 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | Reno | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | NV | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 89511 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return Type | 990 | ReturnTypeCd |
| Tax Period Begin | 2020-07-01 | TaxPeriodBeginDt |
Filer Filer
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EIN | 880121831 | EIN |
Business Name BusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | Sierra Nevada College | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Control | SIER | BusinessNameControlTxt |
| Phone | 7758817426 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 999 Tahoe Blvd | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | Incline Village | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | NV | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 89451 | ZIPCd |
Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person | Susan Johnson | PersonNm |
| Person Title | VP of Finance and Admin | PersonTitleTxt |
| Phone | 7758817426 | PhoneNum |
| Signature | 2022-01-10 | SignatureDt |
| Discuss With Paid Preparer | Yes (1) | DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd |
Signing Officer SigningOfficerGrp
Person Full Name PersonFullName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person First | Susan | PersonFirstNm |
| Person Last | Johnson | PersonLastNm |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| SSN | 999009999 | SSN |
Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Person | Kirk Gardner CPA | PreparerPersonNm |
| PTIN | P00225248 | PTIN |
| Phone | 7756899100 | PhoneNum |
| Preparation | 2022-01-10 | PreparationDt |
Additional Filer Information AdditionalFilerInformation
Trusted Customer TrustedCustomerGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Trusted Customer | 2 | TrustedCustomerCd |
| Authentication Assurance Level | AAL1 | AuthenticationAssuranceLevelCd |
| Identity Assurance Level | IAL1 | IdentityAssuranceLevelCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Tax | 2020 | TaxYr |
| Build TS | 2022-09-23 18:48:47Z | BuildTS |
Form 990 IRS990
Doing Business As Name DoingBusinessAsName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | Sierra Nevada University | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Principal Officer | Robert Valli | PrincipalOfficerNm |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 999 Tahoe Blvd | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | Incline Village | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | NV | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 89451 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Gross Receipts | $26,258,896 | GrossReceiptsAmt |
| Group Return For Affiliates | 0 | GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd |
| Organization501c3 | Yes (X) | Organization501c3Ind |
| Website Address | www.sierranevada.edu | WebsiteAddressTxt |
| Type Of Organization Corp | Yes (X) | TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd |
| Formation | 1969 | FormationYr |
| Legal Domicile State | NV | LegalDomicileStateCd |
| Activity Or Mission | To combine the liberal arts and professional preparedness through an interdisciplinary curriculum. | ActivityOrMissionDesc |
| Voting Members Governing Body | 24 | VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt |
| Voting Members Independent | 24 | VotingMembersIndependentCnt |
| Total Employee | 329 | TotalEmployeeCnt |
| Total Volunteers | 30 | TotalVolunteersCnt |
| Total Gross UBI | $0 | TotalGrossUBIAmt |
| Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm | $0 | NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt |
| PY Contributions Grants | $3,013,226 | PYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| CY Contributions Grants | $13,390,990 | CYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| PY Program Service Revenue | $16,220,689 | PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| CY Program Service Revenue | $12,206,025 | CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| PY Investment Income | $174,394 | PYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| CY Investment Income | $48,708 | CYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| PY Other Revenue | -$4,035 | PYOtherRevenueAmt |
| CY Other Revenue | -$328,780 | CYOtherRevenueAmt |
| PY Total Revenue | $19,404,274 | PYTotalRevenueAmt |
| CY Total Revenue | $25,316,943 | CYTotalRevenueAmt |
| PY Grants And Similar Paid | $5,730,134 | PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| CY Grants And Similar Paid | $5,019,234 | CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| PY Benefits Paid To Members | $0 | PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| CY Benefits Paid To Members | $0 | CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $8,078,178 | PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $7,114,151 | CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Fundraising Expense | $168,353 | CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt |
| PY Other Expenses | $5,105,218 | PYOtherExpensesAmt |
| CY Other Expenses | $8,188,384 | CYOtherExpensesAmt |
| PY Total Expenses | $18,913,530 | PYTotalExpensesAmt |
| CY Total Expenses | $20,321,769 | CYTotalExpensesAmt |
| PY Revenues Less Expenses | $490,744 | PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| CY Revenues Less Expenses | $4,995,174 | CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| Total Assets BOY | $39,028,332 | TotalAssetsBOYAmt |
| Total Assets EOY | $45,898,169 | TotalAssetsEOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities BOY | $8,799,201 | TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities EOY | $9,722,470 | TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY | $30,229,131 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY | $36,175,699 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt |
| Info In Schedule O Part III | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd |
| Mission | Sierra Nevada College's mission is to combine the liberal arts and professional preparedness through an interdisciplinary curriculum which emphasizes entrepreneurial thinking and environmental, social, economic, and educational sustainability to produce graduates who will be scholars of and contributors to a sustainable world. | MissionDesc |
| Significant New Program Srvc | 0 | SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd |
| Significant Change | 0 | SignificantChangeInd |
| Expense | $12,644,701 | ExpenseAmt |
| Grant | $5,019,234 | GrantAmt |
| Revenue | $11,762,386 | RevenueAmt |
| Desc | Sierra Nevada is a fully accredited institution of higher learning. During the fiscal year 2021 higher educational services provided to approximately 1,400 students. | Desc |
| Total Program Service Expenses | $12,644,701 | TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt |
| Described In Section501c3 | Yes (1) | DescribedInSection501c3Ind |
| Schedule B Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleBRequiredInd |
| Political Campaign Acty | 0 | PoliticalCampaignActyInd |
| Lobbying Activities | 0 | LobbyingActivitiesInd |
| Subject To Proxy Tax | 0 | SubjectToProxyTaxInd |
| Donor Advised Fund | 0 | DonorAdvisedFundInd |
| Conservation Easements | 0 | ConservationEasementsInd |
| Collections Of Art | Yes (1) | CollectionsOfArtInd |
| Credit Counseling | 0 | CreditCounselingInd |
| Donor Rstr Or Quasi Endowments | Yes (1) | DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd |
| Report Land Building Equipment | Yes (1) | ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd |
| Report Investments Other Sec | Yes (1) | ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd |
| Report Program Related Invst | 0 | ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd |
| Report Other Assets | 0 | ReportOtherAssetsInd |
| Report Other Liabilities | 0 | ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd |
| Include FIN48 Footnote | Yes (1) | IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd |
| Independent Audit Fincl Stmt | Yes (1) | IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd |
| Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt | 0 | ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd |
| School Operating | Yes (1) | SchoolOperatingInd |
| Foreign Office | 0 | ForeignOfficeInd |
| Foreign Activities | 0 | ForeignActivitiesInd |
| More Than5000 K To Org | 0 | MoreThan5000KToOrgInd |
| More Than5000 K To Individuals | 0 | MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd |
| Professional Fundraising | 0 | ProfessionalFundraisingInd |
| Fundraising Activities | Yes (1) | FundraisingActivitiesInd |
| Gaming Activities | 0 | GamingActivitiesInd |
| Operate Hospital | 0 | OperateHospitalInd |
| Grants To Organizations | 0 | GrantsToOrganizationsInd |
| Grants To Individuals | Yes (1) | GrantsToIndividualsInd |
| Schedule J Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleJRequiredInd |
| Tax Exempt Bonds | 0 | TaxExemptBondsInd |
| Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans | 0 | EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd |
| PY Excess Benefit Trans | 0 | PYExcessBenefitTransInd |
| Loan Outstanding | 0 | LoanOutstandingInd |
| Grant To Related Person | 0 | GrantToRelatedPersonInd |
| Business Rln With Org Mem | 0 | BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd |
| Business Rln With Fam Mem | 0 | BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd |
| Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent | 0 | BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd |
| Deductible Non Cash Contri | 0 | DeductibleNonCashContriInd |
| Deductible Art Contribution | 0 | DeductibleArtContributionInd |
| Terminate Operations | 0 | TerminateOperationsInd |
| Partial Liquidation | 0 | PartialLiquidationInd |
| Disregarded Entity | 0 | DisregardedEntityInd |
| Related Entity | 0 | RelatedEntityInd |
| Related Organization Ctrl Ent | 0 | RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd |
| Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org | 0 | TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd |
| Activities Conducted Prtshp | 0 | ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd |
| Schedule O Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleORequiredInd |
| IRP Document | 68 | IRPDocumentCnt |
| IRP Document W2 G | 0 | IRPDocumentW2GCnt |
| Backup Wthld Compliance | Yes (1) | BackupWthldComplianceInd |
| Employee | 329 | EmployeeCnt |
| Employment Tax Returns Filed | Yes (1) | EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd |
| Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit | 0 | UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd |
| Foreign Financial Account | 0 | ForeignFinancialAccountInd |
| Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans | 0 | ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd |
| Taxable Party Notification | 0 | TaxablePartyNotificationInd |
| Nondeductible Contributions | 0 | NondeductibleContributionsInd |
| Quid Pro Quo Contributions | Yes (1) | QuidProQuoContributionsInd |
| Quid Pro Quo Contri Discl | Yes (1) | QuidProQuoContriDisclInd |
| Form8282 Property Disposed Of | 0 | Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd |
| Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct | 0 | RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd |
| Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct | 0 | PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd |
| Indoor Tanning Services | 0 | IndoorTanningServicesInd |
| Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt | 0 | SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd |
| Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc | 0 | SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd |
| Info In Schedule O Part VI | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd |
| Governing Body Voting Members | 24 | GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt |
| Independent Voting Member | 24 | IndependentVotingMemberCnt |
| Family Or Business Rln | 0 | FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd |
| Delegation Of Mgmt Duties | 0 | DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd |
| Change To Org Documents | 0 | ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd |
| Material Diversion Or Misuse | 0 | MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd |
| Members Or Stockholders | 0 | MembersOrStockholdersInd |
| Election Of Board Members | 0 | ElectionOfBoardMembersInd |
| Decisions Subject To Approva | 0 | DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd |
| Minutes Of Governing Body | Yes (1) | MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd |
| Minutes Of Committees | Yes (1) | MinutesOfCommitteesInd |
| Officer Mailing Address | 0 | OfficerMailingAddressInd |
| Local Chapters | 0 | LocalChaptersInd |
| Form990 Provided To Gvrn Body | 0 | Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd |
| Conflict Of Interest Policy | Yes (1) | ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd |
| Annual Disclosure Covered Prsn | Yes (1) | AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd |
| Regular Monitoring Enfrc | Yes (1) | RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd |
| Whistleblower Policy | 0 | WhistleblowerPolicyInd |
| Document Retention Policy | Yes (1) | DocumentRetentionPolicyInd |
| Compensation Process CEO | Yes (1) | CompensationProcessCEOInd |
| Compensation Process Other | Yes (1) | CompensationProcessOtherInd |
| Investment In Joint Venture | 0 | InvestmentInJointVentureInd |
| States Where Copy Of Return Is Fld | CA | StatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd |
| Upon Request | Yes (X) | UponRequestInd |
Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail
Business Name BusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | Olivia Aqui | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Phone | 7758817426 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 999 Tahoe Blvd | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | Incline Village | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | NV | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 89451 | ZIPCd |
Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (33 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Average Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRt | Key EmployeeKeyEmployeeInd | Reportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmt | Reportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmt | Other CompensationOtherCompensationAmt | OfficerOfficerInd | Highest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd | Former Ofcr Director TrusteeFormerOfcrDirectorTrusteeInd | Individual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorInd |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Shannon Beets | |||||||||
| Provost (until Oct. 2020) | 30.00 | Yes (X) | $194,477 | $0 | $18,746 | ||||
| Susan JohnsonTreasurer | |||||||||
| VP of Finance & Admin | 30.00 | $161,898 | $0 | $9,014 | Yes (X) | ||||
| Victoria Lobosco | |||||||||
| Controller/AVPFA (until May 2021) | 30.00 | $130,050 | $0 | $88 | Yes (X) | ||||
| Alan Walker | |||||||||
| Former President | 0.00 | $120,423 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | ||||
| Kristine YoungSecretary | |||||||||
| Exec Assistant to the President | 30.00 | $70,228 | $0 | $5,700 | Yes (X) | ||||
| Robert Valli | |||||||||
| President (as of Aug. 2020) | 30.00 | $28,756 | $0 | $6,677 | Yes (X) | ||||
| Atam Lalchandani | |||||||||
| Chair | 0.60 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | |||
| Janet Lowe | |||||||||
| Vice Chair | 0.60 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | |||
| Roland W Schumann III | |||||||||
| Vice Chair | 0.60 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | |||
| Wayne Prim | |||||||||
| Chair Emeritus | 0.60 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | ||||
| Warren Kocmond | |||||||||
| Trustee | 0.60 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | ||||
| Bob Preger | |||||||||
| Trustee | 0.60 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | ||||
| Jim Steinmann | |||||||||
| Trustee | 0.60 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | ||||
| Li Han Chan | |||||||||
| Trustee | 0.60 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | ||||
| Vanessa Franking | |||||||||
| Trustee | 0.60 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | ||||
| Bob Hall | |||||||||
| Trustee | 0.60 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | ||||
| Jennifer Aleman Hutter | |||||||||
| Trustee | 0.60 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | ||||
| Ben Kieckhefer | |||||||||
| Trustee | 0.60 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | ||||
| Barry Klein | |||||||||
| Trustee | 0.60 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | ||||
| Ben Solomon | |||||||||
| Trustee | 0.60 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | ||||
| Patty Engels | |||||||||
| Trustee | 0.60 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | ||||
| Roger Kahn | |||||||||
| Trustee | 0.60 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | ||||
| Julia Mailander | |||||||||
| Trustee | 0.60 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | ||||
| Scott Minick | |||||||||
| Trustee | 0.60 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | ||||
| Emmett Hall Jr | |||||||||
| Trustee | 0.60 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | ||||
| Sandy Hardie | |||||||||
| Trustee | 0.60 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | ||||
| Mridul Gautam | |||||||||
| Trustee | 0.60 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | ||||
| Karen Biestman | |||||||||
| Trustee | 0.60 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | ||||
| Bill Ramsey | |||||||||
| Trustee | 0.60 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | ||||
| Mark Reynolds | |||||||||
| Trustee | 0.60 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | ||||
| Matt Scanlan | |||||||||
| Trustee | 0.60 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | ||||
| Walt Higgins | |||||||||
| Trustee (until Oct. 2020) | 0.60 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | ||||
| Edwin Zschau | |||||||||
| President (until Aug. 2020) | 30.00 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | ||||
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Reportable Comp From Org | $705,832 | TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt |
| Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org | $0 | TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt |
| Total Other Compensation | $40,225 | TotalOtherCompensationAmt |
| Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 4 | IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
| Former Ofcr Employees Listed | Yes (1) | FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd |
| Total Comp Greater Than150 K | Yes (1) | TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd |
| Compensation From Other Srcs | 0 | CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd |
Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (4 entries)
| Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1Txt | CityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNm | State AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCd | ZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCd | ServicesServicesDesc | CompensationCompensationAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sodexo Inc | |||||
| Dept 880328 | Los Angeles | CA | 900880328 | Food and Facility Services | $987,927 |
| Ellucian Company LP | |||||
| 4375 Fair Lakes Court | Fairfax | VA | 22033 | Software Support | $196,896 |
| OculusIT | |||||
| PO Box 776800 | Chicago | IL | 606776800 | IT Support | $166,323 |
| EideBailly LLP | |||||
| 5441 Kietzke Lane Ste 150 | Reno | NV | 89511 | Auditing and Consulting Services | $109,221 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 4 | CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
| Fundraising | $541,502 | FundraisingAmt |
| Government Grants | $2,787,530 | GovernmentGrantsAmt |
| All Other Contributions | $10,061,958 | AllOtherContributionsAmt |
| Noncash Contributions | $10,403 | NoncashContributionsAmt |
| Total Contributions | $13,390,990 | TotalContributionsAmt |
Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Desc | Tuition Fees and Board | Desc |
| Business | 611310 | BusinessCd |
| Total Revenue Column | $12,206,025 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $12,206,025 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Program Service Revenue | $12,206,025 | TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $48,708 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $48,708 | ExclusionAmt |
Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Real | $526,855 | RealAmt |
Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Real | $404,757 | RealAmt |
Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Real | $122,098 | RealAmt |
Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $122,098 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $122,098 | ExclusionAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Fundraising Gross Income | $2,600 | FundraisingGrossIncomeAmt |
| Contri Rpt Fundraising Event | $541,502 | ContriRptFundraisingEventAmt |
| Fundraising Direct Expenses | $9,839 | FundraisingDirectExpensesAmt |
Net Incm From Fundraising Evt NetIncmFromFundraisingEvtGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | -$7,239 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | -$7,239 | ExclusionAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Gross Sales Of Inventory | $27,487 | GrossSalesOfInventoryAmt |
| Cost Of Goods Sold | $527,357 | CostOfGoodsSoldAmt |
Net Income Or Loss NetIncomeOrLossGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | -$499,870 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | -$499,870 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Desc | Miscellaneous Revenue | Desc |
| Business | 900099 | BusinessCd |
| Total Revenue Column | $56,231 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $56,231 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Revenue Total | $56,231 | OtherRevenueTotalAmt |
Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $25,316,943 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $11,762,386 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
| Unrelated Business Revenue | $0 | UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt |
| Exclusion | $163,567 | ExclusionAmt |
Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $5,019,234 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $5,019,234 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $469,211 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $469,211 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $5,678,631 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $4,772,267 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $793,940 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $112,424 | FundraisingAmt |
Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $494,442 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $371,143 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $115,854 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $7,445 | FundraisingAmt |
Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $471,867 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $369,102 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $94,240 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $8,525 | FundraisingAmt |
Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $555,701 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $550,701 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $5,000 | FundraisingAmt |
Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $70,521 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $70,521 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $21,337 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $21,337 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,352,036 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $611,309 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $721,968 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $18,759 | FundraisingAmt |
Advertising AdvertisingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $131,626 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $1,603 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $129,348 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $675 | FundraisingAmt |
Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $2,733,843 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $279,776 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $2,447,781 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $6,286 | FundraisingAmt |
Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $447,832 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $445,579 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $2,253 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Occupancy OccupancyGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $389,015 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $28,708 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $360,307 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Travel TravelGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $116,874 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $94,185 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $22,689 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $5,983 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $4,631 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $1,352 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Interest InterestGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $185,536 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $5,269 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $180,267 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,138,428 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $1,138,428 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Insurance InsuranceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $392,305 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $83,174 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $309,131 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (3 entries)
| DescDesc | TotalTotalAmt | Program ServicesProgramServicesAmt | Management And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmt | FundraisingFundraisingAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dues, Licenses, & Subsc | $264,282 | $228,942 | $32,878 | $2,462 |
| Bad Debts | $250,298 | $250,298 | ||
| Recruiting Expense | $113,947 | $79,256 | $34,691 |
All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $18,820 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $225 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $11,818 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $6,777 | FundraisingAmt |
Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $20,321,769 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $12,644,701 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $7,508,715 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $168,353 | FundraisingAmt |
Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $240,551 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $1,149,516 | EOYAmt |
Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $1,012,733 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $7,303,321 | EOYAmt |
Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $232,870 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $198,815 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $875,676 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $978,677 | EOYAmt |
Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $55,622 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $72,007 | EOYAmt |
Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $590,966 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $959,181 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss | $44,724,558 | LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt |
| Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec | $18,410,168 | LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt |
Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $27,733,143 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $26,314,390 | EOYAmt |
Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $2,262,490 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $2,368,667 | EOYAmt |
Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $4,124,713 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $4,340,752 | EOYAmt |
Intangible Assets IntangibleAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $1,895,340 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $1,910,477 | EOYAmt |
Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $4,228 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $302,366 | EOYAmt |
Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $39,028,332 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $45,898,169 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $6,279,197 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $6,634,507 | EOYAmt |
Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $798,740 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $1,472,938 | EOYAmt |
Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $199,130 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $89,048 | EOYAmt |
Unsecured Notes Loans Payable UnsecuredNotesLoansPayableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $1,522,134 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $1,525,977 | EOYAmt |
Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $8,799,201 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $9,722,470 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Organization Follows FASB117 | Yes (X) | OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind |
No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $21,307,876 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $26,656,604 | EOYAmt |
Donor Restriction Net Assets DonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $8,921,255 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $9,519,095 | EOYAmt |
Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $30,229,131 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $36,175,699 | EOYAmt |
Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $39,028,332 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $45,898,169 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Reconcilation Revenue Expnss | $4,995,174 | ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt |
| Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst | $1,177,532 | NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt |
| Prior Period Adjustments | -$226,138 | PriorPeriodAdjustmentsAmt |
| Other Changes In Net Assets | $0 | OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt |
| Method Of Accounting Accrual | Yes (X) | MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd |
| Accountant Compile Or Review | 0 | AccountantCompileOrReviewInd |
| FS Audited | Yes (1) | FSAuditedInd |
FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Separate Basis Fincl Stmt | Yes (X) | SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Audit Committee | Yes (1) | AuditCommitteeInd |
| Federal Grant Audit Required | Yes (1) | FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd |
| Federal Grant Audit Performed | Yes (1) | FederalGrantAuditPerformedInd |
Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| School | Yes (X) | SchoolInd |
Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB
Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Contributor | RESTRICTED | ContributorNum |
Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | RESTRICTED | BusinessNameLine1 |
Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | RESTRICTED | AddressLine1 |
| Address Line2 | RESTRICTED | AddressLine2 |
| City | RESTRICTED | City |
| State | RESTRICTED | State |
| ZIP Code | RESTRICTED | ZIPCode |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Contributions | RESTRICTED | TotalContributionsAmt |
Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD
Art Public Exhibition Amounts ArtPublicExhibitionAmountsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Revenues Included | $0 | RevenuesIncludedAmt |
| Assets Included | $298,138 | AssetsIncludedAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Collection Used Pub Exhibition | Yes (X) | CollectionUsedPubExhibitionInd |
| Solicited Assets Sale | 0 | SolicitedAssetsSaleInd |
CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Beginning Year Balance | $6,087,055 | BeginningYearBalanceAmt |
| Contributions | $20,000 | ContributionsAmt |
| Investment Earnings Or Losses | $1,196,975 | InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt |
| Other Expenditures | $67,985 | OtherExpendituresAmt |
| Administrative Expenses | $20,710 | AdministrativeExpensesAmt |
| End Year Balance | $7,215,335 | EndYearBalanceAmt |
CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Beginning Year Balance | $4,625,250 | BeginningYearBalanceAmt |
| Contributions | $1,289,924 | ContributionsAmt |
| Investment Earnings Or Losses | $343,383 | InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt |
| Other Expenditures | $157,479 | OtherExpendituresAmt |
| Administrative Expenses | $14,023 | AdministrativeExpensesAmt |
| End Year Balance | $6,087,055 | EndYearBalanceAmt |
CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Beginning Year Balance | $4,382,400 | BeginningYearBalanceAmt |
| Contributions | $100,000 | ContributionsAmt |
| Investment Earnings Or Losses | $228,691 | InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt |
| Other Expenditures | $70,543 | OtherExpendituresAmt |
| Administrative Expenses | $15,298 | AdministrativeExpensesAmt |
| End Year Balance | $4,625,250 | EndYearBalanceAmt |
CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Beginning Year Balance | $4,216,166 | BeginningYearBalanceAmt |
| Contributions | $30,000 | ContributionsAmt |
| Investment Earnings Or Losses | $278,535 | InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt |
| Other Expenditures | $130,748 | OtherExpendituresAmt |
| Administrative Expenses | $11,553 | AdministrativeExpensesAmt |
| End Year Balance | $4,382,400 | EndYearBalanceAmt |
CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Beginning Year Balance | $4,343,564 | BeginningYearBalanceAmt |
| Investment Earnings Or Losses | $247,454 | InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt |
| Grants Or Scholarships | $44,581 | GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt |
| Other Expenditures | $318,698 | OtherExpendituresAmt |
| Administrative Expenses | $11,573 | AdministrativeExpensesAmt |
| End Year Balance | $4,216,166 | EndYearBalanceAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Board Designated Balance EOY | 0.00000 | BoardDesignatedBalanceEOYPct |
| Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY | 0.68030 | PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct |
| Term Endowment Balance EOY | 0.31970 | TermEndowmentBalanceEOYPct |
| Endowments Held Unrelated Org | Yes (1) | EndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd |
| Endowments Held Related Org | 0 | EndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd |
Land LandGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $2,008,596 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Book Value | $2,008,596 | BookValueAmt |
Buildings BuildingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $36,836,437 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $13,017,411 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $23,819,026 | BookValueAmt |
Equipment EquipmentGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $5,805,371 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $5,392,757 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $412,614 | BookValueAmt |
Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $74,154 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Book Value | $74,154 | BookValueAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Book Value Land Buildings | $26,314,390 | TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt |
Other Securities OtherSecuritiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Desc | Beneficial Interest in Assets Held by Community Fdtn | Desc |
| Book Value | $4,340,752 | BookValueAmt |
| Method Valuation | F | MethodValuationCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Book Value Securities | $4,340,752 | TotalBookValueSecuritiesAmt |
| Footnote Text | Yes (X) | FootnoteTextInd |
| Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $22,415,857 | TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Net Unrealized Gains Invst | $1,177,532 | NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt |
| Donated Services And Use Fclts | $20,000 | DonatedServicesAndUseFcltsAmt |
| Other Revenue | $941,953 | OtherRevenueAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported | $2,139,485 | RevenueNotReportedAmt |
| Revenue Subtotal | $20,276,372 | RevenueSubtotalAmt |
| Investment Expenses Not Incld | $21,337 | InvestmentExpensesNotIncldAmt |
| Other Revenues Not Included | $5,019,234 | OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt | $5,040,571 | RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Revenue Per Form990 | $25,316,943 | TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt |
| Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $16,243,151 | TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Donated Services Use Fclts | $20,000 | DonatedServicesUseFcltsAmt |
| Other Expenses Included | $941,953 | OtherExpensesIncludedAmt |
| Expenses Not Reported | $961,953 | ExpensesNotReportedAmt |
| Expenses Subtotal | $15,281,198 | ExpensesSubtotalAmt |
| Investment Expenses Not Incld2 | $21,337 | InvestmentExpensesNotIncld2Amt |
| Other Expenses Not Included | $5,019,234 | OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt |
| Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt | $5,040,571 | ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Expenses Per Form990 | $20,321,769 | TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (7 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| Part III, Line 4: | Items are on display to promote the College. |
| Part V, Line 4: | The intended use of the organization's endowment funds are in support of the mission of the college in accordance with the by-laws of the institituion and donor intent. |
| Part X, Line 2: | The University believes that it has appropriate support for any tax positions taken affecting its annual filing requirements, and as such, does not have any uncertain tax positions that are material to the financial statements. The University would recognize future accrued interest and penalties related to unrecognized tax benefits and liabilities in income tax expense if such interest and penalties are incurred. |
| Part XI, Line 2d - Other Adjustments: | Direct Expenses for Fundraising Activities in Revenue for Tax Purposes 9,839. Rental Expenses in Revenue for Tax Purposes 404,757. COGS in Revenue for Tax Purposes 527,357. |
| Part XI, Line 4b - Other Adjustments: | Scholarship allowances 5,019,234. |
| Part XII, Line 2d - Other Adjustments: | Direct Expenses for Fundraising Activities in Revenue for Tax Purposes 9,839. Rental Expenses in Revenue for Tax Purposes 404,757. COGS in Revenue for Tax Purposes 527,357. |
| Part XII, Line 4b - Other Adjustments: | Scholarship allowances 5,019,234. |
Schedule E IRS990ScheduleE
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Nondiscriminatory Policy Stmt | Yes (1) | NondiscriminatoryPolicyStmtInd |
| Policy Stmt In Brochures Etc | Yes (1) | PolicyStmtInBrochuresEtcInd |
| Plcy Pblczd Via Broadcast Media | Yes (1) | PlcyPblczdViaBroadcastMediaInd |
| Maintain Racial Comp Recs | Yes (1) | MaintainRacialCompRecsInd |
| Maintain Scholarships Recs | Yes (1) | MaintainScholarshipsRecsInd |
| Maintain Cpy Of Brochures Etc | Yes (1) | MaintainCpyOfBrochuresEtcInd |
| Maintain Cpy Of All Sol | Yes (1) | MaintainCpyOfAllSolInd |
| Discriminate Race Stdnts Rghts | 0 | DiscriminateRaceStdntsRghtsInd |
| Discriminate Race Admiss Plcy | 0 | DiscriminateRaceAdmissPlcyInd |
| Discriminate Race Emplm Fculty | 0 | DiscriminateRaceEmplmFcultyInd |
| Discriminate Race Schs | 0 | DiscriminateRaceSchsInd |
| Discriminate Race Educ Plcy | 0 | DiscriminateRaceEducPlcyInd |
| Discriminate Race Use Of Fclts | 0 | DiscriminateRaceUseOfFcltsInd |
| Discriminate Race Athlt Prog | 0 | DiscriminateRaceAthltProgInd |
| Discriminate Race Other Acty | 0 | DiscriminateRaceOtherActyInd |
| Government Financial Aid Rcvd | Yes (1) | GovernmentFinancialAidRcvdInd |
| Government Financial Aid Rvkd | 0 | GovernmentFinancialAidRvkdInd |
| Compliance With Rev Proc7550 | Yes (1) | ComplianceWithRevProc7550Ind |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| Schedule E, Part I, Line 3 | Statement of nondiscrimination and community ethics is found in College catalogs and the Student Handbook at www.sierranevada.edu. |
| Schedule E, Part I, Line 6 | Sierra Nevada College receives Title IV aid funds for Federal Work Study program, Federal Supplemental Education Opportunity Grant, and the Nevada Incentive Grant. |
Schedule G IRS990ScheduleG
Fundraising Event Information FundraisingEventInformationGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Event1 | Virtual Gala | Event1Nm |
| Gross Receipts Event1 | $544,102 | GrossReceiptsEvent1Amt |
| Charitable Contri Event1 | $541,502 | CharitableContriEvent1Amt |
| Gross Revenue Event1 | $2,600 | GrossRevenueEvent1Amt |
| Cash Prizes Event1 | $0 | CashPrizesEvent1Amt |
| Non Cash Prizes Event1 | $0 | NonCashPrizesEvent1Amt |
| Rent Facility Costs Event1 | $0 | RentFacilityCostsEvent1Amt |
| Food And Beverage Event1 | $1,988 | FoodAndBeverageEvent1Amt |
| Entertainment Event1 | $0 | EntertainmentEvent1Amt |
| Other Direct Expenses Event1 | $7,851 | OtherDirectExpensesEvent1Amt |
| Gross Receipts Total | $544,102 | GrossReceiptsTotalAmt |
| Charitable Contributions Tot | $541,502 | CharitableContributionsTotAmt |
| Gross Revenue Total Events | $2,600 | GrossRevenueTotalEventsAmt |
| Food And Beverage Total Events | $1,988 | FoodAndBeverageTotalEventsAmt |
| Oth Direct Expnss Total Events | $7,851 | OthDirectExpnssTotalEventsAmt |
| Direct Expense Summary Events | $9,839 | DirectExpenseSummaryEventsAmt |
| Net Income Summary | -$7,239 | NetIncomeSummaryAmt |
Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Grant Records Maintained | Yes (1) | GrantRecordsMaintainedInd |
Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Grant Type | Scholarships for students | GrantTypeTxt |
| Recipient | 695 | RecipientCnt |
| Cash Grant | $5,019,234 | CashGrantAmt |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form And Line Reference | Part I, Line 2: | FormAndLineReferenceDesc |
| Explanation | Grants are in the form of scholarships awarded to students and are given as a reduction of outstanding tuition. | ExplanationTxt |
Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Travel For Companions | Yes (X) | TravelForCompanionsInd |
| Housing Allowance Or Residence | Yes (X) | HousingAllowanceOrResidenceInd |
| Personal Services | Yes (X) | PersonalServicesInd |
| Written Policy Ref T And E Expnss | Yes (1) | WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd |
| Substantiation Required | Yes (1) | SubstantiationRequiredInd |
| Compensation Survey | Yes (X) | CompensationSurveyInd |
| Board Or Committee Approval | Yes (X) | BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd |
| Severance Payment | Yes (1) | SeverancePaymentInd |
| Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan | 0 | SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd |
| Equity Based Comp Arrngm | 0 | EquityBasedCompArrngmInd |
| Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org | 0 | CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd |
| Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs | 0 | CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd |
| Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org | 0 | CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd |
| Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs | 0 | CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd |
| Any Non Fixed Payments | 0 | AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd |
| Initial Contract Exception | 0 | InitialContractExceptionInd |
Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (3 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Base Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Compensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmt | Bonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmount | Bonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmt | Other Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Other Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmt | Deferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmt | Deferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmt | Nontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmt | Nontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmt | Total Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Total Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmt | Comp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmt | Comp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Shannon Beets | ||||||||||||||
| Provost (until Oct. 2020) | $194,477 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $18,746 | $0 | $213,223 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Susan JohnsonTreasurer | ||||||||||||||
| VP of Finance & Admin | $161,898 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $9,014 | $0 | $170,912 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Alan Walker | ||||||||||||||
| Former President | $120,423 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $120,423 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| Part I, Line 1a | The College provides housing for the President of the Institution. The house was a gift to the College to be used for entertainment by the President. There are no costs associated with this house. The President's spouse accompanies the President for College meetings and athletic events. Per initial employment agreement, the President is provided a residence near the College campus. Personal services include grounds keeping and maintenance and repairs of the residence, but does not include maid service, chauffeur, or chef. As residence adjacent to campus is required in employment contract, housing is not included in taxable compensation for the current President. |
| Part I, Line 4a | Alan Walker recieved $120,423 as a severance payment for his former role of President. |
Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (6 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 1 | The Executive Committee shall consist of the Chair, Vice Chair(s), the standing Committee Chairs, such other Trustees appointed by the Chair, and the President as a non-voting ex officio member. The Executive Committee is empowered to act, when required, for the Board between meetings. Minutes of the meetings of the Executive Committee shall be filed with the College's corporate records and shall be available for inspection by any Trustee, during regular business hours. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 1 | The Chairman Emeritus does not have voting rights. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 11b | SNC's Form 990 is prepared by an external accounting firm and reviewed by the Administration of the College. Once finalized, the Form 990 is e-filed with the IRS. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 12c | Officers, Directors and Trustees are required to sign a conflict of interest policy agreement annually; all required to disclose interest that would give rise to conflicts. The determination of a conflict is at the Administration and Board level. Any conflict is referred to the Board of Trustees for resolution. No Trustee shall vote on any matter under consideration at a Board or committee meeting in which such Trustee has a conflict of interest. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 15 | All Officer compensation was determined and approved by the Board of Trustees based upon experience and market. Comparability data is utilized. Compensation is reviewed annually each September. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Section C, line 19 | The College makes its Governing Documents and Financial Statements available to the public upon request. |