STRATEGY STUDIO / NONPROFIT PEOPLE SEARCH

Iowa Wesleyan University: Form 990, tax year 2020

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
Iowa Wesleyan University (EIN 42-0680332)
Tax period
2020-06-01 to 2021-05-31
Filed
2022-04-13
IRS object ID
202201039349300240
Schema version
2020v4.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2022-04-13T17:20:00-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2021-05-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN421029744PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1TDT CPAS AND ADVISORS PCBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11700 42ND ST NEAddressLine1Txt
CityCEDAR RAPIDSCityNm
State AbbreviationIAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP52402ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2020-06-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN420680332EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1IOWA WESLEYAN UNIVERSITYBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlIOWABusinessNameControlTxt
Phone3193856206PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1601 N MAIN STREETAddressLine1Txt
CityMT PLEASANTCityNm
State AbbreviationIAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP52641ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonCHRISTINE PLUNKETTPersonNm
Person TitlePRESIDENTPersonTitleTxt
Phone3193856210PhoneNum
Signature2022-04-04SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (true)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Signing Officer SigningOfficerGrp

Person Full Name PersonFullName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Person FirstCHRISTINEPersonFirstNm
Person LastPLUNKETTPersonLastNm
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SSN999009999SSN

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonROSS VANLAAR CPAPreparerPersonNm
PTINP01532250PTIN
Phone3193932374PhoneNum
Preparation2022-04-13PreparationDt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2020TaxYr
Build TS2022-09-23 18:48:47ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerCHRISTINE PLUNKETTPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1601 N MAIN STREETAddressLine1Txt
CityMT PLEASANTCityNm
State AbbreviationIAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP52641ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$28,798,206GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For AffiliatesfalseGroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website AddressWWW.IW.EDUWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1842FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateIALegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionIOWA WESLEYAN UNIVERSITY IS A TRANSFORMATIONAL LEARNING COMMUNITY WHOSE PASSION IS TO EDUCATE, EMPOWER AND INSPIRE STUDENTS TO LEAD MEANINGFUL LIVES AND CAREERS.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body16VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent15VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee381TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers50TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
PY Contributions Grants$2,832,465PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$4,944,683CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$17,313,494PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$21,026,750CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$134,794PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$93,468CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$50,982PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$19,750CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$20,331,735PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$26,084,651CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$8,102,338PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$9,991,134CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$7,790,600PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$8,072,246CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$376,756CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$8,560,695PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$9,297,267CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$24,453,633PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$27,360,647CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses-$4,121,898PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses-$1,275,996CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$35,770,496TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$34,825,883TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$30,495,392TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$29,128,431TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$5,275,104NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$5,697,452NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionIOWA WESLEYAN UNIVERSITY IS A TRANSFORMATIONAL LEARNING COMMUNITY WHOSE PASSION IS TO EDUCATE, EMPOWER AND INSPIRE STUDENTS TO LEAD MEANINGFUL LIVES AND CAREERS.MissionDesc
Significant New Program SrvcfalseSignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant ChangefalseSignificantChangeInd
Expense$5,863,662ExpenseAmt
Revenue$16,963,106RevenueAmt
DescTHE UNIVERSITY IS ACCREDITED AS A BACCALAUREATE INSTITUTION BY THE HIGHER LEARNING COMMISSION. STUDENT PAYMENTS OF TUITION AND SERVICE FEES ARE USED TO PROVIDE THE HIGHEST POSSIBLE QUALITY EDUCATION AT THE LOWEST POSSIBLE COST. THE UNIVERSITY ENROLLED 729 FULL AND PART TIME STUDENTS IN THE FALL SEMESTER OF 2020 AND 628 STUDENTS IN THE SPRING SEMESTER OF 2021.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$3,332,129ExpenseAmt
Revenue$4,063,644RevenueAmt
DescAUXILIARY ENTERPRISES FOR THE BENEFIT OF THE STUDENTS (RESIDENCE HALLS, DINING, ETC.) THE UNIVERSITY HAD 454 STUDENTS LIVING ON CAMPUS DURING THE FALL 2020 SEMESTER. THE UNIVERSITY HAD 386 STUDENTS LIVING ON CAMPUS DURING THE SPRING 2021 SEMESTER. ALL STUDENTS LIVING ON CAMPUS ALSO PURCHASED MEAL PLANS.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty3 ProgSrvcAccomActy3Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$9,991,134ExpenseAmt
Grant$9,991,134GrantAmt
DescSCHOLARSHIP PROGRAMS FOR SCHOLARSHIPS AND GRANTS TO 496 STUDENTS.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty Other ProgSrvcAccomActyOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$4,785,157ExpenseAmt
DescSTUDENTS SERVICES, INCLUDING STUDENT DEVELOPMENT, ACADEMIC AND CAREER COUNSELING, ATHLETICS, FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE AND OTHER SERVICES, WAS PROVIDED TO 729 FULL AND PART TIME STUDENTS IN THE FALL SEMESTER OF 2020 AND 628 STUDENTS IN THE SPRING SEMESTER OF 2021.Desc
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Other Prog Srvc Expense$4,785,157TotalOtherProgSrvcExpenseAmt
Total Program Service Expenses$23,972,082TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (true)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (true)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign ActyfalsePoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying ActivitiesfalseLobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy TaxfalseSubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised FundfalseDonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation EasementsfalseConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of ArtYes (true)CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingfalseCreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi EndowmentsYes (true)DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (true)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecfalseReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstfalseReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsYes (true)ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (true)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (true)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (true)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtfalseConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingYes (true)SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign OfficefalseForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesfalseForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To OrgfalseMoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To IndividualsfalseMoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional FundraisingfalseProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising ActivitiesfalseFundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming ActivitiesfalseGamingActivitiesInd
Operate HospitalfalseOperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsfalseGrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsYes (true)GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (true)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsfalseTaxExemptBondsInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit TransfalseEngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit TransfalsePYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan OutstandingfalseLoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related PersonfalseGrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org MemfalseBusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemfalseBusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl EntYes (true)BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContrifalseDeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art ContributionfalseDeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate OperationsfalseTerminateOperationsInd
Partial LiquidationfalsePartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityYes (true)DisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityfalseRelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntfalseRelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd OrgfalseTrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted PrtshpfalseActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (true)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document23IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (true)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee381EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (true)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitfalseUnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial AccountfalseForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter TransfalseProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party NotificationfalseTaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible ContributionsfalseNondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo ContributionsfalseQuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed OffalseForm8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalseRcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalsePayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning ServicesfalseIndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht PymtfalseSubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst IncfalseSubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members16GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member15IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business RlnfalseFamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt DutiesYes (true)DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org DocumentsfalseChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or MisusefalseMaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersfalseMembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersfalseElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovafalseDecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (true)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (true)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing AddressfalseOfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersfalseLocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyfalseForm990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (true)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (true)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (true)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (true)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (true)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (true)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (true)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint VenturefalseInvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonDEB LILLIEPersonNm
Phone3193856206PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1601 N MAIN STREETAddressLine1Txt
CityMT PLEASANTCityNm
State AbbreviationIAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP52641ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (27 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtKey EmployeeKeyEmployeeIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
ANNETTE SCIESZINSKI
CHAIR1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
CHRISTIE VILSACK
VICE CHAIR1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
MARY ELGAR
SECRETARY1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
JASON BENDER
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
ELIZABETH GARRELS
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
PAUL DENNISON
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
L NATHAN GAUSE
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MELINDA HUISINGA
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
DENISE JOHNSON
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
BYRON JOHNSON
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
WALLACE LOH
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
ROBERT MEYER
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
ROBERT MILLER
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
GARY SHAW
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
CHRISTOPHER VAN GELS
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
DON WILEY
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
CHARLES FLUHARTY RESIGNED 72020
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
TONY KASKA RESIGNED 72020
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MARIA LOFGREN RESIGNED 72020
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
RANDALL PERRY RESIGNED 72020
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
THEODORE ROTH RESIGNED 72020
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JD SCHIMMELPFENNIG RESIGNED 72020
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
CHRISTINE PLUNKETT
PRESIDENT50.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
DEWAYNE FRAZIER
UNIVERSITY P50.00$154,433$0$26,217Yes (X)
MEG RICHTMAN
VP ENROLLMEN50.00$129,715$0$23,611Yes (X)
REBECCA BECKNER
VP STUDENT D50.00$102,061$0$16,994Yes (X)
STEVEN TITUS
FORMER PRESI50.00Yes (X)$155,834$0$0
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$542,043TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$66,822TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K4IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees ListedfalseFormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (true)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other SrcsfalseCompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
SODEXO AMERICA
9801 WASHINGTONIAN BLVDGAITHERSBURGMD20878FOOD SERVICE$947,708
NATIONAL MANAGEMENT RESOURCES
PO BOX 1224LAGRANGRGA30241MAINTENANCE$762,886
EAB
1920 EAST PARHAM RDRICHMONDVA23228CONSULTING$542,831
REGISTRY FOR COLLEGE AND UNIVERSITY
3 CENTENNIAL DR SUITE 320PEABODYMA01960CONSULTING$293,004
KEYS PROPERTY MANAGEMENT
126 W STONEBROOK DRMOUNT PLEASANTIA52641LANDLORD$187,200
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K6CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Government Grants$3,849,517GovernmentGrantsAmt
All Other Contributions$1,095,166AllOtherContributionsAmt
Noncash Contributions$19,592NoncashContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$4,944,683TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (5 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmtExclusionExclusionAmt
TUITION AND FEES611600$16,963,106$16,963,106
ROOM & BOARD721310$3,573,032$3,573,032
MISC FEES900099$287,949$287,949
BOOKSTORE900099$167,397$167,397
FINANCE CHARGE451211$35,266$35,266
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$21,026,750TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$52,014TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$52,014ExclusionAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$19,750RealAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$19,750RealAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$19,750TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$19,750ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$2,755,009SecuritiesAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$2,713,555SecuritiesAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$41,454SecuritiesAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$41,454TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$41,454ExclusionAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$26,084,651TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$16,963,106RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Exclusion$4,176,862ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$5,000TotalAmt
Program Services$5,000ProgramServicesAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$9,986,134TotalAmt
Program Services$9,986,134ProgramServicesAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$718,150TotalAmt
Program Services$339,953ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$206,138ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$172,059FundraisingAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$5,558,415TotalAmt
Program Services$4,855,339ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$592,450ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$110,626FundraisingAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,341,175TotalAmt
Program Services$1,165,544ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$158,349ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$17,282FundraisingAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$454,506TotalAmt
Program Services$363,748ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$72,367ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$18,391FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$83,349TotalAmt
Management And General$83,349ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$74,850TotalAmt
Management And General$74,850ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$93,207TotalAmt
Program Services$8,750ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$84,457ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$83,579TotalAmt
Program Services$18,160ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$54,852ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$10,567FundraisingAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$130,846TotalAmt
Program Services$60,248ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$54,878ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$15,720FundraisingAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$989,659TotalAmt
Program Services$911,631ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$78,028ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$130,193TotalAmt
Program Services$128,881ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$682ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$630FundraisingAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$43,206TotalAmt
Program Services$20,743ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$22,463ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$748,082TotalAmt
Program Services$688,235ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$52,366ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$7,481FundraisingAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,114,561TotalAmt
Program Services$1,025,396ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$78,019ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$11,146FundraisingAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$235,320TotalAmt
Program Services$53,185ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$182,135ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmtFundraisingFundraisingAmt
FOOD SERVICE CONTRACT$2,267,244$2,267,244
CONTRACT SERVICES$1,397,982$1,015,155$382,521$306
SUPPLIES$692,858$556,744$130,371$5,743
RENTALS$334,496$273,180$61,316

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$877,835TotalAmt
Program Services$228,812ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$642,218ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$6,805FundraisingAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$27,360,647TotalAmt
Program Services$23,972,082ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$3,011,809ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$376,756FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,684BOYAmt
EOY$1,681EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,428,440BOYAmt
EOY$898,295EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,056,434BOYAmt
EOY$291,797EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$137,982BOYAmt
EOY$326,051EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$71,620BOYAmt
EOY$61,119EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$168,541BOYAmt
EOY$154,879EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$44,961,574LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$25,350,128LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$20,286,905BOYAmt
EOY$19,611,446EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,092,679BOYAmt
EOY$1,976,245EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$9,526,211BOYAmt
EOY$11,504,370EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$35,770,496BOYAmt
EOY$34,825,883EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,676,857BOYAmt
EOY$2,760,199EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$105,179BOYAmt
EOY$101,790EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$26,075,187BOYAmt
EOY$26,012,696EOYAmt

Unsecured Notes Loans Payable UnsecuredNotesLoansPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,391,035BOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$247,134BOYAmt
EOY$253,746EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$30,495,392BOYAmt
EOY$29,128,431EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows FASB117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind

No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY-$13,259,094BOYAmt
EOY-$14,283,523EOYAmt

Donor Restriction Net Assets DonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$18,534,198BOYAmt
EOY$19,980,975EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,275,104BOYAmt
EOY$5,697,452EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$35,770,496BOYAmt
EOY$34,825,883EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss-$1,275,996ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$355,813NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$1,342,531OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or ReviewfalseAccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (true)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (true)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredYes (true)FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd
Federal Grant Audit PerformedYes (true)FederalGrantAuditPerformedInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SchoolYes (X)SchoolInd

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Collection Used Pub ExhibitionYes (X)CollectionUsedPubExhibitionInd
Coll Used Scholarly RsrchYes (X)CollUsedScholarlyRsrchInd
Collection Used PreservationYes (X)CollectionUsedPreservationInd
Solicited Assets SalefalseSolicitedAssetsSaleInd

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$14,897,098BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$17,334ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$1,275,309InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$55,002OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$16,134,739EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$15,082,077BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$99,861ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses-$104,840InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$180,000OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$14,897,098EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$15,268,043BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$47,335ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses-$23,301InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$210,000OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$15,082,077EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$15,180,125BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$182,475ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$613,205InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$707,762OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$15,268,043EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$13,065,291BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$1,682,979ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$898,855InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$467,000OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$15,180,125EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY1.00000PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Endowments Held Unrelated OrgYes (true)EndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related OrgfalseEndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$373,116InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$363,027OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$736,143BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$1,076,693InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$32,300,292OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$15,522,572DepreciationAmt
Book Value$17,854,413BookValueAmt

Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$845,419OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$739,961DepreciationAmt
Book Value$105,458BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$9,204,230OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$8,290,014DepreciationAmt
Book Value$914,216BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$798,797OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$797,581DepreciationAmt
Book Value$1,216BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$19,611,446TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Assets Org OtherAssetsOrgGrp (8 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmt
BENEFICIAL INTEREST IN PERPETUAL TRU$7,434,605
SAVINGS ACCTS & CDS$1,953,800
COLLECTIONS$704,794
PROPERTY HELD FOR SALE$360,000
MINERAL RIGHTS$310,000
DEBT SERVICE RESERVE FUND$295,951
CASH SURRENDER VALUE OF LIFE INS$258,560
REFUNDABLE GOVT LOAN PROGRAM$186,660
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Other Assets$11,504,370TotalBookValueOtherAssetsAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (2 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
ANNUITY OBLIGATIONS$172,159
STUDENT DEPOSITS$81,587
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$253,746TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$17,858,893TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$355,813NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Other Revenue$1,342,531OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported$1,698,344RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$16,160,549RevenueSubtotalAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$9,924,102OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$9,924,102RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$26,084,651TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$17,436,545TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Subtotal$17,436,545ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Other Expenses Not Included$9,924,102OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$9,924,102ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$27,360,647TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (6 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
SCHEDULE D, PAGE 2, PART III, LINE 4THE UNIVERSITY'S FINE ART COLLECTION INCLUDING DRAWINGS, PAINTINGS, FURNITURE, AND SCULPTURES ARE MAINTAINED FOR PURPOSES OF SCHOLARLY RESEARCH, PUBLIC EXHIBITS, AND PRESERVATION FOR FUTURE GENERATIONS.
SCHEDULE D, PAGE 2, PART V, LINE 4ENDOWMENT FUNDS ARE INVESTED AND THE REVENUE OF SUCH IS USED PRIMARILY TO FUND GRANTS AND SCHOLARSHIPS TO QUALIFIED STUDENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY.
SCHEDULE D, PAGE 3, PART XTHE UNIVERSITY IS EXEMPT FROM FEDERAL INCOME TAX AS DESCRIBED IN SECTION 501(C)(3) OF THE INTERNAL REVENUE CODE. THE UNIVERSITY IS SUBJECT TO ROUTINE AUDITS BY TAXING JURISDICTIONS; HOWEVER, THERE ARE CURRENTLY NO AUDITS FOR ANY TAX PERIODS IN PROGRESS.
SCHEDULE D, PAGE 4, PART XI, LINE 2DCHANGE IN SPLIT INTEREST AGREEMENT 501,259 CHANGE IN BENEFICIAL INTEREST IN TRUST 841,272
SCHEDULE D, PAGE 4, PART XI, LINE 4BSCH & GRANTS NETTED REVENUE 9,924,102
SCHEDULE D, PAGE 4, PART XII, LINE 4BSCH & GRANTS NETTED REVENUE 9,924,102

Schedule E IRS990ScheduleE

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Nondiscriminatory Policy StmtYes (true)NondiscriminatoryPolicyStmtInd
Policy Stmt In Brochures EtcYes (true)PolicyStmtInBrochuresEtcInd
Plcy Pblczd Via Broadcast MediaYes (true)PlcyPblczdViaBroadcastMediaInd
Maintain Racial Comp RecsYes (true)MaintainRacialCompRecsInd
Maintain Scholarships RecsYes (true)MaintainScholarshipsRecsInd
Maintain Cpy Of Brochures EtcYes (true)MaintainCpyOfBrochuresEtcInd
Maintain Cpy Of All SolYes (true)MaintainCpyOfAllSolInd
Discriminate Race Stdnts RghtsfalseDiscriminateRaceStdntsRghtsInd
Discriminate Race Admiss PlcyfalseDiscriminateRaceAdmissPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Emplm FcultyfalseDiscriminateRaceEmplmFcultyInd
Discriminate Race SchsfalseDiscriminateRaceSchsInd
Discriminate Race Educ PlcyfalseDiscriminateRaceEducPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Use Of FcltsfalseDiscriminateRaceUseOfFcltsInd
Discriminate Race Athlt ProgfalseDiscriminateRaceAthltProgInd
Discriminate Race Other ActyfalseDiscriminateRaceOtherActyInd
Government Financial Aid RcvdYes (true)GovernmentFinancialAidRcvdInd
Government Financial Aid RvkdfalseGovernmentFinancialAidRvkdInd
Compliance With Rev Proc7550Yes (true)ComplianceWithRevProc7550Ind

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
SCHEDULE E, LINE 3NONDISCRIMINATION POLICY NOTED IN ALL PUBLIC ADVERTISING, UNIVERSITY CATALOGS AND FINANCIAL AID LITERATURE.
SCHEDULE E, LINE 6THE ORGANIZATION RECEIVES STUDENT FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE THROUGH THE DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION. THE FOLLOWING STUDENT FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE PROGRAMS ARE ADMINISTERED THROUGH THE UNIVERSITY: DIRECT STUDENT LOANS, PELL GRANTS, SUPPLEMENTAL EDUCATIONAL OPPORTUNITY GRANTS, WORK-STUDY, PERKINS LOANS, AND TEACH GRANTS. FOR THE YEAR ENDED MAY 31, 2021 THE ORGANIZATION HAD 5,651,666 IN FEDERAL EXPENDITURES RELATED TO THOSE PROGRAMS. FOR THE YEAR ENDED MAY 31, 2021, THE UNIVERSITY ALSO RECEIVED DIRECT AND INDIRECT AWARDS UNDER THE EDUCATION STABILIZATION FUND IN THE AMOUNT OF 1,341,548. AN ADDITIONAL INDIRECT AWARD OF 9,289 WAS RECEIVED FROM THE VOCATIONAL REHABILITATION TECHNICAL ASSISTANCE CENTER FOR QUALITY EMPLOYMENT FOR THE YEAR ENDED MAY 31, 2021.

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (true)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp (2 entries)

Grant TypeGrantTypeTxtRecipientRecipientCntCash GrantCashGrantAmt
FEDERAL SUPPLEMENTAL EDUC192$62,032
INSTITUTION SCHOLARSHIPS496$9,924,102

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSCHEDULE I, PAGE 1, PART I, LINE 2FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationTHE UNIVERSITY HAS A FINANCIAL AID DEPARTMENT WHOSE STAFF IS TRAINED AND CONTINUOUSLY EDUCATED REGARDING FEDERAL FINANCIAL AID RULES AND REGULATIONS. THE STAFF OF THE UNIVERSITY DETERMINES THE FINANCIAL NEED OF THE STUDENT AND DETERMINES THE AMOUNT OF FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE THAT CAN BE AWARDED TO THE STUDENT BASED ON FEDERAL RULES AND REGULATIONS. THE FINANCIAL AID STAFF ALSO AWARDS GRANTS AND SCHOLARSHIPS BASED ON ENDOWED GIFTS THAT COMPLY WITH THE TERMS OF THE ENDOWED GIFTS.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Housing Allowance Or ResidenceYes (X)HousingAllowanceOrResidenceInd
Written Policy Ref T And E ExpnssYes (true)WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd
Substantiation RequiredYes (true)SubstantiationRequiredInd
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Form990 Of Other OrganizationsYes (X)Form990OfOtherOrganizationsInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance PaymentfalseSeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanfalseSupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp ArrngmfalseEquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng OrgfalseCompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related OrgsfalseCompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng OrgfalseCompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd OrgsfalseCompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed PaymentsfalseAnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract ExceptionfalseInitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (3 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmt
DEWAYNE FRAZIER
UNIVERSITY PROVOST$154,433$26,217$180,650
MEG RICHTMAN
VP ENROLLMENT MARKET$129,715$23,611$153,326
STEVEN TITUS
FORMER PRESIDENT$155,834$155,834

Schedule L IRS990ScheduleL

Bus Tr Involve Interested Prsn BusTrInvolveInterestedPrsnGrp

Name Of Interested NameOfInterested

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonDON WILEYPersonNm
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Relationship DescriptionSEE PART VRelationshipDescriptionTxt
Transaction$83,266TransactionAmt
TransactionSEE PART VTransactionDesc
Sharing Of RevenuesfalseSharingOfRevenuesInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSCHEDULE L, PART VFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationFORM 990, SCHEDULE L, PART IV, LINE (1) THE UNIVERSITY RECEIVES COMPETITIVE BIDS AND ALL WORK AWARDED TO TAFT-WILEY IS BASED ON LOWEST BID. DON WILEY, BOARD TRUSTEE, IS THE BROTHER OF THE OWNER OF TAFT-WILEY, INC., A COMPANY THAT PROVIDED COOLING AND HEATING SERVICES FOR THE UNIVERSITY FOR THE CURRENT YEAR-END.ExplanationTxt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (8 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PAGE 2, PART III, LINE 4DSTUDENTS SERVICES, INCLUDING STUDENT DEVELOPMENT, ACADEMIC AND CAREER COUNSELING, ATHLETICS, FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE AND OTHER SERVICES, WAS PROVIDED TO 729 FULL AND PART TIME STUDENTS IN THE FALL SEMESTER OF 2020 AND 628 STUDENTS IN THE SPRING SEMESTER OF 2021.
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 3IOWA WESLEYAN UNIVERSITY PAID THE REGISTRY FOR COLLEGE AND UNIVERSITY FOR CONTRACTED SERVICES AS THE VICE PRESIDENT OF FINANCE FOR THE UNIVERSITY. CHRIS PLUNKETT RECEIVED COMPENSATION OF 268,587 FOR HER ROLE AS PRESIDENT FOR IOWA WESLEYAN UNIVERSITY DURING THE CALENDAR YEAR.
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 11BWHILE ANY MEMBER OF THE BOARD MAY REQUEST A COPY OF THE FORM 990 AT ANY TIME, ALL OF THE MEMBERS ARE NOT ASKED TO REVIEW A DRAFT PRIOR TO THE FILING. THE AUDIT COMMITTEE REVIEWS THE RESULTS OF THE AUDIT WITH MANAGEMENT AND THE OUTSIDE AUDITOR. AS THE FINANCIAL INFORMATION REFLECTED IN THE AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS IS UTILIZED IN THE FORM 990, THE AUDIT COMMITTEE REQUIRES THE CONTROLLER TO RECONCILE THE FINANCIAL INFORMATION REFLECTED IN THE FORM 990 TO THE AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS. ANY EXCEPTIONS NOTED BY THE CONTROLLER ARE TO BE BROUGHT TO THE ATTENTION OF THE CFO AND THE CHAIR OF THE AUDIT COMMITTEE. THE CHAIR OF THE AUDIT COMMITTEE REVIEWS THE ENTIRE DRAFT OF THE FORM 990 AND DISCUSSES ANY QUESTIONS OR CONCERNS FROM THIS REVIEW WITH THE CFO, CONTROLLER, OUTSIDE AUDITOR OR OTHER TRUSTEES AS IS APPROPRIATE PRIOR TO THE FILING OF THE FORM.
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 12CTHE UNIVERSITY TRUSTEES VOLUNTARILY REPORT CONFLICTS AND ABSTAIN FROM VOTING ON ISSUES IN WHICH CONFLICTS EXIST.
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 15ASALARIES ARE DETERMINED BY COMPARISONS WITH APPROPRIATE BENCHMARKING SURVEYS AND AVAILABLE RESOURCES. THE PRESIDENTIAL REVIEW COMMITTEE MEETS TO REVIEW THE PRESIDENT'S SALARY.
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 15BSALARIES ARE DETERMINED BY COMPARISONS WITH APPROPRIATE BENCHMARKING SURVEYS AND AVAILABLE RESOURCES.
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 19THE DOCUMENTS ARE PROVIDED TO THE BOARD AND AVAILABLE TO ANYONE ELSE UPON REQUEST.
FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9CHANGE IN SPLIT INTEREST AGREEMENT 501,259 CHANGE IN BENEFICIAL INTEREST IN TRUST 841,272 SCH & GRANTS NETTED REVENUE -9,924,102 SCH & GRANTS NETTED REVENUE 9,924,102 TOTAL 1,342,531

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Disregarded Entities IdDisregardedEntitiesGrp

Disregarded Entity Name DisregardedEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1IW REAL ESTATE FOUNDATION LLCBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1601 NORTH MAIN STREETAddressLine1Txt
CityMT PLEASANTCityNm
State AbbreviationIAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP52641ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN811054775EIN
Primary ActivitiesPART VIIPrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateIALegalDomicileStateCd
End Of Year Assets$18,322,898EndOfYearAssetsAmt

Direct Controlling Entity Name DirectControllingEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1PART VIIBusinessNameLine1Txt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSCHEDULE RFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationSCHEDULE R, PART I, LINE 1, COLUMN (B) THE PRIMARY ACTIVITY OF THE COMPANY IS TO ACQUIRE AND OWN REAL ESTATE AND OTHER PROPERTY FOR THE EXCLUSIVE USE OF THE SOLE MEMBER AND TO ACCEPT GIFTS AND CONTRIBUTIONS TO BE DISTRIBUTED TO OR FOR THE BENEFIT OF THE SOLE MEMBER. SCHEDULE R, PART I, LINE 1, COLUMN (E) THE COMPANY OWNS SUBSTANTIALLY ALL OF THE REAL ESTATE USED BY THE UNIVERSITY. SCHEDULE R, PART I, LINE 1, COLUMN (F) THE SOLE MEMBER OF THE COMPANY IS IOWA WESLEYAN UNIVERSITY.ExplanationTxt