STRATEGY STUDIO / NONPROFIT PEOPLE SEARCH

UNION UNIVERSITY: Form 990, tax year 2020

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
UNION UNIVERSITY (EIN 62-0516509)
Tax period
2020-08-01 to 2021-07-31
Filed
2022-05-03
IRS object ID
202201239349301225
Schema version
2020v4.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2022-05-03T12:27:44-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2021-07-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN842519698PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1MOJA & COMPANYBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 531AddressLine1Txt
CityREIDSVILLECityNm
State AbbreviationGAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP30453ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2020-08-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN620516509EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1UNION UNIVERSITYBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlUNIOBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone7316681818PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11050 UNION UNIVERSITY DRIVEAddressLine1Txt
CityJACKSONCityNm
State AbbreviationTNStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP38305ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonRICK TAPHORNPersonNm
Person TitleCFO/VP BUS AFFAIRSPersonTitleTxt
Phone7316681818PhoneNum
Signature2022-04-25SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (true)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Signing Officer SigningOfficerGrp

Person Full Name PersonFullName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Person FirstRICKPersonFirstNm
Person LastTAPHORNPersonLastNm
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SSNXXX-XX-XXXXSSN

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonDAVE MOJAPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00747006PTIN
Phone3212589907PhoneNum
Preparation2022-05-03PreparationDt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2020TaxYr
Build TS2022-09-23 18:48:47ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerSAMUEL DUB OLIVERPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11050 UNION UNIVERSITY DRIVEAddressLine1Txt
CityJACKSONCityNm
State AbbreviationTNStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP38305ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$102,279,913GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For AffiliatesfalseGroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website AddressWWW.UU.EDUWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1925FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateTNLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionUNION UNIVERSITY PROVIDES CHRIST-CENTERED EDUCATION THAT PROMOTES EXCELLENCE AND CHARACTER DEVELOPMENT IN SERVICE TO CHURCH AND SOCIETY.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body27VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent27VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee1236TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers50TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
PY Contributions Grants$6,947,029PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$11,532,206CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$82,963,821PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$85,668,700CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income-$796,344PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$3,517,630CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$845,999PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$1,561,377CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$89,960,505PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$102,279,913CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$26,600,776PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$27,449,284CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$43,292,659PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$43,053,409CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$34,531PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$6,128CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$546,361CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$20,910,871PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$21,934,384CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$90,838,837PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$92,443,205CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses-$878,332PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$9,836,708CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$182,799,113TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$196,250,850TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$23,564,442TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$21,740,814TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$159,234,671NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$174,510,036NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionUNION UNIVERSITY PROVIDES CHRIST-CENTERED EDUCATION THAT PROMOTES EXCELLENCE AND CHARACTER DEVELOPMENT IN SERVICE TO CHURCH AND SOCIETY.MissionDesc
Significant New Program SrvcfalseSignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant ChangefalseSignificantChangeInd
Expense$74,999,455ExpenseAmt
Grant$27,449,284GrantAmt
Revenue$73,009,819RevenueAmt
DescUNION UNIVERSITY IS A PRIVATE, CHRISTIAN, FOUR-YEAR, COEDUCATIONAL, LIBERAL ARTS-BASED UNIVERSITY OFFERING BACHELOR'S, MASTER'S AND DOCTORAL DEGREES. FOUNDED IN 1823, UNION IS THE OLDEST INSTITUTION AFFILIATED WITH THE SOUTHERN BAPTIST CONVENTION. LOCATED IN JACKSON, TENNESSEE, UNION ALSO HAS EXTENSION CAMPUSES IN GERMANTOWN, MEMPHIS, AND HENDERSONVILLE, TENNESSEE. THE STUDENT BODY IS MADE UP OF 3,100 STUDENTS FROM 46 STATES AND 18 COUNTRIES.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$8,352,594ExpenseAmt
Revenue$12,658,881RevenueAmt
DescHIGHER EDUCATION AUXILIARY ENTERPRISES SUCH AS STUDENT HOUSING AND MEAL PLAN SALES. RESIDENCE LIFE IS UNIQUELY ARRANGED IN APARTMENT-STYLE HOUSING, WITH THE VAST MAJORITY OF OUR HOUSING FEATURING A PRIVATE BEDROOM FOR EACH INDIVIDUAL STUDENT.Desc
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Expenses$83,352,049TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (true)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (true)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign ActyfalsePoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying ActivitiesfalseLobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy TaxfalseSubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised FundfalseDonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation EasementsYes (true)ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of ArtYes (true)CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingfalseCreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi EndowmentsYes (true)DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (true)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecfalseReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstfalseReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsfalseReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (true)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnotefalseIncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtfalseIndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtYes (true)ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingYes (true)SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign OfficefalseForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesfalseForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To OrgfalseMoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To IndividualsfalseMoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional FundraisingfalseProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising ActivitiesfalseFundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming ActivitiesfalseGamingActivitiesInd
Operate HospitalfalseOperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsfalseGrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsYes (true)GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (true)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsYes (true)TaxExemptBondsInd
Invest Tax Exempt BondsfalseInvestTaxExemptBondsInd
Escrow AccountfalseEscrowAccountInd
On Behalf Of IssuerfalseOnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit TransfalseEngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit TransfalsePYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan OutstandingfalseLoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related PersonYes (true)GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org MemfalseBusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemYes (true)BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl EntfalseBusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContrifalseDeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art ContributionfalseDeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate OperationsfalseTerminateOperationsInd
Partial LiquidationfalsePartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityYes (true)DisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityfalseRelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntfalseRelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd OrgfalseTrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted PrtshpfalseActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (true)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document4123IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Employee1236EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (true)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitfalseUnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial AccountfalseForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter TransfalseProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party NotificationfalseTaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible ContributionsfalseNondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo ContributionsYes (true)QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contri DisclYes (true)QuidProQuoContriDisclInd
Form8282 Property Disposed OffalseForm8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalseRcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalsePayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning ServicesfalseIndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht PymtfalseSubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst IncfalseSubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members27GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member27IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business RlnfalseFamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt DutiesfalseDelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org DocumentsfalseChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or MisusefalseMaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersfalseMembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersfalseElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovafalseDecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (true)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (true)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing AddressfalseOfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersfalseLocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (true)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (true)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (true)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (true)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (true)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (true)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (true)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherfalseCompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint VenturefalseInvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldTNStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Other WebsiteYes (X)OtherWebsiteInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonHUNTER MARTINPersonNm
Phone7316615219PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11050 UNION UNIVERSITY DRIVEAddressLine1Txt
CityJACKSONCityNm
State AbbreviationTNStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP38305ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (34 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeIndIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorInd
SAMUEL DUB OLIVER
PRESIDENT &40.00Yes (X)$368,550$0$49,585
SHEILA MITCHELL
DEAN - PHARM40.00$205,324$0$31,589Yes (X)
GEORGE DEMAAGD
ASST DEAN, P40.00$159,334$0$43,864Yes (X)
KELLY HARDEN
DEAN, NURSIN40.00$175,365$0$15,939Yes (X)
JASON GARRETT
DEAN - BUSIN40.00$153,538$0$25,094Yes (X)
MARK STEVENS
ASST. DEAN,40.00$155,386$0$23,079Yes (X)
RICK TAPHORN
CFO/VP BUS A40.00Yes (X)$123,565$0$24,303
CHUCK BAKER
TRUSTEE1.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
TRENT BULLOCK
TRUSTEE1.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
JAKE BYNUM
TRUSTEE1.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
BILL DEMENT
TRUSTEE1.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
JOSH DOUGAN
SECRETARY1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
JAMES FARMER
TRUSTEE1.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
GIL FLETCHER
TRUSTEE1.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
STEVE GAINES
TRUSTEE1.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
NOE GARCIA
TRUSTEE1.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
PEGGY GRAVES
TRUSTEE1.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
DAVID GUTHRIE
TRUSTEE1.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
OMAR L HAMADA
TRUSTEE1.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
ROBYN AGEE HARI
VICE CHAIRMA1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
NORM HILL
TRUSTEE1.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
BRANDON JAMES
TRUSTEE1.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
ROD JAMES
TRUSTEE1.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
KYLAN MANN
TRUSTEE1.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
WARREN NUNN
TRUSTEE1.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
ROD PARKER
TRUSTEE1.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
LISA ROGERS
TRUSTEE1.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
LINDA SHOAF
TRUSTEE1.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
DANNY SINQUEFIELD
TRUSTEE1.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
HARRY SMITH
TRUSTEE1.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
BRIAN TAYLOR
TRUSTEE1.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
JUSTIN WAINSCOTT
TRUSTEE1.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
CHERIE WILLIAMS
TRUSTEE1.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
CHAD WILSON
CHAIRMAN1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$1,341,062TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$213,453TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K7IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees ListedfalseFormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (true)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other SrcsfalseCompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp

Contractor Name ContractorName

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1CREATIVE DINING SERVICESBusinessNameLine1Txt

Contractor Address ContractorAddress

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11 ROYAL PARK DRAddressLine1Txt
CityZEELANDCityNm
State AbbreviationMIStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP494642243ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ServicesFOOD SERVICEServicesDesc
Compensation$2,946,496CompensationAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K1CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Related Organizations$1,941,001RelatedOrganizationsAmt
Government Grants$3,821,461GovernmentGrantsAmt
All Other Contributions$5,769,744AllOtherContributionsAmt
Noncash Contributions$9,200NoncashContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$11,532,206TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
TUITION AND FEES611600$73,009,819$73,009,819
AUXILIARY ENTERPRISES611710$12,658,881$12,658,881
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$85,668,700TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$3,517,630TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$3,517,630ExclusionAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescOTHER INCOMEDesc
Business900004BusinessCd
Total Revenue Column$1,561,377TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$1,561,377ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$1,561,377OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$102,279,913TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$85,668,700RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Exclusion$5,079,007ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$27,449,284TotalAmt
Program Services$27,449,284ProgramServicesAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$566,003TotalAmt
Program Services$352,160ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$213,843ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Comp Disqual Persons CompDisqualPersonsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$52,343TotalAmt
Program Services$4,178ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$48,165ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$32,625,306TotalAmt
Program Services$30,206,188ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$2,046,369ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$372,749FundraisingAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,100,071TotalAmt
Program Services$1,025,165ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$63,306ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$11,600FundraisingAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$6,383,670TotalAmt
Program Services$6,075,445ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$219,073ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$89,152FundraisingAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,326,016TotalAmt
Program Services$2,173,198ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$125,196ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$27,622FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$104,268TotalAmt
Management And General$104,268ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$27,300TotalAmt
Management And General$27,300ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Prof Fundraising FeesForServicesProfFundraising

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$6,128TotalAmt
Fundraising$6,128FundraisingAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$238,018TotalAmt
Management And General$238,018ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$967,568TotalAmt
Program Services$674,432ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$293,136ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,054,369TotalAmt
Program Services$305,920ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$748,449ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$5,355,007TotalAmt
Program Services$1,972,256ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$3,379,834ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$2,917FundraisingAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$852,045TotalAmt
Program Services$831,676ProgramServicesAmt
Fundraising$20,369FundraisingAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,425,725TotalAmt
Program Services$3,949,777ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$475,948ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$881,086TotalAmt
Program Services$858,571ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$20,640ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$1,875FundraisingAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$152,777TotalAmt
Program Services$135,894ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$2,934ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$13,949FundraisingAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$530,699TotalAmt
Program Services$503,951ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$26,748ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,905,310TotalAmt
Program Services$3,708,482ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$196,828ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$314,740TotalAmt
Management And General$314,740ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (2 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmt
DINING HALL FOOD EXPENSES$2,946,496$2,946,496
BAD DEBT EXPENSE$178,976$178,976

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$92,443,205TotalAmt
Program Services$83,352,049ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$8,544,795ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$546,361FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,295,684BOYAmt
EOY$10,673,653EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$838,413BOYAmt
EOY$712,753EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,868,624BOYAmt
EOY$1,561,455EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$25,579BOYAmt
EOY$24,741EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$229,564BOYAmt
EOY$227,921EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$213,228,742LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$90,335,520LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$125,929,089BOYAmt
EOY$122,893,222EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$49,612,160BOYAmt
EOY$60,157,105EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$182,799,113BOYAmt
EOY$196,250,850EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,891,933BOYAmt
EOY$4,270,859EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,790,284BOYAmt
EOY$4,996,069EOYAmt

Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$13,114,049BOYAmt
EOY$11,231,660EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$34,477BOYAmt
EOY$317,028EOYAmt

Unsecured Notes Loans Payable UnsecuredNotesLoansPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,743,299BOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$990,400BOYAmt
EOY$925,198EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$23,564,442BOYAmt
EOY$21,740,814EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows FASB117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind

No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$88,987,401BOYAmt
EOY$92,536,250EOYAmt

Donor Restriction Net Assets DonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$70,247,270BOYAmt
EOY$81,973,786EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$159,234,671BOYAmt
EOY$174,510,036EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$182,799,113BOYAmt
EOY$196,250,850EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$9,836,708ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$5,438,657NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or ReviewfalseAccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (true)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Consolidated Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)ConsolidatedBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (true)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredYes (true)FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd
Federal Grant Audit PerformedYes (true)FederalGrantAuditPerformedInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SchoolYes (X)SchoolInd

Gifts Grants Contri Rcvd170 GiftsGrantsContriRcvd170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$4,916,067CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$5,554,562CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$4,842,050CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$6,947,029CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$11,532,206CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$33,791,914TotalAmt

Total Calendar Year170 TotalCalendarYear170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$4,916,067CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$5,554,562CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$4,842,050CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$6,947,029CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$11,532,206CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$33,791,914TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Support Total170$33,791,914PublicSupportTotal170Amt

Gross Investment Income170 GrossInvestmentIncome170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$1,435,491CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$1,074,421CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$1,443,070CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$689,304CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$3,517,630CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$8,159,916TotalAmt

Unrelated Business Net Incm170 UnrelatedBusinessNetIncm170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$1,418,873CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$1,028,038CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$1,560,377CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$4,007,288TotalAmt

Other Income170 OtherIncome170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$1,926,714CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$14,410CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Total$1,941,124TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Support$47,900,242TotalSupportAmt
Gross Receipts Rltd Activities$253,692,105GrossReceiptsRltdActivitiesAmt
Public Support CY1700.70550PublicSupportCY170Pct
Public Support PY1700.73930PublicSupportPY170Pct
Thirty Thr Pct Suprt Tests CY170Yes (X)ThirtyThrPctSuprtTestsCY170Ind

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preservation Public UseYes (X)PreservationPublicUseInd
Protection Natural HabitatYes (X)ProtectionNaturalHabitatInd
Historic Land AreaYes (X)HistoricLandAreaInd
Total Easements2TotalEasementsCnt
Total Acreage659.52TotalAcreageCnt
States Easements Held1StatesEasementsHeldCnt
Written Policy MonitoringYes (true)WrittenPolicyMonitoringInd
Staff Hours Spent Enforcement110.00StaffHoursSpentEnforcementCnt
Section170h Rqr StsfdfalseSection170hRqrStsfdInd

Art Public Exhibition Amounts ArtPublicExhibitionAmountsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Assets Included$97,000AssetsIncludedAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Coll Used Scholarly RsrchYes (X)CollUsedScholarlyRsrchInd
Collection Used PreservationYes (X)CollectionUsedPreservationInd
Solicited Assets SalefalseSolicitedAssetsSaleInd

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$45,419,999BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$927,745ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$9,916,660InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$1,627,879GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
End Year Balance$54,636,525EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$44,491,422BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$829,780ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$1,549,926InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$1,451,129GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
End Year Balance$45,419,999EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$42,817,571BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$598,151ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$2,155,683InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$1,079,983GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
End Year Balance$44,491,422EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$40,525,231BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$620,880ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$2,557,978InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$834,272GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
End Year Balance$42,817,571EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$38,056,706BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$639,663ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$2,974,781InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$1,145,919GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
End Year Balance$40,525,231EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Board Designated Balance EOY0.01000BoardDesignatedBalanceEOYPct
Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY0.93000PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Term Endowment Balance EOY0.06000TermEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Endowments Held Unrelated OrgYes (true)EndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related OrgfalseEndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$19,331,581OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$19,331,581BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$156,587,768OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$56,475,151DepreciationAmt
Book Value$100,112,617BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$37,197,083OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$33,860,369DepreciationAmt
Book Value$3,336,714BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$112,310OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$112,310BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$122,893,222TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (3 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
STUDENT DEPOSITS$406,420
ANNUITIES PAYABLE$324,606
DEPOSITS HELD FOR OTHERS$194,172
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$925,198TotalLiabilityAmt
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$80,269,286TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$5,438,657NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Revenue Not Reported$5,438,657RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$74,830,629RevenueSubtotalAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$27,449,284OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$27,449,284RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$102,279,913TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$64,993,921TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Subtotal$64,993,921ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Other Expenses Not Included$27,449,284OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$27,449,284ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$92,443,205TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (4 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
SCHEDULE D, PAGE 1, PART II, LINE 5THE UNIVERSITY HAS A WRITTEN POLICY REGARDING THE PERIODIC MONITORING, INSPECTION, HANDLING OF VIOLATIONS, AND ENFORCEMENT OF THE CONSERVATION EASEMENTS IT HOLDS.
SCHEDULE D, PAGE 2, PART V, LINE 4THE ENDOWMENT FUNDS OF THE UNIVERSITY CONSIST PRIMARILY OF INDIVIDUAL DONOR-RESTRICTED FUNDS THAT ARE ESTABLISHED FOR A VARIETY OF PURPOSES, PRIMARILY TO FUND STUDENT SCHOLARSHIPS AND ACADEMIC PROGRAMS. AS REQUIRED BY GENERALLY ACCEPTED ACCOUNTING PRINCIPLES, NET ASSETS ASSOCIATED WITH THESE FUNDS ARE CLASSIFIED AND REPORTED BASED ON THE EXISTENCE OF DONOR- IMPOSED RESTRICTIONS. THE UNIVERSITY HAS ADOPTED INVESTMENT AND SPENDING POLICIES FOR ENDOWMENT ASSETS THAT ARE DESIGNED TO PROVIDE A STREAM OF FUNDING FOR SCHOLARSHIPS AND PROGRAMS SUPPORTED BY THESE FUNDS, WHILE SEEKING TO PERPETUALLY MAINTAIN THE PURCHASING POWER OF THE ENDOWMENT FUNDS.
SCHEDULE D, PAGE 4, PART XI, LINE 4BSCHOLARSHIPS 27,449,284
SCHEDULE D, PAGE 4, PART XII, LINE 4BSCHOLARSHIPS 27,449,284

Schedule E IRS990ScheduleE

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Nondiscriminatory Policy StmtYes (true)NondiscriminatoryPolicyStmtInd
Policy Stmt In Brochures EtcYes (true)PolicyStmtInBrochuresEtcInd
Plcy Pblczd Via Broadcast MediaYes (true)PlcyPblczdViaBroadcastMediaInd
Maintain Racial Comp RecsYes (true)MaintainRacialCompRecsInd
Maintain Scholarships RecsYes (true)MaintainScholarshipsRecsInd
Maintain Cpy Of Brochures EtcYes (true)MaintainCpyOfBrochuresEtcInd
Maintain Cpy Of All SolYes (true)MaintainCpyOfAllSolInd
Discriminate Race Stdnts RghtsfalseDiscriminateRaceStdntsRghtsInd
Discriminate Race Admiss PlcyfalseDiscriminateRaceAdmissPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Emplm FcultyfalseDiscriminateRaceEmplmFcultyInd
Discriminate Race SchsfalseDiscriminateRaceSchsInd
Discriminate Race Educ PlcyfalseDiscriminateRaceEducPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Use Of FcltsfalseDiscriminateRaceUseOfFcltsInd
Discriminate Race Athlt ProgfalseDiscriminateRaceAthltProgInd
Discriminate Race Other ActyfalseDiscriminateRaceOtherActyInd
Government Financial Aid RcvdYes (true)GovernmentFinancialAidRcvdInd
Government Financial Aid RvkdfalseGovernmentFinancialAidRvkdInd
Compliance With Rev Proc7550Yes (true)ComplianceWithRevProc7550Ind

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
SCHEDULE E, LINE 3UNION UNIVERSITY DOES NOT DISCRIMINATE ON THE BASIS OF RACE, RELIGION, GENDER, NATIONAL ORIGIN OR DISABILITY IN THE ADMISSION AND PROGRESSION OF STUDENTS. THE UNIVERSITY ADHERES TO A COMMUNITY VALUE STATEMENT AND EXPECTS ALL STUDENTS AND EMPLOYEES TO COMPLY WITH THE VALUES OF THE UNIVERSITY.
SCHEDULE E, LINE 6STUDENTS AT UNION UNIVERSITY RECEIVE FEDERAL STUDENT AID FROM THE DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION'S TITLE IV PROGRAM.

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedfalseGrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant TypeSCHOLARSHIPSGrantTypeTxt
Cash Grant$27,449,284CashGrantAmt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSCHEDULE I, PAGE 4, PART IVFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationTHE UNIVERSITY AWARDS SCHOLARSHIPS AND GRANTS TO STUDENTS ENROLLED IN ITS PROGRAMS. SCHOLARSHIPS AND GRANTS ARE AWARDED TO STUDENTS BASED ON NEED AS DETERMINED BY THE FAFSA, AS WELL AS PERFORMANCE IN ACADEMICS, LEADERSHIP, MUSIC, THEATRE AND ATHLETICS. TO BE CONSIDERED FOR SCHOLARSHIP ASSISTANCE, STUDENTS MUST APPLY FOR ADMISSION, SUBMIT ACADEMIC TRANSCRIPTS OF PRIOR EDUCATIONAL WORK AND SUBMIT TEST SCORES (ACT/SAT/CLT). FOR GRANT CONSIDERATION STUDENTS MUST ADDITIONALLY SUBMIT THE FAFSA. SCHOLARSHIPS AND GRANTS ARE RENEWABLE BASED ON MEETING PUBLISHED ACADEMIC REQUIREMENTS. STUDENT PROGRESS IS MONITORED TO ENSURE THEY EARN A MINIMUM NUMBER OF CREDITS AND A MINIMUM GPA EACH ACADEMIC YEAR IN ORDER TO MAINTAIN ELIGIBILITY.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Written Employment ContractYes (X)WrittenEmploymentContractInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance PaymentfalseSeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanfalseSupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp ArrngmfalseEquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng OrgfalseCompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related OrgsfalseCompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng OrgfalseCompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd OrgsfalseCompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed PaymentsfalseAnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract ExceptionfalseInitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (6 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmt
SAMUEL DUB OLIVER
PRESIDENT & CEO$368,550$49,585$418,135
SHEILA MITCHELL
DEAN - PHARMACY$205,324$31,589$236,913
GEORGE DEMAAGD
ASST DEAN, PHARMACY$159,334$43,864$203,198
KELLY HARDEN
DEAN, NURSING$175,365$15,939$191,304
JASON GARRETT
DEAN - BUSINESS$153,538$25,094$178,632
MARK STEVENS
ASST. DEAN, PHARMACY$155,386$23,079$178,465

Schedule K IRS990ScheduleK

Tax Exempt Bonds Issues TaxExemptBondsIssuesGrp (3 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdBond Issuer EINBondIssuerEINBond IssuedBondIssuedDtIssue PriceIssuePriceAmtPurposePurposeDescDefeasedDefeasedIndOn Behalf Of IssuerOnBehalfOfIssuerIndPool FinancingPoolFinancingInd
HEALTH EDUC HSING FAC BD 2010A
A6212095352010-03-31$14,650,000REFUNDING AND CONSTRUCTIONfalsefalsefalse
HEALTH EDUC HSING FAC BD 2009B
B6212095352009-12-22$9,000,000CONSTRUCTIONfalsefalsefalse
HEALTH EDUC HSING FAC BD 2010B
C6212095352010-12-17$6,000,000REFUNDINGfalsefalsefalse

Tax Exempt Bonds Proceeds TaxExemptBondsProceedsGrp (3 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdRefunding Tax Exempt BondsRefundingTaxExemptBondsIndRefunding Taxable BondsRefundingTaxableBondsIndFinal Allocation MadeFinalAllocationMadeIndAdequate Books And Rec MaintAdequateBooksAndRecMaintInd
AfalsefalseYes (true)Yes (true)
BfalsefalseYes (true)Yes (true)
CfalsefalseYes (true)Yes (true)

Tax Exempt Bonds Private Bus Use TaxExemptBondsPrivateBusUseGrp (3 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdOwning Bond Financed PropertyOwningBondFinancedPropertyIndAny Lease ArrangementsAnyLeaseArrangementsIndMgmt Contract Bond Fincd PropMgmtContractBondFincdPropIndAny Research AgreementsAnyResearchAgreementsIndBond Iss Meet Prvt Sec Pymt TestBondIssMeetPrvtSecPymtTestIndChange In Use Bond Financed PropChangeInUseBondFinancedPropIndProcs Nonqualified Bond RemdtdProcsNonqualifiedBondRemdtdInd
AfalsefalsefalsefalsefalsefalseYes (true)
BfalsefalsefalsefalsefalsefalseYes (true)
CfalsefalsefalsefalsefalsefalseYes (true)

Tax Exempt Bonds Arbitrage TaxExemptBondsArbitrageGrp (3 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdForm8038 T FiledForm8038TFiledIndRebate Not Due YetRebateNotDueYetIndException To RebateExceptionToRebateIndNo Rebate DueNoRebateDueIndVariable Rate IssueVariableRateIssueIndHedge Identified In Bks And RecHedgeIdentifiedInBksAndRecIndGross Proceeds Invested In GICGrossProceedsInvestedInGICIndGross Proceeds InvestedGrossProceedsInvestedIndWritten Proc To Monitor ReqsWrittenProcToMonitorReqsInd
AfalsefalsefalsefalsefalsefalsefalsefalseYes (true)
BfalsefalsefalsefalseYes (true)falsefalsefalseYes (true)
CfalsefalsefalsefalsefalsefalsefalsefalseYes (true)

Procedures Corrective Action ProceduresCorrectiveActionGrp (3 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdProcedures Corrective ActionProceduresCorrectiveActionInd
Afalse
Bfalse
Cfalse

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (3 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PURPOSE OF ISSUE DESCRIPTIONHEALTH EDUC HSING FAC BD 2010A REFUNDING AND CONSTRUCTION
PURPOSE OF ISSUE DESCRIPTIONHEALTH EDUC HSING FAC BD 2009B CONSTRUCTION
PURPOSE OF ISSUE DESCRIPTIONHEALTH EDUC HSING FAC BD 2010B REFUNDING

Schedule L IRS990ScheduleL

Grnt Asst Bnft Interested Prsn GrntAsstBnftInterestedPrsnGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cash Grant$29,275CashGrantAmt
Type Of AssistanceSCHOLARSHIPSTypeOfAssistanceTxt

Bus Tr Involve Interested Prsn BusTrInvolveInterestedPrsnGrp (2 entries)

Relationship DescriptionRelationshipDescriptionTxtTransactionTransactionAmtTransactionTransactionDescSharing Of RevenuesSharingOfRevenuesInd
SUSIE OLIVER
FAMILY OF PRES.$39,124EMPLOYEE WAGESfalse
CALLIE BEARDEN
FAMILY OF PRES$13,219EMPLOYEE WAGESfalse

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (5 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 11BFORM 990 IS PREPARED BY AN OUTSIDE CPA FIRM AND REVIEWED BY MANAGEMENT PRIOR TO FILING. THE FORM 990 IS PROVIDED TO THE ENTIRE BOARD PRIOR TO FILING.
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 12CTRUSTEES AND OFFICERS OF THE OF THE ORGANIZATION ARE SURVEYED ANNUALLY TO DISCLOSE AND DESCRIBE ANY CONFLICTS OF INTEREST IN WRITING.
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 15ATHE COMPENSATION PROCESS IS DIRECTED AND COMPENSATION DECISIONS ARE REVIEWED BY THE COMPENSATION COMMITTEE OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES. COMPARISONS ARE MADE WITH PUBLISHED SURVEYS AND OTHER REGIONAL AND NATIONAL INDEXES, AS WELL AS OTHER SOURCES OF COMPARABLE INFORMATION. THE PROCEEDINGS ARE DOCUMENTED IN COMMITTEE MINUTES.
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 19THE IRS 990 AND OTHER INFORMATION FOR WHICH DISCLOSURE IS REQUIRED IS MADE AVAILABLE TO THE PUBLIC ON AN AS-REQUESTED BASIS.
FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9SCHOLARSHIPS -27,449,284 SCHOLARSHIPS 27,449,284

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Disregarded Entities IdDisregardedEntitiesGrp

Disregarded Entity Name DisregardedEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1UNION UNIVERSITY FOUNDATION LLCBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11050 UNION UNIVERSITY DRAddressLine1Txt
CityJACKSONCityNm
State AbbreviationTNStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP38305ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Legal Domicile StateTNLegalDomicileStateCd
Direct Controlling NAN/ADirectControllingNACd