STRATEGY STUDIO / NONPROFIT PEOPLE SEARCH

DALTON SCHOOLS INC: Form 990, tax year 2020

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
DALTON SCHOOLS INC (EIN 13-2751872)
Tax period
2020-07-01 to 2021-06-30
Filed
2022-05-03
IRS object ID
202211239349301131
Schema version
2020v4.1
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2022-05-03T12:56:57-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2021-06-30TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1EISNER ADVISORY GROUP LLCBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1733 THIRD AVENUEAddressLine1Txt
CityNEW YORKCityNm
State AbbreviationNYStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP100172703ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2020-07-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN132751872EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1DALTON SCHOOLS INCBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
In Care Of% MICHAEL HWANG CFOInCareOfNm
Business Name ControlDALTBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone2124235200PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1108 EAST 89TH STREETAddressLine1Txt
CityNEW YORKCityNm
State AbbreviationNYStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP10128ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonMICHAEL HWANGPersonNm
Person TitleCFOPersonTitleTxt
Phone2124235460PhoneNum
Signature2022-05-02SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (true)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Signing Officer SigningOfficerGrp

Person Full Name PersonFullName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Person FirstMICHAELPersonFirstNm
Person LastHWANGPersonLastNm
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SSN999009999SSN

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonCANDICE METHPreparerPersonNm
PTINP01306891PTIN
Phone2129498700PhoneNum

Additional Filer Information AdditionalFilerInformation

Trusted Customer TrustedCustomerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Trusted Customer3TrustedCustomerCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2020TaxYr
Build TS2022-09-23 18:48:47ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerMICHAEL HWANGPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1108 EAST 89TH STREETAddressLine1Txt
CityNEW YORKCityNm
State AbbreviationNYStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP10128ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$90,547,051GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For AffiliatesfalseGroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website Addresswww.dalton.orgWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1919FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateNYLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or Missionthe school is committed to providing an education of excellence that meets each student's interests, abilities and needs within a common curricular framework.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body29VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent27VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee567TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers100TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$74,044TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$76,093NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$15,771,508PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$8,370,380CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$69,928,852PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$72,923,753CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$4,381,372PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$3,424,933CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$477,241PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$2,435,318CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$90,558,973PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$87,154,384CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$10,828,345PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$12,159,542CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$49,377,285PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$56,969,135CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$2,695,859CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$22,791,292PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$26,809,044CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$82,996,922PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$95,937,721CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$7,562,051PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses-$8,783,337CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$250,410,973TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$268,184,018TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$46,045,299TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$47,756,273TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$204,365,674NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$220,427,745NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionTHE DALTON SCHOOL IS COMMITTED TO PROVIDING AN EXCELLENT EDUCATION THAT MEETS EACH STUDENT'S INTERESTS, ABILITIES AND NEEDS AND PROMOTES AN APPRECIATION FOR DIVERSITY IN OUR COMMUNITY AS AN INTEGRAL PART OF SCHOOL LIFE.MissionDesc
Significant New Program SrvcfalseSignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant ChangefalseSignificantChangeInd
Expense$82,577,069ExpenseAmt
Grant$12,159,542GrantAmt
Revenue$75,359,071RevenueAmt
DescEDUCATIONAL INSTRUCTION FOR APPROXIMATELY 1,300 STUDENTS IN VARIOUS CLASSES FROM KINDERGARTEN THROUGH TWELFTH GRADE.Desc
Total Program Service Expenses$82,577,069TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (true)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (true)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign ActyfalsePoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying ActivitiesfalseLobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy TaxfalseSubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised FundfalseDonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation EasementsfalseConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of ArtfalseCollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingfalseCreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi EndowmentsYes (true)DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (true)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecYes (true)ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstfalseReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsfalseReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesfalseReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (true)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (true)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtfalseConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingYes (true)SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign OfficefalseForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesYes (true)ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To OrgfalseMoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To IndividualsfalseMoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional FundraisingfalseProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising ActivitiesYes (true)FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming ActivitiesfalseGamingActivitiesInd
Operate HospitalfalseOperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsfalseGrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsYes (true)GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (true)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsfalseTaxExemptBondsInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit TransfalseEngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit TransfalsePYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan OutstandingfalseLoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related PersonfalseGrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org MemfalseBusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemfalseBusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl EntfalseBusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContriYes (true)DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art ContributionfalseDeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate OperationsfalseTerminateOperationsInd
Partial LiquidationfalsePartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityfalseDisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityfalseRelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntfalseRelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd OrgfalseTrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted PrtshpfalseActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (true)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document149IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (true)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee567EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (true)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (true)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (true)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial AccountfalseForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter TransfalseProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party NotificationfalseTaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible ContributionsfalseNondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo ContributionsYes (true)QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contri DisclYes (true)QuidProQuoContriDisclInd
Form8282 Property Disposed OffalseForm8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalseRcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalsePayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning ServicesfalseIndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht PymtfalseSubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst IncfalseSubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members29GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member27IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business RlnfalseFamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt DutiesfalseDelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org DocumentsfalseChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or MisusefalseMaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersfalseMembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersfalseElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovafalseDecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (true)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (true)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing AddressfalseOfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersfalseLocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (true)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (true)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (true)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (true)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (true)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (true)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (true)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (true)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint VenturefalseInvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonMICHAEL HWANG CFOPersonNm
Phone2124235460PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1108 EAST 89TH STREETAddressLine1Txt
CityNEW YORKCityNm
State AbbreviationNYStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP10128ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (39 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtAverage Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeIndKey EmployeeKeyEmployeeInd
JAMES BEST
HEAD OF SCHOOL40.00.0Yes (X)Yes (X)$951,660$0$50,296
MICHAEL HWANG
CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER40.00.0Yes (X)$480,542$0$56,766
EDWARD FRISCHLING
DIRECTOR OF ATHLETICS40.00.0$314,211$0$70,897Yes (X)
ELISE RODRIGUEZ
DIRECTOR OF COLLEGE COUNSELING40.00.0$335,501$0$32,032Yes (X)
CELESTE HERRERA
DIRECTOR OF HIGH SCHOOL40.00.0$312,022$0$49,327Yes (X)
MARSHA YUAN
DIRECTOR OF FINANCE40.00.0$335,154$0$25,315Yes (X)
EMILY KASOF
DIRECTOR OF ADVANCEMENT40.00.0$267,992$0$70,063Yes (X)
JOHN NEIERS
DIRECTOR OF TECHNOLOGY40.00.0$268,145$0$55,495Yes (X)
TRACY FEDONCHIK
DIRECTOR OF MIDDLE SCHOOL40.00.0$250,053$0$66,849Yes (X)
STEVEN BENDER
ENGLISH TEACHER40.00.0$261,422$0$20,269Yes (X)
GILLIAN TODD
FIRST PROGRAM DIRECTOR40.00.0$195,809$0$28,900Yes (X)
SARAH KERMAN
FACULTY REP & TEACHER40.00.0Yes (X)$92,072$0$9,850
ALY SHEEZAR JEDDY
PRESIDENT10.00.0Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
JENNY GLASSMAN
TREASURER2.00.0Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
JENNIE TARR COYNE
SECRETARY2.00.0Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
RONNIE ABRAMS
TRUSTEE2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
TIMOTHY BARAKETT
TRUSTEE2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
GRACIELA HANK BITAR
TRUSTEE2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
MARK CHAN
TRUSTEE2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
SHEREE CHIOU
TRUSTEE2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
JOHN CLARK
TRUSTEE2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
LEAH JOHNSON
TRUSTEE2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
OLATI JOHNSON
TRUSTEE2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
ALAN KLEIN
TRUSTEE2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
ERICA KLEIN
TRUSTEE2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
BRUCE MENIN
TRUSTEE2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
DURRE NABI
TRUSTEE2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
ALEXANDER ROBINSON
TRUSTEE2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
ISHAAN SETH
TRUSTEE2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
JAMES SIMMONS
TRUSTEE2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
DASHA SMITH
TRUSTEE2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
RAMSEY SMITH
TRUSTEE2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
ASHLEY SMITH
TRUSTEE2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
DEIDRE STANLEY
TRUSTEE2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
BENJAMIN TENOVER
TRUSTEE2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
ANDREW WEINBERG
TRUSTEE2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
BRYNJA SIGURDARDOTTIR
PA PRESIDENT2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
JOANNA STONE HERMAN
ALUMNI COUNCIL PRESIDENT2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
EMILY MINDEL GOTTLIEB
DALTON COUNCIL CHAIR2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$4,064,583TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$536,059TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K148IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees ListedfalseFormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (true)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other SrcsfalseCompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (2 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
SCHULTE ROTH ZABEL LLP
919 Third AvenueNEW YORKNY10022LEGAL SERVICES$252,726
VENABLE LLP
750 E Pratt St UNIT 900BALTIMOREMD21202LEGAL SERVICES$130,574
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K2CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Fundraising$351,347FundraisingAmt
Government Grants$2,064,486GovernmentGrantsAmt
All Other Contributions$5,954,547AllOtherContributionsAmt
Noncash Contributions$360,388NoncashContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$8,370,380TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (4 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
TUITION REVENUE611710$71,858,934$71,858,934
AFTER-SCHOOL PROGRAMS611710$248,505$248,505
DRIVER EDUCATION611710$418,973$418,973
SUMMER SPORTS PROGRAM611710$397,341$397,341
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$72,923,753TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$1,466,806TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$74,044UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$1,392,762ExclusionAmt

Incm From Invest Bond Proceeds IncmFromInvestBondProceedsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Royalties Revenue RoyaltiesRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$0RealAmt
Personal$0PersonalAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$5,333,380SecuritiesAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$3,375,253SecuritiesAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$1,958,127SecuritiesAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$1,958,127TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$1,958,127ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Fundraising Gross Income$17,414FundraisingGrossIncomeAmt
Contri Rpt Fundraising Event$351,347ContriRptFundraisingEventAmt
Fundraising Direct Expenses$17,414FundraisingDirectExpensesAmt
Gaming Gross Income$0GamingGrossIncomeAmt
Gaming Direct Expenses$0GamingDirectExpensesAmt

Net Income From Gaming NetIncomeFromGamingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Sales Of Inventory$0GrossSalesOfInventoryAmt
Cost Of Goods Sold$0CostOfGoodsSoldAmt

Net Income Or Loss NetIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
MISCELLANEOUS SCHOOL ACTIVITIES611710$209,119$209,119
RECOVERY OF BAD DEBT - NYS DOE900099$2,009,586$2,009,586
MISCELLANEOUS INCOME900088$216,613$216,613
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$2,435,318OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$87,154,384TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$75,359,071RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$74,044UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$3,350,889ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$12,159,542TotalAmt
Program Services$12,159,542ProgramServicesAmt

Foreign Grants ForeignGrantsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,439,613TotalAmt
Program Services$899,753ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,248,360ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$291,500FundraisingAmt

Comp Disqual Persons CompDisqualPersonsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$40,058,690TotalAmt
Program Services$35,293,626ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$3,631,243ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$1,133,821FundraisingAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,286,827TotalAmt
Program Services$3,650,846ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$492,208ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$143,773FundraisingAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$7,534,768TotalAmt
Program Services$6,416,932ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$865,133ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$252,703FundraisingAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,649,237TotalAmt
Program Services$2,384,743ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$164,051ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$100,443FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Management FeesForServicesManagementGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$789,210TotalAmt
Management And General$789,210ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$72,000TotalAmt
Management And General$72,000ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Lobbying FeesForServicesLobbyingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Prof Fundraising FeesForServicesProfFundraising

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$124,416TotalAmt
Management And General$124,416ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,892,759TotalAmt
Program Services$1,662,940ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$171,007ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$58,812FundraisingAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,235,340TotalAmt
Program Services$1,973,996ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$149,384ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$111,960FundraisingAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$817,190TotalAmt
Program Services$577,465ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$204,736ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$34,989FundraisingAmt

Royalties RoyaltiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,129,559TotalAmt
Program Services$2,049,996ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$73,719ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$5,844FundraisingAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,397,318TotalAmt
Program Services$468,599ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$923,719ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$5,000FundraisingAmt

Pymt Travel Entrtnmnt Pub Ofcl PymtTravelEntrtnmntPubOfclGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$502,756TotalAmt
Management And General$502,756ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Payments To Affiliates PaymentsToAffiliatesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$5,199,487TotalAmt
Program Services$4,633,415ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$388,923ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$177,149FundraisingAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$492,569TotalAmt
Program Services$438,943ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$36,844ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$16,782FundraisingAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmtFundraisingFundraisingAmt
STUDENT CAFETERIA$1,790,669$1,595,717$133,942$61,010
MEMBERSHIP DUES$200,992$188,034$6,312$6,646
TELEPHONE$122,758$109,394$9,182$4,182
REPAIRS AND MAINTENANCE$7,039,877$6,273,440$526,585$239,852

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,002,144TotalAmt
Program Services$1,799,688ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$151,063ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$51,393FundraisingAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$95,937,721TotalAmt
Program Services$82,577,069ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$10,664,793ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$2,695,859FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$23,526,390BOYAmt
EOY$17,975,914EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$7,771,184BOYAmt
EOY$10,019,454EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$12,026,641BOYAmt
EOY$9,124,715EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,026,051BOYAmt
EOY$740,302EOYAmt

Receivables From Officers Etc ReceivablesFromOfficersEtcGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rcvbl From Disqualified Prsn RcvblFromDisqualifiedPrsnGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$857,067BOYAmt
EOY$825,040EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$179,935,974LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$79,655,078LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$100,848,188BOYAmt
EOY$100,280,896EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$56,984,264BOYAmt
EOY$79,162,431EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$45,927,681BOYAmt
EOY$49,510,014EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Intangible Assets IntangibleAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$443,507BOYAmt
EOY$545,252EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$250,410,973BOYAmt
EOY$268,184,018EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$9,327,768BOYAmt
EOY$13,205,005EOYAmt

Grants Payable GrantsPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$18,957,615BOYAmt
EOY$20,035,512EOYAmt

Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Escrow Account Liability EscrowAccountLiabilityGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Loans From Officers Directors LoansFromOfficersDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$17,759,916BOYAmt
EOY$14,515,756EOYAmt

Unsecured Notes Loans Payable UnsecuredNotesLoansPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$46,045,299BOYAmt
EOY$47,756,273EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows FASB117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind

No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$103,980,380BOYAmt
EOY$106,377,100EOYAmt

Donor Restriction Net Assets DonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$100,385,294BOYAmt
EOY$114,050,645EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$204,365,674BOYAmt
EOY$220,427,745EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$250,410,973BOYAmt
EOY$268,184,018EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss-$8,783,337ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$25,309,445NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets-$464,037OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or ReviewfalseAccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (true)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (true)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredfalseFederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SchoolYes (X)SchoolInd

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Art Public Exhibition AmountsArtPublicExhibitionAmountsGrp
Held Works ArtHeldWorksArtGrp

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$110,683,129BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$4,534,514ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$28,609,962InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$5,135,706OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$138,691,899EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$109,294,320BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$5,820,753ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$396,511InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$4,828,455OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$110,683,129EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$106,669,887BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$4,035,425ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$3,867,669InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$5,278,661OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$109,294,320EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$101,883,187BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$4,931,570ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$9,500,617InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$9,645,487OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$106,669,887EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$89,319,928BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$6,639,520ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$9,581,944InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$3,658,205OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$101,883,187EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Board Designated Balance EOY0.30000BoardDesignatedBalanceEOYPct
Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY0.54000PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Term Endowment Balance EOY0.16000TermEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Endowments Held Unrelated OrgfalseEndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related OrgfalseEndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$4,361,429OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$4,361,429BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$157,780,165OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$64,337,037DepreciationAmt
Book Value$93,443,128BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Leasehold ImprovementsLeaseholdImprovementsGrp

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$14,869,004OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$13,055,064DepreciationAmt
Book Value$1,813,940BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$2,925,376OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$2,262,977DepreciationAmt
Book Value$662,399BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$100,280,896TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt
Financial DerivativesFinancialDerivativesGrp
Closely Held Equity InterestsCloselyHeldEquityInterestsGrp

Other Securities OtherSecuritiesGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmtMethod ValuationMethodValuationCd
LIMITED PARTNERSHIPS$2,367,091F
OFFSHORE HEDGE FUNDS$42,484,725F
PRIVATE SECURITIES$4,658,198F
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Securities$49,510,014TotalBookValueSecuritiesAmt
Federal Income Tax Liability$0FederalIncomeTaxLiabilityAmt
Total Liability$0TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$100,179,871TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$25,309,445NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Revenue Not Reported$25,309,445RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$74,870,426RevenueSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld$124,416InvestmentExpensesNotIncldAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$12,159,542OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$12,283,958RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$87,154,384TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$84,117,800TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Expenses Included$464,037OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$464,037ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$83,653,763ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld2$124,416InvestmentExpensesNotIncld2Amt
Other Expenses Not Included$12,159,542OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$12,283,958ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$95,937,721TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (5 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, SCHEDULE D, PART VTHE SCHOOL'S ENDOWMENT CONSISTS OF VARIOUS INDIVIDUAL FUNDS ESTABLISHED FOR A VARIETY OF PURPOSES, CONSISTING OF BOTH BOARD DESIGNATED AND DONOR-RESTRICTED ENDOWMENT FUNDS. THE PURPOSES OF ALL OF THESE FUNDS INCLUDE SCHOLARSHIPS, STUDENT SUPPORT, FACULTY SUPPORT, AS WELL AS FACILITY UPGRADE AND MAINTENANCE.
FORM 990, SCHEDULE D, PART X, LINE 2THE SCHOOL IS SUBJECT TO THE PROVISIONS OF THE FINANCIAL ACCOUNTING STANDARDS BOARD'S (THE "FASB") ACCOUNTING STANDARDS CODIFICATION ("ASC") TOPIC 740, INCOME TAXES, RELATING TO ACCOUNTING AND REPORTING FOR UNCERTAINTY IN INCOME TAXES. FOR THE SCHOOL, THESE PROVISIONS COULD BE APPLICABLE TO THE INCURRENCE OF UNRELATED BUSINESS INCOME TAX ATTRIBUTABLE TO THE PASS-THROUGH INCOME AND LOSSES ON ITS ALTERNATIVE INVESTMENTS. BECAUSE OF THE SCHOOL'S GENERAL TAX-EXEMPT STATUS, MANAGEMENT BELIEVES ASC TOPIC 740 HAS NOT HAD, AND IS NOT ANTICIPATED TO HAVE, A MATERIAL IMPACT ON THE SCHOOL'S FINANCIAL STATEMENTS.
FORM 990, SCHEDULE D, PART XI, LINE 4BFINANCIAL AID OF $12,159,542 IS NETTED AGAINST REVENUE PER FINANCIAL STATEMENTS AND REPORTED AS PART OF EXPENSES IN FORM 990.
FORM 990, SCHEDULE D, PART XII, LINE 2DINCREASE IN RESERVE OF UNCOLLECTIBLE PLEDGES OF $464,037 REPORTED AS "OTHER CHANGES IN NET ASSETS" ON FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9.
FORM 990, SCHEDULE D, PART XII, LINE 4BFINANCIAL AID OF $12,159,542 IS NETTED AGAINST REVENUE PER FINANCIAL STATEMENTS AND REPORTED AS PART OF EXPENES IN FORM 990.

Schedule E IRS990ScheduleE

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Nondiscriminatory Policy StmtYes (true)NondiscriminatoryPolicyStmtInd
Policy Stmt In Brochures EtcYes (true)PolicyStmtInBrochuresEtcInd
Plcy Pblczd Via Broadcast MediaYes (true)PlcyPblczdViaBroadcastMediaInd
Maintain Racial Comp RecsYes (true)MaintainRacialCompRecsInd
Maintain Scholarships RecsYes (true)MaintainScholarshipsRecsInd
Maintain Cpy Of Brochures EtcYes (true)MaintainCpyOfBrochuresEtcInd
Maintain Cpy Of All SolYes (true)MaintainCpyOfAllSolInd
Discriminate Race Stdnts RghtsfalseDiscriminateRaceStdntsRghtsInd
Discriminate Race Admiss PlcyfalseDiscriminateRaceAdmissPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Emplm FcultyfalseDiscriminateRaceEmplmFcultyInd
Discriminate Race SchsfalseDiscriminateRaceSchsInd
Discriminate Race Educ PlcyfalseDiscriminateRaceEducPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Use Of FcltsfalseDiscriminateRaceUseOfFcltsInd
Discriminate Race Athlt ProgfalseDiscriminateRaceAthltProgInd
Discriminate Race Other ActyfalseDiscriminateRaceOtherActyInd
Government Financial Aid RcvdYes (true)GovernmentFinancialAidRcvdInd
Government Financial Aid RvkdfalseGovernmentFinancialAidRvkdInd
Compliance With Rev Proc7550Yes (true)ComplianceWithRevProc7550Ind

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
SCHEDULE E QUESTION 3NEWSPAPER ADVERTISEMENTS AND SCHOOL PUBLICATIONS WHICH MAY BE INSPECTED AT THE SCHOOL'S PREMISES.
Schedule E Question 6Athe school receives an annual grant from NYS Mandated Services.

Schedule F IRS990ScheduleF

Account Activities Outside US AccountActivitiesOutsideUSGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
RegionCentral America and the CaribbeanRegionTxt
Type Of Activities ConductedInvestmentsTypeOfActivitiesConductedTxt
Region Total Expenditures$42,484,725RegionTotalExpendituresAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Subtotal Spent$42,484,725SubtotalSpentAmt
Total Spent$42,484,725TotalSpentAmt
Transfer To Foreign CorpYes (true)TransferToForeignCorpInd
Interest In Foreign TrustfalseInterestInForeignTrustInd
Foreign Corp OwnershipfalseForeignCorpOwnershipInd
Passive Foreign Investmest CofalsePassiveForeignInvestmestCoInd
Foreign PartnershipYes (true)ForeignPartnershipInd
Boycott CountriesfalseBoycottCountriesInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART I, LINE 3 COLUMN (F)FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationAMOUNT REPORTED ON THE ACCRUAL BASIS OF ACCOUNTING.ExplanationTxt

Schedule G IRS990ScheduleG

Fundraising Event Information FundraisingEventInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Event1DALTON BENEFITEvent1Nm
Gross Receipts Event1$368,761GrossReceiptsEvent1Amt
Charitable Contri Event1$351,347CharitableContriEvent1Amt
Gross Revenue Event1$17,414GrossRevenueEvent1Amt
Entertainment Event1$17,414EntertainmentEvent1Amt
Other Events Total0OtherEventsTotalCnt
Gross Receipts Total$368,761GrossReceiptsTotalAmt
Charitable Contributions Tot$351,347CharitableContributionsTotAmt
Gross Revenue Total Events$17,414GrossRevenueTotalEventsAmt
Entertainment Total Events$17,414EntertainmentTotalEventsAmt
Direct Expense Summary Events$17,414DirectExpenseSummaryEventsAmt

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (true)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant TypeFINANCIAL AID PROVIDED TO STUDENTSGrantTypeTxt
Recipient274RecipientCnt
Non Cash Assistance$12,159,542NonCashAssistanceAmt
Valuation Method UsedFMVValuationMethodUsedDesc
Non Cash AssistanceTUITION REDUCTIONNonCashAssistanceDesc

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceGRANTS AND OTHER ASSISTANCEFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationTHE FINANCIAL AID COMMITTEE REVIEWS ALL APPLICATIONS FOR FINANCIAL AID. AFTER REVIEW OF APPLICATIONS, THE COMMITTEE DETERMINES THE AMOUNT OF AID THAT IS APPROPRIATE. THE COMMITTEE IS MADE UP OF SENIOR MANAGEMENT AND STAFF SUPPORT. ALL GRANTS OR FINANICAL AID ARE AUTOMATICALLY APPLIED TO TUITION.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Housing Allowance Or ResidenceYes (X)HousingAllowanceOrResidenceInd
Written Policy Ref T And E ExpnssYes (true)WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd
Substantiation RequiredYes (true)SubstantiationRequiredInd
Form990 Of Other OrganizationsYes (X)Form990OfOtherOrganizationsInd
Written Employment ContractYes (X)WrittenEmploymentContractInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance PaymentfalseSeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanYes (true)SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp ArrngmfalseEquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng OrgfalseCompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related OrgsfalseCompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng OrgfalseCompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd OrgsfalseCompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed PaymentsfalseAnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract ExceptionfalseInitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (11 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
JAMES BEST
HEAD OF SCHOOL$951,660$0$0$0$0$0$39,900$0$10,396$0$1,001,956$0$0$0
MICHAEL HWANG
CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER$480,542$0$0$0$0$0$25,650$0$31,116$0$537,308$0$0$0
STEVEN BENDER
ENGLISH TEACHER$261,422$0$0$0$0$0$13,525$0$6,744$0$281,691$0$0$0
JOHN NEIERS
DIRECTOR OF TECHNOLOGY$268,145$0$0$0$0$0$37,679$0$17,816$0$323,640$0$0$0
ELISE RODRIGUEZ
DIRECTOR OF COLLEGE COUNSELING$335,501$0$0$0$0$0$14,927$0$17,105$0$367,533$0$0$0
CELESTE HERRERA
DIRECTOR OF HIGH SCHOOL$312,022$0$0$0$0$0$31,869$0$17,458$0$361,349$0$0$0
EMILY KASOF
DIRECTOR OF ADVANCEMENT$267,992$0$0$0$0$0$39,655$0$30,408$0$338,055$0$0$0
TRACY FEDONCHIK
DIRECTOR OF MIDDLE SCHOOL$250,053$0$0$0$0$0$35,812$0$31,037$0$316,902$0$0$0
MARSHA YUAN
DIRECTOR OF FINANCE$335,154$0$0$0$0$0$23,606$0$1,709$0$360,469$0$0$0
EDWARD FRISCHLING
DIRECTOR OF ATHLETICS$314,211$0$0$0$0$0$39,900$0$30,997$0$385,108$0$0$0
GILLIAN TODD
FIRST PROGRAM DIRECTOR$195,809$0$0$0$0$0$27,287$0$1,613$0$224,709$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceFORM 990, SCHEDULE J, PARTS I AND IIFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationCOMPENSATION OF OFFICERS AND KEY EMPLOYEES WERE REVIEWED BY THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES USING COMPARABLE DATA AND CERTAIN OUTSIDE ORGANIZATIONS. THE HEAD OF SCHOOL'S COMPENSATION INCLUDED A HOUSING ALLOWANCE OF $132,000. THE SCHOOL MAINTAINS A DEFERRED COMPENSATION PLAN UNDER SECTION 457(B) OF THE INTERNAL REVENUE CODE FOR ONE OF ITS EMPLOYEES. THE SCHOOL DID NOT CONTRIBUTE TO THE 457(B) PLAN DURING FISCAL-YEAR 2021.ExplanationTxt

Schedule M IRS990ScheduleM

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Works Of ArtWorksOfArtGrp
Art Historical TreasuresArtHistoricalTreasuresGrp
Art Fractional InterestArtFractionalInterestGrp
Books And PublicationsBooksAndPublicationsGrp
Clothing And Household GoodsClothingAndHouseholdGoodsGrp
Cars And Other VehiclesCarsAndOtherVehiclesGrp
Boats And PlanesBoatsAndPlanesGrp
Intellectual PropertyIntellectualPropertyGrp

Securities Publicly Traded SecuritiesPubliclyTradedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
Contribution36ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$360,388NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
Method Of Determining RevenuesPUBLISHED MKT QOUTESMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities Closely Held StockSecuritiesCloselyHeldStockGrp
Secur Prtnrshp Trust IntrstsSecurPrtnrshpTrustIntrstsGrp
Securities MiscellaneousSecuritiesMiscellaneousGrp
Qualified Contrib Hist StructQualifiedContribHistStructGrp
Qualified Contrib OtherQualifiedContribOtherGrp
Real Estate ResidentialRealEstateResidentialGrp
Real Estate CommercialRealEstateCommercialGrp
Real Estate OtherRealEstateOtherGrp
CollectiblesCollectiblesGrp
Food InventoryFoodInventoryGrp
Drugs And Medical SuppliesDrugsAndMedicalSuppliesGrp
TaxidermyTaxidermyGrp
Historical ArtifactsHistoricalArtifactsGrp
Scientific SpecimensScientificSpecimensGrp
Archaeological ArtifactsArchaeologicalArtifactsGrp
Any Property That Must Be HeldfalseAnyPropertyThatMustBeHeldInd
Review Process Unusual NC GiftsYes (true)ReviewProcessUnusualNCGiftsInd
Third Parties UsedYes (true)ThirdPartiesUsedInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceFORM 990, SCHEDULE M, QUESTION 32AFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationTHE SCHOOL ENGAGES AN OUTSIDE BROKER TO SELL DONATED SECURITIES ON THEIR BEHALF.ExplanationTxt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (6 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11THE IRS FORM 990 IS REVIEWED BY THE CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER AND THE AUDIT COMMITTEE. UPON APPROVAL, A NOTIFICATION IS SENT TO THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES, AND THE DRAFT OF THE FORM 990 IS DISTRIBUTED FOR A DETERMINED PERIOD OF TIME ON THE SECURE DALTON BOARD OF TRUSTEES INTRANET-SITE AND is then APPROVED BY THE FULL BOARD.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12CALL BOARD MEMBERS AND OFFICERS ARE ASKED TO COMPLETE A FORMAL CONFLICT OF INTEREST FORM/QUESTIONNAIRE. THIS IS DONE ONCE A YEAR. THE FORMS ARE KEPT BY THE HEAD OF SCHOOL. THE HEAD OF SCHOOL AND THE COMPLETE BOARD REVIEW THE FORMS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINES 15A & 15BCOMPENSATION FOR THE HEAD OF SCHOOL WAS REVIEWED BY THE BOARD USING COMPARABLE DATA FOR BENCHMARKING PURPOSES. THE SCHOOL'S COMMITTEE ON ADMINISTRATIVE COMPENSATION AND EQUITY ("CACE") REVIEWS ALL SALARIES OF ADMINISTRATIVE STAFF AT THE END OF EACH YEAR.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19FORM 990 AND THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE AVAILABLE AT THE OFFICES OF THE DALTON SCHOOL UPON REQUEST.
FORM 990 PART XI, LINE 9OTHER CHANGES IN NET ASSETS REPRESENTS THE INCREASE IN THE RESERVE FOR UNCOLLECTIBLE PLEDGES OF $464,037.
FORM 8868THE SCHOOL'S APPLICATION FOR EXTENSION OF TIME TO FILE FOR AN EXEMPT ORGANIZATION, FORM 8868, WAS ELECTRONICALLY FILED.