STRATEGY STUDIO / NONPROFIT PEOPLE SEARCH

UNIVERSITY OF MARY WASHINGTON FOUNDATION: Form 990, tax year 2023

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
UNIVERSITY OF MARY WASHINGTON FOUNDATION (EIN 54-0169627)
Tax period
2023-07-01 to 2024-06-30
Filed
2025-05-15
IRS object ID
202541359349312274
Schema version
2023v6.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2025-05-15T15:16:30-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2024-06-30TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN882730877PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1CHERRY BEKAERT ADVISORY LLCBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1200 SOUTH 10TH ST STE 900AddressLine1Txt
CityRICHMONDCityNm
State AbbreviationVAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP23219ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2023-07-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN540169627EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1UNIVERSITY OF MARY WASHINGTON FOUNDATIONBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlUNIVBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone5406542054PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11125 EMANCIPATION HIGHWAY 200AddressLine1Txt
CityFREDERICKSBURGCityNm
State AbbreviationVAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP22401ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonKATIE TURCOTTEPersonNm
Person TitleEXECUTIVE DIRECTORPersonTitleTxt
Phone5406542054PhoneNum
Signature2025-05-15SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
IRS Responsible Prty Info CurrYes (1)IRSResponsiblePrtyInfoCurrInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonMELANIE MCPEAKPreparerPersonNm
PTINP01346034PTIN
Phone8046735700PhoneNum
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2023TaxYr
Build TS2025-03-06 01:10:19ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerKATIE TURCOTTEPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11125 EMANCIPATION HIGHWAY 200AddressLine1Txt
CityFREDERICKSBURGCityNm
State AbbreviationVAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP22401ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$119,562,250GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website AddressWWW.UMWF.ORGWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1975FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateVALegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionTO RECEIVE, HOLD, AND ADMINISTER FUNDS AND PROPERTY OF ALL KINDS, FOR THE FURTHERANCE OF THE OBJECTIVES OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MARY WASHINGTON.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body30VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent30VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee4TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers30TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$48,318TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$41,531,624PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$6,575,861CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$746,876PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$825,547CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$1,740,576PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$22,999,111CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue-$1,400,069PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue-$1,496,969CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$42,619,007PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$28,903,550CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$3,944,840PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$4,470,460CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$1,138,735PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$1,293,736CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$386,644CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$2,104,664PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$2,819,891CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$7,188,239PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$8,584,087CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$35,430,768PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$20,319,463CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$135,496,119TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$133,326,315TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$26,636,673TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$12,608,904TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$108,859,446NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$120,717,411NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionTO RECEIVE, HOLD, INVEST, ADMINISTER AND DISTRIBUTE FUNDS AND PROPERTY OF ALL KINDS, EXCLUSIVELY IN FURTHERANCE OF THE EDUCATIONAL ACTIVITIES AND OBJECTIVES OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MARY WASHINGTON.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
Expense$5,381,950ExpenseAmt
Grant$4,470,460GrantAmt
Revenue$825,547RevenueAmt
DescTHE UMW FOUNDATION SERVES AS THE PRIVATE ASSET MANAGER FOR THE UNIVERSITY OF MARY WASHINGTON. THE FOUNDATION MANAGES ALL OF THE UNIVERSITY'S PRIVATELY DONATED CASH AND INVESTMENTS AS WELL AS BEING ENGAGED IN REAL ESTATE ACQUISITION, DEVELOPMENT AND MANAGEMENT ON BEHALF OF THE INSTITUTION.Desc
Total Program Service Expenses$5,381,950TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (1)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (1)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying Activities0LobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation EasementsYes (1)ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi EndowmentsYes (1)DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecYes (1)ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl Stmt0IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesYes (1)ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsYes (1)GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsYes (1)TaxExemptBondsInd
Invest Tax Exempt Bonds0InvestTaxExemptBondsInd
Escrow Account0EscrowAccountInd
On Behalf Of Issuer0OnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans0EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit Trans0PYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent0BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContriYes (1)DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityYes (1)DisregardedEntityInd
Related Entity0RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org0TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document96IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee4EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (1)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (1)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo ContributionsYes (1)QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contri DisclYes (1)QuidProQuoContriDisclInd
Form8282 Property Disposed Of0Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt0SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc0SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members30GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member30IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or Stockholders0MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board Members0ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To Approva0DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldVAStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Own WebsiteYes (X)OwnWebsiteInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1SHANNON WILLIAMSBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone5406542053PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11125 EMANCIPATION HWY STE 200AddressLine1Txt
CityFREDERICKSBURGCityNm
State AbbreviationVAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP22401ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (33 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtAverage Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
ROBERT BARRY ESQ
CHAIR0.300.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
PATRICIA KEMP
VICE-CHAIR0.100.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
ANN STEEN
SECRETARY0.300.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
SUE BRIDI
TREASURER0.300.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
EDWARD ALLISON JR
IMMEDIATE PAST CHAIR0.100.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
KATIE TURCOTTE
EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR6.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
ABAS ADENAN
DIRECTOR0.100.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
ROSS BIERKAN
DIRECTOR0.100.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JOHN BOWMAN
DIRECTOR0.100.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MIKHAEL CHARNOFF
DIRECTOR0.100.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
DAN CLENDENIN
DIRECTOR0.100.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
DEVON CUSHMAN
DIRECTOR0.100.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JANEL DONOHUE
DIRECTOR0.100.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
DORI EGLEVSKY
DIRECTOR0.100.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
CRAIG ERWIN
DIRECTOR0.100.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JUSTIN GERBEREUX
DIRECTOR0.100.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
DONNA GLADIS
DIRECTOR0.100.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MICHAEL JOHNSON
DIRECTOR0.100.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
LOUIS MARMO
DIRECTOR0.100.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JUDGE KERWIN MILLER SR
DIRECTOR0.100.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
DON NEWLIN
DIRECTOR0.100.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
DR TROY PAINO
DIRECTOR0.100.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
VICKI RAVENEL
DIRECTOR0.100.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JAMES REVERE
DIRECTOR0.100.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
XAVIER RICHARDSON
DIRECTOR0.100.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
SARAH STRASSHEIM
DIRECTOR0.100.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
LESLIE TILGHMAN
DIRECTOR0.100.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
KOURTNEY WHITEHEAD
DIRECTOR0.100.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
ROB WHITT III
DIRECTOR0.100.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
VICKY WILDER
DIRECTOR0.100.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JEFF W ROUNTREE
CEO65.000.00Yes (X)$268,252$0$32,142
GREGORY A BRANNER
CFO/TREASURER TO 10/202360.000.00Yes (X)$142,312$0$30,636
SHANNON WILLIAMS
CONTROLLER55.000.00$113,734$0$9,575Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$524,298TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$72,353TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K3IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (4 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
S H FAHRENHEIT ADVISORS LLC
271 17TH ST NW SUITE 2100ATLANTAGA30363OUTSOURCED CFO$251,692
SODEXO INC & AFFILIATES
PO BOX 360170PITTSBURGHPA15251CATERING$213,117
ARTEMIS WEALTH ADVISORS LLC
168 5TH AVENUENEW YORKNY10010INVESTMENT CONSULTING$163,869
ENTERPRISE SCREEN COMMUNICATIONS INC
1301 N SUMMIT STTOLEDOOH43604VIDEO RECORDING SERVICES & EQUIPMENT$127,185
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K4CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
All Other Contributions$6,575,861AllOtherContributionsAmt
Noncash Contributions$286,365NoncashContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$6,575,861TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescUNIVERSITY RENTAL INCOMEDesc
Business532000BusinessCd
Total Revenue Column$825,547TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$825,547RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$825,547TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$2,349,520TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$34,490UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$2,315,030ExclusionAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$820,010RealAmt

Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$2,621,240RealAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real-$1,801,230RealAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$1,801,230TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion-$1,801,230ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$94,118,613SecuritiesAmt
Other$14,568,438OtherAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$76,537,927SecuritiesAmt
Other$11,499,533OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$17,580,686SecuritiesAmt
Other$3,068,905OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$20,649,591TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$20,649,591ExclusionAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescHOTELDesc
Business721110BusinessCd
Total Revenue Column$13,828TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$13,828UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt

Miscellaneous Revenue MiscellaneousRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$290,433TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$290,433ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$304,261OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$28,903,550TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$825,547RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$48,318UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$21,453,824ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,470,460TotalAmt
Program Services$4,470,460ProgramServicesAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$451,897TotalAmt
Management And General$451,897ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$672,357TotalAmt
Program Services$456,008ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$216,349ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$74,258TotalAmt
Management And General$74,258ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$57,223TotalAmt
Program Services$21,218ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$36,005ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$38,001TotalAmt
Management And General$38,001ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$63,491TotalAmt
Management And General$63,491ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$614,530TotalAmt
Management And General$614,530ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,136,982TotalAmt
Management And General$1,136,982ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$81,977TotalAmt
Program Services$81,977ProgramServicesAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$57,591TotalAmt
Management And General$57,591ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,000TotalAmt
Fundraising$1,000FundraisingAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$19,742TotalAmt
Program Services$19,742ProgramServicesAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$43,957TotalAmt
Fundraising$43,957FundraisingAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$13,485TotalAmt
Fundraising$13,485FundraisingAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$95,395TotalAmt
Program Services$95,395ProgramServicesAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$101,456TotalAmt
Program Services$86,269ProgramServicesAmt
Fundraising$15,187FundraisingAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$178,833TotalAmt
Program Services$150,881ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$27,952ManagementAndGeneralAmt

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$411,452TotalAmt
Management And General$98,437ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$313,015FundraisingAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$8,584,087TotalAmt
Program Services$5,381,950ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$2,815,493ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$386,644FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,718,266BOYAmt
EOY$1,002,396EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$10,875,732BOYAmt
EOY$13,768,376EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$24,953,801BOYAmt
EOY$24,786,846EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$594,229BOYAmt
EOY$380,521EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$75,000BOYAmt
EOY$75,000EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$204,171BOYAmt
EOY$97,902EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$19,173,101LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$1,508,418LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$29,278,477BOYAmt
EOY$17,664,683EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$50,163,829BOYAmt
EOY$55,680,557EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$14,897,142BOYAmt
EOY$19,199,549EOYAmt

Intangible Assets IntangibleAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$90,821BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$644,651BOYAmt
EOY$670,485EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$135,496,119BOYAmt
EOY$133,326,315EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$784,385BOYAmt
EOY$618,121EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$24,114BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,575,485BOYAmt
EOY$1,500,421EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$22,418,129BOYAmt
EOY$8,553,214EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,834,560BOYAmt
EOY$1,937,148EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$26,636,673BOYAmt
EOY$12,608,904EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows FASB117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind

No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY-$5,570,042BOYAmt
EOY-$4,786,255EOYAmt

Donor Restriction Net Assets DonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$114,429,488BOYAmt
EOY$125,503,666EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$108,859,446BOYAmt
EOY$120,717,411EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$135,496,119BOYAmt
EOY$133,326,315EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$20,319,463ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst-$8,524,639NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$63,141OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Consolidated Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)ConsolidatedBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
College OrganizationYes (X)CollegeOrganizationInd

Gifts Grants Contri Rcvd170 GiftsGrantsContriRcvd170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$7,859,927CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$5,723,783CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$8,289,492CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$41,531,624CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$6,575,861CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$69,980,687TotalAmt

Govt Furn Srvc Fclts Vl170 GovtFurnSrvcFcltsVl170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$1,491,893CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$1,352,746CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$967,517CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$1,253,283CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$1,510,301CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$6,575,740TotalAmt

Total Calendar Year170 TotalCalendarYear170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$9,351,820CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$7,076,529CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$9,257,009CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$42,784,907CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$8,086,162CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$76,556,427TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Substantial Contributors Tot$37,478,693SubstantialContributorsTotAmt
Public Support Total170$39,077,734PublicSupportTotal170Amt

Gross Investment Income170 GrossInvestmentIncome170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$3,293,936CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$3,289,501CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$4,143,331CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$3,090,207CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$3,135,040CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$16,952,015TotalAmt

Unrelated Business Net Incm170 UnrelatedBusinessNetIncm170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$31,070CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$18,858CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$24,719CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$19,390CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$33,086CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$127,123TotalAmt

Other Income170 OtherIncome170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$50,074CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$90,152CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$180,733CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$186,456CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$290,433CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$797,848TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Support$94,433,413TotalSupportAmt
Gross Receipts Rltd Activities$15,351,899GrossReceiptsRltdActivitiesAmt
Public Support CY1700.41380PublicSupportCY170Pct
Public Support PY1700.41960PublicSupportPY170Pct
Thirty Thr Pct Suprt Tests CY170Yes (X)ThirtyThrPctSuprtTestsCY170Ind

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Protection Natural HabitatYes (X)ProtectionNaturalHabitatInd
Total Easements1TotalEasementsCnt
Total Acreage20.00TotalAcreageCnt
Historic Structure Easements0HistoricStructureEasementsCnt
Historic Strctr Easements Aftr0HistoricStrctrEasementsAftrCnt
Modified Easements0ModifiedEasementsCnt
Written Policy Monitoring0WrittenPolicyMonitoringInd

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$77,600,450BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$4,343,716ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$9,184,502InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$2,095,495OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$89,033,173EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$60,429,775BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$14,075,610ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$5,165,322InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$2,070,257OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$77,600,450EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$69,460,911BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$2,063,233ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses-$9,337,619InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$1,756,750OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$60,429,775EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$58,837,581BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$3,046,952ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$9,166,576InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$1,590,198OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$69,460,911EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$55,478,737BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$2,294,132ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$2,781,566InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$1,716,854OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$58,837,581EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Board Designated Balance EOY0.00000BoardDesignatedBalanceEOYPct
Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY1.00000PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Term Endowment Balance EOY0.00000TermEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Endowments Held Unrelated Org0EndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related Org0EndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$15,770,059InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$427,491OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$16,197,550BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$2,779,086OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$1,373,203DepreciationAmt
Book Value$1,405,883BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$107,541OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$69,016DepreciationAmt
Book Value$38,525BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$88,924InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$66,199DepreciationAmt
Book Value$22,725BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$17,664,683TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Securities OtherSecuritiesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmtMethod ValuationMethodValuationCd
HEDGE FUNDS$1,458,042F
PRIVATE EQUITY FUNDS$10,605,598F
REAL ASSET FUNDS$4,707,408F
OTHER SECURITIES$2,428,501F
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Securities$19,199,549TotalBookValueSecuritiesAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (3 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
GIFT ANNUITY LIABILITY$328,212
OTHER LIABILITIES$72,298
DUE TO UNIVERSITY OF MARY WASHINGTON$1,536,638
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$1,937,148TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$20,815,857TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst-$8,524,639NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Donated Services And Use Fclts$1,510,301DonatedServicesAndUseFcltsAmt
Other Revenue$63,141OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported-$6,951,197RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$27,767,054RevenueSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld$1,136,982InvestmentExpensesNotIncldAmt
Other Revenues Not Included-$486OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$1,136,496RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$28,903,550TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$8,957,892TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Donated Services Use Fclts$1,510,301DonatedServicesUseFcltsAmt
Other Expenses Included$486OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$1,510,787ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$7,447,105ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld2$1,136,982InvestmentExpensesNotIncld2Amt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$1,136,982ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$8,584,087TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (5 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART V, LINE 4:THE FOUNDATION'S ENDOWMENT CONSISTS OF MULTIPLE FUNDS. THE ENDOWED FUNDS ARE ALL DONOR-RESTRICTED ENDOWMENTS CONSISTING OF STUDENT SCHOLARSHIPS AND AWARDS, FACULTY SUPPORT, AND OTHER SUPPORT OF THE ARTS AND PROGRAM OPERATIONS. THE PERCENTAGE REPORTED FOR PERMANENT ENDOWMENTS INCLUDES AMOUNTS THAT MUST BE MAINTAINED IN PERPETUITY AS WELL AS ACCUMULATED EARNINGS ON SUCH AMOUNTS THAT HAVE NOT YET BEEN APPROPRIATED FOR EXPENDITURE.
PART X, LINE 2:THE FOUNDATION IS EXEMPT FROM INCOME TAX UNDER THE INTERNAL REVENUE CODE SECTION 501(C)(3) AND THE TAX STATUTES OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA; ACCORDINGLY, THE ACCOMPANYING CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS DO NOT REFLECT A PROVISION OR LIABILITY FOR FEDERAL AND STATE INCOME TAXES. THE LLCS ARE DISREGARDED ENTITIES FOR TAX PURPOSES AND ARE INCLUDED IN THE FOUNDATION FILINGS. THERE ARE CERTAIN ACTIVITIES CONDUCTED BY THE FOUNDATION THAT ARE CONSIDERED UNRELATED BUSINESS ACTIVITIES WHICH ARE NOT EXEMPT FROM FEDERAL AND STATE INCOME TAX. THE FOUNDATION FILES TIMELY FEDERAL AND STATE RETURNS FOR THESE ACTIVITIES AND MAKES THE NECESSARY TAX PAYMENTS, IF APPLICABLE.
PART XI, LINE 2D - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:CHANGE IN VALUE OF SPLIT-INTEREST AGREEMENTS 37,307. CHANGE IN CSV LIFE INSURANCE 25,834.
PART XI, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:RENTAL EXPENSES NETTED AGAINST REVENUE ON RETURN -486.
PART XII, LINE 2D - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:RENTAL EXPENSES NETTED AGAINST REVENUE ON RETURN 486.

Schedule F IRS990ScheduleF

Account Activities Outside US AccountActivitiesOutsideUSGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
RegionCENTRAL AMERICA AND THE CARIBBEANRegionTxt
Offices0OfficesCnt
Employee0EmployeeCnt
Type Of Activities ConductedINVESTMENTSTypeOfActivitiesConductedTxt
Region Total Expenditures$7,670,404RegionTotalExpendituresAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Subtotal Offices0SubtotalOfficesCnt
Subtotal Employees0SubtotalEmployeesCnt
Continuation Total Office0ContinuationTotalOfficeCnt
Continuation Total Employee0ContinuationTotalEmployeeCnt
Total Office0TotalOfficeCnt
Total Employee0TotalEmployeeCnt
Subtotal Spent$7,670,404SubtotalSpentAmt
Continuation Spent$0ContinuationSpentAmt
Total Spent$7,670,404TotalSpentAmt
Transfer To Foreign CorpYes (1)TransferToForeignCorpInd
Interest In Foreign Trust0InterestInForeignTrustInd
Foreign Corp OwnershipYes (1)ForeignCorpOwnershipInd
Passive Foreign Investmest CoYes (1)PassiveForeignInvestmestCoInd
Foreign PartnershipYes (1)ForeignPartnershipInd
Boycott Countries0BoycottCountriesInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART I, LINE 3:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationAMOUNT REPORTED IN PART I REPRESENTS THE FAIR MARKET VALUE OF INVESTMENTS HELD IN THE REGION AS OF THE END OF THE FOUNDATION'S FISCAL YEAR.ExplanationTxt

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (1)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Recipient Table RecipientTable (2 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdRecipient EINRecipientEINIRC SectionIRCSectionDescCash GrantCashGrantAmtNon Cash AssistanceNonCashAssistanceAmtPurpose Of GrantPurposeOfGrantTxt
UNIVERSITY OF MARY WASHINGTON
1301 COLLEGE AVENUEFREDERICKSBURGVA22401546001757170(B)(1)(A)(V)$4,081,200$0STUDENT SCHOLARSHIPS, FACULTY AWARDS AND OTHER SUPPORT OF UNIVERSITY SERVICES
UNIVERSITY OF MARY WASHINGTON ALUMNI ASSOCIATION
1119 HANOVER STREETFREDERICKSBURGVA22401540471667501(C)(3)$135,000$0DONATION TO SUPPORT UNIVERSITY SERVICES AND PROGRAMS
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total501c3 Org2Total501c3OrgCnt
Total Other Org0TotalOtherOrgCnt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART I, LINE 2:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationUMW PROVIDES ADEQUATE DOCUMENTATION AND AUDIT TRAILS FOR SCHOLARSHIP PAYMENTS TO STUDENTS. THE UNIVERSITY DEPARTMENT OF FINANCIAL AID IS RESPONSIBLE FOR DETERMINING ELIGIBILITY OF STUDENTS UNDER TERMS OF ENDOWMENTS, AND FOR AWARDING FINANCIAL AID THROUGH THE DEPARTMENT OF STUDENT ACCOUNTS. THE FOUNDATION FIRST ADVANCES THE UNIVERSITY THE DESIGNATED AMOUNT OF FUNDS WHICH ALLOWS THE UNIVERSITY TO PAY OUT THE SCHOLARSHIPS. ALL DISBURSEMENTS ARE APPROVED BY THE CEO OF THE FOUNDATION. THE FOUNDATION PERIODICALLY COMPARES THE UMW SCHOLARSHIP SYSTEM REPORT WHICH SHOWS WHAT THE UNIVERSITY HAS PAID OUT TO THE FOUNDATION'S SCHOLARSHIPS AND AWARD PAYMENT HISTORY. DIFFERENCES ARE INVESTIGATED AND CORRECTED. OTHER ASSISTANCE TO THE UNIVERSITY IS APPROVED IN ADVANCE OF FUNDING TO THE UNIVERSITY OR PAID DIRECTLY BY THE FOUNDATION ON THE UNIVERSITY'S BEHALF.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Written Employment ContractYes (X)WrittenEmploymentContractInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanYes (1)SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org0CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs0CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org0CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs0CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed Payments0AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract Exception0InitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (2 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
JEFF W ROUNTREE
CEO$268,252$0$0$0$0$0$18,811$0$13,331$0$300,394$0$0$0
GREGORY A BRANNER
CFO/TREASURER TO 10/2023$142,312$0$0$0$0$0$10,296$0$20,340$0$172,948$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART I, LINE 4BFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationTHE FOUNDATION ESTABLISHED A NON-QUALIFIED DEFERRED COMPENSATION 457(F) PLAN FOR ITS CEO DURING FYE 2017. DURING 6/30/2024, THE FOUNDATION DID NOT MAKE A CONTRIBUTION TO THE PLAN.ExplanationTxt

Schedule K IRS990ScheduleK

Tax Exempt Bonds Issues TaxExemptBondsIssuesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd

Issuer Name IssuerName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1INDUSTRIAL DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY STAFFORD COUNTYBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond Issuer EIN412119657BondIssuerEIN
CUSIP852412LR4CUSIPNum
Bond Issued2007-08-08BondIssuedDt
Issue Price$2,500,000IssuePriceAmt
Purpose1201 WILLIAM STREET PURCHASE APurposeDesc
Defeased0DefeasedInd
On Behalf Of Issuer0OnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Pool Financing0PoolFinancingInd

Tax Exempt Bonds Proceeds TaxExemptBondsProceedsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Retired$935,000RetiredAmt
Total Proceeds$2,500,000TotalProceedsAmt
Issuance Costs From Proceeds$148,081IssuanceCostsFromProceedsAmt
Capital Expenditures$2,351,919CapitalExpendituresAmt
Substantial Completion2008SubstantialCompletionYr
Refunding Tax Exempt Bonds0RefundingTaxExemptBondsInd
Refunding Taxable Bonds0RefundingTaxableBondsInd
Final Allocation MadeYes (1)FinalAllocationMadeInd
Adequate Books And Rec MaintYes (1)AdequateBooksAndRecMaintInd

Tax Exempt Bonds Private Bus Use TaxExemptBondsPrivateBusUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Owning Bond Financed Property0OwningBondFinancedPropertyInd
Any Lease Arrangements0AnyLeaseArrangementsInd
Mgmt Contract Bond Fincd Prop0MgmtContractBondFincdPropInd
Any Research Agreements0AnyResearchAgreementsInd
Private Bus Use By Others0.00000PrivateBusUseByOthersPct
Private Bus Concerning UBI0.00000PrivateBusConcerningUBIPct
Total Private Business Use0.00000TotalPrivateBusinessUsePct
Bond Iss Meet Prvt Sec Pymt Test0BondIssMeetPrvtSecPymtTestInd
Change In Use Bond Financed Prop0ChangeInUseBondFinancedPropInd
Procs Nonqualified Bond Remdtd0ProcsNonqualifiedBondRemdtdInd

Tax Exempt Bonds Arbitrage TaxExemptBondsArbitrageGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Form8038 T Filed0Form8038TFiledInd
Rebate Not Due Yet0RebateNotDueYetInd
Exception To Rebate0ExceptionToRebateInd
No Rebate DueYes (1)NoRebateDueInd
Variable Rate Issue0VariableRateIssueInd
Hedge Identified In Bks And Rec0HedgeIdentifiedInBksAndRecInd
Gross Proceeds Invested In GIC0GrossProceedsInvestedInGICInd
Gross Proceeds Invested0GrossProceedsInvestedInd
Written Proc To Monitor Reqs0WrittenProcToMonitorReqsInd

Procedures Corrective Action ProceduresCorrectiveActionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Procedures Corrective Action0ProceduresCorrectiveActionInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceDATE REBATE COMPUTATION PERFORMEDFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationISSUER NAME: INDUSTRIAL DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY, STAFFORD COUNTY DATE THE REBATE COMPUTATION WAS PERFORMED: 08/08/2012ExplanationTxt

Schedule M IRS990ScheduleM

Works Of Art WorksOfArtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
Contribution2ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$31,950NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
Method Of Determining RevenuesAPPRAISALMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt

Securities Publicly Traded SecuritiesPubliclyTradedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
Contribution39ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$254,415NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
Method Of Determining RevenuesFMVMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form8283 Received2Form8283ReceivedCnt
Any Property That Must Be Held0AnyPropertyThatMustBeHeldInd
Review Process Unusual NC GiftsYes (1)ReviewProcessUnusualNCGiftsInd
Third Parties UsedYes (1)ThirdPartiesUsedInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART I, COLUMN (B):THE NUMBER REPRESENTS THE NUMBER OF CONTRIBUTIONS.
PART I, LINE 32B:AN ART AUCTION HOUSE IS USED IF ART IS TO BE SOLD, RATHER THAN HELD AS PART OF THE COLLECTION. AN INVESTMENT BROKER IS USED TO CONVERT TRADABLE STOCKS TO CASH.

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (6 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 1ATHE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE IS COMPRISED OF THE CHAIR, VICE-CHAIR, IMMEDIATE PAST CHAIR, OPERATIONS AND FINANCE COMMITTEE CHAIR, INVESTMENT COMMITTEE CHAIR, AND THE PRESIDENT OF THE UNIVERSITY, ALL OF WHOM ARE MEMBERS OF THE BOARD.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11BTHE FORM 990 IS REVIEWED BY MANAGEMENT TO ENSURE ACCURACY. THE 990 IS THEN PRESENTED BY CB TO THE AUDIT COMMITTEE FOR REVIEW AND DISCUSSION. WHEN THE AUDIT COMMITTEE HAS SATISFIED ANY QUESTIONS THEY MAY HAVE, THE 990 IS THEN SENT TO THE ENTIRE BOARD FOR THEIR REVIEW AND CB IS AUTHORIZED TO FILE THE FORMS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12CFORMS ARE TRACKED AS TO WHEN TURNED IN. DIRECTORS ARE REMINDED TO DO SO AT THE SUMMER MEETING EACH YEAR WITH FORMS AVAILABLE TO THEM TO COMPLETE AT THAT TIME.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15THE BOARD'S COMPENSATION COMMITTEE RESEARCHES VARIOUS SALARY STUDIES FOR COMPARABLE DATA IT USES IN ESTABLISHING THE CEO'S SALARY. THE CEO, IN COLLABORATION WITH THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS, RESEARCHES VARIOUS INDEPENDENT SALARY STUDIES FOR COMPARABLE DATA THE FOUNDATION THEN USES FOR ESTABLISHING THE SALARIES OF OTHER OFFICERS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19UMW FOUNDATION HAS POSTED ON ITS WEBSITE (WWW.UMWF.ORG) AND THUS MADE AVAILABLE TO THE PUBLIC ITS GOVERNING DOCUMENTS, KEY POLICIES, AND CONTACT INFORMATION TO REQUEST ADDITIONAL INFORMATION.
FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9:CHANGE IN VALUE OF SPLIT-INTEREST AGREEMENTS 37,307. CHANGE IN CSV LIFE INSURANCE 25,834.

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Disregarded Entities IdDisregardedEntitiesGrp (11 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdEINEINPrimary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxtLegal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCdTotal IncomeTotalIncomeAmtEnd Of Year AssetsEndOfYearAssetsAmtBusiness Name Line1DirectControllingEntityName/BusinessNameLine1Txt
ACADEMIC VILLAGE LLC
1125 EMANCIPATION HIGHWAY STE 200FREDERICKSBURGVA22401472547586REAL ESTATE HOLDING COMPANYVA$0$0EAGLE PROPERTY HOLDINGS LLC
EAGLE DEVELOPERS LLC
1125 EMANCIPATION HIGHWAY STE 200FREDERICKSBURGVA22401364710338CONSTRUCTION DEVELOPMENTVA$0$0EAGLE PROPERTY HOLDINGS LLC
EAGLE HOSPITALITY LLC
1125 EMANCIPATION HIGHWAY STE 200FREDERICKSBURGVA22401453538218SELECT SERVICE HOTELVA$13,828$0EAGLE PROPERTY HOLDINGS LLC
EAGLE HOUSING LLC
1125 EMANCIPATION HIGHWAY STE 200FREDERICKSBURGVA22401263699705STUDENT HOUSING PROJECTS HOLDING COMPANYVA$4,523,711$871,712UNIVERSITY OF MARY WASHINGTON FOUNDATION
EAGLE LAND PROPERTIES LLC
1125 EMANCIPATION HIGHWAY STE 200FREDERICKSBURGVA22401REAL ESTATE HOLDING COMPANYVA$0$0EAGLE PROPERTY HOLDINGS LLC
EAGLE PIZZA LLC
1125 EMANCIPATION HIGHWAY STE 200FREDERICKSBURGVA22401271592906RENTAL PROPERTY-RETAILVA$0$0EAGLE PROPERTY HOLDINGS LLC
EAGLE PROPERTY HOLDINGS LLC
1125 EMANCIPATION HIGHWAY STE 200FREDERICKSBURGVA22401300491606REAL ESTATE HOLDING COMPANYVA$248,338$16,688,833UNIVERSITY OF MARY WASHINGTON FOUNDATION
EAGLE VILLAGE I LLC
1125 EMANCIPATION HIGHWAY STE 200FREDERICKSBURGVA22401261479875RENTAL PROPERTY-RETAILVA$10,577$229,957EAGLE PROPERTY HOLDINGS LLC
EAGLE VILLAGE - ROGER DODGER LLC
1125 EMANCIPATION HIGHWAY STE 200FREDERICKSBURGVA22401261729320RENTAL PROPERTY-RETAILVA$7$0EAGLE PROPERTY HOLDINGS LLC
SNOWDEN STREET LLC
1125 EMANCIPATION HIGHWAY STE 200FREDERICKSBURGVA22401300491606RENTAL PROPERTY-RETAILVA$0$0EAGLE PROPERTY HOLDINGS LLC
TRANSITIONAL PROPERTIES LLC
1125 EMANCIPATION HIGHWAY STE 200FREDERICKSBURGVA22401271592853REAL ESTATE HOLDING COMPANYVA$182,027$3,082EAGLE PROPERTY HOLDINGS LLC