STRATEGY STUDIO / PUBLIC DATA EXPLORER

SOUTHWESTERN ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE INC: Form 990, tax year 2021

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
SOUTHWESTERN ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE INC (EIN 37-0525575)
Tax period
2021-01-01 to 2021-12-31
Filed
2022-07-26
IRS object ID
202212079349300806
Schema version
2021v4.2
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2022-07-26T13:35:52-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2021-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN410746749PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1CLIFTONLARSONALLEN LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line12689 COMMERCE DRIVE NW SUITE 201AddressLine1Txt
CityROCHESTERCityNm
State AbbreviationMNStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP55901ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2021-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN370525575EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1SOUTHWESTERN ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE INCBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlSOUTBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone8006378667PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1525 US ROUTE 40AddressLine1Txt
CityGREENVILLECityNm
State AbbreviationILStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP62246ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonREBECCA JACOBSONPersonNm
Person TitleCFOPersonTitleTxt
Phone8006378667PhoneNum
Signature2022-07-21SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Signing Officer SigningOfficerGrp

Person Full Name PersonFullName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Person FirstREBECCAPersonFirstNm
Person LastJACOBSONPersonLastNm
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SSN999009999SSN

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonKATHERINE LUTZKE CPAPreparerPersonNm
PTINP01760889PTIN
Phone5072802300PhoneNum
Preparation2022-07-21PreparationDt

Additional Filer Information AdditionalFilerInformation

Trusted Customer TrustedCustomerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Trusted Customer3TrustedCustomerCd
Authentication Assurance LevelAAL1AuthenticationAssuranceLevelCd
Identity Assurance LevelIAL1IdentityAssuranceLevelCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2021TaxYr
Build TS2022-09-23 18:48:47ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerBOBBY WILLIAMS JRPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1525 US ROUTE 40AddressLine1Txt
CityGREENVILLECityNm
State AbbreviationILStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP62246ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$63,354,486GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501cYes (X)Organization501cInd
Website AddressWWW.SWECI.COMWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1939FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateILLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionAN ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE THAT PROVIDES ELECTRIC DISTRIBUTION SERVICE TO ITS MEMBERS.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body9VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent9VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee84TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers0TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$0PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$0CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$62,186,853PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$61,893,176CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$57,997PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$57,358CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$1,174,609PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$1,403,952CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$63,419,459PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$63,354,486CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$27,014PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$43,719CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$6,942,782PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$9,290,776CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$755,111PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$813,163CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$54,713,254PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$52,250,128CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$62,438,161PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$62,397,786CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$981,298PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$956,700CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$157,322,582TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$164,346,209TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$100,291,483TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$99,790,694TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$57,031,099NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$64,555,515NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionTHE CORPORATE PURPOSE AND GOAL IS, IN ACCORDANCE WITH AND THROUGH THE AUTHORITY GRANTED BY THE LAWS OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS AND THE COOPERATIVE'S ARTICLES OF INCORPORATION AND BYLAWS, TO PROVIDE ENERGY AND OTHER SERVICES TO ITS MEMBERS AT THE LOWEST COST CONSISTENT WITH PRUDENT UTILITY PRACTICES.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
DescTHE COOPERATIVE PROVIDES ELECTRIC SERVICE TO 23,848 MEMBERS IN BOND, MADISON, AND FAYETTE COUNTIES IN ILLINOIS.Desc
Described In Section501c30DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B Required0ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi Endowments0DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsYes (1)GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsYes (1)GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent0BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related Entity0RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document35IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Employee84EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit0UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Members And Shr Gross Income$60,617,760MembersAndShrGrossIncomeAmt
Other Sources Gross Income$3,620,601OtherSourcesGrossIncomeAmt
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt0SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc0SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members9GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member9IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (1)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (1)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (1)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of Committees0MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention Policy0DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
Own WebsiteYes (X)OwnWebsiteInd
Other WebsiteYes (X)OtherWebsiteInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1ANNETTE HARTLIEBBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone8006378667PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1525 US ROUTE 40AddressLine1Txt
CityGREENVILLECityNm
State AbbreviationILStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP62246ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (17 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeIndFormer Ofcr Director TrusteeFormerOfcrDirectorTrusteeInd
ANN SCHWARM
PRESIDENT6.30Yes (X)Yes (X)$25,488$0$0
SANDRA GRAPPERHAUS
VICE PRESIDENT5.80Yes (X)Yes (X)$25,188$0$0
SANDRA NEVINGER
DIRECTOR5.90Yes (X)$25,088$0$0
THEODORE WILLMAN
DIRECTOR2.50Yes (X)$24,888$0$0
ANNETTE HARTLIEB
SECRETARY6.50Yes (X)Yes (X)$25,188$0$0
JARED STINE
DIRECTOR3.80Yes (X)$25,188$0$0
JERRY GAFFNER
TREASURER7.80Yes (X)Yes (X)$25,188$0$0
WILLAIM JENNINGS
DIRECTOR7.00Yes (X)$25,388$0$0
MARVIN WARNER
DIRECTOR2.80Yes (X)$5,988$0$19,500
BOBBY WILLIAMS JR
CEO50.00Yes (X)$243,996$0$125,570
REBECCA JACOBSON
CFO50.00Yes (X)$146,732$0$57,673
ANDREW JONES
VP BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT50.00$162,502$0$104,850Yes (X)
MIKE WILLMAN
VP OF OPERATIONS50.00$154,909$0$95,370Yes (X)
JOEL LAFRANCE
SYSTEM-WIDE TROUBLEMAN FOREMAN49.10$154,120$0$38,009Yes (X)
LEO DUBLO
CONSTRUCTION FOREMAN48.80$151,301$0$49,223Yes (X)
RICHARD MERSINGER
MAINTENANCE FOREMAN48.40$151,168$0$103,656Yes (X)
BARBARA TEDRICK
DIRECTOR - FORMER0.00$12,100$0$0Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$1,384,420TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$593,851TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K34IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees ListedYes (1)FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
L KEELEY CONSTRUCTION
500 S EWING AVE SUITE GST LOUISMO63103CONSTRUCTION CONTRACTING$1,369,080
ASPLUNDH TREE EXPERT COMPANY
1700 SOLUTIONS CENTERCHICAGOIL60677RIGHT OF WAY CLEARANCE$1,143,715
JF ELECTRIC INC
PO BOX 570EDWARDSVILLEIL62025ELECTRICAL CONTRACTING$1,055,489
GDS ASSOCIATES INC
1850 PARKWAY PLACE SUITE 800MARIETTAGA30067POWER SYSTEMS CONSULTING SERVICES$252,780
USIC LOCATING SERVICES
PO BOX 713359CINCINNATIOH45271LOCATING SERVICE$119,740
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K5CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescSALE OF POWERDesc
Business221000BusinessCd
Total Revenue Column$61,893,176TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$61,893,176RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$61,893,176TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$57,358TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$57,358ExclusionAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
CAPITAL CREDITS900099$905,244$905,244
FORFEITED DISCOUNTS & SERVICE REV900099$314,615$314,615
MISCELLANEOUS INCOME221000$184,093$184,093
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$1,403,952OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$63,354,486TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$63,297,128RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$57,358ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$32,719TotalAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$11,000TotalAmt

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$9,290,776TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$813,163TotalAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,740,024TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$5,657,926TotalAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmt
COST OF POWER$27,882,680
DISTRIBUTION EXPENSE -$4,818,537
ADMIN & GENERAL EXPENSE$4,748,892
CONSUMER ACCOUNT EXPENS$1,613,236

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,788,833TotalAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$62,397,786TotalAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,221,100BOYAmt
EOY$2,633,727EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$318,398BOYAmt
EOY$368,657EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,420,622BOYAmt
EOY$4,510,296EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$672,053BOYAmt
EOY$590,888EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,326,931BOYAmt
EOY$1,631,910EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$380,046BOYAmt
EOY$410,972EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$210,301,261LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$64,545,104LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$139,366,652BOYAmt
EOY$145,756,157EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$105,716BOYAmt
EOY$94,374EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,013,042BOYAmt
EOY$4,294,576EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,498,022BOYAmt
EOY$4,054,652EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$157,322,582BOYAmt
EOY$164,346,209EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,373,060BOYAmt
EOY$4,358,632EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$90,691,289BOYAmt
EOY$89,658,500EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,227,134BOYAmt
EOY$5,773,562EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$100,291,483BOYAmt
EOY$99,790,694EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Org Does Not Follow FASB117Yes (X)OrgDoesNotFollowFASB117Ind

Cap Stk Tr Prin Current Funds CapStkTrPrinCurrentFundsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Pd In Cap Srpls Land Bldg Eqp Fund PdInCapSrplsLandBldgEqpFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$57,031,099BOYAmt
EOY$64,555,515EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$57,031,099BOYAmt
EOY$64,555,515EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$157,322,582BOYAmt
EOY$164,346,209EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$956,700ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$6,567,716OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Info In Schedule O Part XIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$685,989OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$685,989BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$3,810,794OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$1,173,427DepreciationAmt
Book Value$2,637,367BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$193,769,902OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$59,665,970DepreciationAmt
Book Value$134,103,932BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$12,034,576OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$3,705,707DepreciationAmt
Book Value$8,328,869BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$145,756,157TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (3 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
ACCUMULATED PROVISION FOR PENSION & BENEFITS$94,374
CONSUMER DEPOSITS$850,275
DEFERRED CREDITS$4,828,913
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$5,773,562TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$63,354,486TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Revenue Not Reported$0RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$63,354,486RevenueSubtotalAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$0RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$63,354,486TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$53,107,010TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$53,107,010ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Other Expenses Not Included$9,290,776OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$9,290,776ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$62,397,786TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART X, LINE 2:THE COOPERATIVE IS EXEMPT FROM INCOME TAXES UNDER SECTION 501(C)(12) OF THE INTERNAL REVENUE CODE (THE CODE). THE COOPERATIVE EVALUATED ITS TAX POSITIONS AND DETERMINED THAT IT HAS NO UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS AS OF DECEMBER 31, 2021 AND 2020.
PART XII, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS ALLOCATED 9,290,776.

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (1)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Recipient Table RecipientTable

Recipient Business Name RecipientBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1ANDERSON HOSPITAL FOUNDATIONBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line16800 STATE ROUTE 162AddressLine1Txt
CityMARYVILLECityNm
State AbbreviationILStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP62062ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Recipient EIN274548522RecipientEIN
IRC Section501(C)(3)IRCSectionDesc
Cash Grant$5,750CashGrantAmt
Non Cash Assistance$0NonCashAssistanceAmt
Purpose Of GrantTHE COOPERATIVE SPONSORS A TABLE AT THE ANNUAL CHARITY AUCTION AND A TEAM AT THE ANNUAL GOLF TOURNAMENT.PurposeOfGrantTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total501c3 Org1Total501c3OrgCnt
Total Other Org0TotalOtherOrgCnt

Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant TypeCOLLEGE SCHOLARSHIPSGrantTypeTxt
Recipient11RecipientCnt
Cash Grant$11,000CashGrantAmt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART I, LINE 2:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationSCHOLARSHIP FUNDS ARE GIVEN TO QUALIFYING RECIPIENTS SELECTED THROUGH AN EXTENSIVE APPLICATION PROCESS CONDUCTED BY THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS SCHOLARSHIP COMMITTEE. ONCE SELECTED, THE FUNDS ARE DISTRIBUTED TO THOSE THAT HAVE EFFECTIVE OVERSIGHT IN THE USE OF THE ASSISTANCE GIVEN, USUALLY THE COLLEGE OR UNIVERSITY. ANY OTHER ASSISTANCE IS PROVIDED FOR A SPECIFIC PURPOSE REVIEWED AND APPROVED BY THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form990 Of Other OrganizationsYes (X)Form990OfOtherOrganizationsInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (8 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
BOBBY WILLIAMS JR
CEO$238,068$0$0$0$5,928$0$104,877$0$20,693$0$369,566$0$0$0
ANDREW JONES
VP BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT$158,816$0$0$0$3,686$0$84,523$0$20,327$0$267,352$0$0$0
RICHARD MERSINGER
MAINTENANCE FOREMAN$150,661$0$0$0$507$0$71,889$0$31,767$0$254,824$0$0$0
MIKE WILLMAN
VP OF OPERATIONS$152,513$0$0$0$2,396$0$71,864$0$23,506$0$250,279$0$0$0
REBECCA JACOBSON
CFO$144,927$0$0$0$1,805$0$33,262$0$24,411$0$204,405$0$0$0
LEO DUBLO
CONSTRUCTION FOREMAN$151,090$0$0$0$211$0$27,674$0$21,549$0$200,524$0$0$0
JOEL LAFRANCE
SYSTEM-WIDE TROUBLEMAN FOREMAN$152,761$0$0$0$1,359$0$5,442$0$32,567$0$192,129$0$0$0
BARBARA TEDRICK
DIRECTOR - FORMER$12,100$0$0$0$0$0$0$0$0$0$12,100$0$12,100$0

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (11 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 6MEMBERSHIP IS REQUIRED. ANY PERSON WHO MEETS THE QUALIFICATIONS FOR MEMBERSHIP, AS OUTLINED IN SECTION 2 OF THE BYLAWS, HAS THE RIGHT TO PARTICIPATE IN THE ORGANIZATION'S GOVERNANCE OR TO RECEIVE DISTRIBUTION OF INCOME OR ASSETS FROM THE ORGANIZATION.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7APER SECTION 2(A)(2) OF THE BYLAWS "MEMBERS SHALL BE ENTITLED TO VOTE AT ANY MEETING OF THE COOPERATIVE AND SHALL BE ENTITLED TO BE ELECTED A DIRECTOR OF THE COOPERATIVE SUBJECT TO COMPLIANCE WITH THE QUALIFICATIONS STATED IN SECTION 5".
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7BSECTION 4(C) OF THE BYLAWS COVERS VOTING ON ISSUES DULY PRESENTED TO THE MEMBERS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 8BTHE ORGANIZATION DOES NOT HAVE ANY COMMITTEES WITH AUTHORITY TO ACT ON BEHALF OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11BTHE 990 IS PREPARED BY THE INDEPENDENT ACCOUNTING FIRM WITH ASSISTANCE FROM THE CFO, REVIEWED AND APPROVED BY THE CEO AND CFO, AND THEN PRESENTED TO THE BOARD FOR APPROVAL PRIOR TO FILING.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12CBY THE INHERENT INTIMATE NATURE AMONG ITS MEMBERS, THE BOARD REGULARLY MONITORS THIS POLICY THROUGH DISCUSSION AND INTERACTION WITH THE PUBLIC AND THE MEMBERS OF THE COOPERATIVE.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15THE COOPERATIVE PARTICIPATES ANNUALLY IN A NATIONAL COMPENSATION STUDY CONDUCTED BY NRECA IN ORDER TO MONITOR AND COMPARE THE RATE OF COMPENSATION FOR ITS CEO. ANNUALLY, EACH DIRECTOR COMPLETES AN EXTENSIVE PERFORMANCE EVALUATION ON THE CEO FOR REVIEW AND DISCUSSION WITH THE COMPLETE BOARD. THE BOARD THEN DETERMINES THE RATE OF COMPENSATION FOR THE CEO. THIS PROCESS IS DOCUMENTED IN THE BOARD MINUTES. THE CEO AND VP OF HUMAN RESOURCES SETS THE STAFF SALARIES USING DATA FROM THE NATIONAL COMPENSATION STUDY CONDUCTED BY NRECA AND EVALUATION OF JOB PERFORMANCE. THIS PROCESS IS DOCUMENTED IN THE PERSONNEL FILES.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19THE COOPERATIVE MAKES GOVERNING DOCUMENTS AND POLICIES AVAILABLE TO ITS MEMBERS UPON REQUEST AT THE CORPORATE HEADQUARTERS. THE COOPERATIVE ALSO PLACES BYLAWS/MEMBER GUIDES AND FINANCIALS ON ITS WEBSITE FOR INSPECTION.
FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9:CAPITAL CREDITS RETIRED -2,908,336. OTHER ADJUSTMENTS 185,276. PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS ALLOCATED 9,290,776.
FORM 990, PART XII, LINE 2C:THE PROCESS FOR OVERSIGHT OF THE ANNUAL FINANCIAL STATEMENT AUDIT AND SELECTION OF AN INDEPENDENT ACCOUNTANT HAS NOT CHANGED.
FORM 990, PART IX, LINE 4THE IRS INSTRUCTIONS STATE THAT PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS PAID BY SECTION 501(C)(12) ORGANIZATIONS TO THEIR MEMBERS SHOULD BE REPORTED ON LINE 4. THE ORGANIZATION HAS INTERPRETED PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS PAID TO MEAN PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS ALLOCATED OR TO BE ALLOCATED FOR THE CURRENT YEAR. SINCE THIS ALLOCATION IS NOT AN EXPENSE UNDER GENERALLY ACCEPTED ACCOUNTING PRINCIPLES (GAAP), THIS HAS RESULTED IN A RECONCILING ITEM TO NET ASSETS IN PART XI, ON PAGE 12 OF THE FORM 990.