STRATEGY STUDIO / NONPROFIT PEOPLE SEARCH

SIMPSON COLLEGE: Form 990, tax year 2020

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
SIMPSON COLLEGE (EIN 42-0680389)
Tax period
2020-06-01 to 2021-05-31
Filed
2022-04-15
IRS object ID
202221059349300717
Schema version
2020v4.2
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2022-04-15T11:00:07-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2021-05-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN450250958PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Eide Bailly LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1800 Nicollet Mall Ste 1300AddressLine1Txt
CityMinneapolisCityNm
State AbbreviationMNStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP554027033ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2020-06-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN420680389EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Simpson CollegeBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlSIMPBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone5159616251PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1701 North C StAddressLine1Txt
CityIndianolaCityNm
State AbbreviationIAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP50125ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonDee McCormickPersonNm
Person TitleVP for Business and FinancePersonTitleTxt
Phone5159616251PhoneNum
Signature2022-04-14SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Signing Officer SigningOfficerGrp

Person Full Name PersonFullName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Person FirstDeePersonFirstNm
Person LastMcCormickPersonLastNm
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SSN999009999SSN

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonDeb Nelson CPAPreparerPersonNm
PTINP01264758PTIN
Phone6122536500PhoneNum
Preparation2022-04-14PreparationDt

Additional Filer Information AdditionalFilerInformation

Trusted Customer TrustedCustomerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Trusted Customer0TrustedCustomerCd
Authentication Assurance LevelAAL1AuthenticationAssuranceLevelCd
Identity Assurance LevelIAL1IdentityAssuranceLevelCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2020TaxYr
Build TS2022-09-23 18:48:47ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerMarsha KelliherPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1701 North C StAddressLine1Txt
CityIndianolaCityNm
State AbbreviationIAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP50125ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$102,397,347GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website Addresswww.simpson.eduWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1860FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateIALegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionA residential, coeducational, undergraduate, liberal arts collegeActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body45VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent44VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee1335TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers75TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI-$3,341TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$4,711,572PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$10,161,494CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$53,529,043PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$53,451,359CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$2,603,028PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$19,028,691CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$374,758PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$5,439CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$61,218,401PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$82,646,983CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$26,694,779PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$27,187,342CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$20,104,609PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$18,980,968CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$877,889CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$17,581,220PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$18,898,105CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$64,380,608PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$65,066,415CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses-$3,162,207PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$17,580,568CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$150,227,314TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$180,912,943TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$37,095,369TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$43,481,351TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$113,131,945NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$137,431,592NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionThrough innovative learning opportunities, individual student attention, and an unwavering commitment to inclusive educational access, Simpson College cultivates a diverse community of learners to lead lives of meaning and purpose.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
Expense$27,187,342ExpenseAmt
Grant$27,187,342GrantAmt
DescSimpson College provides financial assistance to students including federal, state and private funding as well as other forms of student aid and work programs. During the year 1,049 students received some type of financial aid.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$14,017,953ExpenseAmt
Revenue$44,962,346RevenueAmt
DescSimpson College provides instruction to approximately 1,268 full and part-time undergraduate students, with major areas of instruction in business, elementary education, sciences and the arts.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty3 ProgSrvcAccomActy3Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$10,655,181ExpenseAmt
DescSimpson College provides student services support to its students in the areas of student development, academic and career counseling, cholege chaplain, intercollegiate athletics, financial aid counseling and other services.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty Other ProgSrvcAccomActyOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$7,453,348ExpenseAmt
Revenue$8,489,013RevenueAmt
DescSimpson College provides auxiliary services to support student instruction and residence life. Auxiliary services include all student housing and food services, college bookstore and conference programs.Desc
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Other Prog Srvc Expense$7,453,348TotalOtherProgSrvcExpenseAmt
Total Other Prog Srvc Revenue$8,489,013TotalOtherProgSrvcRevenueAmt
Total Program Service Expenses$59,313,824TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (1)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (1)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying ActivitiesYes (1)LobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of ArtYes (1)CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi EndowmentsYes (1)DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecYes (1)ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingYes (1)SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsYes (1)GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsYes (1)TaxExemptBondsInd
Invest Tax Exempt Bonds0InvestTaxExemptBondsInd
Escrow Account0EscrowAccountInd
On Behalf Of Issuer0OnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans0EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit Trans0PYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent0BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContriYes (1)DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (1)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntYes (1)RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Transaction With Control Ent0TransactionWithControlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org0TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document65IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee1335EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit0UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contributions0QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed Of0Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt0SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc0SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members45GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member44IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or Stockholders0MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board Members0ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To Approva0DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Dee McCormickBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone5159616251PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1701 N C StAddressLine1Txt
CityIndianolaCityNm
State AbbreviationIAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP50125ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (53 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
Terrance J Liilis
Chair0.50Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Deanna Strable-Soethout
Treasurer0.50Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Terry W Handley
Secretary0.50Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Jay R Byers
Trustee0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
Nicole L Crain
Trustee0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
Michael J DeVito
Trustee0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
Dr Robert Downing
Trustee0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
Rick W Exline
Trustee0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
Steven C Fiterman
Trustee0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
Ben F Gaumer
Trustee0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
Denise M Griffey
Trustee0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
Joseph D Hall
Trustee0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
Kamie Downing Haynes
Trustee0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mark L Hill
Trustee0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
John D Hines
Trustee0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
Steven G Johnson
Trustee0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
Thomas J Keating
Trustee0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
Ronald L Keller
Trustee0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
Sean M Kennedy
Trustee0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
Izaah JB Knox
Trustee0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
Virginia Lauridsen
Trustee0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
John T Lawlor
Trustee0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
Kyle M Liske
Trustee0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
Jay T Marshall
Trustee0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
Barbara A Miller
Trustee0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
Alejandro Munoz
Trustee0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
Renee D Murphy
Trustee0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
Jayna J Niblock
Trustee0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
John R Norris
Trustee0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
Nile D Ramsbottom
Trustee0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
Steven A Ramsey
Trustee0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
Sunnie Richer
Trustee0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
Robert G Riley
Trustee0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
Gary L Ruble
Trustee0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
Thomas C Shandley
Trustee0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
James C Spooner
Trustee0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
Kirk J Tyler
Trustee0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
Susan E Voss
Trustee0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
Juli M Wileman
Trustee0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
Maribeth Wright
Trustee0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
Marsha Kelliher
President40.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$280,625$0$32,373
Timothy Bonney
Ex-Officio0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
Brianne Fitzgerald
Ex-Officio0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
Laurie Haller
Ex-Officio0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
Heecheon Jeon
Ex-Officio0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
Jay Simmons
President (thru June 2020)40.00Yes (X)$157,938$0$13,190
Phillip PenaVP for Business
& Finance (as of Nov 2020)40.00Yes (X)$26,366$0$0
Cathy HochVP for Business
& Finance (thru Mar 2021)40.00Yes (X)$135,985$0$13,601
John Woell
Academic Dean40.00$107,409$0$15,451Yes (X)
Robert J Lane
VP for College Advancement40.00$205,710$0$17,651Yes (X)
Deborah Tierney
VP for Enrollment40.00$123,384$0$10,344Yes (X)
Heidi LevineVP for Planning
& Student Development40.00$113,519$0$9,914Yes (X)
Tracie L Pavon
Asst VP for Enrollment40.00$103,250$0$18,489Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$1,254,186TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$131,013TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K9IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
SSC Service Solutions Compass Group USA
PO Box 417632BostonMA022417632Facilities Mgmt Services$3,019,815
Sodexo Inc Affiliates
PO Box 360170PittsburghPA152516170Food Services$2,021,828
Ellucian Inc
62814 Collections Center DrChicagoIL60693IT Services$270,885
QCI Inc
4300 Westown Pkwy Ste 150West Des MoinesIA50266Consulting$239,482
Downing Construction Inc
2500 W Second Ave PO Box 196IndianolaIA50125Construction$217,115
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K12CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Government Grants$7,318,467GovernmentGrantsAmt
All Other Contributions$2,843,027AllOtherContributionsAmt
Noncash Contributions$291,127NoncashContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$10,161,494TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (5 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Tuition and Fees611310$44,962,346$44,962,346
Residence Halls721310$4,223,215$4,223,215
Food Services722210$3,762,474$3,762,474
Bookstore451211$35,949$35,949
Conference Programs721000$8,507$8,507

Total Oth Program Service Rev TotalOthProgramServiceRevGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$458,868TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$458,868RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$53,451,359TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$1,340,208TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue-$3,341UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$1,343,549ExclusionAmt

Royalties Revenue RoyaltiesRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$2,959TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$2,959ExclusionAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$2,480RealAmt

Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$0RealAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$2,480RealAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$2,480TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$2,480ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$37,438,847SecuritiesAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$19,719,415SecuritiesAmt
Other$30,949OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$17,719,432SecuritiesAmt
Other-$30,949OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$17,688,483TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$17,688,483ExclusionAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$82,646,983TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$53,451,359RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue-$3,341UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$19,037,471ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$27,187,342TotalAmt
Program Services$27,187,342ProgramServicesAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$647,233TotalAmt
Management And General$647,233ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$13,925,935TotalAmt
Program Services$12,136,757ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,234,020ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$555,158FundraisingAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$85,303TotalAmt
Program Services$71,123ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$10,927ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$3,253FundraisingAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,297,675TotalAmt
Program Services$2,806,474ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$351,145ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$140,056FundraisingAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,024,822TotalAmt
Program Services$864,427ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$118,147ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$42,248FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$184,311TotalAmt
Management And General$184,311ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$96,470TotalAmt
Management And General$96,470ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$77,423TotalAmt
Management And General$77,423ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$85,478TotalAmt
Management And General$85,478ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$167,757TotalAmt
Program Services$121,170ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$46,587ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$715,995TotalAmt
Program Services$452,037ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$203,168ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$60,790FundraisingAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$656,668TotalAmt
Program Services$305,075ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$351,593ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$7,990,980TotalAmt
Program Services$7,649,872ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$341,011ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$97FundraisingAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$121,282TotalAmt
Program Services$96,441ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$18,888ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$5,953FundraisingAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,289,554TotalAmt
Program Services$1,212,574ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$74,671ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$2,309FundraisingAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,531,474TotalAmt
Program Services$3,212,172ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$309,106ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$10,196FundraisingAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (3 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fellowships and Scholar$1,330,445$1,330,445
Athletics$641,083$641,083
Memberships$155,370$10,829$144,541

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,853,815TotalAmt
Program Services$1,216,003ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$579,983ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$57,829FundraisingAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$65,066,415TotalAmt
Program Services$59,313,824ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$4,874,702ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$877,889FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,566,687BOYAmt
EOY$541,663EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$7,753,982BOYAmt
EOY$21,461,924EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,864,564BOYAmt
EOY$1,331,102EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,156,216BOYAmt
EOY$1,324,859EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,355,360BOYAmt
EOY$1,232,858EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$123,984,406LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$74,747,310LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$51,052,928BOYAmt
EOY$49,237,096EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$57,292,517BOYAmt
EOY$74,255,837EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$24,222,185BOYAmt
EOY$30,184,024EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,862,875BOYAmt
EOY$1,343,580EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$100,000BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$150,227,314BOYAmt
EOY$180,912,943EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$9,522,567BOYAmt
EOY$5,312,565EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$1,224,084EOYAmt

Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$21,358,363BOYAmt
EOY$32,180,000EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,533,203BOYAmt
EOY$1,807,137EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,681,236BOYAmt
EOY$2,957,565EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$37,095,369BOYAmt
EOY$43,481,351EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows FASB117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind

No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$33,202,269BOYAmt
EOY$35,417,934EOYAmt

Donor Restriction Net Assets DonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$79,929,676BOYAmt
EOY$102,013,658EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$113,131,945BOYAmt
EOY$137,431,592EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$150,227,314BOYAmt
EOY$180,912,943EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$17,580,568ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$6,637,770NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$81,309OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredYes (1)FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd
Federal Grant Audit PerformedYes (1)FederalGrantAuditPerformedInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SchoolYes (X)SchoolInd

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule C IRS990ScheduleC

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Volunteers0VolunteersInd
Paid Staff Or Management0PaidStaffOrManagementInd
Media Advertisements0MediaAdvertisementsInd
Mailings Members0MailingsMembersInd
Publications Or Broadcast0PublicationsOrBroadcastInd
Grants Other OrganizationsYes (1)GrantsOtherOrganizationsInd
Grants Other Organizations$924GrantsOtherOrganizationsAmt
Direct Contact Legislators0DirectContactLegislatorsInd
Rallies Demonstrations0RalliesDemonstrationsInd
Other Activities0OtherActivitiesInd
Total Lobbying Expenditures$924TotalLobbyingExpendituresAmt
Not Described Section501c30NotDescribedSection501c3Ind

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePart II-B, Line 1:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationSimpson College is a member of the Iowa Association of Independent Colleges and Universities (IAICU.) As calculated by IAICU, 5% of the annual dues paid by the College are attributed to lobby expenditures incurred by IAICU.ExplanationTxt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Art Public Exhibition Amounts ArtPublicExhibitionAmountsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Revenues Included$0RevenuesIncludedAmt
Assets Included$121,640AssetsIncludedAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Collection Used Pub ExhibitionYes (X)CollectionUsedPubExhibitionInd
Solicited Assets Sale0SolicitedAssetsSaleInd

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$83,186,018BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$562,808ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$25,410,997InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$2,058,771GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$1,666,558OtherExpendituresAmt
Administrative Expenses$102,423AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$105,332,071EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$83,808,538BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$765,451ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$2,393,441InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$2,042,737GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$1,638,675OtherExpendituresAmt
Administrative Expenses$100,000AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$83,186,018EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$86,947,836BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$802,421ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses-$298,968InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$1,958,464GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$1,584,287OtherExpendituresAmt
Administrative Expenses$100,000AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$83,808,538EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$84,607,132BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$514,633ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$6,377,808InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$2,513,981GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$1,937,756OtherExpendituresAmt
Administrative Expenses$100,000AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$86,947,836EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$79,823,014BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$876,375ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$8,103,638InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$2,207,057GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$1,888,838OtherExpendituresAmt
Administrative Expenses$100,000AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$84,607,132EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Board Designated Balance EOY0.11000BoardDesignatedBalanceEOYPct
Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY0.89000PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Endowments Held Unrelated OrgYes (1)EndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related Org0EndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$260,683InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$2,219,994OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$2,480,677BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$277,177InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$102,372,762OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$58,974,869DepreciationAmt
Book Value$43,675,070BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$17,470,564OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$15,772,441DepreciationAmt
Book Value$1,698,123BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$1,383,226OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$1,383,226BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$49,237,096TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Securities OtherSecuritiesGrp (9 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmtMethod ValuationMethodValuationCd
Small Cap Equity Funds International$1,866,866F
International Emerging Markets Stock$3,071,679F
Fixed Income Funds US$1,739,376F
Fixed Income Funds International$1,953,442F
Private Equity Limited Partnerships$3,518,043F
Hedge Funds$14,179,332F
Beneficial Interests in Trusts$3,802,580F
Cash Surrender Value of Life Insurance Policies$46,356F
Other$6,350F
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Securities$30,184,024TotalBookValueSecuritiesAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (2 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
Student, Personnel, and Sundry Deposits$1,157,017
US Government Loan Funds Refundable$1,800,548
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$2,957,565TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$62,761,111TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$6,637,770NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Donated Services And Use Fclts$551,442DonatedServicesAndUseFcltsAmt
Other Revenue-$27,106,033OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported-$19,916,821RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$82,677,932RevenueSubtotalAmt
Other Revenues Not Included-$30,949OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt-$30,949RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$82,646,983TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$38,461,464TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Donated Services Use Fclts$551,442DonatedServicesUseFcltsAmt
Other Expenses Included$30,949OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$582,391ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$37,879,073ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Other Expenses Not Included$27,187,342OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$27,187,342ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$65,066,415TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (7 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Part III, Line 4:Simpson College maintains various artworks utilized primarily for the preservation of the heritage of the College and general public observation.
Part V, Line 4:The Simpson College endowment is intended to support the College's students by providing scholarships and loan funds as well as the College by providing support for operations and facilities.
Part X, Line 2:The College is exempt from income taxes under Section 501 of the Internal Revenue Code and a similar provision of state law. However, the College is subject to federal income tax on any unrelated business taxable income. The College files tax returns in the U.S. federal jurisdiction.
Part XI, Line 2d - Other Adjustments:Scholarships in Expenses for Tax Purposes -27,187,342. Change in Fair Value of Interest Rate Swap Agreements 81,309.
Part XI, Line 4b - Other Adjustments:Loss on Disposal of Asset in Revenue for Tax Purposes -30,949.
Part XII, Line 2d - Other Adjustments:Loss on Disposal of Assets in Revenue for Tax Purposes 30,949.
Part XII, Line 4b - Other Adjustments:Scholarships in Expenses for Tax Purposes 27,187,342.

Schedule E IRS990ScheduleE

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Nondiscriminatory Policy StmtYes (1)NondiscriminatoryPolicyStmtInd
Policy Stmt In Brochures EtcYes (1)PolicyStmtInBrochuresEtcInd
Plcy Pblczd Via Broadcast MediaYes (1)PlcyPblczdViaBroadcastMediaInd
Maintain Racial Comp RecsYes (1)MaintainRacialCompRecsInd
Maintain Scholarships RecsYes (1)MaintainScholarshipsRecsInd
Maintain Cpy Of Brochures EtcYes (1)MaintainCpyOfBrochuresEtcInd
Maintain Cpy Of All SolYes (1)MaintainCpyOfAllSolInd
Discriminate Race Stdnts Rghts0DiscriminateRaceStdntsRghtsInd
Discriminate Race Admiss Plcy0DiscriminateRaceAdmissPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Emplm Fculty0DiscriminateRaceEmplmFcultyInd
Discriminate Race Schs0DiscriminateRaceSchsInd
Discriminate Race Educ Plcy0DiscriminateRaceEducPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Use Of Fclts0DiscriminateRaceUseOfFcltsInd
Discriminate Race Athlt Prog0DiscriminateRaceAthltProgInd
Discriminate Race Other Acty0DiscriminateRaceOtherActyInd
Government Financial Aid RcvdYes (1)GovernmentFinancialAidRcvdInd
Government Financial Aid Rvkd0GovernmentFinancialAidRvkdInd
Compliance With Rev Proc7550Yes (1)ComplianceWithRevProc7550Ind

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Schedule E, Part I, Line 3College publications to students, alumni, and friends of the College include a statement of the College's racial nondiscrimination policy.
Schedule E, Part I, Line 6The College receives student financial aid under Title IV and Higher Education Emergency Relief funds, as well as other assistance from the Federal government and from the State of Iowa in the form of pass-through aid to qualifying students.

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (1)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant TypeScholarshipsGrantTypeTxt
Recipient1058RecipientCnt
Cash Grant$27,187,342CashGrantAmt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePart I, Line 2:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationScholarships are awarded to students through the Financial aid office and are based on stated criteria.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Housing Allowance Or ResidenceYes (X)HousingAllowanceOrResidenceInd
Written Policy Ref T And E ExpnssYes (1)WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd
Substantiation RequiredYes (1)SubstantiationRequiredInd
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org0CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs0CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org0CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs0CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed PaymentsYes (1)AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract Exception0InitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (4 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
Marsha Kelliher
President$211,548$0$50,000$0$19,077$0$0$0$33,033$0$313,658$0$0$0
Robert J Lane
VP for College Advancement$186,777$0$15,000$0$3,933$0$6,158$0$12,721$0$224,589$0$0$0
Jay Simmons
President (thru June 2020)$150,500$0$0$0$7,438$0$6,171$0$8,162$0$172,271$0$0$0
Cathy HochVP for Business
& Finance (thru Mar 2021)$132,885$0$3,100$0$0$0$3,963$0$10,689$0$150,637$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Part I, Line 1aThe President is provided a residence in which she is required to live. The residence is regularly used for college functions.
Part I, Line 7Discretionary bonuses were paid due to additional responsibilities assumed in response to COVID-19 impact.

Schedule K IRS990ScheduleK

Tax Exempt Bonds Issues TaxExemptBondsIssuesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd

Issuer Name IssuerName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Iowa Higher Education Loan AuthorityBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond Issuer EIN421235696BondIssuerEIN
CUSIP4624607S9CUSIPNum
Bond Issued2020-11-25BondIssuedDt
Issue Price$32,439,068IssuePriceAmt
PurposeRefund Bonds Issued 06/26/2013 and Capital ProjectsPurposeDesc
Defeased0DefeasedInd
On Behalf Of Issuer0OnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Pool Financing0PoolFinancingInd

Tax Exempt Bonds Proceeds TaxExemptBondsProceedsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Total Proceeds$32,439,068TotalProceedsAmt
In Reserve Fund$2,280,869InReserveFundAmt
Issuance Costs From Proceeds$648,779IssuanceCostsFromProceedsAmt
Capital Expenditures$8,001,600CapitalExpendituresAmt
Other Spent Proceeds$21,507,821OtherSpentProceedsAmt
Refunding Tax Exempt BondsYes (1)RefundingTaxExemptBondsInd
Refunding Taxable Bonds0RefundingTaxableBondsInd
Final Allocation Made0FinalAllocationMadeInd
Adequate Books And Rec Maint0AdequateBooksAndRecMaintInd

Tax Exempt Bonds Private Bus Use TaxExemptBondsPrivateBusUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Owning Bond Financed Property0OwningBondFinancedPropertyInd
Any Lease Arrangements0AnyLeaseArrangementsInd
Mgmt Contract Bond Fincd Prop0MgmtContractBondFincdPropInd
Any Research Agreements0AnyResearchAgreementsInd
Private Bus Use By Others0.00000PrivateBusUseByOthersPct
Private Bus Concerning UBI0.00000PrivateBusConcerningUBIPct
Total Private Business Use0.00000TotalPrivateBusinessUsePct
Bond Iss Meet Prvt Sec Pymt Test0BondIssMeetPrvtSecPymtTestInd
Change In Use Bond Financed Prop0ChangeInUseBondFinancedPropInd
Procs Nonqualified Bond RemdtdYes (1)ProcsNonqualifiedBondRemdtdInd

Tax Exempt Bonds Arbitrage TaxExemptBondsArbitrageGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Form8038 T Filed0Form8038TFiledInd
Rebate Not Due Yet0RebateNotDueYetInd
Exception To Rebate0ExceptionToRebateInd
No Rebate Due0NoRebateDueInd
Variable Rate Issue0VariableRateIssueInd
Hedge Identified In Bks And Rec0HedgeIdentifiedInBksAndRecInd
Gross Proceeds Invested In GIC0GrossProceedsInvestedInGICInd
Gross Proceeds Invested0GrossProceedsInvestedInd
Written Proc To Monitor ReqsYes (1)WrittenProcToMonitorReqsInd

Procedures Corrective Action ProceduresCorrectiveActionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Procedures Corrective ActionYes (1)ProceduresCorrectiveActionInd

Schedule M IRS990ScheduleM

Cars And Other Vehicles CarsAndOtherVehiclesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
Contribution1ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$7,422NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
Method Of Determining RevenuesFMVMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt

Securities Publicly Traded SecuritiesPubliclyTradedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
Contribution15ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$278,926NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
Method Of Determining RevenuesFMVMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt

Other Non Cash Contri Table OtherNonCashContriTableGrp (2 entries)

Non Cash CheckboxNonCashCheckboxIndDescDescContributionContributionCntNoncash Contributions Rpt F990NoncashContributionsRptF990AmtMethod Of Determining RevenuesMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt
Yes (X)Furniture and Fixtures2$4,509FMV
Yes (X)Miscellaneous2$270FMV
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form8283 Received0Form8283ReceivedCnt
Any Property That Must Be Held0AnyPropertyThatMustBeHeldInd
Review Process Unusual NC GiftsYes (1)ReviewProcessUnusualNCGiftsInd
Third Parties Used0ThirdPartiesUsedInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePart I, Column (b):FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationThe number of contributions is reported in column (b)ExplanationTxt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (6 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 1Between meetings of the Board, the Executive Committee shall have general supervision of the adminstration and property of the College, except that, unless specifically empowered by the Board to do so, it may not take any action inconsistent with a prior act of the Board, award degrees, alter bylaws, locate permanent buildings on tax-exempt property held for College purposes, remove or appoint the President of the College, or take any action which has been reserved by the Board. Minutes of each meeting are presented to the Board at the full Board of trustees meeting for comment and such action as is appropriate.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 11bThe Audit and Compliance committee will review a draft of the return prior to filing and the final return will be made available to all trustees prior to filing.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 12cBoard members are required to disclose conflicts for any action item involving a potential conflict of interest, whether present at a Board or committee meeting or absent. The conflict will be noted in the meeting minutes. The Board member may not participate in or be allowed to hear the Board or committee discussion of the matter except to disclose material facts or answer questions. The Board member shall not attempt to exert influence with respect to the matter. The Board member shall not be counted toward the quorum of the meeting, will not be allowed to vote on the matter and shall not be present during the vote unless it is by secret ballot. All these considerations will be reflected in the meeting minutes.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 15The Executive Compensation Committee of the Board of Trustees, consisting of the Treasurer, Secretary, and Chairperson of the Board, is charged with reviewing and approving the compensation of the President. The Committee uses comparability data (such as a survey issued to several private colleges regarding total compensation for a President) conducted by an independent compensation consultant and salary data for private college administrator positions provided by a state association of independent private colleges. The most recent review was conducted in May, 2021. The President establishes salaries for all other key employees based on comparable market data and other factors.
Form 990, Part VI, Section C, line 19Upon written request to the president or Vice President for Business & Finance, the College will make its governing documents, conflict of interest policy, and financial statements available to the public.
Form 990, Part XI, line 9:Change in Fair Value of Interest Rate Swap Agreements 81,309.

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp

Disregarded Entity Name DisregardedEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Dennis L & Hildreth M Murphy Scholarship TrustBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1701 N C StAddressLine1Txt
CityIndianolaCityNm
State AbbreviationIAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP50125ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN426585405EIN
Primary ActivitiesScholarship AwardsPrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateIALegalDomicileStateCd
Exempt Code Section501(c)(3)ExemptCodeSectionTxt
Public Charity StatusLine 12a, IPublicCharityStatusTxt

Direct Controlling Entity Name DirectControllingEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Simpson CollegeBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Controlled OrganizationYes (1)ControlledOrganizationInd

Id Related Org Txbl Corp Tr IdRelatedOrgTxblCorpTrGrp

Related Organization Name RelatedOrganizationName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Amy Robertson FundBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1701 N C StAddressLine1Txt
CityIndianolaCityNm
State AbbreviationIAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP50125ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Primary ActivitiesScholarshpsPrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateIALegalDomicileStateCd

Direct Controlling Entity Name DirectControllingEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Simpson CollegeBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Entity TypeTEntityTypeTxt
Share Of Total Income$682,734ShareOfTotalIncomeAmt
Share Of EOY Assets$12,900,149ShareOfEOYAssetsAmt
Ownership1.00000OwnershipPct
Controlled OrganizationYes (1)ControlledOrganizationInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts Rylts0ReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth Org0GiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth OrgYes (1)GiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other Org0LoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth Org0LoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Div Related Organization0DivRelatedOrganizationInd
Asset Sale To Other Org0AssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other Org0AssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset Exchange0AssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth Org0RentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth Org0RentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth Org0PerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other Org0PerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of Facilities0SharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees Sharing0PaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other Org0ReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other Org0ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other Org0TransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other Org0TransferFromOtherOrgInd