CAROLINA DAY SCHOOL INC: Form 990, tax year 2020
View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗
- Organization
- CAROLINA DAY SCHOOL INC (EIN 56-0125490)
- Tax period
- 2020-07-01 to 2021-06-30
- Filed
- 2022-05-10
- IRS object ID
- 202221309349302832
- Schema version
- 2020v4.2
- Source
- Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica
Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.
- Return header
- Form 990
- Schedule A
- Schedule B
- Schedule D
- Schedule E
- Schedule G
- Schedule I
- Schedule J
- Schedule L
- Schedule M
- Schedule O
Return header ReturnHeader
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return | 2022-05-10T13:10:14-05:00 | ReturnTs |
| Tax Period End | 2021-06-30 | TaxPeriodEndDt |
Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Firm EIN | 560747981 | PreparerFirmEIN |
Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | DIXON HUGHES GOODMAN LLP | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 500 RIDGEFIELD COURT | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | ASHEVILLE | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | NC | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 28806 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return Type | 990 | ReturnTypeCd |
| Tax Period Begin | 2020-07-01 | TaxPeriodBeginDt |
Filer Filer
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EIN | 560125490 | EIN |
Business Name BusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | CAROLINA DAY SCHOOL INC | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Control | CARO | BusinessNameControlTxt |
| Phone | 8282740757 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 1345 HENDERSONVILLE ROAD | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | ASHEVILLE | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | NC | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 28803 | ZIPCd |
Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person | STEPHANIE WHITNEY | PersonNm |
| Person Title | HEAD OF SCHOOL | PersonTitleTxt |
| Phone | 8282740757 | PhoneNum |
| Signature | 2022-05-10 | SignatureDt |
| Discuss With Paid Preparer | Yes (1) | DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd |
Signing Officer SigningOfficerGrp
Person Full Name PersonFullName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person First | STEPHANIE | PersonFirstNm |
| Person Last | WHITNEY | PersonLastNm |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| SSN | 999009999 | SSN |
Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Person | AMY BIBBY | PreparerPersonNm |
| PTIN | P00445891 | PTIN |
| Phone | 8282542254 | PhoneNum |
| Preparation | 2022-05-10 | PreparationDt |
Additional Filer Information AdditionalFilerInformation
Trusted Customer TrustedCustomerGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Trusted Customer | 2 | TrustedCustomerCd |
| Authentication Assurance Level | AAL1 | AuthenticationAssuranceLevelCd |
| Identity Assurance Level | IAL1 | IdentityAssuranceLevelCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Tax | 2020 | TaxYr |
| Build TS | 2022-09-23 18:48:47Z | BuildTS |
Form 990 IRS990
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Principal Officer | STEPHANIE WHITNEY | PrincipalOfficerNm |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 1345 HENDERSONVILLE ROAD | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | ASHEVILLE | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | NC | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 28803 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Gross Receipts | $19,898,186 | GrossReceiptsAmt |
| Group Return For Affiliates | 0 | GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd |
| Organization501c3 | Yes (X) | Organization501c3Ind |
| Website Address | WWW.CAROLINADAY.ORG | WebsiteAddressTxt |
| Type Of Organization Corp | Yes (X) | TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd |
| Formation | 1936 | FormationYr |
| Legal Domicile State | NC | LegalDomicileStateCd |
| Activity Or Mission | PROVIDING EDUCATIONAL SERVICES TO THE COMMUNITY | ActivityOrMissionDesc |
| Voting Members Governing Body | 20 | VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt |
| Voting Members Independent | 20 | VotingMembersIndependentCnt |
| Total Employee | 218 | TotalEmployeeCnt |
| Total Volunteers | 0 | TotalVolunteersCnt |
| Total Gross UBI | $0 | TotalGrossUBIAmt |
| Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm | $0 | NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt |
| PY Contributions Grants | $699,862 | PYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| CY Contributions Grants | $2,674,352 | CYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| PY Program Service Revenue | $18,074,534 | PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| CY Program Service Revenue | $16,889,202 | CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| PY Investment Income | $211,251 | PYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| CY Investment Income | $265,371 | CYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| PY Other Revenue | $28,183 | PYOtherRevenueAmt |
| CY Other Revenue | $46,022 | CYOtherRevenueAmt |
| PY Total Revenue | $19,013,830 | PYTotalRevenueAmt |
| CY Total Revenue | $19,874,947 | CYTotalRevenueAmt |
| PY Grants And Similar Paid | $3,676,266 | PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| CY Grants And Similar Paid | $3,957,152 | CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| PY Benefits Paid To Members | $0 | PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| CY Benefits Paid To Members | $0 | CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $12,393,107 | PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $11,121,914 | CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Fundraising Expense | $483,808 | CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt |
| PY Other Expenses | $4,082,033 | PYOtherExpensesAmt |
| CY Other Expenses | $3,748,376 | CYOtherExpensesAmt |
| PY Total Expenses | $20,151,406 | PYTotalExpensesAmt |
| CY Total Expenses | $18,827,442 | CYTotalExpensesAmt |
| PY Revenues Less Expenses | -$1,137,576 | PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| CY Revenues Less Expenses | $1,047,505 | CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| Total Assets BOY | $29,276,919 | TotalAssetsBOYAmt |
| Total Assets EOY | $29,412,889 | TotalAssetsEOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities BOY | $7,703,636 | TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities EOY | $5,607,802 | TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY | $21,573,283 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY | $23,805,087 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt |
| Info In Schedule O Part III | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd |
| Mission | TO INSPIRE STUDENTS TO BECOME INNOVATIVE THINKERS WHO COMMUNICATE WITH INTELLIGENCE AND CLARITY, CREATE WITH VISION AND PURPOSE, AND ACT WITH COURAGE AND COMPASSION TO CONFIDENTLY MAKE A MEANINGFUL DIFFERENCE IN THE WORLD. | MissionDesc |
| Significant New Program Srvc | 0 | SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd |
| Significant Change | 0 | SignificantChangeInd |
| Expense | $16,564,847 | ExpenseAmt |
| Grant | $3,957,152 | GrantAmt |
| Revenue | $18,948,394 | RevenueAmt |
| Desc | SEE SCHEDULE O CAROLINA DAY SCHOOL IS A MODEL OF ACADEMIC EXCELLENCE, A LEADER IN CURRICULAR INNOVATION, AND IS AN ACCREDITED, CO-EDUCATIONAL, SECULAR, INDEPENDENT DAY SCHOOL. IN THE 2020-21 SCHOOL YEAR, 556 STUDENTS ENROLLED IN PRE-KINDERGARTEN THROUGH GRADE 12. CAROLINA DAY SCHOOL DELIVERS A RICH, DIFFERENTIATED, PERSONALLY RIGOROUS, WHOLE-CHILD ACADEMIC EXPERIENCE THAT FOSTERS ACCELERATED LEARNING, AND PROVIDES SUPPORTS WHEN NECESSARY TO ACADEMICALLY CAPABLE, MOTIVATED AND INQUISITIVE STUDENTS. EXPERIENTIAL, DEEP LEARNING IS HALLMARK TO THE PROGRAM. EXCEPTIONAL FACULTY DEEPLY KNOW THEIR STUDENTS, WHO DISTINGUISH THEMSELVES NOT ONLY ACADEMICALLY, BUT ALSO ARTISTICALLY, ATHLETICALLY, AND SOCIALLY IN A COMMUNITY BUILT ON TRUST, INTEGRITY, AND KINDNESS.THE KEY SCHOOL, ESTABLISHED IN 1997, IS A DIVISION OF CAROLINA DAY SCHOOL. THE KEY SCHOOL PROVIDES EDUCATIONAL OPPORTUNITIES FOR BRIGHT STUDENTS WITH LANGUAGE-BASED LEARNING DIFFERENCES. THE KEY SCHOOL'S TEACHER TRAINING PROGRAM IS ACCREDITED BY THE INTERNATIONAL MULTISENSORY STRUCTURED LANGUAGE EDUCATION COUNCIL, THE ACADEMY OF ORTON- GILLINGHAM PRACTITIONERS AND EDUCATORS, AND THE INTERNATIONAL DYSLEXIA ASSOCIATION. | Desc |
| Total Program Service Expenses | $16,564,847 | TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt |
| Described In Section501c3 | Yes (1) | DescribedInSection501c3Ind |
| Schedule B Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleBRequiredInd |
| Political Campaign Acty | 0 | PoliticalCampaignActyInd |
| Lobbying Activities | 0 | LobbyingActivitiesInd |
| Subject To Proxy Tax | 0 | SubjectToProxyTaxInd |
| Donor Advised Fund | 0 | DonorAdvisedFundInd |
| Conservation Easements | 0 | ConservationEasementsInd |
| Collections Of Art | 0 | CollectionsOfArtInd |
| Credit Counseling | 0 | CreditCounselingInd |
| Donor Rstr Or Quasi Endowments | Yes (1) | DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd |
| Report Land Building Equipment | Yes (1) | ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd |
| Report Investments Other Sec | 0 | ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd |
| Report Program Related Invst | 0 | ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd |
| Report Other Assets | 0 | ReportOtherAssetsInd |
| Report Other Liabilities | Yes (1) | ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd |
| Include FIN48 Footnote | Yes (1) | IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd |
| Independent Audit Fincl Stmt | Yes (1) | IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd |
| Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt | 0 | ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd |
| School Operating | Yes (1) | SchoolOperatingInd |
| Foreign Office | 0 | ForeignOfficeInd |
| Foreign Activities | 0 | ForeignActivitiesInd |
| More Than5000 K To Org | 0 | MoreThan5000KToOrgInd |
| More Than5000 K To Individuals | 0 | MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd |
| Professional Fundraising | 0 | ProfessionalFundraisingInd |
| Fundraising Activities | Yes (1) | FundraisingActivitiesInd |
| Gaming Activities | 0 | GamingActivitiesInd |
| Operate Hospital | 0 | OperateHospitalInd |
| Grants To Organizations | 0 | GrantsToOrganizationsInd |
| Grants To Individuals | Yes (1) | GrantsToIndividualsInd |
| Schedule J Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleJRequiredInd |
| Tax Exempt Bonds | 0 | TaxExemptBondsInd |
| Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans | 0 | EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd |
| PY Excess Benefit Trans | 0 | PYExcessBenefitTransInd |
| Loan Outstanding | 0 | LoanOutstandingInd |
| Grant To Related Person | 0 | GrantToRelatedPersonInd |
| Business Rln With Org Mem | 0 | BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd |
| Business Rln With Fam Mem | Yes (1) | BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd |
| Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent | 0 | BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd |
| Deductible Non Cash Contri | Yes (1) | DeductibleNonCashContriInd |
| Deductible Art Contribution | 0 | DeductibleArtContributionInd |
| Terminate Operations | 0 | TerminateOperationsInd |
| Partial Liquidation | 0 | PartialLiquidationInd |
| Disregarded Entity | 0 | DisregardedEntityInd |
| Related Entity | 0 | RelatedEntityInd |
| Related Organization Ctrl Ent | 0 | RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd |
| Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org | 0 | TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd |
| Activities Conducted Prtshp | 0 | ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd |
| Schedule O Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleORequiredInd |
| IRP Document | 57 | IRPDocumentCnt |
| IRP Document W2 G | 0 | IRPDocumentW2GCnt |
| Backup Wthld Compliance | Yes (1) | BackupWthldComplianceInd |
| Employee | 218 | EmployeeCnt |
| Employment Tax Returns Filed | Yes (1) | EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd |
| Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit | 0 | UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd |
| Foreign Financial Account | 0 | ForeignFinancialAccountInd |
| Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans | 0 | ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd |
| Taxable Party Notification | 0 | TaxablePartyNotificationInd |
| Nondeductible Contributions | Yes (1) | NondeductibleContributionsInd |
| Nondeductible Contri Discl | Yes (1) | NondeductibleContriDisclInd |
| Quid Pro Quo Contributions | Yes (1) | QuidProQuoContributionsInd |
| Quid Pro Quo Contri Discl | Yes (1) | QuidProQuoContriDisclInd |
| Form8282 Property Disposed Of | 0 | Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd |
| Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct | 0 | RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd |
| Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct | 0 | PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd |
| Indoor Tanning Services | 0 | IndoorTanningServicesInd |
| Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt | 0 | SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd |
| Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc | 0 | SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd |
| Info In Schedule O Part VI | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd |
| Governing Body Voting Members | 20 | GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt |
| Independent Voting Member | 20 | IndependentVotingMemberCnt |
| Family Or Business Rln | 0 | FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd |
| Delegation Of Mgmt Duties | 0 | DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd |
| Change To Org Documents | 0 | ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd |
| Material Diversion Or Misuse | 0 | MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd |
| Members Or Stockholders | 0 | MembersOrStockholdersInd |
| Election Of Board Members | 0 | ElectionOfBoardMembersInd |
| Decisions Subject To Approva | 0 | DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd |
| Minutes Of Governing Body | Yes (1) | MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd |
| Minutes Of Committees | Yes (1) | MinutesOfCommitteesInd |
| Officer Mailing Address | 0 | OfficerMailingAddressInd |
| Local Chapters | 0 | LocalChaptersInd |
| Form990 Provided To Gvrn Body | Yes (1) | Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd |
| Conflict Of Interest Policy | Yes (1) | ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd |
| Annual Disclosure Covered Prsn | Yes (1) | AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd |
| Regular Monitoring Enfrc | Yes (1) | RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd |
| Whistleblower Policy | Yes (1) | WhistleblowerPolicyInd |
| Document Retention Policy | Yes (1) | DocumentRetentionPolicyInd |
| Compensation Process CEO | Yes (1) | CompensationProcessCEOInd |
| Compensation Process Other | 0 | CompensationProcessOtherInd |
| Investment In Joint Venture | 0 | InvestmentInJointVentureInd |
| Other Website | Yes (X) | OtherWebsiteInd |
| Upon Request | Yes (X) | UponRequestInd |
Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail
Business Name BusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | THE ORGANIZATION | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Phone | 8282740758 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 1345 HENDERSONVILLE ROAD | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | ASHEVILLE | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | NC | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 28803 | ZIPCd |
Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (28 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Average Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRt | Individual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorInd | OfficerOfficerInd | Reportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmt | Reportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmt | Other CompensationOtherCompensationAmt | Highest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd | Former Ofcr Director TrusteeFormerOfcrDirectorTrusteeInd |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| MICHAEL ANDRY | ||||||||
| BOARD CHAIR | 5.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| JENNIFER BOCK | ||||||||
| FINANCE CHAIR/TREASURER | 5.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| SWATI PATEL | ||||||||
| VICE CHAIR | 5.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| SUZANNE ROSE | ||||||||
| SECRETARY | 5.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| MONICA BASTIN | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| BOB BELL | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| TOM ORECK | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| PATTI D'ANGELO | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| DENNIS DAVITT | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| JOSH GIBBS | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| ANN GOOSMANN | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| SCOTT GROCE | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| TOM OLVERSON | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| ROBIN OSWALD | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| JEN RAMMING | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| GRAHAM REYNOLDS | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| JOHN STANIER | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| STEFANIE UPHAM | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| ELIZABETH FLYNN | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| MARK KIISS | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| STEPHANIE WHITNEY | ||||||||
| HEAD OF SCHOOL | 50.00 | Yes (X) | $150,773 | $0 | $16,380 | |||
| BRETT FUHRMAN | ||||||||
| CFO THRU' 08/01/2020 / CONSULTANT | 40.00 | Yes (X) | $123,041 | $0 | $15,039 | |||
| ELAINE KREUZ | ||||||||
| DIR. OF ADVANCEMENT | 40.00 | $113,879 | $0 | $17,218 | Yes (X) | |||
| JEFFRY KALIL | ||||||||
| MIDDLE SCHOOL PRINCIPAL | 40.00 | $114,881 | $0 | $14,374 | Yes (X) | |||
| DIANE MILNER | ||||||||
| KEY SCHOOL PRINCIPAL | 40.00 | $118,180 | $0 | $14,336 | Yes (X) | |||
| MARGOT MOSES | ||||||||
| US DEAN OF STUDENTS | 40.00 | $100,687 | $0 | $7,872 | Yes (X) | |||
| KIRK DUNCAN | ||||||||
| FORMER HEAD OF SCHOOL | 0.00 | $147,600 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | |||
| PEGGY DANIELS | ||||||||
| FORMER INTERIM HOS | 0.00 | $103,629 | $0 | $5,244 | Yes (X) | |||
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Reportable Comp From Org | $972,670 | TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt |
| Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org | $0 | TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt |
| Total Other Compensation | $90,463 | TotalOtherCompensationAmt |
| Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 8 | IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
| Former Ofcr Employees Listed | Yes (1) | FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd |
| Total Comp Greater Than150 K | Yes (1) | TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd |
| Compensation From Other Srcs | 0 | CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd |
Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)
| Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1Txt | CityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNm | State AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCd | ZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCd | ServicesServicesDesc | CompensationCompensationAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ELECTRONIC OFFICE | |||||
| 1257 SWEETEN CREEK RD | ASHEVILLE | NC | 28803 | COMPUTER CONSULTING | $174,765 |
| INSPECTION READY CLEANING | |||||
| PO BOX 1623 | SKYLAND | NC | 28776 | CLEANING SERVICE | $174,635 |
| H&M CONSTRUCTORS | |||||
| 187 DEAVERVIEW RD | ASHEVILLE | NC | 28806 | CONSTRUCTION SERVICES | $169,355 |
| WILDE ACRE LANDSCAPES | |||||
| 9 LINDA VISTA DR | ASHEVILLE | NC | 28806 | LANDSCAPING SERVICES | $125,972 |
| CLARK NEXSEN INC | |||||
| 301 COLLEGE STREET SUITE300 | ASHEVILLE | NC | 28801 | ARCHITECTURAL SERVICES | $105,959 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 5 | CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
| Fundraising | $56,600 | FundraisingAmt |
| Government Grants | $2,059,192 | GovernmentGrantsAmt |
| All Other Contributions | $558,560 | AllOtherContributionsAmt |
| Noncash Contributions | $32,912 | NoncashContributionsAmt |
| Total Contributions | $2,674,352 | TotalContributionsAmt |
Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Desc | TUITION & FEES | Desc |
| Business | 611710 | BusinessCd |
| Total Revenue Column | $16,889,202 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $16,889,202 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Program Service Revenue | $16,889,202 | TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $151,586 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $151,586 | ExclusionAmt |
Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | $113,785 | SecuritiesAmt |
Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | $0 | SecuritiesAmt |
Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | $113,785 | SecuritiesAmt |
Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $113,785 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $113,785 | ExclusionAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Fundraising Gross Income | $53,900 | FundraisingGrossIncomeAmt |
| Contri Rpt Fundraising Event | $56,600 | ContriRptFundraisingEventAmt |
| Fundraising Direct Expenses | $23,239 | FundraisingDirectExpensesAmt |
Net Incm From Fundraising Evt NetIncmFromFundraisingEvtGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $30,661 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $30,661 | ExclusionAmt |
Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Desc | MISCELLANEOUS INCOME | Desc |
| Business | 900099 | BusinessCd |
| Total Revenue Column | $15,361 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $15,361 | ExclusionAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Revenue Total | $15,361 | OtherRevenueTotalAmt |
Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $19,874,947 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $16,889,202 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
| Unrelated Business Revenue | $0 | UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt |
| Exclusion | $311,393 | ExclusionAmt |
Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $3,957,152 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $3,957,152 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $298,373 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $298,373 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Comp Disqual Persons CompDisqualPersonsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $133,501 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $43,752 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $89,749 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $7,640,864 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $6,773,033 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $540,765 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $327,066 | FundraisingAmt |
Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $370,683 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $308,333 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $46,322 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $16,028 | FundraisingAmt |
Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $2,098,771 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $1,867,258 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $143,134 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $88,379 | FundraisingAmt |
Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $579,722 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $490,017 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $66,090 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $23,615 | FundraisingAmt |
Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $17,396 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $17,396 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $40,306 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $40,306 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $35,049 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $35,049 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $655,691 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $399,394 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $256,286 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $11 | FundraisingAmt |
Advertising AdvertisingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $99,229 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $98,774 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $455 | FundraisingAmt |
Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $317,525 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $263,316 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $25,955 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $28,254 | FundraisingAmt |
Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $536,196 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $512,115 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $24,081 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Occupancy OccupancyGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $366,654 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $362,905 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $3,749 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Travel TravelGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $24,785 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $24,785 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $6,907 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $5,666 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $1,241 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Interest InterestGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $102,447 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $102,447 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $939,636 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $939,636 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Insurance InsuranceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $91,517 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $91,517 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)
| DescDesc | TotalTotalAmt | Program ServicesProgramServicesAmt |
|---|---|---|
| CLASS EXPENSES | $283,860 | $283,860 |
| OTHER EDUCATIONAL EXPEN | $91,879 | $91,879 |
| CLUB EXPENSES | $72,371 | $72,371 |
| MISCELLANEOUS | $66,928 | $66,928 |
Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $18,827,442 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $16,564,847 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $1,778,787 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $483,808 | FundraisingAmt |
Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $438,113 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $390,180 | EOYAmt |
Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $5,100,530 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $4,497,920 | EOYAmt |
Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $37,941 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $57,077 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $102,028 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $125,504 | EOYAmt |
Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $3,600 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $229 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss | $30,465,298 | LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt |
| Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec | $12,213,951 | LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt |
Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $18,703,211 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $18,251,347 | EOYAmt |
Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $4,891,496 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $6,090,632 | EOYAmt |
Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $29,276,919 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $29,412,889 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $1,024,127 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $1,009,326 | EOYAmt |
Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $1,167,588 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $1,331,864 | EOYAmt |
Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $5,326,853 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $3,078,559 | EOYAmt |
Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $185,068 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $188,053 | EOYAmt |
Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $7,703,636 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $5,607,802 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Organization Follows FASB117 | Yes (X) | OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind |
No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $17,913,915 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $19,318,973 | EOYAmt |
Donor Restriction Net Assets DonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $3,659,368 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $4,486,114 | EOYAmt |
Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $21,573,283 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $23,805,087 | EOYAmt |
Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $29,276,919 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $29,412,889 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Reconcilation Revenue Expnss | $1,047,505 | ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt |
| Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst | $1,184,299 | NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt |
| Other Changes In Net Assets | $0 | OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt |
| Info In Schedule O Part XII | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd |
| Method Of Accounting Accrual | Yes (X) | MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd |
| Accountant Compile Or Review | 0 | AccountantCompileOrReviewInd |
| FS Audited | Yes (1) | FSAuditedInd |
FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Consolidated Basis Fincl Stmt | Yes (X) | ConsolidatedBasisFinclStmtInd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Audit Committee | Yes (1) | AuditCommitteeInd |
| Federal Grant Audit Required | 0 | FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd |
Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| School | Yes (X) | SchoolInd |
Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB
Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Contributor | RESTRICTED | ContributorNum |
Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | RESTRICTED | BusinessNameLine1 |
Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | RESTRICTED | AddressLine1 |
| Address Line2 | RESTRICTED | AddressLine2 |
| City | RESTRICTED | City |
| State | RESTRICTED | State |
| ZIP Code | RESTRICTED | ZIPCode |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Contributions | RESTRICTED | TotalContributionsAmt |
Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD
CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Beginning Year Balance | $4,891,521 | BeginningYearBalanceAmt |
| Contributions | $4,950 | ContributionsAmt |
| Investment Earnings Or Losses | $1,409,161 | InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt |
| Other Expenditures | $215,000 | OtherExpendituresAmt |
| End Year Balance | $6,090,632 | EndYearBalanceAmt |
CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Beginning Year Balance | $4,956,610 | BeginningYearBalanceAmt |
| Contributions | $1,639 | ContributionsAmt |
| Investment Earnings Or Losses | $159,272 | InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt |
| Other Expenditures | $226,000 | OtherExpendituresAmt |
| End Year Balance | $4,891,521 | EndYearBalanceAmt |
CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Beginning Year Balance | $4,957,380 | BeginningYearBalanceAmt |
| Contributions | $47,464 | ContributionsAmt |
| Investment Earnings Or Losses | $198,266 | InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt |
| Other Expenditures | $246,500 | OtherExpendituresAmt |
| End Year Balance | $4,956,610 | EndYearBalanceAmt |
CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Beginning Year Balance | $4,878,236 | BeginningYearBalanceAmt |
| Contributions | $27,547 | ContributionsAmt |
| Investment Earnings Or Losses | $276,097 | InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt |
| Other Expenditures | $224,500 | OtherExpendituresAmt |
| End Year Balance | $4,957,380 | EndYearBalanceAmt |
CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Beginning Year Balance | $4,561,565 | BeginningYearBalanceAmt |
| Contributions | $55,510 | ContributionsAmt |
| Investment Earnings Or Losses | $497,161 | InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt |
| Other Expenditures | $236,000 | OtherExpendituresAmt |
| End Year Balance | $4,878,236 | EndYearBalanceAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Board Designated Balance EOY | 0.28335 | BoardDesignatedBalanceEOYPct |
| Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY | 0.61441 | PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct |
| Term Endowment Balance EOY | 0.10224 | TermEndowmentBalanceEOYPct |
| Endowments Held Unrelated Org | 0 | EndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd |
| Endowments Held Related Org | 0 | EndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd |
Land LandGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $5,159,505 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Book Value | $5,159,505 | BookValueAmt |
Buildings BuildingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $19,758,554 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $8,529,217 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $11,229,337 | BookValueAmt |
Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $118,684 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $118,135 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $549 | BookValueAmt |
Equipment EquipmentGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $2,597,057 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $2,071,453 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $525,604 | BookValueAmt |
Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $2,831,498 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $1,495,146 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $1,336,352 | BookValueAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Book Value Land Buildings | $18,251,347 | TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt |
Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Desc | CURRENT PORTION OF LT DEBT | Desc |
| Amt | $188,053 | Amt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Liability | $188,053 | TotalLiabilityAmt |
| Footnote Text | Yes (X) | FootnoteTextInd |
| Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $21,047,436 | TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Net Unrealized Gains Invst | $1,184,299 | NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt |
| Other Revenue | $23,239 | OtherRevenueAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported | $1,207,538 | RevenueNotReportedAmt |
| Revenue Subtotal | $19,839,898 | RevenueSubtotalAmt |
| Investment Expenses Not Incld | $35,049 | InvestmentExpensesNotIncldAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt | $35,049 | RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Revenue Per Form990 | $19,874,947 | TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt |
| Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $18,815,632 | TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Other Expenses Included | $23,239 | OtherExpensesIncludedAmt |
| Expenses Not Reported | $23,239 | ExpensesNotReportedAmt |
| Expenses Subtotal | $18,792,393 | ExpensesSubtotalAmt |
| Investment Expenses Not Incld2 | $35,049 | InvestmentExpensesNotIncld2Amt |
| Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt | $35,049 | ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Expenses Per Form990 | $18,827,442 | TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (4 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| PART V, LINE 4: | THE ORGANIZATION UTILIZES DISTRIBUTIONS FROM ENDOWMENT FUNDS AS DIRECTED BY DONORS FOR A VARIETY OF PROGRAMS AND SERVICES OFFERED BY THE SCHOOL AS PART OF ITS EXEMPT PURPOSE. |
| PART X, LINE 2: | THE SCHOOL IS EXEMPT FROM FEDERAL AND STATE INCOME TAXES UNDER INTERNAL REVENUE CODE SECTION 501(C)(3) AND THE STATUTES OF THE STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA. ACCORDINGLY, NO PROVISION FOR INCOME TAXES IS PROVIDED IN THE CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS. THE SCHOOL'S POLICY IS TO RECORD A LIABILITY FOR ANY TAX POSITION TAKEN THAT IS BENEFICIAL TO THE SCHOOL, INCLUDING ANY RELATED INTEREST AND PENALTIES, WHEN IT IS MORE LIKELY THAN NOT THE POSITION TAKEN BY MANAGEMENT WITH RESPECT TO A TRANSACTION OR CLASS OF TRANSACTIONS WILL BE OVERTURNED BY A TAXING AUTHORITY UPON EXAMINATION. MANAGEMENT BELIEVES THERE ARE NO SUCH POSITIONS AS OF JUNE 30, 2021 AND, ACCORDINGLY, NO LIABILITY HAS BEEN ACCRUED. THE SCHOOL'S FEDERAL RETURNS OF ORGANIZATION EXEMPT FROM INCOME TAX (FORM 990) FOR 2019 ARE SUBJECT TO EXAMINATION BY THE IRS, GENERALLY FOR THREE YEARS AFTER THEY WERE FILED. |
| PART XI, LINE 2D - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS: | SPECIAL EVENTS 23,239. |
| PART XII, LINE 2D - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS: | SPECIAL EVENTS 23,239. |
Schedule E IRS990ScheduleE
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Nondiscriminatory Policy Stmt | Yes (1) | NondiscriminatoryPolicyStmtInd |
| Policy Stmt In Brochures Etc | Yes (1) | PolicyStmtInBrochuresEtcInd |
| Plcy Pblczd Via Broadcast Media | Yes (1) | PlcyPblczdViaBroadcastMediaInd |
| Maintain Racial Comp Recs | Yes (1) | MaintainRacialCompRecsInd |
| Maintain Scholarships Recs | Yes (1) | MaintainScholarshipsRecsInd |
| Maintain Cpy Of Brochures Etc | Yes (1) | MaintainCpyOfBrochuresEtcInd |
| Maintain Cpy Of All Sol | Yes (1) | MaintainCpyOfAllSolInd |
| Discriminate Race Stdnts Rghts | 0 | DiscriminateRaceStdntsRghtsInd |
| Discriminate Race Admiss Plcy | 0 | DiscriminateRaceAdmissPlcyInd |
| Discriminate Race Emplm Fculty | 0 | DiscriminateRaceEmplmFcultyInd |
| Discriminate Race Schs | 0 | DiscriminateRaceSchsInd |
| Discriminate Race Educ Plcy | 0 | DiscriminateRaceEducPlcyInd |
| Discriminate Race Use Of Fclts | 0 | DiscriminateRaceUseOfFcltsInd |
| Discriminate Race Athlt Prog | 0 | DiscriminateRaceAthltProgInd |
| Discriminate Race Other Acty | 0 | DiscriminateRaceOtherActyInd |
| Government Financial Aid Rcvd | 0 | GovernmentFinancialAidRcvdInd |
| Government Financial Aid Rvkd | 0 | GovernmentFinancialAidRvkdInd |
| Compliance With Rev Proc7550 | Yes (1) | ComplianceWithRevProc7550Ind |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form And Line Reference | SCHEDULE E, PART I, LINE 3 | FormAndLineReferenceDesc |
| Explanation | CAROLINA DAY SCHOOL ADMINISTERS ITS ADMISSIONS, SCHOLARSHIP, ATHLETIC, PERSONNEL, AND OTHER PROGRAMS WITHOUT REGARD TO RACE, CREED, COLOR, NATIONAL OR ETHNIC ORIGIN. | ExplanationTxt |
Schedule G IRS990ScheduleG
Fundraising Event Information FundraisingEventInformationGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Event1 | AGAINST ALL ODDS | Event1Nm |
| Gross Receipts Event1 | $110,500 | GrossReceiptsEvent1Amt |
| Charitable Contri Event1 | $56,600 | CharitableContriEvent1Amt |
| Gross Revenue Event1 | $53,900 | GrossRevenueEvent1Amt |
| Other Direct Expenses Event1 | $23,239 | OtherDirectExpensesEvent1Amt |
| Gross Receipts Total | $110,500 | GrossReceiptsTotalAmt |
| Charitable Contributions Tot | $56,600 | CharitableContributionsTotAmt |
| Gross Revenue Total Events | $53,900 | GrossRevenueTotalEventsAmt |
| Oth Direct Expnss Total Events | $23,239 | OthDirectExpnssTotalEventsAmt |
| Direct Expense Summary Events | $23,239 | DirectExpenseSummaryEventsAmt |
| Net Income Summary | $30,661 | NetIncomeSummaryAmt |
Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Grant Records Maintained | Yes (1) | GrantRecordsMaintainedInd |
Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp (2 entries)
| Grant TypeGrantTypeTxt | RecipientRecipientCnt | Cash GrantCashGrantAmt |
|---|---|---|
| MERIT SCHOLARSHIPS | 38 | $153,200 |
| NEED-BASED FINANCIAL AID | 219 | $3,772,960 |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form And Line Reference | PART I, LINE 2: | FormAndLineReferenceDesc |
| Explanation | FINANCIAL AID IS AWARDED BASED ON FINANCIAL NEED AS DETERMINED THROUGH ANALYSIS BY SCHOOL AND STUDENT SERVICES BY NAIS, BALANCED WITH FUNDS AVAILABLE. MERIT SCHOLARSHIPS ARE AWARDED TO STUDENTS BASED ON ACADEMIC ACHIEVEMENT. STUDENTS CAN CONTINUE TO RECEIVE THE AWARD EACH YEAR UNTIL GRADUATION AS LONG AS THEY MEET QUALIFICATIONS. | ExplanationTxt |
Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Housing Allowance Or Residence | Yes (X) | HousingAllowanceOrResidenceInd |
| Written Policy Ref T And E Expnss | 0 | WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd |
| Substantiation Required | Yes (1) | SubstantiationRequiredInd |
| Compensation Committee | Yes (X) | CompensationCommitteeInd |
| Form990 Of Other Organizations | Yes (X) | Form990OfOtherOrganizationsInd |
| Written Employment Contract | Yes (X) | WrittenEmploymentContractInd |
| Compensation Survey | Yes (X) | CompensationSurveyInd |
| Board Or Committee Approval | Yes (X) | BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd |
| Severance Payment | Yes (1) | SeverancePaymentInd |
| Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan | 0 | SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd |
| Equity Based Comp Arrngm | 0 | EquityBasedCompArrngmInd |
| Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org | 0 | CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd |
| Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs | 0 | CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd |
| Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org | 0 | CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd |
| Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs | 0 | CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd |
| Any Non Fixed Payments | 0 | AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd |
| Initial Contract Exception | 0 | InitialContractExceptionInd |
Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (3 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Base Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Compensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmt | Bonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmount | Bonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmt | Other Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Other Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmt | Deferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmt | Deferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmt | Nontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmt | Nontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmt | Total Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Total Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmt | Comp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmt | Comp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| STEPHANIE WHITNEY | ||||||||||||||
| HEAD OF SCHOOL | $132,273 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $18,500 | $0 | $7,800 | $0 | $8,580 | $0 | $167,153 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| KIRK DUNCAN | ||||||||||||||
| FORMER HEAD OF SCHOOL | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $147,600 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $147,600 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| PEGGY DANIELS | ||||||||||||||
| FORMER INTERIM HOS | $103,629 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $5,244 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $108,873 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| PART I, LINE 1A | THE HEAD OF SCHOOL RECEIVES AN ANNUAL HOUSING ALLOWANCE FOR THEIR RESPONSIBILITIES AS HEAD OF SCHOOL. THE HOUSING ALLOWANCE IS INCLUDED AS TAXABLE INCOME ON THEIR W-2. |
| PART I, LINE 4A | THE ORGANIZATION PAID SERVERANCE TO THE HEAD OF SCHOOL KIRK DUNCAN IN THE AMOUNT OF 147,600 ON HIS 2020 FORM W-2. |
Schedule L IRS990ScheduleL
Bus Tr Involve Interested Prsn BusTrInvolveInterestedPrsnGrp (2 entries)
| Relationship DescriptionRelationshipDescriptionTxt | TransactionTransactionAmt | TransactionTransactionDesc | Sharing Of RevenuesSharingOfRevenuesInd |
|---|---|---|---|
| MEREDITH DANIELS | |||
| RELATED TO PEGGY DANIELS, FORMER THE ASSOC HO/VP | $43,752 | EMPLOYEE SERVICES | 0 |
| MAX COGBURN III | |||
| RELATED TO MAX COGBURN JR., FORMER TRUSTEE | $89,749 | EMPLOYEE SERVICES | 0 |
Schedule M IRS990ScheduleM
Securities Publicly Traded SecuritiesPubliclyTradedGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Non Cash Checkbox | Yes (X) | NonCashCheckboxInd |
| Contribution | 2 | ContributionCnt |
| Noncash Contributions Rpt F990 | $32,762 | NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt |
| Method Of Determining Revenues | FMV | MethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Any Property That Must Be Held | 0 | AnyPropertyThatMustBeHeldInd |
| Review Process Unusual NC Gifts | Yes (1) | ReviewProcessUnusualNCGiftsInd |
| Third Parties Used | Yes (1) | ThirdPartiesUsedInd |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form And Line Reference | PART I, LINE 32B: | FormAndLineReferenceDesc |
| Explanation | THE ORGANIZATION USES THIRD PARTY FINANCIAL ADVISORS TO PROCESS AND SELL DONATED STOCKS UPON RECEIPT. | ExplanationTxt |
Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (6 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11B | THE 990 WAS REVIEWED IN DEPTH BY THE AUDIT COMMITTEE WITH ASSISTANCE OF THE TAX PREPARER AND THEN PROVIDED TO THE ENTIRE VOTING BOARD, PRIOR TO THE RETURN'S FILING WITH THE IRS. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12C | ALL BOARD MEMBERS ARE REQUIRED TO SIGN AN ANNUAL CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY. MANAGEMENT MONITORS TRANSACTIONS FOR THE SCHOOL TO IDENTIFY ANY POTENTIAL CONFLICTS OF INTEREST. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15A | COMPENSATION FOR THE HEAD OF SCHOOL/PRESIDENT IS DETERMINED BY A COMPENSATION COMMITTEE WHO OBTAIN COMPARABLE DATA FROM SIMILAR SCHOOLS. COMPENSATION FOR THE ASSOCIATE HEAD OF SCHOOL/VICE-PRESIDENT IS DETERMINED BY THE HEAD OF SCHOOL WHO USES COMPARABLE DATA FROM SIMILAR SCHOOLS. ANNUAL SALARY INCREASE IS THE SAME AS FOR ALL OTHER EMPLOYEES OF THE SCHOOL. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 18 | RECENT FILINGS OF THE FORM 990 ARE AVAILABLE UPON REQUEST AND ONLINE AT WWW.GUIDESTAR.ORG. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19 | THE ORGANIZATION MAKES ITS GOVERNING DOCUMENTS, FINANCIAL STATEMENTS, AND CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY AVAILABLE UPON REQUEST. |
| FORM 990, PART XII, LINE 2C: | THE PROCESS HAS NOT CHANGED FROM THE PRIOR YEAR. |