STRATEGY STUDIO / PUBLIC DATA EXPLORER

MOON LAKE ELECTRIC ASSOCIATION INC: Form 990, tax year 2021

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
MOON LAKE ELECTRIC ASSOCIATION INC (EIN 87-0154903)
Tax period
2021-01-01 to 2021-12-31
Filed
2022-03-23
IRS object ID
202230899349301373
Schema version
2021v4.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2022-03-23T19:34:50-07:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2021-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2021-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN870154903EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1MOON LAKE ELECTRIC ASSOCIATION INCBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlMOONBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone4357225400PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO Box 278AddressLine1Txt
CityRooseveltCityNm
State AbbreviationUTStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP840660278ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonYankton JohnsonPersonNm
Person TitleCEO/General ManagerPersonTitleTxt
Phone4357225400PhoneNum
Signature2022-03-31SignatureDt

Additional Filer Information AdditionalFilerInformation

Trusted Customer TrustedCustomerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Trusted Customer1TrustedCustomerCd
OOB Security Verification11OOBSecurityVerificationCd
Last Submission Rqr OOB0LastSubmissionRqrOOBCd
Authentication Assurance LevelAAL2AuthenticationAssuranceLevelCd
Profile Email Address ChangeYes (X)ProfileEmailAddressChangeInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2021TaxYr
Build TS2022-09-23 18:48:47ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerYankton JohnsonPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO Box 278AddressLine1Txt
CityRooseveltCityNm
State AbbreviationUTStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP840660278ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$83,551,777GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501cYes (X)Organization501cInd
Website Addresshttps://www.mleainc.comWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1938FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateUTLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionProvide a safe and efficient electrical system to deliver power to members.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body7VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent7VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee108TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers0TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$0PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$1,859,100CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$0PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$80,023,416CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$446,391PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$557,532CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$23,432,217PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$974,877CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$23,878,608PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$83,414,925CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$48,105PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$76,058CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$6,857CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$2,408,087PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$8,833,819CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$16,987,438PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$67,508,329CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$19,443,630PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$76,425,063CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$4,434,978PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$6,989,862CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$125,949,767TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$127,770,190TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$28,304,890TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$25,565,377TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$97,644,877NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$102,204,813NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionProvide a safe and efficient electrical system to deliver power to members.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
Expense$76,425,063ExpenseAmt
Grant$0GrantAmt
Revenue$83,414,925RevenueAmt
DescProvide a safe and efficient electrical system to deliver power to members.Desc
Total Other Prog Srvc Expense$0TotalOtherProgSrvcExpenseAmt
Total Other Prog Srvc Grant$0TotalOtherProgSrvcGrantAmt
Total Other Prog Srvc Revenue$0TotalOtherProgSrvcRevenueAmt
Total Program Service Expenses$76,425,063TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c30DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B Required0ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi Endowments0DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 Footnote0IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsYes (1)GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsYes (1)GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent0BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related Entity0RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document54IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee108EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit0UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Members And Shr Gross Income$82,448,129MembersAndShrGrossIncomeAmt
Other Sources Gross Income$966,796OtherSourcesGrossIncomeAmt
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt0SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc0SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members7GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member7IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (1)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (1)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (1)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process Other0CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonJohn ZillesPersonNm
Phone4357225400PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO Box 278AddressLine1Txt
CityRooseveltCityNm
State AbbreviationUTStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP840660278ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (17 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtAverage Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRtOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtKey EmployeeKeyEmployeeIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeIndIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorInd
Grant J Earl
CEO/General Manager400Yes (X)$356,023$0$107,042
Yankton A Johnson
Assistant General Manager400Yes (X)$179,183$0$77,627
Robert Uresk
Operations Manager40$164,722$0$55,186Yes (X)
John Zilles
CFO/Manager of Finance400Yes (X)$138,368$0$66,449
Curtis F Miles
Line Superintendent400$137,683$0$66,689Yes (X)
Patrick N Corun
Engineering Manager400$132,207$0$67,657Yes (X)
Wayne L Malnar
Line Crew Foreman47.110$126,238$0$34,656Yes (X)
Marty A Herrera
Line Crew Foreman46.260$128,708$0$32,140Yes (X)
Steve T Nelson
Line Crew Foreman44.790$120,084$0$32,238Yes (X)
Gregory Miles
Board Member10$21,200$0$0Yes (X)
Tommy Kent Olsen
Board Member10$19,980$0$0Yes (X)
Randan J Vincent
Board Member1$18,450$0$0Yes (X)
Jeffory B Henderson
Board Member1$17,250$0$0Yes (X)
Josh Hunter
Board Member1$15,750$0$0Yes (X)
Alan Robert Ducey
Board Member10$14,250$0$0Yes (X)
Kenneth A Moon
Board Member1$11,250$0$0Yes (X)
Paul L Tanner
Board Member1$7,200$0$0Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$1,608,546TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$539,684TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K42IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
POWER ENGINEERS INCORPORATED
PO BOX 855321MINNEAPOLISMN55485ENGINEERING SERVICES$502,387
POWER SYSTEMS DIAGNOSTICS
PO BOX 134OZAWKIEKS66070SUBSTATION REPAIR & INSPECT$242,193
DAVID K SERVIC CO INC
6312 W 7500 SMYTONUT84052TREE TRIMMING$221,410
STRAIGHT SHOT OILFIELD SERVICES
PO BOX 392NEOLAUT84053LINE CONTRACTOR$130,356
ELECTRICAL CONSULTANTS INC
3521 GABEL ROADBILLINGSMT59102ENGINEERING SERVICES$126,682
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K7CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Federated Campaigns$0FederatedCampaignsAmt
Membership Dues$0MembershipDuesAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt
Related Organizations$0RelatedOrganizationsAmt
Government Grants$1,859,100GovernmentGrantsAmt
All Other Contributions$0AllOtherContributionsAmt
Noncash Contributions$0NoncashContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$1,859,100TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmtUnrelated Business RevenueUnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmtExclusionExclusionAmt
SALE OF ELECTRICITY221000$79,310,034$79,310,034$0$0
PATRONAGE CAPITAL221000$713,382$713,382$0$0

Total Oth Program Service Rev TotalOthProgramServiceRevGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$0RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$80,023,416TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$232,525TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$232,525RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt

Incm From Invest Bond Proceeds IncmFromInvestBondProceedsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$0RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt

Royalties Revenue RoyaltiesRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$94TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$94RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$56,926RealAmt
Personal$0PersonalAmt

Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$0RealAmt
Personal$0PersonalAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$56,926RealAmt
Personal$0PersonalAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$56,926TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$56,926RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$0SecuritiesAmt
Other$461,859OtherAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$0SecuritiesAmt
Other$136,852OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$0SecuritiesAmt
Other$325,007OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$325,007TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$325,007RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Contri Rpt Fundraising Event$0ContriRptFundraisingEventAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescFASB 106 ADJUSTMENTDesc
Business221000BusinessCd
Total Revenue Column$917,857TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$917,857RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt

Miscellaneous Revenue MiscellaneousRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$0RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$917,857OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$83,414,925TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$81,555,825RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$60,516TotalAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$15,542TotalAmt

Foreign Grants ForeignGrantsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$6,857TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$698,157TotalAmt

Comp Disqual Persons CompDisqualPersonsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,856,200TotalAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,544,893TotalAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,250,181TotalAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$484,388TotalAmt

Fees For Services Management FeesForServicesManagementGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$15,718TotalAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$14,000TotalAmt

Fees For Services Lobbying FeesForServicesLobbyingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Prof Fundraising FeesForServicesProfFundraising

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Royalties RoyaltiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Pymt Travel Entrtnmnt Pub Ofcl PymtTravelEntrtnmntPubOfclGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$582,603TotalAmt

Payments To Affiliates PaymentsToAffiliatesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,190,587TotalAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmt
POWER PURCHASED & PRODUCED$56,262,205
DISTRIBUTION O&M$3,328,076
ADMIN & GENERAL$1,949,877
TRANSMISSION O&M$382,622

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$782,641TotalAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$76,425,063TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$7,591,637BOYAmt
EOY$950EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$19,623,366BOYAmt
EOY$10,742,837EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$7,793,158BOYAmt
EOY$8,187,124EOYAmt

Receivables From Officers Etc ReceivablesFromOfficersEtcGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rcvbl From Disqualified Prsn RcvblFromDisqualifiedPrsnGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$205BOYAmt
EOY$1,375EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,040,810BOYAmt
EOY$3,994,957EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$109,644BOYAmt
EOY$260,394EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$158,583,640LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$76,324,059LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$81,006,934BOYAmt
EOY$82,259,581EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$16,720,188EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,058,296BOYAmt
EOY$1,390,832EOYAmt

Intangible Assets IntangibleAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,725,717BOYAmt
EOY$4,211,952EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$125,949,767BOYAmt
EOY$127,770,190EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$15,022,173BOYAmt
EOY$11,371,156EOYAmt

Grants Payable GrantsPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Escrow Account Liability EscrowAccountLiabilityGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Loans From Officers Directors LoansFromOfficersDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$10,184,529BOYAmt
EOY$8,101,008EOYAmt

Unsecured Notes Loans Payable UnsecuredNotesLoansPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,098,188BOYAmt
EOY$6,093,213EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$28,304,890BOYAmt
EOY$25,565,377EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Org Does Not Follow FASB117Yes (X)OrgDoesNotFollowFASB117Ind

Cap Stk Tr Prin Current Funds CapStkTrPrinCurrentFundsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Pd In Cap Srpls Land Bldg Eqp Fund PdInCapSrplsLandBldgEqpFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$92,625,379BOYAmt
EOY$95,214,951EOYAmt

Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,019,498BOYAmt
EOY$6,989,862EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$97,644,877BOYAmt
EOY$102,204,813EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$125,949,767BOYAmt
EOY$127,770,190EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$6,989,862ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$0NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Donated Services And Use Fclts$0DonatedServicesAndUseFcltsAmt
Investment Expense$0InvestmentExpenseAmt
Prior Period Adjustments$0PriorPeriodAdjustmentsAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets-$2,429,926OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or ReviewYes (1)AccountantCompileOrReviewInd

Acct Compile Or Review Basis AcctCompileOrReviewBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Consol And Sep Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)ConsolAndSepBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Consol And Sep Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)ConsolAndSepBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$0InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$1,742,297OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$1,742,297BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$0InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$12,685,010OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$5,410,686DepreciationAmt
Book Value$7,274,324BookValueAmt

Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$0InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$0OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$0DepreciationAmt
Book Value$0BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$0InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$17,072,520OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$12,165,917DepreciationAmt
Book Value$4,906,603BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$0InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$127,083,813OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$58,747,456DepreciationAmt
Book Value$68,336,357BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$82,259,581TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt
Federal Income Tax Liability$0FederalIncomeTaxLiabilityAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (8 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
ACCRUED PAYROLL & PAYROLL TAXES$3,445,565
POST RETIREMENT BENEFITS$1,850,840
LOW INCOME ASSISTANCE PROGRAM$318,007
CONSUMER DEPOSITS$308,483
ACCRUED SALES TAX$101,899
ACCRUED PROPERTY TAX$67,473
UNCLAIMED PROPERTY (ACCOUNTS PAYABLE)$805
CONSUMER ROUND UP DONATIONS$141
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$6,093,213TotalLiabilityAmt
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$83,414,925TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$0NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Donated Services And Use Fclts$0DonatedServicesAndUseFcltsAmt
Recoveries Prior Year Grants$0RecoveriesPriorYearGrantsAmt
Other Revenue$0OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported$0RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$83,414,925RevenueSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld$0InvestmentExpensesNotIncldAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$0OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$0RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$83,414,925TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$76,425,063TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Donated Services Use Fclts$0DonatedServicesUseFcltsAmt
Prior Year Adjustments$0PriorYearAdjustmentsAmt
Losses Reported$0LossesReportedAmt
Other Expenses Included$0OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$76,425,063ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld2$0InvestmentExpensesNotIncld2Amt
Other Expenses Not Included$0OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$0ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$76,425,063TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records Maintained0GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Recipient Table RecipientTable

Recipient Business Name RecipientBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1DUCHESNE COUNTYBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1734 N CENTER STREETAddressLine1Txt
CityDUCHENSECityNm
State AbbreviationUTStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP84021ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Recipient EIN876000296RecipientEIN
IRC SectionDUCHESNE COUNTYIRCSectionDesc
Cash Grant$6,355CashGrantAmt
Non Cash Assistance$0NonCashAssistanceAmt
Purpose Of GrantDONATION TO THE DUCHENSE COUNTY JR LIVESTOCK PROGRAM FOR THE 2021 DUCHESNE COUNTY FAIR.PurposeOfGrantTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total501c3 Org1Total501c3OrgCnt
Total Other Org0TotalOtherOrgCnt

Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant TypeYOUTH COLLEGE SCHOLARSHIPSGrantTypeTxt
Recipient10RecipientCnt
Cash Grant$15,542CashGrantAmt
Non Cash Assistance$0NonCashAssistanceAmt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSchedule I, Part I, Line 2FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationFUNDS ARE ONLY DONATED TO ORGANIZATIONS OR INDIVIDUALS WITHIN THE USA AND ARE USED TO SPONSOR LOCAL EVENTS OR USED FOR EDUCATIONAL PURPOSES.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Travel For CompanionsYes (X)TravelForCompanionsInd
Idemnification Gross Up PmtsYes (X)IdemnificationGrossUpPmtsInd
Written Policy Ref T And E Expnss0WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd
Substantiation RequiredYes (1)SubstantiationRequiredInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (3 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
Grant J Earl
CEO/General Manager$308,051$0$12,075$0$35,896$0$85,619$0$21,423$0$463,064$0$0$0
Yankton A Johnson
Assistant General Manager$164,743$0$11,900$0$2,541$0$50,355$0$27,273$0$256,812$0$0$0
Robert Uresk
Operations Manager$149,973$0$10,900$0$3,849$0$44,655$0$10,531$0$219,908$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Schedule J, Part I, Line 1aPer the Board and CEO authorization, all Directors, the CEO, and Managers are allowed to take their spouse on 1 trip per year paid by Moon Lake Electric Association Inc. The cost of the spouse travel is added as a taxable benefit and reported on the employees W2 in Box 1, 3, and 5.
Schedule J, Part I, Line 1bPer the Board and CEO authorization, all Directors, the CEO, and Managers are allowed to take their spouse on 1 trip per year paid by Moon Lake Electric Association Inc. The cost of the spouse travel is added as a taxable benefit and reported on the employees W2 in Box 1, 3, and 5.

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (8 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, Line 6Moon Lake Electric Association, Inc., was organized in 1938 as a rural electric cooperative by residents of Northeastern Utah and still operates as a member-owned cooperative in Northeastern Utah and Western Colorado, with all members receiving one vote to appoint board members to represent the member's geographic region.
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, Line 7aThe Moon Lake Electric Association governing body (Board) is split into 7 districts representing different geographic areas served by the cooperative. All directors serving on the board are elected by members of their district and serve three-year terms. Members are only allowed to vote for individuals running for a board seat for their assigned district and each member is allowed one vote.
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, Line 7bSee note for, Form 990, Part VI, Section A, Line 7a
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, Line 11bMoon Lake Electric Association, Inc., staff presented a copy of the Form 990 to each of the governing board members on March 23, 2022, prior to filing the form with the IRS. A motion was made to accept the Form 990 as presented.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, Line 12cAs needed the Moon Lake Electric Association, Inc. Governing Body and Staff review conflicts of interest during monthly board meetings.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, Line 15Moon Lake Electric board members evaluate and approve the compensation of the CEO.
Form 990, Part VI, Section C, Line 19Moon Lake Electric Association, Inc., makes its governing documents, conflict of interest policy, and CPA audited financial statements available to the public on written request received at the cooperative's headquarters in Roosevelt Utah.
Form 990, Part XI, Line 9On March 10th, 2021 the Moon Lake Electric Board of Directors authorized a patronage refund of $2.5M to members. Of the $2.5M refunded to consumers $70,083 was retained by the cooperative as unclaimed capital credits. All unclaimed capital credits older then 3 years are transferred to Low Income Assistance and used for purposes specified under the Utah Public Service Commission guidelines.