STRATEGY STUDIO / NONPROFIT PEOPLE SEARCH

CARLOW UNIVERSITY: Form 990, tax year 2020

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
CARLOW UNIVERSITY (EIN 25-0965438)
Tax period
2020-07-01 to 2021-06-30
Filed
2022-05-16
IRS object ID
202231369349303323
Schema version
2020v4.2
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2022-05-16T09:37:03-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2021-06-30TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN410746749PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1CLIFTONLARSONALLEN LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line14334 MUNSON STREET SUITE 200AddressLine1Txt
CityCANTONCityNm
State AbbreviationOHStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP44718ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2020-07-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN250965438EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1CARLOW UNIVERSITYBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlCARLBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone4125786000PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line13333 FIFTH AVENUEAddressLine1Txt
CityPITTSBURGHCityNm
State AbbreviationPAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP15213ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonDR KATHY W HUMPHREYPersonNm
Person TitlePRESIDENTPersonTitleTxt
Phone4125786000PhoneNum
Signature2022-05-09SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Signing Officer SigningOfficerGrp

Person Full Name PersonFullName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Person FirstDRPersonFirstNm
Person LastKATHY W HUMPHREYPersonLastNm
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SSN999009999SSN

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonJENNIFER COLEMANPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00743188PTIN
Phone3304972000PhoneNum
Preparation2022-05-09PreparationDt

Additional Filer Information AdditionalFilerInformation

Trusted Customer TrustedCustomerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Trusted Customer2TrustedCustomerCd
Authentication Assurance LevelAAL1AuthenticationAssuranceLevelCd
Identity Assurance LevelIAL1IdentityAssuranceLevelCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2020TaxYr
Build TS2022-09-23 18:48:47ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerDR KATHY W HUMPHREYPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line13333 FIFTH AVENUEAddressLine1Txt
CityPITTSBURGHCityNm
State AbbreviationPAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP15213ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$61,230,759GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website AddressWWW.CARLOW.EDUWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1929FormationYr
Legal Domicile StatePALegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionTRANSFORMATIONAL HIGHER EDUCATIONAL OPPORTUNITIES FOR A DIVERSE COMMUNITY.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body34VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent33VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee999TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers132TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$7,476,397PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$9,411,290CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$49,829,819PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$49,987,178CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$4,330,475PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$1,393,869CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$960,092PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$413,052CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$62,596,783PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$61,205,389CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$13,607,203PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$13,084,542CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$29,936,920PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$29,557,319CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$1,081,554CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$19,357,629PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$20,539,283CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$62,901,752PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$63,181,144CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses-$304,969PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses-$1,975,755CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$105,247,078TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$109,959,970TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$34,970,718TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$34,053,290TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$70,276,360NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$75,906,680NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionFOUNDED BY THE SISTERS OF MERCY IN 1929, CARLOW UNIVERSITY PROVIDES A PERSONALIZED ENVIRONMENT, FACULTY FOCUSED ON TEACHING EXCELLENCE, AND EXPERIENTIAL LEARNING. OUR HERITAGE OF SOCIAL JUSTICE AND MISSION TO TRANSFORM LIVES CONTINUES TO MAKE SIGNIFICANT IMPACT IN THE COMMUNITY AND BEYOND.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
Expense$53,780,903ExpenseAmt
Grant$13,084,542GrantAmt
Revenue$50,422,600RevenueAmt
DescLOCATED IN OAKLAND, THE HEART OF PITTSBURGH'S "EDS, MEDS, AND TECH" DISTRICT, CARLOW UNIVERSITY IS A PRIVATE, CO-EDUCATIONAL, CATHOLIC UNIVERSITY FOUNDED IN 1929 BY THE SISTERS OF MERCY. OFFERING AN INTIMATE, PERSONALIZED ENVIRONMENT AND FACULTY FOCUSED ON TEACHING EXCELLENCE AND EXPERIENTIAL LEARNING, CARLOW IS KNOWN FOR ITS STRONG COMMITMENT TO SOCIAL JUSTICE, ETHICAL FORWARD-THINKING LEADERSHIP AND MEANINGFUL SERVICES THAT MAKE A POSITIVE IMPACT IN THE COMMUNITY AND BEYOND. APPROXIMATELY 44% OF CARLOW'S STUDENT POPULATION IS PELL-ELIGIBLE, 26% ARE STUDENTS OF COLOR, AND CARLOW RANKS 3RD IN PENNSYLVANIA ON SOCIAL MOBILITY. THIS IS CONSISTENT WITH CARLOW'S TRADITION OF HELPING THOSE, WHO OTHERWISE MAY NOT HAVE HAD OPPORTUNITY, EARN A CERTIFICATE OR DEGREE, THEREBY CHANGING THE COURSE OF THEIR LIFE AND TRANSFORMING THE LIVES OF GENERATIONS TO FOLLOW. CARLOW UNIVERSITY IS UNIQUE IN SERVING BABIES TO AGE THREE THROUGH ITS EARLY CHILDHOOD EDUCATION CENTER, CHILDREN PREK TO K-8 AT ITS CAMPUS LAB SCHOOL, AND STUDENTS FROM HIGH SCHOOL TO AGE 66 THROUGH ITS CAMPUS NETWORK AND ONLINE EDUCATIONAL OFFERINGS. FROM UNDERGRADUATE DEGREE PROGRAMS TO MORE THAN 50 GRADUATE, DOCTORAL AND CERTIFICATE PROGRAMS, CARLOW STUDENTS GRADUATE READY TO MEET TODAY'S WORKFORCE DEMANDS FOR SPECIALIZED KNOWLEDGE AND SKILLS. APPROXIMATELY, 96% OF CARLOW UNDERGRADUATE ALUMNI ARE ENROLLED IN AN ADVANCED DEGREE PROGRAM OR EMPLOYED WITHIN SIX MONTHS OF GRADUATION. FOR THE SEVENTH YEAR IN A ROW CARLOW UNIVERSITY BSN (BACHELOR OF SCIENCE IN NURSING) GRADUATES HAVE THE HIGHEST NCLEX PASS RATE IN PITTSBURGH (95.51%). THIS IS PARTICULARLY REMARKABLE BECAUSE THEY COMPLETED THEIR FINAL YEAR OF EDUCATION DURING THE PANDEMIC. DESPITE THE PANDEMIC, THE CAREER OUTCOMES FOR THE GRADUATING CLASS OF 2019-2020 REMAINED STRONG. FOR THE SECOND CONSECUTIVE YEAR, THE CARLOW GRADUATES' KNOWLEDGE RATE WAS 86%. ADDITIONALLY, THE OVERALL CAREER OUTCOME RATE FOR JOB SEEKERS AND GRADUATES SEEKING CONTINUING EDUCATION WAS 98%. MOST NOTABLE WAS THAT 100% OF GRADUATE STUDENTS REPORTED POSITIVE JOB AND CONTINUING EDUCATION OUTCOMES. ADDITIONALLY, 91% OF STUDENTS GRADUATING WITH A BACHELOR'S DEGREE COMPLETED AT LEAST ONE PROFESSIONAL WORK EXPERIENCE (INTERNSHIP, RESEARCH, ETC.). DURING THEIR TIME AT CARLOW. CARLOW ALSO SERVES THE COMMUNITY AT-LARGE THROUGH A VARIETY OF OUTREACH PROGRAMS. STUDENTS ALONG WITH THEIR FACULTY MEMBERS HAVE BEEN ACTIVELY INVOLVED IN COMMUNITY EVENTS TO PROVIDE FREE HEALTH SCREENINGS FOR THE PRO BONO CLINIC THAT ALSO BEGAN THIS FALL. LOCATED ON THE 4TH FLOOR OF CARLOW'S UNIVERSITY COMMONS BUILDING, THE CLINIC WELCOMED THE FIRST PATIENTS AND QUICKLY FILLED IN THE AVAILABLE APPOINTMENTS. THIS COLLABORATIVE ENDEAVOR IS PROVIDING OUR STUDENTS WITH VALUABLE EDUCATIONAL PREPARATION UNDER THE SUPERVISION OF THEIR FACULTY MEMBERS AND SERVICE TO OUR COMMUNITIES. THEY ALSO SERVED THE CARLOW COMMUNITY BY OFFERING A FREE HEARING CLINIC TO EMPLOYEES AND STUDENTS THIS FALL. CARLOW'S SOCIAL JUSTICE INSTITUTES (SJI) LEAD COMMUNITY WIDE ANTI-RACISM BOOK DISCUSSION GROUPS, DISSECTING AND ENGAGING FACULTY, STAFF, AND COMMUNITY READERS IN MICHELLE ALEXANDER'S "THE NEW JIM CROW AND ANGIE THOMAS' "THE HATE U GIVE," ANALYZING ELEMENTS OF SYSTEMIC RACISM AND POLICE BRUTALITY IN BLACK AND BROWN COMMUNITIES. AS K-12 STUDENTS FOUND THEMSELVES RELEGATED TO REMOTE LEARNING DURING THE PANDEMIC, MANY STUDENTS OF COLOR AND THOSE LIVING IN ECONOMICALLY CHALLENGED NEIGHBORHOODS DID NOT HAVE ACCESS TO THE MONITORING AND ACADEMIC SUPPORT THAT IN-PERSON EDUCATION ALLOWS. A UNIQUE COLLABORATION BETWEEN ASSET AND CARLOW UNIVERSITY PROVIDED ONE-ON-ONE CONNECTIONS BETWEEN STUDENTS AND EDUCATORS THAT HELPED CURB LEARNING LOSS DURING THE TRYING TIMES OF THE PAST TWO YEARS AND GAVE TEACHERS-IN-TRAINING INVALUABLE WORKFORCE EXPERIENCE. THROUGH THIS PARTNERSHIP, APPROXIMATELY 100 PRE-SERVICE TEACHERS WERE DEPLOYED TO SUPPORT APPROXIMATELY 150 PITTSBURGH LEARNERS VIA REMOTE TUTORING THIS YEAR.Desc
Total Program Service Expenses$53,780,903TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (1)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (1)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying ActivitiesYes (1)LobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi EndowmentsYes (1)DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingYes (1)SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesYes (1)ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsYes (1)GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsYes (1)TaxExemptBondsInd
Invest Tax Exempt Bonds0InvestTaxExemptBondsInd
Escrow Account0EscrowAccountInd
On Behalf Of Issuer0OnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans0EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit Trans0PYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent0BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContriYes (1)DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related Entity0RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org0TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document173IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Employee999EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit0UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo ContributionsYes (1)QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contri DisclYes (1)QuidProQuoContriDisclInd
Form8282 Property Disposed Of0Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt0SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc0SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members34GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member33IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (1)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (1)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (1)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldAKStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldCOStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldMAStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldMDStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldMIStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldNHStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldPAStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldSCStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Own WebsiteYes (X)OwnWebsiteInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1DAVID J MEADOWS VP FINANCE & ADMINBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone4125788842PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line13333 FIFTH AVENUEAddressLine1Txt
CityPITTSBURGHCityNm
State AbbreviationPAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP15213ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (40 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
DORTHY A DAVIS ESQUIRE
CHAIR2.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
SISTER HELEN MARIE BURNS RSM
VICE CHAIR, MISSION2.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
BRYAN DILUCENTE
VICE CHAIR2.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
JAMES H MCTIERNAN
TREASURER2.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
MARCIA MARTIN
SECRETARY2.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
SUZANNE K MELLON PHD
PRESIDENT50.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$331,572$0$41,535
MARGARET ARMEN
TRUSTEE2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
THE HONORABLE MARY C MCGINLEY
TRUSTEE2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
STEVEN MASSARO
TRUSTEE2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
BART GABLER JD MBA
TRUSTEE2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
CAROLINA VELEZ JD
TRUSTEE2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
LOURDES SANCHEZ-RIDGE JD
TRUSTEE2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MARTY LAMAR
TRUSTEE2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
DEBORAH RICE JOHNSON
TRUSTEE2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
LARRY KARNOFF JD
TRUSTEE2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
HOLLY LORENZ RN MSN
TRUSTEE2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
CAITLIN MCLAUGHLIN
TRUSTEE2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
ANA MARIA MIELES
TRUSTEE2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
ARLENE MORRIS
TRUSTEE2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
SUZANNE PAONE MBA DHA RHIA
TRUSTEE2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MORTON STANFIELD
TRUSTEE2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
NANCY L STUEVER EDD RN
TRUSTEE2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
ANNA BAMONTE TORRANCE ESQUIRE
TRUSTEE2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
SISTER JULIA UPTON RSM PHD
TRUSTEE2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
GUHAN VENKATU
TRUSTEE2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
SISTER SUSAN WELSH RSM
TRUSTEE2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
SISTER LINDA WERTHMAN RSM PHD
TRUSTEE2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
REPRESENTATIVE JAKE WHEATLEY JR
TRUSTEE2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MICHELE R ATKINS
TRUSTEE2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
PATRICIA G DONOHOE
TRUSTEE2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
SISTER MARY FANNING RSM PHD
TRUSTEE2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
THERESA SCOTTI
TRUSTEE2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
THE HONORABLE KATHERINE A FREDRIKSE
TRUSTEE2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
DAVID MEADOWS
SVP FINANCE/ADMINISTRATION50.00Yes (X)$186,638$0$33,644
SIBDAS GHOSH
VP/PROVOST40.00Yes (X)$188,228$0$41,292
KIMBERLEY HAMMER
VP ADVANCEMENT - FORMER40.00$129,050$0$47,828Yes (X)
LYNN GEORGE-SCHRINER
DEAN HEALTH & WELLNESS40.00$159,579$0$41,064Yes (X)
TIMOTHY PHILLIPS
VP FOR STUDENT AFFAIRS AND40.00$139,986$0$35,889Yes (X)
MARY CECERE
VP ENROLLMENT/MARKETING40.00$146,421$0$52,575Yes (X)
MATTHEW GORDLEY
DEAN OF LEARNING & INNOVAT40.00$130,415$0$18,856Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$1,411,889TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$312,683TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K8IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
CULINART
2400 YORKMONT ROADCHARLOTTENC28217FOOD$1,988,611
ELLUCIAN COMPANY LP
62814 COLLECTIONS CENTER DRIVECHICAGOIL60693TECHNOLOGY$780,223
UPMC SCHOOL OF PERFUSION
532 S AIKEN AVENUE SUITE 214PITTSBURGHPA15232ACADEMIC OPERATIONS$765,184
DAGASTINO ELECTRONIC SERVICES
600 MIFFLIN ROADPITTSBURGHPA15207TECHNOLOGY$418,655
FRANJO CONSTRUCTION
335 EAST 7TH AVENUEHOMESTEADPA15120CONSTRUCTION$339,150
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K19CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Government Grants$5,845,292GovernmentGrantsAmt
All Other Contributions$3,565,998AllOtherContributionsAmt
Noncash Contributions$44,804NoncashContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$9,411,290TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (5 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
TUITION AND FEES611600$44,178,068$44,178,068
RESIDENCE HALLS & BOARD611600$3,007,526$3,007,526
CARLOW CAMPUS SCHOOL721310$2,435,391$2,435,391
EARLY LEARNING CENTER624410$228,372$228,372
AUXILIARY PROGRAMS900099$137,821$137,821
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$49,987,178TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$1,000,716TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$1,000,716ExclusionAmt

Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$22,370RealAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real-$22,370RealAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$22,370TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion-$22,370ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$396,153SecuritiesAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$0SecuritiesAmt
Other$3,000OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$396,153SecuritiesAmt
Other-$3,000OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$393,153TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$393,153ExclusionAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
MISC900099$357,532$357,532
PARKING PERMIT FEES900099$40,124$40,124
BOOKSTORE COMMISSIONS900099$37,766$37,766
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$435,422OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$61,205,389TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$50,422,600RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$1,371,499ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$13,084,542TotalAmt
Program Services$13,084,542ProgramServicesAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$853,279TotalAmt
Program Services$657,025ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$196,254ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$22,504,045TotalAmt
Program Services$18,903,398ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$2,925,526ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$675,121FundraisingAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$19,459TotalAmt
Program Services$16,345ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$2,530ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$584FundraisingAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,398,914TotalAmt
Program Services$3,607,110ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$703,826ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$87,978FundraisingAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,781,622TotalAmt
Program Services$1,514,378ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$213,795ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$53,449FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$158,557TotalAmt
Program Services$122,089ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$36,468ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$134,587TotalAmt
Program Services$103,632ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$30,955ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Lobbying FeesForServicesLobbyingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$80,610TotalAmt
Management And General$80,610ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$160,686TotalAmt
Management And General$160,686ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$5,830,783TotalAmt
Program Services$4,606,318ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,166,157ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$58,308FundraisingAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$645,648TotalAmt
Program Services$497,149ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$148,499ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,689,939TotalAmt
Program Services$1,250,555ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$304,189ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$135,195FundraisingAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,477,594TotalAmt
Program Services$1,108,195ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$325,071ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$44,328FundraisingAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,745,828TotalAmt
Program Services$1,344,288ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$401,540ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$350,158TotalAmt
Program Services$266,120ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$70,032ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$14,006FundraisingAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$61,250TotalAmt
Program Services$39,200ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$9,800ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$12,250FundraisingAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,273,924TotalAmt
Program Services$980,921ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$293,003ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,891,872TotalAmt
Program Services$2,996,741ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$895,131ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$306,846TotalAmt
Program Services$236,271ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$70,575ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmt
CARES EXPENSES$900,084$900,084
AUXILIARY EXPENSES$658,436$506,996$151,440
STUDENT EMERGENCY FUNDS$562,978$562,978
BAD DEBT$380,011$292,608$87,403

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$229,492TotalAmt
Program Services$183,960ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$45,197ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$335FundraisingAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$63,181,144TotalAmt
Program Services$53,780,903ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$8,318,687ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$1,081,554FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,911,407BOYAmt
EOY$3,512,210EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,117,355BOYAmt
EOY$1,372,007EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,176,077BOYAmt
EOY$2,567,510EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,466,198BOYAmt
EOY$2,150,953EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,399,681BOYAmt
EOY$1,359,059EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$962,826BOYAmt
EOY$1,327,039EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$111,166,458LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$57,338,741LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$54,675,162BOYAmt
EOY$53,827,717EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$36,538,372BOYAmt
EOY$42,992,709EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$850,766EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$105,247,078BOYAmt
EOY$109,959,970EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,877,322BOYAmt
EOY$3,609,781EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,539,263BOYAmt
EOY$1,231,760EOYAmt

Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$8,271,140BOYAmt
EOY$7,961,930EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$17,842,185BOYAmt
EOY$18,603,479EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,440,808BOYAmt
EOY$2,646,340EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$34,970,718BOYAmt
EOY$34,053,290EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows FASB117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind

No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$29,954,155BOYAmt
EOY$22,716,447EOYAmt

Donor Restriction Net Assets DonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$40,322,205BOYAmt
EOY$53,190,233EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$70,276,360BOYAmt
EOY$75,906,680EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$105,247,078BOYAmt
EOY$109,959,970EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss-$1,975,755ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$7,606,075NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$0OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Info In Schedule O Part XIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredYes (1)FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd
Federal Grant Audit PerformedYes (1)FederalGrantAuditPerformedInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SchoolYes (X)SchoolInd

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule C IRS990ScheduleC

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Volunteers0VolunteersInd
Paid Staff Or Management0PaidStaffOrManagementInd
Media Advertisements0MediaAdvertisementsInd
Mailings Members0MailingsMembersInd
Publications Or Broadcast0PublicationsOrBroadcastInd
Grants Other Organizations0GrantsOtherOrganizationsInd
Direct Contact Legislators0DirectContactLegislatorsInd
Rallies Demonstrations0RalliesDemonstrationsInd
Other ActivitiesYes (1)OtherActivitiesInd
Other Activities$80,610OtherActivitiesAmt
Total Lobbying Expenditures$80,610TotalLobbyingExpendituresAmt
Not Described Section501c30NotDescribedSection501c3Ind

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART II-B, LINE 1:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationBUCHANAN INGERSOLL & ROONEY PROVIDES STATE LEVEL LOBBYING, GRANT WRITING AND GRANT ADMINISTRATION SERVICES FOR CARLOW UNIVERSITY. THE AMOUNTS PAID FOR THESE LOBBYING SERVICES FOR THE FISCAL YEAR JUNE 30, 2021 WERE $80,610.ExplanationTxt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$36,091,455BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$844,687ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$7,442,980InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$635,542GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$776,773OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$42,966,807EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$32,440,448BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$829,421ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$4,116,947InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$582,912GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$712,449OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$36,091,455EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$31,308,302BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$517,538ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$1,794,774InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$531,075GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$649,091OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$32,440,448EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$29,570,590BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$761,188ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$2,052,215InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$484,060GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$591,631OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$31,308,302EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$26,292,840BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$1,592,930ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$2,701,347InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$464,745GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$551,782OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$29,570,590EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Board Designated Balance EOY0.07730BoardDesignatedBalanceEOYPct
Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY0.61580PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Term Endowment Balance EOY0.30690TermEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Endowments Held Unrelated Org0EndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related Org0EndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$1,835,555OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$1,835,555BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$91,884,937OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$45,284,477DepreciationAmt
Book Value$46,600,460BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$16,242,853OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$12,054,264DepreciationAmt
Book Value$4,188,589BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$1,203,113OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$1,203,113BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$53,827,717TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (2 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
STUDENT DEPOSITS$74,251
FEDERAL LOAN ADVANCES$2,572,089
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$2,646,340TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$59,258,118TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$7,606,075NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Other Revenue$160,686OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported$7,766,761RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$51,491,357RevenueSubtotalAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$9,714,032OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$9,714,032RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$61,205,389TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$53,627,798TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Expenses Included$160,686OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$160,686ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$53,467,112ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Other Expenses Not Included$9,714,032OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$9,714,032ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$63,181,144TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (6 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART V, LINE 4:THE UNIVERSITY'S ENDOWMENT CONSISTS OF APPROXIMATELY 185 INDIVIDUAL FUNDS ESTABLISHED FOR A VARIETY OF PURPOSES. ITS ENDOWMENT INCLUDES BOTH DONOR-RESTRICTED ENDOWMENT FUNDS AND FUNDS DESIGNATED BY THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES TO FUNCTION AS ENDOWMENTS. AS REQUIRED BY GAAP, NET ASSETS ASSOCIATED WITH ENDOWMENT FUNDS, INCLUDING FUNDS DESIGNATED BY THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES, ARE CLASSIFIED AND REPORTED BASED ON THE EXISTENCE OR ABSENCE OF DONOR-IMPOSED RESTRICTIONS.
PART X, LINE 2:THE UNIVERSITY QUALIFIES AS A TAX-EXEMPT, NONPROFIT ORGANIZATION UNDER SECTION 501(C)(3) OF THE INTERNAL REVENUE CODE. ACCORDINGLY, THERE IS NO PROVISION FOR FEDERAL OR STATE INCOME TAXES. THE UNIVERSITY FOLLOWS THE INCOME TAX STANDARD FOR UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS. THE STANDARD PRESCRIBES A RECOGNITION THRESHOLD AND MEASUREMENT PRINCIPLE FOR THE FINANCIAL STATEMENT RECOGNITION AND MEASUREMENT OF TAX POSITIONS TAKEN OR EXPECTED TO BE TAKEN ON A TAX RETURN THAT ARE NOT CERTAIN TO BE REALIZED. AS A RESULT OF THE APPLICATION, THE UNIVERSITY EVALUATED ITS TAX POSITIONS AND DETERMINED THAT IT HAD NO UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS AS OF JUNE 30, 2021 OR 2020. THE UNIVERSITY'S POLICY IS TO RECOGNIZE INTEREST RELATED TO UNRECOGNIZED TAX BENEFITS IN INTEREST EXPENSE AND PENALTIES IN OPERATING EXPENSES.
PART XI, LINE 2D - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:INVESTMENT EXPENSES 160,686.
PART XI, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:STUDENT AID NETTED ON FINANCIAL STATEMENTS 9,691,662. RENTAL EXPENSES 22,370.
PART XII, LINE 2D - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:INVESTMENT EXPENSES 160,686.
PART XII, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:STUDENT AID NETTED ON FINANCIAL STATEMENTS 9,691,662. RENTAL EXPENSES 22,370.

Schedule E IRS990ScheduleE

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Nondiscriminatory Policy StmtYes (1)NondiscriminatoryPolicyStmtInd
Policy Stmt In Brochures EtcYes (1)PolicyStmtInBrochuresEtcInd
Plcy Pblczd Via Broadcast MediaYes (1)PlcyPblczdViaBroadcastMediaInd
Maintain Racial Comp RecsYes (1)MaintainRacialCompRecsInd
Maintain Scholarships RecsYes (1)MaintainScholarshipsRecsInd
Maintain Cpy Of Brochures EtcYes (1)MaintainCpyOfBrochuresEtcInd
Maintain Cpy Of All SolYes (1)MaintainCpyOfAllSolInd
Discriminate Race Stdnts Rghts0DiscriminateRaceStdntsRghtsInd
Discriminate Race Admiss Plcy0DiscriminateRaceAdmissPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Emplm Fculty0DiscriminateRaceEmplmFcultyInd
Discriminate Race Schs0DiscriminateRaceSchsInd
Discriminate Race Educ Plcy0DiscriminateRaceEducPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Use Of Fclts0DiscriminateRaceUseOfFcltsInd
Discriminate Race Athlt Prog0DiscriminateRaceAthltProgInd
Discriminate Race Other Acty0DiscriminateRaceOtherActyInd
Government Financial Aid RcvdYes (1)GovernmentFinancialAidRcvdInd
Government Financial Aid Rvkd0GovernmentFinancialAidRvkdInd
Compliance With Rev Proc7550Yes (1)ComplianceWithRevProc7550Ind

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
SCHEDULE E, PART I, LINE 3CERTAIN RECRUITING PUBLICATIONS AND COLLEGE CATALOGS CONTAIN EXPRESS STATEMENTS THAT THE COLLEGE DOES NOT DISCRIMINATE ON THE BASIS OF RACE, CREED, SEX OR RELIGION.
SCHEDULE E, PART I, LINE 6THE UNIVERSITY DISTRIBUTES STUDENT FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE FUNDS ON BEHALF OF FEDERAL AND STATE GOVERNMENTS. THIS ASSISTANCE INCLUDED FEDERAL AID FROM PELL GRANT AWARDS OF $2,494,279; SUPPLEMENTAL EDUCATIONAL OPPORTUNITY GRANT AWARDS OF $287,438; AND COLLEGE WORK STUDY AWARDS OF $90,517. THE UNIVERSITY ALSO RECEIVED STATE AID FROM THE PA HIGHER EDUCATION ASSISTANCE AUTHORITY IN THE AMOUNT OF $1,784,307.

Schedule F IRS990ScheduleF

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (1)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Account Activities Outside US AccountActivitiesOutsideUSGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
RegionEUROPE (INCLUDING ICELAND & GREENLAND) - ALBANIA, ANDORRA, AUSTRIA, BELGIUMRegionTxt
Offices0OfficesCnt
Employee0EmployeeCnt
Type Of Activities ConductedPROGRAM SERVICESTypeOfActivitiesConductedTxt
Specific Services ProvidedINTERNATIONAL TRAVELSpecificServicesProvidedTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Subtotal Offices0SubtotalOfficesCnt
Subtotal Employees0SubtotalEmployeesCnt
Continuation Total Office0ContinuationTotalOfficeCnt
Continuation Total Employee0ContinuationTotalEmployeeCnt
Total Office0TotalOfficeCnt
Total Employee0TotalEmployeeCnt
Subtotal Spent$0SubtotalSpentAmt
Continuation Spent$0ContinuationSpentAmt
Total Spent$0TotalSpentAmt
Transfer To Foreign Corp0TransferToForeignCorpInd
Interest In Foreign Trust0InterestInForeignTrustInd
Foreign Corp Ownership0ForeignCorpOwnershipInd
Passive Foreign Investmest Co0PassiveForeignInvestmestCoInd
Foreign Partnership0ForeignPartnershipInd
Boycott Countries0BoycottCountriesInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART I, LINE 2:THE UNIVERSITY'S USE OF GRANTS AND OTHER ASSISTANCE OUTSIDE OF THE UNITED STATES IS MONITORED THROUGH THE FINANCE OFFICE, WHICH REQUIRES THE APPROPRIATE SUPPORTING DOCUMENTATION AND AUTHORIZATION IN CONNECTION WITH THE UNIVERSITY'S PURCHASING POLICY.
PART III ACCOUNTING METHOD:

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (1)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp (2 entries)

Grant TypeGrantTypeTxtRecipientRecipientCntCash GrantCashGrantAmt
STUDENT SCHOLARSHIPS975$12,451,746
CAMPUS SCHOOL STUDENT SCHOLARSHIPS68$632,796

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART I, LINE 2:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationGRANT FUNDS ARE MONITORED BY THE FINANCIAL AID OFFICE AND ACCOUNTING OFFICES.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Housing Allowance Or ResidenceYes (X)HousingAllowanceOrResidenceInd
Club Dues Or FeesYes (X)ClubDuesOrFeesInd
Written Policy Ref T And E Expnss0WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd
Substantiation Required0SubstantiationRequiredInd
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanYes (1)SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org0CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs0CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org0CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs0CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed Payments0AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract Exception0InitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (7 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
SUZANNE K MELLON PHD
PRESIDENT$251,961$0$0$0$79,611$0$30,235$0$11,300$0$373,107$0$0$0
SIBDAS GHOSH
VP/PROVOST$179,265$0$0$0$8,963$0$29,815$0$11,477$0$229,520$0$0$0
DAVID MEADOWS
SVP FINANCE/ADMINISTRATION$177,750$0$0$0$8,888$0$30,274$0$3,370$0$220,282$0$0$0
LYNN GEORGE-SCHRINER
DEAN HEALTH & WELLNESS$159,579$0$0$0$0$0$11,968$0$29,096$0$200,643$0$0$0
MARY CECERE
VP ENROLLMENT/MARKETING$146,421$0$0$0$0$0$18,340$0$34,235$0$198,996$0$0$0
KIMBERLEY HAMMER
VP ADVANCEMENT - FORMER$129,050$0$0$0$0$0$19,387$0$28,441$0$176,878$0$0$0
TIMOTHY PHILLIPS
VP FOR STUDENT AFFAIRS AND$138,600$0$0$0$1,386$0$17,360$0$18,529$0$175,875$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART I, LINE 1AHOUSING ALLOWANCE PAID AND INCLUDED AS GROSS WAGES ON W-2 FORM FOR THE PRESIDENT ONLY. DUQUESNE CLUB DUES PAID BY CARLOW UNIVERSITY THROUGH ACCOUNTS PAYABLE. NOT TAXED TO AN INDIVIDUAL.
PART I, LINE 4BTHE PRESIDENT, DR. SUZANNE K. MELLON, PARTICIPATED IN A 457(F) SUPPLEMENTAL NON-QUALIFIED RETIREMENT PLAN IN FY 2020 AND CONTRIBUTED A TOTAL OF $40,322.

Schedule K IRS990ScheduleK

Tax Exempt Bonds Issues TaxExemptBondsIssuesGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdBond Issuer EINBondIssuerEINCUSIPCUSIPNumBond IssuedBondIssuedDtIssue PriceIssuePriceAmtPurposePurposeDescDefeasedDefeasedIndOn Behalf Of IssuerOnBehalfOfIssuerIndPool FinancingPoolFinancingInd
AUTHORITY IMPROVEMENTS MUNICIPALITY
A251196358052674AD02018-04-26$5,175,000ST. JOE'S AND CURRAN HALL RENOVATIONS000
AUTHORITY IMPROVEMENTS MUNICIPALITY
B2511963582018-07-12$3,500,000FOR THE RENOVATION OF CERTAIN EDUCATIONAL FACILITIES AND ISSUANCE COSTS000

Tax Exempt Bonds Proceeds TaxExemptBondsProceedsGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdRetiredRetiredAmtTotal ProceedsTotalProceedsAmtIssuance Costs From ProceedsIssuanceCostsFromProceedsAmtCapital ExpendituresCapitalExpendituresAmtSubstantial CompletionSubstantialCompletionYrRefunding Tax Exempt BondsRefundingTaxExemptBondsIndRefunding Taxable BondsRefundingTaxableBondsIndFinal Allocation MadeFinalAllocationMadeIndAdequate Books And Rec MaintAdequateBooksAndRecMaintInd
A$115,000$5,175,000$235,538$5,175,000201900Yes (1)Yes (1)
B$3,500,000$55,960$3,444,040201900Yes (1)Yes (1)

Tax Exempt Bonds Private Bus Use TaxExemptBondsPrivateBusUseGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdOwning Bond Financed PropertyOwningBondFinancedPropertyIndAny Lease ArrangementsAnyLeaseArrangementsIndMgmt Contract Bond Fincd PropMgmtContractBondFincdPropIndAny Research AgreementsAnyResearchAgreementsIndPrivate Bus Use By OthersPrivateBusUseByOthersPctPrivate Bus Concerning UBIPrivateBusConcerningUBIPctTotal Private Business UseTotalPrivateBusinessUsePctBond Iss Meet Prvt Sec Pymt TestBondIssMeetPrvtSecPymtTestIndChange In Use Bond Financed PropChangeInUseBondFinancedPropIndProcs Nonqualified Bond RemdtdProcsNonqualifiedBondRemdtdInd
A00000.000000.000000.0000000Yes (1)
B00000.000000.000000.0000000Yes (1)

Tax Exempt Bonds Arbitrage TaxExemptBondsArbitrageGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdForm8038 T FiledForm8038TFiledIndVariable Rate IssueVariableRateIssueIndHedge Identified In Bks And RecHedgeIdentifiedInBksAndRecIndGross Proceeds Invested In GICGrossProceedsInvestedInGICIndGross Proceeds InvestedGrossProceedsInvestedIndWritten Proc To Monitor ReqsWrittenProcToMonitorReqsIndRebate Not Due YetRebateNotDueYetIndException To RebateExceptionToRebateIndNo Rebate DueNoRebateDueInd
AYes (1)0000Yes (1)
B00000Yes (1)000

Procedures Corrective Action ProceduresCorrectiveActionGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdProcedures Corrective ActionProceduresCorrectiveActionInd
AYes (1)
BYes (1)

Schedule M IRS990ScheduleM

Securities Publicly Traded SecuritiesPubliclyTradedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
Contribution3ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$40,304NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
Method Of Determining RevenuesFAIR MARKET VALUEMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt

Other Non Cash Contri Table OtherNonCashContriTableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
DescVARIOUS ITEMSDesc
Contribution2ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$4,500NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
Method Of Determining RevenuesFAIR MARKET VALUEMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Any Property That Must Be Held0AnyPropertyThatMustBeHeldInd
Review Process Unusual NC GiftsYes (1)ReviewProcessUnusualNCGiftsInd
Third Parties Used0ThirdPartiesUsedInd

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (8 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 6THE SOLE MEMBER OF THE UNIVERSITY IS THE CONFERENCE FOR MERCY HIGHER EDUCATION WHICH EXERCISES RESERVED CANONICAL POWERS DELEGATED BY THE INSTITUTE OF THE SISTERS OF MERCY OF THE AMERICAS AND AS OUTLINED IN THE UNIVERSITY'S BYLAWS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7AUP TO SIX OF THE TOTAL TRUSTEES (EX-OFFICIO AND ELECTED TRUSTEES) SHALL BE PROFESSED SISTERS OF THE INSTITUTE OF THE SISTERS OF MERCY OF THE AMERICAS OR ITS CANONICAL SUCCESSOR. THERE SHALL BE THREE EX-OFFICIO TRUSTEES, WHO SHALL BE VOTING MEMBERS OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES AND INCLUDED IN THE TOTAL NUMBER OF TRUSTEES, AND SUCH EX-OFFICIO TRUSTEES SHALL CONSIST OF ONE SISTER OF MERCY, APPOINTED BY THE INSTITUTE OF THE SISTERS OF MERCY OF THE AMERICAS, THE PRESIDENT OF THE UNIVERSITY, AND THE BISHOP OF THE DIOCESE OF PITTSBURGH OR HIS DESIGNEE.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7BTHE MEMBER HAS THE RIGHT TO APPROVE THE FOLLOWING ACTIONS TO THE EXTENT SUCH ACTIONS ARE TAKEN BY THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES: AMENDMENTS TO THE ARTICLES OF INCORPORATION, IF THEY RELATE TO THE RESERVED POWERS DELEGATED TO THE CONFERENCE FOR MERCY HIGHER EDUCATION, THE ADOPTION OR AMENDMENT TO THE MISSION OF THE UNIVERSITY, THE INCURRENCE BY THE UNIVERSITY OF ANY DEBT, AND ANY SALE, TRANSFER, LONG-TERM LEASE OR EMCUMBRANCE OF ANY REAL OR PERSONAL PROPERTY, TANGIBLE OR INTANGIBLE, OF THE UNIVERSITY OUTSIDE THE ORDINARY COURSE OF BUSINESS ONLY TO THE EXTENT SUCH APPROVAL IS REQUIRED UNDER CANON LAW, ANY MERGER, CONSOLIDATION, DISSOLUTION, TRANSFER OF SUBSTANTIALLY ALL THE ASSETS, OR OTHER FUNDAMENTAL TRANSACTION WITHIN THE CONTEMPLATION OF THE PENNSYLVANIA NONPROFIT CORPORATION LAW, OF OR BY THE UNIVERSITY TO THE EXTENT SUCH APPROVAL IS REQUIRED BY CANON LAW.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11BFORM 990 IS PREPARED BY A CERTIFIED PUBLIC ACCOUNTING FIRM BASED ON INFORMATION PROVIDED BY MANAGEMENT. FORM 990 IS REVIEWED BY MANAGEMENT AND SUBMITTED TO THE AUDIT COMMITTEE FOR REVIEW AND APPROVAL, ONCE THE AUDIT COMMITTEE APPROVES THE SUBMITTED FORM 990; IT IS SUBMITTED TO THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES PRIOR TO FILING WITH THE IRS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12CTHE CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY APPLIES TO ALL "COVERED PERSONS" AS DEFINED IN THE POLICY. EACH COVERED PERSON IS GIVEN A COPY OF THE POLICY, REQUIRED TO SIGN A STATEMENT ACKNOWLEDGING THAT HE OR SHE HAS RECEIVED A COPY OF THE POLICY, UNDERSTANDS IT, AND AGREES TO COMPLY WITH IT. THE COVERED PERSON IS ALSO REQUIRED TO COMPLETE A COVERED PERSON'S QUESTIONNAIRE ON AN ANNUAL BASIS. EACH COVERED PERSON SHALL DISCLOSE ALL ACTUAL AND POTENTIAL CARLOW UNIVERSITY 25-0965438 CONFLICTS AS SET OUT IN THE POLICY. COMPLIANCE WITH THIS POLICY IS MONITORED AND ENFORCED BY THE FOLLOWING PROCEDURE: - EACH YEAR THE VICE PRESIDENT FOR FINANCE AND ADMINISTRATION, OR HIS DESIGNEE, UNDER THE SUPERVISION OF THE CHAIR OF THE AUDIT COMMITTEE, PREPARES A LIST OF COVERED PERSONS. - A COVERED PERSON QUESTIONNAIRE IS DISTRIBUTED TO EACH PERSON ON THE LIST - FORMS ARE COMPLETED AND SIGNED BY EACH COVERED PERSON - COMPLETED FORMS FOR ALL TRUSTEES ARE REVIEWED BY THE CHAIR OF THE AUDIT COMMITTEE TO DETERMINE IF ANY ACTUAL OR POTENTIAL CONFLICTS EXIST - COMPLETED FORMS FOR ALL COVERED PERSONS WHO ARE MEMBERS OF STAFF OR FACULTY ARE REVIEWED BY THE VICE PRESIDENT OF FINANCE AND ADMINISTRATION, OR HIS DESIGNEE. - THE CHAIR OF THE AUDIT COMMITTEE ASKS AT A MINIMUM OF TWO BOARD MEETINGS IF ANY TRUSTEE IS AWARE OF ANY CONFLICTS AND IT IS DOCUMENTED IN THE BOARD MINUTES DISCLOSURE OF ANY POTENTIAL OR ACTUAL CONFLICTS - DISCLOSURE OF ANY POTENTIAL OR ACTUAL CONFLICT OF INTEREST MUST BE DISCLOSED AT THE TIME THEY BECOME A COVERED PERSON, OR AT THE TIME A POTENTIAL OR ACTUAL CONFLICT ARISES AND AT THE TIME OF THE COMPLETION OF THE ANNUAL QUESTIONNAIRE. - ALL DISCLOSURES DETERMINED TO BE A CONFLICT OF INTEREST ACCORDING TO THE POLICY ARE DISCUSSED WITH THE CHAIR OF THE AUDIT COMMITTEE AND BROUGHT FORWARD TO THE NEXT BOARD OF TRUSTEE MEETING. - ANY IDENTIFIED CONFLICT SHALL BE REFLECTED IN THE MINUTES OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEE MEETINGS ALONG WITH THE NATURE OF SUCH CONFLICT. - THE MINUTES SHALL ALSO REFLECT ALL PERSONS PRESENT AT THE MEETING WHERE ANY VOTING TOOK PLACE ON AN ITEM RELATED TO THE DISCLOSED CONFLICT.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE IS THE AUTHORIZED COMMITTEE OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES TO REVIEW COMPENSATION OF THE PRESIDENT. THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE CREATED A COMPENSATION COMMITTEE (THE SUBCOMMITTEE) TO PERFORM ANNUAL PERFORMANCE REVIEWS AND SET THE PRESIDENT'S ANNUAL SALARY, IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE EXECUTIVE COMPENSATION PHILOSOPHY, POLICIES AND PROCEDURES APPROVED BY THE BOARD. NO MEMBER OF THE GOVERNANCE COMMITTEE MAY HAVE A CONFLICT OF INTEREST WITHIN THE MEANING OF THE APPLICABLE TREASURY REGULATIONS UNDER SECTION 4958 OF THE INTERNAL REVENUE CODE OF 1986. THE GOVERNANCE COMMITTEE SHALL DOCUMENT ITS DECISIONS WITH RESPECT TO COMPENSATION AS REQUIRED BY THE APPLICABLE TREASURY REGULATIONS UNDER SECTION 4958 OF THE INTERNAL REVENUE CODE OF 1986. THE ACTIONS OF THE GOVERNANCE COMMITTEE ARE INTENDED TO QUALIFY UNDER THE REBUTTABLE PRESUMPTION PROVISIONS IN SECTION 4958 OF THE INTERNAL REVENUE CODE OF 1986. OTHER SENIOR EXECUTIVE COMPENSATION: NO PROSPECTIVE SALARY ADJUSTMENTS WERE ANTICIPATED FOR OTHER SENIOR LEVEL EXECUTIVES. COMPARABILITY DATA AND ANALYSIS WAS PROVIDED TO THE PRESIDENTIN THIS FISCAL YEAR. REPORT TO THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES: THE PROCEDURE STATES THAT, THE GOVERNANCE COMMITTEE SHALL PROVIDE A WRITTEN REPORT TO THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES NO LATER THAN THE NEXT REGULARLY SCHEDULED MEETING OF THE BOARD FOLLOWING THE GOVERNANCE COMMITTEE ACTION ON THE COMPENSATION OF SENIOR EXECUTIVES. THE REPORT SHALL REFLECT BASE SALARY CARLOW UNIVERSITY 25-0965438 AND ALL OTHER ELEMENTS FOR SENIOR EXECUTIVES' COMPENSATION, AS WELL AS A SUMMARY OF THE CRITERIA AND PROCESSES USED TO MAKE THE COMPENSATION DECISIONS AND TO ASSURE THAT THE COMPENSATION IS "REASONABLE AND NOT "EXCESSIVE" WITHIN IRS POLICY AND CRITERIA. RELIANCE ON COMPARABILITY DATA DERIVED FROM MARKET REVIEW AND SELECTION OF PEER INSTITUTIONS: IN DETERMINING AND APPROVING COMPENSATION, THE GOVERNANCE COMMITTEE SHALL RELY ON COMPARABILITY DATA DERIVED FROM A REVIEW OF THE MOST CURRENT INFORMATION AVAILABLE AS TO COMPENSATION LEVELS FOR COMPARABLE SENIOR EXECUTIVES AT PEER INSTITUTIONS, TAKING INTO ACCOUNT THAT AVAILABLE INFORMATION IS GENERALLY FOR THE PRIOR FISCAL OR ACADEMIC YEARS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19THE UNIVERSITY'S GOVERNING DOCUMENTS, CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY AND AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE AVAILABLE UPON REQUEST BY THE PUBLIC AT THE CORPORATE ADDRESS.
FORM 990, PART XII, QUESTION 2CTHE ORGANIZATION'S FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE AUDITED BY AN INDEPENDENT ACCOUNTING FIRM. IN ADDITION, THE ORGANIZATION HAS A COMMITTEE THAT ASSUMES THE RESPONSIBILITY FOR OVERSIGHT OF THE AUDIT OF ITS FINANCIAL STATEMENTS AND ITS SELECTION OF THE INDEPENDENT AUDITOR. THIS PROCESS HAS NOT CHANGED FROM THE PRIOR YEAR.