STRATEGY STUDIO / PUBLIC DATA EXPLORER

BLACK WARRIOR ELECTRIC MEMBERSHIP CORPORATION: Form 990, tax year 2021

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
BLACK WARRIOR ELECTRIC MEMBERSHIP CORPORATION (EIN 63-0023263)
Tax period
2021-01-01 to 2021-12-31
Filed
2022-07-11
IRS object ID
202231929349302058
Schema version
2021v4.2
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2022-07-11T16:26:04-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2021-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN631035228PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Jackson Thornton & Co PCBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO Box 96AddressLine1Txt
CityMontgomeryCityNm
State AbbreviationALStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP361010096ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2021-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN630023263EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Black Warrior Electric MembershipBusinessNameLine1Txt
Business Name Line2CorporationBusinessNameLine2Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlBLACBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone3342890845PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO Box 779AddressLine1Txt
CityDemopolisCityNm
State AbbreviationALStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP36732ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonDaryl L JonesPersonNm
Person TitleManagerPersonTitleTxt
Phone3342890845PhoneNum
Signature2022-07-05SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Signing Officer SigningOfficerGrp

Person Full Name PersonFullName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Person FirstDarylPersonFirstNm
Person LastJonesPersonLastNm
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SSNXXX-XX-XXXXSSN

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonPatrick CooperPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00856177PTIN
Phone3348347660PhoneNum
Preparation2022-07-05PreparationDt

Additional Filer Information AdditionalFilerInformation

Trusted Customer TrustedCustomerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Trusted Customer3TrustedCustomerCd
Authentication Assurance LevelAAL1AuthenticationAssuranceLevelCd
Identity Assurance LevelIAL1IdentityAssuranceLevelCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2021TaxYr
Build TS2022-09-23 18:48:47ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerDaryl L JonesPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO Box 779AddressLine1Txt
CityDemopolisCityNm
State AbbreviationALStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP36732ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$42,843,236GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501cYes (X)Organization501cInd
Website Addresswww.blackwarrioremc.comWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1938FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateALLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionTo provide electric service to cooperative members in West Alabama at the lowest cost consistent with sound economy and good management.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body9VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent9VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee70TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers0TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$1,464,015PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$0CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$40,700,350PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$42,239,514CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$79,964PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$161,957CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$364,507PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$441,765CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$42,608,836PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$42,843,236CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$0PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$0CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$2,897,513PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$1,948,528CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$497,506PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$478,161CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$39,213,817PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$40,416,547CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$42,608,836PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$42,843,236CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$0PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$0CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$78,410,469TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$79,787,919TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$12,569,336TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$12,330,765TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$65,841,133NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$67,457,154NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionThe aim of Black Warrior Electric Membership Corporation is to make electric energy available to its members at the lowest cost consistent with sound economy and good management.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
DescUtilizing 6,870 miles of electric distribution lines, Black Warrior Electric Membership Corporation provided 370,752,752 Kilowatt Hours of electric energy to approximately 26,700 residential, commercial, and industrial members in West-Central Alabama.Desc
Described In Section501c30DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B Required0ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi Endowments0DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent0BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related Entity0RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document28IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Employee70EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit0UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Members And Shr Gross Income$42,218,972MembersAndShrGrossIncomeAmt
Other Sources Gross Income$182,500OtherSourcesGrossIncomeAmt
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt0SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc0SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members9GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member9IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (1)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (1)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (1)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Daryl JonesBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone3342890845PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11410 HWY 43 SouthAddressLine1Txt
CityDemopolisCityNm
State AbbreviationALStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP36732ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (17 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
Daryl L Jones
Manager60.00Yes (X)$206,578$0$59,066
Dawn G Quarles
Office Manager50.00Yes (X)$121,084$0$6,983
Terry Barr
Trustee-President4.00$10,450$0$0Yes (X)
Irvin Eatman
Trustee- Vice President6.00$9,500$0$0Yes (X)
Peter Michael Reynolds Jr
Trustee-Secretary6.00$9,500$0$0Yes (X)
William Rankin
Trustee4.00$2,250$0$0Yes (X)
Ottis Russelle
Trustee4.00$9,250$0$0Yes (X)
John E Lanier
Trustee4.00$9,250$0$0Yes (X)
Clyde Fields
Trustee6.00$9,500$0$0Yes (X)
William Townsend Kyser III
Trustee4.00$9,250$0$0Yes (X)
Audra Browder
Trustee4.00$9,250$0$0Yes (X)
Ronnie Hall
Trustee4.00$6,250$0$0Yes (X)
Emmett P Solomon
District Manager40.00$136,026$0$33,152Yes (X)
Phillip Tyson
Lineman50.00$134,971$0$25,595Yes (X)
Walter A Quarles
Lineman50.00$139,466$0$18,946Yes (X)
JA Sharpe
District Manager40.00$136,027$0$161,609Yes (X)
John E Barnes
District Manager40.00$132,204$0$46,062Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$1,090,806TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$351,413TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K7IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (3 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
Southern Clearing LLC
PO Box 425ButlerAL36904Right of Way Services$2,384,609
Harper Electric Construction Company In
PO Box 698AndalusiaAL36420Line Contractor$748,592
Stewart Engineering Inc
PO Box 2233AnnistonAL36202Engineering$116,720
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K3CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Sales of Electricity221000$42,218,972$42,218,972
Patronage Allocations221000$20,542$20,542
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$42,239,514TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$43,602TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$43,602ExclusionAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Personal$441,765PersonalAmt

Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Personal$0PersonalAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Personal$441,765PersonalAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$441,765TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$441,765ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$118,355OtherAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$0OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$118,355OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$118,355TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$118,355ExclusionAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$42,843,236TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$42,239,514RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$603,722ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part IXYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIXInd

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,948,528TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$478,161TotalAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$66,662TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,796,340TotalAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmt
Cost of Power$22,922,914
Distribution - Maintena$5,569,013
Admin & Gen Expense$3,540,421
Distribution - Operatio$2,501,045

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,020,152TotalAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$42,843,236TotalAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$8,996,067BOYAmt
EOY$11,620,131EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,500,000BOYAmt
EOY$2,500,000EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$7,176,436BOYAmt
EOY$6,260,830EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$738,884BOYAmt
EOY$777,237EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$371,848BOYAmt
EOY$420,502EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$124,060,815LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$66,135,093LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$58,360,626BOYAmt
EOY$57,925,722EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$266,608BOYAmt
EOY$283,497EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$78,410,469BOYAmt
EOY$79,787,919EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,547,051BOYAmt
EOY$3,136,797EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,219,196BOYAmt
EOY$2,715,529EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$6,803,089BOYAmt
EOY$6,478,439EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$12,569,336BOYAmt
EOY$12,330,765EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Org Does Not Follow FASB117Yes (X)OrgDoesNotFollowFASB117Ind

Cap Stk Tr Prin Current Funds CapStkTrPrinCurrentFundsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$135,025BOYAmt
EOY$135,765EOYAmt

Pd In Cap Srpls Land Bldg Eqp Fund PdInCapSrplsLandBldgEqpFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$65,706,108BOYAmt
EOY$67,321,389EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$65,841,133BOYAmt
EOY$67,457,154EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$78,410,469BOYAmt
EOY$79,787,919EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$0ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$1,616,021OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Info In Schedule O Part XIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$554,191OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$554,191BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$2,015,241OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$1,045,267DepreciationAmt
Book Value$969,974BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$121,491,383OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$65,089,826DepreciationAmt
Book Value$56,401,557BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$57,925,722TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (2 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
Consumer Deposits$2,772,208
Pension Benefit Obligation$3,706,231
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$6,478,439TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$42,914,136TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Revenue$70,900OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported$70,900RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$42,843,236RevenueSubtotalAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$0RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$42,843,236TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$40,965,608TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Expenses Included$70,900OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$70,900ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$40,894,708ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Other Expenses Not Included$1,948,528OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$1,948,528ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$42,843,236TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (4 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Part X, Line 2:Income taxes - Black Warrior Electric Membership Corporation is a Corporation and is exempt from income tax under Internal Revenue Code Section 501(c)(12). Management has evaluated the Corporation's tax positions and concluded that the Corporation had taken no uncertain tax positions that require adjustment to the financial statements.
Part XI, Line 2d - Other Adjustments:Reclassification of revenue/expense on F/S reconciliation 70,900.
Part XII, Line 2d - Other Adjustments:Reclassification of revenue/expense on F/S reconciliation 70,900.
Part XII, Line 4b - Other Adjustments:Allocation of margins 1,948,528.

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (6 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
Daryl L Jones
Manager$206,578$0$0$0$0$0$38,483$0$20,583$0$265,644$0$0$0
Emmett P Solomon
District Manager$136,026$0$0$0$0$0$14,377$0$18,775$0$169,178$0$0$0
Phillip Tyson
Lineman$134,971$0$0$0$0$0$6,777$0$18,818$0$160,566$0$0$0
Walter A Quarles
Lineman$139,466$0$0$0$0$0$0$0$18,946$0$158,412$0$0$0
JA Sharpe
District Manager$136,027$0$0$0$0$0$142,401$0$19,208$0$297,636$0$0$0
John E Barnes
District Manager$132,204$0$0$0$0$0$26,782$0$19,280$0$178,266$0$0$0

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (10 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 6Black Warrior Electric Membership Corporation is organized as a not-for-profit membership corporation whose members have identical voting rights and are assigned margins in accordance with the cooperative's bylaws.
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 7aBlack Warrior Electric Membership Corporation's bylaws provide that its Board of Trustees is to be elected by the members of the Cooperative at a meeting of members if the bylaw quorum requirement that 5% of the members register their attendance in person or by mail at the annual meeting is met.
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 7bThe membership must approve decisions that involve substantial transfers of cooperative assets, amendments to the cooperative's bylaws, as well as other decisions requiring approval of the membership by law, the articles of incorporation, and/or the cooperative's bylaws.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 11bThe Manager and accounting staff review the Form 990. The Form 990 is then distributed to each Trustee at the monthly meeting prior to filing with the Internal Revenue Service. The Board of Trustees then reviews and approves the Form 990 before it is filed with the Internal Revenue Service.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 12cEach year, members of the organization's governing body are required to disclose any conflicts of interest on a questionnaire.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 15The organization participates in a statewide salary and benefit survey among the rural cooperatives. The results of the survey are presented by management annually to the organization's governing body for review and salary adjustments. This process is reflected in the minutes of the Board of Trustees' meeting.
Form 990, Part VI, Section C, line 19The organization's governing documents, policies, and financial statements are available upon request for review at its main office by appointment.
Form 990, Part IX, Line 4The instructions to the 2021 Form 990 indicate that organizations exempt from tax under Section 501(c)(12) should report patronage dividends paid to their members in Part IX, Line 4 of the Form 990. Black Warrior Electric Membership Corporation has interpreted the words "patronage dividends paid" in the instructions to mean margins that are assigned or assignable to the members. According to Black Warrior Electric Membership Corporation's bylaws, the net margins of the cooperative are assigned and allocated to the members. Therefore, the amount listed in Part IX, Line 4 represents the entire net margins assignable to the members for the calendar year ended December 31, 2021.
Form 990, Part XI, line 9:Change in memberships 740. Other comprehensive income -14,817. Patronage gains 7,309. Allocation of Capital Credits 1,948,528. Retirement of Capital Credits -325,739.
Form 990, Part XII, Line 2cBlack Warrior Electric Membership Corporation did not change its processes of selection or oversight for the year ended December 31, 2021.