STRATEGY STUDIO / PUBLIC DATA EXPLORER

LANE-SCOTT ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE INC: Form 990, tax year 2021

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
LANE-SCOTT ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE INC (EIN 48-0526038)
Tax period
2021-01-01 to 2021-12-31
Filed
2022-10-11
IRS object ID
202242849349301009
Schema version
2021v4.2
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2022-10-11T09:23:49-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2021-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN750882037PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1BOLINGER SEGARS GILBERT AND MOSS LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line18215 NASHVILLE AVENUEAddressLine1Txt
CityLUBBOCKCityNm
State AbbreviationTXStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP79423ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2021-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN480526038EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1LANE-SCOTT ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE INCBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlLANEBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone6203975327PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 758AddressLine1Txt
CityDIGHTONCityNm
State AbbreviationKSStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP67839ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonRICHARD MCLEONPersonNm
Person TitleGENERAL MANAGERPersonTitleTxt
Phone6203975327PhoneNum
Signature2022-09-29SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Signing Officer SigningOfficerGrp

Person Full Name PersonFullName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Person FirstRICHARDPersonFirstNm
Person LastMCLEONPersonLastNm
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SSN999009999SSN

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonWILLIAM M MILLERPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00439459PTIN
Phone8067473806PhoneNum
Preparation2022-09-26PreparationDt
Self EmployedYes (X)SelfEmployedInd

Additional Filer Information AdditionalFilerInformation

Trusted Customer TrustedCustomerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Trusted Customer3TrustedCustomerCd
Authentication Assurance LevelAAL1AuthenticationAssuranceLevelCd
Identity Assurance LevelIAL1IdentityAssuranceLevelCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2021TaxYr
Build TS2022-09-23 18:48:47ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerRICHARD MCLEONPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 758AddressLine1Txt
CityDIGHTONCityNm
State AbbreviationKSStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP67839ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$22,014,740GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501cYes (X)Organization501cInd
Website AddressWWW.LANESCOTT.COOPWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1941FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateKSLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionTO PROVIDE QUALITY AND RELIABLE ELECTRIC SERVICE TO MEMBERS AT COST ON A COOPERATIVE BASIS.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body9VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent9VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee26TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers0TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$793,572TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$0PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$0CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$16,591,974PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$20,436,633CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$247,896PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$144,577CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$585,241PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$1,412,660CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$17,425,111PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$21,993,870CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$13,047PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$15,775CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$392,903PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$2,134,442CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$1,977,548PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$2,154,130CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$14,946,211PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$17,310,062CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$17,329,709PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$21,614,409CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$95,402PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$379,461CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$61,283,842TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$64,691,366TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$38,882,303TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$40,155,503TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$22,401,539NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$24,535,863NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionLANE-SCOTT ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE, INC. BELIEVES THAT EVERY MEMBER IS ENTITLED TO RELIABLE AND EFFICIENT ELECTRIC SERVICE AT THE LOWEST POSSIBLE COST COMPATIBLE WITH GOOD GOVERNANCE POLICIES AND MANAGEMENT PRACTICES. WE ALSO BELIEVE THAT WE HAVE THE OBLIGATION TO PROVIDE OTHER RELATED SERVICES THAT ENRICH PEOPLES' LIVES AND IMPROVE THE COMMUNITIES IN WHICH THEY LIVE. WE BELIEVE ADHERENCE TO COOPERATIVE PRINCIPLES IS THE BEST WAY TO ACHIEVE THE ABOVE DESIRED OBJECTIVES.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
DescPROVIDING ELECTRIC ENERGY TO OUR MEMBERS ON A COOPERATIVE BASIS THROUGH THE ALLOCATION OF PATRONAGE CAPITAL. THERE WERE 5,792 ACTIVE SERVICES AT YEAR.Desc
Described In Section501c30DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B Required0ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi Endowments0DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstYes (1)ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemYes (1)BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent0BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related Entity0RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document74IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Employee26EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (1)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (1)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Members And Shr Gross Income$18,855,931MembersAndShrGrossIncomeAmt
Other Sources Gross Income$1,672,975OtherSourcesGrossIncomeAmt
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt0SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc0SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members9GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member9IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business RlnYes (1)FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org DocumentsYes (1)ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (1)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (1)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (1)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of Committees0MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring Enfrc0RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention Policy0DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1KATHERINE E LEWIS FINANCE MANAGERBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone6203975327PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 758AddressLine1Txt
CityDIGHTONCityNm
State AbbreviationKSStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP67839ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part VIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIIInd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (16 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtOfficerOfficerIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
HAROLD HOSS
TRUSTEE2.70Yes (X)$8,100$0$0
RICHARD JENNISON
PRESIDENT1.70Yes (X)$5,350$0$0Yes (X)
CRAIG RAMSEY
VICE PRESIDENT2.30Yes (X)$4,350$0$0Yes (X)
RAD ROEHL
TRUSTEE2.90Yes (X)$4,350$0$0
PAUL SEIB JR
SECRETARY1.10Yes (X)$4,350$0$0Yes (X)
RICHARD SOREM
TRUSTEE1.30Yes (X)$4,350$0$0
RANDALL EVANS
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$4,350$0$0
ERIC DOLL
TREASURER1.40Yes (X)$4,000$0$0Yes (X)
CHAD GRIFFITH
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$2,950$0$0
RICHARD MCLEON
GENERAL MANAGER50.00$230,905$0$106,013Yes (X)
KATHERINE E LEWIS
FINANCE MANAGER43.00$124,088$0$142,710Yes (X)
BENJAMIN MANN
CREW FOREMAN43.00$108,426$0$63,860Yes (X)
KASEY JENKINSON
CREW FOREMAN44.00$107,344$0$91,269Yes (X)
CHRIS TERHUNE
JOURNEYMAN44.00$106,051$0$61,441Yes (X)
KEVIN BRADSTREET
JOURNEYMAN44.00$106,664$0$35,704Yes (X)
MYRON SEIB
JOURNEYMAN44.00$104,603$0$70,992Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$930,231TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$571,989TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K9IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp

Contractor Name ContractorName

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1NATIONAL INFORMATION SOLUTIONS COOPERATIBusinessNameLine1Txt

Contractor Address ContractorAddress

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1ONE INNOVATIVE CIRCLEAddressLine1Txt
CityLAKE SAINT LOUISCityNm
State AbbreviationMDStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP63367ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ServicesSOFTWARE AND OTHER SERVICESServicesDesc
Compensation$159,669CompensationAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K1CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Info In Schedule O Part VIIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIIIInd

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
SALES OF ELECTRICITY221000$18,949,805$18,949,805
PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS221000$1,462,917$1,462,917
SERVICE FEES221000$23,911$23,911
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$20,436,633TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$160,696TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$160,696ExclusionAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Personal$3,000PersonalAmt

Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Personal$0PersonalAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Personal$3,000PersonalAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$3,000TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$3,000UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$4,751OtherAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$20,870OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other-$16,119OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$16,119TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income-$16,119RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtUnrelated Business RevenueUnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmtExclusionExclusionAmt
ELECTRICIAN/HVAC SERVICE221000$790,572$790,572
PPP LOAN FORGIVENESS221000$619,088$619,088
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$1,409,660OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$21,993,870TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$20,420,514RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$793,572UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$779,784ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part IXYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIXInd

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$15,775TotalAmt

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,134,442TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$645,866TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$964,447TotalAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$248,563TotalAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$205,826TotalAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$89,428TotalAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,338,351TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,844,094TotalAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmt
PURCHASED POWER$11,294,294
DISTRIBUTION EXP.$1,147,083
ELECTRICIAN/HVAC EXP.$896,546
ADMIN & GENERAL EXP.$623,827

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$165,867TotalAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$21,614,409TotalAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$115,526BOYAmt
EOY$135,427EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,974,610BOYAmt
EOY$5,599,781EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,420,779BOYAmt
EOY$1,610,859EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$328,131BOYAmt
EOY$473,727EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$577,289BOYAmt
EOY$2,921,268EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$61,326,739LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$20,807,547LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$40,464,618BOYAmt
EOY$40,519,192EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$12,143,152BOYAmt
EOY$13,253,022EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$259,737BOYAmt
EOY$178,090EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$61,283,842BOYAmt
EOY$64,691,366EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,029,197BOYAmt
EOY$1,675,925EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$37,195,332BOYAmt
EOY$37,593,001EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$657,774BOYAmt
EOY$886,577EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$38,882,303BOYAmt
EOY$40,155,503EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Org Does Not Follow FASB117Yes (X)OrgDoesNotFollowFASB117Ind

Cap Stk Tr Prin Current Funds CapStkTrPrinCurrentFundsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Pd In Cap Srpls Land Bldg Eqp Fund PdInCapSrplsLandBldgEqpFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$22,401,539BOYAmt
EOY$24,535,863EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$22,401,539BOYAmt
EOY$24,535,863EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$61,283,842BOYAmt
EOY$64,691,366EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$379,461ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$1,754,863OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Info In Schedule O Part XIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$95,456OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$95,456BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$2,810,660OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$1,134,898DepreciationAmt
Book Value$1,675,762BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$57,416,507OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$19,672,649DepreciationAmt
Book Value$37,743,858BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$1,004,116OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$1,004,116BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$40,519,192TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Invst Program Related Org InvstProgramRelatedOrgGrp (12 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmtMethod ValuationMethodValuationCd
PATRONAGE CAPITAL-SUNFLOWER$11,500,455C
PATRONAGE CAPITAL-KEC$22,242C
PATRONAGE CAPITAL-NISC$68,330C
PATRONAGE CAPITAL-S&T TEL$109,656C
PATRONAGE CAPITAL-GB TEL$32,604C
PATRONAGE CAPITAL-FEDERATED$160,879C
PATRONAGE CAPITAL-COBANK$20,346C
PATRONAGE CAPITAL-MKEC$858,601C
PATRONAGE CAPITAL-CFC$220,608C
CAPITAL TERM CERTIFICATES-CFC$221,958C
MEMBERSHIPS IN ASSOC ORGS$3,200C
OTHER INVESTMENTS$34,143C
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Program Rltd$13,253,022TotalBookValueProgramRltdAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (3 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
CONSUMER DEPOSITS$112,956
ACCRUED OPERATING TAXES$437,847
POWER COST ADJUSTMENT - OVERCOLLECTED$335,774
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$886,577TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$21,097,324TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Revenue Not Reported$0RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$21,097,324RevenueSubtotalAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$896,546OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$896,546RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$21,993,870TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$18,583,421TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$18,583,421ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Other Expenses Not Included$3,030,988OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$3,030,988ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$21,614,409TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (5 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART X, LINE 2:THE COOPERATIVE UTILIZES THE "UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS" PROVISIONS OF ACCOUNTING PRINCIPLES GENERALLY ACCEPTED IN THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA. THE PRIMARY TAX POSITION OF THE COOPERATIVE IS ITS FILING STATUS AS A TAX EXEMPT ENTITY. THE COOPERATIVE DETERMINED THAT IT IS MORE LIKELY THAN NOT THAT THEIR TAX POSITIONS WILL BE SUSTAINED UPON EXAMINATION BY THE INTERNAL REVENUE SERVICE (IRS) AND THAT ALL TAX BENEFITS ARE LIKELY TO BE REALIZED UPON SETTLEMENT WITH TAXING AUTHORITIES.
PART XI, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:NON-OPERATING EXPENSES RECLASSIFIED TO PART IX, LINE 24 896,546.
PART XII, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:PATRONAGE CAPITAL ALLOCATED OR TO BE ALLOCATED 2,134,442. NON-OPERATING EXPENSES RECLASSIFIED TO PART IX, LINE 24 896,546.
PART VIII:THE AMOUNT OF OTHER ASSETS ON FORM 990, PAGE 11, PART X, LINE 15 DOES NOT EQUAL OR EXCEED 5% OF THE TOTAL ASSETS ON FORM 990, PAGE 11, PART X, LINE 16, COLUMN B. CONSEQUENTLY, IN ACCORDANCE WITH IRS INSTRUCTIONS, SCHEDULE D, PART IX HAS BEEN LEFT BLANK.
PART XII, LINE 4B:FOR THE AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS, THE AMOUNT OF PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS ALLOCATED OR TO BE ALLOCATED TO THE MEMBERS IS REPORTED AS AN INCREASE IN EQUITY AND NOT AS AN EXPENSE. THEREFORE, NET INCOME PER THE AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS IS REPORTED GROSS OF THE AMOUNT OF PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS THAT ARE EITHER ALLOCATED OR TO BE ALLOCATED AT THE TIME THE AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE PREPARED. HOWEVER, BECAUSE THE ALLOCATION OF PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS IS ONE ASPECT OF HOW THE COOPERATIVE FULFILLS ITS TAX EXEMPT PURPOSE OF OPERATING ON A COOPERATIVE BASIS, THE AMOUNT OF PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS EITHER ALLOCATED OR TO BE ALLOCATED TO THE MEMBERS IS REPORTED ON FORM 990, PART IX, LINE 4 AS "BENEFITS PAID TO MEMBERS". PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS ARE ALLOCATED ON A PATRONAGE BASIS AND DONE SO PURSUANT TO A PRE-EXISTING OBLIGATION AS PROVIDED FOR IN THE "NON-PROFIT OPERATION" ARTICLE OF THE COOPERATIVE'S BYLAWS.

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Travel For CompanionsYes (X)TravelForCompanionsInd
Written Policy Ref T And E ExpnssYes (1)WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd
Substantiation Required0SubstantiationRequiredInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (6 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
RICHARD MCLEON
GENERAL MANAGER$227,667$0$150$0$3,088$0$78,715$0$27,298$0$336,918$0$0$0
KATHERINE E LEWIS
FINANCE MANAGER$120,073$0$150$0$3,865$0$125,500$0$17,210$0$266,798$0$0$0
KASEY JENKINSON
CREW FOREMAN$106,794$0$150$0$400$0$65,632$0$25,637$0$198,613$0$0$0
MYRON SEIB
JOURNEYMAN$103,798$0$150$0$655$0$45,402$0$25,590$0$175,595$0$0$0
BENJAMIN MANN
CREW FOREMAN$107,362$0$150$0$914$0$54,918$0$8,942$0$172,286$0$0$0
CHRIS TERHUNE
JOURNEYMAN$104,529$0$1,150$0$372$0$35,851$0$25,590$0$167,492$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART I, LINE 1ATRAVEL FOR COMPANIONS - PURSUANT TO APPLICABLE TRAVEL POLICIES, THE COOPERATIVE WILL REIMBURSE TRUSTEES THE COST OF HIS/HER SPOUSE TO ACCOMPANY HIM/HER ON OFFICIAL BUSINESS OF THE COOPERATIVE. REIMBURSABLE COSTS INCLUDE TRAVEL AND MEAL ALLOWANCES. THE COOPERATIVE WILL ALSO REIMBURSE AN EMPLOYEE FOR TRANSPORTATION AND LODGING COSTS OF HIS/HER SPOUSE FOR APPROVED TRAVEL. DURING THE YEAR, TWO INDIVIDUALS REPORTED ON FORM 990, PART VII - JENNISON AND HOSS- RECEIVED THIS BENEFIT. SINCE THE COOPERATIVE CONSIDERS THE REIMBURSEMENT TO BE CONSISTENT TO A BONA FIDE BUSINESS PURPOSE, SUCH REIMBURSEMENTS WERE TREATED AS EXPENSES EXCLUDED FROM THE REPORTABLE COMPENSATION OF EACH.
PART II, COLUMN C:INCLUDED IN THIS AMOUNT IS THE INCREASE IN ACTUARIAL VALUE OF BENEFITS PAYABLE UNDER A DEFINED BENEFIT RETIREMENT PLAN. THE CONTRIBUTION RATE FOR PARTICIPANTS IN THE NRECA R&S DEFINED BENEFIT PENSION PLAN ARE THE SAME FOR ALL INDIVIDUALS IN THIS MULTI-EMPLOYER PLAN. THE CHANGE IN ACTUARIAL VALUE FOR EACH PARTICIPANT, HOWEVER, VARIES WITH AGE. IN OTHER WORDS, THE OLDER A PLAN PARTICIPANT IS, THE GREATER THE INCREASE IN THAT INDIVIDUAL'S CHANGE IN ACTUARIAL VALUE, ALL OTHER THINGS BEING EQUAL. BECAUSE THIS RELATES TO A MULTI-EMPLOYER PLAN, CASH CONTRIBUTIONS TO THE PLAN IN LIEU OF THE ACTUARIAL INCREASE ARE EXPENSED IN THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS. RICHARD MCLEON ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFERRED BENEFIT PLAN: $71,877 EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION TO 401 (K): 6,838 TOTAL REPORTED IN COLUMN C: 78,715 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DBP: $(71,877) ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTION TO DBP: 63,098 EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE: 69,936 KATHERINE E. LEWIS ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFERRED BENEFIT PLAN: $119,386 EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION TO 401 (K): 6,114 TOTAL REPORTED IN COLUMN C: 125,500 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DBP: $(119,386) ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTION TO DBP: 55,132 EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE: 61,246 KASEY JENKINSON ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFERRED BENEFIT PLAN: $61,003 EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION TO 401 (K): 4,629 TOTAL REPORTED IN COLUMN C: 65,632 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DBP: $(61,003) ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTION TO DBP: 41,241 EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE: 45,870 MYRON SEIB ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFERRED BENEFIT PLAN: $40,985 EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION TO 401 (K): 4,417 TOTAL REPORTED IN COLUMN C: 45,402 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DBP: $(40,985) ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTION TO DBP: 39,804 EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE: 44,221 BENJAMIN MANN ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFERRED BENEFIT PLAN: $50,289 EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION TO 401 (K): 4,629 TOTAL REPORTED IN COLUMN C: 54,918 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DBP: $(50,289) ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTION TO DBP: 41,241 EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE: 45,870 CHRIS TERHUNE ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFERRED BENEFIT PLAN: $31,434 EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION TO 401 (K): $4,417 TOTAL REPORTED IN COLUMN C: 35,851 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DBP: $(31,434) ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTION TO DBP: 39,804 EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE: 44,221

Schedule L IRS990ScheduleL

Bus Tr Involve Interested Prsn BusTrInvolveInterestedPrsnGrp

Name Of Interested NameOfInterested

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonMYRON SEIBPersonNm
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Relationship DescriptionFAMILY RELATIONSHIP - (DIRECTOR P. SEIB)RelationshipDescriptionTxt
Transaction$104,603TransactionAmt
TransactionEMPLOYMENTTransactionDesc
Sharing Of Revenues0SharingOfRevenuesInd

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (20 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 2RICHARD MCLEON (GM), PAUL SEIB, JR. (TRUSTEE), AND KATHERINE LEWIS (TRUSTEE) SERVED ON THE BOARD OF SUNFLOWER ELECTRIC POWER CORPORATION AT THE REQUEST OF AND FOR THE BENEFIT OF THE COOPERATIVE.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 4DURING THE YEAR, THE COOPERATIVE'S BYLAWS WERE AMENDED. THE FOLLOWING IS A SUMMARY OF THE CHANGES MADE: ARTICLE III - MEETINGS OF MEMBERS SECTION 5. VOTING, WAS AMENDED TO ADD "THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES MAY ALLOW FOR VOTING BY MEMBERS BY IN-PERSON VOTING, VOICE VOTE, MEMBER WRITTEN VOTE OR ELECTRONIC MEANS. THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES SHALL AUTHORIZE A MEANS OF ELECTRONIC VOTING ONLY IF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES IS SATISFIED THAT SUCH MEANS INCLUDES FUNCTIONALITY DESIGNED TO PREVENT DUPLICATE AND UNAUTHORIZED BALLOTING." SECTION 8. MEMBER ACTION BY WRITTEN BALLOT OR MAIL BALLOT, WAS AMENDED TO STATE THAT "MEMBERS MAY VOTE ON ANY ACTION THAT MAY BE TAKEN AT ANY MEMBER MEETING INCLUDING THE ELECTION OF TRUSTEES WITHOUT A MEMBER MEETING. PART 3 (A) WAS ALSO AMENDED TO STATE THAT "ANY MATERIAL SOLICITING APPROVAL OF ANY ACTION BY MEMBER WRITTEN BALLOT MUST CONTAIN A COPY OR SUMMARY OF EACH PROPOSED ACTION AND IF A TRUSTEE ELECTION IS BEING HELD, A LIST OF TRUSTEE NOMINEES IN ALPHABETICAL ORDER ALONG WITH BLANK SPACES FOR ADDITIONAL NOMINEES." SECTION 10. VIRTUAL MEETINGS, WAS ADDED TO THE BYLAWS AND STATES THAT "DURING EMERGENCIES OR CONDITIONS THAT MAKE MEETING IN PERSON DIFFICULT OR IMPOSSIBLE, THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES IS AUTHORIZED TO DESIGNATE THAT A MEETING OF THE MEMBERS MAY BE HELD BY VIRTUAL, ELECTRONIC OR OTHER NON IN-PERSON MEANS ("VIRTUAL MEETING"). THE VIRTUAL MEETING MUST ALLOW FOR PARTICIPATION OF ALL MEMBERS IN ATTENDANCE. THE VIRTUAL MEETING SHALL HAVE THE SAME FORCE AND EFFECT AS ACTION TAKEN BY IN-PERSON MEETINGS OR BY MEMBER'S WRITTEN BALLOT. QUORUM REQUIREMENTS FOR A VIRTUAL MEETING SHALL BE THE SAME REQUIREMENT FOR AN IN-PERSON MEETING." ARTICLE IV - TRUSTEES SECTION 2. ELECTION AND TENURE, WAS AMENDED TO ADD "THE ELECTION OF TRUSTEES MAY BE HELD BY VOICE VOTE, MAIL-IN BALLOT, WRITTEN BALLOT, OR ELECTRONIC BALLOT AT THE DISCRETION OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES. IN THE EVENT OF A TIE ELECTION, THE WINNER OF THE ELECTION SHALL BE DETERMINED BY THE FLIP OF A COIN." SECTION 4. NOMINATIONS, WAS AMENDED TO CHANGE THE NUMBER OF DAYS PRIOR TO THE MEETING OF THE MEMBERS THAT ANY 15 MEMBERS ACTING TOGETHER MAY MAKE NOMINATIONS BY PETITION FROM 15 DAYS TO 45 DAYS. AND THE SENTENCE NOTHING CONTAINED HEREIN SHALL, HOWEVER, PREVENT ADDITIONAL NOMINATIONS FROM THE FLOOR AT THE MEETING OF THE MEMBERS." WAS DELETED. SECTION 6. VACANCIES, ADDED "THE REMAINING TRUSTEES MAY UPON A MAJORITY VOTE OF THE REMAINING TRUSTEES, CHOOSE TO LEAVE THE VACANCY UNFILLED UNTIL THE NEXT ANNUAL MEETING OR SPECIAL MEETING OF THE MEMBERS AT WHICH TIME THE MEMBERS MAY ELECT A TRUSTEE FOR THE UNEXPIRED TERM OF THE TRUSTEE IN RESPECT OF WHOM THE VACANCY OCCURS." ARTICLE V - MEETINGS OF TRUSTEES SECTION 9. VIRTUAL MEETINGS, WAS ADDED TO THE BYLAWS AND STATES THAT "DURING EMERGENCIES OR CONDITIONS THAT MAKE MEETING IN PERSON DIFFICULT OR IMPOSSIBLE, THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES IS AUTHORIZED TO DESIGNATE THAT A MEETING OF THE MEMBERS MAY BE HELD BY VIRTUAL, ELECTRONIC OR OTHER NON IN-PERSON MEANS ("VIRTUAL MEETING"). THE VIRTUAL MEETING SHALL HAVE THE SAME FORCE AND EFFECT AS ACTION TAKEN BY IN-PERSON MEETINGS OR BY MEMBER'S WRITTEN BALLOT. QUORUM REQUIREMENTS FOR A VIRTUAL MEETING SHALL BE THE SAME REQUIREMENT FOR AN IN-PERSON MEETING." A COMPLETE COPY OF THE BYLAWS CAN BE FOUND ON THE COOPERATIVE'S WEBSITE: HTTPS://WWW.LANE-SCOTT.COOP/BYLAWS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 6THE COOPERATIVE WAS FORMED BY THE MEMBERS TO PROVIDE ELECTRIC SERVICE AT COST ON A COOPERATIVE BASIS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7ATHE MEMBERS OF THE COOPERATIVE VOTE ON THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES. ELECTIONS ARE DONE ON A ONE MEMBER ONE VOTE BASIS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7BTHE FOLLOWING ACTS REQUIRE APPROVAL OF THE MEMBERS OF THE COOPERATIVE: 1. DISSOLUTION/LIQUIDATION OF THE COOPERATIVE 2. MERGER OR CONSOLIDATION OF THE COOPERATIVE WITH ANOTHER ORGANIZATION 3. DISPOSAL OF A SUBSTANTIAL PORTION OF THE COOPERATIVE'S ASSETS 4. AMENDMENT TO THE ARTICLES OF INCORPORATION 5. AMENDMENT TO THE BYLAWS
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 8BTHE COOPERATIVE HAS NO COMMITTEES WITH AUTHORITY TO ACT ON BEHALF OF THE GOVERNING BODY. THEREFORE, AND PURSUANT TO FORM 990 INSTRUCTIONS, THE QUESTION HAS BEEN ANSWERED "NO".
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11BMANAGEMENT PRESENTED A COPY OF THE FORM 990 TO THE BOARD FOR DISCUSSION AND REVIEW PRIOR TO FILING.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES UTILIZE AN ANNUAL PERFORMANCE APPRAISAL WHEN DETERMINING THE COMPENSATION OF THE GENERAL MANAGER. THE BOARD AND THE GENERAL MANAGER UTILIZE A COMPENSATION SURVEY WHEN DETERMINING THE COMPENSATION OF THE COOPERATIVE'S OTHER EMPLOYEES MEETING THE DEFINITION OF OFFICER AND KEY EMPLOYEES, IF ANY. THE SURVEY INCLUDES SALARIES FROM SIMILARLY SITUATED COOPERATIVES THROUGHOUT KANSAS AND THE NATION.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19THE COOPERATIVE WILL PROVIDE A COMPLETE COPY OF ITS GOVERNING DOCUMENTS, CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY, AND AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS TO ANY MEMBER WHO REQUESTS A COPY OF ANY SUCH DOCUMENT. ADDITIONALLY, THE COOPERATIVE PROVIDES A SUMMARIZED COPY OF ITS BALANCE SHEET AND INCOME STATEMENT TO THE MEMBERS OF THE COOPERATIVE WITH THE ANNUAL REPORT. FINALLY, A CURRENT COPY OF THE BYLAWS CAN BE FOUND ON THE COOPERATIVE'S WEBSITE.
FORM 990. PART VII, COLUMN F:IN ORDER TO PROVIDE RETIREMENT BENEFITS TO ITS EMPLOYEES, THE COOPERATIVE HAS ESTABLISHED A DEFINED CONTRIBUTION PLAN UNDER SECTION 401(K) OF THE INTERNAL REVENUE CODE. EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTIONS TO THE PLAN ARE MADE PURSUANT TO THE PLAN DOCUMENT. ADDITIONALLY, THE COOPERATIVE PARTICIPATES IN A MULTI-EMPLOYER DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN. CONTRIBUTIONS TO THIS PLAN ARE BASED ON THE FULL FUNDING LIMITATION OF SUCH PLAN. EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTIONS FOR BOTH PLANS ARE AVAILABLE TO PARTICIPATING EMPLOYEES, INCLUDING OFFICERS AND HIGHLY COMPENSATED EMPLOYEES, MEETING THE ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS OF SUCH PLANS. THE COOPERATIVE ALSO PROVIDES HEALTH, DENTAL, VISION AND LIFE INSURANCE TO ALL ELIGIBLE EMPLOYEES THROUGH A QUALIFIED PLAN. THE AMOUNTS REPORTED ON PART VII, COLUMN (F) FOR THE OFFICERS AND HIGHLY COMPENSATED EMPLOYEES IS COMPRISED OF ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN THE DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN, THE TOTAL AMOUNT CONTRIBUTED BY THE COOPERATIVE TO THE DEFINED CONTRIBUTION PLAN AND INSURANCE PAID ON BEHALF OF AND FOR THEIR BENEFIT.
FORM 990. PART VIII, LINE 2:PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS RESULT FROM THE PURCHASE OF WHOLESALE POWER FROM A GENERATION & TRANSMISSION COOPERATIVE. PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS ALSO RESULT FROM THE PAYMENT OF INTEREST FROM COOPERATIVE BANKS AND THE PURCHASE OF SUPPLIES AND SERVICES FROM OTHER COOPERATIVE ORGANIZATIONS. THE EXPENSES ASSOCIATED WITH PURCHASES FROM AND PAYMENTS TO SUCH COOPERATIVE ORGANIZATIONS ARE A DIRECT COMPONENT OF COST OF THE ELECTRIC SERVICE PROVIDED BY THE COOPERATIVE TO ITS MEMBERS.
FORM 990, PART VIII, LINE 11BTHE CORONAVIRUS AID, RELIEF, AND ECONOMIC SECURITY ACT (CARES ACT) ESTABLISHED THE PAYCHECK PROTECTION PROGRAM (PPP) TO PROVIDE LOANS TO SMALL BUSINESSES AS A DIRECT INCENTIVE TO KEEP THEIR WORKERS ON THE PAYROLL. THE LOANS ARE FORGIVEN IF ALL EMPLOYEE RETENTION CRITERIA ARE MET AND THE FUNDS ARE USED FOR ELIGIBLE EXPENSES. DURING THE YEAR, THE COOPERATIVE APPLIED FOR AND RECEIVED A LOAN OF $619,088. AFTER FULFILLING THE REQUIREMENTS OF THE PROGRAM, THE COOPERATIVE RECORDED THE ANTICIPATED LOAN FORGIVENESS AS INCOME, BECAUSE THE NATURE OF THE PROGRAM IS COMPRISED OF A BONA FIDE LOAN FOLLOWED BY LOAN FORGIVENESS. ALTHOUGH THE INSTRUCTIONS TO FORM 990 STATE THAT THE AMOUNT OF PPP LOANS THAT ARE FORGIVEN MAY BE REPORTED ON LINE 1E AS CONTRIBUTIONS FROM A GOVERNMENTAL UNIT, THE COOPERATIVE HAS CHOSEN TO REPORT THE PPP LOAN FORGIVENESS AS OTHER INCOME ON LINE 11B.
FORM 990, PART IX:THE ACCOUNTING RECORDS OF THE COOPERATIVE ARE MAINTAINED IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE RURAL UTILITIES SERVICE (RUS) UNIFORM SYSTEM OF ACCOUNTS (USOA) AS PRESCRIBED FOR RUS ELECTRIC BORROWERS. THE USOA DOES NOT RECORD EXPENSES IN THE GENERAL EXPENSE CATEGORIES PROVIDED ON PART IX LINES 1-23. THE COOPERATIVE SEPARATELY REPORTS SALARIES AND WAGES, EMPLOYEE BENEFITS AND PAYROLL TAXES THAT ARE ALLOCATED IN ACCORDANCE WITH THEIR ACCOUNTING SYSTEM, BUT OTHER EXPENSES THAT ARE DESCRIBED IN LINES 1-23 ARE REPORTED ON LINE 24 UNDER THE EXPENSE CATEGORIES REQUIRED BY THE USOA.
FORM 990. PART IX, LINES 5-7:SALARIES AND WAGES ARE ALLOCATED TO ASSET, LIABILITY, AND EXPENSE ACCOUNTS BASED ON THE ACCOUNTING SYSTEM DESCRIBED ABOVE. THE FOLLOWING SCHEDULE RECONCILES AMOUNTS REPORTED ON LINES 5-7 TO TOTAL WAGES ACCRUED AND/OR PAID: TOTAL PER LINES 5-7 $ 1,610,313 LESS: DIRECTORS FEES REPORTED ON FORM 1099-NEC (42,150) LESS: EMPLOYEE OFFICER BENEFITS INCLUDED IN LINE 5 (248,723) PLUS: SALARIES AND WAGES ALLOCATED TO NONOPERATING MARGINS 249,859 PLUS: SALARIES AND WAGES CAPITALIZED DIRECTLY TO PLANT 405,271 PLUS: SALARIES AND WAGES CAPITALIZED/EXPENSED INDIRECTLY THROUGH CLEARING AND OTHER ACCOUNTS 95,944 TOTAL WAGES ACCRUED AND/OR PAID $ 2,070,514
FORM 990. PART IX, LINE 24:ADMINISTRATIVE & GENERAL EXPENSE IS COMPRISED OF THE FOLLOWING: ADMINISTRATIVE & GENERAL SALARIES, BENEFITS, & OTHER $ 559,553 OFFICE SUPPLIES 49,293 OUTSIDE SERVICES 117,695 EMPLOYEE EDUCATION AND TRAINING 201,931 DIRECTORS 51,573 ANNUAL MEETING 130,128 CAPITAL CREDITS 11,160 DUES TO ASSOCIATED ORGANIZATIONS 70,887 MISCELLANEOUS GENERAL 57,480 REGULATORY COMMISSION 887 MAINTENANCE OF GENERAL PLANT 203,227 TOTAL ADMIN & GENERAL EXP PER FINANCIAL STATEMENTS $ 1,453,814 LESS: RECLASS OF DIRECTOR FEES TO PART IX, LINE 5 (42,150) LESS: RECLASS OF LABOR TO PART IX, LINES 5 & 7 (492,193) LESS: RECLASS OF BENEFITS TO PART IX, LINES 8-10 (295,644) TOTAL ADMIN & GENERAL EXPENSE PER FORM 990, PART IX $ 623,827
FORM 990, PART IX, LINE 24E:OTHER EXPENSES IS COMPRISED OF THE FOLLOWING: OTHER DEDUCTIONS $ 7,256 SALES 22,372 CONSUMER ACCOUNTS 104,941 CUSTOMER SERVICE AND INFORMATION 31,298 TOTAL OTHER EXPENSES PER FORM 990, PART IX $ 165,867
FORM 990, PART IX, LINE 4:PURSUANT TO THE FORM 990 INSTRUCTIONS, THE AMOUNT OF PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS PAID TO THE MEMBERS (HEREINAFTER REFERRED TO AS "PATRONS") SHOULD BE REPORTED ON PART IX, LINE 4. THE PHRASE "PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS PAID" REFERS TO THE PROCESS, SUBSEQUENT TO YEAR-END, BY WHICH THE COOPERATIVE ALLOCATES PATRONAGE CAPITAL TO AND, THEREFORE, OPERATES AT COST WITH ITS PATRONS. THE COOPERATIVE'S TAX EXEMPT PURPOSE IS TO PROVIDE ELECTRICITY TO ITS PATRONS AND TO DO SO ON A COOPERATIVE BASIS. TAX LAW DEFINES "OPERATING ON A COOPERATIVE BASIS" AS SUBORDINATION OF CAPITAL, DEMOCRATIC CONTROL, AND OPERATION AT COST. THE COOPERATIVE OPERATES AT COST THROUGH THE ALLOCATION OF TRUE PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS (ALSO REFERRED TO AS ALLOCATIONS OF PATRONAGE CAPITAL) TO ITS PATRONS. PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS ARE CONSIDERED PAID IF THE ALLOCATION IS MADE (1) PURSUANT TO A PRE-EXISTING OBLIGATION, (2) FROM THE MARGINS PRODUCED FROM THE TRANSACTIONS DONE WITH OR FOR PATRONS, AND (3) IN A FAIR AND EQUITABLE MANNER ON THE BASIS OF PATRONAGE (I.E. PURCHASES). ADDITIONALLY, THE ALLOCATION OF PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS SHOULD BE MADE WITHIN A REASONABLE TIME PERIOD AFTER THE CLOSE OF THE COOPERATIVE'S CALENDAR TAX YEAR-END OF DECEMBER 31. EACH ONE OF THESE REQUIREMENTS FOR A TRUE PATRONAGE DIVIDEND IS PROVIDED FOR IN THE NON-PROFIT OPERATION ARTICLE OF THE COOPERATIVE'S BYLAWS. THE AMOUNT REPORTED ON PART IX, LINE 4 REPRESENTS THE AMOUNT OF PATRONAGE CAPITAL THAT IS EITHER ALLOCATED OR TO BE ALLOCATED TO THE PATRONS RESULTING FROM THEIR PURCHASE OF ELECTRICITY FROM THE COOPERATIVE FOR THE 2021 CALENDAR YEAR. BECAUSE PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS ARE THE PROCESS BY WHICH THE COOPERATIVE OPERATES AT COST WITH ITS PATRONS AND THEREBY A KEY COMPONENT TO ACCOMPLISHING ITS EXEMPT PURPOSE, THE COOPERATIVE HAS REPORTED SUCH AMOUNTS AS AN EXPENSE FOR FORM 990 REPORTING. PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS ARE NOT AN EXPENSE FOR FINANCIAL STATEMENTS PREPARED IN ACCORDANCE WITH GENERALLY ACCEPTED ACCOUNTING PRINCIPLES, HOWEVER.
FORM 990, PART IX, LINE 1:ALL GRANTS, SPONSORSHIPS, AND/OR DONATIONS ARE MADE TO NON-PROFIT AND CIVIC ORGANIZATIONS THAT ARE LOCATED IN THE COOPERATIVE'S SERVICE AREA, AND ARE INTENDED TO IMPROVE THE COMMUNITIES IN WHICH OUR MEMBERS RESIDE. EACH GRANT, SPONSORSHIP, AND/OR DONATION MADE DURING THE YEAR WAS BELOW THE REPORTING THRESHOLD OF SCHEDULE I, PART II.
FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9:PATRONAGE CAPITAL ALLOCATED OR TO BE ALLOCATED 2,134,442. PATRONAGE CAPITAL RETIRED - TOTAL -436,369. PATRONAGE CAPITAL RETIRED - DISCOUNT 56,622. DONATED CAPITAL 168.
FORM 990. PART XII, LINE 2C:THE BOARD AS A WHOLE IS RESPONSIBLE FOR OVERSEEING THE FINANCIAL STATEMENT AUDIT AND SELECTING THE INDEPENDENT FINANCIAL STATEMENT AUDITOR. PROCEDURAL CHANGES DID NOT OCCUR DURING THE YEAR.