STRATEGY STUDIO / NONPROFIT PEOPLE SEARCH

HAMILTON COUNTY ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE ASSOCIATION: Form 990, tax year 2021

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
HAMILTON COUNTY ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE ASSOCIATION (EIN 74-0667584)
Tax period
2021-01-01 to 2021-12-31
Filed
2022-11-10
IRS object ID
202203149349302210
Schema version
2021v4.2
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2022-11-10T08:45:08-06:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2021-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN750882037PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1BOLINGER SEGARS GILBERT AND MOSS LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line18215 NASHVILLE AVENUEAddressLine1Txt
CityLUBBOCKCityNm
State AbbreviationTXStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP79423ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2021-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN740667584EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1HAMILTON COUNTY ELECTRIC COOPERATIVEBusinessNameLine1Txt
Business Name Line2ASSOCIATIONBusinessNameLine2Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlHAMIBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone2543863123PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 753AddressLine1Txt
CityHAMILTONCityNm
State AbbreviationTXStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP76531ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonCODY LASATERPersonNm
Person TitleGENERAL MANAGERPersonTitleTxt
Phone2543863123PhoneNum
Signature2022-11-08SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Signing Officer SigningOfficerGrp

Person Full Name PersonFullName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Person FirstCODYPersonFirstNm
Person LastLASATERPersonLastNm
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SSN999009999SSN

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonWILLIAM M MILLERPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00439459PTIN
Phone8067473806PhoneNum
Preparation2022-11-08PreparationDt
Self EmployedYes (X)SelfEmployedInd

Additional Filer Information AdditionalFilerInformation

Trusted Customer TrustedCustomerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Trusted Customer3TrustedCustomerCd
Authentication Assurance LevelAAL1AuthenticationAssuranceLevelCd
Identity Assurance LevelIAL1IdentityAssuranceLevelCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2021TaxYr
Build TS2022-09-23 18:48:47ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerCODY LASATERPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 753AddressLine1Txt
CityHAMILTONCityNm
State AbbreviationTXStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP76531ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$30,446,066GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501cYes (X)Organization501cInd
Website AddressWWW.HAMILTONELECTRIC.COOPWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1938FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateTXLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionTO PROVIDE QUALITY AND RELIABLE ELECTRIC SERVICE TO MEMBERS OF THE COOPERATIVE.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body7VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent7VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee46TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers0TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$0PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$0CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$27,157,027PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$30,214,290CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$138,704PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$82,226CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$99,399PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$117,820CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$27,395,130PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$30,414,336CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$11,575PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$21,625CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$2,572,992PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$1,478,484CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$2,838,249PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$2,898,838CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$21,813,854PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$26,354,957CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$27,236,670PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$30,753,904CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$158,460PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses-$339,568CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$91,042,596TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$89,210,943TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$45,959,946TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$42,985,822TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$45,082,650NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$46,225,121NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionIT IS THE MISSION OF HAMILTON COUNTY ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE ASSOCIATION TO PROVIDE SAFE, RELIABLE, QUALITY ELECTRIC SERVICE TO OUR MEMBERS AT AN AFFORDABLE PRICE. IT IS OUR GOAL TO CONTROL COSTS, TO ASSURE THAT RATES CAN REMAIN LOW INTO THE FUTURE. ADDITIONALLY, WE STRIVE TO PROVIDE SERVICE AND LEADERSHIP THAT WILL HAVE A POSITIVE INFLUENCE ON THE LIVES OF THE MEMBERS THAT WE SERVE.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
DescPROVIDING ELECTRIC ENERGY TO OUR MEMBERS ON A COOPERATIVE BASIS THROUGH THE ALLOCATION OF PATRONAGE CAPITAL. THERE WERE 19,411 ACTIVE SERVICES AT YEAR END.Desc
Described In Section501c30DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B Required0ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingYes (1)CreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi Endowments0DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstYes (1)ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent0BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related Entity0RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document88IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Employee46EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit0UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Members And Shr Gross Income$33,005,569MembersAndShrGrossIncomeAmt
Other Sources Gross Income$489,438OtherSourcesGrossIncomeAmt
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt0SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc0SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members7GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member7IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org DocumentsYes (1)ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (1)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (1)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (1)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of Committees0MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process Other0CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1CODY LASATER GENERAL MANAGERBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone2543863123PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1420 NORTH RICEAddressLine1Txt
CityHAMILTONCityNm
State AbbreviationTXStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP76531ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part VIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIIInd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (16 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtOfficerOfficerIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
SAM CAMPBELL
DIRECTOR5.60Yes (X)$6,143$0$0
DUSTIN DUNCAN
VICE PRESIDENT4.20Yes (X)$6,143$0$0Yes (X)
ERVIN KOERTH
DIRECTOR4.60Yes (X)$6,143$0$0
JACK CALDWELL
DIRECTOR3.20Yes (X)$6,143$0$0
ROBERT STRALEY
PRESIDENT7.90Yes (X)$6,143$0$0Yes (X)
BRANDON HAILE MAR-DEC
SECRETARY/TREASURER2.70Yes (X)$5,666$0$0Yes (X)
JOHN PRIDDY JUN-DEC
DIRECTOR2.80Yes (X)$3,725$0$0
MELVIN EILERS JR JAN-MAY
DIRECTOR1.20Yes (X)$2,125$0$0
BOB GARDNER JAN-FEB
DIRECTOR1.50Yes (X)$850$0$0
JAMES CODY LASATER JUN-DEC
GENERAL MANAGER40.00$145,683$0$66,238Yes (X)
STEVE YOUNG JAN-AUG
GENERAL MANAGER/CEO40.00$186,892$0$17,809Yes (X)
JUSTIN S WILSON
MANAGER OF OPERATIONS40.00$116,331$0$125,726Yes (X)
BRIAN GEESLIN
MANAGER OF ENGINEERING40.00$123,207$0$97,226Yes (X)
JAMES G BELCHER
CONSTRUCTION FOREMAN40.00$109,428$0$75,487Yes (X)
RANDALL DENNING
SERVICE FOREMAN40.00$117,823$0$62,699Yes (X)
JAMES HORTON
SERVICE FOREMAN40.00$114,526$0$39,830Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$956,971TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$485,015TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K8IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (4 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
NORTHEAST SERVICES INC
PO BOX 1185KENNEDALETX76060TREE TRIMMING$672,362
VINSON & ELKINS LLP
PO BOX 301019DALLASTX75303LEGAL SERVICES$374,667
NISC
PO BOX 1147MANDANND58554BILLING & IT SERVICES$321,648
EMPACT ENGINEERING LLC
3032 BARRON RD SUITE 200COLLEGE STATIONTX77845ENGINEERING & STAKING SERVICES$179,390
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K4CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Info In Schedule O Part VIIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIIIInd

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
SALES OF ELECTRICITY221000$29,531,472$29,531,472
PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS221000$531,708$531,708
SERVICE FEES221000$151,110$151,110
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$30,214,290TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$49,886TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$49,886ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$64,070OtherAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$31,730OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$32,340OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$32,340TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$32,340RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescPOLE ATTACHMENT INCOMEDesc
Business221000BusinessCd
Total Revenue Column$117,820TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$117,820ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$117,820OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$30,414,336TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$30,246,630RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$167,706ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part IXYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIXInd

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$21,625TotalAmt

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,478,484TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$459,703TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,545,641TotalAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$491,634TotalAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$262,849TotalAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$139,011TotalAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,455,904TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,606,638TotalAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmt
PURCHASED POWER$19,245,336
DISTRIBUTION EXPENSES$1,704,974
ADMIN & GENERAL EXPENSE$846,442
CONSUMER EXPENSE$491,357

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,306TotalAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$30,753,904TotalAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,716,783BOYAmt
EOY$3,683,888EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,705,700BOYAmt
EOY$352,616EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,112,080BOYAmt
EOY$3,030,347EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$188,696BOYAmt
EOY$226,628EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$704,744BOYAmt
EOY$391,865EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$87,198,613LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$21,048,609LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$66,596,156BOYAmt
EOY$66,150,004EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$14,986,316BOYAmt
EOY$15,334,051EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$32,121BOYAmt
EOY$41,544EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$91,042,596BOYAmt
EOY$89,210,943EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,189,926BOYAmt
EOY$2,150,787EOYAmt

Escrow Account Liability EscrowAccountLiabilityGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$27,074BOYAmt
EOY$72,971EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$41,451,509BOYAmt
EOY$39,492,017EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,291,437BOYAmt
EOY$1,270,047EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$45,959,946BOYAmt
EOY$42,985,822EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Org Does Not Follow FASB117Yes (X)OrgDoesNotFollowFASB117Ind

Cap Stk Tr Prin Current Funds CapStkTrPrinCurrentFundsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$122,556BOYAmt
EOY$126,111EOYAmt

Pd In Cap Srpls Land Bldg Eqp Fund PdInCapSrplsLandBldgEqpFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$44,960,094BOYAmt
EOY$46,099,010EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$45,082,650BOYAmt
EOY$46,225,121EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$91,042,596BOYAmt
EOY$89,210,943EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss-$339,568ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$1,482,039OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Info In Schedule O Part XIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit Committee0AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Agent Trustee Etc0AgentTrusteeEtcInd
Incl Escrow Custodial Acct LiabYes (1)InclEscrowCustodialAcctLiabInd
Explanation ProvidedYes (X)ExplanationProvidedInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$53,576OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$53,576BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$1,698,625OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$679,467DepreciationAmt
Book Value$1,019,158BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$84,851,105OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$20,369,142DepreciationAmt
Book Value$64,481,963BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$595,307OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$595,307BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$66,150,004TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Invst Program Related Org InvstProgramRelatedOrgGrp (8 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmtMethod ValuationMethodValuationCd
PATRONAGE CAPITAL - CFC$216,273C
PATRONAGE CAPITAL - TEC$767,392C
PATRONAGE CAPITAL - BEC$13,750,667C
PATRONAGE CAPITAL - NISC$152,562C
PATRONAGE CAPITAL - CTTC$14,436C
PATRONAGE CAPITAL - NRTC$876C
MEMBERSHIPS IN ASSOCIATED ORGANIZATIONS$3,140C
CAPITAL TERM CERTIFICATES - CFC$428,705C
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Program Rltd$15,334,051TotalBookValueProgramRltdAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (5 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
CUSTOMER DEPOSITS$236,327
DEFERRED CREDITS - UNCLAIMED CAPITAL CREDITS$510
DEFERRED CREDITS - OTHER$156,345
ACCRUED OPERATING TAXES$371,651
UNINVOICED POWER COST$505,214
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$1,270,047TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$30,414,336TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Revenue Not Reported$0RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$30,414,336RevenueSubtotalAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$0RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$30,414,336TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$29,275,420TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$29,275,420ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Other Expenses Not Included$1,478,484OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$1,478,484ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$30,753,904TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (5 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART IV, LINE 2B:PURSUANT TO SECTION 74.3013 OF THE TEXAS PROPERTY CODE, THE COOPERATIVE HAS ESTABLISHED A RURAL SCHOLARSHIP FUND WITH AMOUNTS DESIGNATED UNCLAIMED UNDER STATE LAW. THE AMOUNTS DEPOSITED INTO THE RURAL SCHOLARSHIP FUND ARE APPROVED BY THE STATE OF TEXAS AND CAN ONLY BE USED FOR SCHOLARSHIPS TO ENABLE STUDENTS FROM RURAL AREAS TO ATTEND COLLEGE, TECHNICAL SCHOOL OR OTHER POST SECONDARY EDUCATION INSTITUTION. ANY AMOUNTS SO DEPOSITED INTO THE RURAL SCHOLARSHIP FUND ARE STILL PAYABLE TO THE PERSON TO WHOM THE ORIGINAL PAYMENT WAS MADE BUT UNCLAIMED.
PART X, LINE 2:THE COOPERATIVE HAS ADOPTED THE "UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS" PROVISIONS OF ACCOUNTING PRINCIPLES GENERALLY ACCEPTED IN THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA. THE PRIMARY TAX POSITION OF THE COOPERATIVE IS ITS FILING STATUS AS A TAX EXEMPT ENTITY. THE COOPERATIVE DETERMINED THAT IT IS MORE LIKELY THAN NOT THAT ITS TAX POSITION WILL BE SUSTAINED UPON EXAMINATION BY THE INTERNAL REVENUE SERVICE, OR OTHER STATE TAXING AUTHORITY AND THAT ALL TAX BENEFITS ARE LIKELY TO BE REALIZED UPON SETTLEMENT WITH TAXING AUTHORITIES.
PART XII, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:PATRONAGE CAPITAL ALLOCATED OR TO BE ALLOCATED 1,478,484.
PART IX:THE AMOUNT OF OTHER ASSETS ON FORM 990, PAGE 11, PART X, LINE 15 DOES NOT EQUAL OR EXCEED 5% OF THE TOTAL ASSETS ON FORM 990, PAGE 11, PART X, LINE 16, COLUMN B. CONSEQUENTLY, IN ACCORDANCE WITH IRS INSTRUCTIONS, SCHEDULE D, PART IX HAS BEEN LEFT BLANK.
PART XII, LINE 4B:FOR THE AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS, THE AMOUNT OF PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS PAID OR ALLOCATED TO THE MEMBERS IS REPORTED AS AN INCREASE IN EQUITY AND NOT AS AN EXPENSE. THEREFORE, NET INCOME PER THE AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS IS REPORTED GROSS OF THE AMOUNT OF PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS THAT ARE EITHER ALLOCATED OR TO BE ALLOCATED AT THE TIME THE AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE PREPARED. HOWEVER, BECAUSE THE ALLOCATION OF PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS IS ONE ASPECT OF HOW THE COOPERATIVE FULFILLS ITS TAX EXEMPT PURPOSE OF OPERATING ON A COOPERATIVE BASIS, THE AMOUNT OF PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS EITHER ALLOCATED OR TO BE ALLOCATED TO THE MEMBERS IS REPORTED ON FORM 990, PART IX, LINE 4 AS "BENEFITS PAID TO MEMBERS".

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (7 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
JUSTIN S WILSON
MANAGER OF OPERATIONS$115,685$0$162$0$484$0$100,993$0$24,733$0$242,057$0$0$0
BRIAN GEESLIN
MANAGER OF ENGINEERING$121,679$0$162$0$1,366$0$70,944$0$26,282$0$220,433$0$0$0
JAMES CODY LASATER JUN-DEC
GENERAL MANAGER$144,808$0$162$0$713$0$49,588$0$16,650$0$211,921$0$0$0
STEVE YOUNG JAN-AUG
GENERAL MANAGER/CEO$171,241$0$0$0$15,651$0$3,654$0$14,155$0$204,701$0$0$0
JAMES G BELCHER
CONSTRUCTION FOREMAN$108,335$0$162$0$931$0$58,534$0$16,953$0$184,915$0$0$0
RANDALL DENNING
SERVICE FOREMAN$117,140$0$162$0$521$0$40,664$0$22,035$0$180,522$0$0$0
JAMES HORTON
SERVICE FOREMAN$113,523$0$162$0$841$0$30,059$0$9,771$0$154,356$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART II, COLUMN C:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationINCLUDED IN THIS AMOUNT IS THE INCREASE IN ACTUARIAL VALUE OF BENEFITS PAYABLE UNDER A DEFINED BENEFIT RETIREMENT PLAN. THE CONTRIBUTION RATE FOR PARTICIPANTS IN THE NRECA R&S DEFINED BENEFIT PENSION PLAN ARE THE SAME FOR ALL INDIVIDUALS IN THIS MULTI-EMPLOYER PLAN. THE CHANGE IN ACTUARIAL VALUE FOR EACH PARTICIPANT, HOWEVER, VARIES WITH AGE, YEARS OF SERVICE AND THE CURRENT INTEREST RATE ENVIRONMENT. IN OTHER WORDS, THE OLDER A PLAN PARTICIPANT IS, THE GREATER THE INCREASE IN THAT INDIVIDUAL'S CHANGE IN ACTUARIAL VALUE, ALL OTHER THINGS BEING EQUAL. BECAUSE THIS RELATES TO A MULTI-EMPLOYER PLAN, CASH CONTRIBUTIONS TO THE PLAN IN LIEU OF THE ACTUARIAL INCREASE ARE EXPENSED IN THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS. JUSTIN S WILSON: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN $ 97,318 EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION TO 401(K) PLAN 3,675 TOTAL REPORTED IN COLUMN C $100,993 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN (97,318) ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTION TO DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN 49,860 EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE $ 53,535 BRIAN GEESLIN: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN $ 68,894 EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION TO 401(K) PLAN 2,050 TOTAL REPORTED IN COLUMN C $ 70,944 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN (68,894) ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTION TO DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN 51,981 EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE $ 54,031 CODY LASATER: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN $ 48,013 EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION TO 401(K) PLAN 1,575 TOTAL REPORTED IN COLUMN C $ 49,588 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN (48,013) ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTION TO DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN 59,407 EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE $ 60,982 STEVE YOUNG: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN $ -0- EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION TO 401(K) PLAN 3,654 TOTAL REPORTED IN COLUMN C $ 3,654 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN -0- ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTION TO DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN 55,338 EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE $ 58,992 JAMES G BELCHER: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN $ 55,993 EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION TO 401(K) PLAN 2,541 TOTAL REPORTED IN COLUMN C $ 58,534 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN (55,993) ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTION TO DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN 33,240 EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE $ 35,781 RANDALL DENNING: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN $ 38,123 EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION TO 401(K) PLAN 2,541 TOTAL REPORTED IN COLUMN C $ 40,664 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN (38,123) ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTION TO DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN 33,239 EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE $ 35,780 JAMES HORTON: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN $ 27,518 EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION TO 401(K) PLAN 2,541 TOTAL REPORTED IN COLUMN C $ 30,059 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN (27,518) ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTION TO DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN 33,239 EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE $ 35,780ExplanationTxt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (19 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 4DURING THE YEAR, THE COOPERATIVE'S BYLAWS WERE AMENDED. THE FOLLOWING IS A SUMMARY OF THE CHANGES MADE: ARICLE III: MEETINGS OF MEMBERS, SECTION 3.01 - ANNUAL MEETING, CHANGES THE HOLDING OF THE ANNUAL MEETING DATE FROM THIRTY DAYS PRIOR OR SUBSEQUENT TO THE MONTH OF AUGUST TO THE FIRST FRIDAY OF THE MONTH OF AUGUST THOUGH THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS IS ALLOWED TO DESIGNATE A DIFFERENT DATE IF NEEDED. ALSO, THE NEW RESOLUTION STATES THAT THE ANNUAL MEETING WILL BE HELD IN HAMILTON COUNTY OF TEXAS OR ANY COUNTY IN TEXAS THAT THE COOPERATIVE SERVES AS LONG AS BOTH THE LOCATION AND TIME AND DATE OF MEETING ARE SPECIFIED IN THE NOTICE OF MEETING. ARTICLE IX: NON-PROFIT OPERATION, SECTION 9.02 - PATRONAGE CAPITAL IN CONNECTION WITH FURNISHING ELECTRIC ENERGY, CLARIFIES THE RIGHT OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS TO PRESCRIBE THE MANNER IN WHICH A LOSS CAN BE ALLOCATED TO PATRONAGE CAPITAL UNDER ACCEPTED ACCOUNTING PRACTICES, LOAN COVENANTS, AND FEDERAL COOPERATIVE TAX LAW BY ADDING SECTION 9.02(D) "LOSS RECOVERY" TO THE BYLAWS. IN DOING SO, THE COOPERATIVE ALSO AMENDED THE TITLE OF THE PREVIOUS SECTION 9.02(D) "OFFSET" TO 9.02(E) "NON-OPERATING MARGINS". A COMPLETE COPY OF THE COOPERATIVE'S BYLAWS CAN BE FOUND ON THE WEBSITE: HTTPS://WWW.HAMILTONELECTRIC.COOP.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 6THE COOPERATIVE WAS FORMED BY THE MEMBERS TO PROVIDE ELECTRIC SERVICE AT COST ON A COOPERATIVE BASIS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7ATHE MEMBERS OF THE COOPERATIVE VOTE ON THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS. ELECTIONS ARE DONE ON A ONE MEMBER ONE VOTE BASIS BY DISTRICT.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7BTHE FOLLOWING ACTS REQUIRE APPROVAL OF THE MEMBERS OF THE COOPERATIVE: 1. DISSOLUTION/LIQUIDATION OF THE COOPERATIVE 2. MERGER OR CONSOLIDATION OF THE COOPERATIVE WITH ANOTHER ORGANIZATION 3. DISPOSAL OF A SUBSTANTIAL PORTION OF THE COOPERATIVE'S ASSETS 4. AMENDMENT TO THE ARTICLES OF INCORPORATION
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 8BTHE COOPERATIVE HAS NO COMMITTEES WITH AUTHORITY TO ACT ON BEHALF OF THE GOVERNING BODY. THEREFORE, AND PURSUANT TO FORM 990 INSTRUCTIONS, THE QUESTION HAS BEEN ANSWERED "NO".
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11BMANAGEMENT PRESENTED A COPY OF THE FORM 990 TO THE BOARD FOR DISCUSSION AND REVIEW PRIOR TO FILING.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12CON AN ANNUAL BASIS, THE COOPERATIVE WILL REQUIRE THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS AND OFFICERS TO COMPLETE AND SIGN A CONFLICT OF INTEREST CERTIFICATION AND DISCLOSURE FORM. DIRECTORS AND OFFICERS ARE REQUIRED TO DISCLOSE ANY ACTION OR SITUATION THAT MIGHT VIOLATE THE POLICY TO THE FULL BOARD OF DIRECTORS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15ATHE BOARD OF DIRECTORS USE A COMPENSATION SURVEY WHEN DETERMINING THE COMPENSATION OF THE GENERAL MANAGER/CEO. THE SURVEY SHOWS COMPARATIVE SALARIES FOR GENERAL MANAGERS FROM COOPERATIVES LOCATED IN TEXAS AND THE NATION. THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS MAY ALSO CONSIDER THE CONSUMER PRICE INDEX WHEN DETERMING THE GENERAL MANAGER/CEO'S COMPENSATION. OTHER THAN THE GENERAL MANAGER, THE COOPERATIVE DID NOT HAVE ANY EMPLOYEES MEETING THE DEFINITION OF OFFICER OR KEY EMPLOYEE. THEREFORE, AND PURSUANT TO FORM 990 INSTRUCTIONS, LINE 15B HAS BEEN ANSWERED "NO".
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19THE BYLAWS OF THE COOPERATIVE ARE AVAILABLE ON ITS WEBSITE. THE COOPERATIVE ALSO PROVIDES A SUMMARIZED COPY OF THE AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS TO MEMBERS OF THE COOPERATIVE AT ITS ANNUAL MEETING. ADDITIONALLY, THE COOPERATIVE WILL PROVIDE A COPY OF ITS GOVERNING DOCUMENTS, CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY, AND AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS TO ANY MEMBER WHO REQUESTS A COPY OF ANY SUCH DOCUMENT.
FORM 990, PARTS VI & VII:THE COOPERATIVE ANNUALLY PROVIDES EACH DIRECTOR WHO SERVED ON THE BOARD DURING THE YEAR A QUESTIONNAIRE. THE COMPLETED QUESTIONNAIRES ARE USED TO COMPLETE THE APPLICABLE QUESTIONS ON THE FORM 990 PERTAINING TO BUSINESS RELATIONSHIPS AMONG DIRECTORS AND OFFICERS, AS WELL AS TO DETERMINE IF THERE ARE ANY TRANSACTIONS WHICH MUST BE REPORTED IN DETAIL ON SCHEDULE L - "TRANSACTIONS WITH INTERESTED PERSONS". IF THE COOPERATIVE WAS UNABLE TO OBTAIN A COMPLETED QUESTIONNAIRE, THE COOPERATIVE RELIED UPON THE COMPLETED INFORMATION FOR THE PRIOR YEAR. GENERAL MANAGER, STEVE YOUNG, PASSED AWAY IN AUGUST OF 2021; THEREFORE, THE PRIOR YEAR QUESTIONNAIRE WAS RELIED UPON DURING THE PRPEPARATION OF THE 2021 FORM 990. THERE WERE NO KNOWN CHANGES FROM THE 2020 QUESTIONNAIRE.
FORM 990, PART VII, COLUMN F:IN ORDER TO PROVIDE RETIREMENT BENEFITS TO ITS EMPLOYEES, THE COOPERATIVE HAS ESTABLISHED A DEFINED CONTRIBUTION PLAN UNDER SECTION 401(K) OF THE INTERNAL REVENUE CODE. EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTIONS TO THE PLAN ARE MADE PURSUANT TO THE PLAN DOCUMENT. ADDITIONALLY, THE COOPERATIVE PARTICIPATES IN A MULTI-EMPLOYER DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN. CONTRIBUTIONS TO THIS PLAN ARE BASED ON THE FULL FUNDING LIMITATION OF SUCH PLAN. EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTIONS FOR BOTH PLANS ARE AVAILABLE TO PARTICIPATING EMPLOYEES, INCLUDING OFFICERS, MEETING THE ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS OF SUCH PLANS. THE COOPERATIVE ALSO PROVIDES HEALTH, LONG TERM DISABILITY, VISION AND LIFE INSURANCE TO ALL ELIGIBLE EMPLOYEES, THROUGH A QUALIFIED PLAN. THE AMOUNTS REPORTED ON PART VII, COLUMN (F) FOR THE OFFICERS IS COMPRISED OF ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN THE DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN, THE TOTAL AMOUNT CONTRIBUTED BY THE COOPERATIVE TO THE DEFINED CONTRIBUTION PLAN AND INSURANCE PAID ON THE BEHALF OF AND FOR THEIR BENEFIT.
FORM 990, PART VIII, LINE 2:PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS RESULT FROM THE PURCHASE OF WHOLESALE POWER FROM A GENERATION & TRANSMISSION COOPERATIVE. PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS ALSO RESULT FROM THE PAYMENT OF INTEREST FROM COOPERATIVE BANKS AND THE PURCHASE OF SUPPLIES AND SERVICES FROM OTHER COOPERATIVE ORGANIZATIONS. THE EXPENSES ASSOCIATED WITH PURCHASES FROM AND PAYMENTS TO SUCH COOPERATIVE ORGANIZATIONS ARE A DIRECT COMPONENT OF COST OF THE ELECTRIC SERVICE PROVIDED BY THE COOPERATIVE TO ITS MEMBERS.
FORM 990, PART IX:THE ACCOUNTING RECORDS OF THE COOPERATIVE ARE MAINTAINED IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE RURAL UTILITIES SERVICES (RUS) UNIFORM SYSTEM OF ACCOUNTS (USOA) AS PRESCRIBED FOR RUS ELECTRIC BORROWERS. THE USOA DOES NOT RECORD EXPENSES IN THE GENERAL EXPENSE CATEGORIES PROVIDED ON PART IX LINES 1-23. THE COOPERATIVE SEPARATELY REPORTS SALARIES AND WAGES, EMPLOYEE BENEFITS AND PAYROLL TAXES THAT ARE ALLOCATED IN ACCORDANCE WITH ITS ACCOUNTING SYSTEM, BUT OTHER EXPENSES THAT ARE DESCRIBED IN LINES 1-23 ARE REPORTED ON LINE 24 UNDER THE EXPENSE CATEGORIES REQUIRED BY THE USOA.
FORM 990, PART IX, LINES 5-7:SALARIES AND WAGES ARE ALLOCATED TO ASSET, LIABILITY, AND EXPENSE ACCOUNTS BASED ON THE ACCOUNTING SYSTEM DESCRIBED ABOVE. THE FOLLOWING SCHEDULE RECONCILES AMOUNTS REPORTED ON LINES 5-7 TO TOTAL WAGES ACCRUED AND/OR PAID: TOTAL PER LINES 5-7 $ 2,005,344 LESS: DIRECTOR FEES REPORTED ON FORMS 1099-NEC (43,081) LESS: EMPLOYEE OFFICER BENEFITS INCLUDED IN LINE 5 (84,047) PLUS: SALARIES AND WAGES CAPITALIZED DIRECTLY TO PLANT 1,127,106 PLUS: SALARIES AND WAGES CAPITALIZED/EXPENSED INDIRECTLY THROUGH CLEARING OR OTHER ACCOUNTS 421,297 TOTAL WAGES ACCRUED AND/OR PAID $ 3,426,619
FORM 990, PART IX, LINE 24:ADMINISTRATIVE & GENERAL EXPENSE IS COMPRISED OF THE FOLLOWING: ADMINISTRATIVE & GENERAL SALARIES, BENEFITS, & OTHER $ 774,941 OFFICE SUPPLIES 67,238 OUTSIDE SERVICES EMPLOYED 442,880 DIRECTORS' FEES 44,693 ASSOCIATED DUES 43,056 MISCELLANEOUS GENERAL 197,338 UTLITY COMMISSION RELATED 48,573 MAINTENANCE OF GENERAL PLANT 18,669 TOTAL ADMIN & GENERAL EXP PER FINANCIAL STATEMENTS $ 1,637,388 LESS: RECLASS OF DONATIONS TO PART IX, LINE 1 (21,625) LESS: RECLASS OF DIRECTOR FEES TO PART IX, LINE 5 (43,081) LESS: RECLASS OF LABOR TO PART IX, LINES 5 & 7 (477,644) LESS: RECLASS OF BENEFITS TO PART IX, LINES 8-10 (248,596) TOTAL ADMIN & GENERAL EXPENSE PER FORM 990, PART IX $ 846,442
FORM 990, PART IX, LINE 4:PURSUANT TO THE FORM 990 INSTRUCTIONS, THE AMOUNT OF PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS PAID TO THE MEMBERS (HEREINAFTER REFERRED TO AS "PATRONS") SHOULD BE REPORTED ON PART IX, LINE 4. THE PHRASE "PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS PAID" REFERS TO THE PROCESS, SUBSEQUENT TO YEAR-END, BY WHICH THE COOPERATIVE ALLOCATES PATRONAGE CAPITAL TO AND, THEREFORE, OPERATES AT COST WITH ITS PATRONS. THE COOPERATIVE'S TAX EXEMPT PURPOSE IS TO PROVIDE ELECTRICITY TO ITS PATRONS AND TO DO SO ON A COOPERATIVE BASIS. TAX LAW DEFINES "OPERATING ON A COOPERATIVE BASIS" AS SUBORDINATION OF CAPITAL, DEMOCRATIC CONTROL, AND OPERATION AT COST. THE COOPERATIVE OPERATES AT COST THROUGH THE ALLOCATION OF TRUE PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS (ALSO REFERRED TO AS ALLOCATIONS OF PATRONAGE CAPITAL) TO ITS PATRONS. PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS ARE CONSIDERED PAID IF THE ALLOCATION IS MADE (1) PURSUANT TO A PRE-EXISTING OBLIGATION, (2) FROM THE MARGINS PRODUCED FROM THE TRANSACTIONS DONE WITH OR FOR PATRONS, AND (3) IN A FAIR AND EQUITABLE MANNER ON THE BASIS OF PATRONAGE (I.E. PURCHASES). ADDITIONALLY, THE ALLOCATION OF PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS SHOULD BE MADE WITHIN A REASONABLE TIME PERIOD AFTER THE CLOSE OF THE COOPERATIVE'S YEAR-END OF DECEMBER 31. EACH ONE OF THESE REQUIREMENTS FOR A TRUE PATRONAGE DIVIDEND IS PROVIDED FOR IN THE NON-PROFIT OPERATION ARTICLE OF THE COOPERATIVE'S BYLAWS. THE AMOUNT REPORTED ON PART IX, LINE 4 REPRESENTS THE AMOUNT OF PATRONAGE CAPITAL THAT IS EITHER ALLOCATED OR TO BE ALLOCATED TO THE PATRONS RESULTING FROM THEIR PURCHASE OF ELECTRICITY FROM THE COOPERATIVE FOR THE 2021 CALENDAR YEAR. BECAUSE PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS ARE THE PROCESS BY WHICH THE COOPERATIVE OPERATES AT COST WITH ITS PATRONS AND THEREBY A KEY COMPONENT TO ACCOMPLISHING ITS EXEMPT PURPOSE, THE COOPERATIVE HAS REPORTED SUCH AMOUNTS AS AN EXPENSE FOR FORM 990 REPORTING. PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS ARE NOT AN EXPENSE FOR FINANCIAL STATEMENTS PREPARED IN ACCORDANCE WITH GENERALLY ACCEPTED ACCOUNTING PRINCIPLES, HOWEVER.
FORM 990, PART IX, LINE 1:ALL GRANTS, SPONSORSHIPS, AND/OR DONATIONS ARE MADE TO NON-PROFIT AND CIVIC ORGANIZATIONS THAT ARE LOCATED IN THE COOPERATIVE'S SERVICE AREA, AND ARE INTENDED TO IMPROVE THE COMMUNITIES IN WHICH OUR MEMBERS RESIDE. EACH GRANT, SPONSORSHIP, AND/OR DONATION MADE DURING THE YEAR WAS BELOW THE REPORTING THRESHOLD OF SCHEDULE I, PART II.
FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9:PATRONAGE CAPITAL ASSIGNABLE 1,478,484. NET CHANGE IN MEMBERSHIPS 3,555.
FORM 990, PART XII, LINE 2C:THE BOARD AS A WHOLE IS RESPONSIBLE FOR OVERSEEING THE FINANCIAL STATEMENT AUDIT AND SELECTING THE INDEPENDENT FINANCIAL STATEMENT AUDITOR. PROCEDURAL CHANGES DID NOT OCCUR DURING THE YEAR.