STRATEGY STUDIO / PUBLIC DATA EXPLORER

SOUTHEASTERN ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE INC: Form 990, tax year 2024

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
SOUTHEASTERN ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE INC (EIN 46-0454373)
Tax period
2024-01-01 to 2024-12-31
Filed
2025-06-05
IRS object ID
202531569349301658
Schema version
2024v5.1
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2025-06-05T17:07:19-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2024-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN450250958PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1EIDE BAILLY LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1345 N REID PL STE 400AddressLine1Txt
CitySIOUX FALLSCityNm
State AbbreviationSDStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP571037034ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2024-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN460454373EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1SOUTHEASTERN ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE INCBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlSOUTBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone6056483619PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line147077 276TH STAddressLine1Txt
CityLENNOXCityNm
State AbbreviationSDStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP57039ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonJON WUNDERPersonNm
Person TitleCFOPersonTitleTxt
Phone6056483619PhoneNum
Signature2025-06-05SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
IRS Responsible Prty Info CurrYes (1)IRSResponsiblePrtyInfoCurrInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonLAURIE HANSON CPAPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00851848PTIN
Phone6053391999PhoneNum
Preparation2025-06-05PreparationDt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2024TaxYr
Build TS2025-03-06 01:10:19ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerCHAD KINSLEYPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line147077 276TH STAddressLine1Txt
CityLENNOXCityNm
State AbbreviationSDStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP57039ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$88,246,313GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501cYes (X)Organization501cInd
Website AddressWWW.SOUTHEASTERNELECTRIC.COMWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation2000FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateSDLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionPROVIDING ELECTRIC SERVICE TO MEMBER-CONSUMERS.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body9VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent9VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee71TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers0TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$0PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$0CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$81,228,272PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$87,281,595CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$397,018PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$361,112CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue-$22,913PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue-$22,718CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$81,602,377PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$87,619,989CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$50,577PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$57,154CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$7,210,123PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$7,822,965CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$7,967,831PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$8,252,800CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$66,373,846PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$71,487,070CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$81,602,377PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$87,619,989CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$0PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$0CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$248,235,233TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$265,106,823TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$161,137,431TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$171,793,109TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$87,097,802NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$93,313,714NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionMEMBER FOCUSED. MEMBER DRIVEN. AS A NON-PROFIT ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE, WE ARE HERE TO SERVE THE MEMBERS OF THE COOPERATIVE WITH RELIABLE, QUALITY AND AFFORDABLE ELECTRIC SERVICE AND TO DO THAT WE ARE FOCUSED ON THEIR NEEDS AND DESIRES.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
DescPROVIDING ELECTRIC SERVICE TO APPROXIMATELY 19,560 MEMBER-CONSUMERS OVER 4,532 MILES OF LINE.Desc
Described In Section501c30DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B Required0ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi Endowments0DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstYes (1)ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsYes (1)GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent0BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related Entity0RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document266IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee71EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit0UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contributions0QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed Of0Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Members And Shr Gross Income$84,955,403MembersAndShrGrossIncomeAmt
Other Sources Gross Income$2,401,006OtherSourcesGrossIncomeAmt
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt0SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc0SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members9GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member9IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (1)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (1)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (1)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of Committees0MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonJON WUNDERPersonNm
Phone8003332859PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line147077 276TH STAddressLine1Txt
CityLENNOXCityNm
State AbbreviationSDStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP57039ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (17 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtKey EmployeeKeyEmployeeIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
STEVE HOLMBERG
PRESIDENT5.30Yes (X)Yes (X)$13,230$0$0
ROBERT WOLLMANN
VICE PRESIDENT7.10Yes (X)Yes (X)$13,780$0$0
DARYL TERVEEN
TREASURER4.50Yes (X)Yes (X)$11,205$0$0
JOHNATHAN WILDEBOER
SECRETARY6.10Yes (X)Yes (X)$15,155$0$0
CHRIS HOFER
DIRECTOR3.40Yes (X)$11,880$0$0
CARLOS HOFER
DIRECTOR3.80Yes (X)$10,855$0$0
DON HEEREN
DIRECTOR5.90Yes (X)$12,530$0$0
JOHN OSTRAAT
DIRECTOR6.70Yes (X)$14,605$0$0
DONOVAN KOST
DIRECTOR8.80Yes (X)$17,405$0$0
JON WUNDER
CFO40.00Yes (X)$158,959$0$57,365
CHAD KINSLEY
CEO40.00Yes (X)$327,102$0$57,247
JOHN EUCHNER
VP OF OPERATIONS & ENGINEERING40.00$185,992$0$103,434Yes (X)
TODD NELSON
VP OF INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY40.00$169,667$0$57,114Yes (X)
TROY PETERS
LINE SUPERINTENDENT40.00$153,745$0$126,392Yes (X)
ROBERT KALDA
LINE SUPERINTENDENT40.00$133,929$0$48,606Yes (X)
ADAM STARK
LINE SUPERINTENDENT40.00$137,800$0$68,667Yes (X)
ROBERT DUBBELDE
LINE SUPERINTENDENT40.00$140,578$0$43,031Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$1,528,417TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$561,856TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K31IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
DAVE'S CONSTRUCTION INC
5104 HARVESTORE RDSIOUX FALLSSD57107UTILITY CONSTRUCTION$2,470,382
JANS CORPORATION
4700 N WESTPORT AVESIOUX FALLSSD57107GENERAL CONTRACTOR$904,032
DEWILD GRANT RECKERT & ASSOCIATES
1302 S UNION STROCK RAPIDSIA51246ENGINEERING SERVICES$195,298
SUMMIT UTILITY SERVICES LLC
PO BOX 10ARLEEMT59821LOCATING SERVICES$136,133
FRIEST TREE EXPERTS LLC
47854 273RD STHARRISBURGSD57032TREE TRIMMING SERVICES$120,192
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K5CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
SALE OF ELECTRICITY221000$82,462,132$82,462,132
COOPERATIVE CAPITAL CR221000$4,780,214$4,780,214

Total Oth Program Service Rev TotalOthProgramServiceRevGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$39,249TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$39,249RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$87,281,595TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$340,051TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$340,051ExclusionAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$18,868RealAmt

Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$0RealAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$18,868RealAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$18,868TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$18,868RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$21,909OtherAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$848OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$21,061OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$21,061TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$21,061ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Sales Of Inventory$583,890GrossSalesOfInventoryAmt
Cost Of Goods Sold$625,476CostOfGoodsSoldAmt

Net Income Or Loss NetIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$41,586TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income-$41,586RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$87,619,989TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$87,258,877RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$361,112ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part IXYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIXInd

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$57,154TotalAmt

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$7,822,965TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,018,226TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$5,639,687TotalAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,119,657TotalAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$475,230TotalAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,736,055TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$7,046,762TotalAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmt
PURCHASED POWER$55,934,651
DISTRIBUTION - OPERATIO$3,416,136
DISTRIBUTION - MAINTENA$2,223,736
CUSTOMER ACCOUNTS$1,467,712

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total-$3,337,982TotalAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$87,619,989TotalAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,149,569BOYAmt
EOY$1,459,849EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,500,000BOYAmt
EOY$1,950,000EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$7,943,331BOYAmt
EOY$8,053,489EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$12,138,184BOYAmt
EOY$15,171,642EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,613,536BOYAmt
EOY$2,892,332EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$231,224,505LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$53,562,629LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$167,006,193BOYAmt
EOY$177,661,876EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,635,369BOYAmt
EOY$1,636,701EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$50,631,342BOYAmt
EOY$53,770,176EOYAmt

Intangible Assets IntangibleAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$7,246BOYAmt
EOY$7,246EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,610,463BOYAmt
EOY$2,503,512EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$248,235,233BOYAmt
EOY$265,106,823EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$8,446,148BOYAmt
EOY$7,796,788EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$148,880,343BOYAmt
EOY$160,390,748EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,810,940BOYAmt
EOY$3,605,573EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$161,137,431BOYAmt
EOY$171,793,109EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Org Does Not Follow FASB117Yes (X)OrgDoesNotFollowFASB117Ind

Cap Stk Tr Prin Current Funds CapStkTrPrinCurrentFundsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Pd In Cap Srpls Land Bldg Eqp Fund PdInCapSrplsLandBldgEqpFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$87,097,802BOYAmt
EOY$93,313,714EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$87,097,802BOYAmt
EOY$93,313,714EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$248,235,233BOYAmt
EOY$265,106,823EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$0ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$6,215,912OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$503,609OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$503,609BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$11,161,067OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$1,941,586DepreciationAmt
Book Value$9,219,481BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$217,811,686OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$51,621,043DepreciationAmt
Book Value$166,190,643BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$1,748,143OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$1,748,143BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$177,661,876TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Invst Program Related Org InvstProgramRelatedOrgGrp (5 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmtMethod ValuationMethodValuationCd
PATRONAGE CAPITAL IN ASSOCIATED ORGANIZATIONS$52,667,148C
CAPITAL TERM CERTIFICATES - NRUCFC$710,728C
MEMBER CAPITAL SECURITIES - NRUCFC$285,000C
INVESTMENTS IN ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT$104,600C
MEMBERSHIPS IN ASSOCIATED ORGANIZATIONS$2,700C
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Program Rltd$53,770,176TotalBookValueProgramRltdAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (5 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
OTHER BENEFIT OBLIGATION$396,899
CUSTOMER DEPOSITS$504,101
DEFERRED CREDITS$944,441
REGULATORY LIABILITIES$1,500,000
OPERATING LEASE LIABILITY$260,132
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$3,605,573TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$87,619,989TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Revenue Not Reported$0RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$87,619,989RevenueSubtotalAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$0RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$87,619,989TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$79,797,024TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$79,797,024ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Other Expenses Not Included$7,822,965OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$7,822,965ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$87,619,989TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART X, LINE 2:THE COOPERATIVE BELIEVES IT HAS APPROPRIATE SUPPORT FOR ANY TAX POSITIONS TAKEN AFFECTING ITS ANNUAL FILING REQUIREMENTS, AND AS SUCH, DOES NOT HAVE ANY UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS THAT ARE MATERIAL TO THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS. THE COOPERATIVE WOULD RECOGNIZE FUTURE ACCRUED INTEREST AND PENALTIES RELATED TO UNRECOGNIZED TAX BENEFITS IN INCOME TAX EXPENSE IF SUCH INTEREST AND PENALTIES ARE INCURRED.
PART XII, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:2024 MARGINS ALLOCATED IN 2025 7,822,965.

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (1)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Recipient Table RecipientTable (2 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdRecipient EINRecipientEINCash GrantCashGrantAmtNon Cash AssistanceNonCashAssistanceAmtPurpose Of GrantPurposeOfGrantTxtIRC SectionIRCSectionDesc
FORWARD SIOUX FALLS
200 N PHILLIPS AVE STE 200SIOUX FALLSSD571046058460396647$6,600$0GENERAL SUPPORT
HARRISBURG COMMUNITY FOUNDATION
PO BOX 343HARRISBURGSD57032841709233$7,000$0YOUTH BALL FIELDS ADDITION501(C)(3)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total501c3 Org1Total501c3OrgCnt
Total Other Org1TotalOtherOrgCnt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART I, LINE 2:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationTHE COOPERATIVE MAKES DONATIONS TO ORGANIZATIONS THAT TIE INTO THE COMMUNITIES THAT IT SERVES. IT DOES NOT PROVIDE GRANT FUNDS, AND DOES NOT MONITOR THE USE OF DONATIONS BY RECIPIENT ORGANIZATIONS.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Substantiation RequiredYes (1)SubstantiationRequiredInd
Independent ConsultantYes (X)IndependentConsultantInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (8 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
CHAD KINSLEY
CEO$324,487$0$0$0$2,615$0$23,299$0$39,718$0$390,119$0$0$0
JOHN EUCHNER
VP OF OPERATIONS & ENGINEERING$183,224$0$0$0$2,768$0$68,936$0$38,335$0$293,263$0$0$0
TROY PETERS
LINE SUPERINTENDENT$152,108$0$600$0$1,037$0$88,388$0$40,692$0$282,825$0$0$0
TODD NELSON
VP OF INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY$163,031$0$0$0$6,636$0$22,165$0$38,459$0$230,291$0$0$0
JON WUNDER
CFO$158,358$0$0$0$601$0$18,575$0$42,132$0$219,666$0$0$0
ADAM STARK
LINE SUPERINTENDENT$137,399$0$0$0$401$0$29,528$0$41,786$0$209,114$0$0$0
ROBERT DUBBELDE
LINE SUPERINTENDENT$135,019$0$1,000$0$4,559$0$16,252$0$29,117$0$185,947$0$0$0
ROBERT KALDA
LINE SUPERINTENDENT$132,069$0$0$0$1,860$0$11,895$0$39,400$0$185,224$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSCHEDULE J, PART II, LINE 1, COLUMN CFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationINCLUDED IN THE AMOUNT REPORTED IN COLUMN C FOR THE ACTUARIAL VALUE OF THE DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN ARE AS FOLLOWS: - CHAD KINSLEY $18,239 - JON WUNDER $13,449 - JOHN EUCHNER $63,179 - TROY PETERS $84,368 - ADAM STARK $25,507 - ROBERT KALDA $0 ACTUAL COOPERATIVE CONTRIBUTIONS TO THE DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN ARE AS FOLLOWS: - CHAD KINSLEY $24,387 - JON WUNDER $30,556 - JOHN EUCHNER $34,457 - TROY PETERS $32,908 - ADAM STARK $32,908 - ROBERT KALDA $13,712ExplanationTxt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (10 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 6EACH MEMBER-CONSUMER BECOMES A MEMBER OF THE COOPERATIVE UPON RECEIPT OF ELECTRIC SERVICE.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7AEACH MEMBER-CONSUMER HAS ONE VOTE.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7BMEMBER-CONSUMERS MUST APPROVE ANY BYLAW AMENDMENTS, THE SUBSTANTIAL DISPOSITION OF COOPERATIVE PROPERTY, ANY MERGERS OR CONSOLIDATIONS, AND THE REMOVAL OF ANY DIRECTORS FROM THE BOARD.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 8BTHERE ARE NO COMMITTEES WITH AUTHORITY TO ACT ON BEHALF OF THE GOVERNING BODY.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11BTHE FORM 990 WILL BE PROVIDED TO, AND REVIEWED WITH, ALL MEMBERS OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS BY THE MANAGEMENT STAFF AT A MEETING OF THE BOARD HELD PRIOR TO FILING.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12CMEMBERS OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS ARE COVERED BY THE CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY. DETERMINATIONS OF WHETHER A CONFLICT EXISTS AND REVIEW OF ACTUAL CONFLICTS ARE MADE AT THE BOARD LEVEL. BOARD MEMBERS WITH CONFLICTS ARE REQUIRED TO ABSTAIN FROM DISCUSSION AND VOTING ON THE MATTER.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15THE COMPENSATION OF THE CEO IS DETERMINED BY THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS TAKING INTO CONSIDERATION THE RESULTS OF STATE, REGIONAL AND NATIONAL COMPENSATION SURVEYS. THE BOARD ALSO APPLIES THE COOPERATIVE'S POLICY ON WAGE AND SALARY ADMINISTRATION IN THEIR DECISION MAKING PROCESS. THIS PROCESS OF REVIEWING THE CEO COMPENSATION IS DONE ON AN ANNUAL BASIS. SECTION B LINE 15B: THE CEO IS RESPONSIBLE FOR PROPOSING AN AGGREGATE WAGE AND SALARY PACKAGE FOR OTHER EMPLOYEES TO THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS FOR THEIR APPROVAL. INDIVIDUAL COMPENSATION LEVELS ARE DETERMINED BY THE CEO IN COMPLIANCE WITH THE COOPERATIVE'S WAGE AND SALARY ADMINISTRATION POLICY WHICH UTILIZES STATE, REGIONAL AND NATIONAL COMPENSATION SURVEYS. THIS PROCESS OF REVIEWING THE OTHER EMPLOYEES' COMPENSATION IS DONE ON AN ANNUAL BASIS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19THE COOPERATIVE'S GOVERNING DOCUMENTS, CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY AND FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE AVAILABLE TO THE COOPERATIVE'S MEMBER-CONSUMERS BUT NOT THE GENERAL PUBLIC. BYLAWS AND FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE ROUTINELY PROVIDED TO THE MEMBER-CONSUMERS. THE CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY WOULD BE PROVIDED TO A MEMBER-CONSUMER UPON REQUEST.
FORM 990, PART IX990 PART IX BOX AT TOP RIGHT MARKED BECAUSE WE HAVE A NARRATIVE ON O FOR PART IX.
FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9:2024 MARGINS ALLOCATED IN 2025 7,822,965. RETIREMENT OF PATRONAGE CAPITAL CREDITS -1,607,053.