STRATEGY STUDIO / PUBLIC DATA EXPLORER

VICTORY ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE ASSOCIATION INC: Form 990, tax year 2021

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
VICTORY ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE ASSOCIATION INC (EIN 48-0499309)
Tax period
2021-01-01 to 2021-12-31
Filed
2022-11-11
IRS object ID
202213159349305816
Schema version
2021v4.2
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2022-11-11T14:54:52-06:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2021-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN750882037PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1BOLINGER SEGARS GILBERT AND MOSS LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line18215 NASHVILLE AVENUEAddressLine1Txt
CityLUBBOCKCityNm
State AbbreviationTXStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP79423ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2021-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN480499309EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1THE VICTORY ELECTRIC COOPERATIVEBusinessNameLine1Txt
Business Name Line2ASSOCIATION INCBusinessNameLine2Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlVICTBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone6202272139PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 1335AddressLine1Txt
CityDODGE CITYCityNm
State AbbreviationKSStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP678011335ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonSHANE LAWSPersonNm
Person TitleCEOPersonTitleTxt
Phone6202272139PhoneNum
Signature2022-11-09SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Signing Officer SigningOfficerGrp

Person Full Name PersonFullName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Person FirstSHANEPersonFirstNm
Person LastLAWSPersonLastNm
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SSN999009999SSN

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonWILLIAM M MILLERPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00439459PTIN
Phone8067473806PhoneNum
Preparation2022-11-09PreparationDt
Self EmployedYes (X)SelfEmployedInd

Additional Filer Information AdditionalFilerInformation

Trusted Customer TrustedCustomerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Trusted Customer3TrustedCustomerCd
Authentication Assurance LevelAAL1AuthenticationAssuranceLevelCd
Identity Assurance LevelIAL1IdentityAssuranceLevelCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2021TaxYr
Build TS2022-09-23 18:48:47ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerSHANE LAWSPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 1335AddressLine1Txt
CityDODGE CITYCityNm
State AbbreviationKSStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP678011335ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$85,827,025GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501cYes (X)Organization501cInd
Website AddressWWW.VICTORYELECTRIC.NETWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1945FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateKSLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionTO PROVIDE QUALITY AND RELIABLE ELECTRIC SERVICE TO MEMBERS OF THE COOPERATIVE.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body11VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent11VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee76TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers0TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$0PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$0CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$69,368,119PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$83,739,453CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$344,707PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$148,947CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$51,757PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$1,914,568CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$69,764,583PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$85,802,968CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$58,988PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$49,084CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$5,324,119PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$8,449,530CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$6,471,479PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$6,732,022CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$57,968,046PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$68,569,072CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$69,822,632PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$83,799,708CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses-$58,049PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$2,003,260CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$169,453,454TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$181,839,680TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$108,212,032TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$111,712,793TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$61,241,422NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$70,126,887NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionTO PROVIDE A SAFE, RELIABLE SERVICE AT A COMPETITIVE RATE, PROVIDE ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT OPPORTUNITIES AND SERVICES FOR OUR CONSUMERS, AND TO ENSURE THE FINANCIAL STABILITY OF THE COOPERATIVE THROUGH THE USE OF PRUDENT BUSINESS PRACTICES AND THE LATEST TECHNOLOGY.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
DescPROVIDING ELECTRIC ENERGY TO OUR MEMBERS ON A COOPERATIVE BASIS THROUGH THE ALLOCATION OF PATRONAGE CAPITAL. THERE WERE 20,037 ACTIVE SERVICES AT YEAR END.Desc
Described In Section501c30DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B Required0ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi Endowments0DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstYes (1)ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsYes (1)GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent0BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related Entity0RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document38IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Employee76EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit0UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Members And Shr Gross Income$77,965,948MembersAndShrGrossIncomeAmt
Other Sources Gross Income$789,953OtherSourcesGrossIncomeAmt
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt0SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc0SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members11GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member11IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business RlnYes (1)FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (1)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (1)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (1)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of Committees0MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention Policy0DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1ANGELA UNRUH CFOBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone6202272139PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line13230 N 14TH AVEAddressLine1Txt
CityDODGE CITYCityNm
State AbbreviationKSStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP67801ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part VIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIIInd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (18 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtOfficerOfficerIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
KENNY WEHKAMP
TRUSTEE12.00Yes (X)$24,999$0$0
JOHN LEIS
TRUSTEE6.50Yes (X)$33,020$0$0
JIM IMEL
TRUSTEE7.00Yes (X)$28,484$0$0
PATRICK MORSE
PRESIDENT4.30Yes (X)$29,499$0$0Yes (X)
KENNETH SCHULTE
TRUSTEE2.00Yes (X)$6,795$0$0
JAMES DARYL TIEBEN
VICE PRESIDENT8.70Yes (X)$27,099$0$0Yes (X)
CEDRIC DREWES
SECRETARY/TREASURER7.00Yes (X)$34,820$0$0Yes (X)
RANDY QUINT
TRUSTEE13.00Yes (X)$27,099$0$0
GARY GILLESPIE
TRUSTEE5.00Yes (X)$24,399$0$0
TERRI LARSON
TRUSTEE4.50Yes (X)$25,899$0$0
JAMES L OCHS
TRUSTEE7.00Yes (X)$34,820$0$0
SHANE LAWS
CEO55.00$358,815$0$145,139Yes (X)
ANGELA K UNRUH
CFO45.00$182,422$0$90,741Yes (X)
DENZIL MCGILL
VP OF IT45.00$155,352$0$92,917Yes (X)
RYAN MILLER
VP OF OPERATIONS48.00$148,250$0$145,403Yes (X)
ROB HENRY
VP OF ENGINEERING50.00$134,771$0$83,886Yes (X)
MARLON HERNANDEZ-GONZALEZ
JOURNEYMAN55.00$138,567$0$51,133Yes (X)
AMY GRASSER
VP OF CORPORATE SERVICES45.00$132,138$0$70,067Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$1,547,248TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$679,286TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K19IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (4 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
NISC
PO BOX 1147MANDANND58554BILLING & SOFTWARE SERVICES$372,687
FRANK'S PLUMBING INC
23903 12 RDMONTEZUMAKS67867DRILLING SERVICES$287,490
KANSAS ELECTRIC COOPERATIVES
PO BOX 4267TOPEKAKS66604ASSESSMENTS, SUBSCRIPTION DUES, SAFETY M$238,511
MARKS NELSON
1310 E 104 STREET STE 300KANSAS CITYMO64131ACCOUNTING AND TAX SERVICES$111,610
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K4CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Info In Schedule O Part VIIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIIIInd

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (4 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
SALES OF ELECTRICITY221000$68,087,295$68,087,295
SERVICE FEES221000$9,312,381$9,312,381
PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS221000$6,114,699$6,114,699
TRANSMISSION/WHEELING221000$225,078$225,078
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$83,739,453TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$111,467TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$111,467ExclusionAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$1,147RealAmt

Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$0RealAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$1,147RealAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$1,147TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$1,147RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$39,196OtherAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$1,716OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$37,480OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$37,480TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$37,480RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Sales Of Inventory$18,083GrossSalesOfInventoryAmt
Cost Of Goods Sold$22,341CostOfGoodsSoldAmt

Net Income Or Loss NetIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$4,258TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income-$4,258RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtExclusionExclusionAmt
PPP LOAN FORGIVENESS221000$1,858,571$1,858,571
POLE ATTACHMENT INCOME221000$59,108$59,108
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$1,917,679OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$85,802,968TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$83,773,822RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$2,029,146ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part IXYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIXInd

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$49,084TotalAmt

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$8,449,530TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,074,050TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,448,801TotalAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,002,650TotalAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$944,726TotalAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$261,795TotalAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,800,043TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$5,012,657TotalAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmt
PURCHASED POWER$54,251,450
DISTRIBUTION EXPENSE$3,135,917
ADMIN & GENERAL EXPENSE$1,196,240
TRANSMISSION EXPENSE$639,740

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$533,025TotalAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$83,799,708TotalAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,074,930BOYAmt
EOY$1,444,213EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$6,893,241BOYAmt
EOY$6,376,236EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,886,091BOYAmt
EOY$8,001,941EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$28,479BOYAmt
EOY$13,466EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,494,479BOYAmt
EOY$2,924,686EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,858,079BOYAmt
EOY$2,192,388EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$179,950,085LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$61,569,420LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$117,523,499BOYAmt
EOY$118,380,665EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$31,684,046BOYAmt
EOY$36,641,247EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$10,610BOYAmt
EOY$5,864,838EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$169,453,454BOYAmt
EOY$181,839,680EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,831,506BOYAmt
EOY$5,400,457EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$100,309,106BOYAmt
EOY$103,175,096EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,071,420BOYAmt
EOY$3,137,240EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$108,212,032BOYAmt
EOY$111,712,793EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Org Does Not Follow FASB117Yes (X)OrgDoesNotFollowFASB117Ind

Cap Stk Tr Prin Current Funds CapStkTrPrinCurrentFundsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Pd In Cap Srpls Land Bldg Eqp Fund PdInCapSrplsLandBldgEqpFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$61,241,422BOYAmt
EOY$70,126,887EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$61,241,422BOYAmt
EOY$70,126,887EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$169,453,454BOYAmt
EOY$181,839,680EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$2,003,260ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$6,882,205OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Info In Schedule O Part XIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$790,555OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$790,555BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$8,160,185OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$2,064,300DepreciationAmt
Book Value$6,095,885BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$157,906,839OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$53,910,943DepreciationAmt
Book Value$103,995,896BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$13,092,506OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$5,594,177DepreciationAmt
Book Value$7,498,329BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$118,380,665TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Invst Program Related Org InvstProgramRelatedOrgGrp (9 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmtMethod ValuationMethodValuationCd
CFC MEMBER CAPITAL SECURITIES$100,000C
CFC CAPITAL TERM CERTIFICATES$305,839C
PATRONAGE CAPITAL - COBANK$298,148C
PATRONAGE CAPITAL - NRUCFC$281,096C
PATRONAGE CAPITAL - NISC$155,485C
PATRONAGE CAPITAL - KEPCO$5,446,418C
PATRONAGE CAPITAL - SEPCO$28,437,446C
PATRONAGE CAPITAL - OTHER$484,972C
CONTRIBUTED CAPITAL - SEPCO$1,131,843C
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Program Rltd$36,641,247TotalBookValueProgramRltdAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (3 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
CONSUMER DEPOSITS$1,244,581
ACCRUED OPERATING TAXES & FEES$1,708,568
DEFERRED CREDITS$184,091
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$3,137,240TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$85,802,968TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Revenue Not Reported$0RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$85,802,968RevenueSubtotalAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$0RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$85,802,968TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$75,350,178TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$75,350,178ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Other Expenses Not Included$8,449,530OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$8,449,530ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$83,799,708TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (4 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART X, LINE 2:THE COOPERATIVE UTILIZES THE "UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS" PROVISIONS OF ACCOUNTING PRINCIPLES GENERALLY ACCEPTED IN THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA. THE PRIMARY TAX POSITION OF THE COOPERATIVE IS ITS FILING STATUS AS A TAX EXEMPT ENTITY. THE COOPERATIVE DETERMINED THAT IT IS MORE LIKELY THAN NOT THAT ITS TAX POSITION WILL BE SUSTAINED UPON EXAMINATION BY THE INTERNAL REVENUE SERVICE, OR OTHER STATE TAXING AUTHORITY AND THAT ALL TAX BENEFITS ARE LIKELY TO BE REALIZED UPON SETTLEMENT WITH TAXING AUTHORITIES.
PART XII, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:PATRONAGE CAPITAL ALLOCATED OR TO BE ALLOCATED 8,449,530.
PART IX:THE AMOUNT OF OTHER ASSETS ON FORM 990, PAGE 11, PART X, LINE 15 DOES NOT EQUAL OR EXCEED 5% OF THE TOTAL ASSETS ON FORM 990, PAGE 11, PART X, LINE 16, COLUMN B. CONSEQUENTLY, IN ACCORDANCE WITH IRS INSTRUCTIONS, SCHEDULE D, PART IX HAS BEEN LEFT BLANK.
PART XII, LINE 4B:FOR THE AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS, THE AMOUNT OF PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS ALLOCATED OR TO BE ALLOCATED TO THE MEMBERS IS REPORTED AS AN INCREASE IN EQUITY AND NOT AS AN EXPENSE. THEREFORE, NET INCOME PER THE AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS IS REPORTED GROSS OF THE AMOUNT OF PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS THAT ARE EITHER ALLOCATED OR TO BE ALLOCATED AT THE TIME THE AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE PREPARED. HOWEVER, BECAUSE THE ALLOCATION OF PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS IS ONE ASPECT OF HOW THE COOPERATIVE FULFILLS ITS TAX EXEMPT PURPOSE OF OPERATING ON A COOPERATIVE BASIS, THE AMOUNT OF PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS EITHER ALLOCATED OR TO BE ALLOCATED TO THE MEMBERS IS REPORTED ON FORM 990, PART IX, LINE 4 AS "BENEFITS PAID TO MEMBERS". PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS ARE ALLOCATED ON A PATRONAGE BASIS AND DONE SO PURSUANT TO A PRE-EXISTING OBLIGATION AS PROVIDED FOR IN THE "NON-PROFIT OPERATION" ARTICLE OF THE COOPERATIVE'S BYLAWS.

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records Maintained0GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Recipient Table RecipientTable (3 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdRecipient EINRecipientEINIRC SectionIRCSectionDescCash GrantCashGrantAmtNon Cash AssistanceNonCashAssistanceAmtPurpose Of GrantPurposeOfGrantTxt
CRISIS CENTER OF DODGE CITY
PO BOX 1173DODGE CITYKS67801480975166501(C)(3)$10,000$0SHARING SUCCESS GRANT
DODGE CITY AREA CHAMBER OF COMMERCE
PO BOX 939DODGE CITYKS67801480198165501(C)(6)$5,599$0ANNUAL MEMBERSHIP, STATE OF THE CITY ADDRESS, ANNUAL GOLF TOURNAMENT, DODGE CITY DAYS SALUTE THE TROOPS
MAIN STREET DODGE CITY
PO BOX 818DODGE CITYKS67801480990726501(C)(6)$5,400$0ANNUAL MEMBERSHIP, DOWNTOWN TRICK-OR-TREAT
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total501c3 Org1Total501c3OrgCnt
Total Other Org2TotalOtherOrgCnt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART II:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationALL GRANTS, SPONSORSHIPS, AND/OR DONATIONS ARE MADE TO NON-PROFIT AND CIVIC ORGANIZATIONS THAT ARE LOCATED IN THE COOPERATIVE'S SERVICE AREA, AND ARE INTENDED TO IMPROVE THE COMMUNITIES IN WHICH OUR MEMBERS RESIDE.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Independent ConsultantYes (X)IndependentConsultantInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (7 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
SHANE LAWS
CEO$348,098$0$0$0$10,717$0$117,616$0$27,523$0$503,954$0$0$0
RYAN MILLER
VP OF OPERATIONS$141,182$0$5,000$0$2,068$0$116,154$0$29,249$0$293,653$0$0$0
ANGELA K UNRUH
CFO$176,474$0$5,000$0$948$0$61,718$0$29,023$0$273,163$0$0$0
DENZIL MCGILL
VP OF IT$149,124$0$5,000$0$1,228$0$65,394$0$27,523$0$248,269$0$0$0
ROB HENRY
VP OF ENGINEERING$127,963$0$5,000$0$1,808$0$56,363$0$27,523$0$218,657$0$0$0
AMY GRASSER
VP OF CORPORATE SERVICES$126,684$0$5,000$0$454$0$41,844$0$28,223$0$202,205$0$0$0
MARLON HERNANDEZ-GONZALEZ
JOURNEYMAN$137,121$0$0$0$1,446$0$23,287$0$27,846$0$189,700$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART II, COLUMN C:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationINCLUDED IN THIS AMOUNT IS THE INCREASE IN ACTUARIAL VALUE OF BENEFITS PAYABLE UNDER A DEFINED BENEFIT RETIREMENT PLAN. THE CONTRIBUTION RATE FOR PARTICIPANTS IN THE NRECA R&S DEFINED BENEFIT PENSION PLAN ARE THE SAME FOR ALL INDIVIDUALS IN THIS MULTI-EMPLOYER PLAN. THE CHANGE IN ACTUARIAL VALUE FOR EACH PARTICIPANT, HOWEVER, VARIES WITH AGE, YEARS OF SERVICE, AND THE CURRENT INTEREST RATE ENVIRONMENT. IN OTHER WORDS, THE OLDER A PLAN PARTICIPANT IS, THE GREATER THE INCREASE IN THAT INDIVIDUAL'S CHANGE IN ACTUARIAL VALUE, ALL OTHER THINGS BEING EQUAL. BECAUSE THIS RELATES TO A MULTI-EMPLOYER PLAN, CASH CONTRIBUTION TO THE PLAN IN LIEU OF THE ACTUARIAL INCREASE ARE EXPENSED IN THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS. SHANE LAWS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN $ 97,316 EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION TO 401(K) PLAN 20,300 TOTAL REPORTED IN COLUMN C $ 117,616 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN (97,316) ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTION TO DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN 102,942 EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE $ 123,242 RYAN MILLER: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN $ 106,376 EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION TO 401(K) PLAN 9,778 TOTAL REPORTED IN COLUMN C $ 116,154 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN (106,376) ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTION TO DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN 49,244 EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE $ 59,022 ANGELA UNRUH: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN $ 49,166 EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION TO 401(K) PLAN 12,552 TOTAL REPORTED IN COLUMN C $ 61,718 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN (49,166) ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTION TO DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN 63,178 EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE $ 75,730 DENZIL MCGILL: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN $ 57,870 EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION TO 401(K) PLAN 7,524 TOTAL REPORTED IN COLUMN C $ 65,394 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN (57,870) ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTION TO DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN 54,010 EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE $ 61,534 ROB HENRY: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN $ 48,410 EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION TO 401(K) PLAN 7,953 TOTAL REPORTED IN COLUMN C $ 56,363 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN (48,410) ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTION TO DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN 45,411 EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE $ 53,364 AMY GRASSER: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN $ 33,005 EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION TO 401(K) PLAN 8,839 TOTAL REPORTED IN COLUMN C $ 41,844 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN (33,005) ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTION TO DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN 44,488 EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE $ 53,327 MARLON HERNANDEZ-GONZALEZ: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN $ 17,236 EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION TO 401(K) PLAN 6,051 TOTAL REPORTED IN COLUMN C $ 23,287 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN (17,236) ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTION TO DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN 22,774 EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE $ 28,825ExplanationTxt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (19 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 1ATHE COOPERATIVE HAS 11 BOARD MEMBERS; ALL 11 ARE ALLOWED TO VOTE, HOWEVER, THE BOARD PRESIDENT VOTES ONLY IN THE CASE OF A TIE SHOULD ALL MEMBERS OF THE BOARD NOT BE PRESENT AT ANY GIVEN MEETING.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 2A BUSINESS RELATIONSHIP EXISTS BETWEEN KENNY WEHKAMP (TRUSTEE), JIM IMEL (TRUSTEE) AND SHANE LAWS (CEO). ALL SERVE ON THE BOARD OF SUNFLOWER ELECTRIC POWER CORPORATION AT THE REQUEST OF AND FOR THE BENEFIT OF THE COOPERATIVE.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 6THE COOPERATIVE WAS FORMED BY THE MEMBERS TO PROVIDE ELECTRIC SERVICE AT COST ON A COOPERATIVE BASIS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7ATHE MEMBERS OF THE COOPERATIVE VOTE ON THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES. ELECTIONS ARE DONE ON A ONE MEMBER ONE VOTE BASIS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7BTHE FOLLOWING ACTS REQUIRE APPROVAL OF THE MEMBERS OF THE COOPERATIVE: 1. DISSOLUTION/LIQUIDATION OF THE COOPERATIVE 2. MERGER OR CONSOLIDATION OF THE COOPERATIVE WITH ANOTHER ORGANIZATION 3. DISPOSAL OF A SUBSTANTIAL PORTION OF THE COOPERATIVE'S ASSETS 4. AMENDMENT TO THE ARTICLES OF INCORPORATION 5. AMENDMENT TO THE BYLAWS
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 8BTHE COOPERATIVE HAS NO COMMITTEES WITH AUTHORITY TO ACT ON BEHALF OF THE GOVERNING BODY. THEREFORE, AND PURSUANT TO FORM 990 INSTRUCTIONS, THE QUESTION HAS BEEN ANSWERED "NO".
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11BMANAGEMENT PRESENTED A COPY OF THE FORM 990 TO THE BOARD FOR DISCUSSION AND REVIEW PRIOR TO FILING.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12CTHE BOARD OF TRUSTEES AND OFFICERS ARE REQUIRED TO REVIEW AND BE FAMILIAR WITH THE POLICIES OUTLINED IN THE COOPERATIVE'S CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY. THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES AND OFFICERS ARE REQUIRED TO DISCLOSE ANY ACTION OR SITUATION THAT MIGHT VIOLATE THE POLICY TO THE FULL BOARD OF TRUSTEES AS SOON AS POSSIBLE. THE CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY IS REVIEWED ON AN ANNUAL BASIS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES USE THE EXPERTISE OF AN INDEPENDENT COMPENSATION CONSULTANT AND A COMPENSATION SURVEY WHEN DETERMINING THE COMPENSATION OF THE CEO. THE BOARD AND THE CEO USE THE EXPERTISE OF AN INDEPENDENT COMPENSATION CONSULTANT AND A COMPENSATION SURVEY WHEN DETERMINING THE COMPENSATION OF THE COOPERATIVE'S OTHER EMPLOYEES MEETING THE DEFINITION OF OFFICERS AND KEY EMPLOYEES, IF ANY.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19THE COOPERATIVE WILL PROVIDE A COMPLETE COPY OF ITS GOVERNING DOCUMENTS, CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY, AND AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS TO ANY MEMBER WHO REQUESTS A COPY OF ANY SUCH DOCUMENT. ANNUALLY, THE COOPERATIVE PROVIDES A COPY OF THE BALANCE SHEET AND INCOME STATEMENT TO THE MEMBERS OF THE COOPERATIVE WITH THE ANNUAL REPORT. THE ANNUAL REPORT AND BYLAWS CAN BE FOUND ON THE COOPERATIVE'S WEBSITE.
FORM 990, PART VII, COLUMN F:IN ORDER TO PROVIDE RETIREMENT BENEFITS TO ITS EMPLOYEES, THE COOPERATIVE HAS ESTABLISHED A DEFINED CONTRIBUTION PLAN UNDER SECTION 401(K) OF THE INTERNAL REVENUE CODE. EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTIONS TO THE PLAN ARE MADE PURSUANT TO THE PLAN DOCUMENT. ADDITIONALLY, THE COOPERATIVE PARTICIPATES IN A MULTI-EMPLOYER DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN. CONTRIBUTIONS TO THIS PLAN ARE BASED ON THE FULL FUNDING LIMIATION OF SUCH PLAN. EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTIONS FOR BOTH PLANS ARE AVAILABLE TO PARTICIPATING EMPLOYEES, INCLUDING OFFICERS AND HIGHLY COMPENSATED EMPLOYEES, MEETING THE ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS OF SUCH PLANS. THE COOPERATIVE ALSO PROVIDES HEALTH AND LIFE INSURANCE TO ALL ELIGIBLE EMPLOYEES THROUGH A QUALIFIED PLAN. THE AMOUNTS REPORTED ON PART VII, COLUMN (F) FOR THE OFFICERS AND HIGHLY COMPENSATED EMPLOYEES IS COMPRISED OF ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN THE DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN, THE TOTAL AMOUNT CONTRIBUTED BY THE COOPERATIVE TO THE DEFINED CONTRIBUTION PLAN, AND INSURANCE PAID ON BEHALF OF AND FOR THEIR BENEFIT.
FORM 990, PART VIII, LINE 2:PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS RESULT FROM THE PURCHASE OF WHOLESALE POWER FROM A GENERATION & TRANSMISSION COOPERATIVE. PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS ALSO RESULT FROM THE PAYMENT OF INTEREST TO COOPERATIVE BANKS AND THE PURCHASE OF SUPPLIES AND SERVICES FROM OTHER COOPERATIVE ORGANIZATIONS. THE EXPENSES ASSOCIATED WITH PURCHASES FROM AND PAYMENTS TO SUCH COOPERATIVE ORGANIZATIONS ARE A DIRECT COMPONENT OF COST OF THE ELECTRIC SERVICE PROVIDED BY THE COOPERATIVE TO ITS MEMBERS.
FORM 990, PART IX:THE ACCOUNTING RECORDS OF THE COOPERATIVE ARE MAINTAINED IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE RURAL UTILITIES SERVICE (RUS) UNIFORM SYSTEM OF ACCOUNTS (USOA) AS PRESCRIBED FOR RUS ELECTRIC BORROWERS. THE USOA DOES NOT RECORD EXPENSES IN THE GENERAL EXPENSE CATEGORIES PROVIDED ON PART IX LINES 1-23. THE COOPERATIVE SEPARATELY REPORTS SALARIES AND WAGES, EMPLOYEE BENEFITS AND PAYROLL TAXES THAT ARE ALLOCATED IN ACCORDANCE WITH THEIR ACCOUNTING SYSTEM, BUT OTHER EXPENSES THAT ARE DESCRIBED IN LINES 1-23 ARE REPORTED ON LINE 24 UNDER THE EXPENSE CATEGORIES REQUIRED BY THE USOA.
FORM 990, PART IX, LINE 24:ADMINISTRATIVE & GENERAL EXPENSE IS COMPRISED OF THE FOLLOWING: ADMINISTRATIVE & GENERAL SALARIES, BENEFITS, & OTHER $ 2,686,980 TRAINING 13,562 OFFICE SUPPLIES 292,883 OUTSIDE SERVICES 153,659 INSURANCE 90,702 EMPLOYEE BENEFITS 29,704 TRUSTEES 329,262 MISCELLANEOUS GENERAL 374,277 MAINTENANCE OF GENERAL PLANT 185,401 REGULATORY COMMISSION 6,154 MEMBER MEETING 68,342 ADVERTISING 18,397 TOTAL ADMIN & GENERAL EXP PER FINANCIAL STATEMENTS $ 4,249,323 LESS: RECLASS OF TRUSTEE FEES TO PART IX, LINE 5 (296,933) LESS: RECLASS OF LABOR TO PART IX, LINES 5 & 7 (1,708,917) LESS: RECLASS OF BENEFITS TO PART IX, LINES 8-10 (1,047,233) TOTAL ADMIN & GENERAL EXPENSE PER FORM 990, PART IX $ 1,196,240
FORM 990, PART IX, LINES 5-7:SALARIES AND WAGES ARE ALLOCATED TO ASSET, LIABILITY, AND EXPENSE ACCOUNTS BASED ON THE ACCOUNTING SYSTEM DESCRIBED ABOVE. THE FOLLOWING SCHEDULE RECONCILES AMOUNTS REPORTED ON LINES 5-7 TO TOTAL WAGES ACCRUED AND/OR PAID: TOTAL PER LINES 5-7 $ 4,522,851 LESS: TRUSTEE FEES REPORTED ON FORMS 1099-NEC (296,933) LESS: EMPLOYEE OFFICER BENEFITS INCLUDED IN LINE 5 (235,880) PLUS: SALARIES AND WAGES CAPITALIZED DIRECTLY TO PLANT 2,343,869 PLUS: SALARIES AND WAGES CAPITALIZED/EXPENSED INDIRECTLY THROUGH CLEARING AND OTHER ACCOUNTS 291,093 TOTAL WAGES ACCRUED AND/OR PAID $ 6,625,000
FORM 990, PART IX, LINE 4:PURSUANT TO THE FORM 990 INSTRUCTIONS, THE AMOUNT OF PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS PAID TO THE MEMBERS (HEREINAFTER REFERRED TO AS "PATRONS") SHOULD BE REPORTED ON PART IX, LINE 4. THE PHRASE "PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS PAID" REFERS TO THE PROCESS, SUBSEQUENT TO YEAR-END, BY WHICH THE COOPERATIVE ALLOCATES PATRONAGE CAPITAL TO AND, THEREFORE, OPERATES AT COST WITH ITS PATRONS. THE COOPERATIVE'S TAX EXEMPT PURPOSE IS TO PROVIDE ELECTRICITY TO ITS PATRONS AND TO DO SO ON A COOPERATIVE BASIS. TAX LAW DEFINES "OPERATING ON A COOPERATIVE BASIS" AS SUBORDINATION OF CAPITAL, DEMOCRATIC CONTROL, AND OPERATION AT COST. THE COOPERATIVE OPERATES AT COST THROUGH THE ALLOCATION OF TRUE PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS (ALSO REFERRED TO AS ALLOCATIONS OF PATRONAGE CAPITAL) TO ITS PATRONS. PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS ARE CONSIDERED PAID IF THE ALLOCATION IS MADE (1) PURSUANT TO A PRE-EXISTING OBLIGATION, (2) FROM THE MARGINS PRODUCED FROM THE TRANSACTIONS DONE WITH OR FOR PATRONS, AND (3) IN A FAIR AND EQUITABLE MANNER ON THE BASIS OF PATRONAGE. ADDITIONALLY, THE ALLOCATION OF PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS SHOULD BE MADE WITHIN A REASONABLE TIME PERIOD AFTER THE CLOSE OF THE COOPERATIVE'S YEAR-END OF DECEMBER 31. EACH ONE OF THESE REQUIREMENTS FOR A TRUE PATRONAGE DIVIDEND IS PROVIDED FOR IN THE NON-PROFIT OPERATION ARTICLE OF THE COOPERATIVE'S BYLAWS. THE AMOUNT REPORTED ON PART IX, LINE 4 REPRESENTS THE AMOUNT OF PATRONAGE CAPITAL THAT IS EITHER ALLOCATED OR TO BE ALLOCATED TO THE PATRONS RESULTING FROM THEIR PURCHASE OF ELECTRICITY FROM THE COOPERATIVE FOR THE 2021 CALENDAR YEAR. BECAUSE PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS ARE THE PROCESS BY WHICH THE COOPERATIVE OPERATES AT COST WITH ITS PATRONS AND THEREBY A KEY COMPONENT TO ACCOMPLISHING ITS EXEMPT PURPOSE, THE COOPERATIVE HAS REPORTED SUCH AMOUNTS AS AN EXPENSE FOR FORM 990 REPORTING. PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS ARE NOT AN EXPENSE FOR FINANCIAL STATEMENTS PREPARED IN ACCORDANCE WITH GENERALLY ACCEPTED ACCOUNTING PRINCIPLES, HOWEVER.
FORM 990, PART IX, LINE 24E:OTHER EXPENSES IS COMPRISED OF THE FOLLOWING: CUSTOMER ACCOUNTS $ 342,846 CUSTOMER SERVICE AND INFORMATION 169,147 SALES EXPENSE 20,604 OTHER DEDUCTIONS 428 TOTAL OTHER EXPENSES PER FORM 990, PART IX $ 533,025
FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9:PATRONAGE CAPITAL ALLOCATED OR TO BE ALLOCATED 8,449,530. PATRONAGE CAPITAL RETIRED - TOTAL -1,839,679. PATRONAGE CAPITAL RETIRED - DISCOUNT 271,724. DONATED CAPITAL 630.
FORM 990, PART XII, LINE 2C:THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES HAVE ASSIGNED MEMBERS TO AN AUDIT COMMITTEE TO OVERSEE THE FINANCIAL STATEMENT AUDIT AND SELECT THE INDEPENDENT AUDITOR. PROCEDURAL CHANGES DID NOT OCCUR DURING THE YEAR.