STRATEGY STUDIO / NONPROFIT PEOPLE SEARCH

OLIVET NAZARENE UNIVERSITY: Form 990, tax year 2021

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
OLIVET NAZARENE UNIVERSITY (EIN 36-2191252)
Tax period
2021-07-01 to 2022-06-30
Filed
2022-11-15
IRS object ID
202223199349310217
Schema version
2021v4.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2022-11-15T09:23:39-08:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2022-06-30TaxPeriodEndDt
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2021-07-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN362191252EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Olivet Nazarene UniversityBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlOLIVBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone8159395079PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1One University AvenueAddressLine1Txt
CityBourbonnaisCityNm
State AbbreviationILStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP60914ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonDavid PickeringPersonNm
Person TitleVice PresidentPersonTitleTxt
Signature2022-11-15SignatureDt

Signing Officer SigningOfficerGrp

Person Full Name PersonFullName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Person FirstDavidPersonFirstNm
Person LastPickeringPersonLastNm
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SSN999009999SSN

Additional Filer Information AdditionalFilerInformation

Trusted Customer TrustedCustomerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Trusted Customer2TrustedCustomerCd
Authentication Assurance LevelAAL1AuthenticationAssuranceLevelCd
Identity Assurance LevelIAL1IdentityAssuranceLevelCd
Federated Assurance LevelFAL1FederatedAssuranceLevelCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2021TaxYr
Build TS2022-09-23 18:48:47ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1One University AvenueAddressLine1Txt
CityBourbonnaisCityNm
State AbbreviationILStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP60914ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$151,012,366GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For AffiliatesfalseGroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website Addresswww.olivet.eduWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1907FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateILLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionTo provide high-quality academic instruction for the purpose of personal development, career and professional readiness, and the preparation of individuals for lives of service to God and humanity.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body62VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent61VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee1867TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers100TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$118,529TotalGrossUBIAmt
PY Contributions Grants$19,940,572PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$19,689,218CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$120,980,417PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$119,767,579CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$2,684,793PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$1,710,799CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$596,934PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$1,081,248CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$144,202,716PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$142,248,844CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$58,255,508PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$60,908,833CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$46,675,544PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$45,030,783CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$85,156PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$155,645CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$3,679,589CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$35,063,135PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$37,609,459CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$140,079,343PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$143,704,720CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$4,123,373PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses-$1,455,876CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$250,852,191TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$243,527,041TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$141,215,136TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$140,804,876TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$109,637,055NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$102,722,165NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionTo provide high-quality academic instruction for the purpose of personal development, career and professional readiness, and the preparation of individuals for lives of service to God and humanity.MissionDesc
Significant New Program SrvcfalseSignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant ChangefalseSignificantChangeInd
Expense$60,908,833ExpenseAmt
Grant$60,908,833GrantAmt
Revenue$55,320,626RevenueAmt
DescAcademic support - Awarding financial aid to eligible students.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$54,521,689ExpenseAmt
Revenue$44,027,524RevenueAmt
DescInstruction of students in a program of higher education.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty3 ProgSrvcAccomActy3Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$13,360,343ExpenseAmt
Revenue$20,419,429RevenueAmt
DescAuxilliary enterprises - providing dormatories, cafeteria, campus communications, and conference income for students and others.Desc
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Expenses$128,790,865TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (true)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (true)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign ActyfalsePoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying ActivitiesYes (true)LobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy TaxfalseSubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised FundfalseDonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation EasementsfalseConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of ArtfalseCollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingYes (true)CreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi EndowmentsYes (true)DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (true)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecfalseReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstfalseReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsfalseReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (true)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnotefalseIncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtfalseIndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtYes (true)ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingYes (true)SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign OfficefalseForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesfalseForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To OrgfalseMoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To IndividualsfalseMoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional FundraisingYes (true)ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising ActivitiesYes (true)FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming ActivitiesfalseGamingActivitiesInd
Operate HospitalfalseOperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsfalseGrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsYes (true)GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (true)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsfalseTaxExemptBondsInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit TransfalseEngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit TransfalsePYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan OutstandingfalseLoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related PersonYes (true)GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org MemfalseBusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemfalseBusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl EntfalseBusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContriYes (true)DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art ContributionYes (true)DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate OperationsfalseTerminateOperationsInd
Partial LiquidationfalsePartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityYes (true)DisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (true)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntYes (true)RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Transaction With Control EntYes (true)TransactionWithControlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd OrgfalseTrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted PrtshpfalseActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (true)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document6919IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (true)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee1867EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (true)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (true)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (true)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial AccountfalseForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter TransfalseProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party NotificationfalseTaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible ContributionsfalseNondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo ContributionsfalseQuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed OffalseForm8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Form8282 Filed0Form8282FiledCnt
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalseRcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalsePayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Form8899 FiledindfalseForm8899Filedind
Form1098 C FiledfalseForm1098CFiledInd
Indoor Tanning ServicesfalseIndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht PymtfalseSubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst IncfalseSubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members62GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member61IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business RlnYes (true)FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt DutiesfalseDelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org DocumentsfalseChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or MisusefalseMaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersfalseMembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (true)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovafalseDecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (true)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (true)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing AddressfalseOfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersfalseLocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyfalseForm990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (true)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (true)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (true)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (true)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (true)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (true)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (true)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint VenturefalseInvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonMatthew FoorPersonNm
Phone8159395079PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1ONU One University AvenueAddressLine1Txt
CityBourbonnaisCityNm
State AbbreviationILStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP60914ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (72 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtAverage Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmt
Dr Gregg Chenoweth
President50.000.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$199,304$0$39,683
Dr Ryan Spittal
Vice President50.000.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$173,694$0$27,362
Dr David Pickering
Vice President50.000.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$171,246$0$28,125
Kathleen Lueckeman
Chief Strategy Off50.000.00$155,435$0$19,336
Dr Walter Webb
VP Student Dev50.000.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$147,445$0$26,844
Dr Stephen Lowe
Vice President50.000.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$147,223$0$26,926
Dr Brian Allen
VP Inst Adv50.000.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$155,837$0$18,054
David VanHeemst
Chair, Hist & Pol50.000.00$143,477$0$22,519
Dr Jay Martinson
Chair Communicatio50.000.00$129,233$0$24,536
Kent Olney
Dean50.000.00$113,614$0$24,904
Amber Residori
Dean50.000.00$123,946$0$7,734
Mr Marcus Reddy
Vice President50.000.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$84,972$0$20,395
Rev Jennifer Coffman
Trustee0.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Rev Bradley Dyrness
Trustee0.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Dr Steven Bohall
Trustee0.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mrs Phyllis German
Trustee0.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Dr Jeffery Crowder
Trustee0.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Rev David Bartley
Trustee0.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Rev Brian Wangler
Trustee0.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Rev Kevin Donley
Trustee0.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Rev David Anderson
Trustee0.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Rev Bill Clark
Trustee0.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Dr Ron Blake
Chairman0.000.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mr Dan Taylor
Trustee0.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Rev Teresa Baker
Trustee0.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Rev Phillip Edwards
Trustee0.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mr Daniel Hirst
Trustee0.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Dr Cynthia Lewis
Trustee0.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mrs Lydia Johnson
Trustee0.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mr Mel Sayes
Trustee0.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mr Bradley Kennedy
Trustee0.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Dr Michael Kitsko
Trustee0.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Dr Stacey Schmidt
Trustee0.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Rev Phil Kizzee
Trustee0.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mr Darian Brown
Trustee0.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Rev Shawn Evans
Trustee0.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Rev Rob Prince
Trustee0.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Dr Mark L Hostetler
Secretary1.000.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Rev Terry Armstrong
Trustee0.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mr Doug Jones
Director0.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Dr Cynthia VanSteenburg
Trustee0.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mr Stephen Lyle
Trustee0.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Rev Aaron Gregory
Trustee0.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Dr David Williams
Trustee0.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Rev Lane Fosnaugh
Trustee0.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Rev Jim Frye
Trustee0.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Rev Mark McCall
Trustee0.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Rev Wesley Ball
Trustee0.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Dr Mark Davisson MD
Trustee0.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mrs Jill Rice
Trustee0.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mr Daniel Garde
Trustee0.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Rev Chris DeMott
Trustee0.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Rev Garrett Lee
Trustee0.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mr Ben Smidt
Trustee0.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mrs Darcy Dill
Trustee0.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Rev H Gordon Smith
Trustee0.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mr Dewayne Doty
Trustee0.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mrs Heidi Taylor
Trustee0.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mrs Cheryl Seymour
Trustee0.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Rev Daniel Wine
Trustee0.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Rev Tim Kellerman
Trustee0.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mr Ken Schmidt
Trustee0.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Dr Michael Taylor
Trustee0.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mrs Cheryl Sherwood
Trustee0.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Rev Daniel Gilmore
Trustee0.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Rev Timothy Crump
Trustee0.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mr Ken Roat
Trustee0.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mr Eric Smith
Trustee0.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Dr Larry McKain
Trustee0.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Rev Lloyd Brock
Trustee0.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Dr Cheryl Betz
Trustee0.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Rev Kenneth Bushey
Trustee0.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$1,745,426TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$286,418TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K22IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees ListedfalseFormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (true)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other SrcsfalseCompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
Sodexo
One University AvenueBourbonnaisIL60914Food Service$6,865,232
Risk Management Foundation
1714 Hinman AveEvanstonIL60201Insurance$990,408
Sandy Alexander Inc
200 Entin RdCliftonNJ07014Printing$845,068
Ellucian Inc
4375 Fair Lakes CourtFairfaxVA22033Information Services$1,135,124
989 Group LLC
911 Brian DrMantenoIL60950Marketing$1,386,440
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K48CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Fundraising$40,485FundraisingAmt
Related Organizations$365,612RelatedOrganizationsAmt
Government Grants$11,008,758GovernmentGrantsAmt
All Other Contributions$8,274,363AllOtherContributionsAmt
Noncash Contributions$184,667NoncashContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$19,689,218TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (3 entries)

DescDescTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Activities relted to Educ$153,283$153,283
Auxilliary Enterprises$20,419,429$20,419,429
Education Revenue$99,194,867$99,194,867
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$119,767,579TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$801,904TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$26,191UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$775,713ExclusionAmt

Incm From Invest Bond Proceeds IncmFromInvestBondProceedsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Royalties Revenue RoyaltiesRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$847,726RealAmt
Personal$82,646PersonalAmt

Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$678,852RealAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$168,874RealAmt
Personal$82,646PersonalAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$251,520TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$86,997UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$164,523ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$6,654,176SecuritiesAmt
Other$1,910,886OtherAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$6,067,055SecuritiesAmt
Other$1,589,112OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$587,121SecuritiesAmt
Other$321,774OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$908,895TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$908,895RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Fundraising Gross Income$358,828FundraisingGrossIncomeAmt
Contri Rpt Fundraising Event$40,485ContriRptFundraisingEventAmt
Fundraising Direct Expenses$428,503FundraisingDirectExpensesAmt

Net Incm From Fundraising Evt NetIncmFromFundraisingEvtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$69,675TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion-$54,288ExclusionAmt

Net Income From Gaming NetIncomeFromGamingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Net Income Or Loss NetIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp (3 entries)

DescDescTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmtExclusionExclusionAmt
Athletics$466,294$466,294
Misc$379,656$379,656
Mngmnt Fees Title IV$48,112$48,112

Miscellaneous Revenue MiscellaneousRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$5,341TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$5,341UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$899,403OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$142,248,844TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$121,190,880RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$118,529UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$1,265,604ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$60,908,833TotalAmt
Program Services$60,908,833ProgramServicesAmt

Foreign Grants ForeignGrantsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,046,603TotalAmt
Program Services$126,000ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$639,703ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$280,900FundraisingAmt

Comp Disqual Persons CompDisqualPersonsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$31,697,837TotalAmt
Program Services$23,916,505ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$5,995,580ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$1,785,752FundraisingAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,179,793TotalAmt
Program Services$866,259ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$239,071ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$74,463FundraisingAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$8,860,173TotalAmt
Program Services$6,386,839ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,896,021ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$577,313FundraisingAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,246,377TotalAmt
Program Services$1,649,395ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$455,202ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$141,780FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Management FeesForServicesManagementGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,941,934TotalAmt
Program Services$1,282,137ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$609,408ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$50,389FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$145,139TotalAmt
Program Services$52,330ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$92,809ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$79,580TotalAmt
Management And General$79,580ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Lobbying FeesForServicesLobbyingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Prof Fundraising FeesForServicesProfFundraising

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$155,645TotalAmt
Fundraising$155,645FundraisingAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$165,118TotalAmt
Program Services$165,118ProgramServicesAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$723,304TotalAmt
Program Services$375,038ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$281,881ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$66,385FundraisingAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,311,373TotalAmt
Program Services$1,132,338ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$134,869ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$44,166FundraisingAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$5,016,863TotalAmt
Program Services$3,484,117ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,383,260ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$149,486FundraisingAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,952,496TotalAmt
Program Services$5,029,334ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General-$2,218,703ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$141,865FundraisingAmt

Royalties RoyaltiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$6,077,440TotalAmt
Program Services$6,077,440ProgramServicesAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,162,422TotalAmt
Program Services$896,248ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$152,279ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$113,895FundraisingAmt

Pymt Travel Entrtnmnt Pub Ofcl PymtTravelEntrtnmntPubOfclGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$64,149TotalAmt
Program Services$23,946ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$14,976ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$25,227FundraisingAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,267,393TotalAmt
Program Services$3,267,393ProgramServicesAmt

Payments To Affiliates PaymentsToAffiliatesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$9,153TotalAmt
Program Services$9,153ProgramServicesAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$6,737,165TotalAmt
Program Services$6,737,165ProgramServicesAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,194,402TotalAmt
Program Services$212,824ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$981,578ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmtFundraisingFundraisingAmt
Food Service$4,750,508$4,626,578$112,761$11,169
Entertianment/Food$874,367$784,850$55,080$34,437
Membership Dues$554,797$418,471$113,651$22,675
Entry/Special Fees$280,588$250,442$26,104$4,042

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$301,268TotalAmt
Program Services$112,112ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$189,156ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$143,704,720TotalAmt
Program Services$128,790,865ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$11,234,266ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$3,679,589FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$23,482BOYAmt
EOY$21,338EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$7,696,705BOYAmt
EOY$13,471,335EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$182,173BOYAmt
EOY$144,247EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$928,857BOYAmt
EOY$1,270,113EOYAmt

Receivables From Officers Etc ReceivablesFromOfficersEtcGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rcvbl From Disqualified Prsn RcvblFromDisqualifiedPrsnGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$0EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,479,300BOYAmt
EOY$1,109,407EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$0EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,148,758BOYAmt
EOY$1,716,002EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$312,075,913LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$117,002,461LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$199,730,786BOYAmt
EOY$195,073,452EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$33,006,347BOYAmt
EOY$28,660,891EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$6,644,567BOYAmt
EOY$2,043,154EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$0EOYAmt

Intangible Assets IntangibleAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$0EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$11,216BOYAmt
EOY$17,102EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$250,852,191BOYAmt
EOY$243,527,041EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$7,418,880BOYAmt
EOY$5,343,836EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$444,667BOYAmt
EOY$235,944EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$123,544,618BOYAmt
EOY$126,720,132EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$9,806,971BOYAmt
EOY$8,504,964EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$141,215,136BOYAmt
EOY$140,804,876EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows FASB117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind

No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$106,077,244BOYAmt
EOY$98,293,655EOYAmt

Donor Restriction Net Assets DonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,559,811BOYAmt
EOY$4,428,510EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$109,637,055BOYAmt
EOY$102,722,165EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$250,852,191BOYAmt
EOY$243,527,041EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss-$1,455,876ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst-$5,459,014NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or ReviewYes (true)AccountantCompileOrReviewInd

Acct Compile Or Review Basis AcctCompileOrReviewBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
FS AuditedYes (true)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Consolidated Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)ConsolidatedBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteefalseAuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredYes (true)FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd
Federal Grant Audit PerformedYes (true)FederalGrantAuditPerformedInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SchoolYes (X)SchoolInd

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule C IRS990ScheduleC

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form4720 Filed Section4955 TaxfalseForm4720FiledSection4955TaxInd
Correction MadefalseCorrectionMadeInd
VolunteersfalseVolunteersInd
Paid Staff Or ManagementfalsePaidStaffOrManagementInd
Media AdvertisementsfalseMediaAdvertisementsInd
Mailings MembersfalseMailingsMembersInd
Publications Or BroadcastfalsePublicationsOrBroadcastInd
Grants Other OrganizationsfalseGrantsOtherOrganizationsInd
Direct Contact LegislatorsYes (true)DirectContactLegislatorsInd
Rallies DemonstrationsfalseRalliesDemonstrationsInd
Other ActivitiesfalseOtherActivitiesInd
Not Described Section501c3falseNotDescribedSection501c3Ind
Form4720 Filed4912 TaxfalseForm4720Filed4912TaxInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Part II-B, Line 1i - Other Activities DescriptionWorking with members of Illinois General Assembly and the Illinois Governor's office and various state agencies to represent the interests of Olivet. Maintain close liason and frequent communicaton with the representatives designated by Olivet. Monitoring and keeping Olivet apprised on a regular basis of all bills and amendments pending or proposed.
Part IV - Additional Information

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Agent Trustee EtcYes (true)AgentTrusteeEtcInd
Incl Escrow Custodial Acct LiabfalseInclEscrowCustodialAcctLiabInd

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$56,763,085BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$3,704,468ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses-$6,477,051InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures-$2,821,912OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$51,168,590EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$44,357,215BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$3,290,914ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$10,559,188InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures-$1,444,232OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$56,763,085EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$41,605,322BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$3,117,498ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$1,598,966InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures-$1,964,571OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$44,357,215EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$36,843,555BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$3,885,407ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$2,246,317InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures-$1,369,957OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$41,605,322EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$32,930,026BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$3,906,738ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$2,138,088InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures-$2,131,297OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$36,843,555EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY0.74000PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Term Endowment Balance EOY0.26000TermEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Endowments Held Unrelated OrgfalseEndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related OrgYes (true)EndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd
Related Org List Sch RYes (true)RelatedOrgListSchRInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$19,180,794OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$19,180,794BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$241,862,973OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$77,526,554DepreciationAmt
Book Value$164,336,419BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$35,303,480OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$28,159,195DepreciationAmt
Book Value$7,144,285BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$15,728,666OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$11,316,712DepreciationAmt
Book Value$4,411,954BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$195,073,452TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Securities OtherSecuritiesGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmtMethod ValuationMethodValuationCd
ONU Foundation Pool$1,801,096F
Money Market$236,444F

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (3 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
Conditional promise$5,924,986
Deferred Obligations$652,952
Deposits$1,927,026
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$8,504,964TotalLiabilityAmt
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$77,297,912TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst-$5,459,014NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Other Revenue-$3,640,562OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported-$9,099,576RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$86,397,488RevenueSubtotalAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$55,851,356OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$55,851,356RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$142,248,844TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$90,498,291TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Expenses Included$2,644,927OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$2,644,927ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$87,853,364ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Other Expenses Not Included$55,851,356OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$55,851,356ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$143,704,720TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (5 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Part IV, Line 1b: Why is organization an agent, trustee, custodian or other intermediary for contribTrustee of Charitable Lead Trust.
Part V, Line 4: Intended uses of the endowment fund.Support students and programs of Olivet Nazarene University
Part XI, Line 4b: Other revenue amounts included on 990 but not included in F/SScholarships netted for F/S $55320626 Investment expenses netted for F/S $165118 Expense Transfer $365612
Part XII, Line 2d: Other expenses and losses per audited F/SExpenses netted for tax return $1127914 ONUF $1517013
Part XII, Line 4b: Other revenue amounts included on 990 but not included in F/SScholarships netted for F/S $55320626 Investment Expenses netted for F/S $165118 Transfers $365612

Schedule E IRS990ScheduleE

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Nondiscriminatory Policy StmtYes (true)NondiscriminatoryPolicyStmtInd
Policy Stmt In Brochures EtcYes (true)PolicyStmtInBrochuresEtcInd
Plcy Pblczd Via Broadcast MediaYes (true)PlcyPblczdViaBroadcastMediaInd
Maintain Racial Comp RecsYes (true)MaintainRacialCompRecsInd
Maintain Scholarships RecsYes (true)MaintainScholarshipsRecsInd
Maintain Cpy Of Brochures EtcYes (true)MaintainCpyOfBrochuresEtcInd
Maintain Cpy Of All SolYes (true)MaintainCpyOfAllSolInd
Discriminate Race Stdnts RghtsfalseDiscriminateRaceStdntsRghtsInd
Discriminate Race Admiss PlcyfalseDiscriminateRaceAdmissPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Emplm FcultyfalseDiscriminateRaceEmplmFcultyInd
Discriminate Race SchsfalseDiscriminateRaceSchsInd
Discriminate Race Educ PlcyfalseDiscriminateRaceEducPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Use Of FcltsfalseDiscriminateRaceUseOfFcltsInd
Discriminate Race Athlt ProgfalseDiscriminateRaceAthltProgInd
Discriminate Race Other ActyfalseDiscriminateRaceOtherActyInd
Government Financial Aid RcvdYes (true)GovernmentFinancialAidRcvdInd
Government Financial Aid RvkdfalseGovernmentFinancialAidRvkdInd
Compliance With Rev Proc7550Yes (true)ComplianceWithRevProc7550Ind

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (3 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Schedule E, Line 3 - Racially Nondiscriminatory Policy PublicizedWebsite lists admissions policy which indicates ONU admits qualified students without discrimination in regards to race, color, creed, handicap, gender, national or enthic origin to all rights, privileges and activities generally accorded or made available to students at Olivet.Catalog states: Olivet Nazarene University policy prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, sex, age, color, creed, national origin or ethnic origin, marital status, or disability in the recruitment and admission of students and in the operation of all college programs, activities, and services.
Schedule E, Line 4 - Explanation of Records and Materials Not Maintained
Schedule E, Line 5 - Explanation of Organization Discrimination by Race

Schedule G IRS990ScheduleG

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Mail SolicitationsYes (X)MailSolicitationsInd
Email SolicitationsYes (X)EmailSolicitationsInd
Phone SolicitationsYes (X)PhoneSolicitationsInd
In Person SolicitationsYes (X)InPersonSolicitationsInd
Solicitation Of Non Govt GrantsYes (X)SolicitationOfNonGovtGrantsInd
Solicitation Of Govt GrantsYes (X)SolicitationOfGovtGrantsInd
Special Fundraising EventsYes (X)SpecialFundraisingEventsInd
Agrmt Prof Fundraising ActyYes (true)AgrmtProfFundraisingActyInd

Fundraiser Activity Info FundraiserActivityInfoGrp (9 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdActivityActivityTxtFundraiser Control Of FundsFundraiserControlOfFundsIndRetained By ContractorRetainedByContractorAmtAddress Line1ForeignAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityForeignAddress/CityNmProvince Or StateForeignAddress/ProvinceOrStateNmCountryForeignAddress/CountryCdForeign PostalForeignAddress/ForeignPostalCd
Westfall Group
5317 Peachtree BlvdAtlantaGA30341Fundraising Counselfalse$82,000
The Heart Share Group
112 Ashcroft LnSimpsonvilleSC29681Fundraising Counselfalse$18,809
Vanillasoft Corp
Phonathon Softwarefalse$18,734490 St Joseph BlvdGatineau QuebecQuebecCAJ8Y3Y7
Community Funded Enterpri
1001-A East Harmony RdFort CollinsCO80525Fundraising Counselfalse$18,500
Dickerson Bakker Assoc
PO Box 98685RaleightNC27624Fundraising Counselfalse$10,000
The Timothy Group Inc
1663 Sutherland Dr SEGrand RapidsMI49508Fundraising Counselfalse$6,500
(no name)
false
(no name)
false
(no name)
false
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Retained By Contractors$154,543TotalRetainedByContractorsAmt
Licensed StatesAKLicensedStatesCd
Licensed StatesAZLicensedStatesCd
Licensed StatesARLicensedStatesCd
Licensed StatesCALicensedStatesCd
Licensed StatesCOLicensedStatesCd
Licensed StatesCTLicensedStatesCd
Licensed StatesDCLicensedStatesCd
Licensed StatesFLLicensedStatesCd
Licensed StatesHILicensedStatesCd
Licensed StatesILLicensedStatesCd
Licensed StatesKYLicensedStatesCd
Licensed StatesMELicensedStatesCd
Licensed StatesMDLicensedStatesCd
Licensed StatesMALicensedStatesCd
Licensed StatesMILicensedStatesCd
Licensed StatesMSLicensedStatesCd
Licensed StatesMNLicensedStatesCd
Licensed StatesMOLicensedStatesCd
Licensed StatesNHLicensedStatesCd
Licensed StatesNYLicensedStatesCd
Licensed StatesOHLicensedStatesCd
Licensed StatesOKLicensedStatesCd
Licensed StatesORLicensedStatesCd
Licensed StatesSCLicensedStatesCd
Licensed StatesUTLicensedStatesCd
Licensed StatesVALicensedStatesCd
Licensed StatesWALicensedStatesCd
Licensed StatesINLicensedStatesCd
Licensed StatesWILicensedStatesCd

Fundraising Event Information FundraisingEventInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Event1Shine Concert EventsEvent1Nm
Gross Receipts Event1$220,952GrossReceiptsEvent1Amt
Gross Revenue Event1$220,952GrossRevenueEvent1Amt
Rent Facility Costs Event1$29,482RentFacilityCostsEvent1Amt
Food And Beverage Event1$15,384FoodAndBeverageEvent1Amt
Entertainment Event1$180,369EntertainmentEvent1Amt
Other Direct Expenses Event1$7,414OtherDirectExpensesEvent1Amt
Event2Winter Golf OutingEvent2Nm
Gross Receipts Event2$106,787GrossReceiptsEvent2Amt
Charitable Contri Event2$13,225CharitableContriEvent2Amt
Gross Revenue Event2$93,562GrossRevenueEvent2Amt
Non Cash Prizes Event2$7,891NonCashPrizesEvent2Amt
Rent Facility Costs Event2$45,245RentFacilityCostsEvent2Amt
Food And Beverage Event2$5,285FoodAndBeverageEvent2Amt
Entertainment Event2$65,238EntertainmentEvent2Amt
Other Direct Expenses Event2$2,749OtherDirectExpensesEvent2Amt
Other Events Total3OtherEventsTotalCnt
Gross Receipts Other Events$71,574GrossReceiptsOtherEventsAmt
Charitable Contri Other Events$27,260CharitableContriOtherEventsAmt
Gross Revenue Other Events$44,314GrossRevenueOtherEventsAmt
Non Cash Prizes Other Events$1,960NonCashPrizesOtherEventsAmt
Rent Fclty Costs Other Events$3,653RentFcltyCostsOtherEventsAmt
Food And Beverage Other Events$4,457FoodAndBeverageOtherEventsAmt
Entertainment Other Events$49,423EntertainmentOtherEventsAmt
Oth Direct Expnss Other Events$9,858OthDirectExpnssOtherEventsAmt
Gross Receipts Total$399,313GrossReceiptsTotalAmt
Charitable Contributions Tot$40,485CharitableContributionsTotAmt
Gross Revenue Total Events$358,828GrossRevenueTotalEventsAmt
Non Cash Prizes Total Events$9,851NonCashPrizesTotalEventsAmt
Rent Fclty Costs Total Events$78,380RentFcltyCostsTotalEventsAmt
Food And Beverage Total Events$25,126FoodAndBeverageTotalEventsAmt
Entertainment Total Events$295,030EntertainmentTotalEventsAmt
Oth Direct Expnss Total Events$20,021OthDirectExpnssTotalEventsAmt
Direct Expense Summary Events$428,408DirectExpenseSummaryEventsAmt
Net Income Summary-$69,580NetIncomeSummaryAmt

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (true)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd
Total501c3 Org0Total501c3OrgCnt
Total Other Org0TotalOtherOrgCnt

Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp (5 entries)

Grant TypeGrantTypeTxtRecipientRecipientCntCash GrantCashGrantAmt
Insitutional Student Aid2960$55,254,576
Funded Institutional Aid38$66,050
SEOG442$396,283
CWS289$452,798
Departmental Aid310$875,035

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceAdditional Supplemental InformationFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationCWS awards are allocated back to wages as required by IPEDs reporting.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Travel For CompanionsYes (X)TravelForCompanionsInd
Idemnification Gross Up PmtsYes (X)IdemnificationGrossUpPmtsInd
Housing Allowance Or ResidenceYes (X)HousingAllowanceOrResidenceInd
Club Dues Or FeesYes (X)ClubDuesOrFeesInd
Written Policy Ref T And E ExpnssYes (true)WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd
Substantiation RequiredYes (true)SubstantiationRequiredInd
Written Employment ContractYes (X)WrittenEmploymentContractInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance PaymentYes (true)SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanfalseSupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp ArrngmfalseEquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng OrgfalseCompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related OrgsfalseCompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng OrgfalseCompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd OrgsfalseCompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed PaymentsfalseAnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract ExceptionfalseInitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (9 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmt
David VanHeemst
Chair, Hist & Pol$81,188$670$61,619$5,683$16,836$165,996
Dr Brian Allen
VP Inst Adv$149,747$670$5,420$10,482$7,572$173,891
Dr David Pickering
Vice President$161,275$670$9,301$11,289$16,836$199,371
Dr Gregg Chenoweth
President$169,167$670$29,467$11,841$27,842$238,987
Dr Jay Martinson
Chair Communicatio$110,000$670$18,563$7,700$16,836$153,769
Dr Ryan Spittal
Vice President$151,828$670$21,196$10,586$16,776$201,056
Dr Stephen Lowe
Vice President$145,000$670$1,553$10,150$16,776$174,149
Dr Walter Webb
VP Student Dev$142,968$670$3,807$10,008$16,836$174,289
Kathleen Lueckeman
Chief Strategy Off$125,000$670$29,765$2,500$16,836$174,771

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePart I, Line 1a: Relevant information in regards to selections on 1a.FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationHousing allowance provided for ministers in accordance with IRS regulations. President is required to live in University Housing.Country Club Dues are paid for local club, which is used by University for business functions. Any personal use is reimbursed by employee.Travel for companions is covered according to written policy. If there is no business purpose, the amount is taxed to the employee.ExplanationTxt

Schedule L IRS990ScheduleL

Grnt Asst Bnft Interested Prsn GrntAsstBnftInterestedPrsnGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonVariousPersonNm
Relationship With OrgChildrenRelationshipWithOrgTxt
Type Of AssistanceScholarshipsTypeOfAssistanceTxt
Assistance PurposeEducationAssistancePurposeTxt

Schedule M IRS990ScheduleM

Securities Publicly Traded SecuritiesPubliclyTradedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
Contribution6ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$142,959NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
Method Of Determining RevenuesFMVMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt

Historical Artifacts HistoricalArtifactsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
Contribution1ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$34,000NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
Method Of Determining RevenuesFMVMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt

Other Non Cash Contri Table OtherNonCashContriTableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
DescDonated GiftsDesc
Contribution1ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$7,708NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
Method Of Determining RevenuesFMVMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Any Property That Must Be HeldfalseAnyPropertyThatMustBeHeldInd
Review Process Unusual NC GiftsfalseReviewProcessUnusualNCGiftsInd
Third Parties UsedfalseThirdPartiesUsedInd

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (6 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Part VI, Line 2: Description of Business or Family Relationship of Officers, Directors, EtSeveral members have relatives that have received scholarships given in the normal course of process, not because of their status as board members.Dr. Mark Hostetler has a laptop that he uses in his role as Secretary to the Board.Mrs. Cheryl Seymour's husband is employed by the University.Dr. David Pickering has a brother who is employed by the University. Mr. Dan Taylor has an ownership interest in an organization that conducts business with the University.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 11b: Form 990 Review ProcessInternally prepared and reviewed by University CFO and external audit staff prior to filing.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 12c: Explanation of Monitoring and Enforcement of ConflictsAny conflict of interest is reviewed and approved by VP having authority over area and VP of Finance and Financial Services office. All are documented with any related transactions.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 15a: Compensation Review & Approval Process - CEO, Top ManagementThe HR Director provides data annually for the President and for the Vice Presidents. The Data is salary analysis using 2-3 different surveys.The HR Director provides data to the Executive Committee for the Board of Trustees every five years when the President receives a contract. Once the salary is determined, the President receives the same annual percentage increase as a staff member. This was last done in 2020.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 15b: Compensation Review and Approval Process for Officers and Key EmployeesThe Vice President's salaries are evaluated each year with the Director of HR and the President. The HR Director reviews salaries provided by CUPA survey as well as CCCU survey and evaluates the role of the VP and makes a determination of the appropriate salary based on the scope of their responsibilities and their experience in their role.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 19: Other Organization Documents Publicly AvailableInformation available upon request plus required information may appear on website.

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Disregarded Entities IdDisregardedEntitiesGrp

Disregarded Entity Name DisregardedEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1ONU SGCS Payroll LLCBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1One University AvenueAddressLine1Txt
CityBourbonnaisCityNm
State AbbreviationILStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP60914ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN455548421EIN
Primary ActivitiesProcess payroll for out of state employeesPrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateILLegalDomicileStateCd

Direct Controlling Entity Name DirectControllingEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Olivet Nazarene UniversityBusinessNameLine1Txt

Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp

Disregarded Entity Name DisregardedEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Olivet Nazarene University FoundationBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1387 S Main 1AddressLine1Txt
CityBourbonnaisCityNm
State AbbreviationILStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP60914ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Primary ActivitiesSupport students and programs of Olivet Nazarene UnivPrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateILLegalDomicileStateCd
Exempt Code Section501(3)ExemptCodeSectionTxt
Public Charity Status12a Type 1PublicCharityStatusTxt
Direct Controlling NAN/ADirectControllingNACd
Controlled OrganizationYes (true)ControlledOrganizationInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts RyltsfalseReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth OrgfalseGiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth OrgfalseGiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other OrgfalseLoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth OrgYes (true)LoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Div Related OrganizationfalseDivRelatedOrganizationInd
Asset Sale To Other OrgfalseAssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other OrgfalseAssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset ExchangefalseAssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth OrgfalseRentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth OrgYes (true)RentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth OrgYes (true)PerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other OrgfalsePerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of FacilitiesfalseSharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees SharingfalsePaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other OrgfalseReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other OrgfalseReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other OrgYes (true)TransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other OrgfalseTransferFromOtherOrgInd

Transactions Related Org TransactionsRelatedOrgGrp (4 entries)

Transaction TypeTransactionTypeTxtInvolvedInvolvedAmtMethod Of Amount DeterminationMethodOfAmountDeterminationTxt
Olivet Nazarene University Foundation
e$120,935,429Loan Balance
Olivet Nazarene University Foundation
k$2,929,844Sale Leaseback
Olivet Nazarene University Foundation
l$478,576% of assets
Olivet Nazarene University Foundation
r$10,353FMV