STRATEGY STUDIO / NONPROFIT PEOPLE SEARCH

SAN DIEGO COUNTY CREDIT UNION: Form 990, tax year 2021

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
SAN DIEGO COUNTY CREDIT UNION (EIN 95-1184903)
Tax period
2021-01-01 to 2021-12-31
Filed
2022-11-10
IRS object ID
202233149349302728
Schema version
2021v4.2
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2022-11-10T10:05:46-06:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2021-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN420714325PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RSM US LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11861 INTERNATIONAL DRIVE SUITE 400AddressLine1Txt
CityMCLEANCityNm
State AbbreviationVAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP22102ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2021-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN951184903EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1SAN DIEGO COUNTY CREDIT UNIONBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlSANDBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone8777322848PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line16545 SEQUENCE DRIVEAddressLine1Txt
CitySAN DIEGOCityNm
State AbbreviationCAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP92121ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonTERESA CAMPBELLPersonNm
Person TitleCEOPersonTitleTxt
Phone8777322848PhoneNum
Signature2022-11-08SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Signing Officer SigningOfficerGrp

Person Full Name PersonFullName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Person FirstTERESAPersonFirstNm
Person LastCAMPBELLPersonLastNm
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SSN999009999SSN

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonYONG ZHANG CPAPreparerPersonNm
PTINP01249785PTIN
Phone7033366400PhoneNum
Preparation2022-11-08PreparationDt

Additional Filer Information AdditionalFilerInformation

Trusted Customer TrustedCustomerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Trusted Customer3TrustedCustomerCd
Authentication Assurance LevelAAL1AuthenticationAssuranceLevelCd
Identity Assurance LevelIAL1IdentityAssuranceLevelCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2021TaxYr
Build TS2022-09-23 18:48:47ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerTERESA CAMPBELLPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line16545 SEQUENCE DRIVEAddressLine1Txt
CitySAN DIEGOCityNm
State AbbreviationCAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP92121ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$305,241,036GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501cYes (X)Organization501cInd
Website AddressWWW.SDCCU.COMWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1938FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateCALegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionSTATE CHARTERED CREDIT UNION PROVIDING FINANCIAL SERVICES TO MEMBERSActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body11VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent10VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee903TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers14TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$2,347,531TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$0PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$0CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$275,746,126PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$235,995,920CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$26,568,189PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$43,679,608CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$9,501,384PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$25,565,508CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$311,815,699PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$305,241,036CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$0PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$0CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$89,723,598PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$86,481,091CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$150,578,887PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$118,316,094CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$240,302,485PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$204,797,185CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$71,513,214PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$100,443,851CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$9,693,856,295TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$10,817,931,463TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$8,221,414,142TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$9,245,046,090TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$1,472,442,153NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$1,572,885,373NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionA NOT-FOR-PROFIT CREDIT UNION WHOLLY OWNED BY ITS MEMBERSMissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
DescPROVIDE LOAN PRODUCTS AND SERVICES TO MEMBERSHIPDesc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescPROVIDE DEPOSIT PRODUCTS AND SERVICES TO MEMBERSHIPDesc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty3 ProgSrvcAccomActy3Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescPROVIDE OTHER FINANCIAL SERVICES TO MEMBERSHIPDesc
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Described In Section501c30DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B Required0ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign ActyYes (1)PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi Endowments0DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstYes (1)ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent0BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityYes (1)DisregardedEntityInd
Related Entity0RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document64832IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee903EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (1)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (1)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht PymtYes (1)SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc0SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members11GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member10IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (1)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (1)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (1)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersYes (1)LocalChaptersInd
Policies Reference ChaptersYes (1)PoliciesReferenceChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn Body0Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower Policy0WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldCAStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldAZStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonAARON SATO CFOPersonNm
Phone8777322848PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line16545 SEQUENCE DRIVEAddressLine1Txt
CitySAN DIEGOCityNm
State AbbreviationCAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP92121ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (25 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtOfficerOfficerIndKey EmployeeKeyEmployeeIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
ILAN AWERBUCH
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
HEATHER BENJAMIN
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
RICHARD COLLINS
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
ALFIE GONZAGA
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
CHRISTOPHER HART
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
PATRICIA HONEYCUTT
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
SHIRLEY JACKSON
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
LAURIE LEVENSON
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
STEVE REUEL
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
KEN VAN RIPER
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
TERESA CAMPBELL
CEO & PRESIDENT60.00Yes (X)$9,573,486$0$2,224,470Yes (X)
ASHLEE N SCOTT
EXECUTIVE VP & CFO60.00$613,049$0$640,186Yes (X)
MICHELLE PAGNI
EXECUTIVE VICE PRESIDENT, HUMAN RESOURCES60.00$897,224$0$587,589Yes (X)
MICHAEL TAYLOR BRADSHAW
EVP, REAL ESTATE LENDING60.00$717,842$0$40,472Yes (X)
CAROLYN KISSICK
EVP, ERM & CHIEF RISK OFFICER60.00$620,823$0$555,833Yes (X)
NATHAN S SCHMIDT
EVP, CXO AND DIGITAL CHANNELS60.00$584,981$0$424,026Yes (X)
DENNIS W KINGERY
EVP, OPERATIONS & CHIEF SALES & SERVICE OFFIC60.00$450,215$0$39,491Yes (X)
RYAN SCOTT LITTLE
EXECUTIVE VICE PRESIDENT, CONSUMER LENDING60.00$315,966$0$4,377Yes (X)
VALERIE L KWIATKOWSKI 110521
EVP, INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY60.00$387,935$0$22,218Yes (X)
CARLOS MANUEL ZUNIGA 070621
EXECUTIVE VICE PRESIDENT, CONSUMER LENDING60.00$348,107$0$15,318Yes (X)
MARC A MATHEWS
VICE PRESIDENT, BUSINESS LOAN ORIGINATIONS40.00$371,314$0$82,646Yes (X)
DONALD TAYLOR JARRETT
SENIOR VICE PRESIDENT, REAL ESTATE40.00$365,568$0$39,438Yes (X)
SCOTT L MAXWELL
SENIOR VICE PRESIDENT, CHIEF IT SECURITY OFR60.00$337,129$0$37,980Yes (X)
BRADLEY W BATES
SENIOR VICE PRESIDENT, INTERNAL AUDIT40.00$326,808$0$27,865Yes (X)
MICHAEL WAYNE CORPUZ
SENIOR VICE PRESIDENT, BUSINESS LENDING40.00$293,003$0$21,253Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$16,203,450TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$4,763,162TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K169IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
SHEPPARD MULLIN RICHTER & HAMPTON LLP
333 SOUTH HOPE ST 43RD FLRLOS ANGELESCA90071LEGAL SERVICES$4,285,006
TRUHOME SOLUTIONS LLC
9601 LEGLER ROADLENEXAKS66219REAL ESTATE SERVICES$3,394,673
LRES CORPORATION
765 THE CITY DRIVE SOUTHORANGECA92868REAL ESTATE SERVICES$1,953,862
ALLIED UNIVERSAL SECURITY SERVICES
PO BOX 31001-2374PASADENACA91110SECURITY SERVICES$1,102,293
LOOMIS
PO BOX 120757DALLASTX75312CASH HANDLING SERVICES$1,023,386
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K48CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmtUnrelated Business RevenueUnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
INTEREST INCOME522100$167,349,402$167,349,402
FEE INCOME522100$68,646,518$68,211,140$435,378
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$235,995,920TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$43,638,267TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$43,638,267ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$41,341OtherAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$0OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$41,341OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$41,341TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$41,341ExclusionAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmtUnrelated Business RevenueUnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
REVERSAL OF PROVISION522100$14,550,000$14,550,000
OTHER INCOME522100$6,849,397$4,937,244$1,912,153
MEMBER INVESTMENT SERV522100$4,166,111$4,166,111
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$25,565,508OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$305,241,036TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$259,213,897RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$2,347,531UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$43,679,608ExclusionAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$19,063,608TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$53,693,533TotalAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,787,608TotalAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,181,487TotalAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$7,754,855TotalAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,554,422TotalAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$967,786TotalAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,995,039TotalAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$10,586,226TotalAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,766,933TotalAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$10,076,892TotalAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$18,790,341TotalAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$426,256TotalAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$21,669,999TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$7,604,466TotalAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$855,075TotalAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmt
LOAN PROCESSING EXPENSE$15,720,535
OTHER OPERATING EXPENSE$11,160,819
FRAUD LOSS$1,962,335
RECRUITING$897,083

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,281,887TotalAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$204,797,185TotalAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,209,180,707BOYAmt
EOY$675,540,956EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,307,807,021BOYAmt
EOY$5,083,635,102EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$8,035,832BOYAmt
EOY$7,843,193EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$151,904,693LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$115,455,975LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$40,974,409BOYAmt
EOY$36,448,718EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,878,844,764BOYAmt
EOY$4,778,795,983EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$249,013,562BOYAmt
EOY$235,667,511EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$9,693,856,295BOYAmt
EOY$10,817,931,463EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$52,679,526BOYAmt
EOY$55,727,654EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$8,168,734,616BOYAmt
EOY$9,189,318,436EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$8,221,414,142BOYAmt
EOY$9,245,046,090EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Org Does Not Follow FASB117Yes (X)OrgDoesNotFollowFASB117Ind

Cap Stk Tr Prin Current Funds CapStkTrPrinCurrentFundsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Pd In Cap Srpls Land Bldg Eqp Fund PdInCapSrplsLandBldgEqpFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,472,442,153BOYAmt
EOY$1,572,885,373EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,472,442,153BOYAmt
EOY$1,572,885,373EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$9,693,856,295BOYAmt
EOY$10,817,931,463EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$100,443,851ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst-$631NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$0OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule C IRS990ScheduleC

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Political Expenditures$12,500PoliticalExpendituresAmt
Expended527 Activities$12,500Expended527ActivitiesAmt
Total Exempt Function Expend$12,500TotalExemptFunctionExpendAmt
Form1120 POL FiledYes (1)Form1120POLFiledInd

Section527 Political Org Section527PoliticalOrgGrp (2 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdEINEINPaid Internal FundsPaidInternalFundsAmt
CALIFORNIA CREDIT UNION LEAGUE
2855 E GUASTI RD STE 600ONTARIOCA91761940357265$10,000
SAN DIEGO CREDIT UNION PAC
9201 SPECTRUM CENTER BLVDSAN DIEGOCA92123743032876$2,500

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART I-A, LINE 1:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationSDCCU HAD A $10,000 POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE CONTRIBUTION TO THE CALIFORNIA CREDIT UNION LEAGUE IN DECEMBER 2021. IN ADDITION, SDCCU HAD A $2,500 POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE CONTRIBUTION TO THE SAN DIEGO CREDIT UNION PAC IN DECEMBER 2021.ExplanationTxt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$12,020,901OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$12,020,901BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$39,288,403OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$26,116,895DepreciationAmt
Book Value$13,171,508BookValueAmt

Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$21,271,578OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$18,472,677DepreciationAmt
Book Value$2,798,901BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$79,323,811OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$70,866,403DepreciationAmt
Book Value$8,457,408BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$36,448,718TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Invst Program Related Org InvstProgramRelatedOrgGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmtMethod ValuationMethodValuationCd
GOVERNMENT INVESTMENTS$49,715F
GOVERNMENT INVESTMENTS$4,761,496,268C
FHLB OF SAN FRANCISCO$17,250,000F
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Program Rltd$4,778,795,983TotalBookValueProgramRltdAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescMEMBERS' SHARESDesc
Amt$9,189,318,436Amt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$9,189,318,436TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$305,240,405TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst-$631NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Revenue Not Reported-$631RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$305,241,036RevenueSubtotalAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$0RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$305,241,036TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$204,797,185TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$204,797,185ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$0ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$204,797,185TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART X, LINE 2:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationINCOME TAXES: THE CREDIT UNION IS A STATE-CHARTERED CREDIT UNION DESCRIBED IN INTERNAL REVENUE CODE (IRC) SECTION 501(C)(14). AS SUCH, THE CREDIT UNION IS EXEMPT FROM FEDERAL TAXATION OF INCOME DERIVED FROM THE PERFORMANCE OF ACTIVITIES THAT ARE IN FURTHERANCE OF ITS EXEMPT PURPOSES, EXCEPT FOR UNRELATED BUSINESS INCOME, AS DEFINED IN IRC SECTION 512 AND IN TECHNICAL ADVICE MEMORANDUMS (TAM) RELEASED IN 2007 TO A NUMBER OF STATE-CHARTERED CREDIT UNIONS LOCATED THROUGHOUT THE COUNTRY. IN THESE TAMS, THE IRS RULED CERTAIN PRODUCTS AND SERVICES TO BE SUBJECT TO TAXATION AS UNRELATED BUSINESS INCOME. IN LIGHT OF THE TAMS, THE CREDIT UNION HAS ASSESSED ITS ACTIVITIES AND ANY POTENTIAL FEDERAL OR STATE INCOME TAX LIABILITY. MANAGEMENT HAS DETERMINED THAT NO MATERIAL LIABILITY EXISTS FROM FEDERAL OR STATE TAXATION OF ACTIVITIES DEEMED TO BE UNRELATED TO ITS EXEMPT PURPOSE. FASB CODIFICATION TOPIC 740, INCOME TAXES, PROVIDES GUIDANCE FOR HOW UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS SHOULD BE RECOGNIZED, MEASURED, DISCLOSED AND PRESENTED IN THE CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS. THIS REQUIRES THE EVALUATION OF TAX POSITIONS TAKEN OR EXPECTED TO BE TAKEN IN THE COURSE OF PREPARING THE CREDIT UNION'S TAX RETURNS TO DETERMINE WHETHER THE TAX POSITIONS ARE MORE LIKELY THAN NOT TO BE SUSTAINED "WHEN CHALLENGED OR "WHEN EXAMINED" BY THE APPLICABLE TAX AUTHORITY. TAX POSITIONS NOT DEEMED TO MEET THE MORE-LIKELY-THAN-NOT THRESHOLD WOULD BE RECORDED AS A TAX EXPENSE AND LIABILITY IN THE CURRENT YEAR. FOR THE YEARS ENDED DECEMBER 31, 2021 AND 2020, MANAGEMENT HAS DETERMINED THAT THERE ARE NO MATERIAL UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Independent ConsultantYes (X)IndependentConsultantInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanYes (1)SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (15 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
TERESA CAMPBELL
CEO & PRESIDENT$1,248,933$0$1,501,200$0$6,823,353$0$2,205,285$0$19,185$0$11,797,956$0$0$0
ASHLEE N SCOTT
EXECUTIVE VP & CFO$443,049$0$170,000$0$0$0$622,163$0$18,023$0$1,253,235$0$0$0
MICHELLE PAGNI
EXECUTIVE VICE PRESIDENT, HUMAN RESO$395,817$0$150,000$0$351,407$0$582,616$0$4,973$0$1,484,813$0$0$0
MICHAEL TAYLOR BRADSHAW
EVP, REAL ESTATE LENDING$392,842$0$325,000$0$0$0$11,600$0$28,872$0$758,314$0$0$0
CAROLYN KISSICK
EVP, ERM & CHIEF RISK OFFICER$420,823$0$200,000$0$0$0$545,776$0$10,057$0$1,176,656$0$0$0
NATHAN S SCHMIDT
EVP, CXO AND DIGITAL CHANNELS$379,581$0$200,000$0$5,400$0$414,790$0$9,236$0$1,009,007$0$0$0
DENNIS W KINGERY
EVP, OPERATIONS & CHIEF SALES & SERV$330,215$0$120,000$0$0$0$11,600$0$27,891$0$489,706$0$0$0
RYAN SCOTT LITTLE
EXECUTIVE VICE PRESIDENT, CONSUMER L$94,655$0$215,000$0$6,311$0$585$0$3,792$0$320,343$0$0$0
VALERIE L KWIATKOWSKI 110521
EVP, INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY$387,935$0$0$0$0$0$11,357$0$10,861$0$410,153$0$0$0
CARLOS MANUEL ZUNIGA 070621
EXECUTIVE VICE PRESIDENT, CONSUMER L$171,184$0$150,000$0$26,923$0$7,846$0$7,472$0$363,425$0$0$0
MARC A MATHEWS
VICE PRESIDENT, BUSINESS LOAN ORIGIN$116,259$0$2,300$0$252,755$0$57,791$0$24,855$0$453,960$0$0$0
DONALD TAYLOR JARRETT
SENIOR VICE PRESIDENT, REAL ESTATE$290,568$0$75,000$0$0$0$10,673$0$28,765$0$405,006$0$0$0
SCOTT L MAXWELL
SENIOR VICE PRESIDENT, CHIEF IT SECU$262,129$0$75,000$0$0$0$11,502$0$26,478$0$375,109$0$0$0
BRADLEY W BATES
SENIOR VICE PRESIDENT, INTERNAL AUDI$276,808$0$50,000$0$0$0$11,390$0$16,475$0$354,673$0$0$0
MICHAEL WAYNE CORPUZ
SENIOR VICE PRESIDENT, BUSINESS LEND$263,003$0$30,000$0$0$0$11,368$0$9,885$0$314,256$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART I, LINE 4BFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationSDCCU PROVIDES CERTAIN OFFICERS, DIRECTORS, KEY EMPLOYEES AND HIGHLY COMPENSATED EXECUTIVES WITH A SPLIT-DOLLAR SUPPLEMENTAL EXECUTIVE RETIREMENT PLAN (SERP) TO AUGMENT RETIREMENT INCOME FOR THESE EMPLOYEES. AMOUNTS CREDITED TO PARTICIPANTS ARE EARNED ON AN ANNUAL BASIS AND BASED ON CERTAIN ACTUARIAL FACTORS. THE AMOUNTS ARE ALSO SUBJECT TO FORFEITURE IF CERTAIN EMPLOYMENT CONDITIONS AND VESTING PERIODS ARE NOT MET. FOR THE YEAR ENDING DECEMBER 31, 2021, THE INDIVIDUALS LISTED IN SCHEDULE J, PART II HAD AN AMOUNT RELATING TO THE SERP BENEFITS LISTED AS DEFERRED COMPENSATION LISTED IN COLUMN C: TERESA CAMPBELL - $2,193,685 ASHLEE N. SCOTT - $610,563 CAROLYN KISSICK - $534,176 NATHAN S. SCHMIDT - $404,482 MICHELLE PAGNI - $571,016 MARC A MATHEWS - $46,191ExplanationTxt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (7 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 6THE CREDIT UNION IS A NOT-FOR-PROFIT ORGANIZATION MADE UP OF MEMBERS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7AMEMBERS HAVE THE RIGHT TO VOTE IN THE ELECTION OF VOLUNTEERS SERVING IN BOARD MEMBER POSITIONS, WHICH HAVE STAGGERED TERMS. PURSUANT TO THE BYLAWS, SUCH VOLUNTEERS ARE ELECTED BY THE CREDIT UNION'S MEMBERS AT THE ANNUAL MEETING HELD EACH YEAR.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7BCERTAIN DECISIONS MADE BY THE CREDIT UNION'S BOARD OF DIRECTORS ARE SUBJECT TO REGULATORY OR MEMBERSHIP APPROVAL.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11BTHE FORM 990 IS REVIEWED BY THE CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER ("CFO") AND ACCOUNTING MANAGER, WHO CONSULT WITH EXTERNAL CPA FIRMS AND LEGAL COUNSEL AS NEEDED TO ENSURE THE ACCURACY AND SUFFICIENCY OF ALL RESPONSES.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12CTHERE ARE REGULAR COMPLIANCE REVIEWS BY THE CREDIT UNION'S COMPLIANCE OFFICER AND A THIRD (3RD) PARTY VENDOR WHICH ADDRESSES COMPLIANCE WITH ALL CREDIT UNION POLICIES. IN ADDITION, REGULATORS AND CPA'S MONITOR COMPLIANCE DURING THEIR PERIODIC AND ANNUAL AUDITS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15THE BOARD ANNUALLY OBTAINS AN INDEPENDENT PROFESSIONAL ASSESSMENT OF MARKET COMPENSATION FOR THE PRESIDENT/CEO. AN INDEPENDENT PROFESSIONAL ASSESSMENT OF MARKET COMPENSATION IS ALSO OBTAINED FOR OTHER EXECUTIVE TEAM MEMBERS (EVPS), AS WELL AS THE SVP/ DIRECTOR OF INTERNAL AUDIT.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19THE ORGANIZATION MAKES ITS GOVERNING DOCUMENTS, CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY, AND FINANCIAL STATEMENTS AVAILABLE TO THE PUBLIC BY COMPLYING WITH THE PUBLIC DISCLOSURE REQUIREMENTS SET FORTH IN THE REGULATIONS FOR IRC SECTION 6104 AT 26 C.F.R. SECTION 301.604

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Disregarded Entities IdDisregardedEntitiesGrp (2 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdEINEINPrimary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxtLegal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCdTotal IncomeTotalIncomeAmtEnd Of Year AssetsEndOfYearAssetsAmtBusiness Name Line1DirectControllingEntityName/BusinessNameLine1Txt
FRESH START REAL ESTATE LLC
6545 SEQUENCE DRIVESAN DIEGOCA92121452981200REAL ESTATECA$1,024$541,102SAN DIEGO COUNTY CREDIT UNION
SD FINANCIAL GROUP LLC
6545 SEQUENCE DRIVESAN DIEGOCA92121452980994E-COMMERCE - INACTIVECA$0$0SAN DIEGO COUNTY CREDIT UNION