STRATEGY STUDIO / NONPROFIT PEOPLE SEARCH

FIRST CITY CREDIT UNION: Form 990, tax year 2021

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
FIRST CITY CREDIT UNION (EIN 95-1679662)
Tax period
2021-01-01 to 2021-12-31
Filed
2022-11-15
IRS object ID
202243199349316864
Schema version
2021v4.2
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2022-11-15T13:58:55-06:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2021-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN420714325PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RSM US LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line14650 E 53RD STREETAddressLine1Txt
CityDAVENPORTCityNm
State AbbreviationIAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP52827ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2021-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN951679662EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1FIRST CITY CREDIT UNIONBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlFIRSBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone2134823477PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1550 W WOODBURY ROADAddressLine1Txt
CityALTADENACityNm
State AbbreviationCAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP91001ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonLOURDES RUANOPersonNm
Person TitleEVP/CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICERPersonTitleTxt
Phone2134823477PhoneNum
Signature2022-11-14SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Signing Officer SigningOfficerGrp

Person Full Name PersonFullName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Person FirstLOURDESPersonFirstNm
Person LastRUANOPersonLastNm
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SSNXXX-XX-XXXXSSN

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonJENIFER L CHASEPreparerPersonNm
PTINP01306883PTIN
Phone5638884000PhoneNum
Preparation2022-11-14PreparationDt

Additional Filer Information AdditionalFilerInformation

Trusted Customer TrustedCustomerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Trusted Customer3TrustedCustomerCd
Authentication Assurance LevelAAL1AuthenticationAssuranceLevelCd
Identity Assurance LevelIAL1IdentityAssuranceLevelCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2021TaxYr
Build TS2022-09-23 18:48:47ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerJAMES MILLERPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1550 W WOODBURY ROADAddressLine1Txt
CityALTADENACityNm
State AbbreviationCAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP91001ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$42,042,494GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501cYes (X)Organization501cInd
Website AddressWWW.FIRSTCITYCU.ORGWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1937FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateCALegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionTO PROVIDE HIGH QUALITY FINANCIAL SERVICES AND COMPETITIVE PRODUCTS TO OUR MEMBERS BASE.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body6VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent6VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee126TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers7TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$375,249TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$0PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$0CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$19,807,050PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$20,801,979CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$7,165,533PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$18,581,855CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$299,550PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$3,412CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$27,272,133PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$39,387,246CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$0PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$0CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$1,984,691PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$1,551,118CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$9,335,490PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$9,234,965CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$12,673,258PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$9,346,890CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$23,993,439PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$20,132,973CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$3,278,694PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$19,254,273CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$838,293,496TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$929,815,680TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$743,346,826TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$828,772,128TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$94,946,670NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$101,043,552NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionFIRST CITY CREDIT UNION EXISTS TO SERVE ITS MEMBERS. THE CREDIT UNION IS COMMITTED TO OFFER A BROAD RANGE OF QUALITY FINANCIAL SERVICES, DELIVERED AND PRICED TO PROVIDE GOOD VALUE. THE CREDIT UNION SHALL MAINTAIN FINANCIALLY SOUND AND ETHICAL PRACTICES TO MERIT CONFIDENCE AND TRUST.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
DescRETAIL LENDING: FIRST CITY CREDIT UNION PROVIDES A FULL RANGE OF RETAIL LENDING PRODUCTS TO ITS MEMBERS, INCLUDING NEW AND USED AUTO FINANCING, REAL ESTATE MORTGAGES, UNSECURED LOANS, HOME EQUITY LINES OF CREDIT AND OTHER RETAIL CREDIT. WE ARE AMONG THE LEADING CREDIT UNIONS IN THE COUNTRY IN TERMS OF OUR RELATIVE CONCENTRATION OF SUCCESSFUL AUTO LENDING PRODUCTS, WHICH REPRESENT 70% OF OUR TOTAL LOANS. WE CONTINUE TO DEVELOP OUR LENDING CAPABILITIES AS A RELIABLE SOURCE OF CREDIT IN THE CHALLENGING ECONOMIC CONDITIONS OF THE PAST YEAR. AT 12/31/2021 FCCU HAD 61,292 MEMBERS LOANS OUTSTANDING WITH A TOTAL BALANCE OF $295,860,397Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescDEPOSITS: FIRST CITY CREDIT UNION PROVIDES A FULL RANGE OF RETAIL DEPOSIT PRODUCTS TO ITS MEMBERS TO PROVIDE A SAFE AND INSURED INVESTMENT VEHICLE TO HELP FINANCIAL MANAGEMENT. THIS INCLUDES BOTH FIXED TERM CERTIFICATES OF DEPOSIT AND NON-MATURING DEPOSITS, SUCH AS MONEY MARKET ACCOUNTS. WE ALSO PROVIDE A FULL RANGE OF CHECKING ACCOUNT PRODUCTS THAT ALLOW OUR MEMBERS TO MANAGE THEIR DAY-TO-DAY FINANCES EFFECTIVELY THROUGH SUCH SERVICES AS DIRECT DEPOSIT OF PAYROLL AND ON-LINE BILL PAYMENT. OUR NETWORK OF 7 BRANCHES PROVIDE EASY ACCESS TO OUR DEPOSIT AS WELL AS OTHERS PRODUCTS. AT 12/31/2021 FCCU HAD 107,066 SHARES WITH A TOTAL DEPOSIT BALANCE OF $825,263,548Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty3 ProgSrvcAccomActy3Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescCARD SERVICES: FIRST CITY CREDIT UNION PROVIDES CREDIT CARDS AND DEBIT CARDS TO ITS MEMBERS. THESE PROVIDE THEM THE CASH MANAGEMENT TOOLS NECESSARY FOR MUCH OF THE ONGOING PURCHASES AND BILL PAYMENTS ON A DAILY BASIS. THEY ALSO PROVIDE THE ABILITY TO MANAGE FINANCES WITH A VARIETY OF OPTIONS, E.G., DEFERRING PAYMENTS UNTIL CASH IS AVAILABLE TO PAY OR MAKING PURCHASES WITH A DIRECT DEBIT WHEN PHYSICAL CHECKS ARE NOT ACCEPTED BY A MERCHANT.Desc
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Described In Section501c30DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B Required0ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi Endowments0DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecYes (1)ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent0BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related Entity0RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document6188IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee126EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (1)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (1)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt0SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc0SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members6GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member6IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (1)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (1)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (1)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn Body0Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest Policy0ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEO0CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process Other0CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldCAStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1TRAM NGUYENBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone2134823477PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1550 W WOODBURY ROADAddressLine1Txt
CityALTADENACityNm
State AbbreviationCAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP91001ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (14 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
MICHAEL STEINBERGER
CHAIR1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
WILLA GLOVER
VICE CHAIR1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
JOHN BENEDICT
SECRETARY1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
BARBARA OLIVER
TREASURER1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
CAROLYN BERNARDEZ
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MARISA LOPEZ
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JAMES MILLER
CEO40.00Yes (X)$550,592$0$20,819
LOURDES RUANO
EVP/CFO40.00Yes (X)$287,621$0$37,085
MICHAEL WILKINS
SVP/COO40.00Yes (X)$222,592$0$43,769
QAMAR NOORY
VP/CIO40.00$175,169$0$13,274Yes (X)
DAVID KIM
VP/RE40.00$150,827$0$15,883Yes (X)
DAVID WONG
VP/CMO40.00$162,046$0$11,395Yes (X)
TRAM NGUYEN
VP OF FINANCIAL SERVICES40.00$157,275$0$12,241Yes (X)
MARY RUBIO
VP OF HUMAN RESOURCES40.00$155,213$0$12,405Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$1,861,335TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$166,871TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K13IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
NCR CORPORATION
864 SPRING STREET NWATLANTAGA30308WEBSITE$784,894
BUSINESS DATA INC
321 NO OAK STREETINGLEWOODCA90302MAILING HOUSE$435,436
RON POULSON
766 LAKEFILED RD- SUITE DWESTLAKE VILLAGECA91361CONSTRUCTION$349,541
FINANCIAL TECHNOLOGY SOLUTIONS
406 E HUNTINGTON DRIVE SUITE 100MONROVIACA91017TECHNOLOGY SERVICES$315,529
ALLIED NATIONWIDE SEC INC
7116 VALJEAN AVE SUITEVAN NUYSCA91406SECURITY$254,103
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K12CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (5 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmtUnrelated Business RevenueUnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
LOAN INCOME522100$12,454,306$12,454,306
INTERCHANGE INCOME522100$2,279,302$2,279,302
FEES & SERVICE CHARGES INCOME522100$2,254,681$1,879,432$375,249
RECOVERY OF LOAN LOSS522100$2,226,109$2,226,109
OTHER INCOME522100$1,587,581$1,587,581
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$20,801,979TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$6,410,643TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$6,410,643ExclusionAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$3,412RealAmt

Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$0RealAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$3,412RealAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$3,412TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$3,412ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$14,826,460OtherAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$2,655,248OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$12,171,212OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$12,171,212TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$12,171,212ExclusionAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$39,387,246TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$20,426,730RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$375,249UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$18,585,267ExclusionAmt

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,551,118TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,175,204TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$6,592,134TotalAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$97,753TotalAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$852,893TotalAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$516,981TotalAmt

Fees For Services Management FeesForServicesManagementGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$17,766TotalAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$237,201TotalAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$89,241TotalAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$6,238TotalAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$340,983TotalAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$995,918TotalAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,728,227TotalAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,640,721TotalAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$7,746TotalAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$50,318TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,232,343TotalAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$45,891TotalAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmt
ATM/FSCC$1,161,919
LOAN SERVICING$855,950
TOTAL VISA EXPENSES$809,900
ASSOCIATION DUES$98,508

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$28,020TotalAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$20,132,973TotalAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$7,197,948BOYAmt
EOY$6,037,338EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,874,787BOYAmt
EOY$1,634,716EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$282,845,946BOYAmt
EOY$295,018,040EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,209,058BOYAmt
EOY$1,174,930EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$28,321,501LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$10,039,388LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$18,983,784BOYAmt
EOY$18,282,113EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$495,996,030BOYAmt
EOY$585,412,716EOYAmt

Intangible Assets IntangibleAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$72,064BOYAmt
EOY$72,064EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$30,113,879BOYAmt
EOY$22,183,763EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$838,293,496BOYAmt
EOY$929,815,680EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,873,051BOYAmt
EOY$3,508,580EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$739,473,775BOYAmt
EOY$825,263,548EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$743,346,826BOYAmt
EOY$828,772,128EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Org Does Not Follow FASB117Yes (X)OrgDoesNotFollowFASB117Ind

Cap Stk Tr Prin Current Funds CapStkTrPrinCurrentFundsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Pd In Cap Srpls Land Bldg Eqp Fund PdInCapSrplsLandBldgEqpFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$94,946,670BOYAmt
EOY$101,043,552EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$94,946,670BOYAmt
EOY$101,043,552EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$838,293,496BOYAmt
EOY$929,815,680EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$19,254,273ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst-$13,119,353NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets-$38,038OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Info In Schedule O Part XIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$3,997,000OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$3,997,000BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$11,404,885OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$451,175DepreciationAmt
Book Value$10,953,711BookValueAmt

Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$2,706,886OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$1,679,526DepreciationAmt
Book Value$1,027,360BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$10,212,730OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$7,908,687DepreciationAmt
Book Value$2,304,042BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$18,282,113TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Securities OtherSecuritiesGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmtMethod ValuationMethodValuationCd
AVAILABLE FOR SALE SECURITIES$484,775,706F
SHORT TERM INVESTMENTS$93,902,166C
FHLB STOCK$6,734,844C
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Securities$585,412,716TotalBookValueSecuritiesAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescMEMBER SHARESDesc
Amt$825,263,548Amt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$825,263,548TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$37,161,137TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Revenue Not Reported$0RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$37,161,137RevenueSubtotalAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$2,226,109OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$2,226,109RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$39,387,246TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$17,906,864TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Expenses Included-$2,226,109OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported-$2,226,109ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$20,132,973ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$0ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$20,132,973TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (3 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART X, LINE 2:THE CREDIT UNION IS A STATE-CHARTERED CREDIT UNION AS DESCRIBED IN INTERNAL REVENUE CODE (IRC) SECTION 501(C)(14) AND, AS SUCH, IS EXEMPT FROM FEDERAL TAXATION OF INCOME DERIVED FROM THE PERFORMANCE OF ACTIVITIES THAT ARE IN FURTHERANCE OF ITS EXEMPT PURPOSES. HOWEVER, IRC SECTION 511 IMPOSES A TAX ON THE UNRELATED BUSINESS INCOME (AS DEFINED IN SECTION 512) DERIVED BY STATE-CHARTERED CREDIT UNIONS. MANY STATES HAVE SIMILAR LAWS. FASB ASC 740-10-65, INCOME TAXES, PROVIDES GUIDANCE FOR HOW UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS SHOULD BE RECOGNIZED, MEASURED, DISCLOSED AND PRESENTED IN THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS. THIS REQUIRES THE EVALUATION OF TAX POSITIONS TAKEN OR EXPECTED TO BE TAKEN IN THE COURSE OF PREPARING THE CREDIT UNION'S TAX RETURNS TO DETERMINE WHETHER THE TAX POSITIONS ARE "MORE LIKELY THAN NOT" OF BEING SUSTAINED "WHEN CHALLENGED OR "WHEN EXAMINED" BY THE APPLICABLE TAX AUTHORITY. TAX POSITIONS DEEMED TO NOT MEET THE MORE-LIKELY-THAN-NOT THRESHOLD SHOULD BE RECORDED AS A TAX EXPENSE AND LIABILITY IN THE CURRENT YEAR. FOR THE YEAR ENDED DECEMBER 31, 2021, THE CREDIT UNION HAS NO UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS AND, ACCORDINGLY, HAS NOT RECORDED A LIABILITY FOR THE PAYMENT OF INTEREST OR PENALTIES. THE CREDIT UNION IS SUBJECT TO AND PAYS ALL STATE AND CITY TAXES ON GOODS AND SERVICES PURCHASED BY THE CREDIT UNION.
PART XI, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:RECOVER OF LOAN LOSS RECLASSIFIED FROM EXPENSE 2,226,109.
PART XII, LINE 2D - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:RECOVER OF LOAN LOSS RECLASSIFIED TO REVENUE -2,226,109.

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (8 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
JAMES MILLER
CEO$389,643$0$152,550$0$8,399$0$5,749$0$20,090$0$576,431$0$0$0
LOURDES RUANO
EVP/CFO$283,840$0$350$0$3,431$0$5,419$0$35,699$0$328,739$0$0$0
MICHAEL WILKINS
SVP/COO$220,756$0$0$0$1,836$0$4,331$0$43,110$0$270,033$0$0$0
QAMAR NOORY
VP/CIO$167,748$0$1,100$0$6,321$0$3,229$0$12,534$0$190,932$0$0$0
DAVID WONG
VP/CMO$157,484$0$2,550$0$2,012$0$1,951$0$11,581$0$175,578$0$0$0
TRAM NGUYEN
VP OF FINANCIAL SERVICES$149,537$0$2,550$0$5,188$0$2,796$0$12,018$0$172,089$0$0$0
DAVID KIM
VP/RE$150,125$0$0$0$702$0$0$0$21,225$0$172,052$0$0$0
MARY RUBIO
VP OF HUMAN RESOURCES$152,016$0$1,500$0$1,697$0$2,960$0$12,222$0$170,395$0$0$0

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (9 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 6FIRST CITY CREDIT UNION HAS MEMBERS AS SPECIFIED IN ITS BYLAWS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7AMEMBERS OF THE CREDIT UNION HAVE THE RIGHT TO ELECT ONE OR MORE MEMBERS OF THE ORGANIZATION'S GOVERNING BODY, WHETHER PERIODICALLY, OR AS VACANCIES ARISE, OR OTHERWISE.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7BMEMBERS OF THE CREDIT UNION HAVE THE RIGHT TO APPROVE THE GOVERNING BODY'S ELECTION AND REMOVAL OF MEMBERS OF THE GOVERNING BODY, AS WELL AS OTHER MATTERS THAT ARE SUBJECT TO THE APPROVAL OF MEMBERS OF THE CREDIT UNION AS THEY OCCUR.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11BFORM 990 IS REVIEWED IN DETAIL BY THE CONTROLLER AND CFO, FOCUSING ON BACK-UP SUPPORTING DETAIL AS NEEDED PRIOR TO ITS FILING.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12KEY EMPLOYEE ACTIVITIES ARE MONITORED BY OUR AUDIT DEPARTMENT ON A REGULAR BASIS. THIS IS DONE THROUGH THE USE OF REPORTS, SYSTEMS, AUDITS, ETC. IN ADDITION, EACH MANAGER MONITORS THE ACTIVITY OF THEIR STAFF MEMBERS TO ENSURE BEST PRACTICES AND ELIMINATE THE ABILITY FOR BEHAVIOR THAT CONFLICTS WITH THE CREDIT UNION'S CODE OF CONDUCT.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15FIRST CITY PARTICIPATES IN SEVERAL INDUSTRY-RELATED COMPENSATION SURVEYS EVERY YEAR. DATA FROM THE SURVEYS IS THEN REVIEWED AND ANALYZED, BASED ON FACTORS SUCH AS REGION, AREA, "COMPARABLE" PAY DATA, AND RANGE ARE DETERMINED FOR EACH POSITION. WITH MIDPOINT REPRESENTING MARKET SALARY FOR AN EXPERIENCED INCUMBENT, WE DETERMINE PLACEMENT WITHIN THE EMPLOYEES COMPARABLE EXPERIENCE AND RESPONSIBILITY OF POSITION.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19DOCUMENTS ARE AVAILABLE AT ALL LOCATIONS FOR VIEWING AND ARE AVAILABLE UPON REQUEST FOR THE SAME PERIOD OF DISCLOSURE AS SET FORTH IN SECTION 6104(D).
FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9:RECLASSIFICATION ADJUSTMENT FOR NET GAINS INCLUDED IN NET INCOME -38,038.
FORM 990, PART XII, LINE 2CTHE OVERSIGHT AND SELECTION PROCESS HAS NOT CHANGED.